Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercurio 3 stars

Calle del Fruttariol - San Marco 1848, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#159 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1688 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Have a wonderfull stay in Hotel Mercurio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom are small but we have a good shower. We miss bacon and boiled eggs in breakfast. but the rest are good.

    Staff very heplfull especially Marco. Top guy. The location is perfect. Nearby restaurants , shoping and to San Marco Square. the breakfast is good. . The rooms qua sizes are ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    The location is in the heart of San Marco square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rooms in Venice are small but our superior double room with canal view was so tiny. Hard for the two of us to move around and get into our suitcases. Our room was a double superior which wasn’t the cheapest choice on booking. I’m not sure what the cheaper rooms look like but I can’t imagine them being any smaller.

    The location is in the heart of San Marco square. It’s not our favorite part of Venice but great for anyone who likes to be in that area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    An excellent place to stay for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small. We could not fully unpack as there was inadequate space.

    The staff were excellent and made the hotel so pleasant. The location was good. The breakfast was also excellent and dealt superbly with our gluten free needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Venice was more than we dreamed it would be, and Hotel Mercurio was right near the heart of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Hotel Mercurio were so helpful and friendly. We loved our room which had windows right along the canal. It was so fun to go to the window when we heard a musician or singer going by on a gondola. There were three of us and we had plenty of room. Cappuccino at breakfast was delicious. We loved the location and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    We will be booking this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, especially if you are traveling with kids, everything is 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and room with canal view is definitely worth the money, the kids loved looking at gondolas and boats passing by!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was fairly close to the most popular tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have lift(s). It's not quite convenient for elderly people!

    The location was fairly close to the most popular tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    On check out hotel staff refused to carry our baggages so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out hotel staff refused to carry our baggages so we had to carry it down from the third storey down.when we checked in they carried it to the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    Hot, tiny and hard to navigate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tiny, there was air conditioning but it worked like a fan only so the tiny room was extremely hot. No facilities to make a morning brew especially when one wakes up at 0430 hours from the heat and you can’t make a drink in your room and no where sells coffee before 8am. There was also a thousand stairs to navigate to get to the hotel and then another 65 stairs inside the hotel. Being of senior age with a bad back and heavy suitcases made this stay hard going.. I give this hotel a 1 star rating 😳

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    The bathroom was very modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had luggage stands in the room.

    The bathroom was very modern and clean. Bed was comfortable, and the a/c was an added bonus. Breakfast was awesome, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that when you stepped out of the hotel you were in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Located in the heart of Venice, within 3 minutes walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in the heart of Venice, within 3 minutes walking distance from San Marco Square, it offers quite spacious rooms compared to Venice standard. Breakfast with a normal choice of continental type.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful at the desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful at the desk. Organised water taxis and porter helped carry bags a few streets away and waited with us on our departure to the terminal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Well located, between San Marco square and Rialto bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located, between San Marco square and Rialto bridge. Very clean, good breakfast, big rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Totally recommend to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Getting lost in venice is part of the experience that should not deter you from liking Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property offered a purely 15th-century Venetian experience with a full Venetian bedroom (please Venice rooms are not very spacious), you will feel like you are with the merchants of Venice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly good hotel in the heart of Venice, right close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door to the bathroom opens hardly

    Surprisingly good hotel in the heart of Venice, right close to San Marco square. Surprise is that they have slippers in the room! It's typical mostly for Asian hotels, but not for European, and it is extremely comfortable if you forget this thing or have limited space in backpack. Interior is gold-ish, like in good old times, also adds to impression of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative.

    The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food. The location was perfect with walking distance to the main attractions and the room itself was better than it looked in the pictures. I was expecting it to be a bit run down but it wasn't. Very clean too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall, it was fine, we only used the room to sleep..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I realize it is Venice, but for the price, the room was so small.. 2 twins pushed together to make a queen bed.

    Nice quiet location, but still near San Marco. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant place in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tricky to wash our toddler in a shower, because the shower head is mounted into the wall. For anybody who is more than two it’s not a problem😊

    It’s literally several steps away from the theatre La Fenice. It’s a nice, clean and quiet hotel with friendly staff. It is easy to find. It is close to St Marco basilica. And they serve really good coffee and cakes for breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A+ would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems I was allergic to whatever they were washing their bedsheets in! But other than that I had a great time! Nothing negative to report

    The location is excellent, the breakfasts were delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, won't let the size of the room affect our opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't have enough floor space to place our large suitcase on the floor and open it. Carry ons would be OK. Not unexpected that the room would be small however.

    Breakfast was almost overwhelming, there was so much selection. Location was great. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good 3* property, clean with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good 3* property, clean with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are really small, but then its Venice. Not the shower in our room was either hot or cold, low pressure. Otherwise good property at fabulous location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    A tiny hotel that offers a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    One of the best Customer service I have ever seen. One of the staff at the desk named "Marco" was extremely helpful. He helped us in rescheduling train tickets, arrange an early breakfast so we can be reach train station on time. Breakfast included freshly made cappuccino.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent (close to Rialto Bridge and St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just a bit too warm, but no big deal

    The location was excellent (close to Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square), staff were very pleasant. Issued us helpful directions to get to the hotel and nearby sites. Would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Super happy!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm glad I choose this hotel for my one night stay in Venice. Hotel is in the centre of Venice, and it takes no more than 5min walk to get to ...everywhre actually! For the price I paid (€50) room was amazing, clean, with fresh towels. Breakfast was tasty, fresh and lots of choices. But the best was the lady in the reception. She helped me a lot! I couldnt contact the hotel when I meant to stay the night after (I was going with my boyfriend to Tuskany), and she spent her own time to find out the phone number to this place, they didnt answer so she found adress email to this place, and when me and my boyfriend were visiting Venice she was sending emails with them to find out the info for us about the check in time etc. Amazing woman! She didnt need to do that!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only two small tables, quite inconvenient for working. The water pressure was weak.

    The room was rather small, but had a large and very comfortable bed. It was a cold February, and the heating system worked perfectly. I was impressed by the number of sockets. The staff provided a kettle on my demand.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    We liked the location and the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really tiny. The bed had a woolen cover which was too thin. The breakfast was ok with good coffee but not a massive selections of food.The heater in our room was noisy so rather annoying.

    We liked the location and the price. We got good tips and recommendation from the receptionist Monica. Also, the room was done everyday and absolutely spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Cozy hotel with great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All delux rooms are different. Depending on luck you can get perfect one or average

    Location is perfect. Very clean hotel. Cappuccino was ideal during the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall is that you can hear absolutely everything from your neighbouring rooms and corridors

    Lovely staff and clean rooms. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    It did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a canal side room which was pretty noisy from water taxis and work boats. The room needed rugs on the floor.

    Excellent staff. Comfortable bed and good shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Cheery, clean and a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle would have been great as Venice is very expensive for the little things

    The room was very clean The staff were fantastic particularly the man serving the breakfast Good location everything is very close Great instructions sent prior to arrival how to get there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) no elevator but the staff carried my suitcase up to the room ..

    Excellent location .. Extraordinary Management of Hotel Front Desk and very into clientel servicing and extremely helpful ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Great Location and friendly stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Beds are not comfortable especially the pillows. - Breakfast was not so bad but not good either.

    - Perfect location, close to touristic places. - Staff were friendly and helped whenever we need something.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard Pillows. Slight smell in the room ... I purchased room fragrance. Activity and noise on the floor above apartment from 7am. Grumpy female staff member in breakfast room.

    Location was amazing. Great size room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms have had their best time and can use some renovation. The rooms were clean tough, so nothing to complain about.

    Very good location close to San Marco square and any other touristic highlight in Venice. The staff was very friendly as well and gave us a lot of good advice for our visit to Venice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, welcoming and great food!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can’t help it, but there is a lot of stairs here and no lift so my mum struggled a little.

    The staff were extremely helpful giving us awesome ideas of where to go to get away from all of the crowds. They also offered up lots of great food ideas and even carried our bags up to our rooms :) and breakfast was AWESOME. fluffiest pancakes I’ve ever eaten!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Reasonable price and good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the location of the hotel is not far away from the ferry stop, it takes some time to figure out how to get to (and also get back) the hotel.

    Reasonable price and good quality. The staff is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Charming, friendly, perfect.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough time to stay longer.

    This hotel is near the Theater Fenice, It's easy to get to from the Vaporetti, and just far enough away from the San Marco square to have a break from the crowds to rest and relax. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the bathrooms are a good size, also very clean, given how small most are in Venice. The breakfast is varied with enough selection to satisfy just about any taste. I don't normally leave comments, but this hotel is worth it. It does not have an elevator, which for me is part of it's charm, but if that's a problem for you, know that before you book. Otherwise, it's a perfect place to stay in Venice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay with my colleagues
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly staff, comfortable room with excellent cleaning every day, tasty desserts for breakfast Near reception there is a computer for common use with the access to the printer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stay in Venice. Less than 5 minutes walk to San Marco Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not properly working during my stay.

    The hotel allowed me to store my luggages before check-in. Also, it was nice that my room has a balcony. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel for the Price (As Long As You're Willing to Adjust a Little)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom size was very small, the shower area in particular - a heavily built person would not be able to use it at all. Although the room was nice and quiet, it was quite meagerly furnished.

    The location of the hotel was very good, and right opposite Mozart's place to boot. Most of the important city centres were close enough to walk to. The hotel staff was also very helpful in assisting us to book concert tickets in Venice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Convienient to all sights once we got there. Good location for sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance from water bus would make it difficult to get to for anyone with a disablility, no elevator.

    courteous people. helped with luggage. clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Middle aged front desk clerk ruined stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman at the front desk was stern and seemed to have a hard time being sincerely friendly. Was not helpful and very cynical when I asked her how to get to the termini during an impromptu water bus strike. I was not impressed with her reaction to my inquiries and for this reason would not return to this venue or recommend it to anyone.

    Clean convenient lodging but hard to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was lovely - very clean in a central location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a kettle in my room

    The hotel was lovely - very clean in a central location with friendly, helpful staff and it was excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - Loved it all!

    The location was amazing, 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square! Hotel was so clean and room was stunning. Very Italian! Amazing value for money!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely 2 night stay for the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family suite with canal view was worth it! You can hear the church bell and also the serenades from gondolas. Across the canal is Mozart’s apartment. The location is perfect. The waitress in the breakfast room was perfect too! He seemed to be able to handle all coffee orders easily. Breakfast and coffee were fresh and tasted great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and friendly staff. Go for a superior room or suite if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with many Venice hotels the rooms were small but hey could have been furnished better with say carpets or softer lighting.

    Great location and very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    We were very happy with this hotel and its location in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the 4th floor and there were a lot of stairs to get up to our rooms. Some seniors would have problems with the stairs and might try to arrange for lower floor rooms.

    Great location if you are attending a performance at La Fenice. Excellent restaurants in the immediate area and pretty close to the San Marco/Val vapretto stop. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    Very very good after when we check out!! Spoilt. This not 1st time I booked from booking.com!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional check out woman staff!! She was very very very very very rude and don't know how to handle the problem!! She was shouting n made us shouting too!! Need to get rid of her!! Bad bad

    1. Location 2. Cheaper than Thomas cook!! But !!! We sent a letter about our complaint !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Best Choice in San Marco, Venice! Great location as everything is close by. Great staff and food (breakfast).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and very nice. Food at breakfast was great. Lots of stairs but it's an old hotel and very eell maintained...good exercise! I stayed there from Oct 17th till Oct 20th, 2017 and I would definitely recommend this place. Everything is close by the hotel. 10/10 from us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    The staff was very nice and the location was incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The power went off multiple times because of electrical issues. No elevator and very steep stairs.

    The staff was very nice and the location was incredibly central while not being too noisy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not accept cards for small payments Room equipment is very simple Impolite staff during check-out (older lady) This conversation really happened: - Can I leave my luggage here? + Yes, put it close to the wall in this corridor. (connecting two parts of the hotel) - Is it safe to leave it in the corridor? + If you don't like it then take the luggage away with you!

    Breakfast was OK Staff during check-in (young man) was helpful, as opposite to check-out - see below

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that for the price charged, rooms/beds could more modern/updated.

    Great location! Very close to St Marco Cathedral! Staffs were also very friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    I liked the place but they should upgrade the towels, mattress, and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard as a rock. The only pillow was flat and hard. The towels were like sandpaper. There were no eggs for breakfast.

    The room and the location was very quaint.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Lovely family hotel great advice and Amazing place to visi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morano was a disappointment however borano was amazing

    This hotel is a 3?star however the staff where 5?star You would be pushed to get a better location and yes you could get 5 star with no soul but we felt like family with our wonderful hosts Personally I couldn't think of a better place in Venice Ps listen to their advice, its priceless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Impressive City. Unique, cultural, historical and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many carbs for breakfast and missed good old bacon and eggs, but we have found this standard fare in Europe. Venice beautiful and historic and full of culture but crowds of tourists overwhelming. We are glad we visited but two days enough and won't return. Also very much more expensive than we ever imagined. 4-10 Euros for a small glass of house wine in Italy???

    Locale was great for access to all Venice attractions, Concierge was incredible along with porter when needed. Room huge by European standards but no elevator a challenge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    One day in Venice is not enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were travelling with our adult daughter a door between rooms for more privacy but for one night this was fine

    Traditional building with access to everything within walking distance The staff very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    location, breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed mattress was terrible and by far the main fault with the stay. Never seen a mattress with such thin padding over the springs and wire of the frame. Certainly not Hotel standard. I did complain to the management and received an apology but a new mattress would have been better.

    location, breakfast and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and staff, but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loads of stairs so you need to be fit! Local restaurants are very expensive, especially wines: you need to walk to other areas of Venice to get more realistic prices. Hotel is expensive and I was charged the same as a couple even though I was single and only having one breakfast.

    My room was huge, being the disabled room, with an enormous shower room. Continental breakfast was great with loads of choice. Staff were really helpful, with recommendations of where to go and what to see. Location, near St Mark's Square, was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Generally a lovely little hotel in a great location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room at breakfast feels a little dark and cramped. And it would have been nice to have fresh fruit.

    Friendly. Comfortable room with a lovely view over the canal. Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    I would stay here again if it was slightly cheaper as its in a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was underneath the breakfast room (Room 23) so we were woken at 6am by the staff setting up breakfast and could hear plates rattling every time they walked. Our bathroom floor leaked so was always a big puddle which is never pleasant and it also had a very horrible sewer smell coming from it in the middle of the night. Breakfast was dull, no fruit other than apples!

    It was in a nice location, helpful staff, room was clean. Liked the view over the canal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good sized rooms for Venice & a good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a good location only about 5 mins away from St Mark's square but it's not on the canal as pictures show. Some rooms may give you a view of a small canal down one side of the hotel. However the rooms are a very good size for Venice - we were quite surprised. Rooms & facilities are very good. Breakfast is in another part of the hotel & is fairly basic. Stairs are a challenge at the end of a long day but you expect this in Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    We had the worse stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff quite unfriendly and kind of fed up in attitude. Our room was probably the worst . We were given the room that was what I would describe to be designated for people with disabilities as very close to the reception and the main stairs and the bathroom had all the disabled facilities. The room itself was very dark, there was a wordrobe obstructing the only small window which gave us the view of the wall and not much natural light and also part of the door to the bathroom . It looked like that piece of furniture was either the wrong size for the room or it has been put there just to annoy the guest. Breakfast was poor in choices but pretty good on taste.

    Great location, very close to S Marco Square and short walking distance from the water bus station.Room was clean but very basic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.5
    We were booked to stay 4 nights & checked in and out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked to stay 4 nights & checked in and out after seeing the state of the room. Didn't even stay 1 night, paid for the one night and found another hotel. We were not happy with it at all, nothing to like about it. Photos on the site very misleading. The room was so small, very dark, absolutely very average for the price. The bathroom was tiny and outdated. The man at front desk was not welcoming at all. It took us a long time to locate the property as it's tucked away. Would not recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in room 22 was very noisy. Every time the top room guests moved our chandelier would bounce. The cleaners have a room right next door to room 22 where they dump all their cleaning goods right outside your door. No elevator. I wouldn't rate it for a place to stay with toddlers. The room was extremely small and dull!

    The location was perfect. Close to all major attractions and close to grocery stores. The theater is 30m away with a good restaurant. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    A really pleasant experience and a great find that probably undersold its location and character,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stairs up to the reception and room without a lift that was a little difficult with luggage, but probably to be expected for a central location and a very old building.

    The location was ideal and the hotel was a very charming old building set on a canal, it was amazing to see gondolas from our bedroom window every morning. Also a nice breakfast, a bonus in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    The whole experience was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    The hotel was central to all the sights, the breakfast was just right not to much choice. Our room was on the 3rd floor which was nice out of the way. the room was spacious and clean. we arrived to san marcso by a vaperetto which cost around 27 euros each return to journey which was a great experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay for one, or a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit space challenged. And no one helped with the luggage

    Clean and friendly place to be, near piazza San Marco. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars around

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible wifi. Room was dirty, with biscuits on the floor and crumbs spread out. Also, in the shower we found the soap from previous guests. The air conditioning dripped inside the room. Very noisy, you could hear the noise from other rooms and from the street. They did not replace the soap and the toilet paper.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Quaint Venice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable, but the double was actually 2 singles pushed together that kept splitting down the middle.

    Close to different attractions. Extra friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Old World charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had asked for a canal view in our email we recieved a view of the alley / laneway where the front entrance is [quite noisy], Payment is upfront before you see what you are really getting. there was none available [although they offered us another room the next day we chose to stay put], no mini fridge/or mini bar to keep water or in my case medicine cold in the room, no exhaust fans in the bathroom [we went in July very hot and humid], the electrical outlets were in odd places and needed an extension cord to accesses a 220v to 110v converter [which they provided] to charge your cell phones or ipad/laptops, TV was small and in an odd place, there was no place to put your luggage except the floor or on the three chairs provided, No dresser or vanity, the little table barely enough to put a tray of food and night tables in the room were tiny, The number one thing I didn't like was No elevator!, to those of you like me who have difficulty navigating stairs our room was three long flights of stairs to get to our room after a long day of walking was tough! also Down and then back up to get to the breakfast in the morning.

    The Location was central to San Marco square, the room was good with good AC, Old world charm rooms with wood beams and a skylight in the room and bathroom, the bathroom was a good size with a nice shower, staff was helpful with good room service just a phone call away [24/7 it's a hotel], the cleaning service was very good and accommodating for those who are late starters [we are]. The breakfast was good with very friendly staff [all staff and management were extremely helpful] to make you an espresso or in my case cappuccino the moment you come to breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    1.Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Iron and iron board should be available on request. 2. Kettle for tea/coffee in the room 3. Another router for WiFi on the 2nd floor which will improve the WiFi coverage of the premisis.

    1.Very helpful staff. 2.I like the email before arriving about directions to the hotel. 3.The breakfast was good 4.Infant cot was readily available for our little boy. 5. The room were nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    A modest alternative in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small--but that's not the real issue. No storage or any adequacy. No place to put luggage, no bedside table on my side of the bed. The woman on duty in the daytime (Monica) was fantastic, fluent in English, helpful and resourceful. However, there didn't seem to be any communication between night staff and day staff. One of our rooms had a broken air-conditioning unit, and it was very hot--and the night staff didn't seem able to help or to pass on the request to have that looked into. Lots of stairs to climb, which could be a problem for some visitors, although for us it was more about exhaustion at the end of the day and facing three flights of stairs to our room!

    This is a modest, 3-star "albergo"--I suppose like the penziones of the past. For the money, in this location at high season, it is a good deal. I suspect that springing for the more expensive rooms in this hotel would be worth the cost. Everything was very clean, and the absurdly small bathroom was newly-fitted and functioned well (no place to hang towels). The location is romantic and perfect...right in the heart of the San Marco neighborhood--a five-minute walk from Piazza San Marco, and literally down the block from la Fenice opera house. Excellent non-tourist restaurants (as far as that is possible here) close by. The included breakfast was fine--not lavish, but not meager, either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Decent place in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was decent, not the best. The property didn't have an elevator. The number one issue i had was that the map on Booking.com had it listed in a different location, further east on a street with an almost identical name. It was not easy to find this hotel, especially at night.

    The room was nicely furnished, with comfortable beds. The bathroom was a decent size and it was located on a fairly quiet street. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    clean, efficent great location, a safe and comfortable place to sleep and rest up after sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was what I had been described, and I didnt expect any more than what was on offer, no compliants

    The staff were very accomadating. I recommned anyone who travels and the country is not your first language, to have the tiem to be pateint, the staff did thier up most best to help me with every thing the motel had to offer. The breakfast was very friendly efficent, and coffee was good, The kitchen manager was helpful, and sung away to the opera playing on the sound system, adding charm and warmth, and spoke good english, as my italian is poor. very happy to stay again ,location is terrific to all areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, good location, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked it all!

    The Hotel Mercurio provided a single large room for four adults very comfortably. During our 2 day stay, we enjoyed 3 nice meals at local restaurants recommended by the manager. The hotel is located very close to San Marco square and easy walking distance from shopping and the Realto market area, where we enjoyed a gondola tour. The water taxi from the train station took us directly to/from San Marco. All very enjoyable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    Venice is expensive & not welcoming any more. Hotel average. Whole visit expensive & disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken door lock when I arrived. Took a while to fix so I dumped my case & left hotel to explore venice without a freshen up or change as tradesmen fixing door! Many stairs up to room - not easy with suitcase. Nothing friendly or welcoming about the place sadly apart from one member of staff. A disappointingly very clinical stay in a beautiful city - like they can't be bothered with tourists any more. I have been to Venice several times.

    Location good to just walk from & see venice. Breakfast looked great but sadly had to leave too early to enjoy

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: