Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Gabbiano 3 stars

Via G. Temporini 99, 80070 Bacoli, Italy

#6 of 12 hotels in Bacoli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard on rooms was a bit dissapointing. No aircon. Only one of two windows could be opened, worn out handles and tired frames.

    Beautiful view of bay area. Breakfast was satisfactory. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a huge disappointment. We arrived for breakfast at 9 am and there was hardly anything left to eat except cereal, ready-made toast and sweet yogurt. No butter for the toast and even if there had been some, there were no clean knifes we could use. The reception staff barely spoke English and was careful not to smile or seem friendly.

    Comfy beds. Cool spa on the rooftop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception/party venue is very loud! During our stay, all three nights, there was some sort of reception/party which made a quiet sleep VERY difficult.

    facilities are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE NOISE. 3 out of 4 nights we stayed here there was an event. So loud music. but the worst part was the fireworks set off from the roof right under our room. We thought someone was shooting at us. 130am on a Sunday night. 😨

    Beautiful view, nice staff, clean, good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is absolutely nothing to complain about.T

    We liked everything about our stay in Il Gabbiano but what made it very special and memorable was the warmth, the friendliness, the kindness and extraordinary helpfulness of all the staff. We were looked after as though we were family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem is it sits on a ridge-line in a residential neighborhood and is difficult to walk anywhere as it is a fairly decent grade hill and no sidewalks. There are a few restaurants on the ridge and the hotel does have a shuttle service but as mentioned above it stops at 1800. So without a car it makes things a bit tougher. Plus in the summer on weekends traffic coming to the area in the mornings and away in the late afternoon is terrible and will be very frustrating if you get in it.

    The location since sits on a ridge-line for a view is AWESOME! The hotel grounds are very nice and the restaurant is good. The breakfast was pretty impressive for a European continental hotel too, a bit more than just a pastry, juice, & coffee. They have a shuttle upon request and the hotel also has a beach resort with complimentary beach access that is very nice for the summer. The shuttle can be used to get to public transportation and additional restaurants but unfortunately the shuttle stops at 1800.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast - cold scrambled eggs, no veggies.

    Fantastic view form the balcony, great restaurant with delicious food and lovely sauna with jacuzzi on the rooftop. Free shuttle service to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were not like the pictures on the site, very poorly finished and rough finishes like the laminate floor finished an inch before the skirting and a piece of architrave was missing from the door frame. Whilst we were there, there were 2 weddings which meant we weren't allowed in certain areas mainly verandas and gardens and were asked to go outside.

    The main areas of the hotel are up to date and modern. Staff were pleasant although bar staff weren't great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extra hard/firm beds, that as 2 twins pushed together to make a king kept sliding apart...nothing else was accessible without taxi or own car

    beautiful views from every angle, fantastic food in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread can improve. Attention to foreigners can be better, such as providing touring advice, transportation guides, local eateries etc

    Location view is excellent. Breakfast stafff was very helpful. Room cleanliness is prompt and good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of cleanliness was astonishing. Windows in our room look like they hadn't been cleaned in months. Lots of mold growing. The hallway outside our room was used as storage for extra beds and cleaning supplies. Super distasteful.

    The view from the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower, poor breakfast, wedding meant nowhere to park (man who didn't speak English took our car keys), 5am wake up call in room that we didn't ask for, no WiFi in rooms, only two sets of towels and slippers in a triple room.

    View from the roof.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not do their job properly at all. - The lady at the reception did not inform us when we arrived that breakfast was included, (she did not tell us about where it was served, nor timetables... nothing). We discovered when we payed at checkout two days later. The lady (another woman) that did the checkout did not even try to apologize or make a discount. - The driver of the shuttle to the train station was not polite neither, he did not help us with our baggage, not even opening the car trunk. We travelled with our suitcases on. - The two nights we stayed in this hotel, we were awakened by noisy chambermaids chatting and laughing in front of our door.

    Excellent views, both from the room and from the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with other reviews this is a popular wedding venue. We found it hard to park when we arrived but staff were accommodating to move cars around. Most disappointing was that we were refused any evening meal due to the wedding taking place! The reception staff just said sorry you cant eat here tonight! It took about 2 hours to find somewhere else open on a Sunday night. Really poor.

    Nice quiet location, with amazing views, especially from the top terrace. For a wedding amazing facility.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put us in the wrong room, we reserved a queen and they had us in a double with an extra twin bed! They moved us the next day. You can never eat dinner in the hotel terrace restaurant because there is a wedding booked nearly every day of the week. Nice that there is a hot tub on the rooftop terrace, but it never gets hot! The tub stayed at 27 Centigrade all the time. The walls of the rooms are fairly thin and noisy. With a wedding every night it is hard to get to sleep with all the racket. They also make guests relocate their vehicles in the parking lot to give preference to the weddings.

    Great view of coast, reasonably priced rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position and structure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean room, big balcony with sea view, shuttle service for free to Lucrino train station, by train less than 1 hour to Naples

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WORN OUT HOTEL, NEEDING UPGRADED WEDDING ON EVERY DAY. BATHROOM TINY.

    THE VIEW

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small space in the bathroom.

    Nice view from balcony, magnificient solarium on the roof. Very good servis.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, friendlyness, exelent facilityes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Honestly can't think of anything not to like, other than going home!

    The views were amazing, as were all the staff. This hotel and staff exceeded all our expectations. We had a busy couple of days staying in the centre of Pompeii and visiting the ruins, when we arrived at Hotel Gabbiano this was just what we needed to relax and unwind.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air condition brought cigarette smell in the room, poor breakfast, caotic parking, old bathroom, super small shower cabin.

    See view, clean room, good coffee. This is a very well prepared event hotel, every evening events until midnight. Actually this was not a problem as we went to sleep generally after.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were daily events (weddings, etc.) going on at the hotel restaurant which caused a lot of noise and waking up to the sound of fireworks right under your hotel room window at midnight isn't all that much fun. The restaurant food (dinner) was okay, the breakfast was very good. Neighborhood not very walkable, but the hotel shuttle will bring you to the nearest train station (Lucrino) from where you can go into Naples in about 30 mins.

    Great location on cliff overlooking the Bay of Naples, view from rooftop terrace and hot tub is absolutely amazing. Very friendly and helpful reception staff who helped us with delayed luggage and ferry booking.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful view of Bay of Naples from multiple terrace levels and dining room. Excellent food in dining room. Many marriages take place there because of the beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant did not offer us the same set menu as it appeared to give 'locals'. I.e my husband had set menu & was given a small starter, main course & dessert. Other tables received several courses (as is normal).

    Location & calm, peacefulness

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Lot of stairs without elevator. Breakfast - just pastries etc. - sweets - not enough variety - maybe because the hotel was with low quatity of guests. Room facilities where mostly old (the bed was relatively new and modern). Small room.

    Perfect view from room. Staff was nice. Cappucino in breakfast - free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great view but outside of the center

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom needs restoration, cannot move the shower, strait shower cabin, the breakfast is poor.

    View, terrace

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow and unstable internet.

    Nice place, helpfull english speaking staff.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Hotel Il Gabbiano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: