Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europa 3 stars

Lungo Lago Matteotti 19, 22018 Porlezza, Italy

#12 of 19 hotels in Porlezza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't go back but is was ok, but could find something more updated for the price.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room Panorama with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outdated rooms and hotel, not as described, lino floors, not wood as stated. Bedding was scruffy blankets, dirty lumpy pillows. In 4 days and were given just 2 plastic throw away style cups, not replaced. Expensive for the kind of hotel. Charged 24 euros extra for 2 small dogs and extra for parking, which should really be free. Pool look OK, we didn't use it, entrance was a tatty playground.

    Quiet location, wonderful views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and helpful - especially breakfast staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room Panorama with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed for the whole of our stay in September. Outside the hotel can be noisy as people gather and talk early in morning and late at night. Bed had blankets which were old and itchy - would expect quilt or / and cotton throw these days.

    Staff were friendly and helpful - especially breakfast staff. Hotel is in a lovely position with front facing rooms having gorgeous views. Porlezza itself has quite a few good places to eat and the church is amazing inside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    A vacation ruined by the absence of air conditioning despite very hot weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of air conditioning was very unexpected in a three star hotel. When we staid there the outside temperature was above 34 C during the day and remained very hot and unpleasant during the night. Inside the concrete structure of the hotel made our room like a oven! The room did not dispose of anything to circulate and refresh the indoor air, not even a fan! the room remained very hot even during the night. in this circumstances, sleeping was very difficult.

    Ottima location,facing the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    nice, relaxing stay in a place where the owner family cares for their guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room Panorama with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    bathroom installations work but could use a refurbishment.

    great front-view on lake Lugano from balcony, quiet surroundings, only a one-way street with less traffic between hotel and lake. Good breakfast buffet. Staff very friendly and helpful, caring personally for guests well-being.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, but a little pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a single occupancy room. There was no airconditioning but luckily the day was cooler than usual. Small bathroom with clingy shower curtain.

    Very kind staff Brilliant location with lake view in a vibrant town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Our one night stay was a highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room Panorama
    • Stayed 1 night

    The seaview from our room was amazing. The location was great right at the lake, the hotel offers private parking. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Low quality and old/worn out but fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of hotel was really bad and it was in general worn out. Breakfast barely semi-decent so would not recommend here unless you dont care how you sleep or what you eat but you get a "super deal" from a price level.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Good, but with a little thought and effort, it could be very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My main complaints are to do with the bathroom. It is big enough to have a shower curtain, yet there isn't one, and with such a high water pressure, half the bathroom floor gets soaking wet. There are no hooks on the walls for the wet towels or bathrobes. With such a large bathroom, it is not too much to expect a cabinet under the basin for toiletries. All there is, is one small and narrow glass shelf over the basin. Its all just too basic. Another thing is that it is the first time I stay in a hotel that does not have the 'Do not disturb' card. So in the height of our intimacy in the morning my partner and I are always in fear of the chambermaid coming in. It is not a comfortable feeling and could easily be solved with a few printed cards.

    The hotel is in a quite location overlooking the beautiful lake. Staff are very friendly and always pleasant, and the breakfast is good with lots of variety of bread, cakes and fruit. The quality of the coffee from the coffee dispenser machine is awful, but they are happy to make you a proper coffee from behind the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    One night in a lovely location in a comfortable hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little tired in terms of stair carpets and bathrooms. However staff was wonderful and it is a lovely location and the restaurant they recommended was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff, hotel and location. Such a shame about no aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the day temperature was 32°C, and night time was around 25°C. You have to have at least fans if not aircon with temperatures so high. It was a very uncomfortable sleep. Whilst I am told most of the lake's hotels do not have aircon, it seems to me to be an absolute necessity. The manager did say he will be having some aircon rooms for next season.

    The owner/manager and his staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel and rooms were very clean and we'll decorated. The location is directly opposite Lake Lugano which was a perfect terrace view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Well located, clean, exceptionally well run hotel. Lovely pool & excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower has no bracket or screen/curtain. Effectively, you're stood in a bath, holding a shower head. It's 2017!

    Staff were some of the best I've ever experienced, truly exceptional customer service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Very proper cleaning and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are getting out-dated, (very 70's..) and mngt feels as not being that motivated to run the place any more. E.g. the restaurant is only opened in the evenings, closing before the announced times, and the menu has not been changed for another year... Might have to do with a lack of competition as the only other hotel near the lake is closed for the last 5 years at least.. It is time for a next generation to step up or support, as the spot is marvelous!

    Very proper cleaning and service. Breakfast buffet is OK and fresh prepared.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Great view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a little bit old faschion and could be modernised.

    Great view from the balcony. Located in the center of the Porlezza, easy to walk everywhere. The owner is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Great little hotel with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great little business, but felt our experience could have been made even better very easily with the addition of some hotel information in the room and free access to the spa area for guests, the fact we had to pay put us off using the facilities. A few simple improvements in the rooms would go a long way, especially in the bathrooms which are a little dated. A new loo seat and whitening the bathroom grout would make a huge difference a long with making sure everything in the rooms is cleaned to a very high standard as I found the bedside table was dusty.

    Location is great and pool was very pleasant. view from room was breathtaking and we enjoyed having a balcony. Welcome was great and staff were all friendly. I would stay here again. All points below are minor and did not take away from the enjoyment we had staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Not recommended :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- Due to the hotel's logistics many guests have their own cars. The hotel competes with the other hotels and offers much lower rates but charges 5 € for parking and 9€ for breakfast. As a result, the final cost of stay is much higher than other hotel. I would call this hidden costs. 2- The drain in the shower was sore and the water was gathered in the shower cubicle. 3- The window handle in the bathroom was broken and could not be opened.

    clean nice, friendly and very helpful staff Good view from my window out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay for one or two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We brought a dog and the price for one night at €12 is quite a lot compared to everywhere else I've stayed.

    If you choose to stay at Hotel Europa make sure you choose a lake view room. The view of the Lake Lugano is so so beautiful! The small town of Porlezzy is also very lovely. Wander through the old town and eat at one of the restaurants with the locals. Porlezza also has its very own Michelin star restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    The noise at night,it was lovely to have a room over looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room Panorama with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night,it was lovely to have a room over looking the lake but it had its downside you could here the music all night from the night club and when it closed around 4-5ish we had to put up with all the noise from the drunks shouting, screeching cars and not a policeman in sight. As a non smoker I also disliked the terrible smell of cigarette smoke on our landing I was to believe that the rooms were a no smoking zone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    The best years way behind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The yard/entrance needs a clean up. The view on the opposite building was far from romantic. Expensive rate for what You get.

    The breakfast was OK and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Pablo super friendly and gave good recommendations regarding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the rooms, no air conditioning.

    Pablo super friendly and gave good recommendations regarding sights and activities. Locarion excellent, clean rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    right by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower curtain would be good to have

    right by the lake. clean. friendly reception. quiet though central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Not deserving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room Panorama
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture average cleaning status , no free parking no air conditioning

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be improved a little.

    Great location Staff was dedicated and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Cozy little hotel with a friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy little hotel with a friendly staff. Nice breakfast with a perfect view over the Lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double room Panorama with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is amazing in the most beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising and they rip you off.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Faded Glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faded Glory Hotel. Sagged Bed, interior very old and bathroom from the 70s and never upgraded.

    Beautiful location with very nice view!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    When in the area, we come to this hotel. Family run, and all friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed the location. This was our 4th visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Location near lake and old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price seemed high

    Location near lake and old city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel for location & views to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room Panorama
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning so had to have balcony doors open so it was quite noisy for sleeping.

    Loved the location, corner room so view was spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and lovely view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back rooms were small and noisy

    Gorgeous lake view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Porlezza 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, no air condition, breakfast limited (was 9 euro),

    Staff, location, bed, pillow, clean, balcony, view, pool, sunbeds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Great view (lake side) friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive

    Great view (lake side) friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    Very nice owner, attentive to all your wishes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi not working at the room and extremely poor slow connection in the reception. Small outside pool is unusable because it was ice-cold. No A/C. No refrigerator or small minibar (considering the price 168 eur per night). Extremely inconvenient beds - very small and kind of rounding at the edges - easy to fall down on the floor and very bad for sleeping comfort. Balcony rackets feels very low and balcony is a little bit narrow, which feels dangerous even for adults. Smoking on the balconies allowed - very bad for non-skokers, who must suffer because of other people’s bad habits.

    Very nice owner, attentive to all your wishes. Great 180-degree view . Good sized bathroom with a lot of space and window to the lake and mountains. Really good Italian food during the dinner (a-la-cart) and nice view of the lake. Best location in Porlezza. Free parking at the backyard of the building. Double door between the corridor and the bedroom, isolating all the possible noise from the corridor. Umbrellas available to borrow when raining. We enjoyed a lot!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Porleazza is located in an amazing spot between the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air conditioning while very hot (+30C) outside, but there was a cooling breeze from the lake.

    Porleazza is located in an amazing spot between the mountains and in the end of Lugano lake - and Hotel Europa in it's best location. Breathtaking view from the room and balcony. Small and a bit cool pool in a nice scenery with a small playground for kids. Spacious double room with an extra bed. Our family usually searches other restaurants than the hotel's in a new village, but here we came back - and enjoyed our dinner very much. The family running the hotel and restaurant is very nice, helpful and caring. Good free parking behind the hotel. Will return here!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    The view from the balcony is breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No fan and no AC in the room

    The view from the balcony is breathtaking. Since the owner of the property wanted me to write in hindi as iam an Indian to give an opinion to my indian friends about the property I will say "agar Jannat hai to Idhar hai" words copied from the famous kashmir poet. Bahut Acha property hai yaroon. Honeymoon ke liye to po che hi mat. Highly recommended. The only issue in summer is there is no fan or AC in the room. But during sept to nov this place rocks.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    The greeting was warm & friendly, with close proximity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The greeting was warm & friendly, with close proximity to the beach, harbour & town. We had a side room with a pool view, which still had an excellent view of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Great service, good Food, great lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC. It was Hot! We slept with open doors.

    Great service, good Food, great lake view. Very Nice family onwed hotel. Friendly people, we felt welcome.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    Location excellent - view beautiful - staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast at 8.30 am - a little late and bathroom (shower) worked well, but needs refurbishment

    Location excellent - view beautiful - staff very friendly. If I had to return to Porlezza I would go back to Europa.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location, Very nice restaurant , good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    room decor

    Beautiful location, Very nice restaurant , good breakfast ..

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Great location, with fabulous views over Lake Lugano from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did nor work properly. We could not get on it.

    Great location, with fabulous views over Lake Lugano from the upper floors.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    6.7
    food on restaurant is super !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom, furniture

    food on restaurant is super !

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff. Nice terras, good breakfast and diner. Wonderful view at the lake.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    super location with nice view to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    40 Celsius outside and NO condition air in the rooms..

    super location with nice view to the lake

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location, nice family feel to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air conditioning in rooms - which you could do with when its very hot in August

    Great location, nice family feel to hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    no fans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no fans

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.3
    The rooms are nice with views across the lake, a friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC

    The rooms are nice with views across the lake, a friendly welcome and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All was good

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Charming staff, lovely location, good food, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No Bad experiences

    Charming staff, lovely location, good food, comfortable beds. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    7.5
    Erinomainen palvelu ja lapsiystävällisyys, sijainti,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotellin osittainen remonttitarve.

    Erinomainen palvelu ja lapsiystävällisyys, sijainti, aamiainen, pysakointi, leikkipuisto laheisyys

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Europa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: