Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berthod 3 stars

Via Mario Puchoz 11, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy

#15 of 64 hotels in Courmayeur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for getting into town but slightly far from the ski slopes (similar to most other courmayeur hotels though)

    Recently refurbished to a good standard, both the bedrooms and the spa were pleasantly surprising.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Berthod..What a beautiful, centrally located and friendly hotel. Rooms were lovely, the staff charming and the breakfast was the best we have EVER had in the Alps!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    A wonderful experience. Very friendly stuff. Service orinted. Great atmosphere. The location is perfect. Designed in a very unique style. Bottom line, highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that the spa was under construction.

    Staff was extremely friendly. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding -- very large and varied buffet. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charge 20€ for extra person per one night, which should written on the website. and the extra bed is a little bit uncomfortable.

    the hotel looks really great outside and near everything. And the stuffs are really nice, we need to wait a longtime for our bus. and they let we stay in the main hall during the waiting time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very heavy on sweet baked goods but very limited on hot items and protien choices. Each morning there was some cut fresh fruit but a real fruit salad or more choices of fresh fruit would have been welcomed. The selection was very repetitive compared to other places we have stayed. For the price a superior room which we booked was small and there was no effort at decorating, the walls were basically bare. Also we were there for 4 nights and the toiletries were never replenished. Overall there was just a sense of spareness rather than graciousness. .

    Very convenient location which was a big plus. Room was adequate size and clean. Lots of hot water and a good shower. There was free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of our other guests had children and it was a bit noisy nothing to do with the hotel someone scratched our car probably children

    Breakfast was amazing location great had a clear view of Mont Blanc

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but we thought the whirl pool might be a bit more 'bubbly' but it just didn't fire up.

    Great location, friendly and very informative staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only the snow, which was lacking

    An ideally placed, friendly, family-run hotel in the heart of Courmayeur - close to everything, great bedroom and shower. Spectacular views from our room and the breakfast room. And parking too

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no restaurant for evening meals. My mistake, I didn't check when I made the booking. But there are many restaurants just a few minutes walk away.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Charming decor in bedrooms. The best breakfast selection I have ever seen!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing -- will stay here again!

    The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the staff were very nice and helpful. Great location and comfortable rooms. WiFi reception throughout was also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great hotel with beautiful views of the mountains. The family was very helpful and friendly. Great location near everything. Very much enjoyed our stay here!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want every modern comfort and facility the Berthod is good but not great. Wifi is free but a little patchy for example. Furnishings are traditional (free-standing wardrobes for example) and everything that can be polished is polished to within an inch of its life.

    A very traditional family run hotel with exceptionally warm and friendly service. If you like things done 'properly' (linen serviettes and tablecloths at breakfast for example, this is for you. Location in the centre of town is excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traditional atmosphere and central location. Second time we have stayed, couldnt stay last time in Courmeyer as had no room available!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower floor potentially slippy.

    Very helpful staff and family members;location and views;imaginative refurbishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I place to swim or sauna meaby

    i liked it a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, good breakfast, fantastic location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    room sizes Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast is a bit cheap... no cookers , rude services , not very delicate

    The spa is great , very astonish that we had to pay each time you go in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great location. Pleasant lounge area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to leave the Hotel.

    The hotel was of high quality!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice small resort hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and pleasant. Great to have access to a washer and dryer. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room of the mountains from our balcony. Breakfast was perfect for sending us off on our way to continue the TMB.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room even we booked 'superior' double room.

    Great location with parking. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the built in wardrobe had any drawer.

    Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic. So friendly and helpful. Good location and nice,if a little eclectic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area could do with a refurb !

    Clean modern and the staff were very welcoming. The breakfast buffet was fab.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really!

    Location, rooms, hosts - everything !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little noisy (door noise) improve advises for hiking (copy of map would be aprreciated)

    location breakfast service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel have very helpful and had friendly staff. No bother if u want them to sort out a breakfast in a bag or similar if u got a day out in the mountain outside the normal grimes runs, or paths.... Helped us arrange restaurant t bookings etc in the evenings etc.. Overall we where very happy wth out stay here.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find something. Maybe we like the room colder over night but opening the window solved that (no traffic from the street)

    We used to go to this hotel 20 years ago for our ski holidays. Great location close to gondola and center of town. Beautiful views from breakfast room always well presented and abundant food for all tastes. Hotel was renovated and has a great feel of quality modern dressed in a local mountain charm. Family owned and the new generation just as friendly and pleasant as I can remember. We only had time for an overnighter but regretted we had to leave.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location in centre of town, basic rooms and facilities but great value and we were there for the skiing in any case.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the hotel and the friendly staff most of whom are family. Very homely feel to the hotel and very clean and comfortable. Our room had a balcony and beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very noisy from other guests chatting and slamming the corridor doors. Had almost every night's sleep disturbed by these noises.

    The location in the village was perfect. The room was modern, tidy and big enough.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived we were told Children under 14 were only allowed to use the spa area until 4pm which is s bit pointless if you want to ski. I complained and got an extension until 5pm but as we didn't get back to the hotel until gone 5pm most days due to skiing in the afternoon we couldn't use these facilities. (I was travelling alone with my daughter so couldn't leave her). The spa area is only open until 8pm.

    Room was lovely. Location was great for going out at night for dinner etc, but quite a walk to the cable car if you carry skis (or 2 pairs as I had to carry my daughters'). Staff very friendly and it was great that we could buy take out and eat at the hotel (note that everywhere in the town required booking in advance as it was a busy week)

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berthod to the full. Super breakfast. Very comfortable room. Free underground parking. Our dog was made very welcome and free of charge. The kindest and most helpful staff and management that you could wish for. We hope to visit again.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel charged the credit card without requesting which method of payment we preferred. In fact we intended to pay by a debit card (following the reservation policy). After informing us that the room was already paid for from the credit card the hotel refused to accept a payment for a bar bill by card requesting cash. Room doors do not close properly without use of extensive force which creates a lot of noise.

    Nice breakfast, good location.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My only minor complaint was that there was only dried bread By the time we got to breakfast (9 am). All the fresh baked bread was gone. Also close to central square so one could one hear loud music during special events especially in rooms facing city.

    Beautiful view of mountains from balcony. Convenient parking at or near hotel. Very close to pedestrian only area.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no wadrobes in the room. The Wifi connection in the room was not stable. No extra towels were provided for the spa area.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and the location was ideal.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The free internet connection was a joke. Didn't work.

    Great location. Great breakfast. Great room. As a bed and breakfast "hotel" this place is great. Will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was awful, though apparently they were looking into it and the shower was just handheld over the bath... I expected more at the price.

    Staff were great, real family feel, breakfast was varied and plentiful, location was centre of town and 200 yards from main lift.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Absolutely no complaints from us. The staff are super friendly and helpful and I throughly enjoyed their breakfast each morning :D

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location and price. This is a very good hotel in the 3* bracket (don't expect it to be 5* at 3* price).

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfasts. Good location. Helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast food is more of biscuits there should be more choices

    Cleanliness of the hotel n the location

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People, place & beauty & could see runners of the big race 9/13 from our window!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the heart of the town, easy walking distance from all amenities, really genuine friendly welcome from all the staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Comfortable, quality accommodation in the centre of town. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small parking.

    View from the room!!! Sleeping conditions. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Meeting the family, the balcony, and the breakfast and the location.adequate

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Superb breakfast, lots of choice of continental breakfast. A lovely room & great location. Very helpful & friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI Strength was poor

    Location, friendliness, cleanliness , breakfast , free sauna and Jacuzzi

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely views of the mountains from breakfast room. easy to walk to town centre for bars, shops & restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing !

    great location easy to get to ski lift, very friendly staff, very helpful, the new wing is great,

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: