Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lussemburgo 2 stars

Via Bixio 70, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#724 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Not ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Shower very very very cold and the water slow. 2. Bathroom not clean and very small. 3. The bed it’s not comfortable. 4. Poorly soundproof.

    The location and the people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    I understand it was a budget accommodation, but it was still rough and I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was so small and the shower was barely big enough to stand in. The bed was really uncomfortable and every time the owners yelled (which was all the time) I could hear them in my room. There was a weird food smell all the time.

    The elderly couple who own the place are lovely and friendly, but they dont speak any English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    dissastified
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am disappointed that no one in this hotel speak English and the two elderly couple were racist I got to the hotel at 11pm with my booking receipt but they refuse to give me the key until 12.30 am claiming that my name is not on their list of guest and in the morning they refused to give me breakfast and my visitor were not allowed

    The bed and the room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Really good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really good hotel. Good breakfast - crossaint, bread, nutella, jam, honey, ham, cheese, eggs, no limit juice. Service clean your room everyday. They don't speak english but it's really funny speak with Them. We musn't buy the public transport tickets: 10minutes to Coloseum, 15-20minutes to another old roma buildings on foot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay with hospitable management in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you're looking for panoramic views from your bedroom, characterless 'corporate' décor or multi-lingual receptionists go elsewhere. If you want good, safe basic accommodation in a good location for sightseeing this is the place!

    The elderly couple who run the hotel are lovely people, very friendly and constantly cheerful. Breakfasts, while fairly basic, provided a great start to each day.The hotel is very handy for the metro, mainline trains/buses and Colosseum and Forums.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    I will definetly return. Good value for the paid money!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The biggest problem was the wifi (Internet). There were some instructions on the wall how to connect, but connection still wasn't working (probably they would need to reset the router). Although the truth is also, that I didn't bother my head with this stuff. Probably if I would say something they would repair the connection or provide me the password for another wifi signal. If you are an EU citizen and you are using just a simple messenger, email app and maps to navigate through the city, the data roaming of 160 transferred megabytes (MB) should be enough for a week and then the bill for transfer shouldn't be higher then 10 € if you also have unused package of MB at home mobile signal provider. And the roaming will be even cheaper in June 2017 (even free for calls and SMS). I also noticed that the TV wasn't working. But hey, who would watch the TV in such a beautifull city. The bed could be more comfortable and maybe the walls should be repainted. Also the neighbourhood near the Termini city doesn't looks very friendly, especially in the night. But I didn't have problems. Just walk and don't stop with the luggage till the hotel and you should be fine. I also didn't have problems later on when I returned late at night or early in the morning from the vicinity of Termini station. This kind of problems have all the big cities in the world so it shouldn't be such a drawback as it has better even better advantage (no need of taxi when you arrive). All in all those were very minor problems and can't overwhelm the advantages of this accomodation. A very, very good place for the paid money. I will definetly return.

    The location of hotel is very very good. You can easily access the Hotel from Termini train station, and access the sightseeing places later (for example Colosseum is very close, old Roman forum, Palatine hill, Piazza Venezia, also old town etc.). If you are a potential student who is still looking for the accomodation in the city, the University of Sapienza on the other side of the railway is also very close. Of course everything is accesible by foot. If you don't want to walk then the tram and city bus station is on the end of the street. The Metro station Vittorio Emanuelle is also in proximity. The Hotel staff (presumably senior couple) are extremely friendly and very understanding, although they speak little English. But no worries, as I said I have seen the guests who also didn't speak a word of English or Italian, but they still manage to understand each other with the Hotel staff. You will talk with hands in Italian way ;) For the paid price, the breakfast was very good (manually made coffe or tee, fruit juice, fresh bread, salami, nutella, honey, jam, store packed croissant and roulade). I liked the small and clean private bathroom. Heated room also had a big private terrace and the accomodation was in first floor, which was great. The sheets on the bed were clean, they provided towels and they cleaned the room and made the bed every day. All in all a very, very good place for the paid money. I will definetly return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    8.8
    splendid hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hostel and their landlords are just so nice that it makes this first rome trip perfect, as a vegetarian, several options were offered for breakfast. Really nice and authentic hotel, highly recommanded!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.3
    Not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for location, everything:(

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.4
    I have to give the keys to the owner before i go out of...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have to give the keys to the owner before i go out of the hotel ,i did not feel that i have my private .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok.

    Comfortable and quiet place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    They could do more than that at least at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast with old bread and bad coffee.

    Excellent location,very good wifi,they provide us all the necessary information.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.5
    Family running the hotel are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor

    Family running the hotel are nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.8
    The couple is very friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They don't speak English which was extremely inconvenient for me as I could not ask everything I wanted. Also I didn't have a key from the main door and all the time when I was coming back late I had rang the doorbell and woke them up. Felt uncomfortable a bit.

    The couple is very friendly and nice. Location is good, not far from colosseum. They are trying to do their best when hosting you. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    The location is good, just one stop from Termini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The old couple speak mainly Italian, so, if you do not understand Italian, there may be some communication problems.

    The location is good, just one stop from Termini. It is also very close to tube station, around 5-10 minutes walk. The room is clean, and the old couples are very nice. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Very nice hotel for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel for the price paid. The hotel needs a renovation in the furniture and bathrooms but for the price you cannot ask more than that. It was very nice and clean, 10 min walking from the colosseo with a metro station near the hotel and even the owners didn't speak English they were so nice and kind that it was not relevant. Is the kind of hotel that you kind of use to sleep and have breakfast. The breakfast is more than enough. I would be back there definitely!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Fairly good price and location.
    • Solo traveller

    A small hotel where English-speaking staff is not available at any hour, so you'd better know some Italian. Breakfast time range 8:00-9:30 maybe somewhat narrow (desires could vary between business days and weekends) but I didn't try to ask for a special time. Bottom of desk drawer was quite worn out, but I didn't need it and there were other drawers.

    Fairly good price and location. Breakfast with bread (ham, sausage, cheese), croissant, omelette etc. is fully sufficient though not as many options as in a big hotel. Room fully functional and clean. Had air conditioning, TV and Europlug electrical socket (not the older Italian three-hole).

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    The hosts are a fantastic couple, always trying to help and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms need a little remodelation. The walls are old and worn.

    The hosts are a fantastic couple, always trying to help and making us feel comfortable! The location was great, near two metro stops and a walking distance to collosseo. The breakfast was wonderful with hot beverages, juice, bread, cakes, jam, butter and an omelete that signora Lucia does! Nhamiii.. so tastifull! I recommed this hotel and for sure I will be staying there next time :)

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    Excellent hosts, don't speak English but try...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hosts, don't speak English but try nevertheless, so hospitable with lovely freshly made treats for breakfast each day! Comfortable rooms and facilities and perfect location for all the sights.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    6.7
    Big bed, quiet neighborhood close to metro Manzoni and tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is old and a little smelly, breakfast was limited and noone speaks/understands English and that makes it really hard to communicate or to ask information.

    Big bed, quiet neighborhood close to metro Manzoni and tram lines.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff with limited English abilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not work, and host was not able to fix it. No service to call to. But there is another wifi conncetion that requires google+ or facebook account for login, which alledgedly works. A bit far from the station.

    Friendly staff with limited English abilities. Late breakfast, but host made me some earlier anyway. Cheap.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Small, cosy and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Disturbed by owner's loud talking at times during day or night.

    Small, cosy and quiet location.o

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.7
    Friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very tiny shower. Noise at night.

    Friendly people. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.2
    Location, very funny hosts and always willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, very funny hosts and always willing to help

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.9
    Staff were very personable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ron essere tiny

    Staff were very personable.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    The hosts are very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hosts do not speak English.

    The hosts are very kind. Great location. (10 min walk to Termini station) Reasonable price for a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.6
    The host were exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor hotel And too expensive for there value

    The host were exellent

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower

    Location, cleanliness and staff

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: