Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apollo 3 stars

Via Dei Serpenti 109-110, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#284 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1259 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    great stay! skip the breakfast and eat at the cafe or outside,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was not great as described in reviews, it was pretty basic, we missed some fresh vegetables and eggs.

    renovated room with great bad and air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time (Late June 2018) the building was undergoing renovations which made it a little difficult to locate the entrance as it had been moved and we weren’t advised prior to arriving. However there is signage, we just missed it. The elevator was also blocked off from the ground floor to first floor but this wasn’t really an issue for us either. Air conditioner was pretty hopeless, doing nearly nothing to the temperature of the room even after hours of being on. A standing fan was also supplied in the room, which we thought was odd at first but after realising the state of the aircon we realised why it was necessary. Little bit of an issue with the drainage in the shower which caused some flooding but could be prevented with a towel at the edge.

    Location, location, location!!! You can see the colosseum from the window! Close to everything but not too busy or noisey Was glad to find out we had a newly renovated room with all brand new facilities, and good sized flatscreen tv. Room was very nice and spacious with modern quirky design that we loved. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Giving plenty of recommendations about places to go and eat. Breakfast is served on the roof top terrace which is really nice. Cheap and delicious coffee downstairs in the cafe/bar All round was a very nice stay and we enjoyed our time and would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Bed and pillows were comfortable and shower was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioner in room did not function... response was to open a window instead of having a technician fix it. As a result, we slept in a very warm room. No offer was given to us as guests for the lack of fixing the issue. Found this unprofessional.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable and shower was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were renovating so there was no reception or lift to the ground floor but that wasn't their fault!

    Clean and comfortable and an excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under rennovation...reception area is really dirty...they didn't keep my luggage after checkout...please stay away from this hotel atleast for 1 month.

    Just location ...nothing else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection in the morning want stable. Construction noise from inside and outside the building. Room was a bit small.

    Great location! Just 5 minutes walk from Colosseum. Great breakfasts. Good staff at reception. Very fast internet - 85 Mb/s (when it worked).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great little city centre hotel - will be even better when the renovations are finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (203) was right next to the maids’ cupboard, so there was some noise in the morning as linen was moved. There was also some general noise from outside, but you expect that in central Rome! There was obviously renovation going on - the stair carpet had plaster dust on, and the breakfast area was tiny (though it had a good selection), but this didn’t spoil our enjoyment at all.

    Great location - the colosseum was literally at the end of the road! Staff were friendly and explained things were a bit makeshift at the moment as they were renovating the hotel. Room was comfortable with lovely shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    location and the bed was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was undergoing renovation so the property was dusty noisy and the airconditioning malfunctioned. we complained but they only changed our room on the second night. food was not good at all.

    location and the bed was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Would not go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under renovation and we were definitely not aware of it. Air conditioning was not working in our room (and the room reached 28* temperature at some point), we had issues with the shower (the water was not flowing through on the first day), there was noise already early in the morning due to renovation work and it was dusty everywhere. More than that, when asked if we could leave our suitcases once checked out, they said they didn’t have enough space and they suggested a partnered deposit few hundred meters walking from the hotel. It was raining so one of the hotel staff offered to pay a taxi for us (she gave us a 5 euro note and called the taxi). The taxi price was 8 euro in the end and we had to pay the luggage deposit on top of that. This was really disappointing as the hotel should inform customers about unavailability of basic services as luggage deposit after check out - I will never go back to Hotel Apollo

    Very good location, easy to reach colosseum, Fontana di Trevi, piazza di Spagna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice, comfy place in the heart of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably it is undergoing renovation currently (June 2018) so the lift has to be taken from the first floor. Otherwise it is good. Rooms are bit small but comfy.

    Excellent location!! Colloseum is a walkable distance; main terminus and Republic metro are walkable too if you have only a backpack. Good food and very helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t stay here until Hotel Apollo has there act together. I stayed for two days and the air conditioning never worked although I was told they would “check it for me” on a daily basis. Also, the WiFi never worked the entire time. The reception area is undergoing an extensive remodel so the construction noise beginning in the morning and continuing throughout the day can be noisy. Due to the remodel, the elevator must be accessed on the first floor, one flight of stairs above the reception area, in case you have large baggage or mobility issues. The reception area has been moved to a tiny cramped hall way which can make checking in or out or leaving your room key inconvenient if there are other guests ahead of you. I would not recommend staying here until these issues are all corrected. I stayed end of May 2018.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Location, terrace on the top floor, nice staff, cute shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to sit outside for breakfast.

    Location, terrace on the top floor, nice staff, cute shops around the corner (e.g., Tina Sondergaard - wonderful dress designer)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    An unfortunate accommodation in a beautiful small hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The malfunction of the clima unit with the terrible noise during the night, the extreme heat inside the room 28,4°C from Check in until the next morning, the down coverlet under these conditions, the size of the room which was supposed to be 22sq.mt and it was almost 13 sq.mt and the double bed 2.00*1.40. Finally, the "plastic" professionalism under these circumstances, where a resolution is not provided at all when the "poor" guest is asked to be patient until the next morning.

    The position-neighborhood, a very quite place right inside the historical centre, the building itself in and out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Everything is walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a flexibel room; first day was fine, but the second day i got a appartment which was more expensive but less to my liking.

    Everything is walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Separate Building - Via del Boschetto 114
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main hotel was situated 200 m away. For breakfast one had to walk down to the main hotel but it was very approachable. The Apartment had all facilities but the eating plates were all either chipped or scratched and the shower stall had molds. The staff was very friendly and promised to take care of it. Except this everything else was perfect and the apartment was cleaned everyday.

    The location is superb, quite near to colosseum , staff friendly and the apartment was clean and comfortable . The staff came to clean everyday. The street was full of restaurants with food and drinks at reasonable prices, quite a nice place to stay for young crowd as well as family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    .A nice hotel. good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is a bit small to my taste, but i understand that's true for almost every hotel in Rome. .the wifi didn't work in our suite. maybe it was because it wasn't located in the main building .the shower was a little annoying because the temperature changed on it's own during the shower hotel not suited for handicapped people since the elavator doesnt reach the dining room. you have to take a set of stairs to get there.

    Great Location. 5 minutes from coloseum, 10 minutes from Trevi Fountain Very nice area with lots of restaurants and bars. we were given the suites located in a seperate entrance. big bathroom. everything was very clean. our room was cleaned and towels were changed every day! Staff were very nice and helpful breakfast is very good. a lot of choice especially for those who like it sweet overall, a good hotel and a good value for money. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel is well situated, with in ten minute walk to most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unknown to us the hotel was being renovated, and no air-conditioning , enquired several times to say not working, and told it would be looked at. On checkout informed it was not up and running due to work in progress. Made very uncomfortable nights.

    The Hotel is well situated, with in ten minute walk to most sights. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money.. great location and excellent staff.. very clean..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel. Excellent location !!! and amazing staffs.. !!! great value for money.. !!! The staffs were so helpful. We were at the hotel around 1100 am before the check in time mentioned and thought of leave the luggage at the hotel and check in late afternoon. But our surprise, Mr. Philip, the receptionist has offered an early check in. we were in six countries in eight days and I would say that this hotel was the best we stayed in our trip. Colosseum, Roman forum and attractions are within few hundred meters.. there are plenty bar and restaurants near by. to add, you get 10% discount on this hotel's restaurant.. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.. Thank you..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Location for Colusseum and forum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No light from outside in room allocated, had to have internal lights on all the time, however stated offered this room as no pets allowed to stay in there and my partner has mild allergy. other room offered 2 days later, still facing internally, slightly brighter. NO hot water 3 out of our 4 day stay, though the hotel waived the city tax because of this would rather have got water. Beware if booking a discounted room, prepaid. May not be as in photo which displays bright room with 2 large windows. Not sure if all this was impacted by the renovations that where going on at hotel during our stay

    Location for Colusseum and forum. Can walk to places of interest. There are a selection of restaurants near the hotel. Relative value as price included breakfast. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We'll be back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apollo hotel is close to the Main attractions And also around 15 mins walking from Roma termini. It was very comfortable for us. Great staff And The room has got everything you need!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Walking distance from the Coliseum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from the Coliseum! Very nice stay I was running late to check out and I called the property there was no issue or extra charges for checking out late! Very nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very polite and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee could be better :)

    The staff was very polite and helpfull. We've been the before and this time was better. And I hope after the renovation it will be even better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    I would certainly book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony - Separate Building - Via Cimarra
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4 nights with the family (2 adults + 2 kids). The really "best" of the hotel is the central location. We had an apartment close to the Hotel itself. It was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was a bit soft. Breakfast could have been a little bit better but given the price I can't really complain.

    Very well located. Friendly staff. Provided everything we needed for a short stay in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, great location, lovely staff, was everything we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only had the breakfast on one day, plenty there if you like continental, if not perhaps give it a miss as nothing hot except toast.

    Location is excellent, reception staff were lovely & very helpful. Hotels & rooms were clean & perfectly good. Small bar & restaurant attached were fine but plenty of choice nearby as well. Would happily go back there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    A great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it didn't bother us a lot, the shower head is leaking and therfore the water pressure is not that high...

    Big apartment, very clean, great location, comfortable bed. The staff are super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice experience to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that the room was a little bit small but they are reorganising the hotel!!

    We liked very much the location because we were between the Coloseum and the Fontana di Trevi. They gave us a Handy which we used a lot to find our way in the city! Also it was near the metro station Cavour. The bathroom was great and the staff really polite and helpful!! We also liked the neighbourhood!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    I would recommend and would go back
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy maybe I was not lucky with room beside neighbours, staff at breakfast not friendly as check in staff

    Excellent location, very good value for the money, clean, check in staff nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall good Will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have disabilities let the staff know so they can arrange for a convinient room in the main part of the hotel. Need to be aware of the stairs otherwise.

    Simple but nice breakfast was included

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay- Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Exceptional location, comfortable, clean, very kind and helpful personnel. Breakfast could be better, but it was good enough. Wifi Works just fine. Numerous and diverse shops and restaurant options within the same street and area. Safe location and only a few steps from the Collosseum, Roman Forum among other museums & touristic attractions. We traveled as a family of 6 including 2 small children and everything went smoothly. We walked everywhere. Spent NYE in the area and despite the street noise we could not hear a thing inside the rooms. Great stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Great experience and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you get out of your room you will always find cleaning materials and staff working - no tea and coffee in the room and there is no room service

    Location, staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location close to city center, shopping, transport and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The yellow lights in the room were dim and made the ambience look very dingy, with dark curtains and bed spread. White light would have been good.

    The best part of the hotel is the location. They staff were very courteous and helpful. They guided me well on sight seeing and anything I needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice location and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit cold, the heating system didn't worked

    Great location, 10 min to Colosseum and walking distance to major touristic landmarks. Spacious room also with a small kitchen. The room was cleaned everyday and the hotel it was really quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    Pretty terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, damaged door of room, poor security to room, NO HOT WATER for 2 days and no refund for anything. Manager did a disappearing act when complaints were made and left staff with instructions not to refund

    Breakfast staff and desk were helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel - worth a stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room - not in the main buiding but in an annex - (double, for a single person) was somewhat somber (courtyard). Outside many airco's, so open windows not advisable. Closed it's +/- ok. Shower is smallish, and water not always very warm. A little paint job above shower needed. Bed ok but not fantastic.

    The location of the hotel is great. The staff at the reception desk is outstanding, without exception. Thanks to all of them. In the breakfast room they're ok. The music in the breakfast room was quiet this time, unlike last time when it was at disco level - a great improvement. Breakfast is good. Internet very good!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Would not stay here again, the location was excellent if we had wanted to explore on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given forced us to go outside to another gated entrance, climb stairs to an elevator, then climb another set of stairs to our room. We were given no instructions as to turn the heat on, the only window opened to a small courtyard, we did Not take a shower because the plastic skirt around the tub was falling off,and it looked terrible difficult to have operated. The staff was ok, the restaurant was nice with an adequate selection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    I don't know how this got a overall rating of 8.4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Bathroom was filthy dirty. Mold all over the shower, toilet seat cracked. The beds were TERRIBLE. The beds bent in the middle and felt like springs coming through them. The beds were VERY narrow, could hardly turn over without fear of falling off the bed. The breakfast was stale.

    First there were NO EGGS and the BED was not FLUFFY. All of the employees were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was clean and staff were most helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No regrets in this department.

    Hotel was clean and staff were most helpful. Would stay there again, Could understand the english they were speaking, that seemed to be an issue in a lot of places, a least in my situation, as I am 73 and wear hearing aids.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old. The elevator very slow. AC didn't work. Our room had a window facing the street. So we left it open while in room and it was comfortable enough. We were there in October, probably very uncomfortable in the summer. But because window open, we heard all the noise from the street, including rubbish truck pick up at 4:00 am. So if those things are extremely important to you, you will not enjoy this hotel. My husband and I didn't mind at all....thought of it as a Roman experience.

    The staff was very helpful. The location was great! Five minute walk to Colosseum, restaurants and shopping. Bed was comfortable. Room clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.2
    Should have been much better for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities like kettle, Electrical converter etc. Housekeeping was unsatisfactory. At times the response from the reception was not ok. Breakfast spread for vegetarians was very poor. They have a separate wing away from the main hotel where we were initially offered a room.

    Nothing much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator only went part of the way to the floor our room was on, halls were dark and the front doors were rarely secured and closed firmly (we were located in an adjacent building). Breakfast room was attractive but choice was minimal (no eggs). Coffee from a MACHINE...ugh!

    Bed was comfortable, bathroom could have needed a bit of an upgrade but adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Great warm stay in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor , no coffee and tea in the room

    Location was excellent, near colesseum and the main shopping streets , really great , helpful staff . Old authentic style .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Hotel Apollo is a great place to stay in wonderful Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We highly recommend Hotel Apollo. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location for seeing the whole of central Rome on foot, very good restaurants nearby, comfortable room, very good buffet breakfast on pleasant roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean, easy walk to big bus and docks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little scary if arriving at night- but located in a secure building and safe once you see where you are. Internet average in room- great in main area.

    Very helpful front desk staff. The hotel felt very safe and secure. Breakfast was good. They held our luggage after we checked out until we were able to collect it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff excellent - very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room very noisy.

    Staff excellent - very friendly and helpful. Adjourning cafe really accommodating and very cheap. Laid back would be an understatement!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet but convient position - excellent staff - good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe decor could be updated but not a problem - hotel restaurant next door not the best in area

    Helpful polite reception staff - good variety breakfast Convenient position for sightseeing and bars and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Great, kind and helpfull staff, room with all comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To park a car was difficult, but the hotel offered a car-park service. However 24€/night.

    The staff was super friendly and highly professional. The room was spacious and clean and had an air co! The room was clean and provided for all comforts, including a side view at the Colosseum!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location for sightseeing. Staff were very helpful with arranging trips. The room was beautifully decorated with a large bathroom. Beds and linen were lovely. TV easy to operate. Breakfast on the roof terrace felt very special

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, lovely staff but will not stay again if air conditioning is not fixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was useless. If you are staying for one night and are out most of the day, then the only thing you want is a good nights rest and a good breakfast. The room was so hot even after 6 hours of "a/c" on that at midnight my husband had to go and complain and demanded at least a fan, which luckily they had one around. That finally brought relief and sleep- but we felt we had paid for an ac room and got far little value! They should have returned 50% money back... The breakfast had decent variety but the fresh fruits (cut watermelon) were over by 9 am and not replenished. The reason provided was that people take food to their rooms! (Yes that happens but that happens in all hotels not just apollo and it happens with things like boiled eggs, cake or even whole fruits not cut fruits)

    Staff were lovely! Beds firm, clean Toiletries brand Prija very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many stairs. We travel with children and this was a minus. Be prepared to carry your luggage two floors by stairs and one by elevator.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    a very nice hotel where I would stay again. Maybe would ask not to stay in the same room again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was just above the bar, which was quite noise on the Saturday night. The rest of the stay it was quite very early on in the evening and not a problem at all

    the location was great, the room was nice, and the very helpful reception staff, free WIFI and a mobile phone which can take into town with you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors came off the runner and I couldn't get it back on.

    Staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were willing to help with anything, even arranging Vatican tickets and taxis for us. Rooms were were clean well looked after.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Good to stay and see stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a pain. 15 minutes of walking in summer heat with bags is not ideal. Should have dropped the bags off then gone to the off site parking lot.

    So close to all the best things in Rome. Great for an overnight stay and a quick sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Apartment next block
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Separate Building - Via del Boschetto 114
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to walk 1 block at midnight on our own to the apartment (i thought it would be in the hotel building)

    Location is great, literally 5 minutes to the colosseum, local resturants/breakfast places and grocery stores right under the building (serving locals and tourists)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in a very nice quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Extremely convenient location: neighborhood is really nice, lively but not noisy, with plenty of nice bars and restaurants. It's 10 min walk from Coliseum and 5 min by taxi from Termini. Everything is walking distance to get lost in Rome. Special mention to the staff who were very kind and very helpful, full fluency in English and French. The hotel itself is charming, very traditional. Room could look a bit old but I liked the traditional style. ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Such a wonderful location being so close to so much history !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest they put plants in the flower pots on the windowsill of the rooftop breakfast room. The weeds not a good looks!

    Such a wonderful location being so close to so much history ! Loved being able to see the colosseum when we went out the front door and also from our 2nd floor room when you leaned out of the window

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small, with very little storage, so you have to live out of your suitcase. The shower was pretty tiny- trying to shave your legs is a challenge.

    The Colosseum was literally at the end of the street. You could walk everywhere, the location was amazing. Breakfast was decent on the rooftop terrace. Coffee was great :). They have a nice little bar/cafe downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Large room with nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a particularly warm time in Rome and the room did not get to an adequate temperature during our time. Property will try to upsell you on extra (an in-room Android phone for internet access) as well as attached Coffee Shop and Restaurant (both of which were excellent)

    Large room with nice bathroom. Close 5 minute walk down the road to the Coliseum, plenty of nearby food and drink options. Free luggage storage after we checked out and visited the Coliseum

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice holiday in old-style-hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small window and insufficient lighting. Don't expect a modern-design-hotel.

    Very good breakfast on lovely roofterrace. Yoghurt, fresh fruit, different types of bread. Welcome drink in nice bar downstairs. A lot of small restaurants in lively neaghbourhood; Problem of noise from de airco in the corridor was taken care of immediately. Friendly staff with good knowledge of languages. Old-style-hotel, with textile on the walls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality could be better but wide selection

    Bed was v comfy. Mobile phone was v useful. Free wifi was great. Staff v friendly. Location was fab, colosseum at end of road, not far from Trevi fountain etc and Monti is a lovely area with great places to eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    100% Rome!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 105 - one person- small & somber. A little noise from the bar at times. the mattress VERY soft > backache (should be renewed pronto), and bed very narrow (80-90cm). Ventilation pipe of kitchen underneath window (with windows shut no problem). The airco & music in breakfast room should be at least half the volume.

    Despite few shortcomings the hotel is very nice and worth a stay - great location and staff. Double glazing, airco ok, bathroom good, WIFI ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.4
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Airco not working at 30 degrees celcius.. Beds too small..i fell out of bed the first night...shower cabin leaking water and cabin too small..no seating/resting area in hotel

    Location is perfect. Staff friendliness is top !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location but older hotel means broken a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a/c didn't function nor the exhaust fan in the bathroom. Being a front house was a problem too.

    Just a short walk to the colosseum forum and Tivoli fountain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay five mins to the Collusseum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in the annexe and the room had a light well with a non view window. This window was shuttered and could be opened for air but gave the room a cell like quality. A shame as the rest was so good. We didn't spend much time in room so it was ok ish for us. If you need to spend time in room ensure that you are not in that room Everything else good. wonderful bathroom.

    Staff all good - comfy bed - very clean - Towels changed. Lots of information given happily by staff. Breakfast on roof top very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, happy and helpful staff! Amazing location, wonderful atmosphere throughout the hotel, cafe, bar and surrounding streets. We will certainly be back, and recommend to all!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    l'm very pleased with my choice of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    l think it's time for new mattresses. mine was too soft and l could feel the springs. The staff was able to move me and the next bed was better

    the breakfast was a very tasty, healthy and easy way to start the day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Small intimate hotel, great value, you will experience local living not faceless brands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff on reception were extremely helpful - nothing was any bother whatsoever for them. Room was fine - no complaints. Small but friendly, efficient and only a 6 min walk to the Colosseum. Pleasant pub next door (discount for hotel guests) but a little pricey. Hardworking staff there too. Nice breakfast - sometimes a bit "cosy" if it is busy but good staff and good value. If you want the Hilton, book the Hilton. If you want a small but local hotel (run by locals) and to get a true sense of Rome then book here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Small Apollo stands tall in Rome by its location and service minded staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Very good location. courteous young staff always ready to help. The excellent breakfast spread. Once again smiling staff always trying to find out at the table what you may require. The special coffee they made for me was very welcoming. The buddy they gave for me to use for those three days two nights helped me enormously to walk around Rome. Wifi responded well and all my requirements of booking-buying online tickets. I will be happy to be back there. yes the place is small but so what ? tidy, clean well located and makes you smile for all the right reasons.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Via dei Capocci 98
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The studio apartment via del boschetto is separated from the hotel itself. So we have to walk with our luggage from hotel to the apartment with only a map details given by staff on how to get there. No staff came with us to show where apartment is. It is actually just a 3-4 mins. Away from the hotel to the apartment, but it took us 30 mins. To find it. It's not good for a first timer on that hotel! The breakfast and check out is at the hotel itself, so we have to walk back again.

    Location is great! The hotel is close to colosseo.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Colosseum is visible right from the entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very slow and unreliable wi-fi in the room. Cleaning service is unavailable after 2 pm. The bathroom may win from refurbishing, because the mirror and sinks were quite old. Windows overlooked the inner yard of the pizza shop, with flavours of fresh cooking. I am not sure, whether this is a penalty (not for me, at least).

    Very good location with Colosseum in plain sight. Roma Termini train station is in 15 minutes by foot, Vatican is in 30 minutes by foot. Wonderful breakfast with cappuccino and fresh salad. Great choice of fruits, croissants and cold cuts. My room had a beautiful interior with antique wooden ceiling high above (really, the height was amazing), tiled floor, wooden window shutters and textile wall covering. The stuff is very helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    excellent starting point for a visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed good have been better

    the location is excellent, in the middle of a lively quarter full of restaurants and bars, close to the forum, colloseum, university, etc. And very nice little bar in the hotel, and rooftop breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi signal was very weak, but this seems to be an issue in all hotels I've ever been in.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The location is very good - 5 mins walk to the Trajan's Market, Piazza Venezia and the Forum, about 10 mins to the Colosseum, Termini is about 10 mins cab ride away. Breakfast was very good, plenty of gluten free food, which was important for us. The staff actually got some gluten free bread specifically for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.8
    Hot Rome in February
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did have big problems with the heat and pressure of the water for two mornings but was sorted by both evenings

    The meet and greet at reception and all information given about Rome on the map provided.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection is bad. Can't be connected very often. The furniture looks too old and need some renovation.

    The location is great. Staff are very friendly and patient. Explained everything clearly. The room is spacious. The free phone is very handy but I didn't have chance to use it. The room is warm in winter.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Friendly and informative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace - Via Dei Serpenti 111
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect

    The staff are very good and friendly. The hotel very nice and we thank to all staff for their kindest and assistance during our stay in Appolo hotel.. feeling like home and comfy

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Apollo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: