Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo di Valli 3 stars

Via E. S. Piccolomini 135, 53100 Siena, Italy

#3 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 488 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful villa in a great location. Outstanding views of the Tuscan countryside. We had a very large room and bathroom. Breakfast was simple and can be enjoyed inside or out on the terrace. It is a short walk to old town Siena, or a very convenient bus ride from a stop in front of the villa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice room. The grounds and views were very nice. The people that worked there were all very helpful and friendly. We got some really good recommendations for dinner. The breakfast was also very good. Would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can hear other guests (doors) a bit expensive

    Wonderful staff!!! delectable and cultured, very helpful, good English what is not common in Italy... Great location, walking distance from historic centre but on the side with beautiful view:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of any such thing.

    I liked the property itself, its magnificent location, and, no less important, the staff's cheery disposition, expert knowledge, great patience and helpfulness, all adding up to an unforgettable experience that we hope to repeat some day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got much more than expected! This place is amazing, the rooms, the view, the breakfast and first of all the friendly staff! We really had a warm welcome! Giacomo gave us very useful information and suggestions! A big plus point is the free parking which is not easy in Siena! We hope to will have opportunity to go back soon! Really recommended to stay here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfest was very good, but there were no vegtables The tap in the bathroom is with 2 very uncomfotable grips and it was quite annoying The shower was working well & the hand sprinkle is fine, but the the upper one was not OK.

    It's a lovely serene place The room is very spacious and clean The staff is very kind, polite & helpful There is a free parking space within the hotel premises Great location, 10 minutes walk from Siena Breakfest is good as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting a little bit more. The hotel description and the photos don’t exact match with the reality: there is no terrace (but a yard) and the view from the room wasn’t plain (parcially blocked with a wall). The heating was noisy and the walls seemed very thin. The breakfast could have some more options.

    The staff was really great, extremelly polite and helpful. The hotel is located in a quiet place outside the old town but has easy access to Siena centre and to the road that leads to the scenic Tuscany. I always pay attention for the cleanliness of the rooms I stay and this one was spotless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were amazingly helpful and kind! The views of the rolling hills of Tuscany from our window were absolutely incredible. The food was delicious—we ate on the terrace each morning. We could walk to the town....just loved all of it!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We loved everything! The property set perfectly in the hills of Tuscany, but is a short 5 minute care ride from the town of Sienna. It is a historical building that's and beautifully renovated, inside and out. We were taken care of by highly knowledgable staff, including the owner, and greeted warmly the second we arrived. Our room was spacious, beautiful (complete with a hand-painted ceiling) and comfortable. The shower is super (awesome jets and water pressure) and the bathroom was spacious, with lots of fluffy towels. The breakfast is delicious as well. Highly recommended for a couple, as it's a very romantic place, but it's also great for a single traveler or families. We'd definitely return!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything, in short, excellent place! Great staff, amazing location (beaufitul, quiet, amazing views all around, walking distance to the city center, big free parking and easy to find), everything clean, charming, good breakfast and coffee, comfortable rooms...), absolutely no complaints, everything was perfect. Grazie!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on ground level, this room was a bit darker and not so nice. Average breakfast offer.

    Good location in a walking distance of the city centre. Very friendly and helpful owner. Beautiful surroundings, views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could possibly not like.

    Very friendly staff. Extremely helpful. Giacomo did not mind at all me trying to talk Italian. Beautiful location, quite and still within walking distance to the historic centre or short bus ride. Loved the breakfast. Extra cappuccino!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel was a wonderful place to spend a few days. Everything about it was perfect for us. We had a car, so it was great to have free parking. The rooms were generous in size and ours, on the ground floor, had a view towards the Chianti hills. Bed was comfortable and large and the internal wooden shutters meant the room was very dark. Due to the hotel's location, it was very quiet overnight. We very much enjoyed the large terrace each evening with a drink...what a magnificent view!! Breakfast was great with a more than adequate selection of goodies and great coffee. The most wonderful part of this hotel however, is the personnel. We were greeted so warmly and given great information about places to visit. Every time we returned to the hotel Giacomo, Lorenzo or Sofian would greet us in the car park with the keys so that we wouldn't have to walk upstairs to collect them. This great customer service made the hotel feel like home. Big hotels never get this part right! Thank you so much Giacomo, Lorenzo and all staff! We would love to visit again one day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought we were getting a room with a painted ceiling and we ended up on bottom floor with sofa and sofa bed not needed..room was very spacious with a beautiful view but I was so disappointed that we didn’t get the room we expected in picture on booking...

    Breakfast was very good..service excellent.. man at desk very helpful and did all he could to accommodate us..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture is a bit old.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful property with a gorgeous view to Siena. Fruit trees fill the long front yard which is visited by flocks of birds. The staff is very warm and helpful. The breakfast was very good and we also used the patio to drink wine while enjoying the view of Siena.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a beautiful setting... just outside the city walls at the Porta Romana. The proprietors couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace in the mornings was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows in all accomodation very flat, a good nights sleep is what travellers want from a hotel, it doesn't cost much to provide a decent pillow to ensure a good nights sleep, this is just particular to this hotel, but right across Italy!

    Arrival, check in very welcoming, staff very helpful & attentive, great location & panoramic view. Would definitely stay here again, very popular always fully booked,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very charming small hotel in a fine old building an easy walk from historical centre of Siena. Our room had stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast and parking all good. This hotel is full of character, including its staff- they were all so friendly and helpful. On our first morning we asked the manager if he knew of any winery we could visit. Not only did he direct us to just the ideal place, but he also provided a map and marked out an excellent route around the Chianti area with detailed guidance on the best villages to see. We followed his advice and had a memorable day! It was the personal touch that made it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Even though we stayed only for one night we were able to feel the special atmosphere of this place. The owner was very nice, explained us everything we needed to know about the city and gave us very interesting information. The view was amazing. I would drink my cappuccino every morning on the terrace with the perfect view of Chianti region. Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and room were charming. The best part of the facility was when we checked in and the owner spent at least 10 minutes with explaining the area around us. Giving us a map and marking the historical sites, restaurants and distances. So helpful. I wish more owners of small hotels would do this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing which could have been improved upon was breakfast

    Set in a stunning location with views over Siena and the countryside this accommodation is first class in every way. The staff went out of their way to be helpful when our luggage did not arrive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better, as everywhere in Italy, but this was one of the very best even for breakfast. Fresh bread and better croissants would be good.

    THe location was lovely, view over vineries to Siena. Lovely terrace outside our room. The staff welcomed us and helped us straight to the room, we arrived late and felt very welcome, even brought a small jug of milk to the room for tea! I really liked this hotel. The waiter made us a real capuccino at breakfast. Lovely comfortable room and sunny terrace. So beautiful. A ten minute walk outside the gates of the city, so close, yet with wonderful location with views of the city and vineries. The hotel felt spacious and elegant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel is perfect for a visit to Siena. Within walking distance to Siena and a beautifull view over the countryside. We will definitifely visit again when we are going to Siena again. Breakfast excellent and nothing to complain! Very nice staff that will help you with everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast. Fine and quit air conditioning in all the rooms. Car could be parked easily and safe. The busstop for going into the centre was 30 meters from the hotel, which costs only euro 1.20

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent host Lorenzo and super breakfast. Very good example of Tuscan Villa. Convenient to walk to city centre and reliable bus service if preferred.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe have more selection of eggs at breakfast :).

    Everything about this hotel is good: rooms, beautiful location, breakfast, staff. Thank you, we had three magical nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect, very helpfull and kind staff and wonderfull place, very near to city center. We got the tip from the owner (?) to visit the museum near to Dome which was old hospital before, and it was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    On our recent trip my wife and I visited Florence, Cortona, Assisi, Montepulciano and lastly Siena. Far and away the Hotel Palazzo Di Valli was our favorite place we stayed. Giacomo greeted us warmly the first day and couldn't have been more kind and helpful. All of the staff were exceptional. The hotel has a palpable calmness about it which almost requires you to relax and enjoy the feeling. Our room was quite large with an equally good sized bathroom. Wonderful shower. There is also a timelessness about the hotel, but it seemed to be to us it could have been the 1950's. Not in a kitschy American way but rather an elegant Italian way. However don't think for one moment the hotel is worn or threadbare. Quite the contrary. It is very well maintained and extremely clean. In the mornings they put out a lovely breakfast and if the weather is good you can dine on the terrace. The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the city gate but another 10 before you are to more stores and restaurants. Buses run out front (#51) and if a cab is necessary figure about 10 euro to your destination. The hotel will call one for you. We highly recommend the Hotel Palazzo Di Valli. We hated to leave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the property but a bonus would have been a swimming pool to cool down in as it was so hot!!

    Made to feel welcome by Lorenzo and Jackamo. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views of the Tuscan countryside

    The staff were very helpful and the property was situated just outside the old city which gave it more of a rural feel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Navigation needs to be formulated more precisely, the pin on the map misleads to the wrong address

    The most exciting thing was hosts' attirude and immediate responsiveness. We were totally fascinated by the warmth and friendliness of all the communications with the staff. Moreover we got for free the room with higher range of comfort compared to one we had booked. Breakfast was great with well-cooked coffee and a wide range of fruits and appetizers. Not to mention breathtaking view along the Tuscany valleys! Terrific place, we were glad to had our weekend there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi if crashed for several days due to local telecom company issue which was frustrating, but not a fault of the hotel

    Staff were excellent. Very friendly and eagar to make our stay as welcoming as possible. Hotel well located, with beautiful views and in walking distance to city centre. We especially enjoyed the authentic charm of the hotel and relaxed ambience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They went out of their way to help us. We could not find the hotel, The Concierge went out on the road and was waving his hands so we would not miss the entrance. Excellent buffet breakfast and also great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. Overall our stay at Hotel Palazzo Di Valli enhanced our trip to Siena.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, apart from the walk into town for dinner!delightful stay!

    Well situated near entrance to Siena. Extremely comfortable room and excellent service from all staff. Delicious breakfast eaten outdoors with the magnificent view. What more could one ask for?h

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay in this beautiful hotel. This time, we stayed only for one night, but everything was as great as we remembered for our vacation 2 years ago. We really loved the view from our room of Siena and typical Tuscany sceneries. The room was equipped in typical Tuscany style, very comfortable and nice. We also appreciate the choice of items in mini bar :). We loved the garden! Breakfast was delicious, great variety of choices from sweet to continental, and coffee was amazing. You have to get a cappuccino for breakfast! The hosts/owners are great guys, with good English and always ready to help or give you tips on what to see and do in Siena and its surroundings. This is for sure one of our favorite hotels we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In addition to all the things we loved about the this beautiful Palazzo, the staff was truly amazing. We arrived very late one night and there was no food available. The receptionist ordered pizzas and drove to the restaurant to pick them up for us! My husband became ill the next day and they arranged for medical care, transportation, found additional rooms in their hotel and at another hotel while he was recovering. A very difficult situation became manageable due to the efforts of the staff there. We will always be grateful for their many kindnesses.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative was the 2x single beds together (as I always hate falling down the middle), but can't fault anything else.

    Our host was delightful - he was very welcoming upon our arrival and showed us around a map of Siena, along with suggestions of where to go which was very helpful as we only stayed 1 night. The hotel is beautiful and on a hill overlooking the city - it takes around 10mins to walk to the gates and a further 10mins to the main square which goes quickly with all the shops and things to see along the way. Our room was lovely - only complaint was the double bed being 2 singles put together, but this is so common for hotels so not really a problem. Breakfast was good, no hot food but plenty of pastries and bread with jams and fruit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was simply marvellous. The gardens and views of Siena gorgeous with a lovely terrace one could sit and have a drink. The staff were superb and service was perfect from the breakfast (delicious) to reception where upon our arrivals late in the evenings, staff would rush out with the key to save us walking upstairs for it! Great restaurant across the street for supper too. Very handy and secure parking. A wonderful stay and would highly recommend. Would very happily stay again😀

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since Siena restaurant area is not open to cars it is a shame that they not offer some type of light dinner. When you return tired you only have one restaurant in frontof the hotel (which was full and required some waiting) or walk some more to find others

    The view of the room and the hotel in general was great! We took lovely pictures there. It was perfect to come back from walking in Siena or visiting Toscana and relax drinking wine that they offered while enjoying the view. Bedroom was spacious. Personnel was really helpful in explaining which roads to take when to get a better view and which towns we could visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a wonderful hotel. We will definitely be back. The room was beautiful with a spectacular view of the Tuscan countryside. Lorenzo and John were so helpful with tips for our visit and were always available to answer our questions. The breakfast was very nice. We were within a 10 minute walk of the city walls, with a bus stop at the end of the driveway. For us, this was perfect since we had a car. We loved this hotel and will definitely be back for a longer stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could be a bit larger as my wife and I are larger people.

    The staff were so helpful, nothing too much trouble. The bed was very comfortable. The views to die for. So close to center of Siena, bus stops right outside if needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was gracious and friendly, the hotel and grounds amazing, breakfast great and attention to providing gluten free breakfast stuff appreciated. My favourite hotel ever.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was very helpful and they spoke english very good. the view from our room was amazing. you cand relax on their terrace overlooking a part of Siena.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubicle was a bit cramped but the shower itself was very good.

    Lorenzo, Giacomo and all their staff are wonderful! We were welcomed warmly and instantly given a map showing the location of the hotel, important sights and good restaurants. We appreciated learning about the history of the hotel. Our room was beautiful with a stunning view across the garden and terrace to the city and surrounding countryside.The bed was very comfortable. The location is excellent- outside the walls of the city so very peaceful. We managed a gentle downhill stroll home (despite our creaky knees!) after taking the regular bus service into town for sightseeing. Tickets can be obtained at reception. There is a very good restaurant less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Palazzo di Valli is a very special place which we would definitely recommend and we shall return when we next visit Siena.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely Villa with a great view, and within walking distance to the old town in Siena. The staff were exceptionally helpful in planning outings around the region!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing, realy friendly and accommodating. You feel welcomed from the first moment. All sights in walking distace of about 10-15 minutes. Nice restaurant 1 minute from the hotel. Our room was equipped with a very comfortable bed and the ceiling had an amazing design, typical for Toscany. From the terrace you have a nice few over the surrounding landscape. Breakfast was very good as well, everything fresh, cereals, prosciutto, cheese, marmelade, fruits, croissant, all you need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very cold all time.(bath room too.) I do not understand why heating was often stopped during our staying. I caught cold because of it. Unfortunately we could not enjoy comfortable warm stay in the room.

    Location. Easy access to center of Siena. You can drive until gate of Roma and park somewhere to go to center. Break fast was always nice, we could enjoy it with very relaxed atmosphere. All staffs are kind. They could take care of booking of restaurant and give us enough suggestion to visit which winery. View from garden was amazing, you could see Siena city and typical Toscana gentle hill.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right off the lobby, so I felt like we didn't have a lot of privacy.

    The manager was amazing and very helpful. The room was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was too short.

    The hotel and rooms were lovely, quaint, and clean. The staff was friendly, very helpful, polite, astute, accessible, and incredibly accommodating. The property is in a beautiful location. It is peaceful, set a bit back from the road, yet there is a bus stop nearby with easy access to town. The view from this property is gorgeous. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. I would certainly stay here again. The building may seem nondescript, but don't be fooled.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow driveway complicated by a narrow stone, angled gate. We negotiated these successfully but it was stressful. You get used to it (particularly if you Iive in Europe) and do better over time. Parking is very private though! There aren't a lot of places to sit and relax around the property and the breakfast is a 7 compared to most facilities in this price range.

    Great location, if you have a car, close to one of the main gates to the inner, pedestrian portion of the city. The staff is unremittingly kind and helpful. Our room at the rear of the property had a fantastic view of Tuscan hill country - felt like we were out in the country when in fact a 10 minute walk from the city gate. It truly is like having the best of both worlds! You can walk (at a good pace) all the way to the main Campo in not much more than 20 minutes. Another great advantage is the it is a villa down a long drive off the main road - it is mercifully quiet at night. The staff is also very helpful witbreataurants and sights in Siena and in Tuscany. Finally, the building and setting are puller Sinese beauty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing view, friendly staff, very charming property. The bathroom was tiny... but spotlessly clean with a view of the Tuscan hills. I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing to complain of.

    Beautiful old summer house from centuries ago, much of it with original floors and domed ceilings. It is set in extensive lovely grounds that include an olive grove and gardens. Giacomo and Lorenzo are wonderful hosts, they are extremely nice people and most helpful. Breakfast is great. There is a regular bus service into town from the bottom of their drive. Very convenient and only a few minutes to get to the Mercato in Centro. Cannot recommend the Palazzo too highly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit stiff (found this with most European places we stayed).

    Awesome view. Great staff. Older winery type building that give you that real Europe feel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect for exploring Tuscany and the staff was helpful in providing ideas for day trips. What I loved most was the beautiful setting. Opening the shutters to breathtaking views each morning was a wonderful way to start each day. It was close enough to Siena that we could walk into town, but we didn't have to deal with the problem of finding a parking spot. We traveled with our three adult children and had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great place to stay. Views of the nearby vineyards are amazing. The owners are extremely friendly and always willing to help and ensure that your stay is the best it can be. We really enjoyed staying here and would come back if we were to visit Siena again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find and enter with narrow gate and drive off busy road.

    Great staff and facility in semi rural area near Sienna. Good restaurant nearby. Local bus to Sienna city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next stay I would ask for a little larger room but if no other larger rooms I would still stay here!

    Great location for Tuscany as well as other towns. Most helpful of staff just a very delightful stay!! We would stay again for sure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast window was a little short at 8-10 but the staff did offer an earlier breakfast on our last day when we had to leave early. Mattress a little too firm for us.

    Staff extremely helpful offering advice and ideas on activities and booking up restaurants if required. Location was peaceful and was certainly walkable to centre of town although a bit of a trek. Room was large and villa was full of character. Lovely gardens to relax by with a coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing in my room was horrible and left an awful smell, was the only thing wrong. When I changed rooms it was perfect. Freshly cooked eggs in the morning would have been perfect.

    Stunningly beautiful place and the staff were a delight and very helpful. They do not serve meals but one night (most places were closed locally) the staff created a plate of food for me. Full marks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too many good reviews - hope we will be able get in on our next visit to Siena!

    Charming and informative hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful property in a great location just outside the city walls, 20 minute stroll, or regular bus service into the heart of Siena.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the terrace there is no where to sit and relax. There reception area also doubles as the lounge which makes it a little awkward.

    The staff were charming and very helpful. The views from the hotel terrace are breathtaking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect location in relation to Siena - very walkable and away from the nighttime noise. The people who ran it bent over backwards to accommodate us. The outdoor patio overlooking Tuscany made us never want to leave. Free parking was a bonus. We loved it all!❤️

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although still centrally located, it is a good 20-25 minute walk into the heart of old Siena.

    A fantastic palazzo. Lorenzo and the other staff were extremely hospitable, helpful and kind. Breakfast on the terrace with the magnificent views of the countryside was very special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have booked a comfort room en we have received the room (not a comfort; the pictures don't match) on the ground floor, looking over the parking (which is a problem for a great car). Even the entrance before the 'palazzo’ is too small! The room is dark and very dirty. You know…‘authentic’ is not the same of dirty. We were not alone in the room. Also great ants and all kinds of beetles, scarabs, were on holiday. They were in our bed and in the bathroom. The basic hygiëne is hard to find. And not to forget the cobwebs.. Every time, when our upstairs-neighbours were at home, we thought that the ceiling would come down. Also the beds were very bad. It was really the hell and we were glad to leave! The breakfast (8 am-10 am) was WITHOUT fresh bread already at 9 am. After 25 years of traveling, this was the worst place we’ve ever had. No comment needed from the owner! All this is the truth!

    The 'cappuccino'.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The palazzo is in a great location: peacefully overlooking rolling Tuscan hills, yet walking distance from the bustle of Siena. The rooms were spacious and the breakfast was delicious. What really made our stay wonderful, however, were the welcoming hosts. We would recommend this place to all of our friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were immediately welcomed and made to feel right at home. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and personable. Location outside of wall perfect for us, with great view of rolling hillsides. Breakfast also lovely! Wine in terrace in evening a plus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A truly lovely location overlooking Chianti hills. A very tranquil and relaxing retreat. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Was about 20 mins walk or short bus ride into Siena, but don't let that put you off - it's a bonus to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warmest of welcome by Jackemo. The beautiful room & the large terraced garden with stunning views. Jackemo's invaluable advice on what to see, where to eat & sightseeing information was top class. We will return next year with friends to revisit a beautiful part of Italy. Gluten free breakfast well catered for. A glass of red wine on the terrace with a view of Siena what more could you want.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the time we checked in, we were made to feel as welcomed as family would be! Nothing was too much trouble. Picture perfect surroundings made us not want to leave the hotel grounds. So many hours were spent sitting on the terrace with a bottle (or more) of wine or prosecco. It was everything we hoped it to be and almost don't want to let the secret out!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the Siena City Centre, 20 minutes walking distance. Quiet hotel location with a spectacular view. Ancient very nice building. Breakfast in the garden is very relaxing. Has a good selection of wines. Great Restaurant in 5 mins walking distance (Trattoria Fori Porta)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is lovely. Spacious room, great bathroom, and strong AC.. We had a gorgeous view from our room. Easy walk into town or the bus stop is right outside the hotel gate. The owner is very helpful with suggestions about sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing was that I missed out on an egg for breakfast the first day - the breakfast could have done with a top up for the later arrivals !

    We loved the beautiful location and wide terrace overlooking Siena - sitting with a glass of wine in the evening looking at the view was just perfect. The staff and management of the hotel were so helpful and friendly and Lorenzo helped us with some suggestions for the next stage of our journey and places to visit in Tuscany.The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious with a great view. Although no restaurant in the Hotel the one across the road that was recommended by Lorenzo was excellent - we went twice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, very nice staff, real countryside feeling in a beautiful and fabulous building with a breathtaking panoramic view - and Siena's historical and dynamic town with restaurants and bars is only 10 mins walk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we were only there for 10 days

    Lorenzo, Jacomo, Eugene and all the staff were genuinely kind and welcoming. They couldn't have done any more for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints or wishes in this department.

    Absolutely impressed with the service. They just go out of their way to assist you, but it feels totally sincere. They aren't promoting or selling products, just giving honest advice or suggestions. Lovely people.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palazzo di Valli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: