Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Holiday 3 stars

Via Bertiera 13, 40126 Bologna, Italy

#73 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2330 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    It was in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning-early afternoon receptionist was anything but helpful. He gave vague directions re parking & how to find it. Told us we could stay in the car park beyond check out for free but we ended up having to pay 22.50!! He did not seem to have any sense of service provision. As a frontline staff member this is unfortunate. It is a shame as otherwise we would recommend it highly.

    It was in an ideal location. Basic but clean, comfortable & good value. The cleaning staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit cramped for breakfast.

    Maybe not greatest outlook, or appearance from the narrow lane, but for great value, location and staff, can't fault it. Decent breakfast, if a bit cramped. Helpful reception. Good room service too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a short weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is basic but substantial. The corridors are a bit aged.

    Bed was comfortable, quite rooms and very central. 5 min walk from the centre and the train station is 15 min walk away. The staff were really great and even printed us our boarding pass.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff would rather not be there and made it very obvious.

    The location. Room was a fair size. I requested a balcony if available and they accommodated me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Very well located,
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm water from very small electric boiler means very short showers if you are with 2 people. No coffee or tea facilities in the room. Street outside is very noisy

    Location is very good, city center is 5 minutes walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    A good price for a hotel in the city of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with black walls. Lots of noisy people on the hallway. We skipped breakfast because it was the same everyday and not many things to eat.

    The hotel is in center of Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    We spent one night there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility isn’t as new as it appears in the pictures.

    We spent one night there. Two adults and a 9 year old child. The hotel is located in the city center. If you get there by car, make sure you reserve a parking space early (they have only a few). The staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, Bologna is a very nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage was a slight problem, noisy guests in other rooms could be heard. Basic but adequate.

    Very central, many eating places to choose from within short walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    A clean, comfortable and quiet stay and well-located for accessing the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the tight side and there was not much natural light.

    Handily located for accessing the city yet also in a quiet area. The staff were helpful and accommodating and the breakfast choice was extensive and the food fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    I liked the hotel and bologna.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a parking problem around the hotel like all other cities of Italy. We had to pay 40 euro for only two days as parking price. It is not hotels fault.

    Staff was lovely and helpful and answered all of our questions about the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    average hotel for average price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free wifi in hotel rooms, no vegetables for breakfast, walls too thins (you can hear steps, voices etc.)

    Cozy hotel, great location, clean rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, clean room - roughly what you should expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really bothered us...

    Good location, clean room - roughly what you should expect at this category. The staff was extra nice with our requests to print out boarding passes for our flight, kudos to them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for a short stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street is a bit run with quite a lot of graffiti but it seemed fine.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The studio flat would be big enough for 3 for 3-4 days and was reasonably well equipped for cooking and eating simple meals. Lovely and warm on a cold winter's night. The put me up single bed is for a child rather than a fully grown adult. Location is great, midway between the station and the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Great locally
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets

    Staff was helpful. The location was very good. The bathroom was renewed and clean. There are blankets on the beds that are awful and you get the impression they are dirty. The entire room was smelling dust although they were cleaning and changing towels on a daily basis lwhich is great. Although some people complain on the breakfast I think it was very descent and sufficient with fruits and croissants. The hotel was generally good especially if you seek low price. A great convenience was also the 24 hour reception desk vs Eur 20 charge which flat owners apply for late arrival.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, quiet, easy access to cafes and restaurants and a pleasant 15 min walk to the termini. If you want an out of the place with a shabby chic graffiti strewn area this is for you. Posh not! Atmospheric brilliant. A Convenience store 50m nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    The bathroom was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was nice and clean. A housekeeper took care of our room very well. It was clean and tidy. But regarding food, I would appreciare vegetable for the breakfast - there was none. The breafast was tasty but they can offer more variaty of meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location and pretty cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed - ended up sleeping on top of the blankets due to bed bugs. The pipes through the building are also very noisy.

    Great location and room size. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.8
    Great location and that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not too clean, was very very small, with old furnished, old bathroom facilities. The breakfast very limited but with good coffee.

    Great location. Warm room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Right in the center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean room, very nice shower. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. Right in the center of the town, 5 minutes walking distance until you reach the main road. About 10 minutes walking to the airbus station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel personal on reception wanted for my room more money than I booked on booking, first we have payed more then we looked on booking and find out difference of price about 30€ , afrer complaining she gave use back 20€. This stuff just didnt works in this hotel we recived no document about payment for hotel. The last day another receptionist wanted payment again and told we doesnt payed before . Im really angry how thigs there works because this hotel is not so cheap. On breakfest is no wegetables. Hotel personal dont speak english very well.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    AVERAGE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some long dark hairs in room and bathroom. In the website of the hotel displays checkout is 12 but actually checkout is 11 Free wifi only in reception. In rooms wifi you need to pay 5€ for 24h. Booking displays 3€ for wifi

    Warm room, very close to downtown and close to the train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    The good level of cleanliness and the comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water takes a while to heat up and there are also not enough clear directions to follow to reach the hotel on foot.

    The good level of cleanliness and the comfortable environment of the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Bologna is a lovely city, and this is a congenial and comfortable hotel right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loo seat was loose, and the fabric felt rather dated.

    Super staff, excellent location, though the road where the hotel is located is not very lovely, bed comfortable but on the firm side, shower good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location, but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should "work" way harder when it comes to cleanliness... The room and the bathroom quite tiny, and a 3-star hotel without free WI-FI... haven't heard about something similar in a long time, except for when I went to India, in the middle of nowhere.

    We liked the location of this property, closed to everything, right in the center. We also liked the breakfast, it was fair enough for the money paid. The staff was also pretty nice. You can also leave your luggage at the reception at no extra cost. It's ok for a one night stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    ideal location in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was cold. radiator and a/c not working at all. we asked for an extra blanket but they failed to provide one. the second day we did not have hot water. wifi is not free. breakfast is mediocre

    ideal location in the heart of the city. the cost was ok and the room was fair sized.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the detergent used to clean the bathroom smelled really strong so the whole rooms smelled too. Apart from that everything was fine.

    Great location. Clean and cozy room that had everything you need. Stuff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Very professinal and english speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though we paid around 100€ per night, we were told that this is a special rate and wifi in the room costed around 4-5€ a day. Since there was free wifi in the lobby this didn’t bother us, because we were not there to stay in the internet.

    Very professinal and english speaking staff. Comfortable and clean rooms (stayed here twice during the same trip). Nice breakfast and perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was amazing, this is why every time I'm in Bologna I stay at Hotel Holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The paid Wifi (how is that still a thing?) was very slow and not easy to connect to.

    This was my 6th time staying at Hotel Holiday. As always, it offered good value for money and a great location for a touring Bologna. The breakfast was also good, and the staff was very kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    The hotel staff was short and not very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was short and not very friendly. The breakfast was good. The room was very loud and walls are thin. It was in need of some updates and remodelling. You can hear people in the hall, bathrooms and outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Too intense air freshener automatically sprayed in rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will not come back to this hotel. The most annoying thing was a very intensive air freshener automatically sprayed in the bathroom. It was impossible to ventilate the room and get rid of this smell.

    In general the hotel is not bad. Rooms are clean and quite spacious, staff is nice and helpful, location is great, very close to the main street of the city. Breakfasts are good, although I'd prefer to have a wider range of not-sweet products (cheese, ham etc.).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    It was a pleasant stay in an interesting city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One would expect the rooms to be thoroughly cleaned especially when new guests arrive. Although the sheets and bathroom were clean, I noticed that there was a cup under the bed when I first walked into the room which remained there throughout my whole stay.

    Staff was very helpful. Hotel is within walking distance to the centre and restaurants are close by. Since the hotel is situated on a side street, there isn't a lot of noise. Breakfast is good even though there isn't a great selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    over all a fairly disagreeable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was hot and the ac did not work, we could not have the window open due to the noise. the fact we had to pay a further fee for internet access was mean, we booked because the hotel had parking but after having booked we were told that the parking was unavailable. over all a fairly disagreeable stay.

    the locatio

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Good Location, you can walk from train station 10 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is weak, sometimes left bread, no wifi- free in rooms, the acoustic in rooms are bad, you listening everything outside of room.

    Good Location, you can walk from train station 10 minutes and you arrive in Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    When visit Bologna again, I will try to stay with Hotel Holiday again. Good price, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't remember something I didn't like. Perhaps something to improve, if you needed to leave luggage in hotel for a couple hours after check-out. The luggage would stay right at the lobby area, anyone could access and take it. They should have like a luggage room for this kind of need. When we arrived, I got a room that had been just painted fresh. The smell was so strong we couldn't stay there. They managed to find us another room. Later on many traveler arrived in the same night. I think someone may have had to take that room cause they were full. I think it is wrong to assign anyone a room with very strong smell to paint.

    + Central location. Places you in the heart of Bologna, + Bedroom and bathroom comfortable . Mattress was very good. + Good breakfast included. Plenty coffee to drink. + Friendly staff always willing to help. + Supermarket and restaurants very close. + Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor....also cleaning service was not made properly...but taking in consideration money paid , cannot be better than this..i recommend for short visits...two days maximum...

    Location was good...near old city...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Very nice hotel. Very comfortable room. 10 min walk from Central railway station and 5 min walk to St.Petronio. If traveling from airport by air-shuttle you can use 1 stop before railway station and it would be even closer to the hotel. All the points of sightseeing are near by walk. Few shops are near and lots of restaurants/ bars as well. Wonderful city and very good hotel. I wish I could stay there for longer time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi that you paid extra for was very poor. Hard to log on, often inadequate to even send and receive emails or surf the web.

    Man on reception helpful, chatty, excellent English. Breakfast was generous with huge choice. Coffee great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Very good location - 15 minutes by foot from Stazione...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like only that there wasn't distance remover for the air conditioner and TV in the room and the bathroom wasn't cleaned well.

    Very good location - 15 minutes by foot from Stazione Centrale and just a few minutes to Via Independenza and the city centre. Stuff is polite and check in is possible 24 hours. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Great rooms and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At some points the room was cold and we could not adjust the temperature of the air condition.

    Great room, with quite big bathroom and fresh sheets and towels as well. Helpful and kind staff. Very nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    During our stay refurbishments were under way on the 3rd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During our stay refurbishments were under way on the 3rd floor; terribly noisy, lots of dust, elevator was used by the workers to carry various heavy stuff. Very limited choices at breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Location is the only good thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is charged, per hour, at a high rate. Printing a single paper (boarding pass, for example) is charged. And what is worst, you cannot control the room temperature: the A/C control panel is blocked and can only be controlled from the reception by the staff. If you are warm of cold you will have to go downstairs and ask the staff to change it, but they will probably argue with you for a couple of minutes before actually doing it. The water pressure was really low and it took around 5-6 minutes before the water run warm. The breakfast price is too high, go outside and eat way better for less price.

    The location is perfect, the best restaurants of Bologna are a couple of blocks away and it is right in the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is easy to find, relatively close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic cups for juice during breakfast.

    The hotel is easy to find, relatively close to the train station, about 10-15 minutes of walking. The staff is very nice. Room was not big, but beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    It was a good hotel, close to the center and the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi, and the air conditioning it was not free, you have to pay for both...

    It was a good hotel, close to the center and the train station. We stayed there one night, and the next day we took the train to Firenze.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast

    The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is really easy and fast to get from train station by walking and very close to the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Good choice for budget travellers, could take more care of bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - mouldy bathroom - AC in room is operated from the reception desk

    - friendly and professional staff - one can leave luggage before check in - quite close to city centre - windows reduce street noise

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent localization, good place to stay for a long time in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - nothing special if you like european style breakfast, better go to the city, near you can find great restaurants Remember that the internet is only in reception, in room you have to pay

    Perfect localization - quiet and in the centrum Everything clean and pretty Minibar with real kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A well run and confortable hotel in the heart of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the option to buy something hot to eat in the hotel upon arrival.

    The staff were very helpful and polite indeed. The overall experience was pleasant. I was just there for one night but this hotel would make a great base for a holiday in Bologna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was 15 minutes away from the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was 15 minutes away from the train station and could be reached easily by walking. It's in a very central location and there are nice restaurants nearby. The room was very comfartable and clean. We loved the breakfast in the morning in which there was open-buffet. After our check out we were allowed to leave our luggages in the hotel which was also very good. The value for money for this hotel is very high, I recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and confy! We arrived quite late to the breakfast, so wasn't too much food left. Not the best quality, but not too bad either! You have to pay for Wifi, but on the other hand, they have cloakroom service for luggage :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    Room is clean , reception staff is friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A narrow street and not clean , the parking is a small dirty shop so the parking is so expensive , air condition is so weak , the room is too small , breakfast is too poor , who is responsible of restaurant and breakfast so impolite and shout because we took a capacino before leaving after we finished the breakfast

    Room is clean , reception staff is friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    The room was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast were very nice compared to usual Italian breakfast, but you should be early because it is not refilled as fast as people eat. location is very good and its easy to get into city by foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    A value for the money, still things to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better in the 3 star hotel, I would expect at least omelette or scrambled eggs to be present. Also charging extra 3 euro for a WiFi in a room looked a little bit weird to me. Free internet should be a standard free option these days. We have a little bit of an issue with air conditioning due to the fact that it was not operational directly from the room, but from the reception. We were not able to get a hot water from the douche as well.

    Location is close to the 'Piazza VIII Agosto' parking, which is indispensable if you travelling by car. Many good restaurants are located nearby, I would especially recommend "Trattoria dal Biassanot" which is just around the corner. They are serving traditional food like tagliatelle bolognese or lausagna. If your budget is limited, the grocery shop 'Conad' is just 30 meters from the hotel. Personnel is very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and bathrooms are very tiny. Only apple for breakfast as fresh fruit.

    Perfect location: in the city center but still calm and not noisy at all. Very close to restaurants and a supermarket. Friendly and helpful staff. The bed was super comfy. Breakfast is OK: large choice of teas, juice, coffee, muesli, breads and marmalades, sweets. Very good price-quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room and nice breakfast but the staff was impolite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very friendly, they charged me before my arrival and from my credit card, when it was mentioned that would only serve as a confirmation of the booking. Also, the receptionist wanted to keep our ID cards until next day and was very rude when we refused.

    Nice bedroom, comfortable bed, private bathroom, good breakfast, very close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    OK for 1 night, but with exceptions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not possible to have the needed cooling temperature in the room, aircon is set for 24c and that is not disucussed. I asked at the reception if I can have at least 22c, but was told NOT. Outside temperature was around 38c, so in the room it wasnt refreshing. Spent the night in uncomfortable temperature in the room. Luckily spent only 1 night here. Breakfast is very poor, dont pay extra for that. Wi-fi has a good signal, but seems like not working. When you try to update Facebook or email, phone says it couldnt download or update. So, I couldnt use Wi-fi even with a good signal. If you want warm shower you have to wait, for 5 min only cold water is running. I would stay here next time if only for 1 night, not during hot sumer season and if the rate is good.

    Good location between train station and central square on a quiet side street, 10 min walk from the train station and 5-10 min walk to the very center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    The receptionist was lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner tried to enter the room three times in the morning between 9 and 11. Check out was at 11 and I really don't see why they couldn't wait till that time to enter, specially given the fact that I was visibly annoyed about the disturbance. Perhaps providing a 'do not disturb' sign would help in the future...

    The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The location was great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only receptionist can control the air conditioner.

    Location of the hotel is quite good. It's a few steps far away from the center. There is a market near the hotel. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. Signore Giovanni is kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    The bathroom is quite small , and wifi is not stable .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom is quite small , and wifi is not stable . It will hear neighbor room , this is bad . But people in hotel is friendly , and always give you support . I will choose it next time in my trip .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.0
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not friendly. Room was too warm, and they would not adjust the AC. On our last day there, breakfast offerings were sparse, food ran out and they did not replenish. decor very outdated.

    Location was central.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Our stay in Hotel Holiday was great! Definitely we will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was more than excellent! Our stay was in the heart of Bologna! Everything was very close! Our Room - excellent! Clean and quite! Bed - was more than perfect! Bathroom - with everything you need! Breakfast - quite good! Staff - helpful, always smile and polite! Definitely we will come back on our next visit to Bologna! I just want to say BIG THANK YOU to the staff of Hotel Holiday for our great stay in Bologna!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    A very well-located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We bought mugs at the local supermarket as the ones with the kettle were tiny plastic ones and more or less useless. The city itself is big, busy and interesting. However, there are two problems. Firstly, there is graffiti on an industrial scale. It is extremely off-putting. Secondly, the beggars. There is a constant flow down every street and on every corner. They are rarely aggressive but are a nuisance because of their great number.

    The staff were pleasant, informed and helpful. The room was basic but perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was fine and clean. The room-safe and kettle were much appreciated. Breakfast was good enough, if a bit lacking in day-to-day variety. Our room which was near the lift was quiet at all times. The area around the hotel had restaurants, bars, shops and a supermarket. City shopping is excellent and very close by. The railway station is easily reached on foot and from there a trip to beautiful Ferrara takes about 40 minutes and is well worth it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.0
    Terrible sound insulation ruins the stay for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls! The walls are so thin you can hear your neighbor snoring at night. And if you try to talk to each other after 9PM everyone will start knocking at your door and walls while reception will call you and tell you "that you have to whisper at this hotel". The experience was absolutely ruined because of poor sound insulation and the staff telling you it's your fault, because "you should whisper". I would not recommend this hotel to anyone except solo travelers!

    The room is clean. The bathroom is ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly budget hotel in very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was next to cleaning supplies storage room so it was a bit noisy in the morning when room cleaning round started. Overall not so good sound isolation, you can hear people talking but it did not bother us much

    Location is perfect - so close to the city center and hidden Bologna "Venice-like"Canals are just around the corner - don't miss! I liked pancakes for breakfast too. Staff was friendly and spoke English, we had closed parking for our car and the room was clean and decent for the price. Overall I'd say it was a great choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    The best location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we ran out of hot water, the receptionist's respond was "wait a bit and don't take long showers(!)" which I found a bit unhelpful. Also the wifi covers only the reception area.

    Excellent location, it was literally close to everything! Very picturesque neighbourhood and super close to the "secret canal" as well as restaurants and bars!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    The best location, exactly in center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not free!!! The room and bathroom were not as good as it seemed in the photos. Very small elevator but it's not a big deal. It's fairly expensive.

    The best location, exactly in center. Friendly staffs. Good breakfast. Near to bar (Neaera Lounge Bar).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location, nice room, perfect for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel decor is slightly dated but it's ok. There is no internet in the room but there is free internet in the lobby area. WIFI should be included everywhere.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable- it even had a radio. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for sightseeing. Kettle in the room is a plus. We were happy that the room was also nice and warm in the evenings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Overall good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi that's free with our room type, was for 24 hours and if you don't unlog...the 24 hours will run out. We booked for 5 nights and wished the wifi system was a little simpler. But it wasn't a big issue.

    Free shuttle to exhibition, friendly and helpful reception staff, good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    So-so, good starting point in the centre, not for very demanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We got room from courtyard, so together with the interior was a bit "gloomy" - Would be good to renovate shower cabin a bit (rest of the bathroom furnishing was new) - Our offer was basic and didn't concern wifi access, so we had to pay additionally, we were aware of that, however it's surprising, that it's not a standard everywhere yet

    Very convenient location, just few steps away from bust station and main attractions. Room was small (not claustrophobic), warm and clean, the same bathroom, no problem with hot water. Very nice and helpful ladies at the reception desk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location in the heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the food items at breakfast could be better

    The staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was comfortable and quiet at night , a very well appointed bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    It's hard to find something better at this price and at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to find something better at this price and at that area. Hotel is situated between main train station and city center. We spend there just one night. Everything was ok, stuff was nice, bathroom and bed were ok as well, we could leave our bags for several hours.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the problem with hot water. We had to wait up to 15 mins till it gets warmer otherwise it's just cold.

    the location is good,in the center and close enough to railway station. The facilities were ok, the room is quite big.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    2.5
    The WORST hotel in bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are cold. If you like to sleep in cold, it's the best place in bologna. Personnel calls you liar. Food is bad. But not worse as personnel. Don't pay anything for this hotel. There are sound also in the night to stay awake. Forget sleeping if you booked from this hotel. If you claim for something the personnel will call police. They SAID it. So don't complain. It's also written in the rooms, if they will find food rest in the room, they will charge breakfast. It's like old time school days. If you don't want to be insulted as a thief... STAY AWAY from this hotel.

    There is NOTHING to like in this hotel. STAY AWAY!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.5
    OKish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better sound insulation. Decor needs serious updating. Lighting in the room is rather poor.

    Clean and fairly sizeable room. Quiet location. Having a kettle in the room was a great plus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice place. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first it was really cold in the room and I was about to catch a cold. After I talked to the people on reception they tried to convince me heating system is working and it is warm enough. On the second conversation on the next day they unlocked for me extra heating in the room. After that moment everything was perfect. I don't like the fact that the Internet needs to be extra paid. It's not Africa.

    Perfect location. Comfortable room. Kind staff. In general I'm positive for my stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    6.3
    Very close to the city and a lovely spacious bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English options on television with no premuium channels in Italian offered either. WiFi wasn't included despite there being numerous free hot spots in the city so it shouldn't have been hard to provide (most places do). Parking was hard to sort; there wasn't much space and we were told to move our car at 8 in the morning but we're charged for two full days despite arriving at 3pm. The whole process of parking the car in their garage was unnecessarily complicated given only one key was available and the reception attendant had to go outside to manually open it if you wanted anything from your car.

    Very close to the city and a lovely spacious bathroom and bedroom. Great that extra blankets were provided even though the room was kept at a good temperature. Very clean and tidy establishment.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Holiday traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: