Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berna 4 stars

Via Napo Torriani 18, Stazione Centrale, 20124 Milan, Italy

#11 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4539 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no privacy in the bathroom which has a glass door.

    It is walking distance from the main railway station and also close to the metro. The breakfast is sumptuous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff forgot to order my early morning taxi although they told me that they had - it was on arrival that I requested this. The next morning I again said that a taxi had been ordered for me - no one checked. When the taxi did not turn up, it transpired that it had not been ordered! I knew that I would need to be in time for a train so was disappointed that what was promised was not done. Shame that the staff did not match the rest of the great facilities.

    The bedroom was clean and comfortable and not over decorated. The breakfast was excellent and I am super fussy about food. Could even make my own fresh carrot juice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Very attentive to guests. Complimentary soft drinks, tea and coffee in room and in hotel lobby. Complimentary snack food in bar in evening.

    Excellent location for access to the Metro and Central station. Lots of restaurants in area. Beautiful park 15 mins walk from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor wi-fi connection

    Staff: very professional, kind and helpful-especially thanks to Luck from front desk; he kindly helped us to get the information about the city and Agazio&all breakfast team; their delightful approach provided us with a beautiful start to the day. Room was clean and very comfortable. It is not allowed to smoke in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single room was very small with an internal window.

    Excellent breakfast, and the aperitivo at night was an unexpected bonus. If you had had lunch, there was enough good food to snack on to make dinner unnecessary. The room was small, but had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Very convenient to Centrale FS for trains and Metro..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is at good location. It’s so convenient to move around city, Becouse there is near centralstation. And they provide good service, breakfast and room condition. They are very kind and considerate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A, everything was excellent

    Everything from cleaneleness of the room to breakfast, location, which is only 5 min walk from the train station, and finally the staff was excellent! Will come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used an iron in the room. Quite busy in the breakfast area, was a big contrast from a small quiet hotel that we stayed in previously, but nothing too major.

    Good location that's close to the central station and value for money. The breakfast selection was huge and the coffee was good, even got some fruits in the room. Some free drinks in the fridge, which was a welcome change to the usual offerings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both the room and breakfast were at an expected level. BUT what stood out where: +++++ The people working, both at breakfast room and at the reception - outstanding ++ The bathroom, its design and modern style

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Great breakfast and happy hour. Loved sitting in the bar for a drink and appetizers. Very comfortable! All employees were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but compact room.

    Hotel had tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Convenient to main station walking distance to main square. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to not like, Perfect.

    The Hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is very close the the Central train station, Metro line and bus station giving easy access to all areas of Milan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that for the benefit of passengers arriving at Milano Central station the hotel should find a way to indicate, before arrival, which is the best exit to use. The station is enormous and being sure of which way to exit saves time. Not all passengers are connected to internet 100% of the time.

    I thought the email interaction with Hotel Berna before my stay was unusual but rewarding. Everything offered was done. I had not expected that, and it was useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C could have worked better . I did not sense 19 degrees as I sensed in other hotels I was in. I think it needs update of HVAC

    In general , Hotel Berna has an excellent location , good facility , good breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to train station and within walking distance to rest of the city. Fabulous breakfast. Large room with great view. Very clean. Kept our bags until late evening departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small, loved the free rubber duck! We

    Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast plentiful, mainly cold but typical for Italy. Loved the free drinks in the minibar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is rather small quite noisy at night, especially when garbage collecting machine was passing at 4 am

    The staff are gods of service, they hug you with their smile at the etrance and accompany you gently through your stay. "Grand Budapest" attitude! And the guys at reception are so handsome, mama mia! The room is small and basic, but very clean and made with quality materials (wooden floor, etc.) The decoration is classic or, I would say, even old shcool. In the world of modern minimalism Berna stays out with their classy style. Big choice for breakfast, fresh juice, fruits, etc. Very close to railwaystation. We were in Milan just for connection, so it was very helpful. The receptionist Andrea recommended us a very worthy restaurant nearby, Mama Rosa. Must visit. Thank you, we had a good time there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sliding door of the wardrobe is broken in the next morning

    The most generous hotel I stayed during this journey, all the water/beverages in the minibar are free, and there are 8 bottles!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. We had a very enjoyable stay.

    This is a lovely gem of a hotel. Great staff who work hard to make your stay comfortable and special. Really nice breakfast spread and snacks in the evening. Is located near the Centrale train station and Metro stops - good for getting anywhere. Room amenities were terrific. Left very early in the morning and they even prepared a take away breakfast for us. Lots of extra care.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel is very comfortable and close to the train station to enable you to easily get to Milan attractions. The breakfast was an enjoyable way to begin each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast and the pleasant service. I had stayed one night two years ago and remembered it as excellent. It still is the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff very really friendly & helpful . We had very nice ,modern room with very good air-condition and full mini bar of free drinks . Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything. The check-in time was 1500 but the hotel let me check-in earlier at 1430. Chocolates on the bed and lots of coffee/tea/biscuits was a pleasant surprise. The non-alcoholic drinks in the room fridge are free. You get a personalized web page after booking the room to customize your preferences during the stay like room temperature, no. of pillows etc. Very good breakfast and a user friendly checkout time of 1100 AM.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Second stay in 30 days and got an upgrade to a room that I once stayed. Everything perfect. Surely come back again next time!

    Good location, good online room configuration, good minibar, good breakfast with the syrup-macerated William pears. Good staff and good room status.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quality Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Male hotel staffs not smiling and not take care as it should, but I 'm not expect much. Female staffs look good and OK.

    Better than expected... Not far from Milano centrale , Spacious room with very good facilities, Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are excellent. The location is very good if you are travelling by train as we were. It was close to tram and metro stops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had been asked pre arrival to request a selection of extras so we had great down pillows! Bed very comfortable, towels great, loved having windows to open, delicious and very varied breakfast options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was correct - location, comfort, very nice people working at reception, wonderful breakfast, excellent choice of TV channels. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Not unexpected though.

    Staff very helpful. Room comfortable (although small). Excellent bathroom facilities and shower. Location was perfect for Centrale station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a triple room with 1 double & 1 roll-away bed. Roll-away bed was not comfortable.

    The breakfast is perfect with variety of choices. Hotel is in 2 min walking distance to Central Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found the bed and pillows a bit too firm.

    Staff excellent, especially their ability to greet and converse with guests in their own language. Hotel was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no porridge for breakfast.

    The room is spacious.Fresh carrot juice available at the breakfast. There is also a kettle in the room. So you can have a cup of tea in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we didn't stay longer!

    The breakfast was excellent - vey accommodating staff and a block from the Central Rail station for all your transport needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were huge, staff were very accommodating and spoke great English. Late check out available. We loved the information sheet in your room on arrival, subway tickets available at the front desk. Huge breakfast spread - fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Keep working on it!

    Several stays in Berna. My favorite connection point when flying Milano. Good breakfast, user-friendly online room configuration, very close to central station, lovely minibar and the small yellow duck, Clippers and shower gem...anything you may need is prepared by the hotel. Really a good place to stay my travel in Italy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible quarrel between staff in the breakfast hall...more than embarassing, I would say scary. unacceptable , and management totally not caring. Room decor not so fancy.

    swiss style breakfast buffet , food very rich and fresh. hotel very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annex building was a cross the street but it wasn't an issue.

    Lovely staff, helpful. The hotel is close to milano centrale railway. The breakfast and the price were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk could have been friendlier--they always seemed like they needed to get on to the next customer.

    Extremely convenient location for Metro, train and airport bus. Comfortable beds and pillows. Kettle for making tea a plus. Very quiet and nice to have AC. (Stayed in annex.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first stay they really exceeded any expectations - I had a double room for single stay and a Christmas cake (I came in January) put on the bed for me. This time I got a smaller single room that overlooked the internal yard where an engine from time to time produced noisy sounds..at least during the night it was silent, but given that I had asked for "a quiet room", it was a bit disappointing, since I wanted to have rest during the day and I could not.

    It was my second stay with them. This time I used their catering service to the room, and the food was really delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would definitely stay here again, so not really a negative comment, but it is worth noting that the hotel is not your typical chain hotel with wide hallways, etc.

    The staff was excellent. Very easy to communicate with prior to arrival and there is a real effort shown to make the stay comfortable. Location is very close to train station, which is convenient in some ways, but about a 30 minute walk to main tourist sites. On the other hand, the Metro is just steps away and an inexpensive and fast way to travel to the city center. I booked a single room, which was very small but adequate for my needs. The bathroom was modern and extremely clean. Breakfast choices were varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel well located close to Milan Central Station. Comfortable, quiet & clean room. Staff very obliging. Excellent quality breakfast available from 6:30am. Great for travellers. Complimentary non alcoholic beverages in fridge. This hotel caters to the needs of its guests whether here for business or leisure. Good restaurants nearby. About 30min walk to Duomo or quick metro ride. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff members make this hotel special. Antonella is simply a gem. I asked her if she knew of any places nearby for Panzerotti. She researched three different places on the internet and showed me how to get there on the map. I felt so welcome because of her kindness and support. Daniele was very kind and accommodating at breakfast. Also, Manuel was also kind and devoted to professionalism. I was very impressed. Thank you. ~Rita

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy - you can hear your neighbors through walls

    Breakfast Free mini bar Choice of pillows Location - close to central station. I was worried reading other reviews that there would be a lot of homeless or dangerous people around the stations, but it was not the case. There were few of them, but there was also police present always, so I always felt safe. It was much worse around Duomo where they kept trying to put bracelets on you and cornering you when going out/in from metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The concierges are brilliant! The breakfast is wonderful! Room is spacious,bathroom looks new and clean. Near the metro and railway station hence easy to travel. Price is affordable. Easy and fast self check in and out. Took a late check out and no hassle given. Very helpful! We will come again to Milan and Berna!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower very small. No international plugs as standard. Buy an adaptor if travelling from outside the EU.

    The location is excellent and, for tourists dependant on train travel, a no brainer as it is less than 10 minutes walk to the station. Rooms adequate size with small desk. Close to good restaurants and tourist bus route.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only room available for that day was a triple room. As the hotel was fully booked, there wasn't no other option, like changing to a cheaper room. So, I paid a bit more, but Ok.

    Good breakfast. This was my second stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel did not have ramp for disabled guests and luggages.

    Best hotel I have stayed for the 5 times I have visited Italy (total of 9 hotels). It's very clean, very close to the central milan train station. Room has very comfortable bed, soft pillows with minibar that's included in the room rate. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, special mention to jacqueline at the breakfast as she was so friendly and was able to anticipate needs of guests at breakfast area. There is even a free happy hour after 5 pm where you can drink wine, tea, coffee and just enjoy taking an afternoon rest. Check-in and check-out were fast and easy. Environment is also clean, quiet and safe even at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the annex so we had to go to the main building for breakfast.

    The hotel is really near the train station. It's far from the city centre, but the underground stop is just a few meters from the hotel and only four stops from the Duomo. The room was very comfortable and clean and the minibar in the room offered free soft drinks. Very polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite spectacular, and the bedroom quiet and comfy. This was an ideal location for an early train to Malpensa the next morning, but a bit of a hike to the duomo and galleria. We would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No sound isolation , noise coming from the street and from the next room

    Very kind staff ( especially HANI ) , great location , very good breakfast , facilities , very cosy hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top notch in every regard from the friendly and accomodating staff to the breakfast (variety, attention to dietary restrictions, even made to order cappuccino) to the comfy, clean room to the location to the suggestion for a restaurant for dinner ... it was all perfect, and without it being uber expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noise kept me awake from across the street but management were profusely apologetic - window fastener faulty and otherwise this would not have been a problem

    clean and stylish. Well appointed great location near station, attentive reception service small friendly bar easy access to vintage tram at end of street and quick access to Duomo and city centre albeit walkable. Great restaurants nearby. Sure you'll find cheaper hotels nearby but this is organised and very clean and a safe short walk from the station towards the city centre not away from it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a very friendly small hotel with fabulous extras like a free minibar and a cute rubber ducky you can take. The location is great, near the train station. Rooms are small, but very efficient, comfortable, and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with friendly staff perfectly located near the milano central station. The location is ideal to commute around Milan or even to other cities. The breakfast is decent and the internet is fast. I always love to stay there whenever I am in Milan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the room, and the hotel. I had a small,single room and I imagined it was like being on the Orient Express with the decor. Iwished it really was a long train trip so I could enjoy more nights there. Very cosy and beautiful room and great free drinks in the mini-fridge. Wonderful breakfast. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really everything was ok. Only I can say that it is not worthy to buy the hop on hop off bus as it takes a lot of time, you have to wait a lot (at least in this time of the year) and you can visit all the places by metro, which is cheaper and more fast

    The hotel es very well located, 2 blocks away from Milano Centrale which takes you from and to the airport in aprox 45 minutes. Also there is line M2 of metro which can take you all around Milan. Getting out from the station the street is toward your left crossing the avenue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff assistance

    OK, I arrived to this hotel, late at night, after a very very long flight, and then a train ride from Malpensa where I just missed, by one second, the Malpensa "express", on a freezing night, -2! It was 32 C at home! I couldn't find the hotel in my disorientated state and ended taking a taxi from the station. I arrived very late, and had to struggle with my bags into the the hotel. No one was going to help and there are stairs, no ramp! Check in was OK, and I struggled to my room with the bags. The room was OK, not large, but a reasonable bed. The shower stall was tiny, large people beware, but there was a fee duck! Breakfast was great and staff were charmingly friendly and helpful and had an eye for the entire restaurant. Well done. I checked out...no problem, but it is not a cheap hotel. I walked to the station, sliding around in the snow 6-10cm that had fallen overnight..I went to take a photo..oh no!! My phone!! Where is it?? Must be back at the hotel. I have to find a taxi, go back to the hotel, explain myself, go search my room , it is not there....maybe cleaned by the cleaner...nope. Go back to the room, nope and the staff are un making the divan bed that wasn't used...back to the taxi, eventually find the phone...silly jet lagged me has put it in the suitcase..who knows why..go to thank the staff...they swear at me!! So if you have to travel long distances and get discombobulated by time, I do not recommend this hotel! The patient, understanding Milanese taxi drivers, yes, I recommended them!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is very good especially the responsable of breakfast Mr. Agazio Marino who like a maestro directs his personel to the best service. The room is very satisfactory, clean and safe without noise from inside and outside the hotel. Ahd very well located very close to the central station and metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect location!(2 minute walk to train and metro station,20 minute walk to Duomo.)It was very easy to go back to hotel from anywhere!And also safe and alive location.The stuff was very helpful and polite.Free minibar and great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Every thing was perfect, very close to the train station and airport bus, staff were very nice and the packed our breakfast very early as our flight time was early morning. The hotel was very quite and calm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An LED reading lamp was on all the time the switch to turn it off was not functioning, it can be annoying. The room is not spacious, which is acceptable for this central location at this price. The tv screen maybe too small. Probably 20 inch screen. It would be nice if they offer omelette.

    Very clean They work hard to make guests happy Complementary soft drinks in the minibar refilled daily plus free coffee and water in room and lobby. Excellent location 4 minutes walk to Milan Centrale station. Reasonable breakfast, with friendly restaurant staff and delicious Expresso Macchiato. All staff I dealt with were helpful, the staff in the breakfast were friendly, also a very friendly Egyptian employee (porter) at the lobby , and an Asian employee (porter) who carried my luggage out after checking out. It is evident that whoever chooses the staff is very particular about friendliness and helpfulness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one towel offered in room. No waste basket in room. Awkward window shade and very tiny plates used in breakfast serving. The front receptionist repeatedly gave wrong directions to nearby facilities. When I raised these issues to the front receptionist, he said he will pass the information along to his superiors and took notes and then said that I could raise "these issues with the manager." My response: then, why did you take notes and offer to raise the issue with management?

    Nothing much other than the nearby train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome hotel. Great service, located close to the railway station which is useful after taking Malpensa express or when headed into different places by train later on, as we did Breakfast is at best, with carrot bucket at your disposal for fresh juice, great coffee and gluten free bread, rice and soy milk and tons of cheese, fresh fruit etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single rooms are on the small side but are well furnished and comfortable.

    Great location, excellent staff and guest service and wonderful breakfast. Still my favourite hotel in Milan after more than 20 visits

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allowed me to checkin before official checkin hour. They provide free self service coffee/tea in the lobby which came quite handy while waiting. Breakfast is pretty decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, only stayed 1 night but found the staff to be very friendly & helpful would definitely stay at the Berna again, breakfast was excellent & well presented everything you need to start your day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly nice for the price and location. Exceeded my expectations. Recommend for short stay. Nice G&T bar just outside, serce nice food late at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel. I like everything. Excellent location - 5 minutes to the train station, 30 minutes walk to the Duomo (or 4 subway stops). Incredible breakfast with fresh juices, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, close to metro and tram, restaurants and shops nearby.The hotel staff is very friendly. Rich and good breakfast. We were very satisfied all around and we definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room is a little smaller, but it is acceptable to take into account the location and the cost performance.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, and walk to the train station for just 5 minutes. The room is clean and the bathroom is clean too. The staff are friendly and we have a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quality Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I considered the en-suite cramped. There also appeared to be an issue with the Aircon which never seemed to work.

    Good Value for Money. Fantastic breakfasts, polite and considerate staff, perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I usually prefer interiors in less classic and more modern style, this is why I went for some other hotel for two nights before a trip out of Milan to Venice. Now I regret a lot! :)

    Not fair to rate this hotel lower than 10. Having visited quite some properties 5 times as expensive, I have never in my life seen a hotel so well managed, with so much genuine attention to details. If i were to come back I would easily trust a romantic trip to this place, as you can believe all will be done to excellence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being close (5 mins) to the station means you're a little way out of central Milan (maybe a 30 minute walk). I recommend learning to use the metro though as it's dead simple and you can get basically anywhere in the city.

    Very nice hotel near Milano Centrale. Staff are extremely helpful (recommending and booking restaurants, organising transport, etc.) - just old school excellent service. The buffet in the bar is free at night and really good. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's close to Milano Central station, we didn't feel too safe to walk on the street at night.

    It's a convenient and cosy place. The staff was nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quality Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed my stay: attitude (choice of a blanket beforehand - it was great, since I get cold quite easily, so I prefer really warm blankets), breakfasts, my room, a welcome mini-panettone in my room, a tea-set - all this was splendid! Also, another important thing - a very good location - close to the central station but at the same time it was very quiet in my room during the night.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Berna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: