Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Italia 3 stars

Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 67, 53100 Siena, Italy

#9 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2998 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel just outside of historical centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking Room in adjacent building needs refreshing and we were not aware that we would not be in main building when booking

    Good breakfast Great room in main hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in perfect location with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the staff were incredibly friendly, from the reception, dining room and cleaning staff. The breakfast was very good and the location ideal, close to the railway station and close to the walled city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location you can drive directly to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real juice.

    Great location you can drive directly to the hotel. Book parking! Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Nice rooms. Good aircondition. Super stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff was great. View of the wall next door was not. Street parking sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk into town makes it relatively hard to go to and from he hotel. Guests pretty much need to pack for that day knowing they won't be back until the evening as it is a 20+ walk to and from attractions and restaurants.

    Compared to similarly priced accommodations we stayed in, the free breakfast was pretty flavourless. It doesn't matter if you have 25+ options if they all taste like the came from a box.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good breakfast. ...in two rooms if busy. Comfortable room with outside terrace if you're lucky At top of the escalator. .. short walk to centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking. If you bring a car, reserve a space .. otherwise it’s perfect

    We absolutely loved Sienna, what a beautiful city. The hotel was a 20 min walk from the main campo, which we walked and enjoyed. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We hadn’t reserved a car parking space so they allowed us to park in their sister hotel’s car park. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. We had a family room which was in a separate building.. it was very quiet, we had no noise disturbance at all. I would recommend hotel Italia for anyone visiting Siena

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room aircon was not very good, very old and not very effective.

    Location. Easy to find from the train station, easy walk into Siena. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay at the hotel. Wish we could've stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, wonderful breakfast, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Very enjoyable stay at the hotel. Wish we could've stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Outstanding hotel for a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably the walk into Siena centre was a little further than ideal and could inhibit those less mobile.

    The hotel was very comfortable and met our expectations. The room was very well laid out and well serviced. The highlight was the performance of the reception staff who could not do enough for us.No matter which of the staff attended to us, the attention to detail and solving our particular request was always their top priority.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel with a distinct character, well-placed for sight-seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very dark because it faced inwards onto nearby walls and balconies so the shutters needed to be kept closed for privacy. The bed was more like a couch and too short for anyone taller than 5 ft 6 ins,

    The property is located just outside the Old Town, a mere 10 minutes from the station by the travelator. My room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was opulent. Lots of choice of sweet and savoury items for breakfast and the staff spoke good English and were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely awesome in every regard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a big deal, but the 80's music track featuring Whitney Houston and Elton John could have been a bit more varied.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice; I appreciated having options besides the typical Italian breakfast fare of simple carbs--hot eggs and bacon were a great addition, as was the fresh fruit. Location was perfect, 5 minute walk from the walled city center as well as the train station. Laundry facilities were right across the street. Oh and the staff was so warm and friendly and helpful. I live in Park City Utah and the staff here at Hotel Italia was at the same caliber of the world class resort in Deer Valley. They were awesome. This is the only place I'll stay in Siena.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hotel is beautiful and the breakfast was amazing. The breakfast had a large variety of foods and beverages and everything was fresh and staff were so organized. The staff were very helpful and gave us referrals for places to eat and they were all excellent. |would love to go back again.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing staff. Friendly smiles to you all the time and very helpful. Amazing breakfast with lots of varieties and good quality. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a beautiful property. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet, and the breakfast was fantastic! It is in a great location, walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, and recommended a great restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the coffee and bar area, and the second-floor terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent reception staff, and the bathroom is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    God bless you that you won’t stay in Room 101. You couldn’t sleep anymore after 5am. It’s right next to a door and for God’s sake there are staffs in and out every 20 seconds and it’s damn noisy!

    Excellent reception staff, and the bathroom is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location is travelling to Siena by transport as a 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location is travelling to Siena by transport as a 5 minute walk from the station exit. It is a little outside of the main town but we liked that as meant it was quiet. We were upgraded on arrival which was great and the room was huge. The breakfast was lovely, lots of options for all and homemade treats.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Older place, but nicely kept up. Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has only (about) six parking spaces in their locked yard. Reserve early with your booking. There's public parking lots directly behind the hotel, but they tend to be full during the day.

    Walking distance to the old town. This is an older - but well-maintained - hotel. Breakfast was good, as was the wine served at the bar. Grocery store and small deli within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfest could be improved - there was a bit of everything but the no WoW effect.

    Personel at the hotel was smiling and welcoming. Stuff provided us with BEST experience possible. The room had very robust airconditioner - which does not happen often in italy. Therefore the sleep was deep and regenerating. Hotel is located in exelent location just at the entry into old town. Even thought its in the middle of the city, the windows are tight and room was very quiet and peacful. Exelent big, full of luxury bathroom. 2 min away from the hotel was best pizza in Italy :) additional reason why its worth to give it a try. Advice-remember to reserve a parking spot at the moment of booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing Hotel 3-4 stars price but 1-2 stars quality. We had booked for 2 nights and wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing Hotel 3-4 stars price but 1-2 stars quality. We had booked for 2 nights and wanted to cancel the second night which the hotel refused to go. We will go back to Sienna BUT in another hotel....

    The location of the hôtel was good , but that was the only plus point...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, breakfast and service was pretty basic - no extras included. Plus a stair case to upper rooms which was interesting!!

    The location was excellent, close to everything, able to walk to all major sights. Also close to station- all very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    It was quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking didn’t exist. But staff helped us find free parking. Which was very nice.

    It was quaint. Staff were great. The town was fun to walk in. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    One of the best Italian hotels we've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant only open for breakfast. Bar is a bit soulless.

    Spotlessly clean, smallish room with extremely comfortable bed and spacious en suite facilities. Extremely helpful and enthusiastic staff. Terrific breakfast. Hotel is in an ideal spot for able-bodied travellers - a 10 minute pleasant stroll to the edge of the old town and 20 mins to the Campo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Location was perfect as a base to explore the Tuscany. It was also just 10min walk from old town Siena so it had best of both worlds. Staff was amazing, Davide really went the extra mile to help us with our requests. Good hotel, value for money with parking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not alot of parking but only had a rent a car one day so not really an issue.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. The breakfast was great as well. Our room had a fabulous balcony, just unfortunate it rained mostly when we were there. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and offered excellent suggestions for places to eat close by . Breakfast was excellent . Location fantastic .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely family room with comfortable beds and mini fridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could’ve had a second pillow each and aircon (had to close the window to lock out the pedestrian crossing beeping noise which was a bit like a morning alarm! So it got a bit hot.)

    Lovely family room with comfortable beds and mini fridge (bar fridge which you could use for something small). Breakfast was great with good choice and nice coffee and pancakes for the kids! Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One suggestion would be a shower curtain as it is not easy to keep water from getting on the floor. Also some English Channel on the TV.

    The pleasantness of ALL the staff. The breakfast was amazing - plenty of choices. The room was spotless. Location - escalator access from railway station and close to gates of old town. Bus stop at door going into old town. Able to spend time in comfort in lounge on our day of departure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Friendly service, clean rooms, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful service from Davide and Giulia, at the front desk. So many choices for breakfast, and very fresh. Loved the free parking. Location was perfect for walking to the Piazza. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A lovely base to explore Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor niggle - I thought the breakfast room could have been arranged better, there was a bit of a log jam around the coffee at times.

    The room was at the back of the hotel and lovely and quiet at night. There was a really nice balcony but once or twice the chairs blew over in the night and made a terrific racket. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee excellent. All the staff were wonderful and were brilliant ambassadors for the hotel. The hotel is very well located near the train station, you have to go up the hill on a series of escalators. It is a fair walk to the centre of Siena from the hotel so maybe not a good choice if you have limited mobility. However we appreciated the quiet and loved the walk through the town at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast - especially when you are travelling with kids. Great choice overall for Sienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clogged. Although we didnt have the time to complain and give the property manager a chance to resolve as we just stayed one night. Parking temporarily for luggage was a bit challenging but that is due to its great location walkable to porta.

    Breakfast, proximity to “Porta” into the historic center. Had bicycle parking onsite without any fees. Parking was not included but there was option to street park and was easy to find spots if you are willing to walk a little. Bicycle rental was convenient but its open hours was a challenge as it closes in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't have alot of choice but managed to pick something

    The property was in a great location, it was beautiful and it was really clean. Staff were really friendly too. I would recommend and stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Handy location to the train station and short distance away from the main Siena centre. Staff were really friendly. Good selection of food for breakfast.Loved the little pancake maker.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    nice people and nice facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it will be better if room air could be refreshed more powerfully

    good location,very near to the railway station, friendly staff and nice breakfast. the room is clean, the bathroom is very well equipped

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing. I could hear the guests conversation in the room next door and they weren’t talking particularly loudly

    The white chocolate fondue at breakfast was delicious. Dipped my lovely pastries in it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous.would recomend to all.wish we were able to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Exceeded our expectations. Staff very happy and friendly. Provided a free map and marked /Recomended places to visit/see.nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place, great staff!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found some amenities dirty. When we said this to the staff, they were really concern and give us additional amenities and excuses. As I say... the place is great.

    the breakfast didn't included beacon... however was great. The staff is really friendly and helpful. I’ve been in this hotel 2 times with my wife and daughter, and my wife and daughter two or three times more. It’s a really god please.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is really nice, we have been there 3 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the facilities are not so comfortable if you have some time of disability. However, we were there with our baby without problems.

    The hotel is really nice, we have been there 3 times. Every time was great. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    What a wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a wonderful hotel! Its outlook is simply, inside is beautiful every corner. Room is big enough and comfortable. Breakfast is prefect, lots of choice. The location is also prefect, the bus stop just in front of the door, the train station just 10mins by escalator, old city take 20mins by walk. All staffs are very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely, close to the center and very helpful professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was an extra 10 euros and was limited, we parked on the street after driving round the block a few times but the area seemed very safe.

    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and spoke excellent English, the hotel was extremely clean and well maintained, our room was spotless. The bar was lovely and breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing! The location is close to the train station (to get to the hotel, go inside the mall right in front of the station, and get the stairs to the city). The staff was extremely nice, very helpful!! The accommodation was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was amazing!! Nothing to complain about, a perfect stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little noisy because other guests seemed to think it was a corridor with no rooms along it. After the first night I spoke to the staff about it and there were no other rooms of my type available but they said they'd speak to other guests about the noise and it was quieter after this.

    Breakfast buffet Friendly and helpful staff BBC and CNN, two English channels of TV so I could catch up on current events

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Staff with Customer Focus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Temperature control of room difficult. Even with assistance of staff when the thermostat was turned down it quickly rose again to 25 degree celcius which was quite uncomfortable. Fortunately the windows opened to provide relief.

    Good location easy access to train station and old town. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable. Included breakfast more than adequate

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location with lovely staff and very clean & comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish you could get lunch/supper too. Or at least room service snacks.

    Very friendly, professional & knowledgeable staff. Fantastic breakfast with good vegan options along with wide range of regular choices. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A hotel worth coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel has a rather big and well equipped therefore comfortable bathroom. The free parking space behind the hotel saved us some parking fees. City center is within walking distance. With the price we paid, a free breakfast made our stay a pure pleasure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice, vegan friendly hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, close to Siena Train Station and 15min by walking to top city center (Duomo). Very friendly and helpful stuff. Nice, clean rooms. Vegan options for breakfast! The stuff is very accurate and helpful to provide it for you. Just mention that you want vegan breakfast during reservation in the field for “special requirements”. Everything was perfect! I warmly recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    We love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was in good condition, the bathroom are clean and well equipped and the breakfast buffet was amazing! They even have a machine to make pancakes! For the money we paid this was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're a light sleeper, you could hear the beeping from the pedestrian outside on the main road (we stayed in the annex) But I'm sure if you mention it to staff they'd allocate a quiet room. It didn't bother us.

    Great hotel for our one night stop over in Siena. Easy access from train station... Literally just up a few escalators in a shopping centre. Clean. Great staff and 10 minute walk down the hill into town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    We booked a room for four (4) adults and two (2) babies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room for four (4) adults and two (2) babies. The bedroom wasn't big enough, but the shower/wc was spacious. To be honest, a receptionist had contacted me several days ago and had proposed to upgrade our room, but I refused because of the extra cost. If I had knew that the receptionist would be so helpful and honest, I would have listened to her. The hotel is in a perfect location, just 20 min walk from the Piazza del Campo. The breakfast was delicious and full of choices. It is worth mentioning that you can choose between several salty and sweety dishes and there are also plenty of home-made sauces. Last but not least, the reception is always there to help you and you can trust them for every question/doupt you have. Their recommendations are invaluable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Great value, great location and welcoming staff , pleasant facilities. Altogther fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had a very pleasant stay in Hotel Italia, Siena. The hotel is convenient located within walking distance of city centre. The staff were exceptionally courteous, friendly and helpful. Our room was an upgrade on the one we booked which was a nice surprise. It was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious. Everything about this hotel was excellent. I would recommend it most highly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at Hotel Italia in Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Can't think of a thing!

    We loved Hotel Italia!! The staff is fantastic--everyone very friendly and helpful and good natured. Our room was excellent--we even unexpectedly had a balcony. It was so nice to have an elevator after all the stairs we encountered on this trip. We were amazed at how fantastic the cleaning service was--fresh pillow cases daily, it seemed, and fresh sheets every other day (we spent 8 nights here). Fresh towels daily. The room was always clean when returned from our daily forays. The breakfast was also amazing--many options both hot and cold! I hope we have a chance to return to Hotel Italia in Siena (such a beautiful city) soon. Oh, also, although the hotel is not within the city walls, we walked to Il Campo and all the other sights daily with no problems. Also, as taxis were on strike when we arrived at the train station, we were lucky to being staying at this hotel, as all that was required was taking the escalators to the top of the hill , turning right and walking 50-75 meters! One other things--the toiletries were great and so cute!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    A great hotel with friendly staff in an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay at Hotel Italia. The rooms were large and clean with a lot of character, and the breakfast was fantastic. The hotel staff (24hrs) were very friendly and helpful - they provided us with a dinner suggestion which turned out to be one of the best meals of our trip. The hotel location is very convenient, only a few minutes from the top of the escalators (leading directly from the train station), and a short walk to the city wall. A great value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Lovely intrpduction to Siena. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was surprisingly comfortable. We slept like babies. The decor theme throughout had an original and hip vibe in an old world setting. The staff was wonderful and friendly, especially Francesca at the front desk who steered us towards a great restaurant for dinner. 10 minute walk to the gates to the magnigicent historic centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, friendly hotel good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was harder than I liked.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakdast had many options. Nice clean hotel with close access to transportation and city attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Awsome breakfast the best on our trip, huge variaty of food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are nice but a little outdated, parking is very safe but small,its is relatively close to the city centre, around 20 minutes walking without stoping till the main square

    Awsome breakfast the best on our trip, huge variaty of food, all fresh and very tasty, hot white chocolate for toping was extraordinary, very kind and helping personel,hotel is easy accesible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    We would definitely recomment Hotel Italia to our traveling friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have a great breakfast buffet, a great way to start a morning of sightseeing and walking. Great customer service but we would like to especially recognize Francesca and Davide. They were extremely friendly!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    They accommodated our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very tight parking lot.

    The staff were very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning to drop off a car, catch a taxi & get to a location to start a bus tour. They accommodated us by allowing us to leave the car and luggage at the hotel. Although the parking lot attached to the hotel is secure, it is a feat to get in and out, moving vehicles around. However, this is Italy where space in the cities is at a premium.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A delightful place from which to experience Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub floor was very slippery and one needed to be very careful getting in and out of the shower.

    The lounge area was light and inviting. The location was an easy 7 escalator ride from the train station and just down the block. The staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel , so close to the old city and the escalators to the train station. Highly recommen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fantastic.

    Bed comfortable, staff very accommodating and welcoming. Room clean and fresh. Great big balcony which was a surprising bonus. Renovated bathroom. We had an early start on departure day before the normal breakfast time andstaff were happy to provide us with hot drink and croissant to help us on our way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    A stone throw away from the leaning tower in Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking! Parking! Parking! While the hotel did give us a 'park and display' ticket which allowed us to park a few blocks away, I would recommend anyone travelling by car to rather leave your car at the nearest rental agency and use a taxi to the destination. The WI FI was also not up to standard. The hotel interior décor and layout is due for a slight update I think.

    You can't get any closer to the leaning tower than from this location! Breakfast was good although on the light side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good on gluten free options on foods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    access to our room involved going up and down steps

    Very good on gluten free options on foods Pleasant hotel c 1.5 km from city centre; staff helpful and chatty. comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Siena is a stunning place made all the better by our stay in this wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Italia is a very special little gem in Siena! A very easy walk with luggage from the train station to their door. Hotel is lovely, staff very welcoming and friendly and helpful! Standard rooms are good size, well decorated and very clean with a lovely private shower room/bathroom. Buffet style breakfast was very well stocked with both hot and cold options and lots of drinks choices too! Fabulous hotel, excellent value for money!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Nice to have a balcony .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nicer to have a larger parking spot since our car was larger than most of the cars.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. It was nice to have parking right by the hotel . Great breakfast with lattes and warm Nutella for the pancakes. It was close enough to the City Centre so that we could walk -about 15 minutes .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Only one word is necessary-unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hotel was very well located and near to the station. However, having said that also very close to the old town and the city centre. The staff were excellent especially Davide and his two colleagues. They were very helpful, polite and extremely professional. Nothing was a problem for them! The breakfast was "tremendous" and my wife and myself both rated the hotel 10/10. We would definitely return because it's the kind of hotel that makes you want to do that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    A perfect place to stay and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on a main road so there may be some noise at rush hours, and it's some way out from the Piazza del Campo and the other main attractions. (This has the benefit of fewer tourists nearby, and lower restaurant prices. There's also a bus service to the other side of the old town, which could help.)

    The best thing about this hotel is the welcome and enthusiasm of all the staff, who were always ready to help. That said, the building is light and modern, the room was spotless and comfortable, and there is little that could be improved. The hotel is about 5 minutes' walk from the old town gate and on the same level as the old town, which is on a hilltop. The railway station is in the valley below but there is a very thoughtful multi-stage escalator (la Risalita) from the shopping centre opposite the station right to the top. Couldn't really ask for more!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay. The Duomo is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The hotel is located about 100m from the stairs to the station. We didn't know that the station is about 60m below the town street level. This means you travel up about 8 levels of escalators from the station to the street. At the top, turn right and walk about 100m to the hotel on the left side of the street. Its easy access, as long as all the escalators are working. Access to the old town gate is an easy walk from the hotel too, about 150m or so. Everything you want to see is inside the old town walls. So much to see. Good local restaurants along the main road inside the old gate. Our room was comfortable with a nice clean bathroom. Breakfast was very good, with vegan options clearly signed. We'll stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The staff were so lovely and friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely and friendly and very helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Great location walking distance to station down the escalator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    We only stayed one night in Siena. It's a beautiful old town. The hotel was great as was the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very convenient to the train station. That was great. It was just out of the old town. That was great. The ladies on the front desk were very helpful....really great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, staff was really friendly and helpful! Very close to the train station, you can even walk from the station to the hotel, if you enter the mall across the street and take the escalators all the way up! Close to everything! Just loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it!

    Rooms were lovely & bright. Bathroom very big. Buffet breakfast everything you could dream off! All staff were extremely friendly & helpful! Would recommend to anyone visiting Siena!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation close to the train station and old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that the breakfast room needs to be better organized. You have everything in the same corner which is continually congested. You need to put the coffee machine in one corner, away from the toaster where people are in line waiting for both. The toaster was useless even after passing the bread through twice. The plates were also stuck in the same corner blocked by people waiting for the toaster to cook.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We chose this Hotel for the location which was perfect. It is close to the train station (via taking the escalators to the top) and to the old town wall. It is also close to the bus stop where the number 130 took us directly to San Giamangano in 65 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking fees

    Nice hotel, decent size room for family of 4. The breakfast was not great but ok. It was walking distance to the Siena city center. I will not mind coming back to this place as it was very clean. The parking was not that easy. They should give it free, why make customers pay extra for that? Not many people bring a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up early by bins being emptied but oupside hotels control

    Very comfortable spacious room. Parking on site a welcome bonus. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel on the edge of the old town with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely hotel and the staff in particular were great! The breakfast was far better than we had anticipated and overall we were very impressed with the hotel and the pool at their sister hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    We stayed here for the Palio and it was perfect for walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here for the Palio and it was perfect for walking into the square and to lay the head. We didn't spend a lot of time here but when we were there the staff were really friendly and the room was really clean. We stayed in their biggest 'suite' room so I can't say for the other rooms but this was spacious and comfortable. We were on honeymoon and were staying at 5* hotels other than this one but we were still really comfortable here and it was just as clean as any of those hotels! Staff even friendlier! Also offered Gluten free options for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast provided lot of options, mostly sweet meals, unfortunatelly cheese was served in plate between ham, so not suitable for vegetarians and muslims.

    Very near to a train station and a shopping center. Hotel has theirown nice collections of cosmetic stuff.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Italia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: