Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Clarean 3 stars

Piazza Garibaldi 49, Central Station, 80100 Naples, Italy

#137 of 161 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    2.5
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i travel in Napoli and i choose this apartment for 6 days..I went there at 14:00 as we had told to check in and no one was there.After my call they told me that in 10 minutes someone will come to bring me the keys.After 1 hour!! no one come and when i call them back the phone was out of order!!!I decided to book a room in a hotel nearby.After 3:30 hours at 18:00 they call me and tell me to go to the room.Of course i refused and they call booking and tell them tha i didnt go to the apartment and they charged me!!!!! and lose my money!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    An average three star hotel, would not mind returning when visiting Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some very minor improvements will render this hotel an even better proposition. As an example croissants were not on display at breakfast but provided if you asked for them. Ham is available but seemed to be on a ration.

    Clean hotel close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but my room was too dark & no view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mentioned above Room was dark so had to keep main light on all the time.

    Breakfast good/bed clean & comfortable - but I had to put on the main light as room dark which was off putting for me. Staff kind / helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    booked for this hotel but dragged to other
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wasn't the hotel we stayed at (looked nice to stay at though) sent us to Eden Star about 10 min walk so can't really comment on this hotel. How ever Eden Star "just read everyone elses review your get the picture" but the staff at Eden Star were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, friendly hotel. Great location for transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were quite a lot of hawkers/scallywags in the street outside, regularly chased away by the police, but they make the street look scruffy. Keep a close hold on your bags as a companion's rucksack was raided nearby. However it could have happened anywhere in Naples, lots of scallywags around. We actually witnessed 2 youngsters taking a hawkers jacket after he had disappeared ahead of the police patrol.

    Clean , comfortable, good value, friendly staff, great breakfast , recently redecorated, good quality and very white bed linen and towels. Very friendly family feeling in this hotel. Lovely. Good WiFi. Excellent value room rates. Very close to the railway and metro station, airport bus drops off nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    A good value for money hotel situated in a very central area with decent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little more attention to detail would help. My bedside table lamp did not light up (I did not complain) flushings not strong (I did not not complain).

    Very fresh bread rolls and a number of freshly baked sfogliatelle by Maria who does a bit of everything in the hotel and who is very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    It is a clean, well run hotel in central Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is hard ( but this is true of 95 percent of hotels and B and Bs in Italy, in our experience. Shower produces inconsistent hot water, sometimes warm, sometimes cold. This has happened on both times we have stayed at this hotel.

    Helpful desk staff and kitchen staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Good price near main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe too small for my laptop, although the room I selected when I booked stated bathtub... it was only a stand up shower.

    People were nice, front desk always manned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not recomend next time i will be booking a hotel away from the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we arived we found out that we are not staying in Hotel Clarean but in a different hotel around the corner called Hotel Ideal, the single bed was not very confortable it is the sort of bed you would use for camping. For three days of the stay the wifi was not working, the hotel is in the seedy area of naples with alot of pickpocketing and beggars.

    Me and my friend liked the free wifi (when it worked), also the coffee availible at breakfast was beautiful, having a fridge in the room was handy, enjoyed having a walk on balconey, very close to the station and bus links.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Very close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step beside the balcony should be marked, otherwise it's easy to get hurt.

    Very close to train station. Facilities are brand new. Staff are nice and helpful. Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smelly room,bed bugs,

    Terrible place,very dirty,my body was covered with itchy bites just after 1 night spent at this place. I suppose from bed bugs...the worst place I have been to. The only good thing was close position to Central Station. Naples is very dirty city,smells of urine and rubbish is everywhere,graffiti covering almost every wall....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    I'm going to come back to Napoli for sure but I will not stay in this place anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 7 nights

    shocking hotel policy not allowing to bring your own food including local fruits to the room. I have discovered this when night porter tried to prevent me from bringing my bag of grapes to the room on the second night of my stay what completely ruin my staying there. Also the incompetence of the night porter , his lack of good manners and lack of any common sense was very disappointing. Also the wifi didn't work at all all week and no hot water after 8:30 am The owner should reconsider his hotel policy and re-train his night staff member

    Good location and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Would not recommend this hotel, its situated in a seedy part of Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Butter portion was off, smelt ransid. Limited choice of breakfast foods. Table littered with crumbs from previous patron. Staff constantly watching us, made us feel uncomfortable.

    Ensuite okay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Worst B&B we've ever been to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, we had to go to another hotel (Eden) of which we hadn't been informed before. We could hear the noise from the street even with all windows closed. The (only male) staff was very unfriendly when we told that our toilet didn't work, and the man didn't help us in any way. Breakfast was very poor, the tables and even one of our cups were dirty. The minibar was empty and the water stood in the shower. Worst B&B ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Staff were amazing at helping with an issue with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a solo female, I didn't feel comfortable walking around at night in the area the hotel was in. The bathroom flooded after each shower. Double bed was two singles pushed together which kept coming apart.

    Staff were amazing at helping with an issue with the bathroom. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely. Room was huge for just one person. Had a safe in the room so security inside the hotel was never an issue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Desk staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choices were limited and not much. The muesli had hard 'bits' which unfortunately broke an expensive crown. One cup only of coffee at breakfast. Unfortunately, a very noisy late night food market on the Saturday and Sunday night I was there. The hotel had double glazing which did not keep the noise out.

    Convenient location. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.3
    Not what i expected at all. This is more a 2 star hotel if that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic: cornflakes, croissants, bread rolls, ham and cheese and yogurt everyday. The shower unit was broken. There was no hot water if you woke up 8am onwards. There was only one socket to charge your electrical items and so you had to disconnect the television. Lighting is extremely dull. The bedding isnt changed. They dont touch the bedsheet inside but just make the top throw look like the beds been made up. Room flooring was dirty. Lots of small flies. Fridge wasnt working. The area is very unsafe as lots of people had had their purses snatched, pockets picked. Its a very rough area. Staff hardly smile.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Good..close to market shopping..parking close by..easy to arrange through hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little dodgy in places but if yr careful all good

    We liked the shopping nearby..cheap...easy to find the little street markets...food and coffee easy walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.8
    Do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are loud and noisy very early in the morning. The voices and crashing dishes travel up the stairs and under the door into the room on first floor. Bathroom was not cleaned, toilet constantly running. Shampoo bottles had lids removed and no extra soap provided. Bed sideways in room pillows hard and fall off the end. Dark and dingey maybe 10 watts of light. Nowhere near the claimed 3 stars, barely 2. Breakfast was very poor, nothing replenished so you miss out if not there early enough.

    Only the location, close to Centrale Garibaldi. Nothing here to like at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    3 days was long enough to see the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast in the hotel was not that good. The toiletries were not what you expect, I had to go out and buy shampoo and Shower Gel no big deal but was a bit annoying. The guy on reception in the morning was so helpful. Directions and sights worth seeing.

    Location was great the main train station and metro line was over the road. Very handy for the trips and sightseeing tours. Not a great choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    3.3
    They put me in the other hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    After walking around 11 pm all the way with my luggage from the train station to the hotel, the receptionist just told me that the room is located in the other hotel of their "group"! So I had to walk back all the way again to find the other hotel whose the name is not similar at all. I took the room because I had no choice in the midnight alone in Napoli. I read on their published rate, it's maximum 145 Euro while I paid 175 Euro for a bad hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Location and roof top breakfast :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were not clean and the drain was blocked. Room was not ready for check in until 13:00hr and I waited for 1 hour. Though i requested early check in

    Location and roof top breakfast :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    5.0
    Close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of haveing to ask 1 day for shower gell then the next day no towels a bit of hit and miss noisy outside

    Close to train station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable hotel with a bad breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable hotel with a bad breakfast. Located in very unpleasant place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Clarean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, but ok

    Good and kind personal, convince location, very cousy and feel-like-home hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is the best coming by train and all staff willing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is the best coming by train and all staff willing to help!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of some of the staff

    Maria was the best part of the team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Was terrible although could have been good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They issued a wrong invoice and refused to fix it despite admitting to their mistake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    A very handy hotel, nice rooms and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy. Nice to have outside view and small balcony. Two sets of double glazed windows reduced city noise a lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Could not be better. Enjoyed immensely.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Staff friendly . Location excellent. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.2
    Dirt needs to be cleaned !!!!???
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grout. Dirty putrid rubbish piled up !!!!!

    Nil

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel?.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Little Gem Do not be put off by the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. For the price it was amazing value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Not good to go out in in late evening, snatchers , robbery is common.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Davide was the best at the reception and gave us great tips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast poor one day without bread. air conditioning noise.

    Location close to everything but train station location is never a beuatiful place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Everything good but ur breakfast is not goid
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower took a while to heat up. Road works obscured the views slightly.

    Close to train station. Staff were super friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Great cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff Lift

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.8
    Absolutely no free wifi was not the cleanest or safest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi and the area

    Absolutely no free wifi was not the cleanest or safest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    3.3
    breakfast lady was best part of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bar fridge. the hotel is smelly from cigarettes. the balcony was dirty and overlooked a dirty courtyard and a noisy carpark.

    breakfast lady was best part of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.1
    Hotel Eden has a nice terrace where breakfast is served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View to a wall from the room window. Shower was not working properly.

    Hotel Eden has a nice terrace where breakfast is served. Friendly staff. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Nice Mama who takes care of you during breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High crime rate around the hotel, take only a taxi home! We did not wear any watches etc. Minibar did not work

    Nice Mama who takes care of you during breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    4.6
    I like the customer service in the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was dirty, the washroom was disgusting....I think they are not clean enough...plus not much light in the room.

    I like the customer service in the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.5
    Note that the hotel actually put us up in associate hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Note that the hotel actually put us up in associate hotel round the corner, my comments relate to Hotel Eden. Which is in good location for the trains station and has a nice roof terrace for breakfast with view of Vesuvius. Nice reception staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    6.7
    Rooms were a good size, bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was dreadful, service the same. Gave up and went out for breakfast Toilet didn't flush Many smokers had stayed in the room or in rooms around so the whole floor smelled of tobacco

    Rooms were a good size, bed very comfortable. View from the room exceptional

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.5
    All staffs were so nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I was taking a shower, the tube of the shower broke and I couldn't take a shower properly.

    All staffs were so nice and kind. Bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    2.9
    The water was cold in the bathroom and the staff tried to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The water was cold in the bathroom and the staff tried to make ridiculous excuses for cold showers in December! The breakfast was pretty woeful, is all you can expect from a 2 star hotel?

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    5.8
    Hotel Eden: location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked Clarean hotel, but on arrival hotel moved us to other Eden hotel. Eden was ok, but there is something rong with booking, as as a customer I expect to get what I booked.

    Hotel Eden: location. Easy to get to the center.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.5
    As I was placed in Hotel Eden, the following comments are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although I make a booking well in advance, when I arrived they told me I had to go to their sister hotel (Hotel Eden) 5 mn walk away.

    As I was placed in Hotel Eden, the following comments are for that hotel and not for Clarean. The room is big and reasonably comfortable, with a big bathroom. The restaurant for breakfast is situated on the top floor with great views of the city and volcano Vesuvio.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Price quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Iniially a little surpriced about the location. When we arrived at the hotel, the owner explained us that we had to go hotel Eden of the same owner.

    Price quality ratio

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.0
    It is near Napoli centrale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is near the napoli centrale which is not a safe location especially at night. You have to be very carefull about people around you and it brings you a bad feeling. Not recommended.

    It is near Napoli centrale.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    5.8
    Roof top breakfast at the sister hotel Eden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Switched us to the Eden Hotel in a very busy dirty area. Felt very unsafe and glad it was just overnight.

    Roof top breakfast at the sister hotel Eden. Balcony and style of old world charm in decline. Great lift

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.0
    We were upgraded to their partner hotel the Eden Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were upgraded to their partner hotel the Eden Hotel. It was good and they accommodated the extra night we requested. Lovely decor and roof top breakfast venue with views of Vesuvious. Good facilities, room with balcony and bath.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    5.4
    Was near station and staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked this hotel and on arrival was taken to Hotel Eden a little further away. This was not what I had ordered and the room was very average to say the least. Booking.com needs to be aware this is happening and ensure you get the place you book.

    Was near station and staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.3
    Great staff - welcoming, helpful, accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My booking said the room would have a bathtub and airconditioning. The staff were happy to change the room they had initially provided that didn't have a bathtub and whose toilet cistern wasn't working properly. Guests need to request for the airconditioning to be turned on and to be turned up; one can't turn on the aircon from within the room; it wasn't done automatically even though the temperature was uncomfortable.

    Great staff - welcoming, helpful, accommodating. WiFi worked beautifully. Comfortable. Clean. Breakfast is fine. Very convenient location if utilizing Naples Central Station.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Lovely old building in the heart of Naples, tasteful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You've got to get to breakfast early, before the lovely fruit salad runs out!

    Lovely old building in the heart of Naples, tasteful, comfortable, well-appointed. The staff were friendly, efficient, professional, helpful. The breakfast was excellent, especially the fruit salad.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is close to the train station. This is the only positive thing to say about it. However the neighborhood is kind of interesting... Not dangerous but get ready. The hotel is average in every level! Every level! No exceptions! The night guy was particularly unhelpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    2.5
    When we arrived at the hotel after a lengthy flight and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    When we arrived at the hotel after a lengthy flight and business meeting we were advised that the hotel was full and that we would have to stay in a sister hotel. We had to walk 15 minutes to the alternative hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Very close to the Naples train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was at the top of stairs and very noisey - didn't settle down to until midnight. Room was cramped and a little 'worn out'. Lacking in towels had to ask the staff member for more.

    Very close to the Naples train station. Fast wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff were so kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although nothing bad happened with us the area is not the best.

    Staff were so kind and helpful. Our room was pretty big. It is located next to the main station from where we could have gone everywhere.It was much more easier because public transport is horrible.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    The location is superfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got the room with unpleasant view and the bathroom is dirty. The breakfast is very simple, only some bread, slice of ham, and corn flakes, thanks to the location, surrounded by many good restaurants.

    The location is superfect! only 3 minutes walks from the Napoli Centrale Station, and walk-able to some interesting place of the city like San Gregorio Germano & Spacannapoli (15 minutes walking), Napoli port & Castel Nuovo (25 minutes walking The staff, especially salvatore, maria and brera were super friendly, speak a perfect english (and also french! superb..)

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't actually stay in hotel we booked with them. They placed us 200m around the corner "in the same hotel". Poor wifi signal in the room. Breakfast had run out of stuff 1 hour before it was supposed to finish. Road outside is very noisy in the morning.

    Close to train station. Clean hotel. Good size.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only area where the hotel needs to smarten up it's act is breakfast: the croissants were good and the coffee was excellent but the service (although well meaning) was perpetrated with a total lack of understanding of reasonable expected standards - as close to Fawlty Towers as you could get whilst still keeping a smile on your face.

    Excellent location; staff cheerful, willing and helpful; comfortable clean room; a good price on booking meant excellent value for money; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The worst experience of my life. It's near station and in very dirty area. Went downstairs to use the restroom and saw cockroach. We didn't even touch the breakfast the next morning. The hotel is on the second floor of the busiest street and we couldn't sleep all night from the noise. The AC was dripping water and making beeping noises every other second. And we couldn't open the window because of noise. There was no soap, only 5 little bottles of shampoo which we used as soap after asking for soap and the telling us that's soap. The odor from cleaning was so strong that we had to keep windows open for a long time to get rid of it. Just terrible!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Location is very central right beside the station. The room was good and the breakfast lovely. Excellent value for money and would definitely recommend this hotel. WiFi was also excellent..

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    Its great that the hotel is in the city center, because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a bit sad that wifi worked better outside our hotelroom in the hallway than inside the room.

    Its great that the hotel is in the city center, because u've got everything at hand. All shops, groceryshops, trainstation (3min walk), trams, metros.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff!! Great location right by the train station which we used everyday to take various trips to places such as pompeii, versuvius and Sorrento.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.5
    The close proximity to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not connect to wifi either in the room or in the dining room where breakfast is served.

    The close proximity to the train station. The price point.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    6.7
    I have to add that we did not stay at the Clarean as their...
    • Couple

    We didn't like the fact that the deal price on booking.com was the hotels standard price so the web site was very miss leading I will check direct in future.

    I have to add that we did not stay at the Clarean as their aircon was broken so they moved us to a sister hotel around the corner to the Eden. But it was ok no major issues as clean as could be expected, breakfast was great on the roof garden and really handy for the station and metro. Staff were friendly enough. Pizzeria Pellone a few streets away was exceptional, don't use the recommended restaurant Mascolo its not up to much very average for Italian food.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    5.4
    Located close to statzione centrale
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the bathroom was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel at this charging rate. The showerhead fixture was broken, the joint at the lower tap was also broken and the floor was totally flooded. As the shower is over a hiqh bath this was extremely dangerous. The airconditioner leaked water down the wall and onto the parquetry - the watermarks show this is not new. When I reported these it was clear it was not the first time.

    Located close to statzione centrale

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    their staffs are really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the surrounding environment is a bit scary, we saw ppl taking drug few streets behind the hotel (early in the morning).

    their staffs are really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location to do day trips out of Naples, safe hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of information about the hotel in the room, eg a book that tells you what time check out is, what the wifi code is, how to work the safe if laundry services are available etc. Breakfast was average as all the condiments would melt in the heat

    Excellent location to do day trips out of Naples, safe hotel, lovely staff, large comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was fantastic, we have absolutely no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Piazza Garibaldi is crowded, looks and smells like a junkyard, feels unsafe to walk through day and night.

    The hotel was fantastic, we have absolutely no complaints. It is close to the bus and train stations.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a slight problem with hot water supply, but it was fairly quickly fixed by hotel staff. The hotel room could do with a fridge for more convenience to store cold drinks..

    Helpful and friendly staff, Good value for money, Bedding and towels changed often enough during our 7 nights stay, The reception is open 24/7, Very good location( piazza Garibaldi) if you intend to travel around Naples and to other nearby towns---no need to rent a car because public transport stops are in close walking distance.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Clarean traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: