Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Martelli 3 stars

Via Panzani 8, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#330 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1031 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Great location, great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfasts. Since the weather was nice it was outside in the garden area. Beautiful. Garden area had nice seating all day. Great service from staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    For the budget conscious who can live without Wifi in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low water pressure in the mornings so my wife battled daily wish washing her hair. The main room also had a weird floor cover that would have been more appropriate around a swimming pool or in a bath room.

    Close to train station and centrally located. Great rates given the location. Good air-conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    No expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms, only selected wifi zones outside of room. I had to go 2 floors down for connection. Breakfast was unimpressive, only sweet pastries, bread and cereal. Not to mention a rude lady making coffee. It said toiletries supplied, but it’s only little soap and one sachet of body wash a day. Bring your own toiletries! No coffee in room supplied only tea, go figure.

    Hotel was very clean, location was great, and room size and bed was big (bathroom on the smaller size). Parking garage was just around the corner, so very convenient if driving.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    The upfront desk person was very helpful and friendly.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One must accept that the hotel is on a very busy street.

    The upfront desk person was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the train station and close to all major sites in Florence.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Very funtional hotel for a visit to Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One must accept that the hotel is on a very busy street.

    THE UPFRONT PERSON WHO GREETED US WAS VERY HELPFUL, CONSIDERATE AND FRIENDLY. EXCELLENT LOCATION TO THE TRAIN OR ANY MAJOR SITE IN FLORENCE.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Florence why a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your an internet addict you might miss WiFi I’m your room but they do have hot spots Sometimes it’s good to switch off

    Breakfast was brilliant and they will also make you a coffee of your choice just ask Picked location as travelled with my mum right round corner from train station and cathedral easy to find WiFi in select locations need to ask at reception for code Keys are left at hotel not a problem for me to do that They have a safe area near reception not that big boxes But okay for little items Let You leave your luggage once you have checked out It’s an oldie world kind of place but it’s got character and beds are comfy no noise at night we had a little balcony off the room as on the very top floor I wondered what I had booked when I read some of the reviews but I’m one to make my own mind up and it wasn’t a wow but for location and purpose it was. Quaint is how I would put it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Older hotel which needs modernization. Double glazing at a minimum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms. No double glazing. Lifts only to first floor and you must walk to other side of hotel to get other lifts to other floors. Separate codes for each device for the WiFi and WiFi strength not good at all and none excistant in most of the hotel

    Staff are excellent. We couldn't sleep the first night as there was a air-conditioning generator going outside our room for hours and 7 am the next morning building work started outside. We complained and where moved to another room however the problem was the same. No double glazing so noisy rooms from street. The reception staff are excellent and refunded the remainder of our stay and we booked a quieter hotel a short distance away

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor - hard to connect to, would keep getting kicked off. Shower - had to hold by hand as the shower rose support was broken (also ran out of hot water for shower). Raised this with staff and nothing happened.

    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Definitely would choose to stay there again. Just 4 floors with an elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only in one sitting area. Typical as in Europe, no washcloth like home, however they did have the small flat towels.

    The location is excellent to the train station and to the Duomo. About 2 blocks to each place from the Hotel Martelli. Breakfast was good :croissants, some plain and some with jelly inside, ham n cheese, cereals, juices, cookies. Plenty to start the day. No eggs or bacon, which are not necessary. Air condition was great and place was clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Even recommended a good place for dinner: Lorenzo did Medici.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is only in the public areas like the breakfast room and sitting areas. The air conditioning could’ve been stronger. (We went at the end of July and it was very hot outside!)

    The location is amazing. Quick walk to the duomo, the train station, the central market, etc. The hotel has SO MUCH CHARM! It is BEAUTIFUL. We had a room with an original fresco on the ceiling from the 16th century and I felt like I was sleeping in an art museum. It was amazing. Not every room has a fresco, but the hotel in general is stunning inside. The bathroom we had was updated and easily the best one we had on our 3 week trip across Italy and Greece! We also were given complimentary champagne since it was our honeymoon :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Mass with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff working in the reception were rude and will always take your keys when you go out. They gave us the rooms of a couple and when we see the staff and go back they even didn’t apologize. Also, as I will put in the photograph, the room in general but specifically beds are so dirty. I only took the one side of the hairs we don’t know where it comes. So prepare for troubles and make them double always.

    The staffs inside the hotel were nice and friendly. An it has a great location, so close to Duomo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Location and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi wasn't very good on the 7th Floor

    The hotel is located very close to Bologna Central Station and good value for money. Breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My side of bed..the mattress was sunken. The shower/tub had no curtain or barrier to water ...so the floor gets wet. Very few electrical outlets. None at bedside. The breakfast attendant seemed annoyed. Never a smile. & we were there 3 mornings..always the same feeling from her. The coffee in large dispenser was not drinkable. But you can order a cappuccino or espresso from the attendant. I practically was scolded when I ordered mine. Theres 3 ahead of you..it will be a minute... Go sit down. A little too abrupt. No smiling..even if poor English..a smile would have helped. There was no hurry..on my part...my first morning there and I was just asking if I could get a cappuccino.

    It was clean... Nice breakfast ...location was perfect. Love the antiques and architecture. Air conditioner worked great!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre service but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had broken refridgerator, no tresor inside and you could hear anyrhing through the walls. Also the internet connection was not functional.

    The location was perfect and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.3
    Creepy, hot and disappointing. Pity I didn’t read the other bad reviews until it was too late
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. Room was weird and creepy- difficult to find your room and had to use stairs cause the lift barely worked. Baggage storage available but not supervised. Air conditioning didn’t work in our room. Wifi spot available but even when we walked all the way there to use it it didn’t work. Thankfully there wasn’t an emergency cause I would still be burning to death in the room and no one would know. Electricity ports didn’t work properly either.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Basic, no frills hotel. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated but that is what I expected. You get what you pay for.

    Great location, basic no frills hotel. The staff are not overly friendly but they do their job. Bathroom was fairly new and functional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Not much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was definitely not satisfied with the room and the bathroom as it was not clean. I felt itchy in bed. Smell of bathroom was not impressive because of the old shower curtain. Toilet was not clean either. No international TV channels.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    I would stay again for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff lacked English and there was horrible smell in the reception which was very strong. It would also be much better if there was wifi in the rooms, at the moment there is wifi areas.

    Fab location, very nice and quirky hotel, breakfast was easy, checking in and out was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not up to standard we had 2 metal single beds pushed together that dipped in the middle so when you slept you was on a slant. The floor hadn’t seen a mop or brush in a long while thankfully i had flip flops with me as I wouldn’t stand on the floor. There was 2 lamps in the room so it was incredibly dark. The blue bathroom was dirty and bath was all gritty at the bottom due to it being an old metal bath but nothing a bit of maintenance couldn’t fix but it was just left that way the sink had hair in it when we arrived. The breakfast was awful. Understandable it was a continental breakfast but there was no fruit or bread being English I don’t want to eat ham at 8am. I understand that is the culture but I normally settle for fruit there wasn’t even that option! The hotel reception smelt of a homeless person. Urine/ sweat. The worst hotel i have ever stayed at.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location and design. Unfriendly staff and no Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were really unfriendly and unhelpful. The Wi-Fi didn't work on both of my Android devices. To which they said that it was a problem with me and they were not going to do anything. Being there on business having internet was crucial and I ended up buying a local SIM-card. Staying in a single room was not pleasant. It was small and with no view. It had a tiny door to enter and felt like it was a servant's room.

    The hotel looked great. Felt like you were staying one of those old palaces in Florence. Breakfast was quite good with some variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt abit old, very few plugs and the hardest shower curtain to use I have ever come across. Hotel was a maze, took two lifts to get to room but we learn't the route to our room with no problem. Breakfast room was slightly hard to get to due to signs being in either italian or english as you get closer. Breakfast felt basic but didn't expect much.

    Large room and very quite for how central it is. Location was really good as it was only a 6 minute walk from the train station and about 8 minutes from the main cathedral. Lots of shops and cafes nearby. Reception staff were friendly, breakfast staff didn't speak at all. We were really lucky as we had the only room with wifi being above the common area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, very noisy because of a constructions site nearby. Air conditioning don’t work. Breakfast without any vegetables.

    Good central location, near Dome. The rooms was clean, the staff agreeable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a perfect location. Breakfast was nice and rooms were clean. Lady on reception was not very welcoming but the rest of the staff were lovely and so helpful with directions etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Wont go back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom - No place to charge phone & macbook - except in the bathroom. Wifi - only in certain areas of the public areas. No aircondition - as advertised. Had to make a big noise to get it turned on. Outside temperatures were about 27* Breakfast - basic, but expected. No drinking glasses in room, No tissue in room. One staff managing the whole hotel at any one time. Hotel has to do some improvement to meet with the travellers of the 21C. They seem to be comfortable - so no improvements.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is perfectly located, but didnt have the basic necesites of wifi nor freedom of having a key..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no wifi in the rooms, only in the common area and the signal was poor to unusable. This is a basic function of a hotel for guests. You have to leave your keys at reception every time you leave and recover them on returning, this hinders your privacy to come and go...

    The breakfast was very good, nice selection, The hotel was perfectly located right in the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    A good choiche
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a map of the building to reach your room. Reception is quite slow

    Nice position close to the city center and the rail station. Good value for monet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, quiet at night, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only reason I didn't rate this higher is because there was no air conditioning in our room, and it got very warm at night. The listing says it has A/C so that was a bit disappointing.

    The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom really spacious, and we were surprised to find we had a balcony all to ourselves! We spent every night out there, enjoying the quiet and a bottle of wine. Breakfast was also plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Very central hotel that is perfect for seeing the sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic with little real choice Safety deposit facility was contained in a cupboard in the lobby of the reception area which did give me a security concern. You had to hand in your keys (deliberately hefty) every time you left the hotel which again was slightly worrying as there was only one staff position on entry to the hotel

    Very quirky and interesting hotel where all rooms seemed to be individual. Central location meant you could walk to all the main sites, shops and restaurants within a matter of minutes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.5
    Location was the best that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very cold.breakfast was not good at all only crossants juice butter were available no such variety.wifi didn't work in the rooms.fridge wasn't working.bed was super uncomfortable.disposable glasses were kept in the breakfast for the juice which we felt was not a good idea.recommended only if you are staying just for 2 to 3days where you will be out most of the time otherwise we would never want to book it again for next time

    Location was the best that's it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location, service needs to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The breakfast didn't have a lot of choices and was not great. - No Wi-Fi at room (only at common areas). - One of the staff was not friendly (cold and indifferent). The check-in process was very cold and lack of information. - The room has not enough light. - Difficult to find a socket to fit the kettle. - The door's lock is weird. We were locked outside two times and cannot open by our key.

    - Great location, 5min of walking from station, and 5 min of walking to the main attractions. - Big room and comfortable bed. - The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean, great location but basic.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    basic hotel, staff not particularly friendly and breakfast not great but you get what you pay for! Wifi wasn't good either.

    Really clean, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Our room, the bathroom was cold - only heating in bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, the bathroom was cold - only heating in bedroom. In daughters room, room was cold, but bathroom was warm. The room thermostat had broken! The plumbing was also extremely noisy. We complained, but the receptionist said she could not do anything until the following morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    There was no shower curtain even though we ask for one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no shower curtain even though we ask for one. The WiFi connection was very poor. The heating didn't work so well so we had cold must of the time but at least the breakfast and food was very delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Close to the station and easy accessible to the major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Rooms were not heated, it was very cold 2. Very bad WiFi connection 3. Not many choices for the breakfast

    Close to the station and easy accessible to the major sightseeing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible staff, from the receptionists to the breakfast lady. The bathroom was also poor: no curtain for the bathtub, shower had no pressure and sometimes it wouldn't heat up, there was no stopper for the drains, and the air circulation system made so much noise. Also one of the beams in the bathroom ceiling was lifted, leaving a hole, and we even found a bug wandering around the floor.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location, easy access to the train station and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information provided at check in.

    Great location, easy access to the train station and main attractions. Good option if you want to be central but not have to pay the earth.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old builidng, old rooms, some facilities need to be repaired. I had booked a twin room and got a double room. After complaining at reception I received a triple room which had a double and single bed which was ok. However, room was very cold with no heating. Breakfast was poor, very few selection. Only filter coffee included, all other drinks was charged extra.

    Location is great. Close to city center and main attractions. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.3
    terrible !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we did not particularly like the receptionist Adriana. She was rude, without patience. When we arrived the elevator was very dirty, an elevator that barely worked. A work (construction) was happening in the building. Every day at 8:30 a terrible noise began. Breakfast poor , no choices, every day the sime food. In the evening we noticed a strong smell of sewage at reception. Would not recommend this hotel. The parking lot one day we waited for 2 hours to receive our car. I think it's fair enough.

    Only location !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Its not always about the location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are extremely rude- you feel like you are an inconvenience. Wi fi is non existent- you have to sit in a communal area to gain access- if its working, we had a room over looking the entrance- no block out blinds so street light comes into the room all night.- very disappointing given the great location. On leaving, aside from having to wait whilst the manager finished her own personal conversation- we were blamed for their invoice being wrong even though we had already paid- left a very disappointing final impression of our stay in florence!!

    Location is fantastic- only 5 mins walk from station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    Location- This Hotel is in the center of historical city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In my room there was no WIFI and no extra socket outlet to charge my mobile/laptop. I had to unplug a lamp to charge my mobile .

    Location- This Hotel is in the center of historical city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is incredibly old. A/C does not work, it only makes sound of working, but in reality is just useless. This was miserable was miserable to stay there without a/c. Hotel receptionist said that they gave us a room that has it's own patio (since it was our honey moon), but unfortunately the look from this patio view was on a tiny lane surrounded by buildings' walls, there was a construction area there, as well as walls had many A/C outside units that created even more heat than it was during our stay. Furniture is incredibly old, the only feeling you get when look at it is that I should not use it. We were advised that parking is provided by their partners for 24.00 euros per 24 hours, in reality we had to pay 24 euros if car just stayed overnight and did not use the full 24 hours or even 12 hours. Also to pick up your car from parking, hotel receptionist should give their partners a call one hour prior to pick up and they would bring a car. The night before check out we told receptionist that we would need our car at 8:30am next day. She suggested that we need to call her in AM one hour prior because she would forget. Next morning we called at 7:00 am to request a car to be there by 8:30AM. When we came to check out at 8:45 am our car was not there and even more nobody has called to bring it in yet. So we had to wait another 45 minutes for car to arrive, as a result we were delayed from our further trip route. Receptionists explanation was that she has so many call to do and she cannot remember everything. In general it was a pretty bad stay. Disappointing.

    n/a

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    most welcoming. excellent overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was substantial with cereals, assorted fruit, croissants, assorted danish pastries, assorted cakes, assorted bread rolls, assorted jams with butter, cold meat, cheese, coffee and assorted fruit juices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great location, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the communal areas travelled in to the rooms but that was the only problem.

    Very well maintained hotel and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything and the cathedral is a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable, fridge and tea making facilities in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, comfortable, fridge and tea making facilities in the room. Staff helpful. Excellent location, everything within walkable distance, close to the station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are too soft, the internet is not working properly and there's no connection in the rooms. The bath was very small and almost impossible to shower because of the walls design.

    Hotel Martelli it's nice, the interior design is unic and traditional. The location is perfect, is close to the train station and is very easy to visit everything that's important for Florence by walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Uncomfortable stay due to lack of air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning very poor or not working. Didn't get to sleep all night because of heat. We had a full day of travelling the next morning. Very uncomfortable stay.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Avoid. Hardly a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgraceful breakfast serving juice in plastic cups, old infrastructure, had to walk outside to get into the room. The bathroom was very rundown with most of the appliances broken. The bathroom window was transparent allowing anyone from the outside to look into it when the elevator wasn't there (?!). No wall plugs. Saying this is a 3 star hotel is a clear joke.

    10 minute walk to the duomo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    2.5
    Rude employees/lack of customer service
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a mistake and booked a single room instead of a double room. (I was booking for my Dad and didn't know he was visiting with his partner). When I found out, I called the hotel and they said they had no other rooms available. I asked if they could add a small single bed in the single room, and they said no. I asked if they could both sleep in the single bed, and they said no. I called back a second time, and they told me they did have an extra room, but I had to pay for the price of the entire room. They did not give any discount for the first room that I booked. They were not at all flexible and quite rude on the phone. Would NEVER book any guests visiting me in Florence ever again. Too bad because it is a great location for those looking for a quick walk from the train station.

    Close to the train station, very safe street in Florence that is always busy, 3 minutes away from the Duomo, close to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    the location is perfect and the room is spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bed is very very uncomfortable and the pillows and mattresses are bad we were staying there for 5 nights and it was not easy to sleep on that bed all this time breakfast is not good could be better plus the breakfast area is so disturbing since the lady in charge works in very disturbing manner arranging the plates and cutleries with so much noise. WiFi is only in the hall and no WiFi in the rooms

    the location is perfect and the room is spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    The location was very close to the train station and easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was only in small parts of the hotel and we got little to no internet when using it.

    The location was very close to the train station and easy to walk into the old part of town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful retreat from a busy city.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was served in a spacious dining area, again beautifully decorated. Basic breakfast with everything you need, but there could have been a little more variety for example- only one type of cheese and ham. But really, when you are in Florence you don't have that much time to spend at the breakfast table anyways as you want to go out early and try to avoid the long lines at the museums. We missed not having wifi in the rooms, and didn't bother trying to use it in the main area... we used the data on our phones instead. But again, you don't come to Florence to be online, you come to see the town.

    My husband and I arrived from the airport via the shuttle bus, the hotel was easy to find and less than 10 minutes by foot from the train station (where the shuttle arrives). Hotel Martelli was just what we wanted. A hotel within walking distance of the airport bus, and right in the center of Florence (5 minutes to the Duomo) The building is very old and beautiful with lovely details, and antique furnitures. Our room was large, comfortable, clean and the air conditioning was a real bonus as we are not used to such high temperature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was great, the room was large and spacious, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were 5 days, breakfast is abundant but boring, there is no such as for example: tomato, salads, cucumbers, baked sausages, baked eggs....

    The hotel was great, the room was large and spacious, the hotel's perfect location, staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff (apart from the lady on checkout who was helpful and friendly) were a bit indifferent. Breakfast quite poor really, and the two staff on duty never even spoke once. Not impressed with that although the hotel itself was very nice.

    Location excellent. Very short walk from the station and 2 mins to the Duormo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    City centre great value Florence hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was outdated and a little bit dark (could do with a makeover). There was no safe in the bedroom so it's a bit annoying carrying €700 around Florence for 2 days.

    Location was brilliant. The bedroom was large and comfortable however there was no safe. Breakfast was very nice (continental). Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Bad breakfast and wrong uncleaned room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were placed in a very small room at first with a disgustingly dirty closed in which I didn't want to put my clothes. Room was not properly cleaned before we arrived. Only after complaining I was told that I have a different room, so this is typical where there bad room is given to someone and if they don't complain that they still have a nice room available to rent out. The second room was better. Breakfast was a disappointment and same as what I had before at a hostel with limited food variety and nowhere near the standards we experienced everywhere else throughout Italy (and previous hotels in Florence) even though we paid the same per night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con broke and leaked water over my belongings the entire night and the floor boards were rotten from the previous moisture damage. Our double bed was two singles pushed together and very hard, plus kept falling through the gap! Was a cheap price though so I guess was fair and they did repair the air con.

    The location was excellent couldn't have gotten in a better spot! Walking distance to trains and main square

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay at Hotel Martelli
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi only worked in the common areas and you had to log on each time to use it.

    Hotel Martelli was a 5 minute walk from the main train station and a 6 minute or less walk to the Cathedral. The location was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious and quiet. Because the hotel is very close to the train station I would recommend doing Ciao Florence tours because they start at 6:30-7am and it isn't hard or long to get there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Basic accomodation but cheep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not particularly helpful reception staff. Our room on the third floor was very basic. The air con was very poor and hardly cooled the room down at all, therefore the room was very stuffy and uncomfortable. Tiny bathroom with a very noisy extractor fan. TV was also very small for the size of the room. Breakfast was poor, not much selection or very fresh and the coffee that was served to us was cold!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were in need of decoration and the hotel lacked some standard hotel items, no mini bar in room, lack of lounge area, we had a kettle fitted with a plug that would not fit into any socket

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Good for location only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older style, run down. Room was very dark Breakfast was very ordinary. Coffee was really terrible! Only one staff member even acknowledged us.

    Proximity to train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    very nice design extremelly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad breakfast, employees don't know how doors or other bits of the hotel works, light and drainage in the bathroom doesn't work.

    very nice design extremelly clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    great location Martelli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    more choice for breakfast , bacon , sausages , eggs

    great location , quiet rooms , central for all museums ,galleries and markets ,friendly staff , definitely would stay here again .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    3.3
    Bad hotel, meaner staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception personnel were rude and unaccommodating. I tried to pay the 18 Euro city-tax (which she demanded must be in cash only) with a 50 Euro. They could not make change, so I had to pay with all my smaller notes and coins. WiFi did not work except in a small common area on the 2nd floor. Air conditioning did not work. Mini-refrigerator did not work. Only one electrical outlet worked. Breakfast room was loud, as the staff was washing large pans in the same room. The shower head flopped all over the place, and the water did not turn on until you turned the faucet 3 times.

    Location is good, near train station and Duomo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    3.3
    I was very disappointed with the room standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very disappointed with the room standard. The bed is very extremely small, the water shower was getting outside to the room flooring, the room is extremely tiny....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location with adequate facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is only available on the first level. There were ants before and during our stay in the room. Old lady manning reception is not very helpful.

    Great location. Also has a proper elevator. Breakfast is simple and good start for the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel Martinelli was in a great location for convenience to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need updating

    Hotel Martinelli was in a great location for convenience to shopping and eating and some of the sites. Breakfast was very good and the staff was too. They could do a bit better with updating the rooms at this location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable.... free wifi .... so free you couldn't connect even In Wifi hotspots. Shower curtain missing .... no plugs in sinks ...

    The location was good. Close to train station and main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    2.5
    Avoid! There are plenty of better places nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby smells bad and all the facilities and furniture are in need of a complete upgrade, especially the bathrooms as I experienced it. The Wi-Fi is utterly appalling—it is as good as useless—this is totally unacceptable in 2017. Even the telephones do not use tone dialling—as I discovered when I had to call my mobile phone company's customer service line—they still use pulse dialing making it impossible to use an IVR system when using one of the room phones or the phone at reception. WTAF!

    This hotel is average at best. The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. The only way I could get the rating to a score I think is fair was by giving every qurstion the lowest grade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Excellent location, a short walk from the railway station, a short walk to the Dome, ponte vecchio, the center, restaurants, etc. A lively street with many shops and traffic. A historical building with a pretty irregular structure. I love this kind of place, but I know others do not so be aware. My room was far from the street and silent. Comfortable though pretty small (but who would spend time in a hotel room when outside you have Firenze?). Breakfast was rich, international style (eggs, ham, etc.). The staff was nice and helpful. On the whole I would return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    More than beautiful superior room.. A wonderfull experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No decent wifi (no wifi in the rooms!); only in a few seating areas of the hotel. This was really uncomfortable when staying for a business trip..

    Wonderfull location. We had the "superior room" and wow that was amazing. I would recommend it for a special feeling when staying in Firenze.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Superb English spoken by the staff, very helpful. Some superb art including a fresco of the Florence landscape close to the breakfast room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.3
    The location is perfect and Stefano is commendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their wifi zone's restricted.

    Aside from the excellent location, the hotel staff Stefano is perfect for the job! He's so accommodating and very friendly. I liked the hotel's motif altho I would say, it needs a facelift.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    The room was nice and spacious, the shower had great water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi definitely could have been better - didn't work at all in our room and even in the "wifi zones" it didn't always work. this is just important to be able to go on to check our bank accounts, talk to family, etc.

    The room was nice and spacious, the shower had great water pressure and never got cold! Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    one of the kitchen staff always kept a keen eye out for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    fridge didn't work consistently, which was frustrating Wifi system was not great, and would drop you if not actively using it. Would be great to have this available in rooms not just public areas supposedly there was a bar open til 7, but every time we went there, there was no staff.

    one of the kitchen staff always kept a keen eye out for us to give us a basket of gluten free goods. Not sure how she knew who we were the first time, but it really impressed us! Room was a good size, and location was very handy for train station, restaurants, shopping and sightseeing by foot. beautiful building

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.4
    Good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't explain anything on arrival. Discovered on checkout that I could have left my key to alert people I needed to come in after 12 consequently I had to stay out one night. Paid extra for some comfort but actually a hostel would have been better and much cheaper

    Good shower. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Martelli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: