Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites 4 stars

Via Dei Gabbiani Snc, 07020 Golfo Aranci, Italy

#7 of 36 hotels in Golfo Aranci

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, nice food, great beach, location good but town was small with limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no entertainment in the hotel, which was a disappointment. Prices for drinks and food were very high, although the food was good.

    Hotel was very clean and of a high standard. The breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice. Room was excellent with a really good view of the resort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Thank you for your hospitality :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for Excellent breakfast, perfect cleanliness, ( maid service twice a day) , very good towels, very good beach, very helpful Stuff. Thank you for your hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    What a wonderful place, I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a gem of a find. The location was stunning and an easy walk into the small town. Staff were so welcoming and could not do enough for us. The food in the restaurant was great as well. We upgraded to a suit which was absolutely amazing with the most gorgeous view. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    The perfect location - can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite expensive especially if you want a room with a sea view and so when you have to pay extra each day for using the umbrellas and sunloungers on the beach the overall cost of your stay can mount up!

    Perfect hotel for a quiet break. The location is fabulous and the staff are wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall loved the area and view from our room and staff were very good to us. Breakfast was excellen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the price charged per room they shouldn’t charge extra for beach chairs. Understand this is done in Italy but a little rich to charge this given amount charged per room should be included . Also charged too much for extra gold out bed we needed .

    Service was excellent .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charge to use the beach should be free fro hotel customers. A bit of upgrade for the furniture would be great as well.

    Great experience. Fantastic staff, beautiful beach, great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    We have stayed here on and off for over five years, the hotel is all about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very basic, the rooms quite small and in need of renewing. The bed is too hard.

    The location is second to none, the beach is beautiful and clean with crystal clear water. The staff are lovely and welcome and

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get internet in our room. We raised it with reception who investigated but couldn't do anything for us. The pool wasn't the cleanest either however you have a beach at your doorstep.

    The property is beautiful and it a great location. A short walk to many restaurants and very central to getting around everywhere. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a lovely and thoroughly enjoyable part of a longer holiday in Sardinia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Transport difficulties without a car. Bus service non existent and few trains per day; long walk to the station

    excellent view from the balcony; friendly and helpful staff; good food; comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Definately worth returning to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard. We parked on the street as there is no car park. This wasn't a problem in late September but I imagine it could be in August.

    Lovely hotel in a quiet and beautiful setting - nice pool and beach. Staff very polite and welcoming. Delicious breakfast. Wished we'd been able to stay longer but were just passing through. Would definately return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel, worth going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only on thing I didn't expect: We chose this hotel because booking stated it was beach front. There is a block walk to the beach, like a path a gallery that connects with the beach. But in order to use the beach you need to pay 30 euros extra per day. We didn't expect that charge

    Excellent hotel. Multi lingual very friendly staff. Very clean, confortable rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. Pool service was very good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable family holiday in a stunning island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    All guests have to pay for sun beds and a parasol every day! Never heard of this before. The beach belongs to the hotel so guests should be able to use the beach as well as all other facilities without extra costs.

    Fantastic location, excellent restaurant in the property, very trained and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Overranked and overpriced hotel, do not advise for families with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is more a 3star hotel considering its rooms, services etc. there is no territory at the hotel: a tiny pool area and smallest pools i've ever seen, and the terrase leading to the beach. The blue restaurant is very average, total absence of any services for families with kids: no animation, no kid menu, no playground, nothing. Tiny rooms, suits in the second building are out-of-dated, old, random furniture: half of the furniture is of no use, another half was full with stuff like a storage room. It looked like 20 years old facilities. Uncomfortable beds.

    Nice sea, good beach for kids and adults

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced, more a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overpriced for what you get- the price is 30-40% more than it should be. I would call it a 3star hotel, not 4. The rooms are tiny and generally the design and furniture is very basic. The hotel has almost no territory. There is nothing for kids, no animation, no kids meal, no playground. The blue restaurant at the hotel i would rank 6 out of 10.

    The beach and the sea is great for kids and babies and generally we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Restaurant Blu was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The quality of the WiFi is patchy and not that reliable

    Restaurant Blu was excellent. Good service and great food. The private beach was clean and close to the hotel and good for swimming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.0
    Perfect location, but couldn't help feeling there was lack of value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dated and tired for the price you pay. Service at dinner or even when ordering a drink in the evening was painfully slow. The first night we had dinner at the blu restaurant and the fish arrived almost raw and cold inside. I am pregnant so I explained that I couldn't eat it like this. They took it back and cooked it properly but instead of apologizing made a suggestion that it was due to the "freshness" of the fish. However, we did go back on another evening and the quality of the food was generally much better.

    Easy access to gorgeous beach Very friendly reception staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Kids and I had a great week. We were upgraded to poolside seaview suite - bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed & pillows very hard / uncomfortable. Golfo Aranci not the most beautiful of places but there was a market each night & roads closed so gave it a nice feel (I was happy walking around with my 3 kids aged 9-12 late at night) & the quayside smart.

    Great location right on a great beach where you could snorkel. Pool area very nice. Lots of restaurants within 10 minute walk. Boat trip to see dolphins & swim off an island fun. Kids loved Aquadream water park (40 min drive away).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel in all respects. Elegant and friendly at the same time. Excellent food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Name badges for the staff would be a nice addition so individuals could be recognised for their good work. The beach is marketed as "private" so I would not have expected to pay Euro30 per day for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella. I do understand that from listening to other guests that the hotel have to pay the authorities, hence the charge during peak season (from 10 June) but I would rather see a higher nightly rate with sunbeds included. Finally, we paid for half board but to eat at the Blu restaurant within the hotel was an additional charge. Perhaps a set menu in that restaurant for half board guests would be nice to enjoy the outside space.

    We enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the location of the hotel within walking distance of bars and restaurants and the beautiful beach. Food on the half board plan was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, going out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had a lovely holiday. The beach and local surroundings are beautiful. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    The Ideal Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Not really a complaint, but we both struggled with dealing with 4 courses of a generous nature each evening!! Having said that all the food was excellent!

    Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were very attentive, and the restaurant service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Poor beds, broken air conditioning, rubbish cocktails all in all a disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning did not work and was not repaired during our stay, even though it was reported to the staff. The bed in our room was extremely uncomfortable, the mattress was damaged (sagging) and clearly worn out. The mattresses were replaced with equally uncomfortable substitutes. On previous visits staff working in the cocktail bar have always managed to produce beautiful cocktails in appropriate glassware. On this occasion our cocktails were served in water tumblers, the various ingredients were just poured straight into the glass with no thought for presentation or mixing unlike the local cocktail bars we visited. At 10 euros each, the hotel cocktails were more expensive. Staff varied in their hospitality, some were very helpful e.g. cleaners and waiters. whilst others smiled and did nothing. Having stayed on a regular basis at this hotel over the past ten years, we have been extremely disappointed on this visit.

    The beach and excellent local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Average hotel - clean,proper but not the luxury place it pretend to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant - overpriced. Food was not warm enough and there was a lot of noise when we were eating - the staff was already setting up breakfast for next morning

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Charming hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect. Very short walk to beaches, town and restaurants Lovely breakfast area either inside or outside. Prosecco for breakfast! Good selection of cakes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    location close too the beach, quiet resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    location close too the beach, quiet resort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    2.5
    I paid more than 330 euro without service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid more than 330 euro without service.I needed help with my reservation. Hotel and booking.com didn't help us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    It's worth to come back a 3rd time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    the staff were very helpful and friendly: always ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room had no view and beds are not very comfortable

    the staff were very helpful and friendly: always ready to help you :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    The restaurant in Blue delicious food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and dated/ not modern oldfashioned

    The restaurant in Blue delicious food!! The private beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    not bad but wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was dated and restaurants expensive overpriced for the experience

    nice views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Very nice a beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough variety for children breakfast and lunch

    The staff were very helpful polite and made us very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for what you get

    Really nice facility and location makes easy access to nearby towns but this town is pretty mundane

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Very little to do in an evening

    Lovely staff , excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    quiet area, nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can only say the breakfast was not a 4 star breakfast.

    Spacious room, very clean, nice staff, great private beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges for sun beds on the private beach

    How friendly the staff were and the blue restraunt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site

    Food and staff both very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Four night holiday to celebrate a birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have had the beach snack bar open.

    Cleanliness of the hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    helpful hotel stuff, very good breakfast, swimming pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wi-fi, preatty expensive

    helpful hotel stuff, very good breakfast, swimming pool and private beach, big room, beautiful view on the sea and city centre

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Couple

    15 Euros charge each per a day for hotel sunbeds. Food was not so great in Blue restaurant. TV did not work. Wireless is poor.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Beach is beautiful, but shallow, so it is good and secure for kids. Nice people on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Good service and perfect loaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is working but need more speed and to upgrade it. It is very important to have good Wifi when you are travelling. It is one of the most important things to day in hotels.

    Good service and perfect loaction. The beach is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Nice beach, clear water,clean and nice hotel,staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast always the same every morning

    Nice beach, clear water,clean and nice hotel,staff very kindly, super restaurant, good city with good eating places.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Gabbiano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Gabbiano. Fabulous hotel, couldn't fault it. Very clean & tidy, staff were very helpful. Pool & beach were beautiful. Would highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    English not catered for. No resort information in English. No tea/coffee making facilities in room, tho managed to get kettle for room. No sign for toilets by beach. Floor around pool dangerous.

    Comfortable room. Lovely beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.8
    Food was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food options are limited. Less expensive food for kids with a big hunger would be great.

    Food was outstanding. Staff was super-friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    superb location of the Hotel, excellent breakfast, direct...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    superb location of the Hotel, excellent breakfast, direct private beach

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location with view over the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location with view over the bay.Good outdoor pool.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Amazing staff- amazing food- feet hotel and private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only tiny issue would be the weak wi-fi in rooms

    Amazing staff- amazing food- feet hotel and private beach

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Location & Beach !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location & Beach !

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    It's really very very good in General .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    It's really very very good in General .

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.6
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Room/location/breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying for the beach 39€ / 2 pax / day

    Room/location/breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    Nothing negative to say about our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to say about our stay. The restaurant Blu has a creative and accommodating chef. The restaurant staff and hotel staff were super.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    5.8
    Staff reasonably helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Saga holiday destination. Cement bags for pillows. Poor wifi cover in rooms.

    Staff reasonably helpful. Nice beach resort. Quite location.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: