Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Balestri 4 stars

Piazza Mentana 7, Uffizi, 50122 Florence, Italy

#62 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1409 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bar is terrible. We were exhausted and went in the bar for food we each took one bite and left. I had provided our room number and no one was around so we left and went to bed with no food. At 11:00 we were awakened by the bar tender wanting me to sign a 33 euro bill which I did and then he proceeded to argue and lecture me about how GOOD the food was and how could we complain!!!!! grrrrrrrr

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    It was too short a stay at this beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful luxurious hotel on the river in a wonderful location. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Gorgeous bathroom and breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a good location - thin walls, so bring ear buds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a charge for coffee at breakfast, which wasn't made clear. The walls are quite thin, I'd recommend ear buds. At the moment there is work going on outside one of the neighbouring buildings, which started early in the morning, probably 7am.

    Great hotel, open 24 hours, which was good as our flight was delayed by 2 hours, meaning we didn't get there until 1.30am. The staff are nice and friendly. Really good selection at breakfast, comfortable beds, hot water, nice size rooms and a great view. They stored our luggage for us while we walked around town on the day we left. It has a great location right by the river and about 10-15 minutes walk to the areas we wanted to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    very well renovated hotel located walking distance to the city center and a very helpful front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No drawer nor shelf space to allow unpacking for a 4 night stay. Impossibly small room with large desk on the fourth floor....fortunately given a slightly larger room the next day.

    A modern hotel tastefully furnished in a perfect location with a most helpful front desk an excellent breakfast. A special thank you to Laura who moved us to slightly larger room in an almost fully booked hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location hotel in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very good right across the street from the Arno. Balcony was nice but interior with only view of adjacent building. Room was the smallest of any room we've stayed in Europe and so tight that we could only go one at a time past end of bed to side of bed. For a 4 star and the price of the room we expected a larger room. Bathroom was a little dark and shower fixtures were difficult to turn on. Turn down and slippers were a nice touch. Breakfast was exceptional and food of high quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    The property was conveniently located to Uffizi, Duomo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was very small and was difficult to watch.

    The property was conveniently located to Uffizi, Duomo and other major landmarks. The room was very clean, but a bit small for two people and all their luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The place to stay when you go to Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive and comes at 35 euros but it is the same all around Florence

    Fantastic breakfast, great staff, excellent rooms and the location is problaly one of the best in Florence

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Great hotel as long as you don't want to use the bar or order room service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made a mistake by making a double booking as my bank didn't allow the payment to be taken from my current account without me authorising the payment! This resulted in me making the same booking again. When we arrived at the hotel they told us we had to pay for both reservations! After a lot of discussion with the hotel manager he agreed to credit 50% of the second reservation which meant we still had to pay an extra 500 euro! I was so angry but had no choice! The bar service is very poor but a likeable guy but don't expect a proper cocktail and certainly don't ask for any bar food as we waited over 2 hours for some ham, cheese and bread!😩😩😩😩 A lovely hotel in a fantastic position right on the river and very close to the centre. The management need to really focus on the bar area and customer service!

    The location is fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    I will try somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the value for money. All services were poor and we could not get what we would ask for.

    The facilities are poor, the room is small. Too expensive compared to what has been offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great last minute emergency accommodation. Delicous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very worn and a bit broken (example the bed wall lamps had half been pulled out and there was a hole where they were supposed to be affixed to the wall).

    Breakfast was delicious and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfy Beds, helpful staff, great position, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor storage in the rooms - some hanging space but v limited shelves/drawers for your non hanging clothes

    Comfy Beds, helpful staff, great position, very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Florence was worth revisiting for a more relaxed experience off season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I would change about this hotel. It met our needs, was clean and modern, but in an old world way. Convenient location. Quiet. I liked Florence on my first visit in 2012. I came to love Florence on this visit. Slightly off season, weather dampish, so fewer tourists and tour groups out and about. We are healthy seniors and loved walking in non tourist neighborhoods, as well as experiencing the activity and diversity in more touristy areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Like the bed turned down at night with the candy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish my room 502 had a open balcony, not the view hidden by the white wall. Suggestion: the booklet of the day giving suggestions of what to do should be given the night prior for review.

    Like the bed turned down at night with the candy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower, which is in a tub, tends to spill water onto the floor from hitting the tub ledge.

    Excellent hotel, we return often. Location and staff, breakfast and general room, all very good indeed. Higher floor rooms have lovely views, either river or (our preference) city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the high quality Balestri and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is a great hotel in an excellent location in Florence - 5 minutes walk from Santa Croce Church and 10 minutes walk from the Uffizi but off the noisy main tourist drag. The superior triple room was extremely comfortable and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff changed the bathroom towels twice a day which was more than we expected for a 4 star hotel. The room was spacious and the shower was strong. The bed linen and towels were high quality. A nice touch was bathrobes and slippers. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast was very nice - not a huge range on offer but what was provided was very tasty and the coffee was excellent (very important when in Italy!) . The only improvement I can suggest is mosquito screens on the windows as my young daughter got tons of bites during the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great location to walk to anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to walk to anything. Staff was always super helpful - they must have connections because they got us reservation each night for restaurants we could not get into by calling ourselves. Loved all the choices they gave us .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great visit, the whole hotel experience was great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a great visit, the whole hotel experience was great, staff, service & location are excellent. With it being located pretty much centre of the city, it allows easy access to all main attractions. The breakfast is great with plenty of choice, the staff were always available to meet all our needs. The hotel even allowed to book day excursions at the front desk. We will be back next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Elegant,sophisticated, updated hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked, but did not love the restaurant they recommended and reserved for our first night. Try Osteria Badali, a new restaurant across the river.

    Hotel Balestri is a beautiful hotel in a great location on the river a short walk to the Uffitzi and bridge to other side of the river. The entrance and lobby are stunning, and the bar and dining area are comfortable and stylish. Great breakfast buffet. The rooms are small, but ours had a nice balcony with a table and chairs. The bathroom was nice in size and well-designed. We had a nice view of the Ponte Vecchio. Staff was helpful in recommending and booking dinner reservations, and storing bags on check out day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel, well positioned for attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room that we had felt a little cramped and one day we came back to the room whilst it was being cleaned and the room cleaner wouldn't let us get our things out of our room in order to go sightseeing when she was cleaning it :D although we didn't mind going for a quick coffee whilst waiting for her to finish!

    This hotel was well situated for the central district, the room was nice and quiet and the staff were helpful in telling us where everything was and booking advanced tickets to attractions. Breakfast had a good selection and was of good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    I like the place, but the hotel is a bit far from the Duomo and shopping Center and to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all rooms have a good view, so I suggest book the rooms with balcony and views to enjoy it more.

    Rooms are quite small but the bed is comfortable. The room and the bathroom are very clean. All staff are helpful and nice and the staffs in the breakfast hall are sweet, they always welcome you with a great smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Location; Comfort; Value; Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location next to the Arno. Friendly and helpful staff. Super comfy bed with excellent duvet and climate control in room - perfect! Generous bathroom; fluffy towels on warming rack; tea/coffee facilities in room and good mini bar with reasonable pricing. Comprehensive and enjoyable buffet breakfast included (supplementary menu also available). Highly recommend the Balestri!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    The view and location beats everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in the "Piazza di rubbish collection": every morning including weekend 7-9.30 one or two lorries would make a lot of noise collecting rubbish from little vans servicing narrow streets: diesel running, beeping, lifts squeaking etc-the lot. Can't sleep. Why on earth does it have to take place in this particular pretty little square commemorating the unification of Italy, with a 4 star hotel in it??? The staff seemed unconcerned, when I mentioned it. True, it is not their fault, but surely the city council can be spoken to about it.

    Central position, little balcony from the bathroom(!) onto the square and Arno, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short stay in a romantic spot by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with our room, a great start to our celebratory mini break. Good view with balcony, could see the river! Very helpful staff. Good breakfast selection. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    The best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courteous helpful service and help at desk with train tickets, taxis, directions, restaurant reservations. Comfortable clean spacious room. Fantastic ample breakfast. Lovely place, excellent location, warm and helpful staff. Kudos ! Perfecto !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Almost everything is more than perpect! 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm one thing is quite far from station so, if you have laggage, then you’d better use cab(taxi)

    It was really nice facility and very kind staffs perfect breakfast! Also not crowded location next to liver👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable, in a fantastically central location. I would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Temperature control in the room was difficult. It was either too hot or too cold.

    Lovely location, comfortable rooms and universally helpful staff. The view from the room was magnificent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfy bed, clean room and clean bathroom with lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    Comfy bed, clean room and clean bathroom with lots of space. Nice location and wonderful view to the river. Checking out was really difficult.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance door didn’t work properly, you almost had to kick it to enter. When we return late at night we realized that the sink was clogged. In the morning we also had problems with the shower doors that didn’t completely closed and the wc brush was broken. When we complained in the morning, the receptionist answer was...I am sorry. Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. I’m not staying there again.

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel overall! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we had coffee machine both in out room and at dining room during breakfast. Also, I think that cereal/oatmeal/porrige type of breakfast could be better (greater choice of cereals, plant based milk, dry fruits, nuts and seeds).

    Decor of the hotel is very nice and sophisticated. Rooms are very nice and cosy. Stuff were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Good time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was slightly odd was the bartender. We asked for a cork screw to open some wine to take to the rooftop terrace (nice nighttime view). You would have thought we asked to have his left hand. My friend also tried to speak Italian to him which he barked back “speak English!”. He begrudgingly opened our bottle and we received a bit of an eye roll when we asked for glasses. It was all very odd for being the only people in the bar. We had originally asked if we could just borrow a corkscrew but they wouldn’t let us.

    We loved it all. The room was small but I’m guessing that’s what it is in the middle of Florence. Beds are comfy, shower is amazing, and the service at breakfast was incredible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend Hotel Balestri to anyone, especially like us who were in Florence for the f
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because our balcony room faced south, we first entered to the curtains open and bright sun so the room was very warm. It took a while for the air conditioner to work well enough to cool down the room, but the view made up for any moments of discomfort.

    Great location, within minutes walk of the Uffizi Gallery, Galileo Museum, Palazzo Vecchio & everything you would want to see in the main heart of Florence. We were lucky to have a balcony room overlooking the Arno (south facing so plenty of sunshine!) and woke up every morning to the amazing view. The breakfast buffet was just enough to get us going for our day of walking & sightseeing. The staff was very helpful with local restaurant recommendations & very friendly, speaking very good English. We loved discovering the 5th floor rooftop deck with views of the Duomo and Florence rooftops! Great photo ops!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in general (room, staff, bed, breakfast, bathroom) but rooms are a bit small and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room windows have a really poor acoustic isolation. We can hear everything happening outside, despite the windows being closed. It's a real issue because, early in the morning, there is a lot of traffic on the place where the hotel is located. If you're sensitive to noise, you should look for another hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    If you can get a room with a view, it is worth every euro.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean but difficult to work with if you have more than one suitcase. There isn’t space to put anything (which sort of ruins the effect of a nice room you have paid a lot for). Closets are strangely shallow and shelves are oddly narrow. Prepare to have your room overrun by your stuff unless you packed light.

    If you can get a room with a view, it is worth every euro. The staff at the desk seemed as though they may have tourist fatigue. Every smile felt fake. Maybe that’s what happens when 10 million people move through your city each year. The rest of the staff - cleaners, those waiting tables, etc — were very kind and welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    In all 1 1/2 star out of 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not comfortable noise by people movement above us Breakfast was not as expected. For those who would like to stay in this hotel make sure book without breakfast.

    Only the location of the hotel which was next to Arno river otherwise nothing I liked

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Florence is a wonderful place to visit and stay, it’s very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a great issue here in Florence, but the hotel did sort it out thankfully with a big money to pay for sure, but overall it’s ok

    Location, staff, comfortness of the bed & everything in the room specially the view is outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    great location, good breakfast, neat and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    step in the bedroom becomes a tripping hazard. light in walk in wardrobe not working, made aware to management but staff refused to swap rooms.

    great location, good breakfast, neat and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, on the river and close by to some great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating routinely reset itself to 25°C, and the lowest selectable temperature was 22°. Not ideal for sleeping.

    Great location, on the river and close by to some great food. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with excellent staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the first roomnight, I found my heat didn’t work well and the shower water was not hot enough and the light of the mirror in the bathroom didn’t work, but they had fixed all of them after I told them the second day morning

    The staffs there were very nice and hospitality, they are always willing to help your needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    It was a nice hotel with an amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They join 2 twin beds together to make a double bed...this wasn’t very comfortable

    The hotel is by the water which is amazing. Breakfast spread is limited by okay. It was a nice romantic spot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, as we've found before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top floor room with access to the terrace and its views is our favorite. Helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet, bar and good place to meet a friend for a drink, somewhat off the too-beaten path yet in walking distance of museums.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar opened at 5 so coffees etc you couldn't get until then. It also closed at 10.30. The cleaner left bathroom windows open so that evening me and my partner got a total of 10 mosquito bites. Room was also noisy at 7am. Sounded like a delivery to the hotel via the back of the hotel

    The staff were lovely. Location was also really really good. Rooms were clean and all you needed for your stay. They helped organise a cake for my partners birthday which was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very hard to get in and out of.

    The location was perfect! Right on the Arno and close to everything! Bed was super comfy with a beautiful view! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    It made great city a restful place to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great location to enjoy the city. Comfortable, clean and breakfast was great. The things you want to seem and do are walking distance. You could come back for a rest and go out again without a lot of traveling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that someone was smoking and all the smoke went through the air ventilation system.... i did not like the smell of the toiletries...

    I liked the hospitality of the staff. Very clean rooms. Good location. Very nice comfy bed and pillows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Baseless expensive hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the room is baseless expensive for this hotel, breakfast is poor. The staff is not ready to solve the problems of guest. It was very cold in the room, condition system didn’t work. It took several request to the staff and twenty-four hours in oder to regulate the system.

    The rooms are well decorated, clean. Good location if you prefer living not far from the center. Good view from the window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    LOVED THIS HOTEL, perfect location for us, quite rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    LOVED THIS HOTEL, perfect location for us, quite rooms, amazing bathroom overall very very pleased!! Wonderful staff with great restaurants recommendations. Very accommodating to all requests, strongly recommend the balcony bedroom with views to the Arno river will definitely come back and stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    A little time to reflect.. and see .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had construction next door.. but not really an issue

    Very nice room, good staff, clean,modern elegant, im.going back again,they were very accommodating, storing my bag while I went to venice. And will return today.. the room I had had a beautiful view of the river arno

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard! The city view from our junior suite was the building opposite... not what I would call a view!

    The location of the hotel was excellent for visiting the main city attractions. The breakfast was very good. The staff were helpful and the rooms kept spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel on the Arno in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect.

    Beautiful large room and bath with separate closet area. Did not have to unpack robes as two cozy robes were provided for us. We only stayed one night but it was a fabulous stay. Staff were very helpful. And even prepared a breakfast in a bag for our 5AM departure. Location on the Arno great location. We would love to return in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    So so, but is ok if it's not peaks season while the price is reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small! And the cleaning was not very good while the shower room n water sink was not clean and can see clear marks. Mosquito are also living with us the whole 2 nights, we stayed on 1st floor.

    The location is perfect to ever historical check points, about 2 mins walk to the Uffizi Gallery, and you can see the river just by stepping out the hotel. Many restaurants around and many choices. Hotel is clean in the public areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful visit but too short. We need to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frescobaldi's restaurant is Excellent! Great food and outstanding wine and service. We highly recommend it! Also saw David--- it was awe inspiring.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Exactly what we needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like being charged for fresh juice - it is usually complimentary.

    Daniele and the front desk staff were incredibly helpful and resourceful!! Love the heated towel rack - nice touch!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A good place to stay for several days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The room was comfortable, spacious und quiet. The breakfast buffet offered a good choice. The staff at the reception desk was very helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location. Close to many major sites but without the crowds right outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thought the lounge area would be more utilized by guests if the lighting was dimmed in the evening for better atmosphere. The room was bright like a cafeteria and no one ever seemed to go there for a drink. In fact never saw anyone at the bar at all.

    The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Any request or question was promptly addressed. The breakfast room was lovely and breakfast offered a good variety for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel lacked amenities. We would have enjoyed longer hours at the bar. The price is high but the location is excellent.

    The view from our room on the Arno River was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Tiny but comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast okay.. few members of the reception staff were not customer oriented enough.. the others were nice though. Rooms are super tiny.

    Perfect Location. Nice comfy bed. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff were helpful especially for Breakfast, the selection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly our room was very dark, certainly not as shown in the information provided. One of the main features which encouraged us to book this Hotel was the roof terrace - sadly this was also unavailable. The bar area was clean but uninviting and in fact closed one evening.

    Staff were helpful especially for Breakfast, the selection available at breakfast was good. The bedding was amazing we would have liked to take the sheets home!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, making it hard for two women to get ready. Only one mirror above the sink in the bathroom. It would've been nice to have better lighting or a mirror outside of the bathroom.

    It was beautiful, clean, and the front desk was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasent stay, we would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were spacious, staff and service was amazing. Hotel staff recommended local restaurants and helped us make dinner reservations when needed. Location was perfect, right next door to Uffizi and walking distance to all major attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, appreciated the free upgrade and overall staff pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask some stuff twice at breakfast for certain things, first breakfast no one asked if we wanted coffee or tea

    Rooms were kept clean on a regular basis. .nice touch to have the curtains drawn and a sheet laid put by the rug.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    A great hotel with very nice staff but they were not always at the top when faced special problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting system was disfunctional in the room and when I let the staff know about it in the morning nothing happened until evening when I had to call them again. Also, they were unable to get hold of a plastic supplement so that the shower gets less slippery.

    Great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    You will come away from your hotel stay - very much enjoying the experience. It is small, and the st
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was at a 5 star (Ritx Carlton) level. I would classsify this as a botique hotel - The Inn at Little Washington. You will find the location perfect for walking to Florence sites and the staff very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great location, super staff, easy parking, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!! It was a fabulous stay!

    The room was very large and comfortable...certainly large by European hotel standards. There was a very pretty bathtub in the bathroom and great bath products. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Very helpful recommending places to eat nearby. The breakfast was great...fresh fruit, eggs, plenty of coffee. The location, right near the Uffizi on the Arno, was so convenient. We will definitely stay here again and also use other hotels in their group.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly boutique hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with all the beds we stayed in in Italy, the mattress was quite firm, but not uncomfortably so.

    We were upgraded to a river-view room and it was stunning - gorgeous view of the Arno. The bathroom was super swish and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was moments from the Uffizi and a great location all in all - plus it was quiet at night which was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ironing of our clothes was quite poor. Not a third world problem however as we had paid well for this it could have been better.

    The hotel interior design is beautiful. The staff great. Best negroni in Italy. The msn. Ruins the bar was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Everythingggf about this hotel is just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was PERFECT

    Everythingggf about this hotel is just perfect! The staff is just out of this world, tooooo helpful and sweet! Rooms were amazing and clean. Very very centrally located. Breakfast is very nice! If I could give 11 I would give them!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    came to hear our daughter in a series of operas. the music was excellent, just like this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, nothing we didn't like.

    The location, Imer, near Dolomite Mountains is beautiful and relaxing. The staff, from youngest to oldest were super friendly, helpful, and warm. The included breakfast, setting, and service was great. Felt like home, easy to get around town and beyond.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Made my stay in Florence a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could ask no more from a hotel

    The rooms were elegant, beautiful view,and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would go back to this hotel in an instant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Florence Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, Very cramped, impossible to do anything but sleep, I like to do yoga, so no room for that

    Good location within walking distance to all the tourist attractions, delicious breakfast included in the rate, comfortable bed, great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Lighting switch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom switch for lighting is not properly placed in an accessible position. It was licated behind the door, so you have to walk inside the batroon with no light until you find the switch for the lighting in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel during our tour of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this boutique style hotel. Fantastic location, on banks of River Arno, 2 minutes to Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. Beautiful decor with comfy beds and gorgeous bathroom. You know it's a good one when there are bathrobes, slippers and a turn down service (lemoncello sweets on the bed) Great attentive staff, immaculately clean throughout. Breakfast was great as was the cappuccino. Pretty roof top terrace with fabulous view towards Duomo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one elevator and the internet was unstable

    The rooms were a perfect size, the bathrooms nice, the views fantastic, the terasse wonderful and the staff kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely tiny and all the facilities are old. The lights cannot be even switched off and need to unplug from the electricity.

    Location is not bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing and restful with a beautiful view of the Arno River and located within walking distance to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When planning our trip, I was concerned about parking in Florence since this was my first time to travel by auto. The charges for parking were affordable and the attendants were very efficient. The no entry areas were of concern but everything went better than expected even though it was a bit confusing getting to the hotel.

    The beds were the most comfortable of the five hotel during the entire trip. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Florence--a magic city and the Balestri is up to the task
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had a better coffee maker in the room, and given more coffee

    My wife and I have visited eleven European cities in the last year. This hotel was second best--and very very good. Location is terrific--easy walk to all sites in Florence. We got the river view room.....the Arno is not much of a river, but the view was still great. The temperature was 40C/104F, yet the room Air Conditioning worked well. With the high heat, a comfortable shower was a must--and Balestri delivered. The staff was really friendly and helpful....so all in all, great hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Balestri traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: