Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Charleston 3 stars

Piazza Collicola 10, 06049 Spoleto, Italy

#13 of 22 hotels in Spoleto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    A taste of the exotic and lovely views of the city but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The style was very over the top [Mr Trump would have love it but rooms named after Renaissance greats ??!!] The staff were fine and the breakfast OK but not as good as either of our other, much more modest hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was surly. I was walking the Saint Francis way and she wouldn’t sell me an old umbrella that was sitting around the lobby. I understand but she told me to go to the supermarket. I was walking and that wasn’t an option Sunday morning at 8 AM. Way backwards and way far. Rain was in the forecast for the days walk. Decent hotel but manager could have been a bit more understanding. Obviously this will be no other guest’s issue . Small acts of kindness make a big impact as does the reverse. FYI... it didn’t rain much and I was fine.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Though it is at the bottom of the hill there is an electric...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was at the bottom of the hill

    Though it is at the bottom of the hill there is an electric walkway underground that runs all the way to the top of the town. Brilliant!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi worked in hotel lobby but not in room. The room air conditioner had a remote but no instructions. We ere never able to get it to work. Very difficult to find by car due to maze of narrow one way streets. Driving directions would have been helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room in a central location on a calm square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being on the first floor, we only had the wifi of the hall. Therefore the connection was not optimal.

    Very nice room in a central location on a calm square. Great terrace for outdoor breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Small room -could be better! But central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above we stayed in room126 which unfortunately was directly beside a noisy alleyway that backed onto the neighbouring hotel that had party music playing so loudly it was impossible to sleep until after 1am!! The room was very basic and very small and the bathroom was very cramped.

    Location central but beware the neighbouring hotel (Hotel Clitunno) on occasion plays VERY loud music dependant on if your room is in promixity to this! However if you want to risk it and the potential noise the hotel staff were very understanding and kindly waived our parking fee as a good will gesture due to the noise! The hotel is very centrally located. As stated the hotel staff are to be commended as they were very friendly and tried to help by calling the neighbouring hotel and police but unfortunately they have occasional noisy party neighbours!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Lovely, large room and delicious breakfast in a great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The desk staff were so friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was lovely, there was croissants, cereal, yogurt, various cakes and other items. It was very cold when I was there and I appreciated the hot tea. The hotel is very near several good restaurants and sights. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was always warm due to the large heated towel bar. Spoleto is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable choice in Spoleto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for the quality of the room and breakfast, I think. Certainly in comparison to other places we stayed on our trip. To be fair it was the off season and the scaffolding encasing the building didn't really show the place off at its best.

    The location was good and useful to be able to park in the garage, though it was quite expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable except the problem of wi-fi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi could not be connected in my room (but, I could use wi-fi in the lobby) for three days.

    Location is splendid, the room is excellent and the staff is very kind!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.8
    One young fello at the desk was so engaging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, an average stay. Worst espresso in Italy

    One young fello at the desk was so engaging. Room was quiet and clean but walls very thin if there are noise in other rooms. Location good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    I didn't want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable enough but could be better and the pillows were a little flat. But I figure if that's all I I have to mention in terms of improvement then that's not really much to be concerned with. Fact is I slept wonderfully regardless!

    Although my single room was tiny it was spotless and very comfortable with a window that could be opened and a view onto a lovely cobblestone lane way. There are plenty of places to sit in peace and quiet to relax and breakfast on the terrace was gorgeous. Plenty to choose from and the most delicious fresh croissants. Yogurt could have been kept on ice as it lost its chill very quickly in the heat. The location is fantastic with some amazing restaurants very close by. I didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    A small hotel with a quiet atmosphere - a perfect feeling of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - standard for a regular guest, vegetarians do not choose too much.

    A small hotel with a quiet atmosphere - a perfect feeling of privacy. Close to the historic center. The selected room corresponded to the description and offer on Booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in good location. Basic rooms, nice breakfast and welcoming stuff. Garage on spot is a plus in Italian cities, though it is an extra 10 EUR. Overall I would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    A decent stay in Spoleto.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were quite far from soundproof. Every noise in the hallway could be heard in the room; light sleepers should avoid this this hotel. The pillows were also quite thin and firm.

    The location and attentiveness of the staff were both top notch. On-site parking was also an option and reasonably priced. Breakfast quite sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were very impressed with the breakfast buffet. Staff were very helpful. Private guest parking area was convenient. It is a lovely old building within walking distance of most tourist areas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud, but you are located in the city. Also depends which direction your room faces. We faced a back alley so could hear people accessing the garbage bins.

    Nice location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Spoleto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the center of Spoleto old town. The hotel is an ancient building. The lobby and the rooms of the hotel are very nicely decorated, with old wooden beams and old stones. The breakfast is very good, they also have a selection of home made cakes. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The wifi works well everywhere. I can really recommend this hotel for a stay in Spoleto.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    3.8
    Perfect spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were plentiful, varied accompanied by great coffee and attentive wait staff. Bed and room were just great - we had the corner room with balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay. Would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an upgrade.

    Beds comfortable. Nice quiet location. Staff vrry helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location to visit beautiful Spoleto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had a room close to a place with a late night party; it can happen everywhere...

    Location and kind reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Great spot if you can walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more information prior to arrival about directions from train station.

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spoleto one way streets for finding hotel

    nice room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn’t work in the room. Noisy air con and bathroom fan.

    Staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Loved our stay in Spoleto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay in Spoleto. The hotel was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a very nice large room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice large room with a balcony. Good position in town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Fair. OK in a pinch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested a late check out which was not even considered. We were unexpectedly placed in an annex: no elevator, no WF FI.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The customer friendliness of the reception staff isn't optimal.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom too small - breakfast choice very poor

    Location & staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    beautiful place to stay in Spoleto a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very tranquil and had great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Charming Hotel, good location, Spoleto was delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming Hotel, good location, Spoleto was delightful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Nice hotel in Spoleto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice location, staff very kind, good quality/price ratio

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    Good location in the town, but far away from the train and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was a bit too far away from the train station. The staff advised us against a restaurant (I guess because the owners had a fight once) which we visited and was great.

    Good location in the town, but far away from the train and uphill, nice staff, good rooms, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location and nice to have a parking garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was disappointed in my single room. Very small, no wardrobe or closet, no flat screen TV as advertised, (just mentioning. I don't watch TV) and the shower actually backed up in the floor drain in the center of the bath partially flooding the room.

    Great location and nice to have a parking garage. Stall friendly and helpful, common areas warm and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We erred in making a long walk from the train station to the hotel. Better to have inquired about bus and taxi options ahead of time.

    Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Hotel charleston is the best place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything

    Hotel charleston is the best place to stay. The staff is helpful friendly. Spoleto and the hotel is very clean and safe. We will come back and stay longer next year

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    6.7
    Location was good but area is very steep so have to be fit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard pillows, no quilt covers on bed, areas of room needed upgrading.

    Location was good but area is very steep so have to be fit to get around. Hotel is directly across square from the collicola gallery which is well worth a visit. Other attractions are easily reached using city escalators system once you work out where the entrances are. The hotel itself is a bit run down and in need of some refurbishment. The rooms are adequate but do not seem to match the images online. The pillows were like rocks and made it difficult to get comfortable. The beds did not have covers on the quilts and that is unacceptable given their use in a hotel. Breakfasts were good and the woman serving was very personable and very welcoming. She remembered what we wanted to drink each morning and brought the coffees to us soon after we were seated. She and the female receptionist kindly found a dentist for one of our group who needed some emergency dental work done. We were struck by the kindness of the female staff in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Great little hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great little hotel in a good location. Walking distance to most things in old city but taxi ride to station. Buffet breakfast was good with fruit yoghurt cereal cheese salami etc and a selection of cakes.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    This is a charming little hotel in a charming little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was not superfast, but at least there was a wifi.

    This is a charming little hotel in a charming little town. We had a supernice room and a supernice time, enjoying Umbrias local delights.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a spare table with no chairs for us at breakfast. The staff could have rounded up three chairs if they could have been bothered. We had to eat breakfast seated at a garden table (low level

    Good location. Lots of character. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Good choice for attendance at the Spoleto festival.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad advice on taking a bus to the train station. I was told by the desk clerk that the bus stop was right outside, in front of the church. That was true! But the bus didn't go to the train station. Had it not been for the kindness of a local I never would've gotten there. She got off with me at another bus stop and we ran to another hotel, where the owner actually drove me in time to catch the train. Apparently there are very few taxis available in Spoleto.

    Good choice for attendance at the Spoleto festival. Easy walking, (well... Lots of Uphill! But that's true throughout the city!)

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    5.0
    We booked several months before coming to Spoleto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked several months before coming to Spoleto. We requested an AC room, high floors possibly with a view. They tried to give us a very hot room with no AC in an outside building, suggesting we could use the fan! It was 36 degrees in early July! I refused. We arrived at 13.00 hrs as expected and had to wait over one hour for our bad hot room, then we had to leave for our first show and finally when we returned later we were ushered into our new ok room. They tried to tell me that I had not specified the AC room, which is nonesense. This is a something that often happens when you book with bookings.com. The hotel seems to want to give their regular local customers the better rooms which were already confirmed for people booking from abroad. They did the same stunt with my cousin, who arrived a little later but was booked by me at the same time. They tried to give her the hot room they had initially proposed to me!! That was not cool at all. Finally after a great del of complaining and getting irritated, they gave her a poky small room with AC with a tiny window high up on the wall that you could not look out. Not impressed at all. The location was superb and breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    The staff was very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. In addition to the comfortable rooms, we appreciated being able to park the car at the hotel, which is very rare in Spoleto.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.9
    The history of the building and the way original components...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little strange that upon check-in, the clerk insisted in walking us to three different rooms to see if we wanted an upgrade.

    The history of the building and the way original components were left in the remodeling. Vary friendly & helpful front desk

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful stay especially finding a piano to play in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Uncomfortable double bed room 44 very hard springs, I menioned it to the staff

    Wonderful stay especially finding a piano to play in the lounge, wonderful location next to the modern art museum and one minute walk uphill to Corso Mazzini

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, very nice lounging and sitting room with wi-fi and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi fi only available in lobby and public areas, not in rooms.

    Quiet, very nice lounging and sitting room with wi-fi and a small bar. Free breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Group

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not hotel fault, but taxi ? to hotel from station was 15 euro for 1 km is too expensive

    Nice hotel ?

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly helpful good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful good location

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    situation and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one member of staff was a bit snooty towards us (the others were very pleasant)

    situation and comfort

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Helpful staff, good location, clean room, wonderful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, good location, clean room, wonderful town.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    4.2
    the room was very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room was very cold. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone visiting during the winter!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    9.6
    Newly reformed room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna not included in the price!

    Newly reformed room! Great internet!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    9.6
    Nice overall style of the hotel, especially of lobby area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice overall style of the hotel, especially of lobby area with fireplace

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Charleston traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: