Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baglioni Hotel Cala del Porto - The Leading Hotels of the World 5 stars

Via Cala del Pozzo, 58040 Punta Ala, Italy

#1 of 12 hotels in Punta Ala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent and friendly staff made it do pleasant

    Wonderful hotel. Staff so friendly and personable,food excellent, location spectacular. A truely memorable relaxing experience. I strongly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu in the restaurant looks nice, but overpriced, we arrived late afternoon, it was too late for lunch so we had just a plate of prosciutto/melone, 28 EUR/person for not a very big portion is expensive. We had twice lunch at the beach, the food was good, but again very pricey. It is a pity, the hotel restaurant has a beautiful setting with very nice view, but we had all dinners outside the hotel. The structure of the hotel building is some way complicated, when you go to the swimming pool area, you must walk through the restaurant.

    The personnel was very attentive, nice and friendly. Our room was not very big, but beautiful, comfortable bed and very nice balcony with sea view. Perfect cleaning of the room/bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, very good coffee. Nice swimming pool, but very cold. Perfect shuttle service to the beach, nice beach and beach settings, nice restaurant on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem with this hotel is that Even though it is maintained he's old and he need Renewal and a renovation specially the rooms and the bathrooms. The hotel is closed between October and April. We visit in may and it was noticeable That the place was closed for a long time. For example the water in the bathroom were actually brown when we got the room and they change their color only after we flash them 10 times and more. Shouldn't happened in a classy hotel.

    This lovely hotel Located on a cliff with outstanding view to the bay and the marine. The size of the rooms is ok and the bathroom is spacious. The pool is beautiful with panoramic view of the bay and the marine. The hotel have a very beautiful private bitch. The beach is five minutes away by car but the hotel have a limousine service to the beach and in the beach you will find all the services needed like Towels, sun beds. Good place to eat and drink and so. So it didn't bother us that the beach was a bit far and we enjoyed the time there. The staff is most kind and very friendly. The hotel manager welcomed us as we arrived and At the reception they welcomed us with a sparkling wine and gave us a description of the hotel and the services. A plate of fresh fruits and cookies was waiting for us at the room. In the next day the hotel manager send us a bottle of champagne and invite us for a complimentary massage for our anniversary. The restaurant in the hotel is very good and recommended but a bit expensive. The food is served with elegancy and was very tasty. The only problem with this hotel is that Even though it is maintained he's old and he need Renewal and a renovation specially the rooms and the bathrooms. The hotel is closed between October and April. We visit in may and it was noticeable That the place was closed for a long time. For example the water in the bathroom were actually brown when we got the room and they change their color only after we flash them 10 times and more. Shouldn't happened in a classy hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instructions for the TV which was not easy to operate - had to ask staff

    The staff were, without exception, wonderful View from terraces and dining area exceptional Food and wine choices great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that a hotel of this level should serve FRESH orange juice as standard and not charge extra! Small point but leaves a sting in the tail! Perhaps also as the menu does not change therefore it would be a nice touch to have a few ‘specials’ on offer every day.

    Faultless service and wonderful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a good size but the shower was very awkward to get into, squeezing round the toilet; the electric heated towel rail was in the shower and was plugged into a socket in the shower; the restaurant was somewhat formal and the menu repetitive and so guests staying more than a few days typically ate out. One problem getting the hotel shuttle bus to take us to a local restaurant when an Italian resident parked across the drive and the staff allowed him to take 25 minutes to walk around before moving.

    Excellent and friendly staff; great location above port with views over bay; lovely beach club and facilities; easy access to port, boat trips, golf and tennis facilities; attentive when I damaged my ankle and arranged doctor and prescription from pharmacy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -service on the beach could be better

    +very friendly staff +beautiful view on harbour and sea +excellent shuttleservice to beach and golfcourse +nice restaurant and beautiful beach +great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small 24hr room service menu would be nice although the staff were always happy to prepare something upon request even if outside restaurant opening times.

    The staff were absolutely amazing, kind, welcoming, friendly & extremely helpful! The attention to detail, both in terms of service and making guests happy and comfortable was top notch and impressive!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is built down the side of a hill and everything is on different levels. Since there is no elevator you are constantly climbing steps up or down to reach your destination, I.e., room, pool, lobby, dining, etc. The hotel does no make this clear and I can be a serious problem for the elderly our infirm. It is the primary reason I would not return to this hotel.

    The staff was especially nice and put themselves out to be sure everything went well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected beachfront properties... in the description should be written that you can reach the beach property in 5 mins by riding hotel shuttle; the staff of the beach property restaurant not trained and rude.

    Breakfast and dinner in the terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are extremely high. To charge extra money for a omelette with mushrooms or cheese etc. at breakfast is for me a absolute 'no go' in a 5-star hotel claiming to belong to the leading hotels of the world. Same applies for the sun beds at the beach

    Nice location directly at the harbour of Punta Ala. Very friendly and attentive staff and high service level.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this place to be with our family together. Hoping for a great place and it was more than we could have imagined. The staff is unbelievable hospitable always ready to please. I have seldom seen in my travel such customer service. We have already booked for next year. Thank you for everyone to make our family vacation so special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The main restaurant staff (except the barman who was superb) were nowhere near as good as they thought they were and service was very hit and miss. Breakfast buffet was fine and the food at dinner was excellent but definitely overpriced.

    Maid service was extremely good, the location was excellent, and the beach restaurant service, food and beach facilities also were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that dinner looked overpriced even allowing for the 20% reduction on offer so we chose to dine elsewhere.

    Courteous and helpful staff; great breakfast (despite what other reviewers say!) and fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to be ale to close the doors to the terase from outside.

    Very nice hotel. According to us it is best hotel in punta ala. We spent 6 nights and nothing went wrong during our stay. It is a little bit more expensive than other hotels in area but you get much better quality. We had a room with harbour view, with terase. It was very quiet room even when AC was on. Realy perfect!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we arrived after check in time but still had to wait for 30 mins for our room, we were also told that the hotel was holding a dinner and concert around the pool that evening so the pool was closed and we could not have dinner at the hotel. The third bit of bad news was that if we wanted to use the hotel's beach we needed to pay an extra 70 euros, we were paying over £1,400 euros per night for the room! Not impressed and even less so when you could not sleep for the noise from the concert. We did complain and the noise finished at 12.40pm. We really think that for a small exclusive hotel this was unacceptable and at the very least they should have let guests who had booked know about the event. On the good side they had booked a table at a local restaurant and to be frank this was a better meal than the meal we had in the hotel the following evening. The other downside to the hotel is breakfast which is just a disaster zone, very poor service and quality.

    Wonderful location and beautiful room with a great balcony. Friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu choice selection for a normal person. I am not high class therefore, I just like basic food choices. The food was excellent but pricey, for me.

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel and staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent, friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant facilities. Wonderful breakfast. Ideal cleanness and service. If in the area, would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful hotel with service to match!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor. Great restaurant. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere, fantastic staff. It's a special place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptional. Just a great experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of dinner menu and more frequent changes to the menu

    Position and great views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service! The personnel very scarce! A lot of mistakes, to much slowly! They forgot the request.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although it's a Relaix and Chateux hotel, the hotel is a little dated in some areas. The hotel was very empty (start of summer season) so I guess its a little more noticable. The reception manager was tidying up the decor & lounge area, but missed the cobwebs on the stair case. The restaurant is quite fancy with limited dishes at VERY expensive prices... We were disappointed with no easy food options - for a 5 star, we would have expected at least to order a club sandwich or burger while at the pool. There is also no room service option either so if you don't want to eat at the hotel, then you have to venture out. The hotel has a private beach, facilities for that are also charged €35 per day - thought this was a little pricey and thought this to be included in your room rate instead of incremental.

    Arrived with a very warm welcome from the staff, and a complimentary room upgrade. Glass of prosecco, and tour de hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated, the bathroom toiletries are Ortiga - a nice treat. Our room was tidied & prepared every evening and towels replaced & hung up like new. The restaurant, bar and pool staff were super friendly and accomodating to us (especially when we asked for an easy pasta meal instead of ordering from their incredibly fancy dinner menu one evening). We were offered complimentary bicycles to cycle to Punta Ala's main beach.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the room we did not have a boiler,,for making a tea or whatever! Breakfast no nuts or almonds...and almost no whole brain...

    The location is incredible!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    to avoid if you are not old and Italian. Everything was great until the last moment (lunch at the beach). After spending 907 EUR for one night and dinner we wanted to have lunch at the private beach (5min away drive from the hotel). When we arrived (my daughter, wife and I) we asked a table for 3. We were told that all was reserved. It was obviously far from true since all tables were free. We asked to wait at the bar having drinks while waiting. We waited 2h. A dozen of table were given to people who had not reserved. Finally we left without eating. Scandalous. Maybe we didn't look old or Italian, or rich enough, after dropping 907 EUR for a night.

    The location, the pool, Some of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ver friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location and the food is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor quality breakfast, not worthy for a 5 stars relais & chateau hotel

    the best harbor view in Punta Ala

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is a toerist village.

    Restaurant quality perfect but price is high as well.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach is 10-15 minutes by car. But the pool is very nice

    Nice hotel, clean comfortable rooms. Friendly stuff.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some staff seem a little disinterested Lack of snacks or water without contacting room service Better pool service

    Location , weather , ambiance

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The availability of access to other area of the complex,

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at dinner was a bit hectic.

    Beautiful location overlooking the port. We had a great room - suite.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Web marketing makes it appear that the beach and gym are at the location of the hotel when in fact there're a few kilometres apart.

    Peacefulness

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service in the private beach should be dramatically improved

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: