Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Machiavelli Palace 3 stars

Via Nazionale 10, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#270 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3574 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location, friendly helpful staff & the room terrace. Topped off with the gorgeous rooftop bar & terrace. Breakfast great. Complimentary bottle of red Tuscan wine to taste.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee from machine was not very good.

    Staff were very helpful the fridge was not working and it was replaced immediately. We were given helpful directions to places of interest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The plumbing was rather noisy; I had to wear earplugs but that's the only bad thing about the hotel and it's a very common occurrence everywhere. It wouldn't prevent me from staying here again.

    High ceiling and quiet a/c kept the room cool. Breakfast was good for Italy especially the croissants, cake and fresh fruit. Roof terrace and bar with a great view. Close to the railway station so handy to get back early to Pisa airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired hotel with rude unhelpful staff. A hotel that is relying on its past reputation and needs to refocus on customer service. Complaints made during stay that were not addressed even at check out three days later. Not worth the very high room rates.

    Location apart nothing stands out about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely hard and old. We could feal the springs inside the mattress. They need to upgrade the chairs, mattress and comforter.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi didn’t work, the lift was iffy at times, the bathroom is TINY and the rooms are very old.

    A nice rooftop and they gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice but property next door doing construction was a little noisy. Not enough to complain about though.

    Great location-close to a lot of things including restaurants, bars and shops. Train station a few minutes away by foot. Good breakfast, clean room and nice rooftop lounging area. Only negative was the property next door is doing a major renovation and there is some noise in the morning when they start work. Hotel M cannot help this. It is a nice property in good locale and we would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel dated and building work in process -so noisy. Our bedroom had ants coming in from the terrace, so moved rooms for a cleaner room, but had scaffolding outside the windows. the roof top bar was closed on first night- no reason given.

    Great location, close to station and many restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms, in need of updating and a bit of TLC. It did the job but we wouldn’t stay again.

    The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and it was very well located for both the centre and the train station. Nice roof terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The views from our own balcony were amazing (506) The staff were very nice Breakfast kept us going for hours and was tasty Nice old Italian style hotel Location was one the best I’ve had next to train station and also the big ticket attractions. Returned to room on the last night of our stay to find a thank you letter and bottle off vino which was very nice and thanks to the staff. In all my years travelling staying in good and bad hotels I’ve never had such a kind gift. It was very appreciated yummy 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building renovations next door. Breakfast - no hot options.

    Decor, good size room even tho a single, good aircon, fabulous location for station and major attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very tired hotel needs a lot of TLC. Never saw bar open (came back at 10pm bar shut) Roof top bar not open until June (this is not commented on in your description) Breakfast absolutely mad and crowded no where to sit comfortably. Room small with very old furniture.

    Bathroom very clean and housekeeping good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor and furniture in the rooms are extremely dated. There was a bad smell in the bathrooms at all times. The beds were very uncomfortable and the breakfast was just average compared with others we experienced in Italy. The owner needs to spend money to overcome the tiredness of this Hotel.

    The hotel is very convenient located to the main Florence Railway Station and the main tourist areas such as the Duomo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The construction workers woke us up early in the morning so that was a bummer but I'm sure it will look lovely when they are finished. If you like to sleep in, ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel. The staff will be more than happy to make your stay enjoyable.

    The staff was extremely helpful. Our first room was too small for 4 people so they moved us to a much larger room that was beautiful with a large updated bathroom and they gave us two bottles of complimentary wine. The breakfast was also very good and included in our room rate. Also, we were close to the train station and historical sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do we start, photos do not represent the hotel; dirty, noisy, smelly, etc. If you have children windows very dangerous

    Only thing we liked was proximity (walking distance) to all Florence has on offer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in all the hallways are stained and need cleaning

    Was not what we expected compare to the photos online. The building is poorly maintained, broken glass door and stained carpets...needs a good steam clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were weird(up and down stairs)to get to room...not a great view..

    Breakfast offered was awesome and a great start to the day! I thought there was a terrace to enjoy breakfast but there wasnt...a bit dated decor and rooms were ok...not much scenery....it was centrally located and easy to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very sparsely furnished and the shower is so small that it was virtually impossible to move inside it and certainly impossible to bend down! The coffee at breakfast was coloured water! Not value for money!

    The location was superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower door was broken and the drain clogged. Bed was very uncomfortable. Construction going on directly above our room so morning were not relaxing.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were outdated and the sliding curtain around the shower was difficult to move.

    The bed was very comfortable, the AC was perfect, and it was in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from station, great location very close to everything. Nice breakfast had an early morning tour one day and front desk grabbed us some just cooked croissants as breakfast started later. We extended our stay by 2 nights without an issue and kept us in same room. Great view from the rooftop bar. Lots of restaurants near and market stalls around the corner. If looking for great food try Trattoria Pizzeria Nerone Firenze around corner best beef goulash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was excellent!!! The accommodations were very nice and the breakfast certainly exceeded our expectations. I would definitely staff here if in the area again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For me the bed was too hard and the furnishings were a little old and tired.

    The hotel was in a great location. It was 15 minutes walk from the railway station and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy during breakfast and very limited service from staff.

    Great location and a 5 minute walk to the train station. Staff at the from desk were very helpful with booking tours and advising on what to do in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be only the issue the Roof is closed for the night - no chance to drink a glass of wine there.

    Perfect place. Whery easy to get anywhere (Firenze is no so huge). Breakfast is standard. Please, do not have big expectations. But it is.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t have soap dish, so I bought my own. There was no toilet tissue holder. RUDE kitchen staff. They were already putting away the food as some folks were still getting some - and no, breakfast hour was not over yet. I asked for hot water and kitchen lady was rude to answer. What a way to ruin my day. Pictures of the buffet on internet is nothing like what was actually served. I don’t eat meat, so there was a day they didn’t serve eggs. I didn’t want to ask for eggs to avoid rude lady ruining my day and especially my stay.

    Meh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is very central, walking distance from main train station and top attractions are just on walking distance. Room and Bathroom was spacious for family and baby cot was also provided. Market is around the hotel and main market is just behind the hotel. Staff was helpful and speak English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less than 10 min walk from train station & close to all attractions Friendly professional staff great view from high floors with decks & amassing 6 floor terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was spacious with great views, the staff were very welcoming including complimentary biscuits and wine on arrival, you can't beat the location, only a nice short walk to cathedral and the train station, many different restaurants nearby and it was convenient to have a supermarket right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of street noise but earplugs will take care of that

    Breakfast was very very good. Fruit. And meats and cheese. Nice. And clean. Lots of people cleaning tables in between people Had a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was newly remodeled but would not drain- water went all over the floor. Construction started at 6am and no one informed us.

    They give you bath robes and slippers which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were beyond outdated and poorly kept up. Cheap, old, mismatched furniture. No place to sit or really even move in the room. Bathroom poorly upkept - clogged sink and malfunctioning shower. Zero atmosphere and not very comfortable.

    Excellent location. 5 minutes, or less, walk from the train station, and a few minutes walk to the Cathedral. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent (basic but adequate). Place was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't told there was a roof terrace. A fellow guest told us on the last evening. The pillows were like bricks.

    Central location within easy reach of railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not air conditioned, despite the website saying it was,and was very hot. There were also building works taking place in the hotel, directly above our room. Staff were unhelpful. Would never recommend hotel to anyone.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of staff had no people skills and it was an effort to get them to do anything ... I add not all staff

    Very clean and comfortable hotel in perfect location. Breakfast excellent, good roof terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like smoke in the hallways and rooms. Furniture was dated and falling apart. Located close to the train station but pretty far from nice Florence locations.

    Only real good thing about this property was the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating particularly in the communal areas. Reception staff could be abrupt and breakfast was not always replenished before the end of service.

    Room was large and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was clean however desperately needed refurbishing: wall finishing and painting, special focus on bathroom (door very difficult to close, seal around bathtub really bad ...). We were also dissapointed with breakfast: limited choice and very "international" (croissant, ham and basic cheese), very limited space and very often crowded (queing to get the seat). Coffee however was very good. For tea drinkers very small cups available only.

    We appreciated very nice and helpful hotel staff. The location is very convenient, in the walking distance to the main attractions; at the same time a little bit aside of the main tourist stream.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high for quality.it was

    We enjoyed the rooftop area where we got a drink and saw a beautiful view of Florence, way nicer than at street level. Down side was the noise from construction on outside of building just below the rooftop. There was no information or guidance about going up to the rooftop...I happened to ask about the bar area and was directed up to the rooftop!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was very small, and a fat person would not have been able to get into the bath/shower.

    Great roof garden with view over the city, walking distance from the railway station, easy walk to the old sites of Florence. Very nice breakfast with wide variety. Great medieval-style paintings on the walls

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise level, on occasions, due to building work on the street. This, of course, is beyond the control of the hotel and should not be a permanent problem.

    the roof terrace and very approachable, friendly staff. the location was great for the sites, amenities and travel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very congested. The temperature was high in end April, but they did have the option of putting on the air conditioning. Room was like a furnace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos in room No air-conditioning or fan , window opened in courtyard with construction Shower too awkward not a commercial one Definitely not a 3 star hotel

    Big rooms Reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BEDBUGS!!! I have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels, hostels and guest houses around the world and this is my first encounter with bedbugs. My wife noticed multiple bites after we checked out. As I learned from Google, bites continue to appear several days after you are bitten and that was the case here. There was no other possible location for her to have been bitten. The breakfast area was crowded and service items, such as cups and flatware were often gone, as were many food items during the last hour. A big problem is the coffee service; there are two single-serve machines to provide coffee during breakfast. During our stay usually one machine was in and out of service. One morning both machines broke down and one of the servers made coffee at the espresso machine in the bar. Given the fact that both Italians and Americans, among many others, like their morning coffee this is a problem that the management really should address.

    The front of house staff was really friendly and helpful. The location is great, located close to the central train station and major sites. We received a complementary small bottle of wine the night before we checked out, which was appreciated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities No AC No Kettle No Iron

    No aircon was there. While booking the list of available facilities list air-conditioning however on arrival it's updated it's not working because of some hotel and some other public issues. The major disappointment is they don't even have fans to provide to guests. The only option is to open window and sleep else you won't be able to sleep as it's too much hot in there. As per hotel management , the AC will not be working till 2nd June. Travellers please check before you book

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable but airless and very hot. We opened the window which looks over a Main Street in Florence which brought in some fresh but polluted air. Also it brought in noise! We asked them to turn on the air conditioning as the room was stifling without the open window. They said NO so we had trouble sleeping with the street noise of cars, trucks and people until the wee hours of the morning. Closing the window made the room way too hot. Frustrating!

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and the breakfast outstanding. Great location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were lots of ants in the bedroom and in the bathroom. The decoration wasn't good.

    The staff was friendly and the hotel was near to train/bus station and the attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Air Conditioning wasn't working. There was no Electric Kettle in the room. We asked for one, the one we sent was faulty and wound up electrocuting me. I asked for an iron, the staff said no can't do...have to give clothes at the reception for ironing a day in advance. No such thing was mentioned at the receiption.

    The location is v good. The rooms are large and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and the breakfast was done and dusted by 10am which is hard on weekends with a child.

    We had heard good things about the location which were all true- it was unfortunate construction was going on next door and on the top floor of the hotel- it was sooooo noisy it was insane.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in room could have been better only hand held shower / excited to see jacuzzi bath but didn’t work .

    Location good - noisy but to be expected given in centre of Florence.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noisy building work going on with scaffolding in our balcony. The lady on reception was extremely rude when we were checking out as we had a query with the bill. (Didn't realise city tax had not come out when we paid through booking.com)

    Good location, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor areas were shabby

    Shabby Chic would be the best way to describe this hotel. We experienced a sharp intake of breath when we entered. Nevertheless, the room was very comfortable , clean and cosy. Corridor areas need upgrading. Staff so friendly and helpful. They were so polite and helpful and made our stay in Florence so happy. Thanks for this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi is UNSECURED. Safari would not allow access to emails on Ipad so we had to go to local restaurant. Chose this hotel for ROOF TERRACE which we never saw because it's CLOSED until June! Reserved quiet room for 6 nights but offered shabby room with dirty floor and old dilapidated furniture. They swopped it for nice room on 4th floor but hotel would not turn on air conditioning so extremely uncomfortable and couldn't sleep (outside temperatures went up to 24 degrees)! Couldn't open door to balcony for long because of noise and pollution from busy road below. Builders on 5th floor from 8am to 7pm every day including Sunday (6pm) drilling and hammering. We made early complaints but never resolved. Could also hear people in adjoining rooms. Lift very slow. Staff made lots of fuss about our requests to warm croissants (our preference), insisting they were warm when they were cold. On leaving we were told Italian law prevented them turning on air-con at this time of year yet people we met in other hotels did have air-con! Also told we could have left earlier in stay and they would have helped us find another hotel - no time for this on 72 hour Firenze card and other trips planned. Website states there is wifi, air-con and a roof terrace- simply not true for our visit!

    The location was good for visiting all areas of interest on foot and close to the station (although currently major repairs to roads around station causing congestion and noise).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were extremely disappointed with our stay at this hotel. We had been looking forward to it based on previous reviews and the promise of a beautiful roof terrace with views of the city. On arrival, the terrace was closed for maintenance. There was clearly extensive work being carried out in the hotel, directly above our room, as well as across the small courtyard directly behind our room. Our bedroom window was covered by scaffolding. At 8am each day we were woken by the dreadful and relentless noise of drilling concrete both from the building behind and from the terrace work above. Not only this, but the air conditioning was broken in the hotel and the room was uncomfortably hot. We were so disappointed that the hotel hadn’t attempted to eat in touch to let us know about the building work or the air conditioning situation - what was supposed to be a relaxing city break for myself and my partner turned out to be quite different. We felt we couldn’t return to the hotel for any respite during the day as the noise was so bad. Please understand that myself and my partner are really easy going customers and rarely complain. We just feel that others planning to stay here should have an opportunity to find out whether the renovation work is ongoing before booking. Had there not been all the work and broken air con this would have been a decent place to stay, with. I’ve staff in a good location. But in all honestly, I’d really advise avoiding this hotel until the works are completed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner not working, have to open the window. Noisy as besides the street with window opened. Small room, small bed, very small shower enclosure,

    Near the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very outdated, staff was rude, shower was a cubicle. Breakfast was horrible ! Beds were so uncomfortable

    The only thing we like was the location. .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so uncomfortable and mattresses were incredibly hard; we could not sleep and lost 5 nights of rest. Not good at all. Rooms were too hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is older and the bed was not very comfortable. However it was a good for one night.

    The location as great and I felt as though it was a safe location with lots of families staying here. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious! There was a wide selection of eggs, meats, and coffee beverages. The room was large and very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooftop terrace was undergoing repairs and was closed when we were there. It was one of the reasons I booked this hotel. However, we did enjoy the hotel and would stay there again

    The pictures of the rooms were totally accurate. They staff was very accommodating and helpful. I would stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel is much more old-fashioned than it looks on photos. Some interior things are old in bad way, and walls + corridors are simply old. - too expensive talking about price vs value ratio. I know this is Florence, but anyway. Those rooms must be way cheaper, or the whole hotel should be completely refurbished instead.

    - great location, it’s unbeatable - clean and tidy bathroom - room service was also good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel generally needs a bit of modernisation. Older staff on reception not particularly friendly and they need training in learning to smile at their guests, be more welcoming and making guest feel valued.

    Continental breakfast was good. Comfortable if spartan room - we had the junior suite. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the first night, the heat did not work. The next day we talked to the receptionist and he sent a guy to fix it in about 5 minutes. They said it was some kind of problem in all the hotel with the heat. The guy did something at the control panel and the heat started to work, but not at full capacity. The hot water also was poor. They said it was because of the same problem like the heat. The light in the room was very poor. Also we had almost no natural light from outside, through the window. The TV was very small, but that was not the main problem. Every time we wanted to change the channel we had to get up from the bed, because the remote did not worked properly.

    The location is great. It was close to the train station and close enough to the main touristic objectives. The breakfast was great. The staff was kind. We also liked that we had the possibility to let our luggage at the hotel from the check-out until afternoon when had the train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very close to Santa Maria Novella train station, a few minutes away from Duomo and other attractions traditional, cosy room with very comfortable bed great breakfast friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom super small even for asian size people ! cant imagine how a big european can squeeze in the bath ! no hot water pot in room ! no bin in the room, only has a tiny tiny bin in the bathroom for rubbish ! not even provide guest with a box of tissue ! poor breakfast ! poor staff !

    good location !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location as it is within easy walking distance from the train station. Around the corner from the hotel are numberous good restaurants, and of course the wonderful leather market of San Lorenzo. All the main points of sightseeing in Florence are all easy walking distance. Breakfasts were good and our room was nice and quiet and I particularly liked the small frescoes in the public areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the street fri-sat nights.

    Excellent location close to historical sites and museums in the Old Town. Great places to eat nearby. Roof terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with new carpets throughout

    Good breakfast buffet selection, excellent views from bathroom and balcony, very close to train station and main attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet Room and had 2!! Construction sites nearby. The Hotel renewed one level and didnt write anything online about construction works

    Central, you can reach everything by Foot in Short time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, the rooms are not like the pictures at all, very small room very small bathroom, the bed is very uncomfortable, I have to ask twice to change my pillows because they are so hard . Generally is not a clean and nice place , staff not friendly I would not recomend another people to make the same mistake as me!!

    Is near to the train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didnt include a lot of fruits varieties Couldn't style my hair because of the old dryer + shampoo is horrible The cable tv didn't work

    Very freinddly staff and good management. They could resolve any incident and turn it to a happy event Our family room was spacious hardwood flooring well furnished with nice colors Very nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi kept dropping in and out - maybe a signal problem. The water pressure wasn’t great although the bathroom was nice. Functionally ok.

    Great location. Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard time figuring out how to open the door....lol cos we are all use to the card system.

    HUGE room with antique wardrobe cupboards. Buffet is normal like the other hotels....dont expect a grand version. Its also very near to the main terminal stn....about 300mtrs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area is a bit small

    We loved the “feels” of this Hotel. It is not new or modern-type but it doesn’t look old either. The staffs are friendly and helpful. We extended our stay last minute since we really liked the location (3-minute walk to train station, bus station and close to grocery stores where water is cheap!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Squeaky bathroom door, poor basin plug and no soap dish in the shower.

    Fantastic room with separate mezzanine with 2nd TV and sofa + fridge!! Separate wardrobe/Dressing Room, and comfortable bathroom. Even gave a free half bottle of wine on the last night in the room!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were left without shampoo, soap and clean towels twice. There were constant noise from the outside vents.

    Nice location, close to railway station and main attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Machiavelli Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: