Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Britannia 3 stars

Capo 72, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#38 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Best hotel on our 3 week tour. The staff is fantastic and the room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Excellent staff and facilities. Our dinner reservations and tours were set up by the staff and they were fantastic! I plan on staying with them again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - the room was perfect...bed comfortable, large bathroom, good air conditioning, lots of space so it was so nice to come back there after a big day of exploring or going to the beach. Stefano and Giuseppe are gorgeous inside and out and will get you anything you need, they are so lovely. I really enjoyed the walk into town everyday, I didn’t catch the bus once. Was good to stretch the legs after eating so much! And the walk back up to the hotel - the incline is so steady you barely feel it. But there is the Line A bus directly out the front on the hotel if you want it. Don’t be afraid of walking along the road (short distance!) the cars are used to it and so many people are doing the same with you so you feel 100% safe! Will most definitely come back here to stay when next in Italy! Thanks so much Stefano & Giuseppe!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hosts go out of their way to help you. I requested a minibar in my room and they installed one free of charge. It is situated on all the main bus routes, you dont need a car. You can go anywhere you like with the bus. They even have a private beach with a lift to go up and down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Fab views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good A full length mirror and better lighting would have been good to get ready and put on make up

    no frills hotel nothing was too much trouble for members of staff Excellent service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Sorrento is a place to do nothing and enjoy eating ice cream or drowning a drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of road noise as on main artery out of sorrento Need to watch oneself walking into town due to maniac drivers who needed more than just both sides of road! Breakfast a bit boring and the boiled eggs - some were definitely dodged looking - all cracked and looked like yesterday

    Sea view room had excellent views with sun always on it Reasonable proximity to town Great restaurant Vendemare just 200 metres up the road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    It was impeccably clean, had wonderful helpful staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better.

    It was impeccably clean, had wonderful helpful staff and good value for money. Would definitely visit again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We felt like a part of this amazing family of Hotel Britannia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay in Hotel Britannia! All the staff treated us like family. They arranged transportation to restaurants free of charge. They were very helpful in guiding each of our excursions in the area. We especially loved the view and would come again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brittania, a very pleasant place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing. The breakfast orange juice needs to be improved upon. Very watery!

    Lovely location with beautiful views. Easy and pleasant walk of 20 mins into centre of Sorrento. Good bus service also. Bus stop outside the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very comfortable. Excellent value for our stay. Very pretty terraced garden. Lovely view from our front of hotel room. Would not hesitate to recommend and we will definitely return. Just to mention, breakfast could be a little more varied, but it is adequate. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved a kettle in our room and a mini fridge, but in saying this we could order drinks tea coffee 24/7. Very minor negative.

    Stefano and Giuseppe made us welcome the moment we entered the hotel and for the entire stay (5 nights). Gave a wealth of information about our stay and the surrounding areas. The hotel is immaculately clean in every area. The rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels and toiletries. Breakfast is fresh and a selection of cereals meats cheese fruit yogurt toast eggs and much more!! The hotel offers a choice of 5 restaurants that pick up and drop off from the hotel. We ate at Donna Sofia and it was delicious with excellent service and out door atmosphere. During our stay we needed a doctor, Stefano had a Dr at the hotel in 30 mins on a Sunday she visited our room. English speaking very efficient and quick to diagnose and prescribe correctly. Amazing!!! Hotel has amazing views roof top deck with deck chairs and jacuzzi and a view to die for. The local bus stop is directly in front of the hotel which takes you into town and the station and runs 3 times an hour. Staff helped us book tours and print tickets. The position of the hotel is under 2 Ks out of town and is an easy walk in and out and the photo opportunities along the way are breath taking. Highly recommend this hotel. Congratulation to all the family owners.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Large balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has been exactly the same every single day which can become quite boring. Not a lot of choice of vegetables, although it was still enjoyable.

    Large balcony Lovely clean room Very friendly staff Excellent location - although 1km from the city centre, the journey has amazing panoramic views Easy access to public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Good location, clean and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was always very clean, and the staff was helpful with tips on places to eat or visit. The bay and Vesuvius views from the balcony and top floor terrace were superb! A few parking places available in front of the hotel, and it's on a main bus route (Line A). The location on the west side of town made it easy to explore the cape by bus or car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing it was perfect

    Giuseppe and his Papa and Grandad were just the most wonderful hosts we will be going back nothing was a problem. I would recommended this hotel as the perfect place to stay we would have loved to stay longer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel stay, and good value for money for a balcony and view in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bath towels were made of thin cotton, not thick and fluffy as usual, which took some getting used to. No fridge in the room. There was no footpath approaching the hotel, and this required walking on the roadside close to passing cars for a short distance.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and breakfast area excellent. Location good, approx 15 minute scenic walk to town. Our room had a balcony with view of Vesuvius. Rooftop terrace was nice. A safe was available in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay at Hotel Britannia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and a fridge in the room would’ve been great.

    The accommodation was quiet, spotlessly clean, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. It was in a beautiful location. The breakfast was a great start to our busy day. The roof top and front garden were beautiful places to relax. We loved the stroll into Sorrento.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Great view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view from the balcony. The room was generously sized and comfortable. Excellent breakfast and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Super!! Will be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good continental breakfast. The option of an omlette would have been nice but otherwise everything else with breakfast was 10/10.

    Have never met nicer or more helpful staff. Fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic property, Amazing Staff (the best I've ever encountered) and a relaxing stay. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are small improvements that could be make to the overall stay but nothing that detracts from the fantastic personal service that the team at Hotel Britannia brings. Slightly better toiletries would be good in the bathrooms and perhaps a little more variety for breakfast but the breakfast served is typical in Italy so no real issue there.

    Hotel Staff were exceptionally helpful and kind and made every effort to ensure a pleasant stay. They were continually helping guests with queries and helping to arrange day trips/taxis etc without any hesitation whatsoever. Very friendly and kind. The hotel is a 3 star however the staff make it feel like a 5 star hotel in terms of the service they provide. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    A very good experience; it was restful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    This is a wonderful hotel. The staff was very cooperative and the facility was very clean. The room was very large and the bathroom well appointed. The view of the Gulf of Sorrento was very good. A few minor concerns. While the breakfast was more than adequate, the juice and coffee machines need to be updated. They left much to be desired. Second it would have been helpful if I had known what side of the street the hotel was on. The hotel is not on the water side. Thus you have cars and buses right under your window. That made it a bit noisy. Otherwise it was a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a fabulous time, the hotel was well situated , we will definitely return to Hotel Britannia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything I can think of in response to this question.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was relaxing, the garden was well situated and provided outside space to read, relax or enjoy a coffee. The view from our balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    it wasn't value for dollar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is very very dated, the tv is a computer monitor, the king bed is really just two singles put together when we were sleeping we could feel the seam of the bed in the middle. Definitely not what we were expecting for the price. the location was okay. the hill isn't steep in fact the walk did us some good after dinner. however at some point there is no sidewalk and it does get dangerous. After a bottle of wine the walk isn't recommended.

    The staff is amazing. their recommendations were on point. the view was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Incredible. Location . Staff. Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only recommendation that I have is that the breakfast include some hot food like bacon or eggs. Maybe a hot plate as I know the breakfast doesn't have a hotel chef cooking but the facility to do it yourself if you wanted it maybe good . Or maybe bring in some cooked sausage and bacon and keep on a hot plate ?

    The location is perfect . Located at the edge of town on a slight incline overlooking mount Vesuvius. The hotel has a bus stop directly outside and the main train station is a 10 min walk away. The hill is easy to walk and pleasurable especially with the breath taking views and after you have filled yourself full of the amazing sorrento food. The hotel is super clean . Clean towels and sheets everyday and good sized rooms and bathroom. With a hairdryer in the bathroom. The staff are excellent . They speak amazing English and were super helpful . They really make the place fantastic . Setefano Gianmarco and Giuseppe can help you with anything from arranging a taxi to explaining how to get to everything you want to in the time frame and budget you have . They arranged our room as we requested and helped us get to all the places we needed. Gianmarco even called a local boat trip guy for us at 1am ! And Sefano would have just walked in and would make our coffee before taking off his bike helmet . Nothing was too much trouble. These staff are 10 star hotel worthy and also very easy on the eyes ;). The hotel room we stayed in faced the garden wall. We booked late and it was their last room and so it was facing a big large wall with grape vines . Completely fine for us though as on the 5th floor is a very large terrace area for sun bathing and so we took our coffee here and looked out over the amazing views of mount versuvius . We had a lovely terrace area although to be honest we didn't use it much as the mostiquitos in Italy love me too much. The room was fantastic. A great size with a large queen bed and a single bed. A dresser and large wardrobe. The bathroom had a large shower, a bidet and a hairdryer again all super clean !. The hotel has 24/7 reception and a bar that you can get snacks (crisps chocolate) and drinks from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, we had a beautiful view of Vesuvio and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, we had a beautiful view of Vesuvio and Napoles from our room, it´s close to Bagni de La Regina Giovana, a beautiful place to swim. Staffs are helpful, and had ali information that you need about Sorrento and Amalfi Coast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in room

    Reception staff were ever so helpful and friendly they helped us get the most out of are stay even got us taken and picked up for restaurants and trips at no extra cost would recommend hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    It is a nice hotel with great staff but, the fact that the garden view was a wall was a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The "garden view" was, in fact, a wall. No door from the reception into the adjacent stairwell so, all the noise from reception came upstairs and disturbed us. As did the music in the breakfast room. A door at the bottom of the stairs would reduce this disturbance. Similarly, the marble/tile floors look great and, are functional except, when people walk on it in shoes and the footfall is transmitted throughout the hotel

    Breakfast was good. Plenty of it. Plenty of choice. Staff were all very good/excellent without exception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel fantastic staff so relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives,all good

    The staff are first class professional , friendly, Nothing was too difficult Rooms are spotlessly clean Helped us book tours ,transfers, And the view from rooftop ,and garden is magnificent Many thanks to Stefano,Marie Louise ,and the rest of the staff, Wiould definitely recommend Thanks again,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff was great and helpful from receptionists to cleaning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast can be better though its okay, maybe they can make small changes everyday because it gets boring. Bathroom was a bit small and old, it can use improvement. Overall, no big problems.

    Staff was great and helpful from receptionists to cleaning lady. Its a really clean hotel. We had a room with the view and view was indeed beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Britannia is about a 15 minute walk out of Sorrento...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are sparsely decorated and simple. Nothing to complain about but nothing fancy.

    Hotel Britannia is about a 15 minute walk out of Sorrento town centre which is a perfect way to get out of the tourist hustle and bustle while still being close to restaurants, the port etc. It's about a five minute walk from a private beach and a twenty minute walk to a public beach amongst roman ruins. All the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful and will happily arrange transport for you (including courtesy cars to a couple of restaurants). The terrace has a great view of the ocean and Vesuvius.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing, tasty and just lots of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible, after the first day - never bothered to go back. We assumed that the breakfast food was reused - the cold meats tasted old, hard over boiled eggs had been cooked sometime ago. The lady who helped at breakfast and was the cleaner was just to friendly, she greeted us as if we had known her forever- A hug and kisses before breakfast- just over the top.

    Extremely clean, front desk staff were very helpful. Bar is available 24/7 - really loved that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff are incredibly friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew it, but it was just offering breakfast. It was a healthy walk to and from the town centre.

    Great triple room with balcony overlooking the front. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Wish we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more of a selection at breakfast but what was there was very nice.

    Awesome staff made us feel so welcome .we were only there two days but the hotel were brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with amazing views, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom shower was not very functional.

    Lovely balcony with great views of the sea, good location (10 minute walk from downtown area), friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were absolutely amazing, in particular Stefano and Marie Louise. Nothing was too much trouble - from tour advice and bookings to ice for drinks in our room. Centre of town easy to walk in to and the views over Sorrento were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    A special birthday holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Review from the Travelling Cranes Sadly for us despite having excellent views of Vesuvius from our balconies we couldn't actually go up it which was the main target of our trip as our daughter wanted to drink a toast for her special birthday at the rim on the actual day of her birthday ..... this was due to human activity ....... fires were set daily making the whole area at risk. The fire service were very good and got these fires under control very quickly but it was still too dangerous to go up the volcano but there was no risk in Sorrento itself. This stupidity also impeded our arranged trip along the Amalfi coast and we ended up spending 2 hours on a motorway instead of the coast ........ we hope that this activity will cease and that when we visit again ( in a cooler month!) the story will be different. You can do this trip to Amalfi along the coast so if you are ok with boats you will be fine .. sadly for us our daughter gets really sea sick so was not an option in our case. Most of the time we arranged our own trips which is fairly simple to do, bus into the rail station, buy a ticket to Pompei or wherever and no problems at all. There is still much we could do in the area and so will go back again in a few years time. wifi in the hotel was a bit on and off but when some guests are being selfish and downloading films using up all the availability it is not surprising .. why would you want to watch films when you are in such a beautiful setting is beyond me ! I

    Review from the Travelling Cranes The staff from Stefano and Gianmarco to the restaurant and cleaning ladies were all amazing and so helpful. They were brilliant in helping me surprise our daughter for her special birthday, keeping the gluten free cake in the fridge and setting the table with the balloons and banners I took with me . Then Maria Luisa and Luciana cut ivy stems and flowers to decorate the table as well ..... we had a fantastic time. There was a bus stop directly outside so if you didn't want to do the walk into town you needn't. A small walk up the hill led you to an excellent restaurant where we were made very welcome and with prices that were cheaper than in the UK. Overall our experiences of restaurants in Sorrento were very good, the service was always prompt and the food excellent quality. We will definitely go to the same area again. We didn't even work out how to use the TV's in our rooms as sitting outside of an evening was so restful despite the occasional bus going past. Once inside with the door shut the noise was not noticeable . There are restaurants that the hotel can organise a free taxi to and from and the one on the waterfront is amazing ....... if you like fish this is the one to go to ...... try the seafood risotto if you are feeling hungry and can eat a huge quantity ! I can't post any photos as we have been very busy since being back in the UK ( my birthday this week !) but the photos on the web are a truly accurate account of the condition of this very well maintained hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay at Brittania. Sorrento is a Beautiful place and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too hard. Road outside hotel quite dangerous, as no pavement and very busy.

    The staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome. Room was basic but spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Good place for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a small fridge and a tea kettle in the room could be very helpful!

    A nice spacious room with a balcony. The road is quite near, so at night better to close the balcony window. We walked to the city center on foot (15 min walk). There is a rooftop terrase. I liked the breakfast in spite of the other reviews that were telling it is too poor. You have enought food to eat (cheese, croissants, ham, fruit etc). There is a beach just in front of the hotel!! A very nice small beach (it is not free, 4 euro for the entrance, 9 euro for the sunbed and 5 for the umbrella, but having paid this you can stay whole day, leave the beach and come back later, there is a bar with drinks and snacks there as well and rocks where you can lay if you don't want to pay for the umbrella etc). What I esp want to point out is the staff! Very friendly! The man on the reception is very nice!! He helped us with advice and directions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very tight and needs to be booked in advance and limited spaces. Breakfast was very limited and could have been better but what was there was good. Walking from hotel to pathway is not for the faint hearted. Would be great if the rooms had tea/coffee facilities and fridge.

    Staff were superb, friendly always at hand to help. Rooms very clean and superb A/C Great view over the sea and Sorrento is a great place to stay for a week.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel. Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first 50 metres walk down the hill has no pavement. Not the hotels fault.

    The staff were superb. Very friendly and helpful. The roof terrace is excellent. The rooms are very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Our breakfast hostess was the best thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We all liked everything.

    Our breakfast hostess was the best thing. She served breakfast and made my espresso and baked the cakes. She was also the maid who cleaned our rooms. She was the best thing. Such a happy person. I wish I'd gotten her name. We all loved her

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful view, lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bathroom area.

    The staff was amazing and very helpful, smiling, kind and resourceful. The lady serving the breakfast area wa so loving and kind. The view of our room was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay after a day in Capri
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location would be a challenge to walk to from the marina (we arrived by ferry from Capri). Taxi was fine.

    The gentleman at the front desk (owner?) was over the top wonderfully kind, helpful and informative! He clearly is fluent in many languages-had perfect English and genuinely nice. Will stay here again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff so friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small thing as the rooms could do with a small fridge in them as there is no facility for keeping anything cool

    Staff so friendly . Hotel clean and everyone very helpful . Couldn't fault my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Sorrento a wonderful holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the towels,could invest in nice fluffy towels.

    Good location,if wanting to visit amalfi coast. Staff helpful and friendly. Good value for money and breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Warm hosts at Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The traffic along Amalfi coast was tough but this has nothing to do with the hotel.

    Stefano and Marco were very kind and helpful. Since we were going to use the hotel room just for sleeping at night and for breakfast, we didn't care too much about the luxury. Some of the rooms had splendid sea views. We were not that lucky (with a partial view) but we hardly had any time to stay in the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fridge in the room would have been nice towels were on the thin side

    great view from roof and balcony easy downhill walk into town bus stop right outside door great staff short walk to Lido on the cape and baths of Queen Joan good restaurant nearby breezier than town quiet area good breakfast included

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    A lovely break with sun, sea and scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside was rather dangerous for tourists.

    Very helpful staff with a smile, Stefano and Gianmarco especially. Small quiet hotel. Easy to get to Pompeii on the train which was a highlight of the stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    The Staff especially Stephano and Louisa were exceptionally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The Staff especially Stephano and Louisa were exceptionally warm and welcoming. The hotel is in a good position our balconied room having exceptional views over to Vesuvius and is close to the town centre, with a local bus stop directly outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Excellent lodging for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO complaints!

    Excellent customer service! The staff went out of the way to make us comfortable and assist us as well as great recommendations for eating and activities. It seemed like a family business. I slept great!! The rooms were CLEAN and the beds soooo comfortable. I would not call this a luxury hotel but it was a fantastic deal for the price. The view of the sea was excellent from our balcony and it was in a great location. We walked to shopping, the train station and bus pick up for our tours. Bus stop right out front of the hotel. Continental breakfast with plenty of food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay! - highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good- nothing we didn't like.

    Stefano was exceptional with his service and suggestions for tours. Nothing was too much trouble. We left early and he even arranged for us to have some tea and croissant before we left.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Great view!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked eggs of some sort for breakfast, and a pot to make coffee in the room

    Stefano was wonderful, he answered all our questions and was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    I would return to Hotel Brittania at Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing for a hotel which professes to serve an Anglo-Saxon market. I couldn't even have simply a boiled egg with my toast- let alone bacon and eggs.I would have been prepared to pay extra for this.It is rather difficult for us to always start the day with croissants and cakes and my Italian husband who enjoys a continental breakfast found the quality of the croissants to be slightly lacking. The cappuccino on the first day was a bit wishy-washy but after making an extra effort on the following days it was fine. However they could probably invest in a more professional style coffee machine for breakfasts as after all Napoli is famous for the quality of its coffee compared with the rest of Italy and they should try to live up to this standard. An electric jug for boiling water in the rooms and a couple of tea bags to make a cup of tea would be a good idea. I was surprised to find I had to pay extra for parking in addition to what had been quoted as the price on Booking.com.

    I thought that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and prepared to go the second mile to make sure that your stay was pleasant and comfortable- not only in the hotel but also by giving advice about the surrounding area and trips, assisting with the booking of cutural events and providing referrals to other helpful people engaged in other activities offering discounts etc. They were always there and available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    The hotel overlooks the bay with a view of Vesuvius.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located on a busy road, so expect a bit of traffic noise if you leave the door open.

    The hotel overlooks the bay with a view of Vesuvius. Rooms are simple but very comfortable. The 15 minute walk to the town center is very, very scenic with great views of the old town and the harbour.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Very convenient spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well. We were spoiled by gorgeous breakfasts along the Amalfi Coast by the end of our trip so didn't expect much. Breakfast was perfectly adequate.

    Our room was right on the busy road but fortunately it was quiet enough with the French doors closed. We had been in Capri for 4 days, picked up our rental car and had to get to Fiumicino the next day so this was mainly a convenient spot for the night; in fact, we easily got directions, walked into town for dinner and had a wonderful time. Even bought a few last-minute gifts in the charming walking section of Sorrento.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    weekend wedding stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, great with my 8 and 5 year old children. The roof top terrace has excellent views over the bay and of Mount Vesuvius.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    A lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely place. A great location..10 minute walk into the heart of Sorrento and the boats to the islands. I walked around every where. Great restaurants. Saw a show called "Sorento the Musical". Highly recommend it. So fun and wonderful music. Loved Sorrento.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice and simple hotel with amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before I mention the things that were less good I have to say that it is really nice hotel and the amazing staff (truly incredible people!!) diminish the cons of the hotel itself! The sea view balcony is actually looking to the road so when you seat in the balcony it is quiet load. There were ants in our room and we were told that it's due to the garden behind. The breakfast is very simple. We didn't like at all their recommendation for a seafood restaurant in the Marina Grande (don't remember the name) and it made me feel really bad the whole night after.

    Nice and simple hotel. The room is spacious and clean. The staff is really really nice, helpful and responsive. The walk to the center of the town is amazing, and you get to see all the great views of the gulf :) If you reserve in advance- there is parking, which is very valuable in this area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    Staff were brilliant, more than willing to help with any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too basic and would have liked a mini fridge in the room.

    Staff were brilliant, more than willing to help with any queries we had. Hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a short distance we need to walk before reaching the footpath. As our son is 10, it's ok but harder for younger kids if they are not used to the traffic in Italy.

    Nice central location. Close to the square. Gianmarco is very helpful and we love MarieLouisa's Cappuccino.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Had a room on the second floor with a wonderful sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited choice at breakfast but enough there. Local taxi firms seem to charge what they like - varied from €21 to €12 between hotel and Piazza Tasso!

    Had a room on the second floor with a wonderful sea view over the bay and Vesuvius. Sara and the girls in the breakfast room very friendly. Handy location for town - just 15 mins or so on foot although there is a bus stop right outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, clean hotel, a fair walk out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think I must have misread the reviews, as I thought it said it had a central location - it's not - it's a 15-20 minute uphill walk out of town, which admittedly has very picturesque views. Our room said it had a 'garden view' - which was actually a view of a (very close) brick wall with weeds in it. Luckily we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. No fridge in the room, furniture a little tired.

    Beautiful clean and quiet hotel, lovely view from sun terrace (5th floor), very helpful staff, comfortable bed. Reception and bar areas very smart.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but there are better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location seemed far removed from the Sorrento action and there is no beach access. Rooms and property overall were clean but they could benefit from renovations.

    Very clean and breakfast was included. Lifts made our stay comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and eager to help make our stay more enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    5.8
    The staff were very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable. We wish the bathroom was a bit more modern. The location of the hotel was a bit inconvenient and far from the main center of town.

    The staff were very nice and friendly. The balcony and setting was nice. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Really nice helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy toilet plumbing and thin walls. We liked the long walk up and down the hill but it meant we didn't go home during the day.

    Really nice helpful, friendly staff. Glean and light.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location, within walking distance to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road in front of the hotel is noisy due to heavy traffic throughout the day. Even if you request a parking space in advance it is not guaranteed which might cause some people headaches in such a congested area.

    Great location, within walking distance to the centre of Sorrento. The staff are professional and helpful. Nice view from the small balcony. Breakfast is good enough, despite not being great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the breakfast was very enjoyable but the breakfast staff were lovely.

    In a great location and the bus stops right outside the hotel. Reception staff super friendly and couldn't do enough to make our time there enjoyable. Enjoyed sunbathing on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    5.4
    Too expensive for offered services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast room with yealds and the breakfast was very poor/garden❌/bathroom toilleteries poor/no mini bar in the room/internet very bad conection...

    clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    From Check-in and throughout or stay (5 days), everyone very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    From Check-in and throughout or stay (5 days), everyone very helpful. Room good size and plenty of wardrobes/drawers. Car parking outside but easy walk downhill into Town Centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Delightful service and an outstanding view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels and toiletries were adequate, but could benefit from an upgrade.

    The hotel was very accommodating and upgraded us to a set of spacious adjoining rooms which was wonderful for our teenage boys. The recommendation from the front desk staff to visit the swimming grotto up the road turned out to be one of the highlights of our vacation for the boys. The front desk also facilitated a lovely dinner at a restaurant in the hills - Il Tirabuscio. Warm greetings in the morning at breakfast and a proper cappuccino was a delightful way to start my day! The view from the rooftop patio was my favourite way to end the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    A pleasant stay but lacking in areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although clean and comfortable was very basic. It is quite a walk to the main town, which is okay when going down the hill but not so great going back up! And the taxis are a ridiculous amount of money.The hotel would have benefitted greatly from a swimming pool.

    The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is nice. There is also a lovely garden balcony where you can enjoy drinks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Extremely nice English speaking family run hotel. Stay here, you can't go wrong!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This family run hotel exceeded our expectations. Recently renovated, our room was pristine with a very modern bathroom. The owners down to the staff at the breakfast room and the staff attending to cleaning the rooms could not have been more accommodating. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Sorrento.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location might be a challenge for someone...But you can always take a bus, bus stop was right in front of the hotel.

    The hotel was located right outside the center, quite steep walk but to be considered as exercise not bad at all. The staff was great, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.5
    Everything ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but the cafe americano was from the machine. I dont like that. I have to use stairs to go the lobby (10 stairs + 10 stairs), maybe they have to build a ramp for old people and pregnant ones. My room was on 3er floor, with a balcony/window to a interior of another property (the doors were close down so we never could use it)

    The place is ok, clean and the people also ok. The location was ok, if you want to stay at center of sorrento you can go by foot in 15 min, if not, you can use a bus. The service in the front desk was really cool and the people from kitchen also good! The hotel is clean. And they have a good terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views! Hotel staff were very friendly. Hot tub was excellent :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was marginal. Coffee machine was poor.

    Great location and views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far out of town, bus stop right out side of hotel,

    Clean hotel friendly with excellent staff, good choice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic Sorrento hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: