Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Minerva 3 stars

Via Garibaldi 72, 53100 Siena, Italy

#34 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1764 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Great location a short walk from the 'centro storico' and the Campo . Secure parking on site, clean comfortable room with aircon, very good breakfast, pretty easy to find (we were driving). What else do you need?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room, the AC stopped 10 seconds after start, then we got a second room. The AC hit you in the head. It’s either hot or ac in your head. The flooring is so old and ugly, plastic chair. There is one plug to charge the phone or battery. The WiFi is useless. Breakfast was standard , nothing special. In the morning very noisy hallway. I was surprised of the excellent reviews of other travelers and very disappointed when I left. The parking is not $12, is $17.

    Siena is beautiful, old. I wish the hotels would make your stay a little better. The view from our second room was beautiful, overlooking Siena.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was easy to find in a car and within a 10 - 15 minute walk from the centre of town. The breakfast was good. We had a fantastic view of the city from our balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that went wrong was during the night a fault happened in the air conditioning unit; possibly just the filter needed changing but it started beeping and a blue light started flashing. It was annoying but not the end of the world.

    The view from the balcony looking out onto the old town was amazing. The built up houses climbing up the side of the valley really was a sight to see. Inside the room, everything was fairly decent; the bed was comfortable and the place was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but parking was a bit of a nightmare as we did not want to pay €12 euros for the hotel parking. However staff was friendly and directed us to free parking around the corner!

    It was a 10/15 min walk to the main sites. Staff was friendly, good value for money which included breakfast. We had good balcony view we were on the 3rd floor room 403. The room was also quiet clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small. The wi-fi worked only intermittedly in our room, it only worked fine on the reception floor (e.g. at breakfast).

    Friendly, helpful staff. Private parking available in a dedicated garage for a fee, which is great given how complicated it is to park in Siena. The location is good, a short walk from the main attractions of the city. The communication with the staff prior to arrival was straightforward and fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of order. Breakfast is average and there is not much space in the breakfast room.

    Very comfortable bed and good view from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from showers/ plumbing? in adjoining rooms.

    Very light and bright. Easy parking. Good access to the Old Town of Siena. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Restful overnight stop on the way from Rome to Florence Would also make good base to visit the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cold, especially the floor and no sleepers have been given.

    The breakfast was really good indeed. The place is also very clean and stuff is friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than not being able to sleep in a minute after 7am whilst on holiday, due to works being done in hotel with excessive noise, the mini bar was toiletries were never replenished. The few Staff available were not friendly or helpful. Definitely not a hotel to use for holidays

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the hot food at the breakfast buffet was either cold or only lukewarm which was disappointing. Cold scrambled eggs are not very appetising.

    The Hotel is located just outside the old city walls making it a short walk to the centre of the old town of Sienna. Parking was undercover and we were met by a member of staff who was helpful and friendly. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower was good. Breakfast was a buffet and had a good selection of food. The view towards the old city at night was just lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a "trail" of signs marking the way from the train station to the hotel. The distance in those is downright deceiving.

    The Hotel is placed right between the old town and the train station. The room was quite large, with a small balcony. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make a reservation for the room with a patio, it is simply breathtaking! The staff were great! The location is perfect, it has a wonderful view, located just 50 meters outside the ZTL and a 10-15 min. Walk to the downtown. Wonderful! Everything was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room and plastic cups.

    We only stayed one night but the Minerva is a good standard hotel. The hotel is just inside the old city wall of Siena so within easy reach of the sights of Siena.The room we had was large enough. It had an outside terrace with a stunning view of Siena.The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom large with a really good shower.In the room was a coffee maker with capsules but no kettle to make a cup of tea.Something I couldn’t understand.No real cups were provided only foam and plastic cups.Breakfast was very good with a good selection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so rude. I was travelling by bike (so entered the reception with it, a road bike really tiny and clean) and the guy at the reception addressed me so rudely, as if I were a thief or something. Will never return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room is large and choatic. The offerings were typical of what you would expect of a chain hotel hot/cold buffet. I only ate at the hotel one morning, preferring to go to the many local paninotecs or coffee shops in the area.

    The hotel room was very quiet despite the fact that is has a central city location. While the hotel lacks the charm of a smaller boutique hotel, the accomodations are spacious, bright and clean and the location is ideal. It is an easy walk to Il Campo and all of the churches/museums/sites in Siena. It's also a short walk to the bus and train stations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bacon & Eggs as part of the breakfast buffet were poor, and whilst items on the continental section were replenished the hot buffet between 8.30 & 9.30 the three mornings of our stay were not.

    Hotel has good location, not far from railway station, close to a number of restaurants and 15 mins stroll into the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, both at the front desk and during breakfast. We were very pleased with the service and would highly recommend Hotel Minerva. We requested a room with a view and the view was incredible! The location of the hotel in general was also very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in walking distance from public transportation as well as the attractions of the town and tour guides. Our rom had a beautiful view of Siena.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was so small, like joke. My computer display is bigger. Otherwise I have liked it all

    Location is excellent, breakfast was really good, food freah and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was an uphill walk from the hotel. Only 1 restaurant close to the hotel but we had to discover that ourselves as the hotel didn't mention it. The hotel's current website advertises a bar including cocktails and aperitifs. No bar at hotel.

    The view from the balcony was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of character and small bedroom and en-suite. It was quite a long uphill walk to the centre taking about 25 minutes. Cost of garage for car at 20 euros seemed quite expensive.

    Breakfast included a good selection of hot and cold food. A small outside space made up for a very small double room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No instructions for the safe, so had to get the man on reception to come and explain - and this took several iterations as even he was not sure. I also wanted hot water and not coffee from the excellent coffee maker in the room - instructions not clear on how to do this but did eventually manage.

    Easy to find and yet very close to the centre - took 20 minutes to walk to the Piazza del Campo through all the crowds and a couple of detours for men digging up the street - and our room had a lovely terrace with views towards the centre. Functional room with reasonable bed and four pillows - what joy! For some reason most hotels only give you three - I have never worked out why. Blanket provided and needed this time of year. Breakfast reasonable with usual selection of pastries, bread, jams, ham, fruit, yoghurt and self-service tea and coffee, although it is possible to get espresso coffee too, and pancakes. Car park a real bonus in Siena at a very reasonable €12 per night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints except more storage space would have been nice.

    Location and facility were excellent with a great view of the old city. It was easy to find. Map was excellent and everything was worth the effort to see and explore. Parking was in a covered garage at extra cost; however, some spaces were in front of the hotel but not available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The art in the hallways isn't my favorite but this obviously didn't affect my stay.

    The only sad thing about this hotel was that we only spent one night in it. I stayed at Hotel Minerva in Sept 17 and would happily go back. The first positive was the staff, very friendly, quick and knowledgeable about the area. Then, we were given a fantastic room (#6) that was actually on the lower floor but meant we had a large terrace with an absolutely incredible view of Siena, even from the toilet!! The room was large, clean and well air conditioned. The location is also fantastic as it is only a 15-20 min walk away from the train station and 10-15 min walk away from the famous Siena campo. The breakfast is extensive, to say the list, and definitely allows you to fill up before visiting the wonderful streets of Siena. I 100% recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No drawers in bedroom and the lighting was useless for reading in bed. The location though convenient was totally spoilt by the noise every night from a local street party. This went on to 2am and was so loud that closing the windows and putting the a/c on max made no difference.

    Breakfast Proximity to the centre of Sienna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are too small and not hot. We were told if we filled up our water bottles at breakfast they will charge us 3 euros, whereas any other place would gladly provide free tap water.

    Quiet area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is rather small which can be a problem when transporting luggage or more than two people wish to use it.

    A good, well located hotel where we have stayed on many occasions. The staff are welcoming and helpful. Safe accessible parking. Availability of Italian newspapers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom could have been more comfortable - more pillows and better sound insulation from other rooms. The breakfast wasn't great - while the fresh fruit was beautiful, the hot food was not. Our room was left unlocked after the cleaners had been in.

    The location for town and the parking were great. The place was clean and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only 6 coat hangers in wardrobe (wife not happy). Got a few more on request. No coffee or milk in room (only tea). Upon request told they do not do coffee or milk!. Had to buy some. One man on reception not over friendly!

    Good location. Nice view over Siena. Booked one of only 3 rooms with large terrace/balcony (room 208). Other rooms seemed to have small balcony big enough for table/2 chairs only, and some without balcony. 12-15 minute walk to center of city (steep hill initially!). Adequately sized room. Comfy bed. Bathroom ok-good shower/bidet. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for families traveling by car as hotel at entrance to walled city, where parking is virtually impossible. Hotel parking very convenient, easy 10-15 min walk to historic piazza in center of Siena. Very popular hotel, efficiently run and well organized. Clean rooms with the most comfortable bed we had in our 30 days in Italy. Generous breakfast buffet. Great view out our window of the Duomo and old city - I woke early and painted it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos featured on booking.com are intentionally misleading and are not of the "standard" rooms you can book. Once we checked in and saw our room we were offered to upgrade for an additional cost after questioning why the photos did not match the room. Only some rooms have balconies and they are all small and crammed (the rooms and the small balconies). There is no roof top Terrace, the photos are of a rooms private balcony. The whole place smells like cigarettes and the bathroom windows open onto other people's balconies (there are no exhaust fans in the bathroom either). I would strongly advise you get better money for value at a different hotel. Most of the staff don't offer any customer service and I consider them quite rude, didn't even respond when greeted.

    The beds were comfortable and the room with the balcony that we "upgraded" to had a nice view. The man with glasses on reception warmed to be quite nice by the end of our stay, the lady with glasses in the breakfast room was friendly and the man who helped with our bags in the vest was also nice. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    balcony only small

    The hotel staff were extremely helpful, the location was ideal to see Siena. Good choice for breakfast. View from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was well situated.. It was close to the train station which took about 10mins to walk and 10 mins walk to the town centre. The hotel was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. Location fantastic as we were driving. Easy to get to. The room had a view over Sienna that at night was beautiful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is aaaaahmazing! Everything's fresh, they do scrambled eggs and OMG they even have a pancake machine! Our room had a gorgeous view over the city, airconditioned + mini bar to use, beds are very comfortable. You can tell the hotel is run by a woman, with art and little details everywhere. Parking service is great and safe (€20 per night) and you walk into the city in only a few minutes. So happy I found this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every early morning (around 8 - 8:30 am) cleaners would gather outside the room and chat/laugh. The sound isolation is only good to street noise, but not inside hotel. Noisy air ventilation

    wide choice at breakfast (fruits, pastries, cereals, sausages etc.) spacious shower room provided slippers amazing views from terrace superb location close to the city center private parking in garage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was not as clean upon check-in as it should've been. The floors were dirty and the bathroom smelled of urine. I mentioned this to housekeeping the next day and it was resolved so obviously some part of the bathroom was overlooked before we checked in and the floor as well. Also, on one of the days of our stay, my room never got any service even though I mentioned it to the front desk that no one from housekeeping even knocked while I was in the room even though I did not have the do not disturb sign outside. Even after that, no one came.The front desk told me that if they don't have our room key at the front desk, then housekeeping doesn't know to make up our room. Yet it was made up the other days when we didn't give the front desk our key. So there's no consistency to this rule and we were not told upon check-in to drop off our keys upon leaving.

    Very extensive breakfast service with many choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were not particularly friendly, nor polite. The "terrace" advertised on the hotel's page is actually a very small balcony attached to the conference room - the view from room 49 is much better.

    Tip: ask for room 49 as it has probably the best view over Siena. The hotel is in a great location - a 5 min walk to the centre of Siena. The room was a good size, and clean. A good hotel to stay in for a short visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no restaurant for evening meals, only breakfast is served, although there is a restaurant opposite. The location is a 15 minute walk away from the centre of town.

    Rooms are a reasonable size, well decorated and very clean, bed comfortable, good shower. Lift is a plus point. Breakfast is good quality well prepared hot food and a wide choice. Hotel private car park is very convenient but 12 Euro per 24 hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't welcoming nor helpful. The breakfast at the hotel was an unexptional poor experience. The woman working at the breakfast was obviously overworked and stressed, which led to ruining our morning. She wasn't alone so I asked for two things as I thought there was capsity. I asked for help to cleaning a table as there were none vacant without loads of dirty dishes on and also asked if it was possible to get something refilled at the buffet as it clearly hadn't been refilled for a while. This led to her telling me off. She was extremely unpleasant. Additionally she wouldn't let it go and continously kept telling me how the breakfast service worked, obviously agitated. After this she kept on cleaning around us making as much as noise as possible making sure we had an awful breakfast.

    The hotel was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar would have been nice, but plenty within walking distance. A bit expensive, but it was Il Palio weekend.

    Great location for town centre. Nice, modern, quirky decor. Friendly staff, speaking good English, although a bit of phrase book Italian goes down well. Clean, comfortable room, with good air con. Excellent buffet breakfast. Left luggage facility on checkout very useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but we arrived late in the evening by train and were astonished to find no taxis at the station. You can walk but it's uphill through not a very nice area.

    Perfect fine hotel for exploring Siena. Nothing special but just what we needed for one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean. The air conditioning system was very noisy. One of the staff members at breakfast was very helpful an pleasant and the other person was the total opposite

    The staff in reception were extremely helpful an very pleasant 10/10

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both nights there were really loud parties in the University near the hotel, if the students do this often - the hotel needs better windows, they didn't help at all. We had to sleep with earplugs

    The view of the city is incredible, check that you get a room with the view! It takes only 10-15 minutes walk to the central square and also 10-15 minutes to the train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was until 10, but they run out of many things during the last hour.

    We had a nice balcony in the room with great view. Balcony is only in some of the rooms though, in my understanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not that good.

    Great Location regarding walking distance into the centre of Siena, although we were informed by someone who was also staying in this Hotel the area was not the safest to be. !!! Car Parking on Site 12 euro per day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip to Siena was amazing, and the hotel was one of the highlights. The location was really close to the center, the room was clean and all facilities was convenient. I believe that I had the best sleep in weeks here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So nice to the children.

    It was easy access to center of everything . There was 9 of us 2 babies 4 and 2 and 2 teens 11 and 16 we all had a great time and did a lot in one day. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more attention to cleaning would lift the Minerva's rating.

    Good location within walking distance from bus and train station. Very useful having a fridge in the room as well as tea and coffee making. Very good breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs and bacon. Better coffee and better cooking on Friday compared with Saturday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin - quite noisey in the morning and could hear toilets flushing and rooms been turned over. Later check in but earlier check out times.

    Super clean. Bed was comfortable. Good toiletries provided. Not too far of a walk from station and town. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only one small chair and it didn't have a comfortable place to handle the luggage, iin particular, if you travel with 2 large suitcases and 2 small.

    We liked breakfast, the rooms comfort and parking convenience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondtioning is not very effective. Shame that the cups to go with the coffee machine in the room were awful plastic/cardboard. We asked the gentleman at reception if we could have two cups from the kitchen and he refused.

    A nice hotel that was very clean and in an excellent location. Breakfast was good and the staff serving breakfast were very helpful. Good size room and having a terrace was a bonus as the view is lovely. Good shower and comfortable bed. The majority of staff on reception were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room above us (all night sounds as if shifting furniture) - bed and pillows very "solid" - notice outside in corridor had no smoking sign, but obviously with continual smell of cigarette smoke, no one took any notice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked coffee, not just tea with the tea making facilities.

    The hotel was just inside the walls of old Siena. The staff were very helpful. The room was airy and the terrace was very large with a view over the rooftops of old Siena. The walk from the train station was up hill but not too far. The walk from the hotel to Piazza Del Campo took about 10 minutes. There was a wide choice of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small especially with 2 large roller cases to unpack and pack. The property was on the edge of the old town and took some walking up the hill to get to the attractions.

    Helpful front desk staff. Great view from the room with a small balcony. Guests upstairs had no concept of noise or other people staying below and dragged chairs around with their high heel on, however that's not the hotel's problem is just inconsiderate people. There is a lot of performances happening in Siena and would have liked to stayed longer to attend some.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked everything. Had beautiful view of Sienna from our room and the car had secure parking. They let us leave the car in the garage until 2 pm on the day we left. Hotel very central. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin and you can hear noise from the hall and other rooms, however all was quiet after 11 pm. I used a white noise app on my phone and slept great. Breakfast was a bit hit or miss. Great coffee, lots of choice, but some fairly inedible eggs, bacon and sausage that seemed like hot dogs.

    A very nice hotel. Not as high on charm as other hotels I stayed in during my travels around Italy. My room had a beautiful private garden with an amazing view of Siena. Huge bathroom and I enjoyed the in-room coffee maker. Located between the train station and old town. Recommend taking a taxi from the train station if coming with luggage. A ten euro ride saves a pretty long uphill walk dragging luggage. Hotel is inside the town walls but about a 10-15 minute walk to the old town area where the restaurants, shopping and duomo are located. It didn't bother me to walk, but some may prefer to stay closer to the centre of the action. Good value for money. Big room, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great selection for breakfast at this hotel; while away some hours just strolling in and around this beautiful place and dream a little of what it was.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but would have hoped for better. The fresh coffee was as good as expected but the buffet fell a bit short.

    The view from the balcony was great, and the balcony was a suntrap during the day. It might sound simple but the shutters kept the room cool at night and dark in the morning - very important and not always the case.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillows very hard so didn't sleep well. Great to have kettle in room - but ridiculous paper cups and plastic spoons that went misshapen in the hot water. View from window awful.

    Convenient location. Very good breakfast and en suite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those who have plan sleep - there is no sound proofing and You can hear everything from near rooms and walking hall. Luckily it doesn't disturb us.

    The room was bigger as usual in Italy. The old town of Siena was close enough to walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were like paper, Every time another guest would flush the toilet it was extremely loud, Very expensive hotel for what is on offer especially when it is a good walk from the city centre

    The view from my room was fantastic but I paid extra for the view so it doesnt really count, The breakfast was nice, The staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was really nice and the view from the big room window was wonderful. It was a quick walk to the city center of Siena and the area was calm. Hotel staff were really polite and helpful! A breakfast was also great and quite many options of salties and sweets. I recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing wrong.

    I liked everything about this hotel. Its location is very convenient, close to the railway station. The historical centre is also easy to access on foot, from the hotel. The staff is polite and helpful. The room was very clean and I liked the choice of cosmetic products with natural ingredients. I also liked the breakfast, especially the good coffee!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the coffee!

    Three of us shared a room and it was spacious,clean and the towels were changed every day. Good breakfast. Fantastic position only 10 mins to the centre of the city and the station. Very reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a little cold, room was a little small, but fine. THE TV connection was bad and kept freezing and cutting out.

    Bed was incredible, everything was clean. Balcony had an amazing view and the breakfast was fantastic. Easy to find free parking nearby. Shower was amazing and room was heated well

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lounge was big and nice, but there was nothing happening. There was a bar but it was open only at breakfast time. Perhaps it's different at high-season.

    Wonderful view over the city. Very quiet room yet very small to be a superior room. Good indoor parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends' room overlooked a coustruction site.

    We had a room with a view towards the city center, it was lovely. A pleasant 15' walk from the center, with safe parking available. Great cherry sauce at breakfast. :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic facilities. Room quite small, not particularly cosy and bed was very creaky.

    Good walking distance to centre and to train station. Clean hotel, good selection at breakfast.Also very close to some excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom caulking near the door was worn.

    The location was great near the center of the old town. The breakfast was good offering a good selection of food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice could have been better. Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom would have been good .

    The room was clean and comfortable. Towels were changed every day. Staff friendly. The hotel was very central with shops and the Piazza del Campo 15 minutes walk. The bus station 10 minutes walk and the train station a 10 minute taxi ride. I would use the Hotel Minerva again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a very noisy harvest festival on the Friday night in the valley below the hotel. The sound insulation was not able to keep the music and noise out. Also early morning guest departures in the room upstairs at 4.30 am woke us up on 2 out of 3 mornings. Inadequate noise / sound insulation. Not good at all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Pastries were over cooked (burnt) every day and eggs were either missing or cold.

    Loved the view from our room and the friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sparsely decorated room: tile floors and almost nothing on the wall made it a very hollow and unwelcoming room. Airconditioning was very noisy. Also you could literally hear the guy next door on the phone. Staff wasnt particularly friendly and forthcoming. I wouldnt advise this hotel

    Location: good walking distance to Siena city centre. Parking spot for your car

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Minerva traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: