Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Minerva 4 stars

Via Capo 30, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#34 of 73 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The path next to the busy road was a bit thin on the way to sorrento centre and is about 5 10 minutes out.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean. Has a choice of two pools and plenty of sun loungers. The views are amazing that you couldnt stop looking at. Im gluten free and was catered for brilliantly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay. Superb location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the pool cafe finished at 3pm. This is only a minor issue. Hard to fault our stay.

    Stunning views over Sorrento bay from the terrace bar and restaurant and rooftop pool. Staff so friendly and professional. Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double was two singles pushed together The Wi-Fi was not great in the rooms but we hardly needed it so not a big issue

    The location - 10min walk to town The views were absolutely stunning The pool was great and complimentary towels and nice snack bar Restaurant food was lovely and varied Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great location with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except maybe no tea/coffee facilities in room (but you can go to the restaurant early before breakfast)

    Great location with stunning views. Really clean hotel with a huge terrace - lots of seating and all with great views. They upgraded us to a room with balcony and some comp fruit and prosecco due to it being my wife’s 50th. Handy car park (we drove from UK). Lovely roof top pool. Can’t fault it all. (Ps try Cafe Latino restaurant -good food, ave prices, fantastic staff and great garden setting amongst lemon trees)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful views, clean and spacious rooms, gorgeous pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative but it’s worth noting this hotel is up a hill so might not be good for you if you have any problems with mobility.

    Beautiful views, clean and spacious rooms, gorgeous pool area. The staff were amazing so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I think the Minerva is probably the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in . It was excellent in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea & coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    The views were incredible from the rooms & the restaurant & the pool. The staff were genuinely caring of your happiness at every opportunity. I could not fault it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Honeymoon trip to Minerva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was sweaky just on one side but there didn't seem to be anything wrong with it. The strawberries that were left in our room were mouldy after one day and we thought they would be replaced. There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room so couldn't have a coffee whilst sitting on the balcony admiring the view.

    The hotel was clean, it had a great view of marina grande and the bay! The staff were so friendly especially Nino! He made breakfast time and dinner time more personable. He always remembered our room number as did a few others. The size of the bedroom was great, and the balcony we had provided the best view! We were greeted to a lovely bottle of champagne in our room as it was our honeymoon. Was a lovely little touch. The swimming pool being on the top floor also provided the view! We ate at the restaurant 4 times during our stay as we found the food was some of the best in Sorrento so didn't want to go anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for the cheapest room so no balcony (but we knew that before we arrived!)

    The views are incredible! The hotel is a short walk to the main town so the location is perfect. We had the most amazing stay at this hotel and will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Poor facilities & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enzo on reception was rude and arrogant forever shaking his head when asking questions and felt like he didn't want to talk or give us advice on we're to go. Our room 104 was like a prison cell until we got moved and the lifts are atrocious!

    Breakfast was lovely and the catering manager was really helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A softer mattress after our long days of walking.

    The desk was extremely helpful for us to mail a suitcase home. Also, they knew us by name! Also the view was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great place,beautiful hotel lovely people, perfect stay! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving! 😔

    Everyone was professional and respectful and went all out to accommodate. Thank you so much for arranging the cakes and wine for my brother Rodrico’s birthday😘. All the answers I have given were answered by both him and his partner. They were very happy indeed! 👍🏼They will definitely be coming back! 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The length of my stay.

    The staff were all very patient with us. Antonio, our bartender for the evening, was very personable. He talked to us about family, friends, the area, and drinks. We had a balcony room with a sea view and the view is unmatched anywhere else with views of the Sorrento village, various mountains, and Mt. Vesuvius.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Large room with beautiful view of the Sorrento coast line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed, unreliable internet connection (dropped a lot, but could be because our room was the furthest down the hall), bath towels very thin and rough, did not get our laundry back by 6pm even though we dropped it off the day before, room furnishings were old and rickety.

    Large room with beautiful view of the Sorrento coast line. Great air conditioning! Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Large room but uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, poor comfort in bed and disturbed especially by the sound of plumbing from other rooms regularly.

    Large room and terrace with beautiful views over Sorrento.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.3
    Location is great i really recomand , lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition and the reception staff not so helpfull

    Location is great i really recomand , lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View...hospitalitycleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel.very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A really beautiful hotel with excellent views of the bay and Sorrento itself

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Noisy at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside the 4th floor rooms

    Great staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful service, perfect location, amazing sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful service, perfect location, amazing sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff was simply incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was simply incredible! The host in the restaurant speaks like 5 languages and is ultra attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is super friendly, helpful and accommodating. The views are picturesque from the rooms and also from the breakfast/dinner room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Had a wonderful stay and fon\und the Walk to town was really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is they could do with some new comfy pillows Bit hard

    The view was excellent and staff very helpfulll and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    The views from the room and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the room and restaurant. The friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Views were stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views were stunning. Accommodations were comfortable. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Interesting location built in a cliff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Getting to the nicest restaurants & sights requires a 15-20 mins walk

    Interesting location built in a cliff. Comfortable rooms, excellent view to the sea. Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Friendly helpful staff all over the hotel - great breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The decor is unusual, quirky, individual - maybe not to everyone's taste!

    Friendly helpful staff all over the hotel - great breakfast and lovely staff with a view unmatched from the terrace - room was large, bright and spotless

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    Friendly & helpful staff, beautiful views of Sorrento,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Told me about shuttle service to the train station in Naples sooner than the day we were leaving (it was all booked) so we wouldn't have had to do the 70 minute train trip from Sorrento to Naples.

    Friendly & helpful staff, beautiful views of Sorrento, very nice breakfast and easy walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    - Friendly and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - if anything: breakfast is good but could be better: fresh juice, better coffee (no instant), live cooking (e.g.fresh omellete)

    - Friendly and helpfull staff - Clean rooms and general areas - Views

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Amazing views from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels were old, grayish, and rough.

    Amazing views from our balcony. Location is wonderful for walking to town. Restaurant had marvelous ravioli!!! Staff was friendly .

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff are very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for two nights. Breakfast was inconsistent and poorly stocked when the boss took a day off!!!! We at one night in the restaurant. I ordered the fresh lobster. It came with claws broken open and one claw had no flesh in it!!!! Where had it gone and who took it????? When I was asked was it all OK and I replied, "It wasn't very good" the waiter replied, "Thank you!" And wLked off!!!! Big NO NO for me is a coffee machine that dispenses instant coffee in Italy for breakfast!!!!

    The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The balcony rooms offer an excellent view over the bay of Sorento.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Great view and a short walk into the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small safe in the room was not bolted down and could be picked up. We were therefore not comfortable leaving valuables in it. We were, however, happy to leave our passports with reception.

    Great view and a short walk into the town. Friendly staff. Room was nice and spacious and the bed comfy.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    super friendly staff could not do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    super friendly staff could not do enough for you. One of the best views over sorrento and the sea but within easy walking distance of the town. Great outdoor seating and dining areas with fantastic views.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    Nothing was too much trouble - the staff were so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing was too much trouble - the staff were so helpful. The hotel was just lovely- not too big but not too small- in fact, just right. Evening entertainment very relaxed and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.3
    The stunning sea views from the restaurant and the pool at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisy busy road below but closing the double glazed windows helped massively at night. Our balcony overlooking the sea also overlooked the car park opposite and the road. Also due to their overlooked nature they did not feel very private. Having to charge up our phones in the bathroom - adaptors didn't seem to fit sockets. Walking back up to the hotel from the town in the heat or the day or after a late night meal in town may be tiring for anyone not too fit or elderly. We are neither but are more the independent traveller than the package holiday maker so we were going up and down a lot more than most.

    The stunning sea views from the restaurant and the pool at the top. Try to get a room as high up as possible. The staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone from the managers to reception staff (thanks to Nello), to the pool attendant, the waiters at breakfast, the maid cleaning our rooms to the handyman - all helpful, courteous, smiley and friendly. Any problems that arose were handled very efficiently and quickly resolved. The breakfast served in a beautiful dining room on the terrace. Fresh baked cakes every morning, eggs, fruit, home made jams...the best start we've had anywhere. The interior decoration in the main reception room on the 5th floor - comfortable, brightly coloured armchairs mix well with the paintings, wall plates and antiques give the rooms character as well as warmth and individuality. Clearly designed with care and attention to detail. cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    The view from the balcony is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More beautiful location than center of town but those with limited mobility may not like walking uphill to hotel (but can take taxi or bus) or crossing busy traffic in front of hotel entrance

    The view from the balcony is incredible. The staff is very attentive. The food is amazing and good value. One of our favorite places to stay in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    my wife and I felt so well attended to and taken care of by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my wife and I felt so well attended to and taken care of by the hotel Minerva staff. I cannot say I've ever stayed at a hotel that was as attentive and service-oriented as this staff. The food was delicious. Waiting staff had an old world charm. Upscale but not stuffy. Location is breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    The room was gorgeous, with a balcony overlooking the bay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We struggled a bit with the wifi, but think it might have been because our room was the furthest from Reception. It was fine in the lounge. Difficult to find any real faults with the hotel other than that!!

    The room was gorgeous, with a balcony overlooking the bay and Vesuvius. The hotel is beautiful, plenty of lounges and terraces making the best of the views. The staff were great and very helpful. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. The pool was a bit chilly when we were there but it's a nice one, and I am sure it will get warmer with the approach of Summer!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    The location of property, and the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool was away from everything.

    The location of property, and the price

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    The views and rooms were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views and rooms were great. They allowed us to stay by the pool after check-out which was so appreciated on the last day of our trip - thank you!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Really helpful staff (luggage, parking, recovery of lost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really helpful staff (luggage, parking, recovery of lost items ;) ) Amazing view on the little harbour Free wifi in rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Great view and good overall maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great view and good overall maintenance.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent views from roof top pool and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent views from roof top pool and restaurant. Friendly and polite service at the restaurant and pool bar.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Great staff , cannot do enough for you with anything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff , cannot do enough for you with anything . The view from breakfast and dinner over Sorrento is staggering .

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Classy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good.

    Classy room. Superb breakfact! Room had a balcony with a sweeping view of the Bay of Naples and Mount Versuvius, Easy walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee was consistently watery at breakfast.

    The view was amazing. Lunch was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    The view from the room, the location, the staff, the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was rather poor.

    The view from the room, the location, the staff, the room.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Views from our room 512
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Views from our room 512 Good breakfast

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: