Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Medici 2 stars

Via De' Medici 6, 50123 Florence, Italy

#390 of 393 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2021 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The top terrace is a restaurant ran by a separate company from the hotel and they were not friendly. The hotel staff were nice and the room was clean. The beds could have been more comfortable, but overall we had a good experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and reasonable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entrance has moved and only a little sign advising new location, not very clear. Don’t attempt to drive here, crazy one way streets combined with pedestrian zones

    Location was great and reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Medici sent us to another hotel, Constantini. The air conditioning did not work (even after we asked the desk clerk to turn it on), the room had a smell of sewer, and the wireless service was non-existent (Hotel Medici's was 20 mbs). Breakfast was dry croissants and cereal.

    Location is very good; near the Duomo.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a family in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been friendlier, but they were not unfriendly. They just took care of business.

    The location of this hotel is great, just a block from Il Duomo, and easy walking distance to the major museums. The room was adequate and had a great view of Il Duomo; even better views of all Florence were available from their terrace restaurant. The bathroom, and particularly the shower stall was small, but that is typical for European hotels. The included breakfast was also very good. The staff was polite and professional. It was a very good place to stay with a family, and we would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was a bit temperamental. The breakfast was very basic. There was bread rolls, croissants and cornflakes every morning. It got a little repetitive after a few days. The staff could be a little more friendly and offer more travel advice.

    Fantastic location in the centre of the city. Close to the main sights. Good news facilities, the bathroom looked brand new. Comfortable bed. We had a room with a view of the cathedral. There is a cafe and restaurant a joining the hotel and a bar on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and quiet despite being in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area to check in was not very obvious.

    Great location and quiet despite being in the middle of the tourist district. Significant sites were walking distance from the room. The room itself isn't super fancy, but we found it suited our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    brilliant location hotel very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was dark and tired breakfast was terrible coffee machine didn't work hardly any choice of food so we didn't bother

    the location of the hotel was great just where we wanted to be bit noisy at night but it didn't bother us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and noisy Simple breakfast was simple.

    Staff were amazing, location was brilliant right in the middle of Florence. The Duomo is just around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got the smallest room in the hotel, I had stayed before and asked about changing to a larger room and I didn’t get moved. I addressed this with Gabriel and he was disappointed too, offered me to contact him the next time I travel to Florence. I was there for 4 nights and didn’t look elsewhere. I emailed ahead of time when I made my reservations and requested a room with a terrace, nothing was mentioned that it was all converted to a huge rooftop bar/lounge.

    Location! Was perfect and the rooftop view is amazing, there used to be rooms on the top floor and now just a bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Location was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon as it’s an old building, and it doesn’t help that windows don’t block out the mosquitoes. Very noisey since it’s right in the city, you’ll be woken up at 7 due to the dome.

    Location was really good. Windows gave a good view of beautiful Florence. Staff is always there and helpful. Shower was just so luxurious. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel location is very close to the duomo is excellent they have a nice roof top with a excellent view, the facilities are very good the staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is exceptionally well placed in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is exceptionally well placed in the center. It offers beautiful view from cafe on the top of the building. Even though it doesn't have anything to offer besides the coffee... I liked the style of the room - not too modern, not too old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    The location is very close to the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had hard time finding the hotel. It would be better if they can put some instructions about how to find the reception, since the reception doesn’t match the address provided in Booking.com. The check in was slow. The staff was not very kind.

    The location is very close to the center of the city. And there is a roof top bar where you can have a nice view of the Cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, bad shower, power socket was broken. Rooms are small and stuffy. Bad breakfast (cheap as 5 eur though). Roof restaurant: 10 eur for 0,4 beer.

    Good location and view. Good staff. Awesome view from the roof bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.8
    Uncomfortable especially because of no air conditioning with 34-36 degrees all week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air conditioning at all - the fan is quite primitive in summer heat. The breakfast lady was like a security guard questioning in a loud tone your room number, putting out only a small number of breakfast until more people arrived so a little bit out each time - the milk was always empty, it went from one day (probably an accident!) with good custard croissants to staled small ones for the rest of the week, the automatic water and tea services only operated out of one machine despite there being two for everyone. When we were leaving, the reception girl tried only twice to call a taxi and gave up and said there were absolutely no taxis in the whole of Florence to take us so we ended up walking with all our luggage to the station. We unexpectedly came back early to find our hotel door wide open with ceiling mess everywhere as apparently they were fixing something (no idea what). We were very surprised and startled at such lack of respect and security given anyone could have walked into our room and out as we had done when the service guy was surprised to find us sitting on the bed among the mess having lunch as we decided to stay to find out who had done this.

    Location. Make sure to read what I did not like!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    I booked the hotel for my mom and her two friends as a...
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel for my mom and her two friends as a surprise. The hotel debited ( blocked) my Credit Card in advance despite of the fact that the booking was cancelation free and no payment was needed in advance. After emailing the hotel they answered that it was due to authorization and it needed 2 or 3 weeks to be unblocked. After visiting the hotel, my mother with her friend had paid the total amount by cash and administrator insisted that she had to pay additional tax . As my mom had problem with language she had to call me and I had to deal with it. Managed to assure administrator that the amount she had payed included taxes. As my mom had left the hotel, I received the message that my credit card was debited again. I had to reach the hotel once more and the administrator answered that it was due to the authorization again and blocked amount would be released after 2 or 3 weeks. I am very disappointed by the hotel service and do not recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    excellent location and pleasant room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all is good

    Great location! Just next to the Duomo cathedral, you get to hear the church bell in the morning!!. We needed to leave for early tour and the staff is kind enough to pack breakfast for take away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Situated in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small variety of products at breakfast. A receptionist wasn't present all day, she was delegated with other woman, who can speak only italien.

    Situated in the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    The location, close and central to almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very basic - a bread and coffee. Location is good but very noisy neighbourhood. You'll hear all sorts of noise as late as midnight and as early as 3am! No air conditioning.

    The location, close and central to almost everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Location is good.... but
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditional, breakfast was so somple and bread was so hard, shower room was narrow, shower curtain didnt work well

    Location is good to go duomo, vecchio, reataurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    I was asked to walk 5 mins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked to walk 5 mins. to the assigned room (located in another building) and breakfast being served is in the main building. I don't think its not the right way to treat guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    The only thing good about this hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel has basic rooms. Do not expect anything more than a bed, a shower and somewhere to hang your clothes. There was no TV, no tea coffee facilities. The furniture looked rather beat up. The shower was broken and we were woken up at 4.30am on the last morning by the telephone ringing. The only good thing about this hotel is it's location but there must be better for the price. I really don't understand how it managed to get such high reviews. Look else where. The pictures are very misleading and look a lot better than the reality you will be met with.

    The only thing good about this hotel is the location. It is very close to Florence Duomo. So close you don't need an alarm in the morning the bells will wake you up unless you are a very heavy sleeper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switch in the bathroom had a short in the wire and it blew out the electricity on our whole floor. They never fixed it but just said to ‘not use that light switch’. Also it was very noisy at night and in early morning with trash trucks picking up the various recyclables and deliveries being made. Breakfast was coffee from a self- serve machine and some small rolls with jelly.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The locations was perfect, the staff were very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locations was perfect, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great value for location. Amazing roof top cafe with view of the sunset and cathedral. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location and value for money, but I will not come back there anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no ironing facilities in this property, so make sure you bring there your clothes ironed in advance. There is no storage room to leave you luggage after you check out, you just leave your luggage in their breakfast room ( which did not look safe enough to me)

    The location is great and it is a good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for one night, very central but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very noisy (given the central location) the windows were old, not sound proof and not closing well, some people outside singing till 3 am, impossible to sleep.

    the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Very close to main attractions, friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle and iron facilities, breakfast was very basic

    Very close to main attractions, friendly staff and receptionists were always happy to answer any questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.3
    Not a good place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the breakfast, the towels and most of all, they didn't provide us any toiletries during our 5days stay in that hotel.

    Only the location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing, expensive and poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing, hotel smell at mold from the entrance to the lift, staff average, not very helpful, no wifi as they offered. The size of the room is terrible, there is no space to walk or for the bags, the room is very dark and sad. Hotel doesn’t provide proper towels or toiletries. Room service was done, however, they didn’t clean the bin. Overall very poor and 0 value for money. It is very expensive for what they offered. Not recommended.

    The hotel is only 5 minutes walking to the cathedral, however there is a construction site in front. Also, very noisy until late night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    NO rooftop terrace
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop.terrace was closed and i suspect has been closed for quite a while however this was the reason I chose this hotel to spend my birthday.. up on the roof overlooking the cathedral.. this was very disappointing for me. When I tried to discuss it with the staff they each in turn said they would speak to their colleague until the morning of check out where they just shrugged. The breakfast is brought in a basket and has white bread rolls and biscuits butter and jam. Not ideal for a busy day ahead or for those with special dietary requirements.

    The location was good and the rooms were clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Good location of the place and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little dissapointed about my window, it didnt have access to the street. If you believe in ghosts don't stay there, I'm pretty sure I was bothered by one during night time.

    Good location of the place and clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel we have stayed in our lives, if you can call a construction site hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing, hotel in construction with works starting at 6.30 am, breakfast only dry bread, butter and honey served by a moody girl, breakfast room dirty and freezing, supposed terrace with view was closed due to construction, windows could not be opened due to construction. We were on the 5th floor, all other floors under construction.

    Location, close to everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Central Florence Halfboard Bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location had major construction works. There was noise from the street at night. The wifi was only available on first floor.

    Great room with ensuite bathroom. Attractive furnishings and immaculately clean Very friendly staff and able to communicate in English We were given a map of Florence and staff were very helpful in helping us find places we wanted to see Authentic Italian furnishings and beautiful Linen Excellent value for half board. The restaurant we were referred to was excellent that was part of the half board Breakfast was ok Right next to a chocolate shop, one block from the Dome. A short walk from the railway station. Easy to locate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Florence - A Must to Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedsheet is a bit old, and the room is so cold. Centralized heater but was switched off way too soon. Felt like in the fridge.

    Room is spacious, and so is the bathroom. Hotel is in the center of historic city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    The fawlty towers of Florence. Bring a sense of humour, earplugs, and low expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised in pictures. No heating. No WiFi. Noisey 24 hours due to renovation. Rooms not soundproof. No TV or radio. No common areas. No roof terrace access or any roof top rooms available due to on going renovation. No free breakfast as advertised just bread roll and vending machine coffee. Towels provided were big tea towels for body and half size pillow cases for hair. Staff aware of false advertising and refuse to cancel booking or refund. Booking.com unable to rectify at the time of review.

    The location was perfect. The shower in the renovated room was lovely. Housekeeping daily. The best hot choc avail next door at choc shop. The lift was handy with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    awful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water do no one in the hotel could have a shower before check out and hotel didnt care. The breakfast was a basket with 3 bread rolls in that was it!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Best "leg" and hotel of our 3 week Italy vacation on a reasonable budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction / street repair going on out front. Noisy. Not hotels fault. Would definitely stay there again.

    Large spacious rooms. Very clean. Great location. As requested gave us extra towels and pillows. Nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Clean room with a Florence flare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was coffee breads butter and jam. I wasn't counting on their breakfast though so wasn't that disappointed

    I was traveling solo to Florence and staying only 2 days. I wanted something simple and old that would reflect the feel of Florence and I got that. The hotel's location is incredible and the room was yes simple but still great and super clean for the price. It's good for a couple of days nothing more. The wifi only works in the restaurant area, It didn't matter because I was enjoying the whole experience regardless. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.3
    Location was great + rooftop view is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unclean. Cracks, dirt, snot/boogers on the walls near the head of the bed. I wasn’t confident that the bathroom was clean. The bed was uncomfortable (I can generally sleep in anything). The staff were rude and dismissive- customer service was consistently poor. ‘Breakfast’ was included in my booking- breakfast was coffee/OJ, and three stale and hard bread rolls with butter. Would never stay again- and quite frustrated that I paid a good price to stay here. Never again.

    Location was great + rooftop view is nice. Unfortunately that’s the only positive feedback I can give.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Florence itself is amazing. Our hotel - disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of fixtures and fittings in the room and bathroom were old and in need of updating. The breakfast offered was poor. (We went into the cafe next door and paid extra.) The only redeeming feature is the location in the centre of Florence. Note that access to the hotel with a car is very difficult due to one way streets which change whenever there are roadworks - which appears to be often!

    The Location near the Duomo is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were little run down and wifi only on first floor.

    location was good next to duomo and piazza. Could see the duomo from the balcony. Central location and good price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Short stay in beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle. Noisy at times (Duomo bells, bottle deliveries, rubbish collection), breakfast (chewy bread rolls with jam, coffee machine unreliable)

    Situation near Duomo was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. View from roof terrace was amazing. Comfortable bed. Price was good for location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.0
    Hotel did not ruin the holiday but did not add to it either
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was clean but quite tatty, no TV, no Wifi, no Phone - was being eaten by something every night, not sure if it was bed bugs or something airborne! Bedding was rather sparse, towels very tired and a tiny tiny shower area. Breakfast was just three small bread rolls with butter and portions of jam/marmalade with a couple of biscuits, presented to you by an attendant who seemed reluctant to acknowledge you, let alone even smile or talk to you.

    Location was great for City break, very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    Great location ok staff but not like the pictures at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and no facilities

    Very old and dated nothing in the room to make tea or coffee no tv and the walls , bathroom ceiling and lamp were extremely dirty. We had no handle on our bedroom door!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, dissappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got had terrible looks, scratches everywhere on the wall and the furniture (couch, chair etc) looked so dirty we didnt even dare to touch it.. The bed and bathroom did look properly cleaned but we were happy to be able to leave asap in the morning

    The hotel is easy to find and in the middle of the city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location, but could really improve upon general cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That filthy rug on the first floor in front of the elevator was disgusting, a few hundred euros would fix it. It was disgusting. Also the breakfasts was disappointing.coffee from a machine? Was I staying in a hotel in a great location, or was I staying in a youth hostel!!

    Size of room was adequate , also bathroom was of good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Misery
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prime location but...

    The only recommendation one can make about this tired hotel is its location - which also holds the disadvantage of 24/7 noise. Like a tired pair of school shoes at the end of the year, a very hard year, the Hotel Medici is grubby, mean, the bathroom was unhygienic and it made me utterly miserable. It was the low point of my month in Italy. Book elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    Stay somewhere else. Definitely don't try driving there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service. Correct advertising. BED!! Something fresh for breakfast would have been nice as well. The breakfast was misadvertised.

    There was no view although it was advertized that we would have a view of the Duomo. The bed was very hard and the staff not super friendly. Other than that, it was fine I suppose. The shower was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    Location great, accomodations far from luxurious, but if it's only a bed you need, it's okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked at the Medici, but when checking in they told us we were in the Constantini a couple of blocks away, so had to walk/haul luggage there. This is a very old building, so sound travelled, smelled sewer in bathroom, no updates, very bare bedroom (think monastery). This is a pedestrian only part of town, so don't take your vehicle in there.

    Breakfast was good, room was clean. Location was excellent, less than a block from the Duomo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Basic accommodation in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in desperate need of redecorating. Even curtains hanging off. Rooftop balcony/terrace dirty with damaged furniture. Looks nothing like picture. We had rooms in separate building. Very noisy outside.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi only available in the dining room. We were accommodated in an apartment 800 m away with no WiFi, no proper signing (had to go back to the hotel for clear explanation where it is as nobody around new about this apartment and street numbering in Florence is absolutely confusing displaying some old and new house numbers)

    Reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.8
    Lovely sightseeing trip to Florence. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls so was noisy. Carpet on landing was disgusting and dirty. Whole place needs tidying up

    Location excellent for sight seeing. Roof top terrace has fantastic views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    2.9
    We didn't allow poor hotel services to spoil our romantic trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to like in this hotel... Poor accommodation (furniture totally old), poor receptionists services (rude at the moments), no decent bathroom, breakfast is everything but breakfast, parking is too far from the hotel and we had huge misunderstanding when we asked to get our car back (our keys were given to other customer).. In one sentence: worst hotel we have ever been. If anyone is reading this, our recommendation would be- search for other hotel.

    Hotel is in the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on arriving to the hotel I was told that I was staying in a sister hotel a short walk away. I asked about the roof top bar and climbed stairs to visit it then saw that there was no bar. On returning to the reception I was told that it was a bring your own drinks bar. The sister hotel was a 2* very basis hotel with a bad smell from the bathroom drain.

    location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.9
    Awful, depressing, made my wife cry, avoid at all costs!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else including: Large floor space only plus. Very low ceiling/claustrophobic. Wonky toilet seat No adapters so couldn't use any electricals Old and unloved, bit delapidated. Thinnest towels ever seen more like tea towels No spare blankets/pillows. 2 tiny windows in the roof Electrics hanging out of sockets Dirty/thin walls - could hear neighbours/street noise Asked to change immediately but told don't don't have any rooms in the hotel and to mention it at breakfast in the morning then hung up on me. Checked on bookings.com and they were still saying there was a double room available. When booked, was expecting to stay in the hotel with lovely view of Il Duomo not in the grot hole they put us in. Yes it's old and historic but we have stayed in old places elsewhere which were far superior. Offered a room day after a 306. Small, noisy no better kept. Was told that that was the room they would have put us in but had a group of students book in so that's why they put us up in the apartment. Asked for a discount. Told she would ask manager for 1st night as we'd rejected the offered option but it was no better. Still tried to charge us full price though! Rude, unhelpful, unsympathetic & simply uncaring staff. Disgraceful.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    The last person working in the reception was rude and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last person working in the reception was rude and indifferent. The rest was friendly. It seems that there is a turism tax that has to be paid but it has to be paid in cash and for a traveller that is an inconvenience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Location really. Not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is on the ground floor only. The carpets are dirty and old. Room is dimly lit and very spartan. You have to spend another 26 Euros for parking either in the hotel or in parking lots far from the property.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Medici Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel put me in another of their properties a few streets away from the hotel. Much bigger than I was expecting and very nice but would have loved it if there had been tea making facilities or a little fridge.

    Location was brilliant. Very central to all attrations and central train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Faded elegance but a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broke down daily. Poor info given on check in

    Faded elegance. Lift broke down daily. Some staff were great, very helpful but check in less than desired

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location but that is the best thing to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only bread, butter, jam, coffee and juice. Bathroom was small but absolutely nowhere to set anything, including the shower. Great improvement would be made by adding shelf in bathroom and shower caddy. Room was basic but sufficient. No Airconditioning but luckily it was cool enough we didn't need it. Small balcony but shared with other rooms. Elevator was broken twice during our 3 day stay and most disappointingly when we were checking out, so we lugged 4 suitcases down 5 flights of steps. No one from hotel staff apologized or offered to help.

    Location was the best thing. View from balcony outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    glad it was one night.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking around the back had to walk a fair distance with the luggage. I booked it because I was told pool would be available which it wasn't next day we were there they drained the pool..not much around the hotel. would not recommend it to family or friends.overpriced.

    bed was firm that's about it. parking was free but had to walk abot 8 minutes through the gardens with the luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    The hotel was basically a disgrace but in a fabulous position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpets (where there were any) were filthy. All the walls had heavy black marks on them. Bedroom walls had plaster gouged out or lumps missing. Breakfast was atrocious and waitress surly (ate out after first day). Reception and breakfast area was dirty and littered with empty boxes and junk.

    The view from the room was excellent - the Duomo Bell Tower. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved the location. Hated the drunks. All tourists. The staff were kind and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar across the street disgorged drunken people until 2:30 a m. They were extremely loud. I could not sleep

    The location was great for my first visit to Florence. Within walking distance of so many attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Less than average hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst hotel breakfast I ever had: dry bread, bit of jam, and tasteless coffee/juice. The wifi was so slow that you couldn't even use it and it was available only on one floor. The receptionists couldn't even be bothered to great hotel guests. Our room was not cleaned properly, there were cigarette butts left there and lots of dust.

    Location, location, location. Great view from the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay here again due to no air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no air conditioning and since the hotel is right in the middle of the city opening the windows to let air in brought in street noise as well that continued throughout the night. Breakfast started too late for us to eat anything since we had such early morning tours scheduled. Walls were really dirty and entire place needed painting. Furniture was very minimal and old.

    Location was awesome...once we found it. The address doesn't get you to the right place initially. Especially if you are using GPS. Staff was friendly and helpful. They had no problem storing our bags while we went sightseeing the day of checkout. View from the top was amazing. Got some of the best pictures of our entire trip from that location at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Reasonable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast Wasn't Anything Special

    Wifi isn't so good & same with the breakfast but Florence is a beautiful place & this is the perfect place to save money & get a decent place to sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Second-rate hotel but perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we went to the hotel, they told us that our room was in a different hotel around the corner, which was odd. The rooms were ok, the 'towels' were thin like bed sheets but I guess it's what you get for the price of the room. Parking is very expensive, 25 Euros per day. Low point was being greeted by a cockroach at the entrance to the building.

    Perfect location for exploring Florence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was comfortable but because of loudness I couldn't sleep much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of the hotel is very loud. The windows cannot be closed well. It's difficult to sleep.

    The room was large enough. Bathroom was new. Bed was comfortable. Location is very central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    The worst accommodation I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very rude and checked us in while on the phone to another customer. The room was very old fashioned and many of the furniture was rusty or had marks on it. There was only one fan in the room which did not work adequately and when asked for a second one we were refused. We were unable to sleep at night due to the excessive heat. There is only wifi on the first floor.

    The location was very central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Brilliant location...but apart from that it is very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom stank very very bad, no air conditioning so you need to keep window open and it is very noisy, staff not really welcoming, rooms and public areas need a good clean. The location however is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend at all a hostel would be preferable hands down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was the worst part. Mold everywhere and very cramped. You couldn't even sit straight on the toilet and all the water from the shower came right out onto the floor. I felt dirtier after showering. The room wasn't soundproof at all, you could hear other guests and every sound from the city center below. Only the checkin desk has air conditioning, not the rooms and the one fan in the room was old, dirty, and barely moved any air. There was only Wifi on the first floor, not in the rooms. The "breakfast" is just coffee and a basket of bread rolls and the food from their restaurant did not sit well in my stomach.

    The location was the only good thing about Hotel Medici. Fantastic terrace view of the Duomo right in front of you, but doesn't make you forget how dirty the rest of the building is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel rooftop view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a toilet. Old fan to cool the room. Dingy room that I did not spend much time in. Rolls with butter and jam along with machines to dispense coffee and juice were served for breakfast.

    Location of hotel as it was central to many sites and the view of the Doumo from my room on the 6th floor Terrace was the best in Florence. The picture during sunset does not look like it was taken with an iPhone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this facility were rude and dismissive. As soon as I walked in, I was handed a key and a hand drawn map to walk to another apartment, then dismissed. The apartment was dark, had no windows and was dirty. It had no wifi and to get the breakfast included in my stay I had to walk back to the hotel. The staff were even ruder and shorter with me when I said I wouldn't be continuing my stay because of their service and facilities. All round disappointed. Even their central location doesnt save them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Three night in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no negative experience

    We were travelling to Florece to sightseeing all days so we were in the hotel only night time and daytime if we refreshed ourselves. The room was simple with an old cabinet with clean bathroom. Windows faced outside and we sew the cathedral. Breakfast was simple with jam and coffee enough to start the day. There is no parking place but they organize to park the car somewhere and return back when we need. (it was little risky to take the car parking but the car was returned back as I read it on this page before) The famous places were close to the hotel and we just walked everywhere. The hotel in the best place with wonderful view and easy to attend the museums. If you interesting the museums buy your ticket in advance to avoid the huge lines and save time. The hotel not brand new but clean and the place compensate everything. WI-Fi only at the first floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    2 star hotel with a 5 star view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff particularly were not very friendly, ignored us saying hello and goodbye as we came and went. The breakfast was stale and the coffee was almost undrinkable. The room was about 40 degrees from midday to midnight with a little fan. The shower has no space between you and the shower curtain so it sits of your body which was not enjoyable. Wifi was also only available on the first floor. We called this a 2 start hotel with a 5 star view. Most disappointed it was the most expensive accomodation we payed for in Italy and it wasn't worth it in any aspect of our stay. We will not be returning.

    The location was excellelant, the view from the rooftop terrace was beautiful and the sheets were fresh and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Medici traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: