Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Playa 3 stars

Via Aurelio Saffi 20, 55049 Viareggio, Italy

#13 of 56 hotels in Viareggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff made you coffee of your choice and offered as many cups as you liked. I felt that this was a nice personal touch and the coffee was excellent and from a propper machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived they said that they didn't process our booking properly, and we had to spend one night in a smaller room without balcony and we must pay the full price for it. I had to haggle for a discount.

    Great breakfast, clean room, great location, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bright cheerful room...high ceilings...extremely comfortable bed...great shower. Bonus: View from balcony of sea and cityscape. 1/2 block from promenade and beach. Discounted pricing for private beach and parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived only 1 room available even though 2 rooms were booked and paid for. This was sorted after claim to refund money. But we were given one room for smokers despite x2 non-smoking rooms were booked. Awful smell of smoke in room #2 with balcony.

    Good location in front of the beach. Public parking available. Wi-fi connection was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little small

    Very friendly staff, simple but good breakfast, good coffee, clean room, air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Goof location , nice helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was not free and it was not mentioned at the hotel web site

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, very good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and very small bathroom

    Near to the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small, very minor point.

    Good room facilities, including a balcony and a safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Large bedroom, towels changed daily, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and localisation, internet, view from beatifull balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. The staff were very helpful. We had to leave early for our flight. We had a lovely breakfast at 7 15am. Lovely view of the sea from our balcony. Defiantly go back again. Beautiful seaside location.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - at the main entrance there is a stair, but there is another door without stair, so be sure to notify administrator if it's hard or impossible for you to use the stair - one umbrella and two deck chair cost 10 euro (in agreement with one of the private beaches) like without any agreement - 1,5 km from the railway station, taxi costs 10 euros (if you can walk do it through the park, it's really nice)

    - the room has been cleaned every day (!), also towels has been changed every day (!) (we stayed for 5 nights in May 2016) - nice administrators - good breakfasts - small but absolutely comfortable room - hotel is situated between the sea and very nice park with pines

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small which is fine - but not very well laid out so could be quite awkward. Only a problem when I was trying to get some work done.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location for exploring Viareggio and very clean. Coffee at breakfast first class! Parking easy (out of season when I visited), generally well presented and good value for money - I would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None.

    The best ciocolatta calda which was prepared by Marco. The staff were very helpful and even helped us find a rent a car and even helped us carry our luggages inside which us rare. It was also a very good location for the Carnivale and the shops at the promenade. We will surely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    fantastic staff - especially Alexis extremely helpful and friendly. Location superb - just off the esplande easy access to beach and great restaurants (Lo Squalo and Fappani especially) Breakfast - good choice and willing to meet requests Very clean - towels changed every day.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was incredibly friendly from the moment we walked in the door. We checked in early without any issues, and were issued vouchers and towels for the beach without any problem. We felt like they gave us the best room in the place, as we were on the top floor with the balcony closest to the beach. Additionally, the fresh-baked pastries and fresh fruit for breakfast were delicious! Great value, and walking distance to the train station (with a backpack, no kids).

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything, the staff are simply brilliant, friendly, english not brilliant by all them but thats part of the fun, making it work, after all we are the visitors.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach they reccommend is very poor, you can get a lot more better for the same money. Pay attention that they don't include sun BEDS in the price, only chairs and umbrella on the beach, for sunbeds you pay extra!

    The position. The staff. The value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, cold buffet with plenty of choice and delicious coffee. Near the park and the beach and within easy walk of train station to get to Pisa, Lucca and lots of other places.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is family run and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the free wifi was great for my teenage daughters.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad

    We liked friendliness of staff. They appreciated us speaking Italian and were helpful. Room with sea view balcony was lovely! Everybody really nice!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having a balcony with a sea view - in the distance.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast and very friendly staff. Close to the beach and to good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of hotel, close to beach and 1.4 klm walk into town cente. Hotel staff always cheerful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hospitality reserved to us by Marco & Andrea was incredible.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very dirty room, hair in the bathroom, smelly bed

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, everything was very clean

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    very friendly staff, especially cook-helper Alexis- i think his name

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very helpful and friendly staff, cleaned daily, the beach - 50 m from the sea, to the railway station 20 minutes walk, nice town

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were upset to here there was a charge for the Beach loungers and umbrellas as the website stated it was free>

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kindness and devotion of staff to make guests enjoy their stay. Great breakfast and very confortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The triple room a little beat to small.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: