Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gabrielli 4 stars

Riva degli Schiavoni 4110, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#133 of 310 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1320 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Best view in Venice and great location to see all major attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel put a reserve on my account for 50% of the total amount, then charged me the full amount which I paid for on another card and am still waiting for the hotel to release the reserve weeks later.

    The view from the room was amazing, the room was a great size and in the perfect location to walk to public transport as well as all major attractions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    FABULOUS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in Room 518 on the top floor with a roof terrace which gave us the amazing views of Venice - this is under the roof terrace bar but this closes at 9pm and didn't cause us any problems.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    We had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is quoted as 4 star hotel and that is an Italian rating Ing. Anywhere else I would call it 3 star.

    The hotel is in a good location with easy access to cafes and restaurants. We had a large bright romm with lagoon views. The bathroom was excellent but shower only. There is a pretty garden . The water ferris are nearby. Staff pleasant but a little inefficient. E

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Cozy hotel with amazing staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it was excellent

    It was excellent value for the money, a bit close to San Marco, but far from other sites. There are a lot more crowds in this area, but the plus is that the alilaguna stop is super close.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Venice without the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male reception staff member we encountered, twice, wasn't that welcoming.

    The location was very good with 2 water bus stations close by making it easy to wheel our bags to the hotel. The hotel faces the Grand Canal & it's wonderful views and being situated a away from St Marks Sq was slightly less crowded. The room was wonderfully spacious, comfortable & modern. Lighting was good & it was quiet. Breakfast was very nice, with plenty of hot & cold choices, & inside or out seating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    The first night was terrible, but after room change got better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness and front desk attitude.

    After we were changed from our original room the view was great of the Grand Canal. We were given the wrong pier to come in on and therefore, we were forced to drag our bags for over three miles of bridges and cobblestone. A private taxi would have cost over $70 euro for a 15 minute trip. Manager was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Great Hotel beautiful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pigeons hovering over our breakfast. But we could have chosen to eat inside.

    Fantastic room, view and location. Helpful staff and great breakfast. Loved it there!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    This was for our 50th wedding anniversary and the hotel and Venice met all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have had a full length mirror in the room as being short it was a bit difficult to see my reflection. There are mirrors at the top of the stairs but by then I needed to be ready. The roof terrace could do with better signposting.

    The room was amazing, spacious, clean with fantastic views, beautifully renovated. The service was very good and bathroom facilities great. The breakfast options were very good and the choice of eating in or out good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    This is a stunning old hotel, so worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a stunning old hotel, so worth the cost. Our room was gorgeous and it was at the back looking over the rooftops of Venice. The breakfast was outstanding and we loved the location. Highly recommend and they have a great roof top patio which we wanted to spend time on but didn't have time to use. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    How good is a self-plauing piano?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How good is a self-plauing piano? Obviously, the location of Gabrielli is very attrective - but this seems to also mean that they don't have to make an effort to be great. They are basically wasting a good property for a short sighted run of the mill operation.

    The male, day-time receptionist was good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good value !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk acted bored. The lobby and restaurant was nice but the room with the computer was disappointing! Rooms did not look like the pictures online!

    Loved the location! I loved that we could the computer to print out confirmations. The lobby and restaurant were nice. Room was clean and the bellboy was super helpful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    What could have been an excellent stay was spoiled by the rudeness of the concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The concierge was pompous, unfriendly and unhelpful. Not once did he look up to say hello as we passed the desk. The woman at reception was very good.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, close to vaporetto stop, close to Piazza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was not comfortable. Bathroom had a nasty sewer odor from time to time.

    Perfect location, close to vaporetto stop, close to Piazza San Marco, close to numerous restaurants. View from our suite was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice accommodation. Comfortable room. Close to everything. Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and were met by a lady who told us our room would be made available asap. We left and returned at 1400 and she did not make us feel welcome at all! Directed us to the wrong lift that didn't go to the 5th floor! When we returned she had no time for us and we just waited till another staff member kindly showed us to our room.

    location was fantastic. Very close to water bus stop. Easy to walk around the city. Close to St marks square. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Sat outside to eat and absorbed the bustling atmosphere of Venice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was not good.

    Courteous staff, excellent location and clean environment. The hotel had a luggage room where we stored our luggage for a few hours

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was refurbished attic. 1.5 meters by the window and 2 meters by the door, sloping with exposed beams. Had to duck on way to bathroom. This was not the room in any of the pictures.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast options every day - quite poor options for a 4 star hotel. Small room, without heating option.

    Good location Friendly staff Nice roof terrace

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Some places a worth treating yourself to, and this is one of those!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To stay in a hotel like this, in a city like Venice, is the stuff dreams are made of. Our room had a small balcony and view up and down the canal. It was sheer luxury, the decor, the high stud ceilings. Great attention to detail. We were a close walk to St Marks Square. The water taxi took you straight to the door, or the water bus was only a couple of minutes walk away. The staff were very helpful. Sadly we only discovered the huge, tranquil garden out the back on the last day, it was a real oasis! The roof top bar was a definite must, to have a drink and watch the sunset. I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Location in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit dated (which I guess could also be seen as maintaining the character of the building). The shower had no door or even a sheet and therefore you would find yourself constantly wetting the entire bathroom floor. The room was small and the TV did not have any internet capabilities (i.e. could not log into Netflix) which was not great as most of the channels were in Italian.

    The property is well-located. The staff at reception were very helpful. The breakfast was tasty and the rooftop bar had a great view of the bay area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent, big authentic room and bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice roof bar but wasn't available due to a wedding, which could have been communicated to us during our stay.

    Location was excellent, big authentic room and bathroom, clean throughout and courteous staff. Amazing green spritz made by the barman, definitely worth a try (or 2).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Locationa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite dark and decor added to this

    The location on Grand Canal is great for transport and for walking to city sights. Staff helpful , although some were dismissive. The room comfortable and large but decor was very Venetian in the bedroom and lounge.This meant these rooms were quite dark, however, in contrast, the bathroom was very modern and bright.Breakfast was a bonus- generous quantities and offered wide variety of choices. The rooftop bar overlooks the Canal and offers panoramic views of Venice - a great location for wine at sunset. Loved being delivered to the hotel’s exclusive landing from a side canal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean. House keeping staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely poor: what should have been warm was cold. The waiting staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Booked a room facing the lagoon and did not receive; what was provided was a corner room

    Site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location , great breakfast , good value for money , but check your room for mosquitoes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that their was an roof vent / window in our bathroom in room 106, which allowed mosquitoes to fly into the bathroom . I was bitten 5 times and every night we had to make sure they were not in the bedroom . Spent most of evening killing them . The signs were there , with dead mosquitos on the walls where previous guests had killed them . This is my main criticism of the hotel , I didn’t expect these standards . I suggest they place a screen over the window to avoid this from happening

    I found it a great location , very easy to find from the water taxis , and easy walking distance for independent travellers . The breakfast was probably the best on my trip to Italy this year .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The view is absolutely spectacular and the hotel attendants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a long flight the location could seem like a long water taxi ride but in the end, that wouldn’t deter me from booking it again since the hotel and staff were amazing.

    The view is absolutely spectacular and the hotel attendants tried to get our room ready as fast as possible since we had a long flight the day of arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    The position was perfect, close to St Marks square but far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    The position was perfect, close to St Marks square but far enough to be out of the hustle and bustle. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Venice. Great views. Great roof top bar. Close enough to St Marks Square but far enough away to be less crowded. Great restaurants in the back streets behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, good sizes room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive, they have a roof terrace, with excellent views overlooking the Grand canal, which is also open to non residents, my wife had a coca cola €8, I had a small beer €11 and a single Gin & Tonic €14.

    Excellent location, good sizes room, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C not always enough in the restaurant. Plan accordingly.

    Fantastic location. Rooftop bar opened recently. No better place to watch the sunset above the maddening crowd!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice basic hotel, think 3* not 4* quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very quaint with decor from the1920’s. This gives it a very traditional feel but some things need updating inc: the air conditioning which was poor. Although the staff were pleasant when you approached them, they didn’t go out of there way with anything. There was no daily ‘Buorgiono’ in the morning at breakfast or as you passed reception throughout the day. Although our room was cleaned daily, cups and glasses used to transport drinks from breakfast to the room were not removed throughout the 4 nights of our stay despite being grouped together next to the bin, which was emptied. We were not warned that the hotel locks the doors and after a late night wander around San Marco, without the crowds, we found ourselves locked out (it was 1am). After ringing the bell, I looked through the window into the lounge to see the night-man asleep! He did wake but there was no apology. Having stayed in Venice many times at 3* and 5* hotels, this was definitely not worthy of the 4* rating it had been given. Service in the 3* was better.

    Great location and close to the water bus stop and taxi drop off. The room was spacious and very quiet. The hotel is very traditional and transports you back to a different era which added to its charm. The garden area was nice, although we never used it. The sky bar was perfect for a pre-dinner drink. The breakfast had a good choice of food and could be enjoyed inside or outside. Prosecco on the Sunday was a nice addition. The room was cleaned daily and items replenished. The toiletries were nice to use. The hotel did arrange for us to have the use of a single room and shower for 30 mins to freshen up after the heat as we had a very late flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    First, the location, near the actv arsenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the bathroom is not so great, it needs a modernisation.

    First, the location, near the actv arsenal. Then there was the breakfast. But the rooftop and the service was absolutely magnificent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    3* hotel with a 5* location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, cramped dated and just weird really. For a small bathroom there was too much in it (bath tub, bidet, sink and toilet). It would have made a good wet room. It felt very dated and dark without a window. The key to open the room door also added to the dated feel of the hotel. Perhaps an upgrade to swipe cards is needed. There is some noise from the boats early in the morning but not too bad.

    Location! Location! Location! we had room 512 which had the most spectacular view. Simply stunning. The hotel is within walking distance of the main attractions and 2 min from Arsenale water taxi which is perfect for getting to the hotel (from train station) and to the airport. the hotel is very clean and cosy. Great breakfast and I lovely view from the roof terrace bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, vert happy with everthing. It was our second stay, consitently good, no disappointments whatsoever.

    Fabulous location with views out over the lagoon. Roof terrace and bar with amazing views of the whole of Venice. Stylish, elegant. All staff very professional and helpful. Variety of foods at breakfast and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants were found on bathroom floor.

    Location is perfect. View from windows is excellent. There is a skybar on the roof with great view which is relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Bellissimo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a garden view room which does not face the westerly sun so the room is not hot which was good. The king bed is a super king bed and so comfortable. The room was very spacious. The hotel is situated so close to the Arsenale ferry stop, 10 minutes to Lido and 10 minutes walking to San Marco. Great location with nice restaurants around

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect distance to main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horns from ferry service outside the hotel were a little loud in the morning if you wanted to sleep in.

    Location was perfect distance to main attractions. The view from our room overlooked the water which was beautiful. Rooms are renovated, and clean. Towels are soft and robes we’re luxurious. The rooftop bar was a nice spot to sit and have a drink and enjoy the view! Loved the tall ceilings and chandelier. Good air conditioning. Will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Bijou room with a view!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Staff, location, room, view, food, aircon! Single room on top floor with a gorgeous view of the lagoon. Rooftop bar with music. Loved it all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the rooms, you can hear people walking and pasing through the corridor, also pushing and pulling something from next rooms.

    Location is very good. The property is clean and the staffs are great, rooms are good and restaurant provide good food with quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Tremendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is superb with friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Breakfast is a feast with a range of healthy options and the location is key and the views panoramic. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Location is good and all reception staff especially Claudia...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Overall very satisfied. Convenient location with water shuttle terminal just 2 minutes walk.

    Location is good and all reception staff especially Claudia were responsive and caring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We unfortunately had a room with window on the inside patio of the restaurant which was hosting a gathering which was quiet loud between 7:30 and 10:30 pm. Fortunately we had plans to go out later that night else it would have been insufferable.

    Perfectly located, out of the San Marco central area but within short distance walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great! Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast! The hotel has a lovely terrace on the 5th floor overlooking Venice. Giovanna thank you for making our stay very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Would recomend this hotel staff plesant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As in Venice the bathroom was small. The restaurant expensive at night to eat in, but were in Venice is cheap?

    Lovely bed room with a great view over the lagoon Good location near water bus Breakfast adequate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Wow what a great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow what a great hotel! great location, great staff, amazing room! I can not say enough about how fantastic this hotel is and will be recommending it to everyone that goes to Venice! The original boards in the roof were a nice touch too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    A good option if you want to be on the waterfront but are looking for a cheaper room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin mattresses pushed together, no kettle in the room, cruise groups get off their shuttle boats right in front of the breakfast terrace and souvenir sellers will block the view with their stalls from about 9am.

    The location is great, right on the waterfront near arsenale vaporetto where you can get a boat to and from the airport and with beautiful view towards the doges palace and across the lagoon to st Giorgio maggiore. There is a stunning roof terrace and a quiet garden. The breakfast offered a huge choice including bacon and eggs, fruit and croissants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    It's a beautiful and charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful and charming hotel. It is not the newest but therefore comes with history. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Clean, friendly and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel with a great view! Only downside was how noisey it was early morning and at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located right next to a ferry port and the boats are very noisey from early morning right through till late at night. Not to mention the hoards of people that are constantly being dropped off being loud. There seemed to be no soundproofing so that was the only downside to our room.

    Our room had a fantastic view, and it was in a great location for exploring. The breakfast was an extra bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The garden and inside garden is so nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden and inside garden is so nice !!! And the breakfast and dinner and top roof bar is excellent !!! I will recommend this hotel to my friends. it's very quiet but the bird singing day and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, amazing view in the hotel sky bar, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barhroom needs a bit renovation.

    Great location, amazing view in the hotel sky bar, great breakfast in the hotel garden and outside of hotel, in the promenade with amazing seaview. Comfortable beds, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was carried out with efficiency and courtesy on a few occasions the staff at the check in desk could have been more friendly.

    The location is superb. The restaurant and Sky Bar are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant location for water taxis and main canel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude waiter

    The position was fantastic and allowed us to walk from the station and see Venice on the way to the hotel and the back. The hotel is stunning and staff were friendly apart from one rude bar man but he could have been having a bad day! Would definitely stay here again .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    simply exquisite, memorable with close proximities to activities by the water edge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mosquitoes at the outdoor dining

    the architecture the food the view from the bedroom window the smell the courtyard dining the back garden the service and attention to details the outdoor dining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Magical, invigorating and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little dated, but inkeeping with Venetian Style. I would certainly stay again though.

    Loved the view - lagoon view, spacious room, easy access to boats and st mark’s. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Would go back again. Castello feels more Venetian and less touristy than closer to San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 122 was small for the extra paid for the lagoon view. Nice room but devoid of any artwork which would improve the warmth and add character. The couple travelling with us had a larger room for the same cost.

    The room and bathroom were fully updatedand fresh.room 122 was small for the extra paid for the lagoon view. Bed and pillows better than most found in Italy. Nice room but devoid of any artwork which would improve the warmth and add character. Staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Even though located near boat docks and the windows kept out almost all noise. The AC worked very well. Location in Castello a bit away from San Marco was terrific.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is waterfront with a spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is waterfront with a spectacular view. If you want a great location that is right in the heart of all the action, then this is the hotel for you. Keep in mind that many cruise/tours will start right in front of the hotel but that was never a problem for us as most arrive later in the morning and leave around 6 or 7 pm. We had no noise issues in the room. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, beautiful hotel, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work well. The staff at the terrace bar where keen to push guests out to get more outside clients in.

    Great breakfast, beautiful hotel, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Slip in Venice historical genuine Style !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great historical building & facilities, with vintage & original decorations, furniture, hall & restaurant. Great location near Arsenale, Giardini & Castello. Great Panoramic terrace for sunset drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was nice and the room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was a little bit too far for us, next time we would stay closer to the rialto area for more of a buzz.

    The breakfast was nice and the room was comfortable. It was also nice to come out of the hotel to see the main canal and easy to get to the airport on the airport express boat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Overnight in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    A beautiful, traditional Venetian hideaway. Charming, quaint with well appointed rooms with a modern touch but retaining original features

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was good with a fabulous view of San Marco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside of its location is it’s proximity to the quay at which hoards of tourists are disgorged every morning from tourist boats. But hey, if you can’t handle tourists, don’t go to Venice. The other negative is that the view from the restaurant is blocked by a stall selling the normal tourist tat. The restaurant could do with a proper Maitre D who oversees customer service.

    The location was good with a fabulous view of San Marco Basin and a short walk from St Mark’s Square, Doge’s Palace and the Basilica. We had room with a balcony and a massive Murano chandelier which was simply fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was good and breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room seemed to be the only one without shutters so we had daylight and were awakened very early. Also the wifi didn’t work for the majority of our stay. The staff did the bare minimum, when I called reception to ask about the wifi I was told it was only down temporarily then hung up on, and then on check out it looked to be a manager having an argument with a customer out in the open. We didn’t even get asked about our stay on check out, we just expected a little bit more for the price we paid.

    The location was good and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious Venetian accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautifully decorated and typically Venetian in style. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was very spacious with views of the lagoon from the balcony. The rooftop bar provided stunning views of the evening skyline but as with a lot of Venice the drinks were very expensive in this bar, starting from €10. The breakfast in the morning had a lot of selection and good quality produce. The hotel was a much better 4 star than others I have stayed in. Located a short distance from St Marks Square, there are also water bus stops just outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    We had a Canal view room top floor that was excellent. We will return. Staff were very helpful. The breakfast was also very good with many options for seating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location not far from San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated decor and furniture. Single glazed windows which means noisy even on the inner yard side. Maze like layout.

    Location, friendly staff, good coffee when ordered from the waiters, cleanliness, amenities. Very close to Arsenal thus easy to get to the airport and train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent location, convenient and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff very helpful and quick supportive. Location- excellent, very close to Arsenale vaporetto station, 50-100 m away (only 1 bridge to pass); easy to reach San Marco Square by foot (15 minutes) or any other point of interest- by simply taking vaporetto 1 (along Grand Canal) .Very clean room, comfy bed. good room size. Some rooms are facing the Canal, not all. Breakfast- many options. Panoramic Bar on the rooftop - very beautiful view over Canal Grande, esp. at sunset time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Pretty good value and no getting lost in Venice to get here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No barista on-site for coffee, so it’s just espresso machines, kind of a disappointment for Italy.

    The location and view are fantastic. Room was very recently remodeled, so that was nice. Vaporetto stop just outside, so getting there is really easy, a bonus for Venice as it’s so easy to find!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer.

    The breakfast was amazing. We all enjoyed the location of the hotel. Right off the taxi and we were there. The views from the terrazza were just breath taking. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    I always knew, but now I am sure: there is not a huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was no towels in my room. When I asked they didn't even say: sorry. :(

    I always knew, but now I am sure: there is not a huge difference in a 2 stars and a 4 stars Hotel. At least in Venice. Correct hotel, but nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant night in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for 2 single beds. Got a double with 2 single mattresses that couldn't be separated.

    Location was excellent. Easy to find. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good - except the coffee. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended for a Venice stay. Close to everything, yet not in the middle of the madness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Renovation work going on in nearby room but not too intrusive. This work has to happen from time to time, to keep the hotel fresh & up to date. Didn't disturb us.

    Excellent stay of 4 nights. Everything clean & tidy. Received a recently renovated 3rd Floor room with excellent views of the Lagoon & Grand Canal. 1min to Arsenale vaporretto stop with direct connections to Grand Canal, Lido, Murano, etc. Fantastic breakfast with a great range of options. Friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Surprise roof deck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's a solarium/roof garden that was mostly unoccupied! If I ever had the chance to go to Venice with a small group, I'd definitely book here for that reason.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is too expensive. Could smell the new paint on walls from renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is a little snobby. My sister had asked for a cup and a tea bag she noticed was sitting out in lunch area. One of the staff members abruptly told her no, not to touch.

    The room was exquisite. It was almost like we were on a boat. I think we had the biggest room they had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Great place to sat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in the perfect location. Very close to the vaparetro and San Marcos square. But just far enough away that you are engulfed with the crowds at all times. It was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was terrific with great options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    The locations is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You do not get acknowledged at breakfast. You go down choose a seat yourself and serve yourself. No giving of the room number, no hello. In fact the staff in general are very distant, not warming at all.

    The locations is great! The breakfast is correct. We had a small balcony with an amazing view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    A lovely small hotel where the guests are treated graciously, as if you are their on guests. Picture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing.

    Wonderful from being greeted by Rosanna very clean pleasant. Fantastic location. Close to st marks, but also quiet at night. We loved it.our breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Location, staff, rooftop terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 8:45 the breakfast buffet was not filled up and there were not so many choises. Furniture in the room was quite old.

    Location, staff, rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gabrielli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: