Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Broglia 4 stars

Giuseppe Piana 34-36, 25019 Sirmione, Italy

#69 of 70 hotels in Sirmione

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 686 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    A good week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed modernising and could do with tea/coffee facilities. We knew what to expect so not disappointed.

    Helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Huge pool in lovely setting which wasn't busy. Hotel location is fantastic, right in the heart of Sirmione old town but quiet. Balcony with view of Lake Garda. Handy for ferry trips.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, great pool, bicycles free to take
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in some rooms on my floor...when doors left open too corridor it was like walking through an ash tray

    Great pool and pool side service... Helpful chatty staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, great pool, friendly and helpful staff
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs refurbishing, decor tired and shabby but for the price it represented good value and an enjoyable stay

    Lovely location, great pool, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Character hotel in peaceful area with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast choice was poor and there were flies on the fruit. Bathrrom plumbing did not work very well - poor shower and outdated.Rooms dark. I tried to book again to return but prices had doubled in a week.

    Fabulous location within the walls of Sirmione - could have done with being told you had to drive throught the arch and tiny streets to reach hotel.Staff were really friendly and helpful - especially Darius the night porter.Lovely pool area.Really quiet but very central.parking good - leave keys with reception so they can move cars around if necessary.loved the discount voucher to the thermal spa. Lovely room cleaner.Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Very very busy with tourists, but we used the hotel as a base to tour around. Hotel was a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up to the hotel was a nightmare. You had restricted entry and had to drive amongst all the tourists that would not get out of the road . Only just room to drive a car up the narrow streets.

    We were very fortunate to have a view of the lake which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.0
    We will not be using this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor conditions of the room, not safe, plugs hanging out, bathroom flooding, reported and nothing was done. The general areas were poor of the hotel also

    The hotels location was near to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Love to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, a bit old, but this was known prior to arrival. 2 things that needs to be better. Beds and we did miss a kettle for coffee making.

    Perfect location, very nice pool and pool area. If you enter by car. Look forward to the trip from the castle. You just has to try:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in desperate need of renovation. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Generally the hotel is tired and not up to the standard of the 4 star hotel it was sold as and the price asked.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stsy would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been heloful to have written instructions in the room regarding the aircon controls.

    We loved the ambience of this hotel. Location was just perfect. Because ut is an older hotel the roons very very spacious and we had a hugh balcony. Super comfortable beds and very clean. Breakfast was , lovely breakfast served in a beautiful dining room. Enjoyed pre dinner drinks on the terrace evey evening. The staff were extremely helpful esp Nick who was very friendly, professonal and went above and beyond to a serve us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is in an excellent location with free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location with free parking. It is situated right by the thermal spa and also many restaurants. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little old school but what you would expect in a vacation area like Sirmione.

    Amazing location and extremely friendly staff. Rooms were comfortable and parking was easy (although you have to brave the drive through Sirmione!) Fantastic experience to stay in the heart of lake Garda!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    bad behaiver staff from good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is too old therefore the doors are creak when you open and closed. When we arrived around 10.00 pm, just two times we closed doors and somebody from reception coming our room and yelled us to be quiet. actually to be fair we litteraly doing nothing just closed doors. i really don't deserve and expected such a bad behaiver from staff. Single rooms very very small bed okey but wardrobes also to noisy and creak. And if you with child i don't recommend this hotel because almost everthing is antic and they don't want to children break anything but as you know it is diffucult to control childs so anytime you have to keep eye on them.

    The location at Sirmione which is inside the castle area amazing. By the way if you want to park hotel, you have to call hotel before arrive and they will give your plate number to castle police. Castle steet quite narrow if you planning go with big car is little bit diffucult. The hotel very antict and when i into room i feel stayed old time castles. Hotel have good Sirmione and lake view. They also has swim pool which is very good. At the breakfast they have waiters for your coffee requested. you can also rent a free bike from hotel you can see around Sirmione.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff and location of hotel were excellent, however the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff and location of hotel were excellent, however the hotel is a little tired and could benefit from a refurb in the rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was OK but nothing outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    It was OK, nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Especially the bathroom is a little bit small, and outdated. The hotel room bar is empty. The bed should be replaced.

    The staff was friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent. The hotel is, as far as comfort is concerned, unfortunately a little bit outdated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Really good location, short 2 minute walk to centre of old town, don't take room at back of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't have any view, looked into side off hill, room very dark as a result of very limited natural light. Air conditioning didn't work.

    Breakfast was simple but very nice. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed Sim=rmioni but would not recommend the Hotel Broglia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cost of room very expensive for the not so good condition of the room and the communal areas, the whole place requires a full refurbishment and the advert on line did not reflect the true state of the place.

    Breakfast, room cleaned with clean towels each day, location of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    The room had a nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very reserved and I had the feeling they were not really in the mood to work. When we wanted to have drinks after dinner at the bar or in the afternoon, we were no one came to take our orders and we had to walk up to someone to tell them we would like some drinks.

    The room had a nice balcony. The breakfast was great and served on the terrace outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff and manager could do with going on a hotelier hospitality course. Overall the hotel could do with refurbishment - it is tired and although it shows that in the past it was very plush, it is definitely faded glory.

    Location excellent. The pool is fantastic. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    Central position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a 4 star hotel but room no better than 2 star hotel. Poor quality fittings, bad smell from the bathroom and the tv was not much bigger than an ipad.

    Central position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Place was beautiful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was good, sometimes too slow.Staff was good but not too friendly. Breakfast not too bad but maybe need to be a little more rich.

    Place was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    A mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Firstly, this hotel should not be graded as four star. The pool, yes, is worthy of this mark (possibly even 5) but the rest of the hotel is, at best, a 3. It has the feeling of once being a very beautiful, charming and well-equipped building, but it is now rather tired and looking a bit sorry for itself (it also has a faint, yet inescapable scent of cigarette smoke in the corridors). Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with a bit of vintage charm, but this wasn't quite it! We usually book 3* hotels as standard, but as this was our honeymoon, we decided to 'push the boat out' and book something a bit more luxurious, choosing Hotel Broglia over others in Sirmione, based upon the photographs posted. However, our room was nothing like the photos. The decor was very 'busy' with lots of conflicting patterns, the wallpaper was stained and peeling and the plug sockets were falling out of the walls. We had also asked for a room with a lake view, but all we could see was a faint sliver of water through the crack between two buildings. We asked to move rooms to the top floor in hope of a better view, but were told that the hotel was completely full. We were shown an alternative room after a couple of days, but this was on a lower floor, facing away from the lake and was no better than our first room. Overall, we were very disappointed with the room. Admittedly, it had everything we needed - a decent bed, a usable bathroom, some outdoor space, it was cool, dark and quiet, etc. but we expected more than just a basic, usable room for the price. It's a real shame as the hotel could be a real stunner! If it were graded as 3* and the photos (and price) were a little more realistic, we probably wouldn't have been at all disappointed.

    The location is excellent. 2 minutes' walk into the center of Sirmione, 5 minutes' walk to the beach, 10 minutes' walk to the Roman ruins. (Be aware 'though, if you are arriving by car, you will be stopped by police as you approach Sirmione and asked to confirm your hotel reservation before they let you drive into the old town. Then you have to drive through what is, ultimately, a pedestrianised area, crammed with tourists, which is a bit of an eye-opener, but good for a fun holiday story when you get home!) The pool is absolutely stunning - one of the best I've ever seen and you can easily lose an entire day to enjoying a book on the loungers, taking a dip in the sun-warmed water and watching the birds flit around in the perfect blue sky above. The best thing about this hotel is the wildlife. Due to the number of trees in the grounds, there is a plethora of birds happily chirruping away at all times of the day and, if you're friendly enough, they will even come and join you for breakfast (which is a fairly good selection of continental dishes - plenty to fill up on). There is also a lovely old cat who patrols the hotel, and will happily sit with you on the terrace outside reception, enjoying a nap in the shade. The hotel also has a dog who is kept in a pen outside, although he looked a little sad to me. The staff are fairly friendly (particularly the cleaning ladies) and did their best to help us out, although some of the guys serving breakfast could have benefited from a smile now and then. Ultimately, it's very peaceful here, with everything you need nearby and has the potential to be a jewel in Sirmione's crown, with a bit of TLC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately one couldn't only feel the history of the place, but smell it. The cleanliness left a lot to be desired. I'm sure the staff did the best they could but the old furnishings could really do with updating. It was very run down and un-fresh with old musty carpets and probably hasn't been redecorated for 30 years. Old uncomfortable blankets in the beds that probably been there since the start and woke up with an old plaster stuck to my leg. I would have liked to say good things about this place as it clearly once must have been something else, but with the only positive thing to mention being the pool, (which was surrounded by rusty old poles and broken fencing and fenced off areas) it left us very disappointed. After spending one night there (which should have been a week), we ate what little was on offer from a very poor breakfast and decided to leave. Even though they charged us for one extra night we decided to move on and that was the best thing we did.

    This place was probably once very special and grand, but must rely on the reputation of it's old glory days. It lies within the old town which is stunning to walk around once. one could feel the history as you walked around the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    All in all not a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre. Decor outdated.

    On a whole this hotel was ok. The location was great and parking was good but getting the car to the hotel was a pain. Pool was clean and a good size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Lost in time at Sirmione's heart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overal facilities seem to have been lost in time. Needs an urgent renovation. Everything smells old and looks like it has been mended a thousand times alont the last 70 years. Breakfast is very basic and staff in general seems sad.

    Location is great! A short walk away from Historical Center, thermal waters and public beach. Free Wifi works well. Has parking inside Hotel area in the very heart of Sirmione which is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Thanks very much for a fantastic family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Amazing location, friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast with lots of choice. Always fresh. Fantastic maid service. Really nice pool and we felt very welcome as a family with young children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little tired but cleanliness can't be faulted.

    The staff and service at Hotel Broglia were fabulous. They couldn't have done more for us. The hotel and pool were spotlessly clean and everything came with a smile. Position was great, just on the edge of the village centre but still only yards from everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Middle of the town, loads of Bars and Restaurants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are a bit dated could do with a revamping but still not bad hotel all in all

    Middle of the town, loads of Bars and Restaurants in the area a few minutes walk away from the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Gentility Is Not A Thing of the Past After All
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Keep doing what you are doing.

    Lovely, personal, genteel service & atmosphere, Wonderful breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, eggs, breads, meats, cheese, & cereal & real cappuccino & espresso served on outdoor terrace in park-like setting..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel but not 4* standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no help to take your luggage up the steps into the hotel. We arrived by taxi on a very hot day and the staff at reception offered no help with our bags. We were disappointed to find the hotel no longer has a restaurant so the only food available was a buffet-style breakfast, and this was exactly the same all 4 days we were there. No cooked food was available, and not even a toaster. There were 4 different jugs of juice, 3 cereals, 2 different type of pastries, halved boiled eggs on a plate, 3 different cold meats and only one type of cheese - plus some fresh fruit every day. It was adequate, and nicely presented, but below average of what you'd expect in a 4* hotel. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - so take a travel-kettle if you don't want to pay 3 euros a time for a pot of tea! I know this can be common in Italy but we had just come from a hotel in Milan with these facilities. The free bikes available are not well maintained - one had loose handle-bars and all needed their tyres pumped up; it also wasn't possible to adjust the seat height easily and there was no offer of a tool to do this. The pool needed to be cleaned a bit more often - by the 3rd day there it had a lot of leaves and bugs in it. The only really cheerful and pleasant staff were the cleaner and the young barman - the waiters at breakfast looked very morose and hardly spoke, other than to ask us what we wanted to drink; none of our used dishes were cleared away during breakfast e.g. the dirty cereal bowls sat there til we left the table. The reception staff were ok but offered no help unless asked e.g. I had to ask for a local map rather than it being offered - quite often there was no-one at reception and no bell or buzzer to press for attention. The male owner (I think he was) seemed particularly uncommunicative - even when my husband tried to chat with him each evening when ordering a pot of tea.

    This hotel is in a really good position within Sirmione - just a bit away from the really busy areas so a bit quieter, but very easy to walk to everywhere. It has very nice spacious public areas and the bedrooms are a reasonable size. It isn't the most 'modern' of furnishings but our room had good storage and was very clean. The air-con was good too- not too cold or noisy. Each room has a little balcony which is nice to sit out on. It was nice to eat breakfast out on the terrace each day. The pool area is nice - not a huge pool but good to have it to dip into on hot days. Plenty of sun-beds round it. Do note that the access to it is up several steps (the pool is at the same height as the second floor of the hotel) so wouldn't be very easy to get to if you have any mobility problems. There are very nice eating places close to the hotel - though just as well as the hotel restaurant is closed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    A tranquil Haven on a unique island/promontory in the middle of Lake Garda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are rather small, but the balconies make up for this.

    This hotel is utterly outstanding. One thing no one mentions is the glorious birdsong!--the birds sing from Dawn chorus to dusk --especially wonderful blackbird song in May and June. The back garden has a high wall covered with lovely creepers, and has old trees and bushes and flowers, which are ideal for birds.The Hotel is fairly secluded, not in the crowded part of Sirmione, but quite near enough to the fascinating old town. The blue sun-shaded swimming pool is truly delightful, a real family pool, well sheltered, and a sun-trap. We found the generous buffet breakfast on the terrace leisurely and delightful. No dinner available, but few seem to know that the Broglia has an amazing discount deal with the Al Pescatore Restaurant 100 yards along the road, for a top quality 3-course gourmet dinner (many choices,with fish specialities)for 25 Euros each plus drinks, where there is excellent service. This is a great advantage. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the family-run Broglia hotel who are all friendly--they even found a wheelchair at short notice from nearby town. The balconies each room has make it very easy to sit outside your room reading and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could be beautiful , but needs to have a facelift. The rooms are tired and old, the rugs in hotel need to be cleaned and /or updated. Beds were two twins joined together. Seeing the location and the beauty of the area, hotel really needs to be more updated , newer bed linens, and some more room amenities .

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel, only 3. Facilities in the room and bathroom are disappointing.

    .Good breakfast Good parking facility in a totally non parking area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Quaint 70's Hotel.....still in the 70's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated Hotel, worn carpets, patches of mould on the bathroom ceiling, non-safety glass in Patio Doors! Weeds growing around pool area

    Proximity to Sirmione, friendliness of staff, swimming pool, car parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    The staff was friendly and helpful giving us coupons for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful giving us coupons for discounts at the spa, boat trips, cable car, etc. Very nice breakfast that could be taken on terrace or inside. The location was nice in a quieter part of the town and convenient to restaurants and shopping but driving in and out took some time with very narrow streets and crowds of tourists. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Would we stop there again... Definately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drive down narrow streets full of people.Its not that I did'nt like it was more to the point I was'nt expecting it. Totally worth it once your through it !

    Breakfast brilliant, swimming pool lovely setting. hotel location great close to cafe bars shops etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel located in center of old city of Sermion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you are traveling by car is hard to get to this place. From the closest train station you can take taxi, bus or boat,which is around 1/2 ml away. I took a bus has to switch to another one and call hotel to help with a laggege. Hotel located about 1 ml away from the closest bus stop. If you take a taxi from train station it'll cost 25 euro.

    Nice hotel located in center of old city of Sermion.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Great place in the heart of Sirmione
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom a bit small and cramped, old shower rails/head, bed and pillows a bit hard

    Great location, short walks to all of the old town, lovely pool, kind and attentive staff, good breakfasts, very quiet air conditioning, nice cat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely family hotel in the heart of Sirmione
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedrooms spacious but in need of new decor.

    Excellent position in a quiet street with town, ferries, restaurants, shops, spa and free public beach a short stroll away. Small bus runs to the ruins of the villa on the headland from opposite the hotel Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and hotel spotlessly clean, Large balconies and fridge, air-conditioning and safe in room. Ensuite small but well equipped and modern. Plentiful continental breakfast. Hotel pool beautiful with free sun beds and shade.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    5.0
    Failed to meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Biggest disappointment was the standard of fixtures and fittings. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels. This was the by far my worst experience. In my opinion decor, fixtures and fittings are poorly maintained and of poor quality and all in all this hotel, I feel, needs a major refurbishment. Open seams on wall coverings, high level paper border coming away from walls, veneer on doors de-laminating, cracked hand basin, plastic shower screen patched with plastic cover piece, shower head packed with card to keep in place on rail - all combine to disappoint and make for a shabby appearance. You might think you are getting a bargain for a 4 star hotel given the rate for the rooms but it appears the hotel may well be charging the maximum it is allowed by the Provincia Di Brescia . So given rates known for other 4 star hotels in Sirmione I guess the powers that be in Brescia may feel that you're getting what you pay for - your choice! So if you expect a little quality in your hotel then look elsewhere in Sirmione, I wish I had done so, there's plenty on offer. A final comment - breakfast is from 07.30. We were picked up at 07.20. The hotel said they could not provide us with a croissant or similar to take away, even though breakfast was included for that day. I would suggest not the best of customer service. We had travelled down from a 3 night stay in a 3 star hotel in Venice. Thankfully a different and better experience in quality of hotel and service.

    Hotel location is at the northern end of the historical centre and set in pleasant grounds.The swimming pool itself is very good and if you arrive by car the car parking looks adequate for the size of hotel. The buffet style breakfast is OK, mostly pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheese.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful introduction to Lake Garda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent location.Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and varied. We had a lovely view of large pool from our bedroom with two balconies. Lovely Italian feel about the hotel. Pool area is very spacious, with sun lounges provided and shade areas if required. Room was very clean with towels and sheets changed daily.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.5
    Dream end to a wonderful road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guys serving breakfast could've been more attentive.

    Reception staff were more than helpful to answer any questions we had. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but would benefit from a little paint and love. Some flooring was coming away and glass loose in the window frame. Easy to fix! Pool was excellent, prefect for relaxing in after a day's exploring. Night porter was a real character that added charm to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    Great 4 day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small bathroom. 70's/80's dated decor and furniture which wasn't offensive but wouldn't appeal to all.

    3rd floor roomy balcony view of lake. Spotless and tidy. Staff friendly and helpful. 40m walk to shops, bars, restaurants, but quiet location. Great pool. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    We liked the small swimming-pool a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the small swimming-pool a lot. A bit like swimming inside a cave. Staff very friendly. If we go back to Sirmione, we'd choose Hotel Broglia again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    You'll love it or loathe it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an upgrade in keeping with the character of the hotel - loose fittings, peeling paint etc detract from the hotel. It's definitely shabby chic which I think rather suits it but I can see why others may not be as complimentary!

    Location, great pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    An idyllic spot, quiet, yet right in the centre of old town Sirmione.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little outdated, but that was part of the charm of the hotel.

    The room was huge with solid walls, therefore no noise could be heard from adjoining rooms. Balcony was also huge! Hotel was in the heart of Sirmione, off the Main Street, so also very quiet. Breakfast was a very refined affair, no long queues at coffee machine, etc, coffee served at your table. Breakfast served on the veranda, extremely idyllic! A somewhat grumpy waiter though at breakfast, but that did not spoil the experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.1
    A great location and an enjoyable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool and surrounding area could be cleaner and so could our balcony as ants were on the move. The fridge and safe were antiquated - along with most of the furniture. Breakfasts were average.

    The staff at the desk were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The pool is terrific as we were there in summer and it's a welcome escape from the crowds in the old town. Being able to have breakfast outside is enjoyable. Our room had a spacious balcony. It's a pet friendly hotel and offers car parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Good quality hotel in the less noisy part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathrooms small but sufficient. No restaurant after breakfast.

    Very pleasant rooms with air-condition. Balcony. Excellent cleaning staff. Helpful reception staff. Excellent breakfast buffet with proper high quality coffee. Pleasant pool area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.6
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't even close to the pictures on the booking site, the room wasn't clean, thing in the room were brooken, the bathrom curtain wasn't clean. Breakfast is poor.

    Only the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    4.6
    Insect graveyard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel room was very poorly furnished and had dead insects all over the place. The bathroom was terribly fitted and also full of dead insects.

    Great location in the heart of Sirmione

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.4
    We where located in a room in the court yard, ground floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We where located in a room in the court yard, ground floor back to back with the road. In the road there is a water culvert and you can hear each and every car driving over. WIFI no existence in the room and very slow in the reception area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast

    the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice hotel and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a nice hotel and a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Might need som restoration soon, but nice and clean.

    Fantastic location, nice swimming pool and relax area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Best location , pricy and with a lot of beautiful furnitures from the past that need to be renewed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For sure the hotel in past was one of the best looking one but now needs facelift.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely area. The rooms were very old and need to be updated. The staff was super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were old and need renovation.

    The staff were awesome and friendly. Very kind and helpful, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    My room was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expecially the room.

    My room was terrible. It was like an horror film.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel beautiful pool, will situaited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great no complaints.

    Great location, near the shops and the shuttle that brings you to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The hotel needs an emergency renovation, but still we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an emergency renovation, but still we were wonderful time there! Stuff is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit tired

    Great location with parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Thankfully we only stayed for one night so it did the job,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly. Old. Dark and dreary. Run down. Very expensive

    The staff were lovely. The location is ideal. Great water pressure /hot water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were in need of updating, old furniture and tatty bedding

    Excellent location and very friendly staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Never any more in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities,Cleanliness,Comfort,Value for money.

    Place is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Hotel-Nice Staff ,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not 4* quality hotel, old , dirty, breakfast basic

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Hotel was super, staff was very service minded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was super, staff was very service minded. Breakfast was perfect. Location was super, private parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Class pool .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Class pool .. excellent breakfast and staff were so helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.8
    No way this is a 4 star hotel!!! Only 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and really poor breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location, lovely pool, nice staff, good breakfast, free bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast buffet. All fresh food and great coffee. Staff were lovely. Hotel is a little dated but has charm and character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Fair
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit expansive .

    Swimming pool and bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    We should drive very crowded street in old town, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should drive very crowded street in old town, it was really extremly experience :) Amazing place, we will return there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff, great location, lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff, great location, lovely pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    The location, in the middle of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was simple

    The location, in the middle of the old town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location for exploring old town Sirmione and access to beach areas, shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for old part of Sirmione. Staff helpful, pool great for kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Adrian westin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Broglia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: