Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Piccola Fenice 3 stars

San Marco 3614, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#152 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Large room with kitchen, though quite creepy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were all blocked, no view from inside. The room, on the 3rd floor of an old but refurbished house, was creepy, my youth-age kids (14, 16) couldn't sleep separate from us. The elevator was sensitive to weight, stopped when it moved out of center, was slow and couldn't carry all of our luggage, so we had to carry in batches.

    The beds were comfy. There was a good kitchen, kitchen sink, microwave oven. The bathroom is very good with clean towels. Location was close to eating places and a good walking distance from San Marco.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    The family room was much larger than I anticipated.
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was much larger than I anticipated. The beds were comfortable and it was in a great location- close to San Angelo water bus stop and easily walking distance from Piazza San Marco. The family room had a full kitchen with utensils and a large bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Stay here! Great location and value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints or concerns.

    Great apartment in Venice! It's a little tricky to find as the streets in Venice are so narrow and maze-like, and with the height of the buildings obscuring the view, it's easy to get confused and turned around, especially if you're not familiar with Venice. We took the vaporetto from the train station to the San Angelo stop and walked from there, asking for directions frequently. The best thing to do is get directions to Hotel Piccolo Fenice and then let a staff member take you around the corner to the apartment building. We loved our apartment. There were 3 of us - husband, wife, and adult son - staying. The lift (elevator) was a plus for getting luggage upstairs. The apartment consisted of a foyer, a large bedroom with comfortable bed and TV, a spacious bathroom, and a combination living/dining area with sofa bed for the 3rd adult. The kitchenette was well equipped and had a coffee maker with coffee provided. The apartment was quintessential Italian, and the Murano chandeliers were divine. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The apartment is just a block from the Piazza San Angelo, which has a couple of lovely restaurants with alfresco dining--just perfect for Venice. The street just off the Piazza has wonderful shopping--chock full of clothing stores, leather shops, gifts, and much more, including gelateria and additional restaurants with a variety of prices. Of course we visited Piazza San Marco with its high end retailers and pricey cafes, but we really preferred shopping in our neighborhood. Tip: if you're traveling from Venice to Florence (Firenze) and think that leather goods may be less expensive there, don't wait. Believe me, we shopped Venice, Florence, and Rome and truly found that Venice had the best prices and the cleanest, friendliest shops. We highly recommend Apartment Piccolo Fenice. It's very comfortable, well priced, and in a great neighborhood!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Would stay again when next I go to Venice. I will recommend it highly to friends who are planning to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was not to like! There was a nice breakfast with freshly made coffee drinks, and the expanded continental breakfast we Americans enjoy.

    This review is not for the requested hotel as on our arrival there were problems in getting a room but the concierge called and secured a room at a nearby hotel owned and operated by the same company. It was the Hotel a FeniceRt DesArtistes. She escorted us there. It is a beautiful small hotel behind the Opera house and a n easy walk to Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    I was there many times, so it wasn't a surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was there at least 10 times, so there are not many things I don't like, it would be nice to have a possibility to have a breakfast, but there is a nice bar 30 meters from the main door, in hotel room is a little kitchen and two minimarkets not far from hotel

    I was there many times, so it wasn't a surprise. It is very comfortable stay in excellent location near teatro La Fenice, near piazza san Angelo, 10 minutes to Rialto, San Marco and Accademia, with some good restaurants close to hotel, like Acgua pazza or Assassini

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location try to stay at the main hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite difficult to find because the address is not precise. On google map “S.Marco 1936” is somewhere else. This is really really annoying. By now many people use google map and they should adapt!! The real address is Campiello S.Felice 1936. Also, if you stay at the dependance, be aware that there is none after 12 at the reception and nobody answers the phone. One should say to hotel management to join the phone lines! I was lost and I could not get hold of anyone

    The location and the place in general

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant stay in a good part of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen items in the kids room were a little odd and small, but since we didn't use them we can't comment too much. We also didn't like checking in at another hotel, but we understand that the hotel is so small that they can't staff a front desk too many hours.

    We liked that it was a really old building, with an interesting stairway and small elevator in the courtyard leading up to it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Nice apartment to stay in Florence!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ~

    Really nice apartment, near by train station just 10 mins walk.The room was very clean and quiet, comfortable bed and sofa bed, the host is very nice and friendly ~ we love this beautiful place so much. we definitely recommend to my friends and families when they travel in Florence !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.2
    DON'T STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DON'T STAY HERE! The hotel is old and provide nothing but towel and all in one shampoo body gel. The bed is horrible,we ordered a double bed but they just put two single beds together and called it a "double bed" which is unbelievable,literally one is higher and one is lower. Besides, the service is ridiculous. The reciptionist is really rude. The reciption is open at 9 but we have some stuggle since we need to be at the train station at 9.30 the other day. So we wanted to figure a way to sort it out but the reciption is closed so we tried to call. And when they finally picked up, she said DON'T TALK and hung up. They are unprofessial, terribly rude and not responsible. Strongly not recommond this horrible hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Madhu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not available after 6pm. They come back at 9am next day.

    Very good location- Close to all attractions and important locations in Venice. Big size room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Much larger than what I was expecting from a hotel room in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much larger than what I was expecting from a hotel room in Venice. Bedroom and bathroom were large and there was a sitting room/kitchen/ dinning room too. Good security, although crime is not really a problem in Venice. Front desk was alway helpful and she spoke good English. Centrally located. Close to water bus stop and easy to walk to St Marks Square, etc. Ask about the breakfast at the sister hotel 300' away. Good way to start the day. I appreciated the directions Booking.com emailed us on how to reach the hotel from the Venice Train Station. Spot on! Modern elevator was very useful as our unit was in the third floor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    I advice every one to go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    every thing was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Never go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lication..elevator not working...useless ...sraff is at another hotel...!!..its scary

    Suite size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    you can complain about everything or you can close your eyes and enjoy your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 seater sofa was broken, hairdryer about 30 years old and not working properly, big sleeping bed uncomfortable,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Room exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You did quite well

    Room exceeded expectations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Described as a family room but we had 2 bedrooms and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Described as a family room but we had 2 bedrooms and a little roof terrace which was charming - sad not to stay longer than our 2 days!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    The room is very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reached there late in evening and had problem finding the place. Rang the hotel but only hit the voicemail.

    The room is very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really :)

    Everything was good. Very helpful reception staff, kid friendly accommodation. Good convenient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    Spacious apartment with kitchen, and good central location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unorthodox check in procedure, and a little hard to find initially

    Spacious apartment with kitchen, and good central location for sight seeing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff; vast rooms (for Venice), 5min from San Marco and Rialto

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    Location was excellent and the room was very large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was excellent and the room was very large.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Stay in the heart of San Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great! The view from the terrace is beautiful. Nice atmosphere and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    HOTEL TRES CALME
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    HOTEL TRES CALME EXCELLENTE SITUATION

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.8
    Location is very good , near to the Vaporeto stop S Angelo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Venice restaurants are expensive and bad value for money. The appartment has a microwave and an electric boiler allowing for breakfast or very light meals. ( supermarket close to San Salvadore church). There is not a full funcioning kitchen

    Location is very good , near to the Vaporeto stop S Angelo and very close to San Marco. The city is small but location was great considering we were travelling with 2 small kids. It is important for travellers to arrive with a good map as one may get lost. The appartment is cleaned daily, it is sufficiently large for a family and the bathroom is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.8
    It was wonderful to have a little apartment as Venice is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is not much signage so it is a bit difficult to find, and is not like a "real" hotel that is staffed all day.

    It was wonderful to have a little apartment as Venice is quite expensive and we put a few meals together ourselves rather than eating out all the time.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    Large room relatively to Venice, my wife loved the walk in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit confusing to find but that's Venice.

    Large room relatively to Venice, my wife loved the walk in closet. The elevator (slow) was a nice and conviniant touch too. If you want to see venice from it's streets and canales rather than the hotel room window, the location is cconviniant. Superb value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    El cuarto era muy bonito y tenia todas las comodidades
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Es prácticamente el anexo de otro hotel, no llegar de noche, Venecia de noche es solitario y mal iluminado, no pasa nada malo pero la impresión no es muy buena y el hotel esta en una calle angosta y mal iluminada La recepción solo atiende hasta cierta hora por lo que si se llega muy tarde toca ir hasta el hotel principal a recoger la llave

    El cuarto era muy bonito y tenia todas las comodidades Esta en medio de Venecia por lo que puedes llegar a muchos de los puntos turísticos caminando

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Location, elevator, roomy, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower curtain and small flies.

    Location, elevator, roomy, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Location, furnitures, style, atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check - in and check - out policy

    Location, furnitures, style, atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Amazing private roof top terace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi did not work in room. No coffee in room.

    Amazing private roof top terace.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Large room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit difficult to find, but Venice is a labyrinth

    Large room and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Comfort and the Airconditioning which was heavenly in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of cooking hob

    Comfort and the Airconditioning which was heavenly in the Venetian heat of August

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed is two twin beds put together so they separate as you sleep

    Clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    Location, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unreliable WiFi

    Location, facilities

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: