Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior San Marco 4 stars

Piazzale della Repubblica 6, 24122 Bergamo, Italy

#13 of 23 hotels in Bergamo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3304 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location for going to Citta Alta or the lower town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ironing facilities which was abit of a pain but seems to be the norm in other places we have stayed in Italy.

    Great location for Citta Alta and great views from our balcony. The room was very big and could not have asked for more. The bonus was a balcony which was also large. We chose to have room service for breakfast and it was great value for money and the best room service we have ever had. Breakfast was spot on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Location, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms outdated, like in 80s. Staff is OK, but not very polite. On the rooftop is a luxury restaurant, not possible to enjoy the panorama without paying a lot. The hotel billed 15 EUR for parking, but we came by air.

    Location, breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this hotel...rooms are beautiful, with a breathtaking view, location just wow...for breakfast you have everything you can even think about. I asked for something special for my boyfriend due to his birthday and he got a card and box of pralines waiting for him in the room. I guess that's the best hotel in Bergamo and I'll be definitely choosing that one, if coming back...thank you very much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Large selection of foods at the breakfast, and the tables...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large selection of foods at the breakfast, and the tables were set nicely. The staff was very friendly and eager to help with allowing more time to check out and with storing my bag after I checked out. Great location close to the cable cars for visiting the old city. Excellent view from the roof top restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Luxury at a reasonable price with parking and a great breakfast to start the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    The location to the old town and city, where parking was available as well. Breakfast was all you good ask for , amazing! It was luxury stay that we throughly enjoyed. The city was buzzing that night with a large FREE music festival on, honouring their world famous oprea composer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Location between new and old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too thin , flat and synthetic. We asked for a second luggage rack and they never brought. No body cream/lotion provided in bathroom.

    Great Location between new and old city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Good short stay with great service, restaurant and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff were extremely client focused and service orientated; my needs for extra travel was organized and I was even offered a cup of coffee at 5 oclock in the morning, while waiting for taxi to airport. Hotel location very good next to the funicolar to old city, and short walkaway from new city as well. Rooftop restaurant was extremely good and worth the cost.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Superb staff, I’ve been in many Hotels but here you feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb staff, I’ve been in many Hotels but here you feel treated as a king from start to end. Top Director professional and friendly at the same time. Will be back here 100%. Anyone travelling from Malta where I live and considering staying in Bergamo has to try this hotel. Davide Pajola

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast is really Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom Stile is "Italian Classic" Not to my taste but really well kept.

    Breakfast is really Good. Staff is very friendly and more than bilingual (Italian, English, Spanish). Location is really good and Parking is just outside the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay but not to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant does not open on Sundays. The restaurant was expensive, which wasn't a problem, but the selection of dishes on offer was not good. A simple steak would be a good additional option.

    Staff and room were excellent as were the common areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the receptionist I am not sure but overall for my 2 weeks of travel around Italy I didn't received friendly welcome, maybe its my observation but I am insist to reconsider behavior of the receptionists.

    Great breakfast In the center, close to airport if you need to spend one night before your flight as I it would be a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a lovely place to stay and we would certainly go back. We were there nine years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some parts look a little bit tired, e.g. the corridor carpets.

    Beautiful public reception area and dining room. Superb breakfasts. Very efficient lifts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but other than that, absolutely nothing to complain about.

    The staff were friendly and responsive. The breakfast was really good with a variety of choices. Good location for shops and sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    It was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and...
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table and chairs on balcony.

    It was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful. Airport bus stopped outside, and was an excellent location for the funiculor to the upper town and a short walk to lower town. Roof garden restaurant was fabulous,a little pricey but worth it. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to enjoy both the old and new areas of the city. Great breakfast to start the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooftop restaurant was totally overpriced in ratio to the quality of the food and portion sizes (this meant we could not take advantage very much of the stunning view). Staff were constantly hovering around the tables clearing used plates etc. in the restaurant and during breakfast service - I found this a little intrusive. We had a room overlooking the back of the building, along with the pipework and bins, which was not so nice and even noisy on occasions.

    Excellent choice for the buffet breakfast every morning. The views of the old town from the rooftop restaurant in the evening were magical. Reception staff were courteous and efficient. Cleaners were very friendly and never intruded on our stay, always discreet. Our bedlinen and bath towels were exchanged every day, even though we didn't request or expect it - it was much appreciated! A small fitness room was available which we took advantage of a couple of times when it rained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    For some reasons the European adaptor (used within the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reasons the European adaptor (used within the Europe) which I took with me to use for the English plug could not be fit into my room's socket. The pillows are hard as a brick. No body lotion was in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are excellent and very friendly. Hotel is in a good location, only being a 10 minute walk from the funicular to Bergamo Alta città. Rooms were exactly as described in website, being comfortable and well maintained. Wi-fi in the hotel was easy to set up and worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great stay at the San Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside lights lit up the room after dark, and the curtains was to small to cover the window . The staff could loosen up a bit and be more smiling. Very professional and correct but always good to smile 😊

    Good value for the money. Great buffet breakfast and very helpful staff. Location is excellent in the middle between the new town and the old town. No need for transportation, walking is sufficient. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite sweet. Although savory meats/cheese were of offer, the pastries tasted like they had extra sugar in them (plain croissants were very sweet).

    Excellent location for access to the old city/funicular. Also a short walk to the newer town/train station. Cheap cab ride (25 euro for one traveller) from Bergamo airport. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely - with the seats arranged to give maximum views of the old city. Excellent range of gluten free breakfast items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Small model of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing you should know: the hotel is rather far from the beach and rather high. So each restaurant and each shop only by car.

    Very new, very quiet and very clean place. Complex consists of 10 rooms of different size in 3 buildings. Very good breakfast (the best we had in 5 hotels). Also the only place in Italy where the condition worked in april:)). Very helpful staff, very nice small garden, good swimming pool. So everything was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous view of citta alta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee quite bitter+only one machine working so long queue to get coffee. Also eggs had run out and took ages to replenish.

    Fabulous view of citta alta!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location great food fantastic staff
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were so helpful. Room perfect and cleaners thoughtful and rooms very clean . The hotel exudes quality and charm and would defo stay there again if in bergamo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Quality hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit concerned that there was no restriction on opening the big window in the bedroom. Would not pass Heslth and Safety regs in the UK

    I loved the view from our window. The quality of the bedding and towels was very good and the room and ensuite were kept very clean. Reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent - loads of choice and good coffee. Also lots of excellent quality fresh fruit. The location of the hotel was superb as it is walkable from the station and very close to the funicular railway that takes you up to the Citta Alta

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice location and clean hotel with serviceminded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant on the roof was not avialiable for just a drink. The hotel uses a Picture from the roof-garden in marketing, but it is closed for use, except You will spend at least 40 Euro!

    Nice location and clean hotel with serviceminded staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    If I am ever going to travel to bergamo again I will always stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the place is amazing

    Good location and very welcoming and friendly staff. The rooftop restaurant serves quality food. Breakfast is very Good and has a variety of foods to choose from. Good onsite parking facilities which was a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    - Good and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The hair dryer looks rather old and works slower than usual ones - but that’s hardly a drawback, just a comment

    - Good and spacious room - The funicular to the Old City is within 10 minutes walk - Nice view from the balcony - Excellent breakfast - Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms outdated.. Rooftop restaurant very expensive, small portions for average food. Expected more for the price

    Location perfect. Balcony overlooking the square fantastic. Helpful staff. Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Bergamo
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed here numerous times, and the room has always been adequate, but this time it was much smaller than all prior visits. It was even hard to open two suitcases at once in the room without tripping over them.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent with more than enough choices. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk to the funicular and even closer to some shopping and dining in the new town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Constant choice in Bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel to stay in Bergamo. Very classic with good breakfast and helpful staff. Comfy beds and great location. 5 minutes walk to the cable car and not far from all key attractions of lower city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay in Bergamo, helped in no small part by this wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very good hotel, from location, service and staff. We must especially mention Sergio on reception who is exceptional at his job. Incredible friendly, helpful and always seemed to be there!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    We have visited Bergamo before, but stayed in other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have visited Bergamo before, but stayed in other hotels. In this hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast, clean rooms. It's a great location between the old and new parts of Bergamo and there are transport links/tours available to other areas. Would certainly use this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    service from staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was exactly above the rubbish bins and at 5am there was a lot of noise

    we were given a twin bed and when asked for a double bed, they changed the room for us immediately (of course being that they had available)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stay prior to flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired. Black mould on tiles. In need of a refurb. Stayed several times before but this time they had stopped making fresh coffee to order in favour of self serve machines.

    Clean comfy bed. Good sized room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good and it's proximity to both the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel lobby looks new and modern the rooms are outdated. Initially we were given a room that was dark and imposing and the hotel kindly moved us to a brighter room to the front but unfortunately after a couple of days we noticed a bad smell from the bathroom which was very unpleasant. We informed the desk when leaving for the day but it was still there when we got back late that evening. We went out early next morning and complained again when we got back that night. We were offered another room but declined because we were leaving next morning. On the whole it's a nice hotel in a perfect location but badly needs upgrading.

    Breakfast was very good and it's proximity to both the old and the new town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to one day return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent for vegans, restaurant had a very tasty and well prepared menu with great view of the high city. Book a table by the window, well worth it. And also good breakfast with plenty of choice (plenty vegan).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast is super - everything what we need in your Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Negative? I can't see anything. Where? Nope...

    Breakfast is super - everything what we need in your Hotel meet our satisfied greatly. We love to stay your hotel again. It's only over one hour train from Bergarmo to Milano. There're good train transportation from Milano to different Italian countries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    I expected more from a four star hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stiff/Hard Bed, Flat Pillows, No Ironing facility, no shaving/sewing kit even when requested

    The Rooftop Restaurant, good breakfast, and near to bus stop and Funicular

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry we missed the restaurant. It was closed on the night we stayed at the hotel. One improvement for breakfast would be for a freshly made cappuccino. The coffee machine doesn’t make good cappuccino.

    The hotel was centrally located so could easily explore the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms and public spaces were clean and comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, the pillows were hard and thin, but we had spare pillows in the closet. The coffee mashines were very modern and people could make their own drinks, but I prefer classical coffee-making.

    We liked the hotel in general, all of it. The location is superb, one of the closest to the old town. There is also a public transportation and shops near by. Hotel was big, quiet and had a very friendly staff. Our room had 3(!) windows, so the view was super. Breakfast was good, wide selection. The bed wasnt´t too soft, as we like it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Woke up every morning to a magnificent view of Bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were super comfy, we were upgraded to a room with a breathtaking view on the top floor for no extra cost. Bathroom was spacious and very clean and maid service included was fabulous. Staff were very friendly and continental breakfast buffet was delicious with a wide variety to suit all needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.0
    The restaurant is very nice however it is expensive too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were below expectations. In fact there are two parts in the hotel; one is nice and the other where we stayed is more like 3*. Be aware of that. They charged EUR15/day for the parking in the street.

    The restaurant is very nice however it is expensive too. I would prefer to have more choices of food without this price tag. The location is good and very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Such a beautiful city and the hotel really is in a perfect spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar, and in fact the whole hotel really lacked atmosphere. Rooms pretty outdated and shower was tiny.

    Proximity to old and new town was perfect. Great restaurant next door. Even though it's Japanese, don't be deterred, was some of the best food in a month long trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    A perfectly enjoyable 3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top Restaurant looked very pricey.

    I Cannot fault the hotel in anyway.Its situación was perfect.2 minutos from the old town ,and 2 from the new.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Very pleased would not hesitate to stay their again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful Hotel superb location easy walk from station. Quiet location. Very clean lovely rooms very comfortable beds.Please note Restaurant was closed not reopening until Monday 15 thmJanuary

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a great location. The staff is helpfull. I have stayed here a munber of times. The hotel rooms need to be refurbished as well as the hotel corridor. The job has been done in the main entrance hall and it is modern full of light and very apelling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel with several restaurants in walking distance.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noisy guests woke me and my colleague in the middle of the night. Maybe that the rooms could be better soundproofed.

    Welcoming and helpful staff. The parking just outside the hotel is really appreciated when arriving tired at night. In so many cases parkings are on the back side, some other building or full.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Good hotel in a charming city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything lived up to expectations.

    Excellent location near the funicular station. Breakfast room very pleasant with wide range of food choices. Very good house-keeping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    The Location is great, so are the views and the aura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is the complete disaster. It could not be any cheaper and is the absolute mismatch for this lovely hotel. Nothing has changed in years. Some satellite channels are of bad quality.

    The Location is great, so are the views and the aura. Close both to Alta Citta and lower town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Elegant hotel, great location, helpful staff and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well appointed hotel. Large, comfortable rooms. Elegant furnishings, friendly staff and delicious breakfast with plentiful dietary options. Great location for walking to both old and new parts of the city. Public transport close by as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is excellent. Located very close to the old town, yet in a peaceful area. Old town literally visible from the balcony. Helpful staff. Breakfast included gluten free the most varied gluten free options I have seen in a hotel so far. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel venue is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had some problems with the temperature regulation, the heater was set to 27'C which was extremely hot, moreover, it was not possible to open the window. I asked the manager to do something about it, but unfortunately the heater stayed turned to 27'C the whole night which made it very difficult to sleep. Also, the WiFi signal was quite weak, but as we have observed, it is common in Italy and thus does not apply to this hotel only.

    The hotel venue is perfect. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the linen and towels clean. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty, the staff was very kind and helpful in all our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed just for one night and had to leave very earlier in the morning before breakfast time. So the fresh croissant who served at the reception was a very pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Entirely met my expectations and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower enclosure too small

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, comfortable room, very clean and well kept. Bathroom is modern and moderately sized. The small size of the shower enclosure is my only complaint

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Still the favorite hotel in the entire Lombardy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have a habit to watch an hour of local TV before going for dinner in order to get the acclimatization. This time it did not work due to the number of menus and sub-menus, warning messages etc. in Italian. After calling the reception we got the assistance but the staff was not able to fix it either. The issue was not that much about TV, we can skip that but more about the indifference to the request and comment at next morning.

    Still the favorite hotel in the entire Lombardy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    We've stayed in this hotel for 1 night before our flight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Super for 1-2 nights, but maybe not good value for money for longer stay

    We've stayed in this hotel for 1 night before our flight back home from Bergamo airport (15 min by taxi from the hotel). For 1 night all was very good - quite spacious standard room, big bathroom, VERY good view from the window, breakfast with hot dishes (not standard for Italy). Very nice coffee bar near hotel, 5 min from cable car to upper city, 15 min from train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    i would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is famous for its top floor restaurant it is pity it is accessible for limited time (19.30-22.30 excluded sundays) only for dinner as it would be so nice to have access to its view for coffee/drink!

    this hotel has the best location in the city of bergamo : 5 min from shopping area, 2 min walk from funicolare(upper town) + aeroport bus stop fantastic breakfast: quality and variety + two coffee machines,all arranged in a beautiful breakfast room that although it can be crowded it still feels "quiet" we liked the view of old town from our room helpful stuff overall. if again in bergamo i will not look for another hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Bergamo old town is a must to see and the San Marco is ideally placed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No kettle in room. The only other dislike was not being able to have a drink only at the rooftop restaurant so missed the view from here.

    The bed was really comfortable and the view was excellent. Nice to have a safe in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive everywhere in the Bergamo center, 15-20 eur per night :( Restorant at roof-top is also too much pricey :( In the morning you have to wait /little bit/ to make coffee or tea, because lack of coffeemashines :)

    Good hotel, isn't too much big, good location for visiting both uptown and downtown. Comfortable rooms, beds, good breakfast. Checkout time at 12:00.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    very good location, great choice for breakfast, the bus to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good location, great choice for breakfast, the bus to the airport runs right in front of the hotel, nice view from hotel´s restaurant on the roof of the hotel, slippers and bathrobe in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay - bus from airport stops right outside so easy to reach. Between the upper and lower cities, so great location for seeing both. And a great breakfast...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. We could not control the tempretur in the room it was way too hot for us as the heating came on late afternoon and stayed on into to the evening with no way of us turning it off.

    Great location - bus from the airport stops very close to the hotel only a 2 minute walk, also very close to the train station where you can get a train to Milan for the day. The room was very clean with a great shower and nice fluffy towels. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast had a great choice and was very filling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with great location close to funicular of Bergamo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a bit cold in the room and had a plumbing problem ( water doesn't go fast enough both in the sink and shower), but overall good impression

    Good hotel with great location close to funicular of Bergamo. Comfy bed and clean room with balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom lay out - Shower very small / tight access. No shelves/ledges for placing toiletries etc..

    Very good location. Staff recommended excellent restaurant in lower town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Probably the best in the area and although not "cheap" was quite good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little "tired", but this description simply reflects its age, not neglect. Although the room did have air-conditioning it was only upon approaching the concierge that we were told that it was operated from the reception desk - not really a problem, but does lead to some guesswork as to getting the temperature just right and a guest-operated system might be more user-friendly.

    Good location to the hotel with parking on-site. Reasonable English spoken by staff who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good (for continental hotel) and the rooftop restaurant is superb. There was good sound insulation to the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    It was not a pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is besides on the third floor although I have been to Excelsior more than 6 times and I ask front view and upper floor, the worst is that the room is for single use and they told us that it was a double room.I am disappointed so much!!I feel that if I make reservations alone direct to the hotel everything it will be better!

    Only the breakfast and the position of the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Excellent hotel, excellent room, helpful friendly staff. Great food, easy access to the centre. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    A little more attention to detail & cleanliness would make this hotel an ideal stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in the jacuzzi bath were very dirty with stagnant water which put me off. The pillows were extremely flat & uncomfortable. Would have liked fresh orange at breakfast as opposed to cheap over sweet cordial.

    The temperature of the room was ideal the view across old town was lovely. Hotel was well situated reception staff were very helpful & efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Very satisfying short break in September sunshine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration and furnishings in room a bit basic

    Location is perfect to explore both upper town and city. Rooms comfortable and clean but a little basic for 4 stars. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    The gym facility is basic, the TV didn't work in there,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym facility is basic, the TV didn't work in there, and the sauna was out of order. Not very good considering that I book hotels for business that incl. fitness facilities. I would stay elsewhere on my next trip based on this and I'll be travelling to Bergamo (plus with colleagues) a lot of the next coming months.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent choise for bergamo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very good also the breakfast was one of the best that hotel can provide with many choises like vegan and many more . The room was clean and very comfortable. Stuff very pleasant as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Very central with lovely open space in front.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does the hotel have energy saving systems. The large keychain is a bit outdated.

    Very central with lovely open space in front. Efficient and high standard. Nice atmosphere in breakfast area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not adequate for the stars of the hotel. We are not sure if the scrambled eggs are eggs. They was not tasty at all. Many prepacked food on breakfast. Tables very close each to other. The toilet in the bathroom has not enough place to sit on it. The cabin in the bathroom is very small.

    We liked the comfortable beds, the view from the room, the staff, the free umbrella in the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with a bar area on the roof top to sit and have drinks and watch the amazing views of Citta Alta and the sunset around the city. No tea or milk in room, had to take from breakfast room.

    Arrived at the hotel, quickest check-in ever experienced and reception staff polite. Room was great, huge bed, coffee making facilities although no milk or tea (just flavoured tea) in room. Bathroom clean nice shower. Robes and slippers too. Safe was free with no hire charges. Sky tv in room. Excellent view of the Citta Alta from our room on 5th floor it was beautiful. Breakfast was ok for us - cereal, fruit, eggs, toast, croissants the usual. Don't expect nice bacon or full english. All staff polite and hotel very clean. Taxi from airport is flat rate 20 euros takes about 15 mins and excellent position just around the corner from the funicular which takes you up to the breathtaking Citta Alta. There are some steps to the left of the funicular which is a steep 15 min walk to the old town and great for fitness!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity that the roof terrace was only for meals, it would have been nice to sit and enjoy a drink and the view without eating.

    The location was excellent for access to the locations we wanted to get to, couldn't have been more convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    breakfast a bit chaotic but i suppose everybody wants to eat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast a bit chaotic but i suppose everybody wants to eat between 9 30 and 10 so fruit and cheese was not replenished but otherwise staff very helpful lovely hotel in superb location to visit this wonderful city

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Excelsior San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: