Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ilaria & Residenza dell'Alba 4 stars

Via Del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#9 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1076 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a large room in the annex with an amazing bathroom, good breakfast served on the roof terrace and free prosecco and nibbles in the early evening. The staff were extremely helpful and would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, staff and cleanliness was wonderful. The breakfast was 100% Free cafe open daily for drinks (hot & cold) with snacks. Happy hour in the afternoon with free presecco was an excellent way of meeting other travelers & chatting about tourist sites, which had the feeling of being on a cruiseship. The staff were very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. We stayed in the annex and the suite was absolutely fabulous. The reception staff were genuinely really helpful and friendly with lots of good advice on places to eat, off the beaten track spots. The hotel provides complimentary drinks and nibbles from 12:00 until 19:00 which was a nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was smallish and they should encourage more guests to spill out onto the open air verandah...where the spa is situated...

    The ilaria has two properties within easy walking distance. We were not in the main Hotel so therefore for breakfast and other amenities it was necessary to walk a short distance. The courtesy bikes were an added advantage likewise the “help yourself” coffee, juice and small eats. Proximity to walking/cycling the wall was good and their restaurant recommendations were excellent. Staff were courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were "upgraded" to a suite which was away from the main hotel and, perhaps because it was in an older building, was rather dark and bleak. The air conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own (fan blowing all night) and the bidet plug didn't work properly (it did not plug the hole). Plumbers were called - who made it worse! We then fettled it ourselves with the aid of pliers on our Swiss Army Knife. At breakfast on the covered terrace, one enterprising small bird had worked out how to get to the buffet table and kept flying in and out to help himself to scrambled egg from the spoon, standing on the edge of the pile of plates nearby before making his move. We're sure he enjoyed his scrambled egg. We chose to avoid it and took our plates from well down the pile. All in all, not very hygienic.

    Very conveniently placed for exploring the city. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable stay in a great historic location. Easy walk from the train station and close to many restaurants. Staff were very helpful at reception. Enjoyed complimentary afternoon snacks with coffee and evening glass of prosciutto. Excellent breakfast in a sunroom. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. Lucca was a very beautiful town with intact city walls. Would easily stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything!

    Comfy beds and excellent breakfast! Complimentary soft drinks during the day and prosecco early evening was a lovely bonus! Staff were friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    not applicable!

    Quiet location inside city walls. Room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Complementary bicycles was a treat for an early morning ride along the city walls. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to say! Seriously there is nothing we would give a negative review of. We loved every single minute of our stay here.

    We absolutely loved every single aspect of this property! The people who are employed there are the biggest asset, they are friendly, helpful and super informative- you are in very good hands when you stay here. The property is easily accessible from the train (how we arrived) and even with luggage we walked to the hotel along the ramparts. Its so easy. These walls are beautiful and with the Hotel bikes (even If you are not a keen rider, trust me you will love it) they are easy and one of the most enjoyable aspects of this city. The hotel is even more lovely than the pictures can ever capture. Delicious breakfasts, a open cafeteria with snacks and drinks always available, and staff that are 24/7 available to ask questions, help out and just be overall amazing. The rooms - you will have everything you need. We have never had a more restful or comfortable sleep in a hotel. Pure bliss. Great shower and tub, the bathrooms are fully equipped. Lucca is an extremely walkable city, you can easily roam from one end to the other and back in an evening and hit an amazing number of incredible sites. Great restaurants, less cars, and less people than some of the other more popular cities. If you have the opportunity to visit Lucca do it, you will be grateful you did, and super thankful you stayed at this amazing hotel. Thank you for an unforgettable stay Illaria!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were good (cereals, yoghurts, fruit, croissants and pastries) but the cooked breakfast was not very appetising.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have included more hot items. and tea/coffee could have been served at table. Didnt like Twinings tea, prefer yellow label, but that is only my preference.

    staff were very helpful. Location was excellent, this was our 3 rd visit and always find this a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No aircon before May meant need to keep windows open, on a small but noisy (late night revellers and early bird workers) street. Would be fine in winter or with aircon and windows closed. Bed rather firm.

    Great location insuide the ancient city wall, close to all the attactions and station. A beautifully laid out and tasy breakfast with proper coffee. Fab Happy hour prosecco/beer :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment in the hotel annex was delightful. High ceiling, mezzanine bedroom, comfortable sofa, two bathrooms, and verty well appointed. Worth the walk to the main building for breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, some evenings were a little warm

    Perfect location Plentiful & varied breakfast & loved 5 pm free aperitivo! Free bikes Comfy bed, quiet at night, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In the first room (first floor) windows was a bit small and during the shower the water was falling on the floor without any draining foreseen.

    Very friendly staff. I asked for having a room on the second floor and it was organised for the morning after. The hotel although in the city center, is quiet, with a spacious enough room, nice lobby, good breakfast, complimentary newspapers, appetizers and drink before dinner. The WiFi was working well and reliably. Good price at least in the period I have been staying. I spent one week with my wife and we were feeling home! Recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, we had to leave the window open to cool it down which was sometimes a bit noisy.

    Helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. The free drinks and snacks were amazing, a lovely way to meet fellow guests and socialise. Breakfast was fantastic value with lots of choices. The hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly on arrival when they realised it was our wedding anniversary. A marvellous hotel in a great location. Lucca is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking doesn't inform about two kind of rooms in the same category, in the main building and in the anex

    Confortable, nice city, close to Restaurant La Norma (very good), private parking, we stayed in the main building, not in the anex

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Considering this was a 4 star hotel we felt the breakfast area was a little small which did not affect us as it was low season but I assume there may be problems when the hotel is at peak periods Also the food was always the same with no variety on each day of our 6 day stay

    This hotel was excellent being located very close to the historic centre We had booked a room in the annex but were upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable and spacious with the bedroom on an upper floor similar to the messandras in Greece The icing on the cake was that we had 2 separate bathrooms which were both excellent The staff could not do enough for us and we liked the idea of complementary food and drink in the lobby during the day which however we did not utilise but we certainly did the Prosecco in the evening which was a very nice touch. Overall a very good stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls aren’t very sound proof

    Great location, spacious room. Free buffet of light snacks and drinks for guests which was unexpected. Even prosecco from 5pm. Welcoming and helpful staff. Free bikes we could use to cycle the city and walls.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the anexe is quieter but you are not at the Hotel. Feels more you are in apartment. I personally did not like it.

    It’s location. Inside Walled city, walking distance from main attractions!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found our bedroom too warm but were unable to control the heating. Unfortunately the scrambled eggs were a major disappointment every day.

    All of the staff were very helpful, professional and friendly and the location is perfect. At breakfast, The toaster was wonderful as was the choice of bread.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been cheaper during the "dead season", when Lucca seems a deserted place. Not all rooms look as fancy and as spacious as on the photos (however, who believes photos anyway, huh?).

    Quiet place in general (inside and outside), comfortable lobby, rooms have all needful. Only 10-minute walk from the railway station through the wall and some of the city centre sights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything AOK

    Excellent location, lovely and clean rooms, very good breakfast inc hot and cold items. Nice touch to have free light refreshments and drinks late afternoon. Close to very good restaurants. And fabulous Lucca as a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    This is the third time that we have chosen this hotel, and we wouldn't think of choosing another in Lucca. We always enjoy our time there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pulling into the Hotel's parking lot was the hardest part.

    Loved our stay here! We faced the Canal side which was lovely. Please read the directions they send with the room confirmation. There are several entrances to Lucca & the hotel is very close to one. If you enter in the wrong entrance it can cause you to drive through Lucca's very tiny crowded streets.....there is a $15 Euro charge to park & totally worth it. The room we had was large with a very modern bathroom the property is 5 stars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It surprised us that the hotel was two separate buildings, but it wasn’t really such a big deal. It might have been if it was pouring rain or something. I suppose that’s what happens when you build a large hotel in really old buildings!

    The staff was really friendly and helpful, going above and beyond with the silliest of requests. The bathroom in our room was exceptional, much larger than typical European bathrooms with excellent lighting. We could stand up in the shower without getting water everywhere! This hotel was a step above everywhere else we stayed. We should’ve stayed here longer than we did! And we loved the glass floor in the foyer, giving a glimpse into the ruins below the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would appreciate better shower, water pressure was too low.

    Location was inside medieval walls of Lucca, few steps from everything. Room was spacious and clean, needs a little refurbishment as a hotel in general. Staff was helpful and very polite. Breakfast was ok. Hotel offers private parking for 15 EUR. Overall it's good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The English language TV was not working. This wasn't a big deal as the benefits this hotel offered far outweighed this minor inconvenience. We still managed to catch up on world news with our free copy of the New York Times at breakfast.

    We were upgraded to a beautiful room upon arrival. Breakfast was excellent and in a lovely setting. The location could not have been better. Being inside the walls of the old town made it so easy to explore and really make the most of our visit. The free snacks and drinks (including juice, coffee, beer and bubbly) to help yourself to from 12-7pm was a lovely surprise. This was a really friendly hotel and definitely one we would return to.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spartan, but Clean Room, Minimal Lighting, Minimal Closet Space, Needs a comfortable chair.

    Great Location. Good Breakfast, Helpful Staff, Relatively Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    They would not allow us to use the air conditioning!!! Said, at the front desk, that it is the "Italian Rule", that the entire system is shut down for the season. This, even though they advertised air conditioning!!! It was hot and sunny and they told us to open windows. We had bugs in the room and a noisy street down below!

    Beautiful room. Great breakfast and location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent residence with a classic decor and warm atmosphere makes you bled with the medieval town. Great stuff always with a smile ready to assist. Very clean quite and confor table rooms. Great location! 10 min far away for the train station and 1 min to the city centre. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decoration is a bit old and needs improvement. Shower with no door (water goes everywhere...).

    Great breakfast and the free bar every evening. Good value and excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tub shower was a bit awkward and slippery. Otherwise, we had no complaints.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was attractive and well designed to settle in for several nights. The breakfast provided a great variety of food and was very good. The availability of snacks and drinks all day in the lobby "cafeteria" area was an unexpected plus. The entire staff was friendly, efficient and always helpful. The hotel provided valet parking and clear directions for arriving and leaving by car. Great location with many excellent restaurants very nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and snacks available throughout the day. Enjoyed the Proseco at happy hour. Lovely outdoor patio space and very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room in the annex had only one small window - on a mezzanine floor. It was also remote from the main building, which made it difficult to use the hotel's facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to put us in an annex around the corner... felt we were being fobbed off... we insisted we wanted to be in the hotel proper.

    Excellent location and helpful staff.. complimentary snacks and drinks. Breakfast was terrific...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could've been more comfortable

    The location was great! The room was newly renovated! The staff treated us like royalty! Sarah at the front desk is amazing at her job!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) We had a view from the room to the balcony where people were sunbathing and sitting in the jacuzzi (because of this shutters were closed all day); 2) Uncomfortable shower (no partitions on all sides so all the water will be on the floor).

    1) Great location (directly in the center of the old city); 2) Delicious breakfasts with many fruits; 3) Large numbers; 4) Сonvenient access by car and private parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather noisy pipe work in our friends room and noise from room above when flushing toilet or walking on tiled floor but our room was quiet and comfortable. Each room really needs robes to use the hot tub. There only seemed to be 2 robes for all the guests!

    This hotel provided an excellent base for our city break. With happy hour drinks between 5-7 - prosecco and beer, snacks, a hot tub and free bicycles to use we were very well looked after. Breakfast was also included which was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel was a mission! Reception staff didn't have enough time for each client and weren't that welcoming.

    Everything is right on your door step. Cycling round the city walls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite because it was our 25th anniversary. Nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in! The person who checked in was a delightful person!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great hotel, excellent location and easy to find driving in. Parking was worth the 15 euros per day as our car was produced for us each time we asked for it. Good sized room with all necessary facilities. Excellent breakfast & loved the free prosecco, apples & nibbles in Reception. Free bikes were great for wandering. Easy to stroll into the town and good places to eat nearby - particularly the Drogeheria. Brilliant staff, very helpful & good English. Will definitely be back - can't recommend it highly enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average... room needs updating..... none of the food looked appealing at all, you had to pick it over, and try and make a breakfast. The eggs were very over cooked, like rubber, bacon was unappetising, and not much there. The coal meat plates, were tiny for a hotel of that size, so it became empty very quickly, guests had to ask for it to be filled up constantly. More like a two star offering to be honest, everyone was complaining. It is such a shame when the breakfast lets the hotel down. Checking out wasn't good either, guests had no way of freshening up after a very hot day, before travelling home. We asked if they was a room available for guests, we were told to use the public toilet next to reception......or pay 130 euros for a room. This kind off put a sour note on our departure from Lucca. We will be back, but unfortunately, not to this hotel.

    value for money hotel good location, free bikes, free drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was overpriced in terms of size of the room. Breakfast was bad - coffee machine broken two days in a row and staff didn't tell us alternatives for hot drinks. Food wasn't great either - we ended up going out for breakfast on our last day.

    Clean and comfortable. Free prosecco 'tea' every day! Staff were friendly and really helpful. We were going on to stay at a villa which was quite isolated and they found us a taxi and the correct address to give to the driver. Brilliant location for exploring Lucca

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, being just outside the zTL zone, which meant we could park easily and access into the old town was on our door step. The bikes for guests are brilliant and really added to our experience in Lucca. The room was comfortable, clean and just what we needed. Great hotel ! Love the breakfast terrace as well !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bar on site.

    Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Brilliant idea to offer free drinks and cake in the afternoon and free Prosecco from 5 - 7pm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better!!!!!

    Hotel Ilaria was everything and more! All staff were very helpful, pleasant and cheerful. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and generous with compliamenary services. The bikes were a real bonus as was the buffet with drinks and snacks available throughout the afternoon. Great selection and choice for buffet breakfast and the hot tub very welcome relief in the heat of the day. A fabulous place to stay and absolutely brilliant location. Thank you all very much! 😁

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here

    Perfectly situated inside the walls of lucca . Quaint but modern hotel . Staff was amazing . Free coffee- drinks and snacks plus prosecco and beer in evening was a bonus - I've never come across that before !! Breakfast was one of the best on our holiday - expresso machine ✔️✔️✔️. A little more hanging room for towels and a little washing would be handy ( but found this in most hotels) . Only reason I didn't mark a 10 was because no bar or restaurant but not an issue really as there is so much on offer just outside . Loved loved loved the town and thank you to the hotel and staff . ... oh - the free use of push bikes was very handy thank you .... and placing us in room 1 because of my mothers bad knee was lovely . Totally recommended !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable , perfect location to visit the city and more tan anything else the High quality of the service from the beginning to the end !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love this hotel, this was our fourth visit and we will be back again. We love spending time on their lovely terrace enjoying a glass of Prosecco, listening to the opera coming from the adjacent property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    One our best stays in Europe, lots of extras thrown in, free buffet for afternoon tea, lovely room in the old tower, breakfast on the terrace listening to opera singers in the school next door. attentive staff with good suggestions for things to do...Lucca and this hotel, not to be missed if you're in this part of Italy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much actually

    The location was brilliant, just inside the old city walls. Very comfortable room. Breakfast was great Staff couldnt have done enough for us, a great place to stay after a long drive. We'll be back for a long weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. You have to pay 15 euros a day for parking but I feel this is more than offset by free bike hire and food and drinks as mentioned above.

    Good, clean hotel with bonus parking actually inside the walls of Lucca. just a few minutes walk into the town centre. Free bikes to ride. Free nibbles and drinks through the day and free Prosecco bet 5pm and 7pm. Staff were very good and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members were very reserved, competent, but unsmiling.

    The location was perfect and the accomodation and amenities didn't disappoint. We were given free access to bicycles and used them to ride the wall on a beautiful morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible staff support for restaurants, etc. Be careful about room location. Annex location not desireable

    Good location at edge of city. Very accessable. Bikes available for guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not match the standard expected of this hotel. Little or no service. Cold boiled eggs. Scrambled eggs that were tasteless and dry.

    The room was excellent. Spacious an very comfortable. We used the free bikes available and rode around the Luca wall - fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing except probably a little discount for being a second time visitor.

    Everything about Ilaria was first class, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely, the room clean and the complimentary drinks bar was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was the best of our trip.

    This hotel was wonderful. Exceptionally clean with good size rooms and lots of extras , including a cafeteria with free snacks and drinks all afternoon, and prosecco at 5pm. A lovely outdoor terrace and nice toiletries provided . Breakfast buffet was excellent with hot and cold choices and expresso machines. Rooms had black out blinds and good soundproofing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 9 was at the end of the corridor, in the Annex. There was a bad small of drains in the room. The room was also next door to a small concert hall, which shared the same building as the Annex. In the evening, loud violin music could be heard through the wall.

    Located within the walls of the old city, just a few steps away from many of Lucca's attractions. Excellent breakfasts, with optional terrace dining. Limited car parking spaces available if you reserve in advance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were marks on the sofa and walls in our room and curtain rings were missing. These problems detracted from an otherwise very pleasant room

    The complementary refreshments taken on the terrace were very welcome on the warm sunny days and the hotel bikes were great for riding around the city walls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find the hotel at the start, make sure to put hotel name in sat nav. Take care with slippery floor in bathroom!

    This hotel was in a prefect position for exploring the town and the walls. Excellent, friendly staff. Free snacks and drinks afternoon and evening much appreciated and the terrace for breakfast lovely in the hot weather. Handy for an early morning jog round the wall. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking the car at check-in was a little crowded but they come out and move the car for you.

    What a cute gem of a hotel! Small boutique hotel with excellent and friendly staff. The hotel has a drink/snack area that is stocked throughout the day. Our room was small (we booked it that way) but very comfy, clean and quiet. The hotel is very close to all sorts of bars, restaurants, shops and the wall. The breakfast in the morning is served on a beautiful enclosed terrace with lots of choices. Food was fresh and very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. Could have stayed longer...

    Attentive and welcoming staff. Room had electric shutters, comfortable beds and tea making facilities. The elegant bathroom was large as was the shower cubicle. Breakfast was taken in a lovely sunny covered terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower over bath very dated , bath too small to lie in . All a bit cramped. They need to remove all the baths and just have a big walk in shower.

    Location was perfect 5 mins away from the Botanical Gardens and then another 2 mins to the walls for a quiet shady walk around. Loved the added extra of free snacks and tea and coffee in the afternoon and the complimentary prossecco from 5-7pm. Breakfast on the terrace with the birds singing was a treat every morning. Excellent choice of breakfasts Staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel was immaculate, fresh sheets and towels every day. Housekeepers ensured we had fresh milk in our fridge rather than those little pots.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff could focus a little more on the guest and a little less in chatting with friends

    Location, Very Clean, ambience, breakfast, also having an open area to enjoy drinks during the day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were placed in a room in the annex and this was verbally sold as something special. It was not: It was right on the street at ground level with traffic passing close by, students chatting while seated on our front door steps. The hotel is fine: just wished we had stayed in it and not across the street.

    The city, the proximity to the Wall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying €15 for parking was disappointing as the car park is on their premises. I also hear you had to pay €10 to store bicycles which seems crazy? Despite the price being fairly toppy, the double room was very small with the bathroom immediately on you. It felt like a small studio so not too relaxing.

    Parking in the hotel was a bonus bearing in mind it was in Lucca central but... (see next comment) Breakfast was decent and you have the added bonus of getting beers and snacks for free throughout the day. Very close town centre, local amenities and tourist attractions. Navigating to the hotel from the hotel was really easy Staff were helpful Sun deck and Jacuzzi looked pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have preferred a separate shower, but the shower in the bath was good. Fusebox in the room made some noise. But that was a minor thing.

    Nice and comfortable hotel in a quiet part of Lucca. We had a room in the Annex, which is across the street (100 meters) from the hotel. Room was big, good bathroom. Very big, comfortable bed. Breakfast is in the hotel, with a good buffet with lots of choices. When the weather permits, there is an option to have breakfast outside. Hotel offers free bikes, which look fine for a short trip on the city walls (a must do). But for longers trips a rental from one of the agencies nearby would be better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower. Shower over bath.

    Great location within the walls. Bit difficult to find, but once there, all good. We has lunch in the town, then came back and used the jacuzzi . There was an open bar, sort of, with free Prosecco, beer etc and nibbles between 5 and 7 which was nice. The car was parked by staff in their garage,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is two very different premises.The main building is a modern hotel and the other is an apartment a walk away in a mediaeval tower. You have no choice where you will be placed at booking.The old building is cold and the heating/air con did not work. We had to ask for an extra blanket twice before we got one meaning two cold nights.

    Good breakfast. Free WiFi. Location inside the City walls. Room size is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought breakfast could have been a better choice. The hot breakfast choice wasn't that great. The cleanliness of towels we were not happy with. We also had a leak in our shower which constantly meant the floor was wet after showing.

    I loved that there were free snacks and drinks from 5pm. I thought it was a lovely and relaxing touch. The location was great and really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome morningbuffet. Fantastic staff. The handy man on Ilaria helped us, when our rented car wouldn´t start, without his help we would have big problems, as the serviceman from the car rental didn´t solve the problem, so we were VERY thankfull for the "rescue" :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms ar the rear of hotel would probably have been quieter and would have had views over the terrace and gardens.

    The hotel is within the walls of the city in easy walking of all the main attractions and restaurants. The hotel's cafeteria' offers complementary drinks and snacks, was an added bonus and the use of the free bikes were a fun way to explore the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some very hard, flat pillows the first night so our sleep was poor, we asked the next morning for different ones and this was sorted straight away.

    Free bikes to take out on a first come first served basis. Brilliant way to see the city as you can cycle literally everywhere ! The small buffet set up in the ground floor of the hotel is a lovely bonus. Complimentary snacks, chilled soft drinks and beer and after 5pm some excellent quality prossecco . There's a large terrace to enjoy your early evening drink. The hot tub on the terrace was unavailable when we stayed (end of march) but must be great in the height of summer ! Loved the fresh walnuts and unsweetened muesli at breakfast. The fresh melon and pineapple was lovely too. Great coffee. Perfect location and city for a short break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have daylight without opening shutters which then nade it noisy especially first thing in the morning.

    Newly furnished, very tastefully decorated, very comfy & central location. Great choice for breakfast. free coffee, snacks & Asti/ beer available. Complimentary bikes were great .

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: