Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Assarotti 2 stars

Via Assarotti 40, 16122 Genoa, Italy

#63 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Genova the umbrella city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs to be renewed à bit and more light in the evening. The ventilator in the bathroom is very noisy, awful.

    Good situated. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short getaway in Genova, really well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the two plugs next to the bed was broken, and the others where far from the bed (and they were only two more -desk and toilet-), so nowadays that we need plugs for everything (external battery, mobiles, camera...) was an inconvenience.

    The location was great, you can reach all the places by walking. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Small hotel in Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had two single beds in my room, which was what I'd booked, but the room itself was gloomy, dingy and old fashioned. There wasn't much to choose from at breakfast and maybe because it was the weekend and a public holiday, the bread was very fresh.

    The staff were very helpful and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We did not use the air conditioning as it was not that hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not use the air conditioning as it was not that hot. The staff was helpful and fair with adjusting the bill when we left a night early. However we did use the the room until 4pm. The hotel was convenient for using the bus but generally we used taxi. The staff helped call taxi for us twice. Breakfast was good and more extensive than I remembered when I stayed in Hotel Assarotti in 2005. I also liked that the rooms were only one floor up. No elevator. Good water pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Let cation from train station good short ride from station to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great check out the pizza place across the road up the hill a little .., they were fantastic cheap and good quality food and friendly service The hotel staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow parking entrance, no elevator to the rooms (although we were in the first floor), small bathroom, squeaky bed (one of the 3 in the room). Brekfast could include cheese and more options of fruit.

    The breakfast was simple but nice: foccacia, bread, brioches (how italians call croissants filled with something sweet), juice and hot beverage. The hotel is not new but it is in good shape. It is within walking distance of many options of restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Tnx to the stuff and the beautiful old town of Genova I had so much fun !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the Booking site it's mentioned that there is a parking in the hotel but they don't mention the fact the parking costs 10€.

    The stuff we're just amazing, very kind and helpful. The hotel was very clean the room was perfect, I really enjoyed my vacation in Genova

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the train station was not too far but if you walk then be prepared for climbing the road up to the hotel because the way is like ramp unless you have a car. the bathroom was very small and not comfortable the break fast is very basic

    I have to say that the staff were friendly and reception is 24 hours for your service near the hotel everything is close to you by walk shops bars and restaurant if you need but not 24 hours the hotel is not too far from the rail station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.5
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing....very cheap place , only 2 star says all! never again ....and ridiculous price at 72 euro per night! not raccomended, we like to make a complaint and ask the refund

    breakfast very poor, bed very very hard and unconfortable, we did ask to have a quite room 2 month in advance and instead we had to stay in a orrible room first floor...lots of noise day and night, we had to leave middle week....not possible to sleep!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in a pleasant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, everything was fine

    Really traditional Italian hotel as it should be and as we have expected. Breakfast with always fresh pastry. Fine service for reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    great location, clean, could use renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space in front of the hotel is very narrow and parking spaces are few, but the receptionist offered help. Water was draining very slowly in the shower, so we stood in the "little pool" of used water after a while. The room we were in was well-made and must have been great at the beginning, but looks as though it hasn't been renovated for very long years and would need good general renovation.

    Friendly reception, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Value stay in Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It is what it is.

    We arrived by train into Genova Brignole statzione and by online map worked out how to walk up the hill to the hotel. Once we got there and subsequently went out, of course one works out the best way to go. The albergo is 2-star, and had everything required. Our room was on the smallish side, but conveniently on the ground floor so no stairs to hump cases up which was a real ++. Staff all friendly and helpful and the breakfasts good and plenty. Location about 10 minutes walk downhill to Piazza de Ferrari and 15-20 minutes to the harbour edge. Recommended value for money 💰 in Genova.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During day time, there was noise from the traffic on the street.

    Very friendly and nice staff! The hotel is on a main street, so it's safe to walk there at late hours. The breakfast is good, it has both salty and sweet snacks and the coffee has high bar quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Value for money, convenient to park and visit the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spartan rooms, some noise from the street

    Excellent location, walking distance to centre and port(15 min). Parking on premises, staff very helpful (as parking space very narrow, they brought the car out for me). Excellent coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.9
    Un albergo molto piacevole :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WI-FI didn't work. Man on reception was very sorry for it, because there was a trouble with wi-fi. The room we lived in was very noisy - I mean we heard the noise from the street all day and all night...

    Very nice people at reception and in the restaraunt! Very helpful and kind everytime. They accept our late arriving and late departure (let us leave our luggage in luggage room for free). The hotel has a good location (city center and the railway station are not far from it). Breakfast is rather good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    the staff was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were not clean and conferdable

    the staff was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Good compromise. Parking is far from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is far from hotel.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Visit to Genova
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    All good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Perfect to visit Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom too tight

    -close to the city center -staff really helpful and kind -parking inside the structure -good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal spot to tour Genoa. 10 minutes from airport. Car parking what we needed, charge of 10 euro but we didn't mind that very cheap for area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    i will stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    staff was very friendly, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would love gym facilities !

    Cosy and just what we needed after being stranded when all trains to Milano were cancelled!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Frendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and bad smell in the room

    Frendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Big room with basic amenities, quiet and cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, only sweets. No mini bar in the room.

    Big room with basic amenities, quiet and cool. Very private and near the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Great one
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy but it's normal because we were in the city

    I like that the bathroom was big and Wifi worked good. The location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Not too bad. I left a day early and they refused to charge me the full rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room

    Close to town center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.7
    Very ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big bed was just two twin sized beds put together with a full sized sheet to attach the two. Very uncomfortable

    Very ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The staff was great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was great . They were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Nice hotel with parking which is always a bonus. Staff were great and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    4.2
    Try to go to 5 Star Hotel in Geneo
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking hard to access Room is not clean

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    6.7
    Good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast

    Good sized room. Used as stopover and quite satisfactory

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.7
    Mosquitoes in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mosquitoes in the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Location is perfect, the city is 10 minutes walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect, the city is 10 minutes walk...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    5.0
    The reception lady is nice and helpful, Genova is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor and low quality breakfast. Price and quality ratio is certainly not the best we've ever seen in Italy.

    The reception lady is nice and helpful, Genova is very interesting city.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    6.3
    Location fine, staff reasonably helpful, room adequately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking on premises inadequate, long corridors to walk (no lift), first floor in fact ground floor (street noise, room not quite hospitable with closed shutters)

    Location fine, staff reasonably helpful, room adequately large

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.3
    hotel is in a perfect location to visit city centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    parking difficult to access, not spacious. a bit noisy because the traffic, ask for a quiet room, we did and it was quiet enough.

    hotel is in a perfect location to visit city centre and acquarium on walking. very clean and room very spacious, we enjoyed it.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    4.6
    Clean, relatively close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Note that the hotel is fraudulently advertising parking space when there is no parking available (requires to leave the car key with the clerk). Reception man very rude when confronted with this issue.

    Clean, relatively close to city center. Internet connection okay but requires the reception to print a password for each device; keeps a browser login window open in the background to access the internet. Good italian style breakfast (more sweets than real food). A 3-star rather than a 2-star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    It's no doubts more than two stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great, except for the internet, but internet and Italy do not match with each other overall everywhere

    It's no doubts more than two stars!!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.4
    Good a/c.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi, noisy street. Extra bed for an adult 160 cm long, front desk: "no one ever complained about the extra bed". What? You're having midgets only?

    Good a/c.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, reasonable price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi signal was weak and died sometimes. Parking place was a bit far away. The AC was really noisy but as the weathar was ok we didn't need it so much. The wall was very thin that you could hear voices clearly.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, reasonable price for one night. The breakfast was good with a rich variety compared to other hotels in its class.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    just breakfast should be more varied with vegetables and meats.

    staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is place it in the centrum city so all shops, restaurant were in walking distans. It's also lokal buses if someone don't like walkig to much.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Close to the city centre, friendly staff, old yet charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi signal wasn't as strong and died sometimes, every 72 hours you needed a new log on code. The breakfast was very minimal and consisted of mainly sweet buns and so on and no cold cuts such as hams or cheeses.

    Close to the city centre, friendly staff, old yet charming furniture (but if you're a high maintenance person, this may not be the hotel for you), comfortable rooms. Great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.1
    Good location, tasty breakfast, clean, one room was big but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad wifi management, small parking, dark rooms, not fresh air in the room

    Good location, tasty breakfast, clean, one room was big but another room was dark and small, good friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.5
    Personnel was very nice, good location, pretty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi signal was poor, worked in the corridor but not in the room, little variety of food at the breakfast

    Personnel was very nice, good location, pretty room

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable bed. Nice breakfast with fresh coffee made to order.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.1
    Good Variety for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel felt a little lonely.

    Good Variety for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.9
    close to town with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to town with parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    7.9
    Good breakfast (Italian style, mainly sweet), parking place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast (Italian style, mainly sweet), parking place next to the Hotel or nearby. Rooms quiet, nice and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff and nice location but if walking a steep...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and nice location but if walking a steep climb from the town.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    WiFi wasn't provided to two users at the same time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi wasn't provided to two users at the same time.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.0
    Location - not far away from center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast: from salty things, only boiled eggs, nothing else.

    Location - not far away from center. Parking 10€

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

    Personnel Parking place

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Exellent location, kind personnel, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture from 1980's, very noisy place, personnel in dining fasility extremly noisy each morning.

    Exellent location, kind personnel, comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location, good wifi, parking garage near, big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is poor, bed not so confortable...

    Good location, good wifi, parking garage near, big and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not very clean.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.8
    Generally everything is perfect - nice staff, nice location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak WiFi One of the two rooms was really cold

    Generally everything is perfect - nice staff, nice location, reasonable pricing

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi weak. Mostly impossible to use

    Helpful and friendly staff Good location Parking available which is a rarity in Genoa.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: