Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Giglio 3 stars

Via Camillo Cavour 85, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50129 Florence, Italy

#140 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Manuela and Marco are adorable... they gave us all kind of ideas and tips so we could see the best of Florence. They also tried to make our stay pleasant and relaxed. The rooms are very clean and the bathroom is huge. The hotel is on the first floor... there is a small elevator to get there. It is small, but it accommodates one person plus suitcase.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable with a good breakfast for a short stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far from train station. It was close to the bus stop but we were not told of that prior to our stay so we walked a long way to get to the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful short break in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately our request for single beds had not been met. This was however put right the next morning, without any change of room being required.

    Comfortable accommodation in a super location a stone's throw from San Marco and the Accademia, and a short walk from the Duomo. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts and above all, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a problem receiving our bus tickets (booked online) for the Appenino Shuttle back to Bologna, but Marco and his son e-mailed and called the company until the tickets were sent. This was my third stay at the Giglio and I would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Check to assure there is no construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was adequate, the staff was excellent. The hotel was under construction - jack hammers and framing, directly above our unit from 7:45 AM throughout the day. For some reason the hotel required that we change rooms. The A/C and TV both went out of service from 8 PM and was not fixed until the following afternoon. Then the elevator went out of service for a full day - 6 story walk up was less than fun! Except for the issues, the hotel and staff are worth it, just make sure construction is complete before booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in Florence, unmissable breakfast, brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit too noisy during the night. Many impolite guests shutting doors and, since it's an old building, you can hear noise from other rooms.

    Staff were fantastic, very helpful and kind. Breakfast was extremely good. The bedroom was fine with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Good on-line directions for walking from main Florence train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Button to start toilet flush was difficult to make work.

    Good on-line directions for walking from main Florence train station to hotel. Prior to arrival, at my request the hotel staff made reservations at the Uffizi and Accademia. Helpful and pleasant staff. Very quiet room. Convenient breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Hotel Giglio has it all... excellent breakfast, great location, nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was happy with everything.

    I love Hotel Giglio and Manuela and Marco are wonderful. This is the third year in a row that I have stayed there. They provide the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel in Italy. The fresh fruit salad is a very special item! I also very much appreciate the boiled eggs since I am American and often rely on eggs for protein since I do not eat meat. Also the location of Hotel Giglio is really fantastic. I love being able to walk just a few minutes to enjoy the Duomo area and so many other famous sights. Also I always walk from Santa Maria Novella train station to Hotel Giglio, thus avoiding waiting for and paying for a taxi!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    excellent staff, close to the centre (10min walk)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rooms are not very well isolated against noise from other rooms: I could hear the flushing of the toilet from the neighbouring room

    excellent staff, close to the centre (10min walk)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful. They reserved tickets that made it easier for us to visit popular museums, suggested good restaurants, and checked the train schedule for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Good location but traveler beware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The woman who greeted me when I arrived was not helpful. The hotel is on a second floor. There are only two ways up: marble stairs or a tiny old time elevator that's self operated. This was extremely difficult with a large suitcase and no one came down to even help. They just buzz you in on the bottom floor of a building that houses more than just the hotel. Also the staff expects you to leave your room and safe key with them when you leave the hotel each day as a check out system. I expressed my discomfort with this, particularly leaving the key to the safe with them. I don't mean to come off as untrusting but I kept jewelry and a lot of cash in the safe. I really didn't want to leave the key behind and risk anything someone stealing anything.

    Florence is small so this hotel was not far from the central part and Duomo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Like walking into a space of open hearted welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaints

    First off, we were greeted by Luca, who was the most welcoming receptionist we had ever met. He offered help that we had not even thought to ask for, gave a lot of extremely helpful answers to the questions we brought back to him with humor and grace, and always left us with a smile on our face. The warm welcome really affected everything! The room suited our needs nicely. Our fridge had gone out, and they told us in advance and offered their larger fridge up front for us to use. Fine by us! The place was clean and the first night we found out something magic. Our one room had been decorated with luminescent stars on the ceiling that you can't see normally- they radiate the light absorbed during the day. It was absolutely delightful! We negotiated our entire visit by public bus- we found the location to be perfect for us. We even happened on a botanical garden just around the corner. The breakfast was quite nice- they are the only hotel we stayed at in Italy that had fresh fruit salad each day. Lovely breakfast area. We met Marco, and his wife, the owners, who have had the hotel for 10 years now and are visibly at work each day helping in so many ways... always with a smile. Again that extraordinary feeling of welcome. Honestly for me, the details of a hotel room are secondary to the feeling of a place. From the owners on down, there was a space of open hearted welcome that totally permeated our experience there. It was like walking into a space of love. It was our favorite stay out of 4 hotels in Italy-- by a mile!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Location staff friendliness and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street outside was rather noisy especially from c6am but that goes with it being a very well located city centre hotel

    Location staff friendliness and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Very close to Accademia and the Duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was two twins pushed together, so had a hole/dip in the center.

    Very close to Accademia and the Duomo. Staff very friendly and helpful, provided coffee on arrival. Good breakfast. Stored luggage for us after check out. Room had two windows with at least four levels of thick, heavy shutters (cool old architecture).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Hotel buonissimo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical sockets didn't take my European adapter but hotel gave me an adaptor.

    Beautiful old building with spacious bedrooms and renovated ensuite. Generally quiet. Clean, neat and well maintained property close to the centre of Florence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Hotel Giglio made my visits happy two years in a row!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved Hotel Giglio last October 2015 and loved it again this October 2016!! Manuela and Marco are great owners/managers. They are friendly and helpful. Room #1 is wonderful because it's comfortable but also because it has a balcony I like going out onto! Marco was so sweet to let me stay in that particular room again this year when I requested it. I appreciated that it had a working heater since the weather this October is very cool and rainy. The nights in Firenze this time were very cold, but I was cozy because of the heater. Besides all that, I also love the wide variety of delicious breakfast choices and the cozy atmosphere in the breakfast room. I especially appreciate that Manuela always makes a FRESH fruit salad for us daily! If I make it back to Firenze in the future, I will definitely stay again at Hotel Giglio!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Short stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel it was full of charm. The room doors do not keep out noise. But this didn't keep us awake.Marco was very helpful, giving us tips on what to do and see.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Worth to recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Very clean rooms, excellent localization, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Very nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building, it would need painting and refreshing. No real Hotel, actually.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The staff were very nice, rooms were very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very nice, rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold, without natural light, the hotel was in an old building, old elevator, noise from other rooms

    Close to city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great room for the money in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with a nice clean room and good breakfast thats included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The atmosphere of hotel along with the design in the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold temperature and too dark rooms.

    The atmosphere of hotel along with the design in the rooms perfectly fits with Florence :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired bathroom. Noisy room with the hard floors

    Wonderful staff. Always ready to help- smiling and generous with their time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Had a Great Time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of this place were wonderful !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    I traveled to several countries in Europe and this hotel had one of the best customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was very helpful and this was consistent regardless of who was there. Great service, great team

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Warm staff and nice location. Not too far from anything in Firenze really.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple accommodations. Not much variety for breakfast.

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome from reception with drink of cold water

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    good location. good quality/price ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location, helpful staff. Great quality/price ratio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had some more variety

    The management was very helpful, good size rooms, coffee was excellent, the hotel staff was very courteous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Hotel quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room a little tight!

    Hotel quiet. Near to and within walking distance to all main sites, eg 10 mins to Duomo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff Good location for Academia

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Very nice personell took really good care and gave advices.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic is a little disturbing during morning but that´s how cities are.

    Very nice personell took really good care and gave advices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Location is best you can dream about
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the mattress

    Location is best you can dream about

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    We were upset because we had to pay for 2 nights and we only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upset because we had to pay for 2 nights and we only stayed one night. Our flight got screwed up on Aer Lingus which wasn't our fault!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    This was our third time staying at Hotel Giglio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third time staying at Hotel Giglio... We will be back. It feels like home!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    it is a nice hotel, the staffs of the hotel are very ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is a nice hotel, the staffs of the hotel are very helpful and nice, we are so happy to living there. Thanks for everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful family that owns the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can be noisy if you have a room near the front door which slams. Luca, the evening front desk attendant is quite unfriendly and disdainful of his guests.

    Wonderful family that owns the hotel. Super clean. Nice neighborhood near the Acadamie Museum

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    The service by the staff was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was a little far out from the main sight-seeing venues. Our mattress was also a bit worn and uncomfortable.

    The service by the staff was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.3
    For our first night in Italy this was a great stay because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For our first night in Italy this was a great stay because the front desk staff was so helpful! As soon as we checked in we were offered complimentary water. We booked an additional night and the staff made the transition easy because we had to stay in a different room down the hall. They were very knowledgeable on the city and drew up a pretty fair itinerary on our map. The room was clean, and not too small. Very accommodating. I stayed in Florence again I'd definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    The help and friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The help and friendliness of staff. Location just a fifteen minutes from city centre. Large room and good breakfast. Last but not least the generous gesture of the owners driving us to the rail station.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    I liked very much the staff, very friendly and proactive in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We heard quite a lot the noise in the corridor, especially the cleaning ladies

    I liked very much the staff, very friendly and proactive in proposing good spot to visit and eat/drink Very good quality/price ratio.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Very very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was about 2km from the city which is fine but felt a bit insecure to walk back in the night alone.

    Very very helpful staff. Good breakfast and close to all the places.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Though the location was outside the core centre, it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Though the location was outside the core centre, it is within walking distance of pretty much everything. Forced us to walk through areas we may have not seen or explored. The cappuccino first thing in the morning was a great start to the day.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.2
    We were hosted in an apartment across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were hosted in an apartment across the street. The room was very spacious and comfortable. There is a small but steep hill and some stairs and doors to access the room.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast, and super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, and super helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited Traffic Zone, hence possible parking is a bit away from hotel

    Everything was very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyday they helped me and my mother with navigating the city and just being warm and friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.7
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old rooms and old facilities. Quite expensive for what it's offered (but in line with the rest of the city)

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Doesn't feel like Good Value for Money

    Good Location Great Service. Nice size Bathroom

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked being away from the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked being away from the center of the city. Giglio provided a quiet place to test and recover from the hectic august crowds!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.8
    The staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed is not very clean. The entrance of the building is dark.

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The coffee is good.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is great rooms were nice and quiet staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Very helpful staff and lovely old (wooden floors / high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very helpful staff and lovely old (wooden floors / high ceilings) rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    6.7
    very friendly and helpful staff, good location, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel is located in quite noisy street, we slept in ear plugs

    very friendly and helpful staff, good location, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and very helpful staff, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Showers could be better.

    Friendly and very helpful staff, excellent value for money. Close to town center.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Giglio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: