Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Il Canale Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Bertiera 2, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#24 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi issues in our room. Staff tried to help but issue was not resolved.

    The staff was amazing. The recommendations for activities and food was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.5
    Nice, basic hotel with a touch of quirky charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi was spotty. I had to go out in the hallway or to the lobby to get coverage.

    Great location and helpful staff. Rooms were basic but very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very central and was very quirky in design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only real issue we had wa that our toilet didn’t flush properly and despite reporting it twice it wasn’t fix d so we had to use the toilet in reception which wasn’t ideal

    The hotel was very central and was very quirky in design. Staff were all very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and well-located, with unique decor.There was a very warm welcome on our arrival.Breakfast was great.The staff was very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Superb, I look forward to a future stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    There was a very warm welcome on our arrival (myself and my 2 sisters) which continued throughout our stay, everyone was very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were great and the croissanrs superb. Ideally located in the centre. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and the friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Well located and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ac was not cold enough as the vents are behind the curtains which mean that the air just goes out through the windows.

    Very well located hotel, with a row of restaurants just in the next street. V comfortable room with TV, toiletries and kettle. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    Unpretentious quirky hotel, with a personal touch, in a great location. Thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was slightly disappointing but there are many cafes in the immediate vicinity to enjoy a good coffee and a pastry.

    The hotel was tucked away off a busy street, with good access to main square and all the sights. Very helpful staff enhanced our experience. The bedroom was a good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself it's a gem and spotless clean. Everything was just perfect, we definitely recommend it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for a single traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A neat little backwater; very close to central Bologna; quirky and 'old-fashioned' yet comfortable. Ideal for the train station and for walking the town, yet tucked away off a main street and so quite secluded. The staff are excellent and it was refreshing to be in a small, easy-going hotel. Breakfast is served in a relaxed basement area with Italian coffee brought to the table. I'd choose again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Good Hotel and good breakfast. Friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet didn't always work in bedroom. Always available elsewhere.

    Good Hotel and good breakfast. Friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.9
    We originally booked and Airbnb and they never showed up and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took us 3 rooms to find one that didn’t have flies. But the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The canal is right underneath so flies were a result of that

    We originally booked and Airbnb and they never showed up and we were able to book a room here day of. The location is great, right in the middle of everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old world feel in an absolutely ideal location both for transport and for food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the breakfast had been served a bit later on weekends (at least) and would have happily paid for room service if they would have allowed it! Also mystified by the lack of a toliet paper holder in my room. Still, we had a kettle and I was happy about that.

    I visited this hotel almost ten years ago and remembered loving the location and the interiors. It's changed a little bit since then, no longer serving breakfast in the room (and having somewhat short dining hours), but it was still amazingly quiet inside the room with an air of fading glory I find far more enjoyable than overly new and smelling of plastic. The staff was genuinely welcoming and I had no regrets for choosing a nicer hotel and getting a much better experience. Also: 20 minutes taxi ride from airport to hotel was FANTASTIC and only £18!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    A friendly, centrally located, quiet and quirky hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally the hotel has seen better days, and some of the fixtures and fittings are a tad jaded/worn, but it is a quirky place and therefore an interesting hotel in which to stay. Some refurbishment in keeping with the ambience of the hotel throughout would really add value to the experience of staying at Il Canale! The breakfast location is a bit dour, being in the basement. The radiator in our en-suite leaked, flooding the floor, but the receptionist was appreciative of our mentioning this to alert the fact to maintenance. The bed was a little too hard for our taste. Windows had to be relied upon for air conditioning!!

    The staff were all genuinely friendly and very helpful, especially when it came to arranging a taxi to pick us up to take us to the airport when the road in front of the hotel was suddenly closed. The location was in a quiet back street, and superbly placed for the city centre - we walked everywhere from the hotel without needing public transport. Our room was serviced daily and all linens were replaced with our having to ask. Breakfasts from a cold buffet were included in the tariff, and were of an acceptable quality. We thought the hotel was good value for money for its 3 star rating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was adequate as a base near the city centre. Would consider staying again if needed too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast adequate. Hotel location doesn't appear to be good but felt safe walking around.

    Hotel and room clean. Good location for city centre (short walk).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    2.9
    No water pressure until after 10am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water in the morning! Could not flush toilet or take a shower until after 10am each day. The very angry staff member blamed the hotels low water pressure and competing guests. Could not believe how rude he was to us (even for Europe). Tip:Take your shower and use the toilet before 6am. The beds were gross and very uncomfortable. One cheap sheet on a mattress (no mattress protector) that reminded me of summer camp. Black mold in the bathroom added to the character as did the scummy shower. The alley location next to a classy sex shop was the icing on the cake. Go elsewhere!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Bologna is a beautiful city to explore but sadly over run with 'professional' beggars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only minor downside was that the water pressure was a bit hit and miss ( we were on the top floor).

    Lovely warm welcome from helpful Francesca. Quirky, friendly hotel in an excellent location, just off the main shopping street and close to the Piazza Maggiore. We got the shuttle bus from the airport to the station, the hotel was a 10 minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Lovely warm welcome, character hotel, close to heart of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely warm welcome from Francesca, very helpful with maps and information, lovely location over the canale, and handy for main streets and many restaurants were a minutes walk away. Breakfast was a good choice of cereals, cold meats, cheese and fruit and cakes and coffee made fresh to order. Hotel individual and quirky and we really felt made to feel very welcome here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very soundproof you can hear snoring, sneezing from other rooms and no doubt other guests could hear us too.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and clean as was the bathroom which had fluffy bath towels. I appreciated having a kettle in the room too. Super location between the station and the old town the route is flat and easy to walk. You can see the canal from the breakfast room window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful decor, in perfect resonance with the casual and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful decor, in perfect resonance with the casual and super friendly hosts, who make you feel part of the family, by offering their advice for what to see and where to go in Bologna. Excellent breakfast with many options. There is a coffee machine, but remember to ask for the much better coffee and cappucino from the real machine in the small kitchen !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.5
    If there is a discount offer then it is worth it. Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is pretty big but the shower just rains on the floor so everything gets wet. There was a lot of noise from the street and from other rooms. The breakfast was really not enough for 3*

    Very central location, the room was pretty big. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with an amazing warm welcome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid a premium due to cosmoprof event but this is the same for all Bologna hotels at this time so we got lucky to find this gem!

    Wonderful hotel mainly due to the fantastic staff all of whom made us feel welcome and went out of their way to look after every request Rooms were freshly decorated and extremely clean. Breakfast was a great selection with excellent coffee . Cannot recommend enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is set in an old building next to a canal. The area is quiet and feels very safe and is only 50m from the Via dell’Indipendenza. There are loads of good restaurants in the area and the historic centre and railway station are both a 10 minute walk away. Rooms are currently being refurbished. Our room was in good condition, clean and of reasonable size. It was cold when we visited, but the room had very good heating. Different floors have been given a theme which adds to the individual style of the place. Breakfast is served in the cellar, which has a vaulted ceiling. One of the tables is in a small room overlooking the canal. Standard continental breakfast was included in the price we paid. The staff are great and will help with any problems you may have. We had a lovely value-for-money stay. Tip - have a day trip to Ferrara. It has a delightful centre and is relatively tourist free. Plenty of trains and it take half an hour to get there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our shower was good until it stopped providing water - if repaired, no issues.

    The staff were all great and very hospitable. Loved the decor in the hallways--filled with vintage pieces, each floor a theme. The location is great for visiting Bologna on foot. We were able to walk there from the train station. Loads of restaurants and shops in the area as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, nice and helpful staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small, the A/C was not when we arrived and it was quite cold. It took some time to heat the room. Practically no view from the room, we were on the ground floor.

    Good location, nice and helpful staff, good breakfast Good price/value ratio

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing everything was good.

    We loved the location, so close to everything. The bedroom was really spacious and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much bother.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.8
    A sweet hotel in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t very comfy, from the mattress to the poor quality quilt.

    The hotel is extremely qaiunt and well located. The room was clean and it represented great value for money. They even let us have a late check out!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.6
    Nice choice and a VFM catch
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was working a little sloppy even if it was were free and was very slow for Italian standards .

    The location was just perfect for everything to be a few meters away from you . Sights , trattorias , shops etc . The price was good for a very big room . And the historical building contributes positively to the whole experience of bologna !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.9
    Great City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was typical continental, but was okay

    This hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. Just off via Dell'Independenza, about 5 minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore. Lots of nice shops and restaurants near by. At the tourist information office in Piazza Maggiore you can arrange excursions. There is a "Discover" tour that takes you to 5 places, such as the Ferrari Museum, Enzo Ferrari's house (another museum) and Pavarotti's house. This is a great excursion. The hotel is comfortable enough for a city break as we didn't spend that much time in the hotel, but were out and about exploring.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    6.3
    Sleepless
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no slippers. The walls of our room were very thin. We could not sleep till morning due to noise of neighbour rooms. The reception of the hotel closes 11:00 pm. We could not find anyone to tell about our complaints. The room was quite uncomfortable. That was a terrible experience for us. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone

    The room was warm. We did not feel cold weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location to explore Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor acoustics, can hear talking from neighbouring room.

    Very convenient location from train station and to city centre and restaurants. Spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent small Bologna Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a lovely small unpretentious hotel. Nice good sized room with excellent en suite bathroom. Lovely staff and clean/comfortable. Superb location and good breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    10
    Clean, quiet hotel in the heart of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I had to find something, it would be the small shower. I'm a larger guy and found the shower stall to be a bit tight. But this wasn't something that would keep me from returning. Fantastic hotel!

    The hotel's location was fantastic, right in the heart of Bologna. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We liked that it wasn't on a busy city street. Nice and quiet. The breakfast options were very tasty, although not large. It was just enough to start the day. Would definitely stay here in a heartbeat if traveling to Bologna again. Very satisfied!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a basic hotel, but excellent value for money. It was warm, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly. The corridors are quirky which is a nice touch. It was very quiet at night so got a good sleep. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    6.7
    If they could fix the water issues and clean the carpets I’d return. The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water pressure in bathroom was very frustrating - we had no water on 2 days. Had to fiddle around with shower hose and sink taps to get pressure. Mini bar didn’t work. Walls to next room very thin, could hear girls’ conversation!

    Quirky, friendly hotel in good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious and beds comfortable. Did not eat breakfast at hotel so can’t comment. Not fancy but clean and would return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.2
    Good location if you can put up with a few quirks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Top floor room had quirky plumbing as well as decor. Shower mostly self correcting if you waited a while. Big problems connecting Windows m/c to internet. Staff sympathetic but unable to fix. The room carpet was badly stained and needed replaced. Everything else was clean and fine. Note smallish breakfast buffet is heavily slanted to Italian 'sweet' breakfast.

    Great location just off a main street in a little alley 10 minutes walk from the main square and railway station in opposite directions. All the town centre stuff in easy walking distance. Quirky decor with motorbikes, luggage etc in the hallways. Room very Red. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated facility, in Scandinavian terms very basic breakfast.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice view from 3rd floor room over the roofs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Great location. Lovely staff. Spacious rooms. Decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fantastic. Varied and tasty. I would have liked a milk alternative but it was fine. I did not ask so it was obviously not that important. Natural yogurt would have be nice but that is just personal preference. Plus there is an excellent juice bar just out on the corner. I was disappointed that my apple computer was unable to connect to the wifi but our hand devices could so this was not a great problem.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. They put in the extra time to help with the internet and were very happy to answer all of the questions our young children asked. The location was fantastic. It is a very traditional type of place with marble floors in the rooms and the proper old fashioned hand towels. These small hotels are something we should strive to keep alive so that indiviual experiences can continue to be had. The children loved the worlds slowest elevator, the pull out bed and the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.9
    Great coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is dated but the room served its purpose.

    Great coffee! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Easy access to the centre of town and the train station. We loved the memorabilia that is all over the hotel. It really gives it an old school feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    An ideal hotel for those on a city break looking for a place to lay their head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our last night's sleep was marred by thin walls to an adjoining room and a noisy neighbour. Don't know if the room was occupied other nights so don't know whether this a significant problem!

    The location is within easy access of many restaurants and central enough to access all Bologna's sites on foot. Don't let first impressions of the lobby put you off it is a quirky collection of themed memorabilia that continues on each floor. Young staff are friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.5
    Friendly arrival, very happy stay, will return next time in Bologna, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast adequate for the price charged, who needs a huge breakfast with all that Bolognese cooking available.

    Location brilliant, excellent friendly accommodating staff. Large airy rooms, what you would expect from a converted old house

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, small hotel with extra friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely no complaints

    The staff could not have been more helpful , and made restaurants reservations for us The hotel was small and friendly, with good breakfasts The situation was excellent, fairly central but quiet The local restaurants were very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. The internet was so slow that it was in fact not useable. 2. The matresses were hard and not very comfortable. 3. The staff at the breakfast seemed to be washing the dishes by hand, we could not see any dishwasher in use.

    Very nice staff,they gave you personal service and treated everybody extraordinarily kindly.The hotel was beautifully decorated in a romantic style. It was located at the heart of everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.8
    An unusual hotel with a lovely personal touch right in the centre of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room faced onto a. Internal courtyard ....the curtains did not pull to the centre. Despite net curtains we felt our room lacked some privacy. More frequent change of towels would have been appreciated

    Breakfast was simple but fresh and tasty ... There was good coffee available from a machine but we were always offered fresh coffee made individually Staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant The decor was quirky and unusual and charming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in excellent location a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, Great rooms, Great staff. Very welcoming on arrival and during the stay especially Julia. Tea making in room or free coffee whenever you asked. Spacious rooms nice bathroom with toiletries. Quirky themes on each floor. Breakfast is continental but nice. Very close to the town and the train station. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant, well situated and excellent service with good morning coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi wasdifficult to access with apple devices.

    The staff could not helpenough. The atmosphere was pleasing and the hotel was so well situated. Lovely hot water and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.1
    Small, dark room.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, dark and airless. Its window looked out onto an internal courtyard where people smoked.

    The young woman on reception was friendly and helpful. The location is central. A good range of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.2
    Nothing more to add, rooms are small but no different to any other B&B. Plenty of room in bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found everything was OK, nothing to complain about.

    Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful. Good shower. Everything close to walk. About 15 min walking from train station to B&B. Would not hesitate to stay again if in Bologna. Good town for a base.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Friendly and comfortable welcome after my long overseas flight!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was bigger than I needed and would be great for a larger group or family (they didn't have a smaller room available). Breakfast in the basement was great! Nice location near great gelato, cafes, main piazza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms could perhaps do with a little tlc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little tired, especially the carpet. As we were on the top (3rd) floor, the water output in the shower each morning was very bad!

    Great location and very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    4.2
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is never a 3 star hotel. I have visited 104 countries worlwide. This is the WORST hotel I have ever seen and the MOST EXPENSIVE.

    staff were very pleasant and nice. Also very apologetic about the horrendous price of Eu.910 for 3 nights that we were forced to pay by liers and cheats like Booking.com. I am going to complain to all authorities about the cheating treatmet from Booking.com. Other people staying there who booked online 2 nights before arrival paid only Eu.70 per night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.1
    Cute hotel, nice bathroom, big room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little outdated (generally), but there wasn’t anything that would stop me from going again.

    Cute hotel, nice bathroom, big room, good location. Just needs a few updates, but all-around good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.6
    Clean and nice hotel, and not expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a big public parking nearby, but it is hard to find without directions. Maybe the information section of the hotel can list parkings nearby with address so that one can easily find them.

    Clean and nice hotel, and not expensive. Very central location, though hard to reach by car because some streets are closed during the weekend and many are one way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.3
    Great location and lovely hotel however disappearing water was an issue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water in the bathroom literally didn't work alot of the time - half way through a shower, refilling the toilet, middle of cleaning teeth!

    Room was sizable, bed was comfy, staff were great, breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    A good , clean, reasonably priced hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls of our room could have been a lighter colour, it would have made the room appear larger.

    The staff were very helpful. The bed was very comfortable, we had an excellent night's sleep without any disturbances. Excellent croissants in the morning. The location is convenient, midway between the station and the main piazza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.8
    This is a very good place that needs just a little attention to be a gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two items could use improvement. The bathroom while substantial in size needs a more careful cleanig. This is especially so of the shower. Second the wifi would turn itself off when not in use. That meant you were constantly signing in. A nusence.

    The staff was outstanding. They went beyond one's expectations. While I speak passable Italian, they were careful to speak Italian with me but always wanted to be sure that I fully understood what they were communicating. The breakfast was substantial. Everything from eggs, cereal, cheese, ham, fresh bread, cornetti and so forth. The location was just off the main street. Close enough for convenience yet far enough away for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.9
    Overall fine for my purpose. Excellent location. Staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advertised with kettle in the room but there wasn't one. No blanket or duvet. Got cold in the night. I cannot understand these small hotels that have curtains that are purely decorative. Impossible to have a good nights sleep when the light shines through the lightweight curtains.

    Super staff. Very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing, educational and great fun. We will be visiting Bologna again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was a little tired and would benefit from a deep clean.

    The staff were absolutely brilliant. They could not have been more obliging and helpful. Location fantastic. Great quirky hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great location and the major sites are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a great location and the major sites are within walking distance. The hotel is beautifully decorated with interesting art I have the breakfast room and lovely patio room near reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Little private breakfast table with a view on the canal. A generously filled chocolate brioche and excellent cappuccino for breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel. Great location halfway between the train station and the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a couple of maintenance issues with our room which we spoke about with the owner. He assured us that the room is one that is due to be renovated shortly and our issues would be resolved.

    The owner who is very pleasant and helpful. Also loved the quirky art placed about the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    We had a great experience at Il Canale hotel and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has a very central location within walking distance of many sites. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful before, during and after our stay. I have rarely met more friendly staff. They were very authentic and thoughtful and offered great service. I forgot my kindle at the hotel and they have been very sweet by sending it to me afterwards. Great service all around!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Great budget hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a great basic lower budget hotel. Location couldn't be better. The rooms were adequate and the staff very friendly and helpful. Parking wasn't easy just due to the narrow streets and general lack of on street parking, however the staff do help and can provide parking passes for the few nearby spaces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing. I was happy with all of my stay here

    Location excellent staff friendly very comfortable clean and quiet room. The breakfast had plenty of variety good coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a quick trip to Bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was in a perfect location for a one-day visit to Bologna. Could walk to the center, and several excellent restaurants nearby. I was lucky enough to have a last-minute booking with a very large room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was more expensive than I was originally told for adding a travel partner. It was extremely hot in the room at night.

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    8.3
    A well located 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a restricted car zone. Talk to the staff about nearby parking ( 3 minute walk for underground parking ) before taking a car into the zone.

    A well located 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly, location is great for exploring Bologna and it's an easy walk to the train station. The hotel decor is neat with old suitcases and motorcycles displayed in the hallways. Good cappuccino at breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Loved our stay! Will go back on our next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was helpful and accommodating. They even went out of their way to make us coffee after hours, helped us get transportation and called our leader for the excursion we were taking to make some arrangements for us. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    10
    Great location/friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is excellent. It is close to the main attractions and the train station. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The big selling point of this hotel is the warm, friendly, can-do attitude of the staff. During my stay, I was treated as 'one of the family' more than as just a hotel guest. I'm not going to suggest that this was the Royal Meridien in terms of facilities (if you want that sort of thing, then go to the Royal Meridien), but whenever I needed anything the Il Canale team were on the case, and were genuinely happy to help. If you like a relaxed, informal atmosphere close to the city centre, then this is the place for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    A delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A charming little hotel, very comfortable and well-located, with quirky decor. As a single traveller, I felt very safe and welcome. A nice breakfast. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the station and five minutes from the main attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.2
    Good choice in the city center!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be more varied (although no complaints about the taste and freshness)

    Very spacious room and great value for money, considering the location in the very center (most attractions are within walking distance). Also the bed and the pillow were very confortable (especially if you like firm matrass).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An iron/ironing board would have been useful but that is a really minor point.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel decor was beautifully quirky. The room was comfortable and perfect for our needs (mainly sleeping). The location was just perfect - Bologna is such an easy city to walk around and this hotel was just the right distance away from the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    10
    Perfect location and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is perfectly placed for the centre of the old town and is also within walking distance to the train station and airport shuttle drop-off. The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. Should we return to Bologna, we would definitely stay at Il Canale again!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Il Canale Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: