Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moderno 3 stars

Via B. Peruzzi 19, 53100 Siena, Italy

#47 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1861 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A jewel of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I did not like.

    I always come back to Moderno - my home away from home. Have been staying in this hotel since 1987! There is something about the hotel that makes me want to return. To see the gracious owner - still after all these years - is always just the icing on the cake!! I will be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with great staff and location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel was amazing just next to the escalator that leads to the centre of the city and of course parking on site was a huge advantage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Good stay for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull staff ; perfect location - near the escalators to the medieval part of Siena ; very good breakfast (various things to choose) ; quiet place ; clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Nice, clean hotel. Good location, Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good!

    Great location. Staff very helpful to give us directions and assist us with where we wanted to go. Nice restaurant. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Good, clean hotel in a great location! Ideal for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we have 2 teenage children, all 4 of us in one room was a little cramped. Also the additional single beds are not designed for tall children. However as this was a last minute booking and just for the one evening it was acceptable.

    The hotel was clean, in a great location with parking, air conditioning in the room and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited options for breakfast

    Fantastic location in Siena, right beside the escalator to the city centre. Lovely hotel and great value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Loved the location, Staff & overall ambience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really liked this hotel. The location was excellent; as soon as we stepped out and crossed the road, the escalators took us to the very heart of Siena. Staff were very helpful, friendly & professional. Our room was lovely as was the breakfast. We requested a parking space close by and were given one for free right opposite the hotel which was a real luxury. Thank you very much for making our one day's stay in Siena so enjoyable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. I have a hard shell suit case that opens fully and there was barely any space to open it.

    The lady behind the counter (sorry, I don't know her name but she has worked in this hotel for 17yrs) was very helpful and very friendly. I am sure a real asset to the team.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great little hotel, at a walking distance from the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Great little hotel, at a walking distance from the railway station and right in front of the escalator that takes you to the old town. Piazza del campo is about 10 mins walk, and the Dome around the corner from there. The staff was very friendly, always polite and helpful. Had some good laughs with them. The room was clean, with a beautiful window on a small park. Lots of fresh air in the heath. Shower was pretty powerful, towels very clean. Breakfast had a good choice of pastries as well as continental food, and the staff at breakfast are equally friendly. I would go back a hundred times, highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Fine, average if nothing goes wrong, but there we were not the only ones with an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner went out, room flooded, they fixed but gave no compensation for the miserable 24 hours during the stay. (it was only a 2 day stay) We had to empty buckets all night to keep the room from flooding.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good if the restaurant opened earlier for dinner. Noisy guests on the same floor woke us up when they came back.

    Staff were friendly, breakfast was good, great location near the escalators to get to the hilltop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel that seems to come from a bygone era
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old-style hotel, so it doesn't have some of the gadgets that modern hotels offer. The charm and comfort of the place more than make up for that, though.

    Great location, comfortable room and hotel, very good staff, nice traditional restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location just 20yards from the escalators up into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location just 20yards from the escalators up into Siena. The hotel was perfect for us as we had a hire car and you could not have parked closer to get straight into the centre of Siena. Lovely, helpful staff, clean rooms and a great breakfast. I would definitely recommend eating in the restaurant one evening as the food was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was efficient and clean, the breakfasts excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the city centre a five-stage escalator makes access to the hotel very easy. It's not so easy from the station. (But the magical bus with two numbers, 2 and 17, about which I was informed by a charming receptionist in the hotel, made the return journey much simpler.)

    The hotel was efficient and clean, the breakfasts excellent and the staff extremely friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.3
    Below average...i can find much better place for the same money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has very old rooms.. it feels like you're back to 80s. The bed was very uncomfortable...the room was very small with too many pieces of furniture. Our A/C was making horrible noise...the only plus is staff. They are very friendly and helpful.

    Very uncomfortable bed. Very old room ....like in 80s. A/C was making hoeribl

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Not so Moderno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very "moderno" and poor breakfast. Small rooms and loud air conditioning

    Polite staff and accommodated our request for quieter room on our return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous position and great facilities, beds not up to scratch
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were quite noisy and uncomfortable

    Position was amazing, very close to Old Town. Evening meals were really good. Rooms were great spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Elegant charm with the finest service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This isn't a complaint, but more of a mild "warning" (I saw some negative reviews about the hotel not being "modern"): The hotel began operating in the 1950s, so don't expect a sterile, hyper-modern vibe. The decor is charming and elegant (I expected Eva Marie Saint to walk across the lobby at any moment) with big comfy lounge chairs and sofas and a nice buzz. The towels were unusual (not the usual fluffy cotton type) but abundant, so not really a problem.

    This hotel had the friendliest, most courteous staff EVER. We booked last minute and were treated like kings! Our special requests were accommodated with a smile. The breakfast was outstanding. I asked my waiter (who looked like Cary Grant) if I could have scrambled eggs, and of course it was no problem! The hotel is a short walk from the old city and we were able to park at the hotel despite our late arrival. Nice lobby bar, too, with good prices. There's also a nice sitting room with travel books (and more!) for visitors to peruse. The evening receptionist gave us a fantastic pizza restaurant tip, too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Topnotch Stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location, comfort, accommodation, and hospitality. It's a short distance from the free public escalators that'll bring you atop Siena. You can't beat the free parking and our four-legged child was well-received by Ms Moira (front desk lady) and the staff. Lovely people. Thank you much Hotel Moderno.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable beds :) The hotel has its own parking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast included in the price was very poor :( not much to choose from, except maybe for cakes. I was influenced by the booking.com opinions and dissapointed.

    Very comfortable beds :) The hotel has its own parking for free. Situated next to the escalator going to the old city center - 10 minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The restaurant Particolare is a half block down the street- very nice. Breakfasts were great at hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked everything.

    The escalator to the top of Siena is located just across the street from hotel. Very easy access to historical sites with use of this five-level escalator. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for the price - excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe if they had fresh juice for breakfast, is it a bit too much to ask for anyway.

    Breakfast was good. The bedroom was just big enough. The bathroom was above average size. The best part of this hotel is certain location. It is only 30 m from escalators to the town and your almost in the town center. Overall the hotel has very good value for price rating. You can also park your car by the hotel for free (must say it has about 10-15 parking lots to park - be early).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is clean, but a little bit old-fashioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came in May but it was very cold during the night. However we have not any duvets only thin sheets to cover ourselves, so we were a little bit freezing during the night. The breakfast is above the average I would say. The cakes offered on the breakfast are visibly bought and packed, not baked and fresh, coffee is also very low. We were missing some vegetables. It is a place to stay for a few days but I can not imagine to stay for one-two weeks vacation.

    The hotel is clean, but a little bit old-fashioned. Employees of the hotel are very nice and kind, we didn't have to take care about our luggage, it was taken immediately by baggage man.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Highly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of breakfast cereals that were not sweetened.

    Very friendly staff, excellent location next to the escalator into the old city and very nice food! We had an amazing Easter feast with friendly locals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    In the center, the people are very nice and friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a way of the suggestion - to change the towels to a more modern and to clean the bathroom

    In the center, the people are very nice and friendly, the breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Good enough for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very uncomfortable pillows.

    It's a pretty old hotel, so don't expect it to be too fancy. Staff was reeeealy nice and welcoming. They helped to find a spot for parking which is tough. Breakfast is not great, but ok. Perfect access to the city centre. Book a garage parking if you need one, otherwise you'll pay a lot. And there is a big trouble with parking in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    I'd recommend this hotel without reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was well done.

    Well-kept hotel with access to the scale molbile (up to Siena old town) very close by. Doorman/breakfast server was especially helpful in every respect, from helping us get parked to assisting as we left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Room big, very clean , bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room big, very clean , bed comfortable. Easy access to town via escalator. Coffee and croissant very good. Staff friendly. Free parking space available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    One night stay was not enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome by the lady on reception was so nice, cheerful and helpful. We parked in the hotel space andvwere lucky to get the last spot. The room was large enough, warm and clean. The shower room was spotless with underfloor heating. Breakfast had plenty of choice. The wifi signal was a little weak but that wasn't important to us.The escalator is right there so it doesn't take long to walk into town. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were very very old and stale, the heating was not on until around 6.30 pm and in winter that just won't do, as it is dark by 5pm and you are often back to your room after a day out.

    The overall location was good, we had a car so it was easy to get around Tuscany from this location. The young female receptionist was lovely and helpful and well traveled very easy to converse with

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Good stay just 2 minutes away form the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Rooms are big enough and clean. Good breakfast. The hotel is just 30m con the 24h escalator that carry you into the city center. Reccomended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Piano is not working. Darn.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step back in time

    Perfect place to explore Siena from. Staff are amazing and the garden is lovely. A retreat for the dog and me. Everyone was super helpful and I was able to check in early.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were very thin, noise from other rooms reverberated into our room.

    Location, friendly staff, location, ease of parking, payment. Simple, no nonsense and too the point, just the way I like it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay- avoid room by lift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT get a room next to the elevator! It clunked for hours at night and early in the morning as well!

    Good breakfast, short escalator ride to old city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodations. Average to below average location. Very good breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little tight. Sofa bed very uncomfortable to sit in. Sightseeing attractions not close.

    Friendly and efficient front desk staff. Breakfast dining room staff attentive to fluent Italian speakers. Unfortunately our Italian is very limited. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    The easy access to Sienna old town by the escalators and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would agree with all the reviewers that the Hotel needs modernising.

    The easy access to Sienna old town by the escalators and a secure parking space for our motorbike,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel with friendly staff and good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the hotel is a little tired

    The waiter was very good, took time explaining the menu etc. We arrived early but the staff were very accommodating re car parking giving us more time in Siena.Fabulous position for getting into the historic centre easily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    In overall I don’t suggest that place. Better choose another.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is around 20 years without reconstruction. Terrible condition!!! Noise from the cars going near by all the night.

    Close to city center, nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is nicely decorated. Very good reception and bar area. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the squeaky bathroom door. The noisy bathroom fan and the noisy waterworks . The double glaing leaves a lot to be desired. Noisy neighbours did not help. Breakfast staff very helpful.

    The bedroom was grand. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was okay. The location is good if you do not mind having to use 5 very steep escalators to access the town at this point.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Great place for overnight stop on touring holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark cramped old fashioned room but fine for 1-2 nights

    The location is great just at the bottom of the city walls and near the escalator to get in. Easy to park if touring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel close to the center of Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be a little friendlier.

    The hotel was positioned very close to the historic town center and offered a nice breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable and spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Across the street to the old town escalator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really dated. Bathroom with very old facilities; hot and cold water separated (maybe a part of the charm of 30's ?) ; bath tube very small with slow sewage; empty fridge; blanket and sheet separated; corridor carpets and walls very tired. Breakfast could be better: one type of salami and a variety of sweets. Only Italian TV channels (really a lot of them). Garage is OK, but it looks like a cave and you can park a car in line; if you're the first in the line to the wall the staff will have to move the rest of the cars to dig you out (but they do it immediately).

    Excellent location, just across the street of the escalator to the old town, very very convenient: You're in the old town and main square in 5 minutes by foot. Garage is OK for reasonable price , specially for Siena. Staff is OK, they move the rest of the cars in the garage immediately when you ask . The room is clean and well kept. They even change pillow cases daily. Bathroom also very clean. Comparing the rest of Siena hotels, very acceptable and made a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is placed close the the elevatrors that brings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and generally the staff in the room wasn't "moderno".

    The hotel is placed close the the elevatrors that brings directly to the center. The Staff was really nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Affordable, Comfy, Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallish but entirely adequate room.

    An ideal place for short, affordable stay, across the street from escalators that whisk you up to Piazza San Francesco and its lovely church. From there, Il Campo & the Duomo are a short walk. Inviting, comfortable bar/lounge area. Helpful staff. Gracious, professional maitre d' showed me to white linen–topped table for bountiful complimentary breakfast, including my own pot of coffee. Free parking: great to stash car here before walking the sinuous lanes of hilly Old Siena.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Our first room was disappointing because we didn't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was really not good. Window led to a tiny other room between four rooms. Full of cigarettes, no real sunlight.

    Our first room was disappointing because we didn't have a proper window. After asking for another room there were no problems to change our rooms. Hotel is really close to the escalator into the city. Free parking available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last renovation was probably done in mid 80s. Wifi almost not working. Value not even close to the price paid. breakfast was horrible

    Great location. Parking available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.4
    Not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is really really old. The bed was awful and we found some hair in the bathroom shower which was obviously not ours since we just checked in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location to visit the city by walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are comfortable but not very cosy.

    Nice staff, particularly the man in charge of parking. Location was perfect, 5 minutes from the center by walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Not MODERNO at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's funny they call it Hotel MODERNO as there is nothing modern or appealing in this hotel. The room was in terrible state I think no one cared for the room since the 80's. Really dipressing including the vague yellow light. The towels... well more like sheets. Everything smelled old. While showering I've noticed that water were splashing on an exposed electricity cable of the heater. The breakfast was very basic and it felt like everything was not clean and being used since the 80's.

    Easy parking, good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Ideal position for The Escalator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Inside AND out. Parking not on site. Only one hot drink offered at breakfast. Air con was faulty.

    Welcoming staff & located at the foot of The Escalator

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Good Location! Easy access to Piazza del Campo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot in the night even with the air conditioner working. They suggested us to change the room so did we. The interiors are a bit dated.

    Good location and easy access to Piazza del Campo. The hotel has its own parking place nearby. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    One night in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was dated and tired. bed wasn't very comfortable and had noisy spring base.

    Close to centre with escalators directly across road to take you up to Siena.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no internet in our room! Even in the lobby the wifi coverage was very weak. The aircondition in the rooms was appalling. This hotel is anything but modern.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Easy access to the town without trying to drive any higher.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioned was noisy and didn't work well. Parking a little tricky but manageable.

    Easy access to the town without trying to drive any higher. Just across the road from the escalator up the hill. Parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit small.

    The staff makes you feel incredibly welcome and try to help you as much as possible. The location is amazing, especially when traveling by train. The room was very clean and smelled amazing, the cleaning staff use some perfume. We could leave our luggage for a few hours after check-out and we could use the bathroom before continuing our journey which was very kind. They also helped us figure out how to best get to our next destination, because of a holiday some trains and busses didn't go. The room had plenty of space and an amazing airconditioning, much better than many other hotels. This hotel also has an amazing atmosphere and we would definitely recommend it to others when going to Firenze, next time we will go here we will definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value with excellent friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had two rooms. The air conditioner in one room did not work.

    The hotel is in excellent location. Just across the road to the escalators that take one up the hill into Siena. The hotel was good value and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Good basic stay. We love Siena and all it has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work properly so our room was uncomfortably warm. Shower room was dated and shower didn't work properly. It was also very small.

    Great location, close to the city. Staff were helpful and friendly. Bedroom was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, convenient for Siena centre. Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We heard quite a bit of noise from the people in the room beside us. Our ensuite was small and the shower leaked.

    Great location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location but don't expect much sleep without earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose the hotel because we thought it would be calm compared to center hotels. It was full of 30-40 American summer school students who were too young to be left to be responsible for their behaviour - late night noisy returns, banging doors, loud music - which the staff did nothing to stop for the benefit of the other guests. On the last night the hotel restaurant was closed due to a reception which ended up lasting to 2 am with a noisy crowd lingering in front of the hotel, and again staff did nothing.

    Very close to city center and walk to old part full of cafés and shops. Very conveniently situated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfest, clean bathroom, good WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, if window with view on the street - will be noisy. Air condition a bit noisy and worked weak.

    Good breakfest, clean bathroom, good WiFi. Very good localization - close to stairways in direction to Basilica San Francisco and further to the centre of City. Recommend to see: Beautiful City of Siena - Cathedral complex, Palazzo Comunale with Torre dei Mangia, Pinacoteca, Pallazo Chigi- Saraceni, fanastic street walk tour around the centre of city and of course Piazza del Campo and Il Palio preparation atmosphere excited ( 3-4 days before the Race, every year - 02/07 and 16/08 ) Good restaurant: Pizzeria on the small piazza in front of Baptiserium ( white pizza- ciaccina primavera )

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location and great parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and great parking. However, the aircon was terrible in that it was ineffective and was unbelievably loud. We could also hear the road and people in the corridor all night. We also only had one hard pillow each. Terrible nights sleep. The shower had a leak and the towels were less than comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as the previous 2 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the third June we had stayed there, but some changes with new staff were not an improvement. Uncomfortable bed for 3 nights.

    Good position near to escalator to upper town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great location, old feel about the premises but well upkept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, old feel about the premises but well upkept. Right outside historic Siena, easy to get to the main areas. Restaurant and bar staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel close to elevator into medieval Sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about Hotel Moderno was great.

    The staff were wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is very close to one of the elevators up to inside the city walls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Short stay Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities just getting very dated now & the air conditioning broke with water all over the floor.

    Position near elevator to Siena is awesome & staff were excellent& helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubic could do with a bit of modernisation but I guess for one or two night is OK. The air con was just too noise and did not cool the room unfortunately. The room didn't have a tea/coffee minibar to prepare a drink after a long journey in the car.

    The location was great with a series of escalators just opposite the hotel which will take you to the heart of Siena, just perfect! The bed was very comfortable. Very friendly staff. Loved the decor. Lovely garden. Free car parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel getting a bit dated and could do with gradual update throughout. However, there's a certain charm in general.

    Staff very helpful. Easy access to old town centre via 5 escalators. Entrance about 50 metres from hotel. We only had 1 afternoon to visit the main sites so hotel location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location, you only take the elevator from the hotel and you are just in the historical center. Parking in front of the hotel. Friendly staff. The room rather old fashioned but clean. Good wifi. Average breakfast - it is ok if you don't expect much😄

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    Go for it and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and unattractive but was ok for just one person, although it was a double. Wifi could not get high up to the 2nd floor. Except for the lobby and the restaurant, the hotel is outdated despite its name.

    The big lobby, the location just in front of the scale mobile, the good breakfast and the extra nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Location was good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was difficult to equalize between too hot and cold. The decorations were Dated But perfect for the value

    Location to Siena center was perfect Great value for money Garden was lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    don't plan to stay in hotel much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was freezing cold, after request they turn up heater, but because there were tiles on floor, it was really cold and walking without shoes was unpleasent.

    Location is great, just a few steps and you are in the old town. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location with good access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As other reviews have mentioned the hotel needs renovating. I would also suggest updating the breakfast, very many "dessert" like options and little fresh fruit, juice or healthier options.

    I chose this hotel based on location and for that it was a great choice as it's very easy to get to both by car and then walking to the old town. The hotel has parking which was a big plus for us. Some of the staff were really friendly, especially upon arrival which is always nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.7
    Bring your own earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights and both were disrupted by unruly school/sport team bookings. The hotel is old and very loud Every voice or movement echoes through the walls and floors Management obviously dont cater for the normal quiet travellers

    Location is very handy to the town centre being next to the wall escalators

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    In Siena with 2 young kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeeky bed.

    Location right at the bottom of the scalators going up to Siena's walled city. Parking was convenient, although it looked quite limited in numbers (luckily we didn't have to drive after we got there). Breakfast was available early (7.30p).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast and location was much more than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better.

    Breakfast and location was much more than expected. Lovely and helpful staff. An original building and garden, maybe in summer would be great!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Moderno traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: