Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel J and J 4 stars

Via di Mezzo 20, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50121 Florence, Italy

#224 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit better with more choice. Daily making up of the room did not always result in replenished goods such as tea and coffee! These are minor gripes because overall it was wonderful and we would gladly return.

    The staff were lovely, the room was stunning with its own balcony overlooking beautiful romantic views over the Florence rooftops, the location was excellent within short walking distance to the Duomo and other attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was in need of a coat of paint, curtains that were wide enough to cover the patio door & prevent the sun coming in at 6.30am, an extractor fan in the bathroom (or a way to open the window in there) & get rid of the dirty rug in the room! Chairs & tables ridiculously low for adults to eat breakfast at. Very limited choice of fruit at breakfast.

    Comfortable bed. Reception staff pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the room, but the heating system worked fine when in use. No elevator to the room. Bathroom inside room, but downstairs.

    Good Location, very nice house, good breakfast and very friendly personal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a bit plain.

    Extremely friendly and committed staff. Large room and bathroom. Situated in the middle of the city, so the walking distance to all main attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was outstanding. the location is on a quiet street, yet within walking distance of everything in the heart of Florence. the bathroom was amazing. the hotel had a beautiful courtyard for eating in or relaxing in. our room had it's own little courtyard patio. very charming place. the breakfast spread was outstanding. i'd definitely go back there or recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room that was given to me didnt have a proper window. the rooms are not sound proof and i could hear everything. the bed is squeeky too! it also didnt help that there was NO WORKING WIFI in my area of the hotel for the whole duration of my stay. it was dark in my room. not a lot of light coming in. horrible really..

    the parking arrangements were really good and i like the general ambience of the common area/ living room. very old, rustic and romantic. the staff was really nice and friendly which helped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best hotel I have stayed in a city break for along time

    Very comfortable pillows and bedding. Decor to the highest standard throughout the hotel. Very friendly staff and most helpful nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but nothing special.

    It was a pleasant stay however this was only after having to make a complaint. I had booked a double deluxe room which was stated as having a patio, which I had specifically required as my partner is a smoker. We had arrived post a long drive for a wedding the next day, and the room was not satisfactory to what I had paid for however upon returning back from dinner we had been upgraded to the King suite. This would be the kind of service I expect from years of travelling and from a boutique high end hotel. However the staff and service was second to non with assistance up and down the stairs etc and a lovely bar etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi function in the bath didn't work, and would have liked to be able to leave our suitcases in a more secure locker room after check-out (rather than simply in the hallway for everyone 5o see and potentially access).

    Loved the room, building, decor, courtyard, very friendly and accommodating staff (especially the lady who gave us useful places to visit in Florence).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is tricky to find and we definitely needed the help of satnav. Florence is challenging to drive in and the hotel is down a narrow street but with its own enclosed carpark which is fine once you find it with the assistance of the very helpful staff.

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely very old building close to the heart of Florence. High ceilings, airy, quiet aircon, lovely crisp bed linen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived for checking at 3pm it looked as if the breakfast tables had not been cleaned yet. Booking.com doesn't really specify what kind of view are we paying extra for and it is frustrating to find out later that it is only of the court yard below. I asked the receptionist about it, since she ha sent me an email to clarify it and it just set a bad tone with her that was impossible to shake off for the rest of the stay. I even felt uncomfortable when leaving the Hotel as she kept her words to a minimum and wasn't able to recover from our check in. It must be a lot of pressure for her because she is the face of the hotel and the one who has to answer to what ever is not up to part and These are things that wear off people. It could be changed by being more specifyinc on booking.com on the point of the view. I sure don't like complaining and she sure must feel embarrassed and under pressure and this may cause customer service to suffer.

    The cantilope melon for breakfast was a lovely surprise, it was a lovely buffet, very nice that it was included. The bathtub was fantastic. The decor of the bathroom with rock is superb, classy and cozy. The pillows where very fluffy and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast staff was lovely and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a walk from the action. Having to come down for a coffee as there is no room service. No English channels on TV.

    Loved the space in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor in the room was stunning and it was a luxury experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was perfect, near to all things you would need to be near too, including some amazing local restaurants! The hotel itself was beautiful, we had a large room that was clean. Overall a great stay - perfect if looking for romance too!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift but plenty of help with bags.

    Very well-updated townhouse. Good breakfast helpful staff. Off street parking is available. 10 mins walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first person at reception was not so helpful. Also the instructions from the SMN station to the hotel using local transportation (bus) could have been improved by including "take a right on street X" and then a "right on street Y' and when you come to a plaza with 3 street options, take the middle one that has road construction right now - we are after the construction. It looks a little off but we are located just after the construction on the right side.

    The staff who made coffee and served breakfast were OUTSTANDING! Very kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the major landmarks which is fine if you only leave once but if you plan on going back and forth after touring the city all day, it can seem a little far at times.

    Absolutely beautiful hotel with lovely courtyards! Breakfast was wonderful and larger than typical Italian breakfast. The updated bathrooms equipped with robes and slippers were very nice. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a gap between the bath and the shower screen so the floor got flooded (room 2)

    Location was perfect and easy to park. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is very old, not renovated. The floors are 400 years old and any movement can be heard. The plumbing system is probably original or at least 100 years old.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had other guests from the hotel trying to come into our room several times, and it was very unsettling. It was the start of our honeymoon. When we brought it up to the front desk they just said sorry we can't do anything, they didn't even give us any compensation. Once someone actually walked into our room, and then the next morning people tried to get in 3 different times!

    The hotel is pleasant and nice looking. Rooms are good and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning struggled in the heat & humidity we had during our stay.

    Very central location, friendly staff, comfortable & spacious room & great coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit for from the action, otherwise terrific.

    amazing rooms with a amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff and the service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vintage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet hotel in the downtown Florence

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our suite was very poor.

    The character of the hotel was a former thirteenth century convent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GReat historic hotel. Awesome location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More beautiful than comfortable Quite poor breakfast, but tasty

    Very beautiful, stylish, really Florence place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Staff and easy access to the heart of the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from guests checking in after eleven in the evening on the floor above and the wooden floors above making a lot of noise

    Service was outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was great. Breakfast was lovely. Rooms are amazing. Location is quiet and not far from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath taps were out of order Lace curtains had a tear in

    Interior was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple breakfast, not even fresh! Uncomfortable bed

    location and the fact that, it a very very old building makes it charming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed having a bath tub

    Our room was so quiet which is hard to find in that area. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable

    Lovely hotel with character

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lighting in the bathrooms was a bit dull, also the plug sockets I think must be an old Italian type so our adaptors didn't fit. We unplugged the fridge which had a modern converter that fitted our adaptor. I always like tea and coffee facilities in the room which this hotel didn't have.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was delicious and there was a wide choice. We liked the individuality of the hotel , it is tucked away down a side street so quiet and away from the crowds and traffic. We were upgraded to suites ( we had booked a twin and a double), the twin had more natural light and a view of the Duomo if you angled your head out of the window. A great hotel if you like character and individuality rather than the large faceless chains.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They need to check all of the light bulbs are working in the rooms and if the spa jets are broken in the bath they need fixing.

    A lovely hotel, very well presented with a great breakfast thrown in. Interesting decor and the staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, great location just minutes from the action. The curly haired girl on reception went way beyond the call of duty, she was so helpful in helping us with restaurants, booking trips etc, nothing was too much bother. The guys looking after breakfast and bags were great too!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad, just location is a little far from the duomo. But it's Florence every thing is in walking distance in the city.

    The breakfast is very good. The room is comfy and clean. Staffs are warm and helpful! Really enjoy staying here!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular when we missed breakfast they still provided some. The location is within easy walking distance of the main sights.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming staff. The hotel is in a great location; far enough out of the centre to ensure a good nights sleep, but just 10 minutes on foot to the heart of Florence. There's a great courtyard area full of plants for breakfast or drinks.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Airco couldn't get cold enough Not in the middle of the city centre Breakfast was average

    Atmosphere is great Unique, comfortable rooms Small, but cosy Nice building and patio Friendly staff Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the wifi was free it was virtually useless.

    The building is really quirky and full of character. Our room at the top of the building was huge. beautifully done & really comfortable. The continental breakfast had plenty of variety & was served in the gorgeous breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you want all the comforts of home, stay in the Marriot. But if you can handle some beautiful old stone stairs showing wear from many decades of use, originally by nuns, it's woderful. After all, the bell man carries your bags, and all you have to do is enjoy the charm!

    SO in the middle of things. The Duomo is a 5 minute walk away, as are a number of wonderful restaurants. Staff is incredibly helpful. Comfy, and absolutely charming.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was amazing, 5 minutes for Duomo and close to the best restaurants in the city. picked it by chance but is far better than the other side of the city (train station) nor the center (very busy & loud). store staff helpful and Decoration was beautiful. Comfortable experience without unnecessary luxury etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrive at the hotel, the first surprise was the 86 steps to go to our room (Room 10). The room is very old fashion, the heater is not enogth heat the room. The room don't have a blackout blinds, so you will wake up 6:30 with the sun light in your face. The carpet is terrible, don't looks so clean and smell mold.

    We didn't like nothing at all.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location terrific staff great room.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a cute and romantic hotel! They were very accomadting and kind. Great breakfast buffet!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

    The hotel and all the decoration Room was big Design bathroom

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower set up awkward with leak to floor. RM 2

    Liked everything but shower leaking. Laura is great. Property eminates simple understated elegance.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Design, location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea facilities in room, wifi not brilliant on top floor

    Location, quirky, traditional

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bath / shower slippery for a senior citizen.

    Hotel's historic character and furnishings.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Hotel J and J traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: