Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Poggio del Sole 3 stars

via baiola 269, Forio di Ischia, 80075 Ischia, Italy

#56 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in line with facilities listed on booking.com. air conditioning, tv and fridge in our room did not work. The bedroom was very run down with damp damage to wall and ants in the bedroom. Pool was very small and we had to leave the property each day of our stay as the facilities at the hotel were so poor. We chose the property because we are in to fitness and it listed regarding equipment such as exercise bikes on booking.com add which in reality were rusted old bikes not fit for use. The pool was very small. On our last night there was people shouting, banging on doors and playing music until 4am I was terrified, we felt unsafe in the property and we did not get any sleep that night. The property is a long distance up hill from the closest town. I would not recommend this accommodation.

    seaview

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms are very comfortable and the view is beautiful. One could not ask for better services from Giuseppe and the rest of his family and staff. They are the most accommodating people. The food at the restaurant at the hotel was amazing! This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, the first time with friends and my immediate family and this time with extended family. We will definitely be staying there again and I highly recommend it to anyone I know who will be going to Ischia.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is up in the hills with an amazing view of the city and the endless sea. Sunsets are spectacular. A nice swimming pool is a perfect addition to this lovely cozy place. A huge thank you to Guiseppe, the best host ever, who works morning till night to run business properly and to make all his guests feel at home. And thanks to Mirella for assistance. The restaurant is the best in Forio and that is no exaggeration. Every dish is delicious. Ischia-style rabbit is a must to try! We had the best time at this hotel and plan to come back for sure. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The service in the hotel owned restaurant is slow and at times unorganised, with very long waits for food. However when the food arrives it's probably the best we've eaten in the whole of Italy. So if you're not in any rush and are willing to wait, you won't be disappointed.

    The location is up on the hill and the views over looking the bay are stunning. The hotel owners are incredibly friendly and helpful and their little boy is so polite and cute. It is beneficial to have transport as the taxis are quite expensive. We hired a motorbike arranged through the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the island this way. We would highly recommend this hotel. Also if you require transfers from and to Naples airport we recommend Ischai Review, as our experience with them was faultless.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Giuseppe is a wonderful host. Friendly and helpful, he takes good care of you. The room was nice with a good shower and lovely large terrace with a seaview. The restaurant is also worth a visit, very tasty food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What an amazing stay! Guiseppe and his family provide wonderful hospitality. The hotel is perched up the hill which gives you a simply breathtaking view over Forio, our room faced west which gave us the best place to relax on the private balcony with a drink to watch the sunset over the ocean. Very comfortable and spacious room, waking up to that view every day was just awesome. We also enjoyed the wonderful view from the pool & jacuzzi. The restaurant down roadside is also superb, we ended up eating there most nights because the food was fantastic, I will never forget the Tagliolini al Limone, best pasta dish I have ever had! I could not imagine a better stay on Ischia, the hotel was everything we could have asked for, and the island itself is so beautiful. Guiseppe also cooks up a great breakfast which caters for all tastes. I can't wait to come back and enjoy Hotel Poggio del Sole and Ischia again, hopefully soon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us everything was perfect.

    Giuseppe and his staff are doing everything they can for making their guests feel good. The breakfast is very fine, with a lot to choose among. In the restaurant , connected to the hotel one can have the most delicious meals.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures of the pool are not quite how it looks in reality. The pool is smaller and the water was green during our stay there. We didn't like to make use of the pool because of children who were playing there all the time.

    Very nice view on the island, friendly host and hostess. They will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Giuseppe drives you from the port to the house and to the beach. The rooms are cleaned everyday and provide you with enough comfort. The breakfast is really nice: a lot of fruit, homemade cakes and eggs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower cabin is very tight however it is quite common in this part of Italy (at least for the places we stayed in).

    Excellent hospitality of the owner. He tried to understand and solve all hiccups with his personal involvement. Good food in the restaurant. Proper functioning of air conditioner. The pool is working until late hours. Nice view from the terrace (you can watch sunset at the sea).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The View was amazing. The location is perfect... close to the pier and to Forio. The breakfast was simple but rich, local and genuine. The Host is very helpful and nice. The external Jacuzzi, at the sunset is a great experience

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with ceiling fans for summer heat!

    Wonderful location overlooking the sea and charming proprietors. Special bonus is the restaurant at the bottom of the drive - run by the same family - and serving excellent Italian food

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathroom was a little small and breakfast very poor

    air conditioning in the room, view, the room was very large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect..the place, the room, the people there,the view was fantastic and the food buenissimo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattresses are a little on the firm side!

    Good breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Owner had given our pre-booked apartment to another family before we arrived leaving us with a small quadruple room. We heard several guests complaining about their rooms too. I think the father is no longer in charge - standards appear to have fallen since 2014 reviews. The hotel is up a massive hill and the buses are a nightmare. I've travelled all over the world and Ischia's bus system is not to be relied upon in August. At least 30 people trying to get on an already full bus at each stop. This hotel is not suitable if you are relying on buses to get about with children. The hotel has a rundown minibus which can sometimes take you into Forio so you can catch a bus but do not rely on this as a means of transport. Saint Angelo and Ischia Ponte are much nicer than Forio which is full of holiday makers from Naples.

    Owner helped us out when the cash machines were out of money.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a bit too far from the town. It could be problematic if you don't have a car or a scooter (although a shuttle service is offered). Also the hotel is served by a bus station but stops are not indicated and bus lines are chaotic at least: it would have been great to get more info from the staff. The pool's water was a bit too warm, imho.

    Really nice hotel and very welcoming staff. The restaurant at street level is simply amazing. The hotel offers a shuttle service towards Forio center that helps a lot. The room was amazing with a breath-taking view.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, let's start from the beginning. It was very hard reaching this place, it isn't signaled at all, and the road is very rough. But, we found it and looked for the reception: there is no reception, but they handle stuff from the restaurant that you find at the entrance. Moreover, the room was not that one we had booked, because it was taken (?). There were no chairs, the room was very tiny and not so clean as well, the hairdryer was broken and also (this is for the italians) there was no bidet! Wifi was always busy, so if you need it, make sure you find another way to connect your devices. Finally, the breakfast is served from 8:30! This means you cannot leave before, unless you want a packet one (which I highly advise against). The view is breathtaking, but the pools are also very dirty. Long story short, a beautiful view isn't enough to carry on an hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was great. The phone number on the booking.com page was wrong, use the one that google gives during the search. Additionally, contact the host before your arrival, he might pick up you from the port.

    The hotel is located on the hill and this gives an absolutely stunning view from the room. It takes about 20 mins to get down to the beach, but the host gave us a lift evry morning and took us back as well. The host was very friendly and was eager to help and advise us during our stay. Additionally, his brother let us use their facilities (kayak) for free as well. The hotel is connected to their own restaurant with great food.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing view, clean and comfortable rooms, good location, delicious breakfast, close to everything, kind staff, beautiful atmosphere, swimming pool and...jacuzzi. What else!?

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you're looking for a central location, this place may not be for you. For us, however, it was perfetto.

    wonderful views from the rooms; cosy and friendly atmosphere; quiet location; excellent food at the hotel restaurant; helpful Giuseppe who gave rides to different places

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it's enough far from centre, about 3 km, beach also is far and way is always going into mountain. anyway it wasn't a problem, because owner always come to pick you up if you call.

    Hotel has very beautiful view, from balcony you can enjoy sea from high. Staff was very friendly and helpful. in case hotel is on mountain, owner picked up quest from beach, centre or some other places, also he brought to place you need close. He really took care. Restaurant of Hotel is very cosy, food is excelent, we enjoyed food every evening. Even if breakfast is poor, continental and i didn't like so much because i do not eat sweet things. but in general everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful view. Restaurant food was great. They made breakfast early specifically for us since we had a boat to catch to leave the Island. Even drove us to the Port so we would make our boat on time. They were well versed in Italian and English which helped us to communicate effectively. Excellent food and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience at all but guests should be aware that reception is at road level and the hotel is up a quite long slope. The rooms,thermal pool and views are worth the climb but not easy should you have a problem with walking.

    The rooms were large and very clean. New towels each day. The views over the town/ port were wonderful and the restaurant had good home cooking at reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good service and food. Always clean. It was a great pleasure to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room had a good view, food at the restaurant was excellent, thermal pool good, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful family, child friendly, great facilities, 5* restaurant!

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hotel Poggio del Sole traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: