Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Athena 4 stars

Via Paolo Mascagni 55, 53100 Siena, Italy

#6 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2501 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Convenience and very good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely breakfast and restaurant food. Great location for walking to and in Siena. Worth the 4 star rating. Valet parking was a bonus. Slip mat provided in shower. This should be mandatory in all accomodation, just makes wet floors safer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    This was a great hotel to park your car you have with you on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great hotel to park your car you have with you on holiday. The staff were exceptionally nice as they allowed us to check in early and made sure we felt welcome! Really recommend as Il Campo and Duomo are within a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The restaurant at the hotel looked over beautiful Tuscan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very short. My partner and I are both tall and our feet hung over the end of the bed, even though we had specified their maximum bedding size.

    The restaurant at the hotel looked over beautiful Tuscan countryside! Definitely worth reserving a table there for dinner to watch the sunset over the Siena buildings. We really enjoyed having the balcony to sit on in the evenings. A lovely breakfast was provided each morning on two different levels. Staff were generally very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Dining room with a view in Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast coffee from a machine but drinkable. Orange juice undrinkable. Fresh orange juice is offered at a price. Unthinkable!

    Efficient, helpful & friendly staff. Excellent location with free parking. Nice roof-top bar where dinner can be taken as well as in dining room on lower floor. Breakfast ok. Dinner passable. Wines good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Siena stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nice. Clean and the rooms were decent size. Mini bar items were included in price. Nice breakfast and we did have dinner on the terrace, beautiful setting watching the sun set and the food was very good. Staff was super friendly and helpful and remembered us throughout our short stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very clean, comfortable and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little could be improved. It's a little bit of a walk (maybe 10 minutes) to get into the heart of Siena but other than that, this hotel is perfect.

    The hotel is very clean, comfortable and the staff was wonderful. Parking was convenient (although very tight little garage) and the terrace is lovely. Breakfast was phenomenal. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent base from which to explore amazing Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it didn't have quite as much character as some hotels but this was easily compensated for by the comfort and service.

    The hotel was situated in a quiet part of Siena but just a ten minute walk from the centre. Staff were very professional and there was ample parking. The breakfast was delicious with a wonderful range.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect,really a 4 star hotel with friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect,really a 4 star hotel with friendly staff,great location,super breakfast and garage.thanks to francesco in reception he was very polite and helpfull. Highly recommended and i will visit it again for sure!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    It has a car park but it is walking distance from the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Siena was very busy but that's not the hotel's fault.

    It has a car park but it is walking distance from the centre of Siena (uphill!) so it is ideal if you have a car. It's a nice old building with good views and a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast extremely poor; though at first there appears a lot of choice, sub standard quality. The hot tray lids left off resulting in luke warm food, risks of upsetting people. Only two types of fresh fruit both melon and the rest tinned in sickly syrup. Not what the Hotel promotes on their web site

    Ideally situated to the city with free parking, quick check in service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, exceptionally clean, quiet hotel well-located for walking in Siena. On site parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had rooms on main floor near the reception area. This was not a quiet location.

    Extra clean, quiet, great Siena location with friendly staff. Parking on site with easy access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The staff were so helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there were chairs to lay on on the top terrace!

    The staff were so helpful and accommodating. The room was incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall, very good, but eat out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace restaurant was one of the main reasons that we chose to stay here for a night. The restaurant seems to wish to convey a fine dining experience but sadly, falls short by some distance. The food was bland, undercooked and tepid. The waiting staff tried hard but it was disappointing to say the least. The restaurant was also full of pidgeons. I don't object to pidgeons as such, but don't really want them walking on the tables when we are eating. This is clearly a regular occurrence as the waiters didn't seem unduly bothered about them.

    Four star hotel in the centre of town, with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and the bonus of its own car parks to the front and rear, although not many spaces. Very good breakfast, although the breakfast room was a little cramped. Outside terrace restaurant with fabulous views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location on the edge of town made special by the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We opted for the economy room. Ours was ok but the other couple with us decided to upgrade as theirs was below street level (despite being on level 4)

    All of the staff were friendly from reception to the waiters and cleaners. We ate dinner in on two occasions and were not disappointed particularly when we ate on the terrace in the setting sun. Great food in a wonderful location and not badly priced either

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable quiet, clean, modern hotel with great dinner option on balcony with exquisite view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had emailed ahead requesting a room with a view, and it's a stunning view out over the Tuscan landscape, but didn't get told that i wouldn't get one until i arrived. They then told me I had to upgrade to a more expensive room which I was willing to do, but they said that no room with a view became available during our five night stay. They could have resolved this problem weeks in advance when I booked and emailed, and I wish they had. Otherwise everything was fine

    The dinner on the balcony was very good, and most of the staff were great. It's nice and quiet, clean, and convenient for walking to the centre of Siena, without being absolutely central. Our room was OK, not facing a great view, but not bad nonetheless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel. Very friendly staff, big clean rooms. Two rooms for breakfast and a separate restaurant. Roof terrace for drinks and dinner. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    This hotel was wonderful for many reasons - location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was wonderful for many reasons - location, beautiful rooms and bathrooms, cleanliness, food, and staff. We were treated very well. I highly recommend Hotel Athena! This is the only place I will stay in Siena in the future. We truly loved our experience!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Porter ? Ivan very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room pavement view but did pay for basic room Book a room with a view

    Porter ? Ivan very helpfull Position is perfect to access the centre Parking good Very well maintained

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff was exceptional. They helped with luggage, directions, and taxi's back to the train station. The terrace for drinks and dinner was breath taking. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything we wanted for our anniversary trip. All four of us loved the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is very tight especially when you’re driving an unfamiliar vehicle

    The staff were excellent from start to finish. Very helpful and courteous.....including parking the car for me

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Siena is an amazing city, not part of most tours, highly recommend adding to your trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, clean and comfortable rooms, only had breakfast in the hotel but is was very good, excellent cappuccinos. I booked way in advance but the prices were fair.. you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    We wished we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a free upgrade and had a very spacious room. We enjoyed a lovely evening drink on their terrace watching the sunset - stunning views of the Tuscan countryside. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. Free on-site parking, and a 5 minute walk into the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is well locatet, people was very nice, but i would prefer woke up by myself in silence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was so simple, no carpet, no confort. And big problem is that in the morning is very noising from the cleaning staff. Breakfast is reasonable, the restaurant has a good food but not a charming place

    The people was fantastic, i forgot my passports and lots of money and they give me back just like they found.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Superb accomodation, value for money and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the friendly service at the front desk, the clean spacious room and views. We enjoyed have afternoon evening drinks on the sunset deck overlooking the ancient walls of Sienna with rolling hills and vineyards in the distance, and then a delicious meal at the restuarant which found reasonably priced and excellent service. There was a large selection of food offered at breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay here and felt the location was excellent and walking to the centre only 10 minutes. Would advise not to walk from the station but take a taxi for between 13 to 15 euros and arrive in style and not exhausted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Athena is at a great location on the edge of Siena's walled city so you can walk to all sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to eat lunch there before we drove to Florence but the only fare was frozen snacks in the bar.

    The breakfast buffet was full of tasty things, including a locally made ricotta with herbs. Fantastic! The terrace view is fabulous. They provided a walking map of Old Siena with key sites identified.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I'll stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very close to many of the major attractions Siena has to offer. The staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious. The hotel provides parking and has a rooftop bar with a great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff very helpful, they gave excellent restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understood from the photos that breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace so I was disappointed when I discovered it was not. I see that I had simply misunderstood and it was not the hotels fault.. I think this a shame as the rooftop seemed neglected when I went there to see the views, it wasn't a very welcoming area as it was quite empty.

    Staff very helpful, they gave excellent restaurant recommendations. Easy to park at hotel, and great location within Siena.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced but well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - narrow room - noice from neighbours (shower, toilets, laughing) and noice from incoming guests late at night - breakfast was OK, but we expected higher standard

    -.the location: you can do the whole city by foot - the parking (we travelled by car) - the terrace form our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    This is a much more elegant place than we usually stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a much more elegant place than we usually stay. Restaurant dinner was excellent, but not inexpensive. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Most of our booking.com experiences are B&B-types; this is a classy medium-sized hotel. It's on the south edge of town, but not a long walk to the duomo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The staff was very helpful and kind. The hotel is clean and the room/bed is comfortable. They serve breakfast and it was delicious. The hotel also offers a free parking which is rare in Italy. The location is close to the old town, restaurants and the other attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is charming and the views from the terrace are breathtaking. We had not made transportation plans to get from Siena to Rome and when we asked for recommendations the front desk printed out a train schedule with the trains that met our needs. We had dinner in the restraunt and the food and service was great and the breakfast was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Wow! Location to die for in Italy's best historical city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great to have car park on site but beware the narrow entrance and exit. Almost got jammed between two sold stone walls.

    Our room was excellent - clean, comfortable, if a little small. Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was amazing. Included in our rate. Full breakfast or continental on buffet. The staff on reception, in the dining room and at the rooftop bar were very friendly and helpful. Finally, the location was wonderful. Inside the walls at western end of the city. Just 5-10 minute walk to Il Campo and il Duomo. Siena is an amazing city bit easy to walk around compared to many historic Italian cities. Car park on site and literally only 30-40 metres from lift to reception and rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    We rented a car and the hotel has free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented a car and the hotel has free parking. It is located next to the city wall so you can drive to it and park unlike most hotels in the town. Very nice selection at breakfast. Nice room. Very clean. Great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Franco & Staff Exceptional. Bathroom shower needs updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room and bathtub shower was dangerous. Taking a shower my wife feel out of the tub. So fortunate she didn’t hurt herself severely. Need to install handicap bars to hold onto.

    Great location and parking on site. A real plus in Siena. The staff was fabulous and Franco the Manager was wonderful. His personality makes your stay comfortable & delightful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself, tended to be a bit stuffy so we opened the door to the balcony. Unfortunately, this looked straight out onto the road and footpath outside, so we couldn't leave really leave the door open.

    Hotel was clean and comfortable. Had a lovely rooftop area for drinks, etc. Lovely views across the hills; shortish walk to the city centre. Restaurant attached to the hotel for dinner and breakfast was well run and food very nice. Gluten free food issues were answered without a drama - the head waiter [sorry, can't remember his name] could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel. A must if visiting the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Would definitely go back and stay longer.

    Made very welcome on arrival. Receptionist really helpful about local area. Able to provide us with a Room upgrade with balcony and good views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Love Siena, Hotel Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great. Terrace with great views and a great barman to serve wine before dinner. Francesco and all staff on reception were very helpful. 5 mins walk to Duomo and Il Campo. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    As good as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was quite week and off from time to time

    As good as always.Nice welcome in reception by Katia.Our luggage was quickly in our rooms.The rooms are a little bit tired but very clean.A balcony was a nice extra to my room.Service in restaurant and terrace bar was very polite and nice.The hotel is situated in a peaceful location with great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A lovely stay. Siena is beautiful. staff were friendly, informative and could not do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we paid for an economy room which was a lovely room although a bit noisy as it backed onto the road. it was fine for us (April) but I imagine in the height of the season could be noisy. and no view, we were on the 4th floor. If you want a view which is beautiful from your room pay that bit extra, but the view from the terrace is beautiful and happily sat there on an afternoon and evening. Waiter/waitress service we found to be excellent. Would stay again. Location is ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed the breakfast every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service could be a little bit better in future. But all in all it was ok .

    We really enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Big Sortiment for any taste. The room was very clean and spacious. The parking is really helpful. And with a 10 min walk you are at Duomo or in 15 at Piazza del Campo. I would really recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, value for money and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to fault

    Excellent breakfast with full range to choose, Great service, friendly staff and a comfortable bed all for a reasonable price. Location was great within 15 min of Duomo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excelent hotel, friendly and efficient staff, good breakfast, and easy to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife an I stayed there for 4 nights, we planned to use Siena as our base and drive around the hill-top towns and villages during the day. The hotel was easy to find and it was easy to park as the hotel is just inside the city walls but is blessed with fabulous views of the Tuscan landscape at the back. The hotel is a good 10 mins walk into the Piazzo de Campo. I can't recommend the hotel enough, an excellent choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good hotel in great location, perfect if driving into Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad internet quality. Well below 1mega download and you need to reset the connection every time. Seems simple to solve and does not match the overall quality of the hotel.

    Nice and easy location if you have a car and then walk to I’l campo square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on the small side.

    We really liked this hotel! Upon arriving, we were warmly welcomed and greeted by Francesco from reception who was great during our stay. We had mentioned in our reservation that the stay was part of our honeymoon and the entire staff was seemingly made aware of this before our arrival. The reception desk led by Francesco congratulated us, the housekeeping staff left us a heart made of towels with chocolates adorning it and the dinner staff gave us complementary wine. Mario our waiter was kind and personable. His service was excellent. The hotel had great free parking which is definitely needed in Sienna. We also had a pleasant view off our balcony. Hotel location is also very good. Very very close to city center without being in it - a 5 to 10 minute walk puts you there and the walk is an enjoyable one. The fluffy towels were great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Inside the city walls with car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was the economy one, so no surprise that it was small, but if you are more then 180cm high, you can have issues on the bathroom. Furniture is a bit dated.

    Been inside the walls of the city helps you visiting the main attractions. Staff is very helpful, especially managing the parking lot, that tends to get full (you leave the key on reception and they manage the space the best they can). Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast items could of been kept at a higher temperature in the chafing dishes.

    Very friendly welcoming staff. Perfect location, pristine quiet rooms with very comfy beds and tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. High quality of both cooked and continental buffet breakfast to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    I'll certainly be returning - and soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really cannot say what could be better, as I found nothing that would distract me from a really lovely time in a great hotel.

    I really enjoyed Hotel Athena, in part because the staff were naturally helpful and very professional. Moreover, the hotel was situated close to town but partly very close to the countryside. The hotel was peaceful and very quiet, as were the guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location if you want to visit Siena (10 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice location if you want to visit Siena (10 min walking to the center) but also if you have a car to visit near areas. The hotel is very clean and quiet but the most important is the friendly stuff, especially Francesco in the reception witch prepare for us our breakfast to take it away next morning because we leave from the hotel very early ... many thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was great with a lot of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space was really small with possibility ro damage your vehicle. It was a bit noisy inside the hotel. In total it was a good stay but not what we expected for the amount of money that we paid.

    Breakfast was great with a lot of choices. It was really close to Siena center. 10 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Good spot in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect, they provide a free parking - these were two important things while visiting Siena. The hotel inside is ok, decent normal hotel. They have good breakfast, by the way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    Tiny room with concrete view and no sky, noise and smell of smoking area. Good location, though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room to the parking lot - also hangout for kitchen staff smoking so your room was full of smoke in case you opened the window. Very much noise from other rooms. Wifi, very very slow for working.

    Good location. Okay, breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Great stop over in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out staff told us our car was in a different place than it was, which almost made us miss our connecting train, all good in the end!

    Really comfortable beds, good size rooms and a great view of the valley! Close to everything in Siena!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    It was gorgeous experience to stay in Hotel athena, siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was gorgeous experience to stay in Hotel athena, siena. Approching by rental car is easy, and Location of hotel is also great. Above all, decorated in tuscan style hotel satisfied me and my wife. Thanks for all crews of hotel athena.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drive from San Gimignano, it just took us 45 mints. the hotel is located in the gate of the town center, so we don’t need to worry about the ZTL. For another 10-15 mints walk, we arrived in the Center of the Siena. Thus, the location of the hotel is super good for driving visitors. The staffs are very friendly and helpful, I would like thank Stefano for helping me with the Car rental issue. One more thing, we are happy with the breakfast. If the room can be slightly bigger, that will be wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great in so many ways!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation was going on so loud noises late at night and early morning.

    Everything was fantastic. The location was excellent for getting to by car easily and still being within the walled city. Room was amazing in so many ways. Hotel was immaculate and updated. Breakfast was great with so many options and fresh products.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall, a nice facility that I would likely come back to and friendly breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the massage parlor was an outside business when it looked advertised that it was part of the facility. I want the experience not someone coming to my hotel room. Also, I hated that there was loud, intrusive construction going on right next to my room. I could barely get a break during the day because of how loud the room maintenance was next door.

    I liked the overall facility and comfort of the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great views, slightly outside centre of old town but easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find initially . should give detailed map of walled town and how to get there as we heard other people had the same problem

    Great views, slightly outside centre of old town but easy walk in. Also free parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Terrace has an amazing view.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be wider and sofa bed not very good.

    Terrace has an amazing view. Great local handmade food for breakfast. Close to the center. Very helpful staff. Valet parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel near everything you don’t need your car when walking inside old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wasn’t full ! No view of the room if you like to have it you have to pay 30 euros per night it could be more nicer if they just upgrade your room as other hotels sometimes offer .

    Nice hotel Free parking Worth the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great location, clean comfortable rooms with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have soap in our room upon check-in. Front desk staff provided this for us.

    Great location walk-able to everything. Having the free parking was great. Staff very helpful with restaurant/site recommendations and made dinner reservation for us. Very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for a stay in beautiful Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception forgot to return the spare car key, luckily we hadn't gone too far when we realised.

    Location inside the walls was perfect for walking into the centre. Hotel food was very good prepared by a talented young female chef and nearby trattoria excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent place to stay in Siena! Excellent location close to the center and easy to rich by car, parking available. Short distance to attractions. Very clean rooms and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location with free private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can be noisy. I didn’t find our stay peaceful. The breakfast area is chaos especially when large tour groups come through. Both of the mornings we ate breakfast it was very noisy and numerous items were missing from the food tables. The staff had a hard time keeping everything stocked especially during times when large groups were eating as some people were grabbing many items for themselves rather than letting everyone near have one. Perhaps having tour groups eat breakfast in another breakfast room would allow other hotel guests to enjoy their morning breakfast time.

    Great location with free private parking. Baby crib provided at no extra charge. Great toiletries. Nice breakfast spread and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Driving with a car was very easy to find it ,the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We close on booking with certain price, when we arrive they told us the room has no vew and we ask to change ,they sit change and the extra for 2 nights was 50 euros ,and the room service for a plate of cheese that cost 13 euros they charge 8 plus ,they didn't tell before

    Driving with a car was very easy to find it ,the hotel itself is in a very good position so u can have an perfect vew, the staf was very helpful when needed ,and the rooms very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.0
    Perfect for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facility needs some renovations and update to the current time,

    big parking, nice location, very nice staff, big rooms, high quality soap and bath products

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved this hotel. They've thought of everything. We also got a complimentary bottle of wine and biscotti in our room. Water was replaced everyday. Restaurant was lovely. Breakfast selection was fantastic. Staff amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Fine but not spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked atmosphere, but dated, too big, don’t enjoy breakfast in the basement. A chain hotel large and heartless.

    Easy car access, clean, reasonable price, a utility hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room, good breakfast, very clean, good shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well. Just bear in mind that the hotel is situated on the opposite from the train station part of the city. It is still within the walls but you'll have to cross the whole city which is not bad in my view because it immediately gives an idea of what Siena is about

    Comfortable room, good breakfast, very clean, good shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    So glad we chose to stay here. Made a 5 night stay in a fantastic city even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of a negative. Tile floors in the rooms make noise from heals and chairs from room above a little loud. Lowest priced rooms are below ground level, no view (we chose to upgrade when we saw).

    The staff was superb. The location superb - 10 minutes walking to the main attractions (longer if like me you can't walk by all the cool shops and restaurants). Excellent breakfast with great variety. Comfortable bed, good bathroom. We had a breakfast-included rate and free parking which made day trips to Florence, Assisi, Pisa, wine tours easier.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Avarage hotel for 5 star price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rooms are small and crowded.Hotel has strange position of the restaurant, parking and reception.Elevators are too small.

    The bar on the roof top is nice.Superior rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable.Not far from the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great location and wished could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was good but no view or outside options

    Great terrace with beautiful Tuscany view and location was walking distance to most of Siena’s highlights

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A Beautiful Hotel in a Stunning City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was great!

    This hotel is in the beautiful city of Siena, an old medieval city. The hotel is an old building however has been tastefully converted into a very nice hotel with most modern conveniences. The hotel is not easy to find, and parking is an issue however if you park anywhere at the hotel (double park) the staff will help with your bags and then hold onto your car keys so you don't have to worry about blocking people in as they will sort all of that out. My wife and I got a room upgrade and it was very nice, clean and large. If I'm ever back in Siena I will certainly stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved Siena and would probably stay here again if looking for a bit of a splurge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on ground level right on the street so the view was of pavement and the sidewalk with people walking by. Bars on window/door but not the greatest seeing as how I booked the room 9-10 months ahead...also they lost a pair of jeans when we used hotel laundry service and still have not gotten them back..they said they found them 4 weeks ago

    Centrally located just inside the walls with free parking which was the draw for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A superb hotel very close to the square, also a good place to start exploring the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooftop bar had amazing views but I would have preferred better tables and chairs in keeping with the rest of the hotel

    The staff were very helpful,arranging day trips etc, breakfast was to die for. The room was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and were very accommodating, even served us breakfast when they were already closed. Thank you Antonio, Anteneh, Jho and Klaudio! The room is very spacious and they have a lovely terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Athena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: