Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Herion

Cannaregio 1697/A - Campiello Picutti, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#186 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the ground floor room which had no natural light. There was a window but right next to the breakfast area, therefore non-usable. There were so many mosquitos and housekeeping didnt even bother cleaning the squashed ones from previous guests.

    Wifi was good and the host was super friendly as well as helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Was a great place to stay and I wish we stayed longer.

    Firstly, the guy at reception was really helpful and friendly. There were signs to show where the hotel was located. The place looked clean and the location was quite handy to the train station and St Marks square. The bed was super comfy. Yes it was two singles pushed together but it was comfy. The room was clean and it smelled nice. Both the room and bathroom were spacious. It was very clean and tidy. 7 min walk from train station and 20 mins walk to st Marks square- if you don’t stop at all the shops along the way. This hotel had one of the lowest prices, i think it was great for the price. When we read the reviews we were a bit cautious but in all honesty, we couldn’t fault it! If you want a luxury hotel then book one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two single beds putting together it would have been better to have a real double bed !

    The staff was really nice, they made our stay easy and there are flexible for everything ! The room was nice and it's a really good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms has to booked properly as I booked economic standard room, very surprisingly the hotel manager charged us extra for the kids during our arrival. Whereas while booking in booking.com did mentioned that children’s are welcome & free. Nevertheless, we have to pay more than what we anticipated during the arrival which was extremely high.

    Closer to main station and walkable towards bus station as well. Location is the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee service runs daytime only, downstairs, out of a machine and costs €1, but there were no cups available, no staff on hand to help and no where to insert money. So all our coffees had to be brought externally. For bedlinen and towels to be replaced there was a hefty charge €15 for double bedding and an added charge for towels every time you wanted them changed. You are also unable to eat or drink in your hotel room, there is a €50 charge for anyone eating or drinking in their room. The rules aren’t clear on what you can and can’t eat/drink in your rooms. There is WiFi available at the hotel which carries a daily charge payable to the hotel of €5 daily.

    The hotel was secluded but close to everything. Our room was tucked away and the hotel staff were friendly and spoke good English. They also had excellent knowledge of local attractions etc. There was an option for staff to come in and make your bed and give you a large bottle of water (free of charge). Water taxi’s and gondola rides are the only way of travel around Venice but everything is within walking distance (wear sensible shoes).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the receptionist was unfriendly. the "heater" was not really warm. there was mold in the shower. the bed was really uncomfortable. and everything was with extra costs: internet 5€, 1 new towel 5€ etc.

    the cover up sheets of the bed and the curtains were a really nice and good matereal. the room was clean. the receptionist gave us a map of the area and explained where we are. the area around is a little more calm and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with free WiFi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was little worn, but OK. A radiator didn't work in our toilet. Also king size bed was actually two normal beds pushed together.

    Very good location and easy to find. Also friendly staff. There was very beautiful veranda. In the room were artistic ceiling painting!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it was overpriced, but for Venice that's par for the course. WiFi was not included and the story I was provided made no sense - conflicting stories about which rooms get it.

    Good location & near San Marcuola/casino vaporetto stop. Fridge in room, A/C. Walkable to and from train station depending on how many bags you have (independent porters available at train station). About 20 min walk to Rialto or 30 min to St. Mark's, if I recall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed here for the Venice Art Biennale for 10 nights in May and liked it so much that I booked another trip for 4 nights in October 2017. Very clean, comfortable, and 10 mins walk from the main public bus dropoff from the airport. Would highly recommend. Thank you to the managers Andrea and Andrea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problems when checking in. Andrea expressed irritation that we were checking in "late" (after 8pm) and had not asked if this was possible when booking. I had let him know our expected time of arrival was between 9 and 10pm as our flight was due to arrive at 8pm. A return email stated we would be charged a late fee of 20 euros if we arrived after 10pm. We in fact arrived about 8.45 and the Reception was closed, but another couple kindly let us in. Andrea was very annoyed and demanded to know who let us in, and that we were "supposed to ring him". I tried to explain that this was not clear when we booked. After this initial unpleasant experience though he was in fact very helpful in his advice and instructions.

    very good location, helpful host when answering questions and giving directions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a somewhat qwirky place to stay- the bedroom was up a set of stairs and the bathroom was in the basement. It reminded me of the "Pittsburgh Potty" only nicely done with tile. Everything was quite clean. The Locanda Herion is super close to the train station and right off of the main tourist street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Couldn't fault anything about the hotel, it was spotlessly clean and perfect location for discovering Venice. Andrea our host was friendly and gave us lots of information about the area. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other male receptionist was extremely rude, unfriendly and unhelpful and was the one we had to deal with most of our stay and would not recommend this accommodation to anyone or stay there again because of him and also the room was dark, smelly and wifi was almost non existent.

    Location was excellent and one of the male receptionists (both had same name so hard to describe him other than the one who wasn’t overweight) was very helpful on arrival and extremely friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with free WiFi
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was too high for the accommodations. Room was on the second floor without elevator and had to drag our luggage up. "Breakfast" was 10 Euros extra per person; cereal, coffee and fruit. We chose to eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Managers/Owners are both called Andrea. We met the 'first' Andrea (bald) on check-in, he was very friendly, welcoming and help full and provided us with lots of interesting information about Venice. The 'second' Andrea (black hair) is a loud, rude, obnoxious man. It was unpleasant having to listen to him screaming whilst having our breakfast. He turned our otherwise pleasant stay into an unpleasant experience. We will therefore look for alternative accommodation when visiting Venice again. The room was well appointed, but there were just too many signs stuck up on the walls telling us 'not to do this, not to do that, be aware of this, etc'. We found this off putting and made us feel like we were back at school again :-( No coffee and/or tea facilities in the room.

    Centrally located. The waitress at breakfast was friendly, helpful and had a lovely smile. Breakfast was simple, but adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two hosts were lovely and very informative with information about the city and things to do - genuinely helpful and not trying to sell us anything like some hotels you can visit. breakfast in the hotel was lovely and the location is perfect - especially when lugging your suitcase from the station - no need for a water taxi and super easy to find

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice f

    The location of the hotel was perfect! Close enough to walk from Santa Lucia station & plenty of cafes, restaurant around it. The bed was also really comfortable. Also thanks for Andrea for the detailed espxplanation of Venice, made our travel much easier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom not great. Wifi patchy.

    Tucked away in a quiet little courtyard only yards from a busy street. Nice breakfast in the little patio area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with free WiFi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New/clean towels given every 2 days. There is a charge for new or clean towels sooner than 2 days. Also, we.checked out early, around 6am. There is no staff available at that time in case you want to change the credit card used or even if you have questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, walking distance from the main train station Venezia Santa Lucia and close to a lot of restaurants, bars, shops, waterbus stop and supermarkets. Andrea was very helpful, he provided us with a map with places of interest and explained how to get around. The room and hotel were very clean and had a nice heritage appeal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    charges for everything , I do understand some of the them but others where completely unnecessary , and lastly that we could not eat in our room and needed to go to the terrace which was a bit of a pain.

    Good quality beds, air-conditioning and the service at the reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out dated, €5 for wifi is stupid in this day and age, room smelt a bit stale also a late check in fee was a bit much.

    Great location, friendly staff easy to find, nice comfy bed, perfect for a couple nights stay plenty of shops and restaurants near by

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi even though booking said I got it for free when I booked. Breakfast is very basic.

    Great spot tucked just off the busy area with a nice local bar just meters away. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good location, no more than 10 minutes walk from the train station, a couple more to the bus station. Close to 3 water bus stops, including an easy one to Morano and Burano! Stayed in an economy room but it was lovely, hotel also has a good courtyard area that is really nice in the evening when lit up by fairy lights. Man at the check in desk was so helpful, circled everything that would be of interest on the map, gave good recommendations and highlighted all the transport links.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out plane was only leaving in the evening and we could not leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout.

    We were looking for an affordable stay for a short-trip to Venice, and Locanda Herion completely met our expectations. It is close to the rail/bus station, vaporetto is also not far away. Andrea was very kind, explained all we had to know about Venice, gave us a map with the most interesting sights already marked. The breakfast in the hotel was also good, and compared with breakfast prices in the surrounding restaurants, also very reasonable. The room itself was small, but very tidy, with all required furniture (bed, cupboard, safe). It also hat a separate shower, but it was the room we spent the least of time in. So, all in all, it was a very good decision to book at Locanda Herion.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit expensive at 10 euro each ,but was convenient for us.

    Rooms were clean and spacious enough for the 2 of us,Andrea who signed us in was fantastic. Very helpful and knowledgable with the sights of Venice.He told us what to do in the 2 days we had Venice and made sure we found everything ok.Very easy to find if you had a map or google maps like we did.Just keep an eye out for the sign or you might miss it.About 10 minutes walk from the train station.Close to a lot of shops and the water buses.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is typically italian. But is that really bad? ;-)

    Although located next to Cannaregio's main shopping and restaurant street it's very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were greeted by our hosts who were very informative regarding places to visit and eat. Although we arrived early, our room was ready. The room itself was very comfortable with a nice bathroom. Everything worked. An additional bonus was the large patio area outside the room were you could sit and relax. This was lovely as it caught the sun in the afternoon but also quite cool in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was served on the ground floor patio area. The selection of food was good. The staff were always polite and helpful. Location wise, the hotel was great. Centre of Venice was only a 10 minute walk away and the water taxi stop was only a couple of minutes away. To the north of the property, was a lovely area for bars and restaurants, especially at night but worth a visit also in the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange and not so friendly house rules - it is not allowed to take food or drinks to the room..... The communication overall was not so friendly.

    Very clean and easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is the weirdest one I've ever seen. Very high and therefore uncomfortable (we couldn't reach the floor and we're quite tall) Some slippers would have been ok but that's not such a big problem

    The location is perfect. The staff is nice and friendly. The hotel clean. Also the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The front desk arranged for our transport to the airport. We were quoted a certain price for the man who carried our luggage to the taxi but when we reached our destination the price quoted turned out to be for each piece, not all four bags. Not enough to not return to this property but left us feeling that you need to confirm all the details...

    A charming property with great location. The front desk is manned by the two Andreas who were so helpful and engaging.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the room would have been great and free wifi.

    Great location and what a nice place to sit outside and drink wine-great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff, gave all info we needed- what to do, where and how to go there, cost etc. Also a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Within what it is not a lot.

    It's a small good bed and breakfast hotel in an area of Carnagio, Venice rich in restaurants and close to bars etc but A bit away from tourist spots Run by two Venetian guys who wil go out of their way to guide and help you. If you want grand or business hotel go elsewhere, if you want to feel a little Venetian it wins .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast had little variety, so if you're staying there longer, you might get bored after a couple of days. No hot food, no veggies.

    Their reception personnel is exceptional. They had recommendations on what to see in the area, explained how to get there; where to find good restaurants and more. Very nice homey atmosphere. Soy milk for breakfast as an permanent option - no need to ask for it in advance!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were many items with "additional" costs that is normally free on usual hotels - changing towels, changing bedsheet, wifi for Internet, etc. It is also not allowed to eat inside the room, which is the first time I experienced such rule.

    Relative to the high prices in Venice, this hotel is a solid deal in terms of value for money. Perfect location, very nice room, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 5 euros for the wifi.

    We had stayed here on our last visit to Venice 14 years ago. Excellent location, friendly helpful staff. Reasonable walk to some good local restaurants. Breakfast was 10 euros but an excellent range of food on offer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes!!! I was not warned by staff about a possibility of mosquitoes and so in the next morning I have found stings on my face. Unpleasantly.

    The location is excellent for Venice because it is only 10 min walk from bus/train. You do not need to take vaporetto or to walk a couple kilometers with bags.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THe Wifi wasn't available at all. There is a little fridge in the room but unfortunately it was so loud that we had to turn it off at night and couldn't use it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a charge for wi-fi (5 euros). When we were there, it wasn't working. They have a rule that you can't eat in the room. Breakfast on request is expensive- 10 euros.The room was small. The shower was making really wierd noises.

    the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was good- close to train station St Lucia, close to an interesting jewish ghetto neighborhood, where the venetian streets were suprisingly quiet- not many tourists around there, and you could find some local cafes. Rialto Bridge about 15 min walk, San Marco about 20-25min. The room was clean and comfortable, with a bathroom inside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mold on tiles in bathroom. two single beds pushed together that easily moved apart. very thin walls and doors. be prepared to wake up at 7-8 from doors slamming. loud refridgerator and humming lights. pay extra 25 euros if arriving after 20:00. no water cooker in room - likely a city conspiracy to make you pay 4 euros for a tea at restaurant.

    location was good. grocery store nearby hidden from tourists with the facade of "theatro italia".

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of most hotels in Italy is that the beds are not the most comfortable -- but they are passable.

    Staff was very helpful, including showing where local shops and restaurants were that were away from the main tourist area. The location is great for walking or catching the vaparetto.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safety deposit box wasn't actually attached to the wardrobe, but it still worked.

    Andrea at reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and he gave us a good outline of what to visit in Venice. The room was just what we wanted, quiet, and comfortable. The quirky shower in the room made us laugh as it had pulsing colourful lights and flow! It is ideally situated by the main street between the Piazza Roma and the Rialto, and close to the Grand Canal too. Easy to find food nearby in Cannaregio. We didn't choose the breakfast option as there are a number of cafes and bakeries nearby so we ate out. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King beds were really two separate mattresses - left a bit of a valley in the middle.

    Great staff. Helpful, cheerful and welcoming. Good sense of humor. Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions were a little vague as to the last 200 mtrs , they could do with a sign on the main walkway to direct you even though they are only 25 mtrs from it .

    Extremely helpful polite staff who went out of there way to help in making it an extremely enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The warm welcome, with lots of information about Venice, sights to see-plans with marked locations.. Andrea our Host we salute you, a mine of Venice knowledge freely given with humour. The warm bread and croissants, including multi choice options.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only window was into the courtyard which became the breakfast room. Also, as much as the map kind of helps, it is really hard to find the first time. It seemed slightly pricey even though it is in the heart of Venice.

    Andrea at the desk was super helpful with details both before we arrived and during our visit. Located in a great part of Venice. The inner courtyard meant that it was super quiet at night, but noisy in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, no critism.

    Perfect for us, very quiet and in a great location. Room was clean and the staff were always very helpful with advice and travel detail.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was actually nothing...

    Great place to stay. Very Close to the next boat station. Easy 10min walk to the train station. The quarter is very cool, lot of nice places to eat and drink. Room was very calm. Many windows gave a lot of light. Large and modern bathroom. Great value for your money. Would go again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the bed we were sleeping on. it was not comfortable

    The best thing is the location of Locanda Herion which is close to Venezia S. Lucia station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Guests need to be notified beforehand that food and drinks are not allowed in the room.

    Great location and air conditioning with a roomy shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disgusting smell in the room, the holes in the towels, the hairs in the bed from previous guests, the rudeness of the staff, been charged twice for the taxes, not been able to store the suitcases in the hotel from 10:30 to 16:00, etc., etc.

    Nothing. It is an awful experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff were extremely helpful and ready to provide information for places to go. They had a great sense of humour, and provided us with a map, and a number of possible places to visit. They also provided invaluable knowledge for local transport. There were two outdoor terraces for eating/drinking, ideal for those on a budget, or for those wanting a leisurely afternoon in the Venetian air.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have Television channels in English particulately Fox News channel or CNN or the BBC. Almost any kind of news channel in English will work.

    Location was good. It was convent to the water bus stop and within walking distance to the train station. The staff was most helpful while giving us information and tips on sightseeing excursions and information to experience the natural beauty of Venice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having lived and worked in New York and Europe ( currently living in Asia) I was in Venice for only a couple of days after a three week long vacation . I chose Locanda Herion based only what other TripAdvisor member reviews had to say about Andrea. (Both the kind gentleman are named Andrea). I have rarely come across such congenial , amicable and helpful individuals. I had been travelling Europe for a while and Venice was literally an impromptu last stop from Rome. They literally handheld me and on where to go, the time frames in each place, what to see and how to go about everything in Venice in 2 days. You get your own set of main door keys so you can come and go wherever you please, the rooms are very clean and everything is very hygienic (which to me is the most important). The Housekeeping is fantastic and your always connected to the internet as they have 4 access points no matter where your room is. Choosing Locanda Herion had nothing to do with affordability but the owners and the fact that i wanted to do as much as i could in 2 nights , and i cannot thank them enough . I even visited the three islands of Murano, Burano and Torcello on the second day. Every restaurant they recommended was better than the next and I will only stay with them as they are a large part of what made my trip in Venezia Phenomenal. Hope to see them again next year and theres a reason this place is always full..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are notices in the room saying not to eat or do laundry in the room or you will be fined £50. I understand that but felt it could have been said in reception and they could have said you can eat on the terrace or somewhere else. It wasn't a problem but we usually snack in our room and felt a bit uncomfortable about this.

    The hotel was located walking distance to the train station and also the water bus to and from the airport. This is important as there is no car transport here and the water transport is quite expensive. It's in a quiet corner off the main streets so it's not noisy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room had a strong humidity/mold smell. We requested a change from the moment the door was opened but were refused and asked to pay more if we wanted the change to happen / even though I was accompanied by my grandmother that felt sick right away with that smell. We had to keep doors open all the time to reduce the smell as much as possible. No real window in these rooms, no light or air going in since it is opening to a veranda that never gets sunlight. Breakfast is poor - we were given a certain number of little buns - we wanted more and were refused. The staff was not nice, the guy that took care of us was arrogant and loud. He talked with the maid in an aggressive/bossy way in front of the guests, we felt uncomfortable. No effort was done for us to feel good there... In every second wall there are notes about money you need to pay if you expect additional services from them: 15 euros to change the linen, 5 euros for Internet, 50 euros fee if you drink and eat in the room... We are simple people that have been traveling around Italy for 2 weeks, we don't expect luxury but only to feel comfortable where we go, we didn't even have that basic feeling at the locanda herion. Maybe the upper floor rooms are better, but the way of receiving guests is not likely to be better even staying in nicer rooms... We would have definitely moved if we stayed there for a long time and Venice was not completed booked as it is now.

    Location is good, 5 minutes away from San Marcuola vaporetto station. Fresh bread for breakfast - but controlled amount!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy when other guests came home but we did go to bed pretty early.

    Central Venice. Close to train station. Host gave map and explanation of sights, taxis & restaurants. Kept luggage for us pre and post check in. Easy booking, host contacted us straight away with check in details.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andrea was very helpful to provide info on travel. Best part is the breakfast, fresh and warm bread. But if only the breakfast can be served earlier than 8:30?

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was just what we wanted

    Great location, great room, clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and even helped in directing us to all the good bits on the map.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic and very little of it. Welcome could have been warmer

    Great location in quiet square. Hotel was very quiet at night and full of character. Coffee was superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff! They provided many recommendations of places to see and restaurants to go to and were most helpful throughout our entire stay. The location was perfect - located between the station and the main sights.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was in a ground floor room next to the patio - I do not really recommend it... Completely no air and light - in Venice ground floor seams to be an equivalent of a cellar ;)

    Great patio and tarrace - for relax and/or work...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was only just adequate with a coffee machine that hardly worked and needed repair. Seating area was outdoors which is great in good weather. Can't imagine what they do on cold days or when it rains, the canopy wouldn't seem to be shelter enough. Biggest complaint is the exorbitant wifi charge per day and the charges for late check in (that we thankfully managed to avoid) on top of a room price that even by high season Venice standards is quite steep.

    Room was spacious and comfortable with homey furnishings. Nice view of the little courtyard out front. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Staff was helpful and friendly and the location close to train station but far enough away from it to avoid the worst of the crowds was a plus. Also is near a water bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No screen to prevent mosquito from entering. No ventilation in the bathroom.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe loose in wardrobe. Tiny tiny fridge didn't work. Air con remote failed.

    Location good, central to everything. Quiet at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money. Excellent location. Helpful front desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Bed was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and provided recommendations for eating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Have in room all what we need

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing locatio, nice staff good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked kettle in room to make own drinks as became expensive buying drinks all the time

    Bed was extremely comfy and staff lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Andrea, the friendly receptionist, was a great host and provided us with many useful pointers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was perfect and staff were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good lacation, close to the centrum, watter bus, railway station. Everything is within walking distance. Safety area, restaurants, shops, cafe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    its too old at later night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, clean room with high-comfortable beds. The bathroom also clean. There was no noise coming from the streets.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: