Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garden 4 stars

Via Custoza, 2, 53100 Siena, Italy

#25 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2020 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Siena is great but take another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is bad, breakfast is of a bad quality and a fried egg cost €6,- per egg. Rooms are super small and very old furniture.

    The bar and its staff. Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room given to my Mother. Floors are wooden in corridors so they are noisy.

    Excellent very regular bus service into town and to Florence. Excellent service giving us the full details making our trip very easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Needs some enthusiasm, everything was adequate and nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some enthusiasm, everything was adequate and nothing more. Accomodation almost underground, glazed window seals broken, biscuit behind refridgerator the whole time we were there. Grounds overgrown and general air of neglect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Friendly , helpful staff. Comfortable and attractive place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a room that was very close to the pool. Had tea and coffee making facilities and a couch to sit on. A lovely room. Breakfast and evening drinks on the terrace were lovely. Very pretty terrace and felt really luxurious to sit there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved the location, looking over the city of siena,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get a taxi, instead of a shuttle to the city, but in saying that ordered a taxi and only took approx 4 mins to arrive and a short trip to city.

    Loved the location, looking over the city of siena, beautifull grounds, beautifull hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable & would definitely visit again. Would just ask for a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the ground floor so was very dark all the time. The windows faced a high wall so no natural sunlight in the room.

    Lovely staff. Beautiful views & very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Hotel Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely polite and helpful, assisting us when planning our days by offering advice on where to visit and how to get there. We were given maps and train/bus timetables. Our room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The pool and surrounding area were immaculate, with sun loungers, parasols, a bar and lifeguard. The breakfast selection was extensive including cereal, bacon and eggs, fruit and juices, cakes and pastries, cheese and cold meats, pancakes and a range of coffee and tea. The hotel's location was ideal, with spectacular views across Siena and its countryside and within easy reach of the centre - a twenty minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Swimming pool and the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, the buffet is poor for the breakfast! The bedrooms are small Only one sofa outside for all the guests! Some bedrooms are in the basement!

    Swimming pool and the bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is lovely. Very pretty views. Helpful staff. Great air con and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good , lovely hotel and staff were helpful at all times however the bedroom view was very poor and no windows.

    Liked the hotel design , natural and nature feel. All staff especially the evening bar man.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing holiday in good surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking in it would have been helpful to be told we needed to book a reservation for dinner

    Comfy bed, very clean room and breakfast was excellent. The staff were very good, very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    As implied : great hotel in a beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was one of the smallest of the property - but had everything we needed.

    At a reasonable distance of the old centre of Siena (30mn walk or regular city bus), still in a nice green area with a large swimming pool. Buffet breakfast can be taken outside on a terrace overlooking the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room was clean every day, the staff is very nice and helpfull, the location is perfect and the atmosphere is outstanding. (Gluten free) breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great out of town location with easy access to all the amazing sites of Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Bus stop outside the hotel. Hassle free parking on site free. Lovely views of Siena from the hotel terrace where we ate breakfast and dinner. Pool to cool off in. Friendly, efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Look forward to our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with plenty of parking spaces. Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms very clean. Swimming pool and gardens at the hotel are excellent. Plenty of healthy selections of food available for breakfast. Overall 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Location in spite of being half mile walk (20 minutes) to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location in spite of being half mile walk (20 minutes) to center of Siena was excellent (and easy bus ride into town). Staff extremely competent and all spoke very good English. Property clean and had nice swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel on outskirts of Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a fantastic hotel, 18th century monastery turned into a hotel, lovely ground,s and good location, great staff couldn't of been more friendly and helpful, swimming pool is a bonus and it's never to busy. Food very good drinks are not expensive, would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel, excellent staff and a good location near the centre of Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a keen gardener the garden was not as described. It's mainly terraced with pots. The other parts of the garden particularly the roses need attention.

    This is good value for money. Comfortable hotel and the best part all of the staff encountered were exceptionally helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly hotel with great view!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Lovely view from the Terrace across to Siena. Everything was very clean. Pool towels provided and plenty of sunbeds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a very quiet and nice spot in Siena, about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a very quiet and nice spot in Siena, about 10 minutes ride from the historic center of the city. The staff were super nice, the food very good, and the bedroom very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall stay was ok, but not what you would expect for the room rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked all over the floor—no way to stop it as head sprayed against the wall and then it ran out a hole onto the floor. Lunch and dinner food was just ok—the meat we received was not completely cooked—raw in the middle on chicken and beef.

    good location—short taxi to city center. Pool and outside facilities were also good. Breakfast was very good. The only meal I would eat there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were marvellous and the views spectacular :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance isn’t ideal, but not a deal-breaker either. Even though it’s not a long walk in terms of distance from the station, the terrain isn’t really manageable with luggage. I’d totally recommend staying here but don’t bite off more than you can chew by attempting the walk with suitcases - get a taxi, it’ll be the smartest €9 you ever spent :) Easy access to the city by bus if you’re less mobile, bus stop is right across the road from the hotel.

    The staff were marvellous and the views spectacular :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    We will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower light was broken. Did not bother to report as we were only there one night

    Lovely location, great hotel decor, breakfast was fab, some distance from city centre but a nice walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Adequate but disappointing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast. No really nice bread. Fruit salad very basic, same every day, nothing on Sunday. Muesli not very good.

    Good room and clean. Cleaning staff friendly and did a good job.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay totally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a personal thing but the beds are a little hard it did not spoil our stay

    The main point is that all of the staff are exceptional the position of the hotel is great we have visited before and will do again nothing too much trouble the breakfast is good and the evening meals also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    We chose the higher rate room because we needed the elevator...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a la carte service of the restaurant closes early and there are just few snack options at the bar.

    We chose the higher rate room because we needed the elevator due to a knee injury. The room was perfect in comfort item (spacious, large bed, excellent bathroom).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Every thing was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was wonderful! The staff was very nice and helpful! The restaurant food was superb and Roberto the manager and his staff were the best! We had the best stay there and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, enjoyed it. Siena a lovely city. Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room. When requested them, a kettle,tea bags, PAPER CUPS & PLASTIC SPOONS were supplied, NO MILK. NOT acceptable. Did not use. Only plus point, no charge was made. Breakfast eggs & bacon could be hot for one and hot plates for two.

    Sheets, room ok. Parking, curtious staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Pool area was fabulous, reception staff so very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in the room

    Pool area was fabulous, reception staff so very helpful with recommendations when booking tours/ cooking class

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous peaceful place to stay in Sienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was perfect!

    Stunning location on the hill overlooking Sienna in spacious peaceful gardens. Staff were all fantastic; attentive, smiling and very professional. Restaurant serves fabulous food on the terrace with the views. Great breakfast buffet. Pool surrounded by lawns to cool down after your day’s sightseeing. And of course - plenty of parking!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Not for families with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No children’s menu other than ‘we can make pasta and tomato’ which our child doesn’t like so we went out to buy food to bring in. Some restaurant staff were dismissive of our needs. There was one helpful gentleman who organised some sandwiches for us and a bar tender who was helpful and made us some warm milk but on the whole we felt we were an inconvenience for them. The grounds round by the children’s pool (as attractive as the pictures are) was unkept with spikey thistles protruding which could easily hurt little feet. Felt let down as they advertise child friendly and an air of luxury but unfortunately this was not our experience. A shame especially as it was double the price of where we stayed in Rome the first two nights in Italy where the staff were doing anything they could to be helpful to us and friendly to our little one.

    The location into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A magical spot on the edge of the city with the world's most friendly barman!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    It's a magical experience to stay a the Hotel Garden in May. However, to appreciate it fully you need to get up at sunrise when you will hear a thunderous dawn chorus if you walk to the main terrace. Incidentally, this is a great spot for taking misty, morning photogaphs of the distant city skyline and the surrounding countryside. The hotel grounds are very extensive and there is a feeling of spaciousness through the entire hotel with plenty of comfortable seating areas. Do make friends with Atla, the very knowledgeable barman, who sets out a delicious spread of 'nibbles' in the early evening. With his vast knowledge of local eating places (he recommended some really good ones), plus perfectly mixed drinks and cocktails, I think he qualifies as the most helpful barman that I have ever met - and my wife would certainly agree with this! If you have a hire car there are plenty of practical advantages of staying a the hotel. The Hotel Garden is situated on the edge of the city, avoiding the narrow roads and traffic restrictions closer to the centre. Also there is a massive amount of car parking space in the grounds. All the staff, from the restaurant manager to the people on the front desk could not have been more helpful. This is an ideal spot for so many reasons, we would stay again without hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very hard bed - which was very uncomfortable AND WOKE ME UP IN THE NIGHT No English speaking TV - all channels were Italian !!!!!!!! Not good enough today.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Loved the setting with the gardens, outside eating area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved the setting with the gardens, outside eating area, pool, and quiet areas available. The bar with the amazing bartender (Atla) was a friendly spot to stop in at the end of a sightseeing day. The staff were lovely, hospitable and very accommodating. Can't say enough good comments about them. The hotel exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Though early in the season, this hotel has the potential to be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for the shower, air conditoning noisey and not working. Extended wait for our main evening meal, only to be delivered cold and dried out.

    Bed was comfortable, room clean and view over Siena good. Barman excellent and as well a young waitress that served us at breakfast and the evening meal. She was polite, curtious and always greeted everyone with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid left our bedroom window ajar and mosquitoes got in and bit me quite badly!

    Close to town Stunning views over the city Aperitifs at the bar a nice touch Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice property with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) The pillows were too thin/flat. 2) When I booked, I misunderstood and thought that this hotel was just outside of the city wall. (Convenient parking and a short walk to the restaurants in the old city ) Not exactly! It was more like 3 miles away by car and then there was the challenge of finding a parking place (made much harder by the worthless navigation system on the Volvo rental car). A cab ride cost €12 - €15, but could deliver you right in front of anywhere you wanted to go in the old part of the city. 3) Parking is provided on the property. That is good, however, if the hotel is fully booked, finding a spot can be very difficult.

    1) The room was comfortable and somewhat large. 2) The staff was very friendly and helpful. 3) The location is very quiet, but too far from the city center (if that is of interest to you). 4) The breakfast buffet was large and generous. Overall, I can say that I liked the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt much not to like, a bit of a trek into the city as we didnt have a car but ypu could get the bus.

    The property was lovely set in Beautiful gardens also had a lovely terrace to sit and have drink outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and not happy with complaint to boooking.com which wasn’t replied to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bugs in our room (ants) which were coming through the internal door from the hallway. We woke up to ants crawling over our three month old baby! And our bed! We complained and got the city tax removed! (That’s it!!) I expected much more than this. The pool was closed and the air conditioning was (out of season) in May! It was 24 degrees and with a new baby we wanted air con- one of the reasons we booked this hotel and room. The TV in the room was also broken and to be given just a 10 Euro refund off the city tax wasn’t acceptable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay. Very relaxing. In one of the most beautiful towns on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some (very few) receptionist staff have straight faces (strange for Italians, which I know pretty well).

    Location was great. Short distance from Siena city center although it needs local transport. View from the hotel gardens and hotel surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A “Grand”hotel with beautiful views and gracious staff adding to the pleasure of visiting Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not stable and was out more than on.

    The hotel is situated a 30 minute walk from the town center of Siena. It was the perfect start to a day spent exploring Siena, it’s churches, restaurants and cafes, shops and beautiful views. Many times we did this walk more than once. There are plenty of local buses and cabs if needed. The staff at the hotel were warm and gracious. The hotel itself is a beautiful old structure with killer views. Go and enjoy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff was helpful & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the property was close to the city center it did require a bit of walking being that buses seemed a little inconsistent in timing.

    The staff was helpful & friendly. The property is beautiful with expansive views of the Toscana. Easy parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Hard to sleep in due to zero soundproofing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms seem to have paper walls. Extremely annnoying: could sleep only after the neighbors decided to sleep as well, woken up by guests shuffling/talking in the hallway.

    Location, parking, staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, and not too far from the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in one of the adjacent buildings, which was not evident when making our reservation. A Coffee machine would have been nice.

    Good breakfast, great restaurant, and great bar, the barman was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were really helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently too early at end of April for air conditioning despite hot weather so room was uncomfortably warm. Paper cups provided in room for coffee. Pool facilities not open until June but not mentioned on web site. Deluxe room booked but looked tired.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good value for money and a typical Italian breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it is actually a large complex, with several houses (the main villa, plus several annexes)

    good location (15 min by foot to Siena's old town) great park surrounding large parking slot good breakfast (typical Italian) pet friendly clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay for our family celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue I have was with the pillows, they were too hard for me and my husband. But this is made up for with all the very good points.

    Staff are wonderful, very helpful and freindly. I was really pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We felt our room was very small and cramped, the wifi was terrible and always dropping out. The hotel was a bit out of town, making a very long walk to go out for dinner at night. No tea or coffee making facilities in our room.

    Our room was clean and tidy, but much smaller than I expected. The hotel is quite a long walk into town. The restaurant was very good and the staff in the restaurant fantastic and breakfast was nice but very basic. We had a nice view from our window but we felt very cramped in our room. We also found the bed to be very hard. The parking was great and the hotel grounds would be lovely in good weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Big hotel with a good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the historic center. The common areas as well as the room need to be reformed. Our room had infiltration (photo). Sound insulation is poor, so you can hear noises from the other guests.

    It's a big classic hotel, with complete structure and a beautiful architecture. Large parking lot. The restaurant is amazing! Generous breakfast. The room is comfortable and the bathroom has a fantastic shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management of big groups of guests was not adequate. Guests (kids, basketball team) were very loud at late hours during the night.

    Cleanliness, food and location. Staff were very nice as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Delightful surroundings in a lovely old quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Delightful surroundings and charming staff - the waiter even knew the name of our local soccer team in Brisbane. The food was excellent and we ha no difficulty with WiFi. There is a bust at the end of the drive that takes you right into the centre of the city. The hotel is a little out of town, but it is very quiet and it has nice views of the city from the terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not good value for money - we were given a room at an adjoining building which was not so great as the main building. Restaurant - quality of food is not so good!

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Really good hospitality!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with the hot water in the shower, basically the water was too hot like burning and couldn't regulate it. We informed the reception and the receptionist was kind enough to come to the room and try to fix the problem but she couldn't and the maintenance people were already gone home. So we used the shower of my mother's room otherwise we couldn't shower.

    Confortable big room & very nice buffet breakfast..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    Large Parking Area, Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities just not like 4 stars hotel, I thought the air con was not work, the room was very cold even I set the high temp at the air con, no sandals for the cold floor, so uncomfortable for me and my family

    Large Parking Area, Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    To short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way to hard and didn’t have any cover between the mattress and the sheets. Unfortunately it was raining! Can’t blame the Hotel for that, but I would love to spend time there when the sun is shining, the view was lovely.

    The Gardens and surrounding outside area, where beautifully maintained. The restaurant service was fabulous. Reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was nice and comfortable with some distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We did choose hotel since there is a pool. It was disappointment that it was not in use in October even weather was even hot.

    The hotel was nice and comfortable with some distance from the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel, average location, good staff, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very very disappointing. No tomatoes, no olives. Just one type of cheese, some jambons. The desserts (cakes etc.) was not delicious at all. Very poor breakfast.

    The hotel’s environment was very green, we felt like we were staying in a winter house in the middle of a forest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel situated in the lovely Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I can think of, perhaps getting some freshly squeezed juice for breakfast, and soft boiled eggs. Perhaps nice to add a bath in the room?

    Friendly staff, family feel, great location with a stunning view on the terrace. Like the happy hour at the bar, and the cuteness and traditional feel and look of the rooms. Breakfast is also nice, with alot to choose from

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and air conditioner was off for the winter. Pillows were hard as a rock

    The grounds were beautiful and location great. Great facilities. Front desk very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not dry and a bit cold. No solution to warm up the room does not really work with little kids. Lack of vegetables @ breakfast

    Great location! Nice personnel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, free parking, good breakfast with great coffee, 10 minutes to walled Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was in the Annex. The beds were comfortable, the room was adequate, bathroom was tiny and shower drain was very slow. Try for a room in the main building.

    The grounds of this hotel are magical. Lots of paths to wander and the pool area is set apart from the hotel. The best feature is the huge bar terrace off the dining room. By late afternoon, the wonderful barman Aldo puts out a huge assortment of bar snacks and pours generously. Sitting out on the terrace and watching the sun set over walled Siena is spectacular. The ancient city glows in the setting sun. Plus free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff provided excellent customer service. The breakfast buffet, restaurant and bar were all lovely. The view from the patio is absolutely beautiful and the location is fabulous. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.3
    Badly needs updating. Overpriced and not clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updaing bafly. The bed was hard and we had to get the comforter replaced because there were so many different human hairs on it. Dinner at the restaurant was very poor and expensive. Such a pity because a great location and could be a top hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    We enjoyed our stay because of the staff, the hotel need lots of improvement along with breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel rooms are very dated, we paid extra for a deluxe room which only had a bed, wardrobe, chest of draws and a TV - nothing more than a standard room. We paid to upgrade which just added a sofa. We paid 4 star prices but did not get a 4 star room. Breakfast was chaotic, for some reason only one utensil was laid on the table, from memory I think it was a knife, so you had to go looking for a fork. No salt or pepper etc. So guests were always looking for something. There is no gym.

    The staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable and they seem to love their job. The swimming pool and gardens were also lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    One unfriendly receptionist and one basic room will not stop us returning to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lady receptionist was unfriendly and quite sarcastic. The bed WAS SHOCKINGLY UNCOMFORTABLE. Soft mattress and a basic room with no tea/ coffee facilities and the bottles of water are charged for.

    The hotel is set in beautiful grounds. The staff were incredibly friendly especially the bar tender who really made our trip! beautiful pool area. The selection for breakfast was excellent and the food in the restaurant was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with lovely pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shuttle bus into San Giminagno stopped at 5.30pm, it would have been good to have an evening bus.

    Comfortable room with helpful and pleasant staff. Nice pool and gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel scores very high on location, ambiance, space,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel scores very high on location, ambiance, space, staff, cleanliness. It is an ideal place to relax and to return to after visits to the beautiful sites in the locality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxation personified!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I've mentioned before, the garden grounds were a bit tired.

    The room, although not the biggest we have ever had, was comfortable and the bed was the best bed we have ever stayed in away from home. The grounds were lovely although a wee bit tired looking. The staff were friendly and considerate and could not have tried more to make you welcome! We ate in the restaurant at least 3 times for dinner and although a bit pricey, the food was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.3
    Never again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is not a 4 star one as they sell. The service is poor and the staff not so helpful. Is old and could be vintage. The breakfast is also confused, not enough tables, we have to wait to sit several times. The food is average, what is a surprise to Italy. Don't recommend to anyone. Definitely, we could have found a better place to stay for the price that we paid.

    The pizza a location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant place to stay with excellent, helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Machine coffee at breakfast. Rooms comfortable but fittings a little tired.

    Superb helpful staff. Lovely terrace to bar & restaurant. Excellent barman who remembered what you liked and helped with our Italiana!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Although the aerial shots of the hotel look pretty good, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the aerial shots of the hotel look pretty good, it is not all roses. One of the buildings (Casa Bianca) looks and feels like an East German army barrack. The room pictures on the hotel's web site are from the main building, which are the superior rooms I believe. If you don't pay extra, expect worse. A lot worse. They gave us a new room in a building closer to the main building. The room was far better, but I have never ever been in a hotel with such thin walls. You can hear everything from every direction. People having a regular conversation next door can be heard in full detail. Pretty bad having to endure that at 2am. The pool is supposed to be one of the main attractions of this hotel. The pool surroundings are in theory grass, but factually it's more like dust. Nobody waters the lawn, so expect to sit in dirt. Such a shame.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little was wrong with the hotel, the pool area was a little bit tired and the water itself wasn't as crystal clear as I would like I'll certainly not as clear as the pool we had in our aggritourismo near Certaldo for the north. But overall the hotel was lovely and the view from my room over Siena as the sun set was glorious

    The staff were lovely behind the reception and they were very helpful. The bar and restaurant staff deserve a special mention with their kindn as and care and service. The breakfasts were good although possibly not a great selection for gluten free ( pre made gluten bread was given ) however I think Hoccum of this quality should be able to have gluten-free products baked on site and offered. That may be picky but I think it's worth considering

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I will become a regular of this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant resort style holiday location. Will definitely be going again. Siena is walkable in 25min but the bus is super easy and they sell tickets at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, 30min walk from centre of Siena, good breakfast, get to the pool early to get a bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We upgraded to the main building, the aircon kept us awake all night, however was not an issue in the morning so no complaint was made. Unfortunately the same issue happended again the following night, the hotel did move us to another room, albeit its the last thing you want at 0130hrs in the morning. The customer service was good, however to make it great I would have expected the hotel to waive the upgrade fee for the first night, however I was told I should have made the hotel aware of the first night issues, which is fair enough I guess.

    They have rooms for all budgets and if your budget allows I would recommend upgrading to stay in the main building. The pool is nice, breakfast is good and is lovely on the terrace, we did have one night in the annex but the beds were not as comfortable as the main superior rooms, for obvious reasons. We also found it cheaper to upgrade at the hotel rather than online. however that's the gamble you take and they may not have rooms available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice Place. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little distant from town center but bus stop was not far from hotel. No convenience store nearby If needed something at night, were out of luck.

    Large with areas to explore or just relax. Seemed like main building was once an old mansion. However there are other buildings with rooms and they are modernized.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Our stay of 10 days was delightful and we will remember it with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The Hotel is some distance from the City of Siena (25 minutes walk ) but there are buses. Driving to the city is not reccommended because of parking. The security safe in the room was not large enough.

    The attentiveness and competence of the Staff and the spacious grounds and swimming pool. We ate every night in the restaurant which had a varied menu and an excellent wine list. We met a number of interesting people who were staying at the Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Garden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: