Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atlante Star Hotel 4 stars

Via Vitelleschi 34, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#635 of 968 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2148 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff were great and the views from the room were fantastic. View from the rooftop bar and breakfast room were fabulous. The complimentary airport transfer was an added bonus and was very efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    the view was astonishing!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very claustrophobic mostly due to lack of any day light - the window was permanently closed due to constructions and anyway it was going to courtyard small opening - so no much daylight anyway

    the view was astonishing! having a drink in the roof top bar was just an amazing way to finish the day, also eating breakfast with the view over basilica of St Peter is something surreal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Got to see the 360 view from the roof top restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I did not like was ...... leaving. It was truly a dream come true!

    It was a dream come true for my 87 year old Mom. We were right down the road from the Vatican! You have a 360 view of the city from the roof top where you can order a first class meal. We had a balcony room with 2 beds that overlooked the cobble stone street. It was very plush with padded fabric walls, and ornate sconces and mirror on the wall. Bathroom had a soaker tub. Breakfast was so good with many different choices.... and the coffee! So rich and so smooth! The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The front desk helped direct us to the closest stop of the Hop on Hop off bus. What a great way to see the sights and get to know the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Even had a bagged breakfast ready for us when we left before breakfast times (at our request the night before).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Great Roof top terrace but hotel needs updating quite a bit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very dated and rooms were very small, we had to change rooms as we were originally put on the ground floor in a basement plus the shower hardly worked too. We did get moved though and although the room was still very small we did have a better shower facility. The hotel needs updating in my opinion - by about 20 years!!

    The roof top garden was amazing and worth staying at this hotel for this alone, we had a fantastic view for the ceremony that took place here. Also the staff on reception were brilliant and dealt with a couple of issues we had very well and were extremely helpful throughout our stay and even accommodated us with a room change following arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    GREAT BASE FOR ROME VISIT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of wines and prosecco was high, lift was slow, otherwise no complaints!

    THE VIEWS ARE AMAZING! Lunch on the terrace was fabulous. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth €12. Price of drink was extortionate. Superior room was no more than a normal twin room. Nothing special for the price we paid.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Location very good, staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and somewhat dated. On arrival was given a room key which opened a room already occupied with clothing and personal effects thetein. I was, to be fair, allocated another immediately

    Location very good, staff excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location and amazing staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Some upgrades could be expected considering the star rating of the hotel. Hotel should be able to make iron & iron-board available to clients in their room if required. However, I would still recommend the hotel.

    Fabulous location and amazing staff; great roof terrace(s) with good finger food. Very clean. Important to Ladies: Air dryer in the bathroom was actually great (I do have thick hair). Second stay there and experience was great each time. Two great Italian restaurants on each side (respectively 20m on the left (slightly sophisticated) and 100m on the right (familial, traditional style) when facing the hotel). For runners: Great run from Castle St Angelo to Villa Borghese Gardens (park with beautiful arts/landscape and viewpoint. Massive in scale so you can make your run as short or long as you wish. Also hosts the Zoo). Few fountains along the way and in the park so great to hydrate during exercise if required. Early morning jog (6:30-8:30; busy afterwards) when there are hardly any traffic/people around is really an amazing experience for enjoying the city art & architecture. Very safe location (as Rome central quarters are) at all times, including as a lady walking by herself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dated (not in a good way). Terrace bar extremely overpriced.

    Beds were comfortable. View from roof terrace of the Vatican - Amazing. Staff were kind. Very close to Vatican

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a beautiful view and great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, the key is an old key and not a card which is more convenient,

    The hotel is nicely located near the Vatican city. It is an old hotel with a very nice and helpful staff. The room is nice and comfortable but a bit small. The bed was comfortable. The main highlight is the restaurant on the top floor and the rooftop garden, an open terrace on the roof. There is an amazing view from both and very nice to sit there to eat or drink. The staff was friendly and the hotel shuttle to the airport was very useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Pros: location is wonderful, air conditioner is fantastic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: water pressure in bathrooms almost non-existent, horrible smell eminating from the bathroom, decor is dark and musky, terrible breakfast

    Pros: location is wonderful, air conditioner is fantastic, beds are comfortable, desk staff is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    It was good value for our money given the breathtaking view on the top floor & its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was in the middle of our room instead of being on just one side. Found it quite unusual.

    The view on the top floor was amazing. The location was great. A lot of things were accessible within the area. We also enjoyed our breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    NOT THE GREATEST BUT THE CONVENIENCE WAS PERFECT. I WAS IN ROME ONLY TO SEE THE POPE-
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DIDN'T LIKE THE ROOM, IT IS OLD, HUMID AND SMELLS LIKE MOLD. THE BEDS ARE OLD AND UNCOMFORTABLE. I THOUGHT OF SCABIES THE WHOLE TIME. I ALSO DID NOT LIKE THAT I WAS NOT ABLE TO DINE AT THE HOTEL BECAUSE I NEEDED A RESERVATION.

    I LIKED THE PROXIMITY TO THE VATICAN AND THE VIEW FROM THE ROOF TOP. THE RECEPTION STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND THE BREAKFAST IS VERY GOOD.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location for our needs and the breakfast was a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and bed was not comfortable

    Breakfast was excellent, many things to choose from. Location was good with many good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Mesmerising!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel because of the besutiful view and terrace when we visited last year Fantastic service from very friendly personel. For future visits to Rome, we will always stay here!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is just awful and dirty. I have pictures. Just awful. Wish I never booked this place. I checked out after few days to a better hotel. Its dirty, nothing works as it's supposed to. I feel like all these 5 stars are fake. Because this place. Well if you book it you'll find out when you get there. Just awful

    Nothing. Walking distance to attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel! Amazing view from the roof terrace! Delicious breakfast! Very kind and helpful staff. Location is also very good! They also provided free shuttle to the airport. We had amazing holidays in Rome! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was really good for anyone who wants to explore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies working the rooftop view are incredibly rude. Didn’t want to serve items that were on the menu then there was an hour wait for drinks and then another hour to get the bill because you have to ask a million times. View was incredible but this was frustrating because they clearly just did not want to do their jobs.

    Location was really good for anyone who wants to explore Rome. Breakfast in the morning is lovely and has a good range. The rooms are clean, the bath and shower facilities aren’t great but do work, just weak pressure. Good restaurants surrounding and the rooftop view is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Close to St Peter's Basilica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard size suites are smaller than average. Try to upgrade to a junior suite if you can.

    Close to St Peter's Basilica. Roof top bar is great and the restaurant has amazing views too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    The only thing good about the place is the rooftop bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small dark ugly old rooms with tiny beds. Air conditioner barely worked. NOTHING like the pics online and on booking.com.

    The only thing good about the place is the rooftop bar and you can use that without staying at this yucky hotel. The staff were very nice and doing their best with this old broken hotel - not their fault.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    We are overall satisfied with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are not allowed to iron in the room. It cost me 9 euro to have them iron my shirt. Wi-Fi signal was very weak in my room. The signal strength was excellent in the lobby and other areas of the hotel.

    We are overall satisfied with our stay. Excellent location. Courteous staff. Excellent view of the canal and the bridge from my window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    great view of vatican city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    air condition is too cold even if we drop the temperature on control panel . the tiny elevator is too slow and old , take ages to go to restaurant or roof top from 1st floor .

    I like BKF with italian touch , les étoiles the BKF restaurant have great view of roma city, the terrace on top is amazing with best view of vatican city . staffs are kind and helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and facilities. The rooftop terrace was top rate and service to match. We changed rooms as the one booked through Booking.com was somewhat substandard, however after changing, I could not fault this hotel. Highly recommended but beware what you book.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Had a great time enjoyed our stay will deffo be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was small and slow. The heavy room keys but generally not much to complain about

    The location of the hotel is excellent short walk to restaurants,shops, hop on hop off bus and the Vatican. The breakfast buffet was fresh, wide ranging and restocked with food as soon as it was needed. The hotel is in a nice quiet area and has a lovely roof bar with excellent panoramic views of rome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel walking distance to Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning only worked on 1/2 of the suite we were in. They provided a fan which helped.

    The rooftop bar was very nice and they provide free airport transfer which is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was quiet dark as the window shutter did not open completely because of scaffolding outside the window

    This hotel is in an excellent location and is a great base for touring the city. Hotel staff are extremely helpful and the rooftop terrace bar was a nice place to relax in the evening and has spectacular reviews of St. Peter's Basilica

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location - faded interior - questionable value for money compared to hotels in the vincinity
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior very dated and old fashioned - room very different from the pictures View from restaurant great but low food quality

    Great location for night life (in the neighborhood and at the river banks)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is amazing! Mostly the staff is the reason because they are absolute darlings! So friendly and helpful! We will def come back! Thank you for this amazing stay! And of course the view... breathtaking! We love Rome and we will def come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Adorable rooftop bar and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last airport shuttle goes to airport on sunday at 18:30 instead of 20:00.

    Marvellous view. Quiet and cool air conditioner. Commendable clearness. Rich breakfast with panoramic view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Possibly the worst stay I’ve experienced anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, after booking a superior double room, were out in a standard. Was small, dark and had issues with the fixtures. A door was falling off bedside cabinet. Was upgraded to a suite, if you can call it an upgrade. Still wasn’t what we paid for. This was shabby, 2 single beds pushed together, clean but old and shabby. Went to the restaurant as recommended when arriving for a quick bite. Very rude staff, fully booked despite over 20 tables lying empty. Turns out the restaurant isn’t owned by the hotel as advertised, so no priority to guests so £160 per night for hotel with no restaurant. Spent little time at the hotel until checking out. Despite the listing showing as a free transfer to the airport they charged 40 Euros. They did waive this when highlighted. They charged the tourist tax but this was for a 3 star rated hotel, this is advertised as 4 star. Be lucky if it was 2. Despite the nice looking pictures, I would avoid this. If you want the restaurant or terrace, stay elsewhere and book for an evening there.

    There really isn’t anything positive to say. The best part was leaving but even then the hotels transfer driver drove like a maniac.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    1* hotel with 4* prices, wouldn’t stay again, ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff when we arrived to check in were rude to us and after giving them our passports to scan, promising to send to the room, we had to collect ourselves. There were no telephone numbers for reception etc. Our room door didn’t even have a door handle! There was building work on the road directly outside with no notice given to us or complimentary ear plugs, so we were woken up at 6am each morning. The hotel was clearly dated with carpet on the walls, with money going to revamp the roof garden. The main lift was out of order on and off, luckily we were on the 1st floor! Breakfast was limited, busy and the same choices every day. The hotel is in need of investment and not worth staying at the moment.

    Not a lot if I am totally honest. The location was good, close to the Vatican City and 10 min walk to the main bridge into the Centre of Rome. The rooftop bar did have a nice view, but we couldn’t afford anything to drink at all up there! Even a can of coke was €5

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Strategic location and amazing roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness The room service did not always provide the hair cap or bar soap everyday. When we entered the room it smells dust and once my son wanted to do whirlpool in the bathtub but the water leak everywhere.

    The roof top bar and location Amazing view, must go for sunset or just a drink. 5 minutes walking distance from vatican and near our fav restaurant (restaurant romolo)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Not to miss the rooftop and bar view!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did book a standard room but since we had an event that night at the hotel rooftop (you CANNOT MISS THE VIEW - mostly by night but even by day is amazing) and asked for an extra crib for the second kid we got upgraded into a suite! Just a perfect staying!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Location was great, views from the roof top amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer in room wasn’t great for someone with anything more than short hair, however it didn’t put me off wanting to return

    Location was great, views from the roof top amazing and hotel and staff very accommodating. Rooms are cleaned and fresh linen every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    If i write anything here, booking will just skip the bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice and other juices at breakfasr have not seen “f of fruits” in them. It is just loads of sugar, some dried powder...not drinkable. Bread could be better. “Superior tripple room” does not have “s of superior”...it is very small...you have to sit on the side of the toilet if you want to go on “second base”.

    If i write anything here, booking will just skip the bad part and write only what was ok (there were good things, of course), so I learned not to even bother. All due to lack of objective presentation of information by booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nearness to the vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave squash for breakfast and labelled it juice. The taste was 100% sugar. Terrible taste. Fresh juice cant be that expensive.

    Nearness to the vatican

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Location and bar upstairs was perfect, that's about it unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small so had to ask for an upgrade, rooms weee way to dark, needed some light. As honeymooners we were a bit disappointed with the room, we asked for laundry and they advised that they will take care of it. We were just asking for places where we can wash our clothes and they advised that they will take care of if, we received a bill for £80 for a couple of garments which is ridiculous

    The bar and location was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is very dated and our first room was not good at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very dated and our first room was not good at all but they quickly found us another more modern room , lifts are very slow indeed but the roof top bar is spectacular !! breakfast ok but par with other hotels in Rome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location with a roof top bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that on one night of stay had to pay into the bar as they had music and it included a drink ! Bit strange to have to pay into a bar as a resident.

    Great location with a roof top bar. Great views of the basilica!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Average but despite the 15 euro a shot cocktails the roof top bar as fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rOof top restaurant and bar were the saving grace of this hotel. The triple room was cramped and had room for 2 not 3 people. The standard of cleanliness was below average and the bathroom was quite shabby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    The rooftop bar was the reason we had chosen the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no shower, only a bath. So if was a little bit difficult to take a shower, we had to keep it in our hands.

    The rooftop bar was the reason we had chosen the hotel. Every night we sat there and drink something. The rooms were very neat and got cleaned every day with fresh towels. The locaties was also good. In about 15-20 minutes you could get to the city center by walking. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Updates to this Property are Needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very, very run down and majorly in need of an update. Issues with the room: the desk was dirty with water rings; the fridge was filthy (photo); the handle on the closet door was broken off with only a sharp edge left; the TV wasn’t working upon arrival because the wires had slipped out; the wall covering looks old and worn. The bed was not exceptionally comfortable, but it wasn’t bad either. The AC, when turned to the coldest setting, is a bit cool, but certainly not cold. The bathroom also didn’t feel clean: there was toilet paper in the toilet upon arrival; the bathtub has a bunch of weird scuffs on it (photo). The parking closes at 10:30pm but this isn’t indicated anywhere; in fact, the main reason I chose the hotel was parking, but I arrived too late and had to park on the street. There isn’t much parking available in the neighborhood, but I eventually found a spot on the street around the corner from the hotel (€4 for 8am to 4pm).

    The location of the property is great and the view from the terrace cannot be beat (photo). The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, close to the Vatican, continental breakfast with a little hot food, helpful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The space in our standard double room was fine, not roomy but fine, however, the party we were travelling with paid for a superior room and this superior room had a double bed in it and the space in general of this superior room was smaller than our standard double room and more expensive. Given this I wouldn't recommend paying the extra for the superior room because it had a second sleeping area with a single bed in it but still only the one bathroom which was very small. There is no point paying for a superior room to be given a second sleeping area with a single bed in it when it isn't going to be used and then the main area where the double bed is in is such that one is barely able to walk around the bed.

    room was decorated nicely, had a tv, black out shutter windows, hairdryer, daily room service, comfortable bed, safe, clothes hanging area, mini bar, shower over bath. Breakfast was nice with coffee/tea/chocolate, cakes, croissants, toast, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cold meat, cheeses, jams and spreads, hot scrambled egg, bacon (was very greasy), sausage. Near to the Vatican, 10 minute walk, good view of the Vatican dome from the bar on the 6th floor, 7th floor and terrace bar. The outside rooftop bar is comfortable and has greenery and flowers. There is an area to take a picture of the dome in the background.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is not worth the money. Could do better elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast was poor to fair. Same breakfast for eight straight days. Hotel advertises free airport shuttle but does not pick up only drops off at airport.

    Scenery from the roof top and restaurant on the sixth floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    I definitely recommend this hotel to friends, family, and business associates.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really like that the hotel has kept old plumbing from renovations many years ago, but some tubs need to be removed and showers installed. Bathroom spaces generally are very tight.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic...just blocks away from the Vatican and over the bridge from the Trevi Fountain and other tourist sights. But, the best reason for staying at the Atlante Star Hotel is the view from the roof top bar and breakfast dining room of St. Peter's Bascilica. The view is breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Prime location, right next to the Vatican and walking distance to everything else of note.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service on the Terrace left a lot to be desired, even after asking staff for another drink, or a menu, we waited seemingly unreasonable times. We went for lunch and had a Salad and 2 Drinks each, which took over 2 1/2 hours, for context, there were 3 members of staff and only 4 occupied tables, we left immediately after eating. Other than the service, the only frustration was that each Hotel room door has a large handle on the outside of it, ours was missing and in it's place were two holes, the size of a 50 pence piece each with a clear view of our bed, which was a little disconcerting.

    The Rooftop terrace is genuinely amazing. It's worth staying at this hotel just for this. The restaurant is similarly fantastic and the food is authentic and is great value. The Facilities in the hotel were also pretty great and the location was incredible. There were renovation works taking place at the time, and I think any negatives were probably influenced by this additional workload, however we hardly noticed it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok experience but feel ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original room was very small but was transferred immediately which makes us think that they tried to give us a cheaper option first. Jets in the bath did not work. Water took a very long time to heat up in the taps and shower sometimes didn't even heat up. Restaurant fully booked and wouldn't serve drinks with many tables free from eye vision.

    Roof top is ok if you get a seat and a drink. Beautiful views once on top. Location was nearly central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction and also the steps to the front desk upon arrival.

    It is an excellent location close to the subway and Vatican plus other wonderful attractions. Only 30 min to coliseum including transfers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Adequate but not quite a 4 star in my opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not included but that could have been related to the cost of the room.Our room was small. Lighting not so good. Shower in the bath so not good for anyone with a mobility concern.

    Position is perfect for getting to the Vatican. Residential area so wide tree lined streets. Some great little Restaurants nearby. Suggest La Locanda on Via Crescenzio. Great food and service.Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic, unbelievable location, spotless, breakfast faultless, free shuttle to airport amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work with scaffolding and mesh over ,so unable to open windows so no view whatsoever. Obviously can't be helped, and hardly any time spent in the room anyway! Booking.com should have informed us of this. Was a bit of a shock to say the least!

    Location and amazing roof terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Location to the vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior was under repair but it did not affect the operation of the hotel.

    Location to the vatican. Spectacular views from rooftop garden and restaurant where we had breakfast each morning. And friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location need large updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room we had was very dated (Art Deco is great but it is normally in good condition and not so dark) the ac wasn’t working when we arrive but did get fixed within a few hours.

    The location was perfect near Vatican and not too noisy. The roof top bar is also great. The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The view from the rooftop terrace was beautiful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got hit with city tax at the end of our stay which we were not aware of and you cannot shower there as then pressure is far to low and roasting hot or freezing.

    The view from the rooftop terrace was beautiful and the location was superb! Staff were very friendly and couldn’t be more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    Good location however I would not recommend this property as it is not a 4 star and is over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small and tatty room with broken mirrors wall, door fitting, cracks in furniture, air conditioning didn’t work properly, tv channel connection was very poor, room had limited natural daylight as tiny internal window where shutter didn’t open which was even more worrying when a fire alarm went off in the middle of the night 0145 and the one member of staff on duty didn’t know what to do, no fire department arrives so after an hour of not knowing what was going on he disconnected the alarm and told us he had checked and there was no fire and to go back to our rooms. Terrible experience. Complained in the morning but feel it was not taken seriously. All in all very badly managed. Unfortunately a very disappointing stay, I will not be returning or recommending to anyone.

    Roof terrace views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    The beds were super comfortable, The location to the Vatican...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small and the shower overflows every single time due to the lack of a proper door. The front desk service was not up to par as they only have one person and they cannot keep up with the demand required by guests. The Hotel restaurant was closed on Thursday without any warning or explanation. Hallways are very narrow. The front facade of the hotel is under construction, not happy with Booking .com for not notifying me of this situation.

    The beds were super comfortable, The location to the Vatican was very close as promised.Very good restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    The front desk staff (Guy) assigned on May 10, 2018 around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same as above.

    The front desk staff (Guy) assigned on May 10, 2018 around 6:00pm was lazy. He doesn’t want to handle our request for hotel car going to AirPort, saying it was still early and we just do it the following day. When we did what he said the next day, our requested time was already filled up and we have to settle on earlier time of departure. I don’t understand why the hotel cannot booked our request earlier, stupid hotel policy. I will not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Good for a night or two waiting travel home, but would never stay for longer than 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in a renovation stage, but the room we stayed in was dark, dingy and not in the best of condition. Should not be charging what they are charging based on renovation equipment in hallway, construction debris and noise, terrace overlooking city is closed for renovation. The reception area is dark and the furniture is very dated and worn out looking. Not a very welcoming experience. Staff didn't know when renovation would be completed. Our room, however, was clean.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Loves Roma but would not Stu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of the rooms were terrible. We changed rooms and it was still horrid, No door handle on our room . Dark oppressive walls . Not a 4 star hotel.

    Great roof terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice view from hotel roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to be picky my room didn't have a great window view, looked onto another wall which to some people might be an issue.

    picked this hotel (two nights) due to the location (5 - 10 min walk to the Vatican) as it was one of the only sites i had not visited. Hotel it self was all you could want for a short stay clean, wifi etc, staff were really good smooth check in/out. But the big selling point for the hotel was the view from the roof top bar good "photo shots" of the Vatican.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    Atlante April 2018
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, grubby, and the bathroom was very poor. The decor was very dated and I great need of a renovation. The shower was useless. There was no kettle and coffee making facility. The rooftop bar was very expensive. I was told our stay for 3 nights was €444 but with a couple of drinks from the rooftop bar on only one occasion my bill on check out was £529 !!

    The views from the rooftop bar !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good experience, would stay again, left us wanting more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the air conditioning didnt seem to work in the room although this was resolved by the hotel staff and a discount applied for the inconvience. the view from the room was compromised by building work and scaffholding around the building. Hotel resturant always seemed to be reserved or not open and when was open was like a ghost town. Airport transfer from airport to hotel is extra although booking.com suggested it was free

    the location is fantasic, a few minutes walk to the castle st angelo. Lots of little resturants nearby with good menus and prices. Terrace bar has amazing views and feels very high up (7th floor). was allowed to keep our luggage securely throughout the day after checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated interior of the rooms but to be fair they are in process of updating

    The staff were exceptional!! Couldn’t be more helpful and pleasant! Location was fantastic! Rooftop bar is amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    We made a reservation 2 months before the arrival, we came...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a reservation 2 months before the arrival, we came to a hotel lately at night and did not receive a clean room and corresponding to the reservation preferences. We changed 3 rooms before they prepared for us the comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.0
    The roof top bar had lovley views and pleasant place to sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top bar had lovley views and pleasant place to sit and have a drink. Breakfast also had lovley views of the Vatican. There was work undergoing during our stay but this did no effect us in the slightest. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Great city and standard hotel with amazing views. The Italian culture and people are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the end of our trip we were shocked with the extra tax which was charged to the drinks we had upon the roof terrace. We should have been informed this on arrival to avoid our disappointment and upset. Also upon arrival we were given a room which overlooked scaffolding, the builders woke us up with loud noises on our first morning which was not pleasant. We were moved rooms to the other side of the building which was great, apart from the sewerage smell from the toilet and the very poor air conditioning facility

    THE views and hotel staff were really pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scalfolding outside and ambulance noise every 5 minutes (I think hospital is somewhere around) Food choice- no food choice same every morning Restaurants often closed for party Bar on the roof only sell the drinks no food

    Location. Close to Vatican and walking distance to all Rome attractions.Insted of bus you can easy walk Roof view is the best part of the hotel Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely time in this hotel thanks for complimentary bottle prosecco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was to the front & was quite noisy & work was being done to the building thus scaffolding & work ongoing

    The rooftop terrace was beautiful & staff are excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms are old and dated and need to be redone.

    I love this hotel and stay here often. The best part is the rooftop view of the Vatican. And the staff members are efficient and friendly. The free ride back to the airport is a great bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    Well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room extremely small, even though I booked superior. I requested to change, I was offered other room a bit better but still... The mattress old and uncomfortable. I was feeling like I was sleeping on the slope of the mountain. The bathroom very very cold. The hotel restaurant upstairs has incredible view and you pay for the view. The food is above average but they serve lettuce from the bag...

    The first impression was very very bad. But when we were leaving I realized that for this price and location, the hotel could not be better. Location excellent, view from the terrace upstairs incredible!!- for these two points I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    The bed is very comfy and the shower hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of the room.

    The bed is very comfy and the shower hot. The room itself is very dated. The location is really good because it’s so close to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The baths are too narrow to sit in (I am only a size 12) and should not be described as a bath. There was no room service, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room (although the staff did find as a kettle). I was travelling with my brother and sister-in-law (having recently lost my husband), but was asked at check-in who was in the room alone and I was put in a small room over looking an alley, even though I was paying the same.

    The staff were friendly and the location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Location amazing . Staff amazing , rooms clean and yes amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home 😀

    3 min walk to the Vatican ! Five min walk to metro station , then two stops to Spanish steps, I cannot believe how help friendly and professional all the staff were in the hotel , the views from the roof top were amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay at the Atlante!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful including an airport transfer on our way home. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choice. Location is great - we walked everywhere including the 5 minute walk to the Vatican and even to the Roma stadium. Lots of good bars and restaurants around the hotel. Would recommend staying at the Atlante!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee making facilities in the room. Room was very hot, no air condition and building works taking place outside room so couldn't open the window as there was scaffolding and men working.

    We liked the décor in the room, location and view of St Peters'

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Atlante Star Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: