Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Del Santuario 3 stars

Via Del Santuario 1, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#43 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Worthed for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room and the bathroom was for the disabled with high wc. To high for a 4yr male infant. And also small tv .

    It was worthed for the money and that it had a free car park was great. Will recomend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Not luxury but altogether very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a generously sized room on the ground floor. Our booking did not include breakfast but we had use of a kitchen which in many ways was the better option for us. Secure parking for our motorcycles was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom water was very slow in draining and caused water seepage across whole of the accommodation. Shared kitchen useless facility except for refrigerator. No kettle, no small saucepan for boiling water; no cups except tiny espresso cups; no bottle opener...

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Value for money , we had a big room with ensuite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be fair to say there is nothing to dislike considering the cost .

    Value for money. Clean and tidy. A fair walk to old centre where all the restaurants and sites are. But it's a quiet easy accessible Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flush on the toilet broke. A repairman fixed it asap, but it broke again on the next use. So we figured out we need to put the plastic thing in the right place after flushing, so you could flush again. So after every flush we spent 1-2 minutes trying to put the plastic correctly. Understandably, the repairman made a mess in the toilet aftter fixing the flush the first time, but no one cleaned it. After we asked in the reception, we were told that we have not paid a cleaning fee, so no one was due to clean our room. But we were offered broom and towels so we can clean our room and toilet ourselves. Another option that the receptionist offered is to ask the cleaning lady if she'll have the goodwill to clean our room. Thankfully, she did, and cleaned it after the repairman made a mess because their toilet flush broke. Also, I was charged for checking in early after I asked to just leave the luggage, but the receptionist told me the room is ready so we can go in.

    It was clean. There was free parking onsite for hotel guests. Also, the AC was on when we entered the room, so we cooled down on a hot day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    A spring clean will surely improve the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    however the low rating is due to: - Area very filthy - Hotel parking is a joke! - it only has 10 spaces and all used 24/7 - Hotel shower quite disgusting. thank god I always caring round surface disinfectants - the rest of the hotel not very clean - below average. THE HOTEL IS DESPERATE FOR A SPRING CLEAN - old fashioned - needs a total refurbishment - unfortunately I will not recommend the hotel

    Staff were Friendly, AND VERY HELPFUL! but I pitted them as they were quite understaffed especially during breakfast time. Breakfast had standard selection but the items SUPER FRESH.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Conveniently located to Ortigia and the Greek ruins,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was virtually non-existent as the hotel was full of school students on excursions, and within 15 min of breakfast commencing most supplies had disappeared and tables/chairs taken. Check timetables before booking!

    Conveniently located to Ortigia and the Greek ruins,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.3
    Hotel del sanctuario.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very bad. They don 't speak english,just italien. It is a hotel for groups and pelgrims. Because of the groups, breakfast was not enough.

    The hotel is easy to find because of the place, near the fameus church. You can see this church from where ever you are in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Location good and easy to find. Hotel car parking was small but you could safely park in the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was minimal. There was a large coach party staying at the same time. They had their breakfast early and once the food had gone there was no replacement.

    Good location for all tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    3.0
    When we checked out after only 1 night we were only charged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was poor. The room was sparsely furnished, no chairs. I had booked a room with a balcony but was told on arrival that none of the rooms had balconies. We asked for dinner in the restaurant but there was no service when we went down, not even a laid table.The air conditioning didn't work. The website advertised it as *** but it was not even * . It claimed to have a bar, but this was not the case. It was dire.

    When we checked out after only 1 night we were only charged for that night, with no cancellation fee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    A quick stay, nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we had all been placed next to each other. We were scattered throughout the hotel. Finding the entrance to parking lot was tricky due to the one. way streets.

    I liked the rooms and the bathrooms were very large. I booked three private rooms. The staff were very helpful and directed us to a great restaurant for dinner. We parked our care at the hotel all day with no problem while we toured Syracuse. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Location, pretty easy to find due to the fact it's close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, no fruits and very limited choice. Just some cakes which tasted badly (at 10 o'clock so at the end of service).

    Location, pretty easy to find due to the fact it's close to hospital and a church (one of the highest building in nearby) which is nicely illuminated in the night, so even your device with gps is down you still have a big hope and reasonable chance to find your comfortable bed. Disatvantage of the church (catholic one) comes early in the morning when the bells are ringing, but it takes just couples minutes every couple hours. Anyway, singing mosque would be worse. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    2.5
    Do not go there!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was the worst hotel in Sicily I ever been. Instead of map of the city and help how to reach some sites, the guests get list with worship services at Santuario. Even we had a crucifix on the wall in front of our bed. Sorry, but that is inappropriate for a hotel if it is not specific religious one (and according its summary in booking - this is not)! Very loud sound like bells sounds every morning at 8 am. The receptionists were very unfriendly - actually they did not pay attention when we ask something or put the keys on the desk. Location is not good - very long walking distance from Ortigia island.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    Clen, great breakfast, lady receptionist was very efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other receptionist didn´t even pay attention, when we were passing around and put the keys on the desk !! We left do not disturbe sign on the door, and when we came back, it wasn´there, room was cleande, but the door wasn´t locked !!! Long walking distance from Ortigia island... :/

    Clen, great breakfast, lady receptionist was very efficient

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Ok, not exciting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms sad, cleanliness looked good, but I didn't inspect too deeply...

    Breakfast was great, rooms a little sad, as you should expect from a pilgrim's house. overall good value for money, considering siracusa, but not a charming location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    wouldn't take much to improve this property significantly, but well priced and can be recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs English speaking staff. "free onsite parking" is "possible", but far from sufficient for the number of rooms. Facilities are old and it can no longer be considered a 3 star hotel,

    reasonably ok breakfast. some views toward the Madonna Delle Lacrime Sanctuary. Above par value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    2.9
    When I saw the review of a girl saying it was the worst...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I saw the review of a girl saying it was the worst hotel she had been at, I thought it wasn't possible for a 3 stars hotel. Clearly I was mistaken. Skipping the fact that no one has changed anything from the 80s, things look old and very dirty. The receptionist is not able to speak English, we didn't hear a thank you or a please from anybody. There's no wifi in the room, only in the reception. Towels are as thin as paper and the bed is not comfortable. 20 minutes walk from Ortogia, kindly suggestion, don't go to this hotel, is not worth a penny.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.0
    The hotel might be cheap and the only advantage is its locatios opposite the Sanctuary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi only available in reception day receptionist not very friendly - the others were ok the towels were not changed in 48 hours after so many showers in the summer heat! i had to place mattress on the floor to sleep since their single bed had springs & the mattress was a few years old

    breakfast was quite good i was given room on arrival even though very early and this was appreciated

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash bags in the back parking

    Friendly staff that spoke English

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.5
    Good velue for what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old fashioned

    Good location and helpful stuff nice b/fast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    I love this place. It is very centrally located for all of my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    ---

    ---

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    The coffie at breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffie at breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated

    Good location for good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bath equipment, terrible wifi connection in the farest room.

    Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak air condition.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.5
    polite and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor IT facilities

    Situation and price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Big room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Good price for hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good english comunications with person's. High noises from street. Tipical breakfasts.

    Good prices for rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location for the archaeological site of Siracuse.
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy with very thin walls. Staff could help and understand better.

    Convenient location for the archaeological site of Siracuse.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.4
    Noisy air conditioners and parking place badly needs a clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioners and parking place badly needs a clean up

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.4
    Sure you find something better in Syracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    W-Lan did not work out and staff was really unfriendly.

    Location is ok, you can walk to oldtown

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.3
    The location is quite nearby the airport .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite nearby the airport . The swimming pool is quite nice! Everything is ok! Room is big enough with the balcony .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Basic amenities, AC, Location 20minutes walking from center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi signal, small car park

    Basic amenities, AC, Location 20minutes walking from center but with bus stop at door

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    6.7
    Can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    looks like it was an Hospital before

    ok for 1 night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Good Hotel right next to sightseeing points
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bedroom, right next to turistic points and has free parking lot ;)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.7
    Some 3 kms far from Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some 3 kms far from Ortigia.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    perfect if you are travelling on a budget and with a car
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was possible to check-in after midninght and parking was for free

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was very negative, uncommunicative, no map, no information about the city, bad password to wifi....terrible.

    Breakfast was great. Bed comfortable, room clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    Everything was ok and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi could have been more even. And the toiletries a bit more plentiful.

    Everything was ok and professional. The breakfast was especially nice. We also liked the decorating photos in the room and in the corridors since they inspired us to see new places (e.g. Ferla).

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    5.0
    Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was closed. Staff said we had to go to a different city for restaurants.Walls were not sound-proof, you heard everything & everyone. Grungy view of the back of the hotel.

    Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    a good location and quite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the floor of the room was very dirty poor wifi in room i didnt have access even though i comment to the reception

    a good location and quite hotel helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Nice location near Archeological park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel needs renovation, it could be mutch better. Parking space is not big enough for alla the rooms.

    Nice location near Archeological park. Rooms where ok and stuff pretty helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    5.8
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would not recommend this hotel because it is too far away from the historic centre and the price is simply not adequate. Wifi did not work at all and breakfast was very disappointing.

    The staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.3
    It was about 20mins walk from Ortigiya.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower broken Soap wasn't replenishes Wifi didn't work at all Reception toilets were dirty all the time Was a fair walk anywhere for dinner

    It was about 20mins walk from Ortigiya. Breakfast was decent Free car parking

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.1
    Confy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony was a dusty. They had some weird bathroom towels that are pretty much unusable . The staff speaks only italian and it was very hard to get any directions from them.

    Confy bed. Clean room. And the hotel was very close to a lot of the local attractions.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.1
    The location was great ie 10 minutes walk from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place sadly is very dated and needs lots of money spent on it to modernize the place. I don't understand why in such a location that they don't invest in this place because the location is fantastic. You seriously need to update the furniture etc its not old and quaint its old and ugly. But the place was really clean.

    The location was great ie 10 minutes walk from the centre. The hotel was clean and had fresh bedding. But you get what you pay for really.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    6.3
    Parking on site, Comfortable well appointed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rowdy noise from student groups at the hotel is excessive and no one seems to respect other guests needs. The reception staff are abrupt and slow to help.

    Parking on site, Comfortable well appointed room.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.7
    If there is a group,you wount find anything for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If there is a group,you wount find anything for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.5
    It is clean, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is clean, fair price

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    Extraordinary breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extraordinary breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    6.7
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location & price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location & price

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    the hotel does not have a pool
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the hotel does not have a pool

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Air-condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFI not working.

    Air-condition

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The peace of the room and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The peace of the room and the food. Staffs are very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    6.7
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Top bed sheets were old, cold bathroom, no double glazing.

    Staff very friendly

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Del Santuario traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: