Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fontana 3 stars

Piazza Duomo, 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#26 of 28 hotels in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful! Amalfi never fails to impress. Quite frenitic but fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had the suite with the terraces and it would have been nice to have some lighting for night time. We loved sitting out on the terrace at night but with no light it was a bit difficult climbing up the steps from the terrace to our room in the dark.

    The breakfasts were fine. The croissants were lovely and everything was great. Only difficulty was its a bit tight for space but you just work around that. The staff are especially helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see the above.

    The only problem was when we arrived there was no where to go and no one with a sign or a spot for us to leave our car to inquire. so one did the foot work and a taxi driver came to take our car for storage, but we did have to lug the luggage across the street and upstairs. Ok for us we are healthy. For anyone with health problems this may have been a nightmare. This should have been mentioned. Such as Stairs and no elevator and call us when you arrive at the location, so we can be there to greet you and take your car immediately. Instead we had to drive in circles until someone arrived. Otherwise all is well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful location with a great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was dated, but usable.

    The location was amazing, right in the center of town. We had an ocean facing balcony that we spent to much time on watching the cars, scooters, and buses navigate the narrow road. The room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast was a great value, the coffee was superb. Finally, the staff was wonderful! From the front desk attendants to the cleaning staff, everyone was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location,2 minutes to the beaches,pear,bus stops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is a small child always on duty on reception by day,you can't sleep and no quiet.Add the breakfast mess like washing cups and throwing spoons in the can.Simple rooms,exactly 3stars.

    Great location,2 minutes to the beaches,pear,bus stops and right in front of Duomo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    A fantastic room in a fantastic area. Highly recommend Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The location was excellent, close to the the ferry and buses, the room was great, make sure you get a room with a sea view Highly recommend will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    - Location (50m away from the SITA bus stop and 100m away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Breakfast area was a bit cramped

    - Location (50m away from the SITA bus stop and 100m away from the ferry stop, 50m away from the main piazza) - View (Direct view of sea) - Sound insulation (Even though the main road passes by the hotel, there is almost no sound inside the room) - High ceiling - Effective A/C

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    location was perfect!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wifi was really poor in our room even though our room as next to the reception.

    location was perfect! near to the coast, restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great until I figured out the air-conditioning didn't work. Though it was advertised as air-conditioned, the built-in unit didn't work, and it had been replaced with a small portable unit that only circulated hot air. and it was hot! The temperature had reached 95 F (35 C) that day, and the room wasn't much cooler. When I complained to the front desk, the lady insisted that the small unit was fine. I had no choice but to sleep with the doors to the balcony open. It was much cooler after dark. But that beautiful view turned into a detriment at night, as it faced the very busy main street out front. So it became sleep or sweat.

    When I first checked in, I thought the room was great. Though it was a tiny single, no more than about 8 feet wide, it had a wonderful view of the harbor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location on the main square and very close to the beach. Lovely helpful staff. Nice clean facilities and good breakfast. Could not beat the location. Within walking distance to lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom comforter was not clean .

    Loved the location ,the breakfast buffet in the morning . The service at front desk was excellent. They were so helpful with what i needed. Very nice employees. The views were SPECTACULAR and the area was so so perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    If you are looking for cheap rooms in Amalfi, this is your spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were most basic. However we were tired after hiking so were glad to have a bed. There is no elevator so if you are not traveling 'light' lugging luggage can be problematic. Also, in the morning went down for coffee and was greeted by an unfriendly lady not serving coffee until 7:00 am (no exceptions!). This was a real downer.

    Great location central Amalfi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location but the A/C didn’t work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is kinda old and many things didn’t work properly. I paid for A/C but they said it was not working and that’s why I had a fan in the room. The room was really small.

    Great location, small room with a balcony with a nice view. The breakfast was good. The wifi worked pretty well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Views and noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on Friday and Saturday night. On Friday night we noticed it was a bit noisy outside and the noise was making its way inside, but eventually it died down and we were able to get to sleep. Saturday was a different story. Our room being right on the square/street was so noisy, we barely slept. All night long the sounds of scooters buzzing through and drunk people yelling and carrying on kept us up all night. It was a pretty brutal night coupling the noise with the rock hard bed.

    The location was great and central to everything. Our room had a wonderful view of the sea, beach, mountains and great people watching. The room was huge, with tall ceilings and a separate sitting room. The breakfast was ok but the dining room is a bit small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard. Because of the location area is noisy till very late and again early in the morning.

    Location, staff, room size and bathroom. Free WiFi all areas. Hotel has arrangements with restaurant down stairs 20 euro three courses which were amazing, drinks extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    In the center of Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access...far too many steep, narrow steps up to reception on the first floor. From their it was lifts..

    Great location. Piazza San Andreas + the Church 50m away...sea front 100m away...city sightseeing bus stop 50m away!! Room had Fantastic views over the Piazza and sea/ beaches from the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location to both ferry terminal and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location to both ferry terminal and bus station. Couldn’t have been better. We were in the quadruple room (only two of us) as that was what was available. Massive!! Not too noisy, even though it is right on the main piazza (although we always travel with ear plugs). Very kind and helpful staff. Great breakfast options. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really a problem for us but might be a consideration for others, the church bell on the main square rings every 15 minutes from about 6.30am.

    Perfect location at the main square in Amalfi, very convenient when you arrive by either ferry or bus. We had a small balcony overlooking the main square with its church. Our room was quite big with a full size fridge and complimentary prosecco. Good breakfast selection and fresh coffee. Nice staff and clean. Our toilet seat was wobbly but the staff fixed it straight away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    convenient location in the middle of town. great views of the duomo and bell tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room 112 overlooked the Duomo piazza. The balcony was perfect for people watching at all times of the day and night. Balcony doors very effective in blocking piazza sound. Love hearing the church bells. Great location! Right in the middle of all the action in Amalfi town 😆

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Amalfi and the Fontana Hotel were like a dream relived, but even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a little tired.

    The location was fantastic, our room was spacious and elegant and we had a great bathroom. My husband proposed to me at this hotel about 12 years ago so it is really special to me. We also enjoyed the great breakfasts and excellent and friendly staff. thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We were very lucky and had a room that overlooked the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was only available when the restaurant below was open... 10 am is too late for some travellers... no help to get big cases up or down steep narrow steps

    We were very lucky and had a room that overlooked the square... beautiful views with two balconies... very pleased with the whole experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved the location...looking out at the sea and the main square was fabulous... breakfast was great...lots of variety...staff were lovely, friendly, helpful...would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....to dislike

    We had a junior suite overlooking the bay. Hotel was located in the main plaza. Room was exceptionally quiet. The breakfast was fresh and wonderful. The staff warm and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very nice and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard. Lots of street noise. Coffee too strong. Shower squirting everywhere.

    Staff were very nice and obliging. Helped me carry my case down the stairs. Centrally located near the cathedral. Good breakfast. Was able to use an iron.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    We loved the view from our room and the access to an outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite spacious but the shower unit was quite small. Plenty of room to make the shower area more comfortable.

    We loved the view from our room and the access to an outdoor area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely. The hotel was in a great location for us because the piazza is right outside. Buses and ferry only metres away. It’s located at bottom of the hill so not many stairs to drag your luggage up (thankfully). We loved it.. the buses run regularly to most locations and are very cheap. Don’t miss a ride up to Ravello 🚌

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Glad we were there only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible, pillows are too flat.

    Great location in the piazza, easy to find, very central. Nice view over ocean from balcony. The room is clean and very spacious, very old fashioned, if you like that style. Breakfast was adequate and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Basic stay. Avoid this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy neighborhood. To ascend or descend need go climb steep stairs to get to lobby. Not suitable for senior or guests with baggage. No porter service available during checkin during check out was offered porter service but at a charge of 5 euros per bag. Paid wifi just basic breakfast. Indifferent attitude of staff.

    The seaview from my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    The perfect location in central Amalfi, great for budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older hotel and the rooms feel a bit dated (for the price and location, this is easily overlooked) No parking at the hotel (as stated on Booking), if you have a car you need to pay to park in the Port area.

    Perfect location in the center of Amalfi. The hotel entrance is in Piazza Duomo and a few steps away from the Duomo di Amalfi church. On the opposite side, its a short stroll to the beach/harbor. Conveniently located next to many restaurants and shops. Very nice hosts, and the included breakfast in the morning was good. Our room adequately slept a group of 4, and for the price it could not be beat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful location - we had the balcony on the main square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful location - we had the balcony on the main square and enjoyed a great New Years celebration from there. Perfect spot close to everything and really nice and helpful staff. The breakfast also is really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value, location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to take luggage up some stairs as far as we experienced. It was fine for us but could be a challenge for some people

    Breakfast was nice, location was outstanding. Rooms were nice size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The hotel was situated in a great place;
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asides from a mix up who was staying in the rooms which caused small issues with room charges/ changes nothing really to complain about.

    The hotel was situated in a great place; close to restaurant and shops as well as the ocean. We also had a great view of the city center. The staff were helpful. Liked how they freshly made your morning drink versus some other hotels we stayed at as it added a special touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    The location was excellent, the sea view was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The single beds were extremely narrow and the mattresses weren't comfortable. the shower could have been better. And they charge extra for wifi. 5 euros a day.

    The location was excellent, the sea view was fabulous. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Walking distance from the beach, fair prize, friendly staff and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meal at the Restaurant is not worth its price. There are better places nearby.

    The location is excellent for the prize. Just by the sea and opposite the Amalfi Duomo. The room was just overlooking the main square with a view on the Duomo and Piazza del Duomo. If you travel on a small bu and wish a perfect location do not hesitate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    If travelling the gorgeous Amalfi coast, the wonderful Hotel Fontana in Amalfi town is a great base
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to carp about. Hotel Fontana is great...

    The Hotel Fontana is a great hotel with a prime location in the main piazza of Amalfi town, very close to restaurants, the beaches, and the main bus and boat hubs. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, and the staff were terrific, friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts in the morning were a delight as well. For the price of the room, the Hotel Fontana is a win win for travelers with an eye on budget and an eye on seeing the enchanting, extraordinary Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    central, many activities, friendly people, the best decision in Amalfi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    central hotel, good connections by bus, ferry and shuttle, hotels rooms are spacious individual room with private bathroom. Very friendly and helpful personal specially Tatiana and Luana, they answered all our questions and gave us good tips there. I will recommended it!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    In Hotel Fontana I felt well and safe and I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A room to the seaside is also a room to the traffic and the road. From the morning until the evening the place is very crowded and full with people, cars, motorbikes, buses and ships. So the room is a bit noisy but also interessting to see. For me that was not too bad. The breakfast room is a bit small if all guests eat at the same time.

    The staff was very nice, friendly, attentive and helpful. Breakfast was good with different kind of bread, cornflakes, juices and fresh fruits, boiled eggs, cheese and sausage, a lot of coffee and tee, different cakes and marmelades. The junior suite has an own fridge , three balconys and a view to the sea and to sunrise and sunset. From the hotel it's easy to reach anything you need like transport in buses or with the ship, to buy tickets, supermarket, restaurants, tourist information, coffe shops and so on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    The location of this hotel in the beautiful town of Amalfi was the perfect choice..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors and windows hard to open and kitchen noises late at night.

    Wonderful view over the piazza, with lots of activity going on from morning until night. Watching locals and tourists. The hotel location was brilliant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra pay for wifi

    Perfect locations, quiet but not very clean or comfortable. Also, wifi is 5euro per day and i think it should be free. Breakfast amazing :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke up with multiple bug bites and the staff refused to believe there were bed bugs in my room. They were nice enough to move me into another room and I didn’t have any issues in the new room.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just OK.

    The room was clean and generous in size. The extras provided were excellent, i.e. razor, slippers, toothbrush, etc. View was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    The stay in Amalfi was perfect but would not use that hotel again nor would I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs a bit of an uplift. The beds are not comfortable. The breakfast not great. To much noise when eating breakfast. The staff was banging dishes around and making it very difficult to have a conversation with anyone. We used the 20$ dinner voucher the first night. Not the greatest. During dinner they decided to have a repair man come in to fix the restaurant door. They actually used a drill. Again conversation was almost nil. Not good!

    The location is perfect. Accessibility to other areas was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Character hotel in excellent location enjoyed but the ground floor is up a flight of steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast

    Breakfast was typical continental boiled ham cheese warm eggs and pastries and cakes but I did get a good cup of tea because you could boil the water in a kettle excellent location with a balcony looking over the square and church

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Fontana was the perfect place to stay in Amalfi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing! Staff was great, location was perfect; couldn't have asked for more!

    Hotel Fontana was the perfect place to stay in Amalfi! It is right in the main square across from the beautiful cathedral. We never had the pleasure of enjoying the breakfast but regardless, we realy enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. It's an older building but our room was huge and the sea view was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the coast of Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No immediate parking (parking in the Amalfi coast is a premium and expensive). The shower is a bit small.

    My wife and I travelled to Amalfi for a few days via car from Rome. Driving to Amalfi is quiet an experience and highly recommended. We knew that the location did not have a private designated parking but the staff indicated us to park in a public parking located about 500 meters from the hotel. The hotel is located next to the main road, back to the main plaza in front of the Duomo, a great variety of restaurants, and 1 minute walk to the beach (great location). The staff at the hotel were always helpful and ready to help. They helped us setting up some awesome boat tours. The hotel lobby is simple and has a communal breakfast area. The rooms where very comfy and ample, the high rise ceilings made it look even more impressive and roomier. Most of the rooms have balconies with sound proof doors and shades. This made the busy plaza (tons of people during August) and local businesses unnoticed. Checking in/out was a breeze. Will come back to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall the pro's out weighed the cons
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps up to the hotel would probably be a problem to older people

    The hotel was in an excellent location the staff was freindly it was basic but you got what you paid for! The room size was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    The Hotel is a great older building right in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to Hotel, parking within 1/2 km, renos and updated decor, air that blows cold.

    The Hotel is a great older building right in the heart of the action and close to the restaurants and beach...the place needs major updating and beds you can sleep on!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Hotel Fontana was great location but is more like a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Fontana felt a little old and very tired needs better bedding and more comfortable beds the rooms need nicer furniture. Breakfast was very ordinary, and need more choice for breakfast including hot breakfast eg. Eggs bacon sausages .. Mainly cold meats bread and cakes were served.

    The hotel was great location right in the heart of the town and across the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    2.9
    Doesn't worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we entered the room around noon the bed sheets and pillow covers were dirty and full of dust, we informed the concierge!! Nobody was there to change the sheets so the concierge lady came to the room to change the sheets herself and she tild us she is doing us a favor!!! Imagine that! The hotel is so dated! Everything was way below average here

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    The place had the best location right in the city centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place had the best location right in the city centre across from the sea with a sea view. Everything is right there, shopping, restaurants, bars, bus, ferry. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Right in the heart of Amalfi, loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality should be improved, it's a little bit poor on the food side. In a couple of shops some ceramic products - that are quite cheap price - are made in China which is a shame since tourist comes to buy Italian products made in Italy.

    It is right in the center of Amalfi, two steps from the Amalfi Duomo. Crossing the road you will be on the beach and close to every transport (bus station, ferry) that can take you to Positano and Sorrento. The hotel staff is very nice and the rooms are quiet and comfortable,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is unbeatable. The car parking was easy, because they get someone to pick it up for you and park it, and then bring it back, for 18 euros.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs leading up to the hotel could be problematic for some people.

    Fantastic location, the front of the hotel faces the sea, the back faces the main square. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was a great size, with a decent bathroom and a balcony looking over the sea. The shutters kept out a lot of the noise. Very friendly staff, who helped book transport from the airport and onto out next destination. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    The suite was excellent! Huge balcony overlooking the beautiful Amalfi coast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors needed a good clean.

    We stayed in the suite - room 102. It was a huge room with two single soda beds and a mezzanine with the queen bed. There is also a huge bathroom and a massive balcony off the mezzanine that overlooks the coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great stay, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is absolutely perfect, right in the heart of Amalfi. We had two balconies overlooking the sea. It was stunning! The room was a perfect temperature, no noisy air conditioning and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff were lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Room very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the floors and comforters in our room appeared dirty. The mattress was very thin, not very comfortable.

    Room very spacious. Staff was very friendly, we arrived early and were able to leave our luggage in the lobby while we checked out the town. The location and breakfast were both great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress in need of replacement as does the ancient furniture. Sheets not during the seven days I was there.

    The location and the staff who were always friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Location! Location! Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Loved the location of the hotel and when we opened our glass doors 50 metres away was an uninterrupted view of the sea and the hustle and bustle of life in the Amalfi The double glazed windows made the room very quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    nice scenery good for walking and hiking holidays not beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The actual travel in too Amalfi too long to get too. The people who slam doors at ridiculous times in the morning mainly germans. The sea was like an ice bath warmed up after a few minutes later.

    Where the hotel is situated on the front by the square no walking to do and the shops are right on your doorstep. Bus stops are 1 minute away . The scenery of Amalfi town is lovely and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed are stay at Fontana hotel would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Location, Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While location was very central, it was a bit noisy at night, especially on the street side. Perhaps better window insulation for noise

    Great location, helpful staff and good set up with parking - someone picks your car up and takes to park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location, beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs up to hotel were steep when carrying luggage. No help with baggage.

    The most wonderful room on the Piazza in the middle of everything in Amalfi! Elevator . Best views ever. Close to all shops and Cathedral . VIEWS!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General decoration.

    Although an excellent central location it could be very noisy . Whilst hotel is badly need of an update and refurbishment it was clean, towels and bedding were of good quality. For the price and the 4 days we spent in Amalfi it was a good deal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. I had stayed there 12 years ago and enjoyed it. Now it is shabby, poorly staffed, broken shower,flooded bathroom, way over priced. If this is the kind of place you have on your web sight maybe I need a different web sight to plan future trips!!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    Location was great, but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to entrance. Location of entrance was hidden. Late breakfast start (8am) and crammed tables and chairs for breakfast. Beds were uncomfortable.

    Location of site

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    No WiFi apart from in reception, and even then you have to pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no WiFi except for in the reception and you had to pay 5 euros to get it! Talk about stingy. The bed was pretty hard and the shower sprayed just about everywhere but down. In serious need of a refit. Location the only thing going for it.

    The location was great, and the view from the balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin and could hear everything in every room. There was an extremely drunk person knocking and banging on the door at 3am and no security came. No sleep

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    Convenient and relaxing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After taking shower the bathroom became flooded due to the absence of draining system (apart from the one in the shower space). Curtain was not enough.

    Staffs are kind and the view from the room is awesome. Very close also to the bus stops. Quite convenient to go around the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    Central location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10e for wifi which you can use only at the reception Breakfast room is cramped, basically in the hallway and you pass in between tables to reach your room.

    Complimentary prosecco, location is very central and view is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.8
    This hotel needs some modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel supposed to be 3 stars does not offer wifi in the bedroom. You have to pay 5 or 10euros for having Wifi in the pretty sordid / obsolete reception hall. I think this hotel needs some renovation / modernisation. The tv was very old. No heater. Not very confortable. But very clean. And sweet people working there.

    This hotel is very well located. Very clean. Nice & helpful persons at the desk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    I liked location and the view from balcony was marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that bothered me was a small shower, which is impossible to take to without spilling water on the floor, and also some problems with hydroisolation. But there was a lot of fresh towels, and the bathroom was cleaned everyday very nicely, so it wasn't a big of a problem for me. I guess if hotel will fix this problem, it would be a perfect place to stay.

    I liked location and the view from balcony was marvelous. Delicious breakfast. Nice stuff members.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    A solid hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good, right near bus station and the waterfront. Breakfast was not fancy but nice all the same. The room was nothing fancy but clean. All in all a nice stay in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great.

    I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently and I have to say it was great. Location is perfect, overlooking the sea and next to the wonderful cathedral of Amalfi. Staff are absolutely fantastic - they could not have been more helpful. They organised my trip to Matera, and provided me with lots of useful information for travelling around the Amalfi coast. Room was excellent - sea views and it was cleaned daily. Well stocked fridge. Wonderful breakfast in the morning offering a wide selection of meats, cheese, bread, cakes, fruit, yogurt, teas, coffee - more than enough to set you up for the day. Amalfi is the perfect place to stay in order to visit other towns and cities such as Sorrento, Ravello, Maoira, Positano and Salerno. I will definitely stay in this hotel again when I return to Amalfi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.9
    A great place to stay in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The great location comes with a cost - it was quite noisy at night. But this is only a problem if you want an early night (I was still running on Southern Hemisphere time). The hot water can also be a bit temperamental. Avoid peak times or you will have a tepid shower.

    Great location right on the square with little balconies to observe the hustle and bustle. Friendly staff and a good spread for breakfast (for someone who is used to cereal anyway).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.4
    Good location but to be desired on everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is worn down. The bed was too soft and bouncy. The staff was not too helpful when we asked where to eat. Need to walk up to the front desk (we had an aged member with bad legs) though you can go to the ground floor in a cafe - the pass you can use when it is open.

    Location is the best.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    What a fantastic location on the main square next to lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay for wifi and then only being able to use it in the dining room.

    What a fantastic location on the main square next to lots of restaurants with the buses and boats just over the road. The breakfast was great and really varied - something for everyone. They were very accomodating as well - I had to leave for an early bus so ate very early: no problem. A welcoming drink was a nice touch (I swapped my prosecco for a beer).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    4.2
    Good location, bad accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly, very expensive wifi and just available only in the lobby, facilities of a two star hotel, beautiful old building very badly maintained inside.

    Location!! Only the location!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Fontana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: