Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropole Suisse 4 stars

Piazza Cavour 19, 22100 Como, Italy

#19 of 29 hotels in Como

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1673 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner service was horrible and the selections were very limited. I was sorry I broke my golden rule of never eating where I sleep (due to heavy rain that evening). Whatever you do, don't get sucked into booking dinner at the hotel because of the 10% discount for booking before 6pm. There are multiple better options within easy walking distance.

    The beds were comfy, the rooms a good size and also, a great view of the harbor from our room. The staff were all very helpful. We parked our car at the hotel and this worked very well - just make sure you allow extra time for the staff to get your car out of the pack.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location. View of the lake was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant attached is very good, lots of restaurants nearby also. Close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only adequate - for e.g. No freshly prepared fruit - all the other hotels we visited on our trip provided a significantly better variety of breakfast items with much friendlier staff.

    Great secure parking for an additional cost, fabulous location for a short stay in Como itself although expensive. Reception staff helpful and friendly however restaurant staff miserable and could do with some customer service training. Room quiet, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few more "wows" would have been appropriate, given the price value equation.

    Staff was generally very helpful, with exception of one daytime/evening Concierge. Location was fabulous. Breakfasts were very good, but were exactly the same, day after day - abit of variety would have been appreciated. Room was large and comfortable, as was bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad beds with very hards pillows and very poor breakfast. There was only tomatoes from vegetable, one cheese, one salami and ham and only nescafe, no cappucino or espreso. Never more...

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despote the location, the views are not to the lake or harbour. Breakfast reasonable good, burequest for capuccino instead of regular coffee.

    The hotel locates in the very centre of the lake harbour area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the air conditioning in our room had malfunctioned , they apologised and provided us with a portable fan , the room was very hot and the street noise prevented us fro opening any windows especially at night

    A recently renovated very spacious room looking over the lake , excellent location to the train station and ferry service .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurant was pricey and fairly empty and wasted opportunity - morning sun on terrace but not open for coffee!! Air-con wasn't available "until June" and heating was permanently on. We had to open windows, and as we were right on top of the road it was very noisy!

    Hotel breakfast was good. Location good - right next to the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For EUR 190 per night, I expected the room to be more luxurious. It was ok.

    Staff very friendly and very good location. Clean and had all necessities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee at breakfast should really make a real Italian coffee rather than have a percolator but thats not the end of the world

    super staff, really friendly and have the old school service that most hotels are now leaving behind. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the staff both at reception and in the dining room. Room 8 has a splendid walk-in shower and nice view - there are rooms with balconies also. Lovely view. Great location. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking space for hotel guests was really small (only around 6 cars will fit into it). There's a secure public garage though about 5-10 minutes by foot. Didn't like the room décor. It felt bare, like it was not expecting any guests to stay there. It was not cozy, and everything was just white.

    The staff, especially, Milene, was very helpful and courteous. The location was perfect. It was at the lakefront, near the boats going for the lake tour. Lots of restaurants outside. The view from the room was amazing. You could see the lake and the mountains with the funicular. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im 178cm and found the bed too short. Terrible water pressure for showering.Pillows give no support.More english tv channels.

    Location 20 metres from the ferry. 100 metres from train station to Milan.50 metres from restaurants and great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gone glory and definitely not 4 star hotel. Old, musty smell, dusty because of renovations to room at the end of the corridor. Breakfast below average. Bathroom very dated. Only hand held shower in bath.

    Very central. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were so hard they woke me up with sore ears! Newer pillows would be a really good investment. The parking was also a little further away than expected. The team at the front desk needed to smile a little more - they were helpful but just seemed a little sad/too serious.

    This hotel is in an awesome location and has wonderful views from the windows. It is a little older but the rooms have great new bathrooms and everything is well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needed a paint brush and a sweeping brush. In my room 24 the shower didn't work. I last stayed at this hotel 20 years ago when it was a privilege to stay and eat their. Today its only redeeming feature is location

    The most positive point in favour of the hotel was the two young men in the restaurant who were wonderful but serving average food and the porter who was equally nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite renovating the rooms, the essence of a hotel room was unfortunately not given; isolation of rooms was very bad and the bed was very hard. You could hear everything from the streets, and I am not a noise sensitive person. This unfortunately did lower a good experience with the hotel.

    Great location, breakfast was also good. Seems they did some renovation in the rooms as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a shabby room overlooking the main road noisy the whole night We couldnt sleep! Light from below flooded the room there was one flimsy curtain The room was uninviting like a standard 2 star hotel. We complained in the morning and were moved to a better room We should be refunded for the first night since the next day we were exhausted!!!! We expect you to take measures Most of the staff very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, some trash under the wardrobe and used shampoo tube found in bathroom, room with lake view comes with car noises from the street in front

    The location and the view was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An English thing really - it could do with tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Because we stayed for a week, the staff (or owner) allocated us a fantastic room overlooking the piazza at the front of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the staff always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the main lake-side road, traffic noise, especially when the windows were open, can't be avoided. But we were surprised at the amount of noise which penetrated from the room next door. For example we could hear their alarm go off in the morning and the sound of their shower running. First impressions were that the bed was very comfortable, but in the morning I suffered with bad back ache, so for me I think it was too soft. I also like to have a cup of tea first thing in the morning before having to face the world, so the lack of tea making facilities in the room came as a bit of a blow.

    Our bathroom was excellent, in particular the shower was a delight. The public rooms are very comfortable with plenty of seating to lounge in, and the staff were particularly helpful willing to help out with advice when asked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to the pictures on booking.com we had a strong feeling that we stayed another hotel. We were disappointed because we thought that it is a scam by tricking the pictures. Dirty walls, very old and poor furnitured room, pillow had odd smell. Design of the room was from the early 70's. Average breakfast selection related to Italy. Tomato was the only vegetable. Bathroom needs renovation.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. Helpful staff to assist parking inside the hotel garage. Wifi was fast enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls are probably so thin that every sound comes through. Pillows on bed were extremely hard.

    Staff was very friendly, solution orientated and helpful. Location - perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The banging and drilling at 8am both mornings. The tired decor and peeling wallpaper, the poor fitting of windows and doors. It’s long overdue a freshen up.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no water Kettle and basic room services for 4 stars hotel. The water doesn’t get hot early morning and couldn’t get shower in the morning.

    Location and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect (right in town) and the views from the room were spectacular. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was great!

    Great location, right on the water. Had a room with a view over the hills and lake, and it was amazing. Hotel has a lot of character, and has been around for a long time (over 120 years)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one socket in room to change phones.and no tea or coffee facilities,which would of been nice .would of been nice if you were able to get a snack at the bar.

    View from the room,cleanliness of the room and hotel,and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was too small. The receptionist was not polite. Some of the rooms were very old and the bathroom was very very small.

    Location. Restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by car and hotel had its own parking that cost 16 eur, limited space and after check out we had to wait for the “valet” to move an other car. Our room was not reflected on the website at all, furniture is old, the room was cold and there was no cover for the blankets, even when we asked the receptionist looked surprised. Amenities had poor selection and the water had clorine smell very much. Very noisy, isolation is. Not good. Breakfast extremly poor, one type cheese, no vegetables, scrambled egg was greenish, coffee was watery. During check out nobody checked satisfaction. Overpriced for low quality, would not consider staying again here.

    The view was amazing! The hotel is directly by the lake and the room was facing to it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower didn't met my expectations, the shower stall was poor with plastic curtains and the shower jet weak.

    The location is great and the room was cozy and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major dislikes, Hot drink making facilities would have been nice.

    The view from the room down the lake was excellent, the room was bright, airy and clean. The breakfast was a nice mix and the hot food was a nice addition.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I was totally disapointed because during our staying in the hotel I had a birthday and I did not have any compliment from the hotel. I'm traveling a lot and in every other country hotels usually offer complimentary wine and fruits or cake. Even one piece of cake with a candle could be a good surprise. But no. Unfortunatly its not 4 star service which should pay attention to details. I wrote about my birthday date in comments before booking and my friends were asking about any surprise but hotel staff told them that they can by a bottle of wine themself and order a delivery to my room. :(( This is sad. - For hot breakfast the had only eggs and bacon all the time during our staying. Nothing more -The other thing is we didn't have a normal bathroom in our room. It was only a shower but to take it you should stay on the floor. It was winter and we wanted to get warm after walkings and to take a hot bath but it was unreal.

    The room we had was nice . It has a balcony with a nice view of lake Como. We booked standart room but we were lucky to have a nice view also. The size of room and equipment are also very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi struggled on the top floor. Some parts of the hotel appears that they could do with a lick of paint.

    View of the lake was perfect. The location seems to be the best in town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the best hotel I have stayed in and I will surely stay on it the next time I visit Como, the staff were wonderful, my train was late and the just said to me go any place and when ever you come your bags will be here save. the location and the hotel were perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing cold in the room . We told the Reception to increase the heating up as it is a centralized heating that is control by the staff, however nothing was done... We woke up in the middle of the night couple of times just because of the cold.

    Good view of the lake

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom toiletries - said they were provided but shampoo was shampoo/shower gel and no conditioner. If I had known I'd have brought my own. Most uncomfortable pillows I've had for a long time. Double bed was two singles pushed together.

    Great location. Helpful staff. Nice hotel. Very good price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was harder than I would have liked.

    Hotel was in a lovely location, right near the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night was fine, room was clean and decent view of the lake. The view is perhaps the reason why you book a hotel on the lake. Okay, but in the morning when on a tight schedule to make an appointment, there was no hot wateR for a shower. We ring Reception, had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come check and confirm there was no hot water. She said, okay, I will go tell my colleague. Another 10 minutes go by, at this point we are running late. Nobody comes back, we ring reception for an update and are told we will have to change rooms. 10 minutes later a man with a key comes and says this is just to shower. The room to shower is upstairs, take the lift. Like seriously, we are expected to go in the lift w a towel and wet hair? There weren’t any Robes or anything. We call reception. They say okay just switch rooms. Nobody to help us move our things, we are scrambling as we are in a rush to pack our things, go upstairs. We get to the new room, incredibly outdated, cold (heater was terrible) and the window faced a brick wall. We asked if there was anything better, nothing, not even an apology. We get ready, miss our Appointment and have to re coordinate our day. After a few hours touring, we head back into the hotel, the concierge stops us in the entrance and says “your original room water is not broken”. We said, well, your colleague also could not get It working this morning. The concierge muttered, but still no apology. We suggested that we could go back to that room; she said “whatever” but we realised we’d already packed and unpacked twice in 10 hours. Honestly, the hotel and location are decent. But the staff are arrogant, unhelpful, and very unfriendly. If you go here, have low expectations.

    Location was perfect, right next to the lake and square where there was a Christmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was less varied, especially for the Asian menu, because quite a lot of Asian people who stay here.

    can not be denied, the location of this hotel is one of the best in the como, with the harbor park, shopping center, bus station and train station, the price offered is also not too expensive, view you can get pretty good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could't find the mini bar in the room even they said there was one:)

    Our room was large and comfortable. Lake view was amazing. It was 2-3 minutes walking distance to Como Station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The position of the toilet roll holder should be moved forward to avoid having to twist your body to reach it.

    Enjoyed the panoramic view of Lake Como from two windows and proximity to ferry service, cafe strips and bars. Room was comfortable with good storage and staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no bad memories here

    this hotel heve the best place in como, location at the central, near como park, shopping blok, como port, the room is nice big, and i love the bath room thet was very nice. and the staf is helping so much.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy location if overlooking lake near the road crossing - makes a noise when pedestrians crossing. Bar shut at 10.30 pm on Sunday night which was not good service. Shower leaked and made room wet.

    Hotel is very old school and quaint. Central location. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bar staff friendly too. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fine. Could be improved with some courtains, table lights, better towels, ... There was no wifi coverage in the room!! The rest of the hotel needs a renewal; old carpets, old entrance, old elevators, old room keys, no appealing restaurant or bar, ... They should have some deal with a parking in the area to get better conditions for customers, they just pointed a public one for us at standar rates (5 min walk).

    If you make sure your room is new, it is a good place to stay. The place is excelent, just in front of the lake and the main square. Just two minutes walk from the Duomo. There couldn't be a better location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking. And missing bath towel in the room

    Great location and beautiful landscape to Como lake Nice and serviceable staff, Modern and comfort room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upset with the breakfast not worth of 4*. The heating in the room was not enough.

    Location of hotel is amazing. The hotel is next to the cathedral and many shops and restaurants. We had a suite with wonderful view on the Funiculare and the Lake, from the 5th floor. We felt in love with this view. The style of the hotel is ancient and charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not great and we had to park on a public car for 20 Euros a 10 minute walk away which was difficult with 2 dogs and luggage.

    The location is amazing and the staff on reception and bar were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though temperature outside was rather cold, the room was too warm. At night we left the balcony door open for some fresh air. Obviously, with the door open, noise from outside could be heard easily. No lighting next to the wardrobe. This made it difficult to choose clothes. It took rather long for warm/hot water to reach the tap. Breakfast was not included in the room price, so we decided to purchase breakfast at the hotel. Regretfully, we were a bit disappointed because when compared to other 4 star hotels, it was rather poor - no vegetables, small selection of meats and cheeses, etc.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. We asked for a room facing the lake and were provided a room as requested. The room had a balcony from where we could enjoy beautiful view. The staff is efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels eventually are not towels, but thin cloth. The bath tissue is put on ridiculous location, far away to reach.

    The location is excellent, cross the street to the lake ferry. We stayed at lakeview room, and can see wonderful day and night view through windows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small comment. It would be better if the hotel could inform us in advance with a map about the location of the parking that we reserved. Is it behind the building, underground, etc.? Or at least mark the garage as "Hotel Garage", so it would be easier for first timer like me to find it. We eventually found it, but it took us a while going around the area. Otherwise, their valet parking service was great.

    The staff were very friendly, smiling and helpful. Great location, right in town by the lake and next to all the shopping streets. Food was great in the hotel restaurant, at reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the problem with the access during the event. plus they had no solutions but charged us for the parking.

    There was a event in front of the hotel and they did not tell us this proper to our arrival which make it hard for us to get access to the hotel. We also had a handicap person with us and had so much trouble to get to the hotel but they did charge us for parking. Which i felt should of not be charge due to the problems.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were SO hard! And only one flat pillow each. Beds definitely need a mattress topper of some kind and some nice fluffy pillows wouldn't go astray. Dinner in the restaurant wasn't as nice as we expected but the staff were lovely.

    This was an easy 2 minute walk from the train station. Great view of the lake and central to everything. Cute hotel and clean. Staff were lovely. Breakfasts were delicious in the restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulously located hotel reminiscent of another era! Very spacious room with views over Lake Como. Double glazed windows ensured that any traffic noise was minimal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room and furniture needed to be modernized. Luckily we were able to change rooms after one night as the first night sleeping in an antiquated bed was not at all comfortable.

    Our room was old and dated but the bathroom was modern. It was quiet at night in spite of the busy location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had been modernized but some of the other furniture was old and sagging. It needs a refurbishment to bring it up to standard.

    Fortunately we were able to move rooms after the first night as the bed was awful and the room pokey. The staff were accommodating in our request to upgrade and didn't charge us much more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too old, it looks like the 80's that'd never been renovated. Unlike the advertised room. Air condition isn't working. No shower curtain. The room has a smell.

    Location & staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too old, it looks like the 80's that'd never been renovated. Unlike the advertised room. Air condition isn't working. No shower curtain. The room has a smell.

    Location & staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too firm. A friend stayed there a week after us and he called and asked if our bed was like sleeping on sand bags.

    The hotel is in a great location and right across from the ferries to the other areas. The hotel is nice and the rooms are pretty typical of Europe. The only issue we experienced is that the bed was extremely hard. We stayed in 6 different hotels on our two week trip and this was the hardest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard and the same for the pillows. Only one pillow per person. Breakfast was average, very limited hot food.

    Location, balcony looking over the lake, very spacious room. Restaurant was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room could have been re furbished. restaurant well priced but not very helpful or attentive staff. Waited a long time for drink of coffee service when sat out side hotel. Unable to charge meals to the room as to difficult apparently. Reception staff extremely helpful on all matters.

    The room was small and bed very hard. Uncomfortable pillows. Room in need of a re- furbishment. Other rooms of the floor (3) looked much nicer and brighter. Lovely view of the lake and square ( room 29)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    99% of the pictures in the booking.com listing are of modern rooms, ours was certainly not modern. Beds were squeaky, and whole room very dated.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel has a retro style, which is cool to look at but has it down-sides, as the retro comes from being old. This has it consequences as there is no way you can get into the hotel in a wheelchair or baby-buggy (stairs have no driveway and the elevator is too narrow to drive into).

    location, style, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just the best stay for years. Everything was perfect - the hotel is the classic grand tour design - but updated. Service impeccable. Room fantastic and huge. Nothing to dislike at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furnishings at the ground floor lounge are outdated.

    We enjoy the stay. Great lake view from balcony. Location is central. Ferry piers just across the street. Good base to explore other towns along the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to order tea/coffee from reception - no kettle in the room although there was a very small fridge offering soft drinks.

    Small family run hotel right opposite the Lake. Staff were very helpful and they made us feel at home. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Parking in the hotel's own small garage on site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from "Grand Prix " ar night

    Great location opposite boat terminal Hotel although dated was comfortable We stayed on the first floor overlooking lake however if you want a quieter room ask for one at the rear of hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were extremely hard and so was the bed. I ended up using some towels for a pillow.

    Great location with wonderful view looking over the jetties up the lake. I did not raise the issue with staff but should have. The reception staff were very professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the open tub!!!!

    Our upper level rooms faced the lake and we were concerned about noise. However the closed balconies and shutters made the rooms VERY quite. Water pressure was very weak in the OPEN tub/ shower!!! Overal was a discent hotel and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our verandah balcony was a little jaded and lake view was blocked by two trees, but didn't expect the hotel would be able to do anything about that, and anyway don't believe trees should be chopped down just for a view.

    Extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was 2 singles pushed together. Parking was full, however another location was offered but was quite far from hotel. A tip to other travelers, if you're lucky there is cheaper metered parking available around 200 meters from the hotel which is free between 8pm-8am.

    Great location and waterfront directly across the road. Friendly staff and a nice looking old style hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of monthballs, poor soundproofing, not replaced toiletries from privious occupants, need shower curtain as shower wet the whole bathroom, motorbike stored in garage overnight was scratched by another vehicle and didn't notice till next fuel stop

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were lovely & really helpful. No tea facilities in the room, but these were quickly brought up to me when i asked, additionally i arrived a few hours before check in & they were kind enough to get this weary traveller checked in early so i could nap. I'd opted for a deluxe lake view room, & got a huge room with doubke doors leading to a balcony - excellent double glazing kept the street noise from disturbing me. Onsite resturant was good, but wasnt airconditioned so i stuck with room service (weather was mid 30's).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor, pillows and bed madras was very tight, I woke up with neck and back pain. The room was quite noisy, I could hear toilet flash all the time.

    Hotel location was good. The bed linen and towels were very clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only criticism is of the light sensors in the hall and bathroom which automatically go on and there is no way to switch them off. A bit annoying in the middle of the night to be flooded with light.

    Excellent location and very good friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropole Suisse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: