Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropolitan 4 stars

Via dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#15 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1719 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very helpful and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Great location and very helpful and efficient staff. The room and bathroom were excellent. The terrace bar was great and the bartender was really welcoming, giving lots of lovely snacks to go along side drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    A good spot to stay in Bologna. Quiet and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk person who checked us in was abrupt. She argued that I could not use the laundry washer because we were only there for 2 nights but it was clearly in my confirmation package.

    Apartment was great! The roof top deck at the main hotel for drinks was a great spot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in Bologna centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooftop bar closes at 10pm. Rather early for a nightcap.

    Excellent breakfast with charming and attentive staff. Great location smack in the city centre. Modern interior and furnishings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel near centre and station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little dark. Drinks on roof terrace and breakfast were expensive. Nice hotel but not very memorable.

    Easy walk from station and into the centre. Comfortable room with tea and coffee. Lovely view from roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The moment we arrived we already felt very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The moment we arrived we already felt very welcome. The lobby radiates quality and the staff is very friendly. They showed us the room and explained everything. The room almost felt like an apartment with the short entrance hall in the room itself. The large bed slept very well and the bathroom is modern and clean. There was even a socket for my hairdryer (I always bring my own but there's also one in the bathroom). Although Bologna is a very vibrant city we enjoyed a quiet night and slept almost until noon. The roof terrace is also a nice place to relax after a day in the city. You just step outside the hotel, go around the corner and there the busy city centre awaits you! We didn't take the breakfast but I'm sure that would be perfect as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel in a great location. Good value for money. Breakfast was also very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very well equipped hotel with friendly helpful staff and English speaking available. Location close to the piazza, restaurants and shops. Room spotless, neat and well proportioned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airport Shuttle bus information could have been more clear. We had difficulty locating the hotel when we got off the bus without a street map. We wondered around tugging heavy suitcase in 34c heat for too long. No full height wardrobe hanging Roof Cocktail Bar prices ridiculously high although the roof top view was great No hot water on last morning at 6.30am Had to have cold showers - not good. This was resolved just before we left the hotel but a bit late then!

    Very clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff especially Luca on Reception he made our stay wonderful with his suggestions and advice. Fantastic Roof Cocktail Bar Terrace. Easy walking distance to historic centre, shops, bars, cafes, and restaurants. Excellent buffet breakfast with good choices and very well presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Good Stay, good hotel would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall a good stay. Rooms were very modern but lacked good lighting. Other than that everything fine, I would stay again.

    Good location, staff friendly, hotel very clean, modern rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Little gem in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a strange blue light above it and you can hear the noise from the streets

    Great location with very nice decor. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of customer service skills which I attribute to cultural difference.

    Great location, hotel has nice deco, beautiful rooftop views, impressive breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Touch of luxury in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was spotless but unfortunately the last visitors dirty dishes were left in the dishwasher. The kitchenette was well equipped but the cooking facilities were not available. This was not a problem to us but future guests may wish to cook. The roof terrace is beautiful and we would have spent longer there but the drink prices were very high.

    The hotel is modern but mixes old with new very well. All Staff helpful and courteous, breakfast staff particularly. Beds and linen first class and very comfortable. Large bathroom with great shower. We had an apartment attached to the hotel, a 5 minute walk. Apartment was modern, very spacious, open plan and well thought out. Lovely and cool despite the heat. Great location just two minutes from the main shopping street and numerous bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    I stayed in one of the apartments at the satellite building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After the first day, the wifi stopped working at the satellite, apartment location. I reported this to the hotel staff and (the next day) they explained that this was due to telecom work in the neighborhood. They were sympathetic and understanding, but could not do anything about it. I understand that this is not under the control of the hotel, but still, as a business traveler far from home and office, not having wifi access in my room was unfortunately not acceptable.

    I stayed in one of the apartments at the satellite building. It was exceptionally clean and nicely furnished. The bed was comfortable and the A/C worked great. All the staff was accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The roof terrace was particularly nice and the location of both the hotel and the apartments was excellent—very central but also quiet. Highly recommended (except for wifi issues).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay on Bologna centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dark.

    Room was a good size beds were comfortable very modern decor and the shower was great. Very convenient to shops and a short walk to Piazza Maggiore. Rooftop terrace a real bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice independent aparthotel in Bologna centre.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon control may be improved...

    Nice independent aparthotel in Bologna centre. Privacy and comfort on a very busy area, and nice large cosy flat for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Rooftop bar in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good and varied breakfast. Nice roof bar and terrace. Room pricey for size and outlook but there are other choices. Good location. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend or return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a very basic hotel. Claims to be a 3 star but more like a 2 star. Exceptionally noisy as on a busy road. Garbage cans emptied right outside hotel in the middle of the night. They claim to have a shuttle to airport on booking.com which they don't. Paid €30 for a taxi to airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Loved it, would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect, walking distance to the train station, and in the other direction, the same distance to the Piazza Maggiore in the center of the historic district. In fact the hotel, which is on a modernized boulevard, is surrounded by the historic district on all sides. Rooms were great, but the best thing was the comfortable rooftop bar with views over the city. Staff were welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for seeing Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The Gentlemen that checked us in was really efficient, he spoke excellent English took our cases to the room and explained everything about the Hotel. He gave us good recommendations on where to drink and eat. The room was a little small but was clean and a nice shower/bathroom. overall a good Hotel in an excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud noises from the inside – doors banging, can hear everything from corridor and from lobby (we had a room in the first floor). Room was not very clean (2 folded towels were placed in 2 corners of the room. I have no idea what was under it... I was afraid to touch it).

    Great location. Nice staff at reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    A well located , stylish , modern hotel that was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer not powerful enough.

    A beautifully stylish and modern hotel. The bathroom were Uber modern with great mood lighting. Minor irritations were a poor quality hair dryer with very little oomph, and another waste bin in the room would have been useful. The breakfast was stylish too! Small nearly presented portions of fruit etc, there was plenty of it and a good selection. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great central location too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Ok but expensive and lacking a welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were grumpy and unwelcoming. Not even a goodbye at check out. We stayed in an apartment which was spartan and not cleaned throughout our stay. Massively overpriced.

    Convenient location. Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a really lovely break but felt that the property was too expensive for what was provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks on the roof terrace were too expensive. There could have been more tea & coffee provided in the apartment considering the cost of the apartment. Overall the apartment was lovely but very expensive-it would have been nice if breakfast had been included not an extra cost.

    The roof garden was a lovely place to sit & read. The hotel was very central to all the sights. The kitchen was clean & well equipped. The staff were all very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great and we could stroll down to the square and enjoy all the sights. It was also very accessible for the train station - its less than a 10minute walk! The staff team were very helpful and efficient. We didn't have breakfast as we like to enjoy a coffee in the sunshine and watch the world go! I would definitely recommend it as a base for sightseeing, shopping and a stop over if you are travelling onwards by train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Elegant and stylish hotel, comfy beds, great location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise isolation in the room was not ideal... we were woken up by doors slumming in the corridor.

    Elegant and stylish hotel, comfy beds, great location and lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    hotel metropolitan era perfetto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we stayed in one of the "monolocali"--the studio flats. it was spacious, clean, modern, had good wi-fi, a big shower with great water pressure and the location was perfect for us. the staff was very helpful and responsive if we needed anything. we love bologna and we'd definitely stay at hotel metropolitan again. grazie a tutti voi all'albergo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, midway between the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was perfect, midway between the train station and the center of the city. Lobby area is stylish. Room was fantastic - located atop a landscaped rooftop terrace. I hope to stay here next time I'm in town. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in an apartment which was spacious, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service at the roof top bar. Bar closes very early and choice of nibbles with drinks is very limited.

    We stayed in an apartment which was spacious, very clean and very well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful terrace, great location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast spread was very varied but I got the feeling they were trying to do too much. Would be better to focus on some key dishes for breakfast and to perfect those

    Absolutely brilliant staff in the restaurant. Gorgeous terrace area at the top of the hotel enjoy pre-dinner drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Good modern apartment within five minutes walk of the Piazza Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in the hotel apartments in the Via di Monari. The apartments are about three minutes walk from the hotel and also just five minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore, so they are very well located. They're modern and everything works well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was NOT what was described in my reservation. I was told the hotel was fully booked, so we could not be moved into another room. The shower was near the bed, and the sink and toilet were in a different room, up three stairs. The walls were not insulated, so we could hear the people in the next room. One day housekeeping did not leave any toilet paper, so we had to go ask because we were completely out. Although the hotel is in a perfect location, if a person has mobility difficulties and the description of the room you book says it is wheelchair accessible, do NOT book because you will be sorely disappointed. The gentleman who took us to our room did not speak English very well, so although the reception told me the room number, the gentleman argued with me that it was another room. Of course the key did not work.

    Great location. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room somewhat quirky with washbasin and shower at entrance door, open to bedroom. Lacking some basic 4 star toiletries such as tissues, lotion. Several sets of steps to reach room.

    Excellent location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone connection to front desk for questions. Too hot in room. We left adapter/converter in room. Any chance you could mail to our home??

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasantly luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was it was impossible to close the doors quietly so there was a constant banging of doors. Why on earth could you not have incorporated soft closing doors?

    It was all very stylish and comfortable. The roof terrace bar was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop patio was not available at all hours.

    Great central location in a bustling area but hotel itself was an oasis of calm. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    great location: close to city centre, modern design in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not explain stuff very clear: our room did not included breakfast originally but he told us breakfast was included in our booking.

    great location: close to city centre, modern design in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel with really lovely staff who were incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a room that had it's own "private" courtyard - which led into the breakfast room. We were told this courtyard was just for us but we would exit our room in the morning and find people sitting there so it didn't feel very private (the courtyard looked directly into our room). Strange set up. If you value your privacy, worth checking if you are in room 503.

    Great hotel with really lovely staff who were incredibly attentive and keen to help wherever they could. The roof terrace at the hotel is a great place to have a drink and watch a Bologna sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proof from the eco/ movement in the corridor.

    Contemporary design, Very comfortable place, great location, staff the reception are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    pleasant short city trip, Bologna is great place for such visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When booking was made hv asked for special bed configuration, was not delivered - so why hotel is asking for guest suggestions during the booking ??

    Location is perfect;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Elegant, comfortable and well-situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was excellent and we loved the elegant presentation of the fruit, but it was slightly crowded and chaotic.

    It's in a great location - with easy access to the plaza Maggiore and the railway station.The rooms are smart and comfortable, but we did experience some noise from people using the stairs and from a heavy-footed person in the room above.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, close to restaurants, sights, and shopping
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not very well soundproofed, so you hear crying children, doors closing loudly, street noise (which is expected in inner city locations).

    Nice room, bathroom, comfortable lobby, rooftop bar, location, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable stay in a quality establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the risk of feeding the British stereotype, I do like bacon and eggs for my hotel breakfast. This place was too continentally stylish for that!

    The location was ideal, being very central - but just off the main road, The staff cannot be friendlier, but they remain fully professional at all times. I emailed in advance and requested the hotel made dinner reservations for us. As it transpired, this was not only necessary (given how busy the restaurants were), but also one of my better ideas - as the hotel chose great restaurants for us. We stayed in a courtyard room, which was really well designed for a couple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Excellent and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - comfortable room - very friendly staff- good breakfast with lots of small delicious items. Roof bar is amazing - quiet and peaceful after a day out in the city. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Not bad but could be so much better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a joke water pressure none existent tv a joke just gave up in the end and never open your rooms window as the nois from the streets is very bad

    Tidy place in hart of the town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Stayed in one of the apartments, was fine as i didnt need to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not as close to main hotel as had expected,but fine for my purposes.

    Stayed in one of the apartments, was fine as i didnt need to use the catering facilities - but a few more coffee/tea bags would be nice. Clean, great shower and reception staff at main hotel helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast with plenty of options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple room was very small.

    Nice breakfast with plenty of options. Nice and helpful staff. Great location, 8 minutes walk to main square and 12 to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Just what we like, clean, friendly, elegant, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom walls a bit thin but we seemto have quiet neighbourgs.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpfull. The hotel very clean and elegant. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location and staff but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Maybe we got unlucky with our particular room but at over €140 a night you'd hope to get a good night sleep. Unfortunately every night we were woken either by people in the room upstairs (no sound proofing on the floor/ceiling) walking in shoes or scraping furniture around the room or doors slamming (it's impossible to close them quietly). A lot of noise comes through the doors and ceilings so people returning at 3am will sound like they're in your room. Weirdly the quietest time to get some sleep is after 11am. There was also a drain smell from the sink.

    This hotel is in a good location, kind of equidistant between the train station and two towers/city centre. The staff were helpful and friendly every day. Bed is comfy (on the firm side), shower temperature is good, pressure is okay but not great. I can't comment on breakfast, at €14 euro per person per day there are lot cheaper options in Bologna so we didn't try it. The terrace upstairs is open during the day which can be great for a mid-day relax with a book, the bar is open from 5-10pm although prices looked expensive so we didn't try it in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location easily within walking distance to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location easily within walking distance to all sights and attractions. Beautiful rooftop terrace — perfect for relaxing and watching the sun set over Bologna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely bright. Modern and pleasant hotel. Perfect location for seeing Bologna and enjoying the amaz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A number of steps in the room and bathroom - needed to be careful. Cups in roomdid not have proper handles.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Room was beautifully decorated, with nice Terrazza. Excellent wifi service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Apartment appearance was just like the online photos and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t manage to get the air con to work in the apartment so it got quite stuffy and uncomfortable at night.

    Apartment appearance was just like the online photos and the location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel in a central location. We couldn't find fault with anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Obviously we don't know whether our room is representative of the overall standard.

    We were delighted by our choice. The hotel's location is excellent: an easy 10-15 minute walk from the main station and within easy reach of the historic centre. There are also countless excellent restaurants very close by. Our room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was very large and well appointed. The room was well-lit, both in terms of natural light and artificial lighting, including reading spotlights over the bed. The bed was extremely comfortable - I haven't slept as well away from home for a long time. There was underfloor heating in the bathroom and radiators in the bedroom, so it was easy to stay warm despite the freezing cold weather. All the staff were very welcoming (as were all the people we met in Bologna during our four-night stay).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom - see through door and shower nearly flowed over Breakfast was too busy, noisy, cramped and soooo many sweets/cakes people asking for cooked breakfast Some reception staff weren’t very welcoming/helpful (one younger guy was lovely) We had a room at front of hotel which was noisy

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.9
    Awful room with glass bathrooms without doors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and basins were in the middle of the room. It felt like we were staying in a big bathroom. Because there were no doors on the shower, we were cold when we showered. when we turned the heating on, to warm the room so showering wouldn’t be so cold, the room ended up very stuffy. We asked for the aircon remote as we had an a/c in the room, so we could cool the room after our shower in the night, but reception refused to give it to us, saying they do not allow the aircon on until Summer.

    Central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect and the hotel staff very courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closet could be a little larger.

    The location is perfect and the hotel staff very courteous. Very good value given the excellent location, bedroom and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly, the continental breakfast was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Olive Court 603 " junior suite" should not be described as such. It is just one open plan room with a separate toilet. There is no privacy the shower and bathroom facilities are in the same room but on a different level, rather dangerous if you get up during the night and forget the step down, and you can watch each other shower should you be so inclined. There is a nice outside garden area, which one can make use of. I felt it was over priced for what it was

    The staff were friendly, the continental breakfast was good and the hotel and our room very clean. Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Location was fantastic, and they very safe for a solo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very disappointed the next day when I realized there were empty shampoo / conditioner bottles in shower. Made me wonder what other things cleanliness wise were overlooked...

    Location was fantastic, and they very safe for a solo traveler having 24 desk agents and having to check id's of everyone walking in - not just the people staying in the hotel. Room was small but had a comfortable bed and everything you needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant weekend stay at a smart, modern hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar/ terrace closed due to weather. Lounge bar at reception could not provide drinks after 9pm. But there was a mini bar in room.

    Breakfast staff excellent and very friendly. Great location near town centre and attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    shuttle service to/from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    distance between restaurant for breakfast and met suits

    shuttle service to/from airport breakfast location cleanliness room comfort (met suits)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Short but excellent stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel are very modern and comfortable. The triple room provided good privacy for the third person and the shower was amazing. The location is great, right in the city center. The staff was very helpful with excellent dining recommendations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    The terrace outside our room was unexpected and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tasteful but very small. Very little room for our bags. Otherwise, no complaints.

    The terrace outside our room was unexpected and lovely. Staff recommendations were lunch and dinner were spot on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful, large, modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel currently under construction, so a lot of noise from about 11am on. No parking on site, parking outside hotel for on and off-loading not possible either. Rooftop bar with view closed for winter. No drinks available at night, not even mineral water.

    Beautiful, large, modern rooms. Great breakfast, fantastic ladies working there. Great Italian Espresso. Satellite TV with international channels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    A very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely efficient & quiet airconditioning. Very sleek and user-friendly electricity and lighting panels Extraordinarily decorative breakfast buffet Airport shuttle bus to Mille stop, then a short, easy walk (if you don't have a great amount of luggage). Easy walk to everywhere - excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    it is an OK hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt that there was no effort to make the room pleasant - no cup in the bathroom, one tea bag for 2 people for three days is not enough, the floor reminds poor guesthouse...

    The location is amazing and the stuff is very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Spacy and cosmopolitan--a fun place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had trouble getting the lift to come to our floor--the control panel was warped.

    This hotel is a lot like an Indigo hotel, if you know that American chain--subdued purple-pink lighting that gave our room a little bit of a spaceport feel. The breakfast is built out of small bites and was quite interesting. We ate pieces of honeycomb--a new experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Good central location but a few ‘buts’
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102 suffered from a lot of noise both from outside in the street below and from the reception and bar areas on ground floor. WiFi difficult to access and worked only intermittently- similarly for the TV. For the price I would have expected breakfast to have been included.

    Central location Stylish decor Spacious room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Great choice for a weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin so you can easily hear what’s going on in other rooms.

    Great location, just a short walk from all main attractions. Easy to get to. Well-maintained, clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent and the hotel was perfectly OK...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there were no carpets, noise did travel between rooms, especially from above late at night. The complimentary tea was lacking a decent size cup, tea bags and milk.

    The location was excellent and the hotel was perfectly OK but not stunning. The breakfasts were very good, with plenty of fresh fruit and cooked omlette to go with cold meats and cheese. Restaurant recommendations were very good and just around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Super hotel in great location at the centre of everything in Bologna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception lovely - gave great restaurant recommendations. Room superb - had just been renovated. Great selection of pastries at breakfast! Location perfect - Will definitely go back to Bologna and stay there!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, I would stay again, however it was a shame...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roof top was closed

    Excellent hotel, I would stay again, however it was a shame there very tight / mean on the coffee supply in your room. If you ask for extra, they want to charge you. Also the roof top was closed ?, not sure why ?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    - rooms are updated in the old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - As in the city center, view from the window is not fantastic. - Garage is not inside the building. they contracted some external one, which asks you to walk to hotel anyway. I booked this hotel as we anticipated rain, expecting the garage inside not to be soaked. Hotel needs to statet this very cleary (often happen in Italy though)

    - rooms are updated in the old building. very good. We stayed junior sweet room. - staffs were not so friendly but not arrogant, and very cooperative. - breakfast is much better than other same level of hotel. we liked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    This place is a winner...as is the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...really good value.

    The staff was so kind and helpful. The Hotel is wonderfully modern in design, chic without being ultra smart, i.e. comfortable, stylish, and easy. We stayed in one of their cool apartments right across from a Chinese Restaurant which was a great break from pasta, pizza, and bread. Bologna is to me a “definite” city to visit. Was my 4th trip and would go again and stay again with the good people at the Hotel Metropolitan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Once we checked in we had some problems with a heating in our room ( were quickly resolved by the staff). I missed fresh vegetables on breakfast.

    The great location, very clean rooms, a nice breakfast with good coffee and fresh pastry. The staff is very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Convenient central location to explore Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was diverse and tasty, but served in a very pretentious way which made it difficult to quickly assess the options and get what you want/need. Instead of skewers with different fruits I would prefer just sliced fruits on separate plates so that you can make your own choices (in case you are allergic to one of the fruits). Plates with sliced ham and cheese were placed above the other dishes and were very difficult to reach (I had to help my mother to get them). Some warm options would have been good. We had couple of cold days and the room was a bit cold even when we put radiators on maximum.

    Very comfortable beds, nice shower, good soundproofing. Central location convenient for sightseeing. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Superb location - friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in an excellent location in the old town - streets around are pedestrianised at the weekend so very easy to walk around. Staff at hotel could not be more helpful - booking taxis for us and showing us different locations on a map. The superior room was excellent - comfortable bed, more space with an extra dressing area, and tea and coffee making facilities (rare in continental hotels). We loved it! and would recommend the Metropolitan to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    We had a very brief stay arriving in the late evening and leaving very early the next morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman who worked the night shift at the desk (older of Asian descent) seemed to be in a bad mood and was not very accommodating in helping us with our early morning checkout process

    The facilities were very clean and contemporary, the young man at the rooftop bar was quite helpful in giving us restaurant recommendations, the gentleman working the front desk (with white hair... didn't get his name) and his staff were very helpful in getting our luggage to our rooms and giving us suggestions for maneuvering around the city

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropolitan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: