Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence San Sano

Località San Sano, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#5 of 19 Holiday rentals in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    We stayed in the separate suite complex next to the vinyard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the separate suite complex next to the vinyard - recommended. Beds were ok but hard. Room very spacious. All was clean. San Sano town is small and delightful. Local town restaurant is terrific.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation and stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi did not reach our room making it a bit difficult to research places to visit. However this was not a major problem as we can use our mobile data allowance from UK.

    The B&B was very homely and comfortable. Our room was very big and had a great view. The B&B is located right in the heart of Chiant and therefore is surrounded by countryside and vineyards which have stunning views. I would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.5
    We will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unless I missed something, the pictures presented at their website are extremely deceptive. The room we were in was as dated as the place itself and had no resemblance to the internet pictures. As for the property grounds, they were extremely unkempt and needed mowed and cleaned. The pool was completely empty and hasn't been filled in awhile and could be a serious issue if someone were to fall into it. No warnings, no signs and nothing to stop you from accidentally falling in. The view? we'll, if they would clean the place up, clean the fence line and trim some trees up you would have a spectacular view of a large vineyard. As it stands, you have to peek thru the tall weeds to see anything. You be the judge of it and do the comparison.

    Unfortunately the only positive experience we had was the breakfast, breakfast area and the people we met during breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    A small country hotel, tucked away in the Chianti Classico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small country hotel, tucked away in the Chianti Classico. Welcoming staff, warm and comfortable rooms, a good-sized pool, and wonderful countryside all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    The best place we have experienced in over 6 weeks in Europe, in some very good hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave, but we extended our stay.

    Can't praise the family enough. They gave us suggestion to see the area and to have excellent dining. When their restaurant was unfortunately closed the night we arrived due to the chef being sick, they arranged dinner for us in a local restaurant. The following night the chef was still ill, so they invited us to have dinner with the family. First class location in Chianti.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Need to go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful scenery, beautiful premises and very nice and helpful staff!! we definitely want to go back!! anyone that stays at this hotel must dine at the close by restaurant "Malborghetto". It was proposed to us by the guys at the hotel and it was the best way to end a very long day of riding. Magic food and wine!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    I love this place. Without question I will return. It was a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint I could even attempt to make is that the two twin mattresses to make a king would slide apart. No big deal at all.

    I cannot list all the things I loved - location, vibe, staff, property, advice/assistance/recommendations made by staff...the list is endless. I tried to stay longer than I had booked because I did not want to leave!!! Best part of my trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Very lovely place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Excellent location with superb buildings. Staff / meals/ rooms out of this world. We arrived 11pm and they fed us along with a bottle of wine before showing us to our superb room . Would have no qualms about going back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Toscana at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no problem with the hotel. The only issue we had was the scheduled bus just didn't turn up. Lucky our airbnb host in Siena picked us up as there were no other options. Think about this if you do not have your own transport as there are only two buses per day through San Sano and none on Sundays. Sometimes you just can't rely on other transport here. It did not make us enjoy our stay any less though, it is a wonderful experience to stay here.

    San Sano is a delightful and secluded part of Toscana. Hotel San Sano was an exceptional property with gorgeous gardens, made us feel we were part of The Toscana landscape. The pool was a bonus in the heat of Summer. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in Europe and down the road the local Trattoria was popular with us for our other meals and buying supplies. If you walk down past the Trattoria there is a beautiful walk which takes you quite a way secluded from any traffic or people. We walked all the way through Toscana from Firenze to San Sano and sore spectacular scenery. San Sano did not disappoint.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Authentic Italia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Authentic, Italian villa in a quiet, beautiful small town. We loved our stay there. Tranquility, beauty, great lodgings and view. I think we took 50 pictures just at this hotel alone. Highly recommend! One of our favorite memories of the trip. The restaurant nearby is also delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    Room for improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A number things just need some care to make this hotel even more recommendable: Old bathroomm with broken glas, rusty things, bathroom ist not state of the art anymore. No WiFi in the room. Restaurant was closed although advertised as "open" on the web page. A number of further "littel things" would just make one feel more "at home".

    Excellent setting of hotel in a beautifull garden in a very littel village, very quiet! Very friendly staff. Good trattoria close by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    One of my favorite places on this planet !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second time i've stayed at this hotel and it feels like home to me. They treat me like family. The quality of this hotel is wonderful, a truly special place, and I can't wait to return again and again !! Love, Love, Love this village and this hotel !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The grounds of the hotel were in need of a good 'tidy up'. A shame because the rooms/communal areas were fine.

    The location was superb with a stunnung vineyard view. Upgraded (at extra cost) to a better room with terrace. A lovely friendly trattoria just across the road for evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Great place with less than great care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were wedding celebrations taking place several nights just below our windows. Moreover, attention of staff was entirely devoted to the preparations and running of the celebrations. I would expect arrangements to take proper care of the needs of other guests too - sometimes I felt like a guest of a second rate.

    Beautiful setting in the heart of Tuscany (if you do not require civilization too close) Swimming pool next to beautiful view to a vineyard Great though expensive food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful Tuscan retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maurizio and his staff are wonderful. They made us feel at home. San Sano is a tiny hamlet, and does not even appear on the Michelin map. Thank goodness for the booking.com GPS coordinates! There are only two restaurants in town--plus Maurizio made dinner one night. It is essential that you have your own transportation--car or motorcycle. The buses run infrequently.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    A comfy bed, air conditioning good,a beautiful ,rural...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner was expensive for what we got/ set menu only. Didn't have breakfast the last morning, we were given yogurts for the room and charged the full price for breakfast. Shower was small and very dated.

    A comfy bed, air conditioning good,a beautiful ,rural location and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    Quiet and relaxing place surrounded by vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to pay extra for the pool towels.

    The host is very nice and helpful! He recommended us several wineries to visit and helped us book tastings. Also, the place has a special feel to it, it is very homey, informal, easy-going. It is quiet, very relaxing and very beautiful. The buildings are old, the yard is beautiful, and the views are excellent. This was the best part of our trip!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    7.9
    The host Maurizio was extremely gracious and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was only available at the dining area and not at all available in the rooms. There was a dead lizard in the pool for 2 days.

    The host Maurizio was extremely gracious and helpful. The traditional dinner served by Serveno was fantastic. The view from the rooms overlooking the vineyards is to die for! The cats are extremely friendly, especially Lilo.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    beautiful scenery and gardens in a beautiful place
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful scenery and gardens in a beautiful place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Very beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi in the room would have been helpful.

    Staff was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in the room was not very effective though it was very hot.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Very nice location, very nice staff, very good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more comfortable

    Very nice location, very nice staff, very good breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Wine heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WI-FI

    Exceptional view. Nice pool/food and wine. Interesting to have rooms in a such an old historic building but with all modern amenities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Summer holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants; coffee could have been stronger

    Breakfast lasted as long as guests wanted

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic view of the vineyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in our room. Only the common area. A little removed from Siena by a 25 minute drive

    Fantastic view of the vineyard. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice place in very quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place in very quaint village

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Graag locaties!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for more than andere hour tot check-in. The breakfast could be beter.

    The locaties is graat!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    That we could be in this hotel on vacation only two weeks .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    That we could be in this hotel on vacation only two weeks ... But what I can definitely recommend its dinner served in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    Most beautiful and peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection wasn't great.

    Location was amazing. Friendly and welcoming staff. Most beautiful place on earth.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Lovely walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFI available where we registered only. Lighting in the room poor. Had to go to other towns for dinner as only one 4 course meal there for 28 euros available. Did not tell us of local trattoria that's good that we happened to find in San Sano.

    Lovely walks. Great pool. Good breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.5
    the hotel itself is beautiful,located in beautiful terrain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    take your teethbrush with yourself) The hotel is quite far from Siena, so think twice - if a countryside is boring for you (the village is small and honestly you have nothing to do there) than it is better to stay in Siena and take excursions from Siena, otherwise you will have to pay for taxi in case you don't rent a car. taxi is quite expensive - 50 euro from San Sano to Siena. This is the only one inconvenience I faced there.

    the hotel itself is beautiful,located in beautiful terrain. Breakfast is modest, but you won't stay hungry. the stuff is friendly and helpful. the view is amazing, the athmospere is nice as well. A peaceful and calm place. I don't regret about this choise.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    i loved everything about this hotel, the scenery was magical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i loved everything about this hotel, the scenery was magical, the staff are amazing, the room was spacious, the free breakfast was great, the villiage of San Sano was so special, forever in my heart.. i would and will definitely visit again.. everything about this place was wonderful, relaxing, and very beautiful... i can't explain just how much i really loved my stay here...

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff, pool, views, locality to other chianti towns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't get WiFi in the room (but was mostly too busy drinking wine to notice anyway)

    Staff, pool, views, locality to other chianti towns

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Amazing scenery,pleasant and friendly staff,breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms need a small renovation

    Amazing scenery,pleasant and friendly staff,breakfast was good but we had an amazing toscany dinner....

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    View from a Deluxe room at a Chianti vineyard was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from a Deluxe room at a Chianti vineyard was unforgettable ....

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Location was terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room but no cups or milk

    Location was terrific

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    personal attention,helpful happy people,not like a boring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all good

    personal attention,helpful happy people,not like a boring hotel!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Residence San Sano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: