Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Roma 4 stars

Piazza Santa Maria Novella 8, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#109 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1060 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, on the minus side, which will not prevent us from returning later in the year, the room we were allocated was disappointing. Extremely well presented with good facilities but in a bad position. It was at the rear of the Hotel and as the Air Conditioning was not working we were supplied with a fan. Also at no time over our two day stay were we able to connect to the WIFI in the room. Explanation? “Location of the room”.???????? Also the noise from the traffic, especially Garbage Trucks , was extremely loud in the early mornings.

    The location was excellent and the Hotel delightful in the public areas. The staff were extremely helpful and were only to happy to assist and make ones stay an enjoyable one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shocking view overlooking other people's laundry in a dead space outside my bedroom window. Awful breakfast, leftover cold scrambled eggs congealed in a tureen, coffee from a machine. ££££ hotel was expensive, but worth it for location. Florence in general is astronomical for eating out. Breakfast next door at JK cost £42 per head!!

    Lovely staff. Lovely room. Great location. Walkable to all major sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small for 4 people but only stayed one night. The hairdryer not great and kept falling apart. It got so hot in your hand you couldn't hold it for long.

    The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The location is great!! We had four people in one room so 2 bathrooms was a definite plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect - walking distance to all major tourist attractions. Staff were friendly, happy and helpful. Breakfast was included and while simple was fresh, well presented and tasty; offering quite a range of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, breakfast was really bad, butler at the door would help at the end, parking service

    View from the room, locations amazing, rooms where big and really well equiped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints about the hotel itself, but am disappointed in the booking process. We booked Hotel Roma for 2 days prior to our tour group joining us there so we wouldn't have to change hotels. Though it was more more expensive than other area hotels, we chose it for that convenience and prepaid two & 1/2 months ahead. However, the room prices were less expensive at the time of our stay. Since Booking.com does not offer price matching adjustments, we were out of luck. A lesson learned.

    great front facing room, recently remodeled; The Plaza outside was active (loud) all night, but with windows close and electronic shades down, it was like a cave & great for sleeping. Since it was very warm with the windows closed , but too early for Italy to allow air conditioning , the staff provided us with a fan which made the room temp just right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints

    A beautiful old hotel, very elegant, very comfortable and with very friendly, helpful staff Convenient location , close to the conference center and the station but also close enough to the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities in the rooms whatsoever, no water, coffee maker or anything...absolutely NOTHING. The TV set is very small placed on the dresser too far from the bed, of course no USB connectors to charge your mobile or iPad. The electric outlet is old type, you should bring the correct plug. We were not happy at all. Not good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity there is no restaurant at premises (though Spada just around the corner is the best choice) and the breakfast omlet was mostly cold

    Friendly and helpful staff, booked for us tickets to Ufizzi galeries, we had a misunderstanding at arrival about bedding - solved by the staff in highly professional manner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Hotel Roma were very nice and accommodating! We were there visiting my daughter whom lives nearby and is studying in Florence from USA. We stayed two nights at Hotel Roma then left to travel to other places for three nights then back to Hotel Roma for two more nights. I originally had a different hotel for the final nights but chose to stay again a Hotel Roma! The Hotel is on a lovely square. Lots of wonderful places to eat. Florence is such an easy fun place to visit, shop, take in the sights and culture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy from other rooms, our bed was opposite to the bathroom of the other room very noisy i hear the shuffel of the water and the man singing in the toilet, very bad sleeping very bad experience, safe box wasnt working, some steps inside the room just after tge door

    location was good, good staff and room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As a 4-star hotel, it would have been better that there was a kettle in the room for making tea in the cold weather. It does have an area in the reception, but it felt slightly inconvenient to have to go down and carry the drink through the lift. It would also have been better to have its own restaurant. The lounge and bar could have been lit up and made more welcome. Could have replenished bathroom items daily.

    One of the staff, Lorenzo?, was particularly pleasant and made every effort to talk to us in both Italian and English at breakfast and whenever we met. He was warm and helpful. In general staff were helpful. The hotel was happy for us to leave our luggage there for a couple of days which was very helpful for our travel purpose. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The location was excellent, especially as we needed to use the station fair bit during our 7-day stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is friendly and very helpful. They helped us finding good restaurants, made reservations for us and gave us a good overview of the city. We also got a little gift upon Check-Out. Nice design on the inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extremely poor breakfast, in a very sad breakfast room, where an absolutely unpleasant quarrel between a leader of the property and the staff took place. The room needed to be renovated.

    the location is ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom did not have a place to even set your makeup. A countertop with a sink would be much better than a pedestal sink. I had to put my things in the sink in order to have them handy for makeup application.

    The breakfast was good and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and I liked having a bidet. The staff was friendly, particularly the staff in the breakfast area. The location was fantastic with easy access to many places of interest and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They really need to work on their breakfast! It's served in a cellar room without windows but with several TV's showing the news. The quality of the food is average! Absolutely nothing special!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big issue, the noise from neighbors was noticeable but normally after 0700 in the morning. Evenings not so much.

    The staff was very pleasant, hotel centrally located to all main sites to include main train station, breakfast was typical of European hotels. Taxi to and from airport about 20 minutes, 24 Euro flat fee. Restaurants and high-end shopping within minutes walk. View of the duomo from our window. Recap- Great value, easy walk to everything, and hotel staff very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the wiring system in this hotel was somehow wrong and not logical. So many switches on the wall didn’t work as one would expect. For instance the switch next to a light works for another light on the opposite side of the room, and later when you try the same switch again it works for different light behind you, and the light next to the switch never get turned on using any switches in the room. Some outlets stopped sending electricity in the morning. Also elevators showed ‘up’ sign anytime even it goes down, and that was misleading to us and other guests. Wifi is poor.

    Great location. Kind staffs. Coffee available anytime in the cozy lobby. Big breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Staff very friendly and helpful.... They assures me that the people who took my car to the garage would register my license plate w the local authorities so as to avoid getting any fines for entering the historic centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in 5 floor, in our room there was no cattle to make tea, we can hear all the noise coming from other rooms, even when they flashing the toilet. The bed was very uncomfortable and very poor breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at Hotel Roma was very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooking Piazza di Santa Maria Novella was perfect with a great view. The location of the hotel was excellent. Definitely would choose to stay at Hotel Roma again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic. Great location. Valet car parking and beautiful room

    Excellent but no coffee/tea making facilities in room. Apart from that overall hotel was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean. Poor breakfast. Pictures on booking do not match the property.

    The pictures at the site does not match the facilities of the hotel. The breakfast is really poor. The bedroom had diferent duvet for each single bed. Terrible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    never liked whole room carpets although this was clean.

    central location for transport with all important sites within walking distance. very clean place with good staff. the whole hotel setup is very high class

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very classical Hotel , I like the design , good location, nice and helpful staffs while our checked out, hotel give us a supervise , we got a very beautiful gift from Hotel ^^

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was a bit weak.

    The hotel room was spacious, clean, modern and comfy. The bathroom was spacious. There were sockets everywhere, making it easy for us to charge and use our gadgets. The staff was the best! They were all very helpful and very very warm, friendly and welcoming. They were very efficient and they anticipated our needs. I would like to mention the lady at the front desk, Benedetta. She was very nice and she remembered our names and room number. That gave the service a personal touch and I appreciate it. Best service among all the hotels I stayed in..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast area was in the basement- it would have been nice to have a view over the square, but that was the only thing, and would have liked a room with a view- we overlooked a dark courtyard

    beds were lovely, and the hotel was in a great area, would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sir conditioning this time of year and an entryway light that went off randomly all night long which kept us awake!

    Location was close to many important sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-Had to check out at 11 am... couldnt have extra hour 2- the shower and hairdryer need to be upgraded

    Wonderful location , staff are nice and gave us gifts when we were leaving .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room so even an instant coffee could be a pain (They have an option at the lobby)

    Location close to Santa M station and restaurants , breakfast was decent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Roma is very conveniently located with great access by walking to almost everythibg on our "must see" list. It also had a terrific breakfast available and friendly, helpful staff. .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like

    An exceptional hotel for having everything that is required to make a great stay Breakfast had something of everything to cover all needs including great coffee Room modern and spotless our room had the only balcony so try to book room 117

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was 'old' in design and feel. Bathroom small. Light switches confusing. Not enough pillows. Pillows flat and 'old' Carpet seemed old and dirty. No towel and clothes hook in toilet. Boxed breakfast e 5 was terrible. Waste of money. Packages of stale crackers.

    Location was excellent. Staff friendly. Reasonable rates/fee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were quite old but OK.

    Location and service. Easy to go to the train station and tourist attractions are walkable. Staff were very responsive of our needs. They even gave us a gift upon check out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no complaints about anything

    Excellent hotel situated in a lovely square. It was a short walk from the train station. Multiple restaurants right outside the hotel. It was a short walk to the Duomo and all of the sites. We took the bus to Sienna and were pleased that the bus station was also a very short walk. The location of this hotel could not have been better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi wasn't available for most of the time we were there.

    Complimentary cold drinks and tea/coffee in the beautiful air conditioned lobby was very much appreciated when it was extremely hot outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They rooms had very high ceilings and was more spacious than several of our other hotels. The beds and pillows were very fluffy compared to our other hotels in Italy. The staff spoke excellent English. There is a taxi stand right out front. The bathroom had a shower AND a tub. There was adequate AC in the room. And oh yes....the wifi was free and fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea coffee in room but its a minor point.

    Stayed when holidaying in Florence for two nights with a friend. Easy check in and out. Good sized room with excellent bathroom. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Within walking distance to the SMN Firenze train station, Duomo and hop on/off - so able to get to all the sights with complete ease. Couldnt have asked for more !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was underwhelming for such a nice hotel. We were very disappointed with the food options, and we are not fussy eaters.

    The room we had was excellent and overlooked the piazza. The bed was comfy, the room was spacious and the bathroom was excellent. The staff at the hotel were great and provided us a map with all the sites highlighted, and a suggestion for the best ice cream in Florence, that was indeed EXCELLENT.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi seemed slightly weak, but I was uploading large files.

    The desk staff and others are amazing friendly and funny and helpful. The rooms are spacious and perfect, and the bathroom and shower are superb. The young girls at the desk sent us to 2 wonderful restaurants within 5 minute walking distance . The location is great : quiet at night, and 5 minute walk to Duomo. Terrific hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We looked at having breakfast one morning but it looked basic but there's plenty of good cafes nearby so my advice is don't commit to breakfast unless included in a good deal.

    Great location, modern well maintained hotel and room. We didn't have breakfast included so can't comment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room. Great breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices Really friendly reception who even gave me a gift on departure Recommend this hotel definitely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a short walk from the train station (about 5 minutes). Easy to find on the open piazza. The rooms were comfortable and large with fantastic black-out curtains for a quick nap when we arrived. Breakfast was excellent. Everything was easy to get to by foot from the hotel, with the Duomo only a few blocks away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sensored movement controlled light at Door is irritating. Would be nice if it was replaced with a regular light switch.

    Well apportioned room and bathroom. Nice view of piazza from room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marking of buttons on bed would have helped. We accidentally turned off the AC but didn't realize it!

    Stefania at the front desk was extremely helpful, as we had only 1 day to try to see as much of Florence as possible. We also appreciated the hotel holding our bags after checkout until we needed to meet our train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor details here but I feel if you offer laundry facilities, 1 washing machine and 1 dryer for the whole facility isn't really adequate, but I guess 1 is better than none if you are lucky enough to find it free when you want to use it. Found that they were being used most of the time and the opening hours were a little restrictive. Perhaps the laundry should be relocated where it isn't a disturbance to other guests so we can use it well into the late night or early morning and should have additional machines. It is a relatively new and modern hotel that I felt lacked a little of Romes beautiful and historical character, but the rooms were really nicely decorated none the less. Being very picky here but the name of the hotel makes me cringe a little. Maybe "Roma Moderna" instead.

    The staff were the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff that we came across over our entire stay in Italy. Location was terrific with lots of restaurant and shopping options close by. We were able to walk to all the usual tourist attractions in a short amount of time, with lots to see on the way. Loved that all the snacks and the minibar were complimentary. Loved that the hotel actually had a laundry and a really nice relaxed and very affordable rooftop bar. The breakfast was outstanding compared to some other breakfasts we had. Vending machine - terrific. there was attention to detail in all the little things that made this stay the best in Italy. Will stay here on our next visit to Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor. Fruit came out of a tin and the scrambled eggs looked processed. The whole breakfast experience and the breakfast room was very disappointing.

    Bedrooms were very comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location and staff. We walked to the hotel from the train station and it was very easy to find. The first night we had an older room (at least the bathroom had not been updated) on the alley side and since the A/C had not been turned on in the building, had to sleep with the windows open. The alley noise kept us up for a while. The second night, we were moved into a courtyard room that was wonderful - nice size with modern bathroom. The breakfast in the morning has a lot of choices; however, it gets a little crowded, depending on the time you eat. The staff was so helpful on directions, moving our rooms, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in previous reviews breakfast could have been better. Fresh fruit salad and not tinned fruit would be what you expect at a 4 star hotel.

    Location was excellent, only 5 minute walk from the train . Plenty of restaurants/trattorias nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area was very crowded in the morning.

    Very comfy beds although the room we had was on the small side. Nicely renovated bathrooms and the staff was helpful with everything we asked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is fairly basic but convenient.

    Great location -close to centre of Florence and lots of cafe/ restaurants. Walking distance to the SMN station -straight in front of station down a lane opposite is the Plaza. Staff are very friendly , English speaking. Laundromat in walking distance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive (300 euro per night), but the location near the train was just what I wanted

    Excellent location close to the train station. Easy walking distance to all oft the historical sites. Helpful, courteous staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire hotel was infested with mosquitoes. That can be a serious health issue. They were even in the breakfast room in the early morning.

    The room size, bathroom size, and the breakfast were excellent. Also, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    minor criticsm, breakfast quality wasnt as good as expected for the cost , tinned fruit and dry bread/croissants, and is served in what can only be described as a cellar with no natural daylight

    location within walking distance from train station with luggage and on a piazza with good reasonably priced restaurants nearby helpful front of house staff , comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited choice was ok but have had better at other hotels.

    Great location to the train station , markets and easy walk to all major attractions. Our room was spacious with opening windows overlooking Santa Maria Nova Plazza. Room was quiet once window shut and had block out blinds. Staff very accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was poor wi-fi connectibility.

    Fantastic location & beautiful view of Piazza Santa Maria Novella from our window. Good restaurants nearby and walking distance to most major landmarks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The location is excellent near the train station and min sites. The staff were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants booking concerts etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ONE TINY THING NO TEA AND COFFEE FACILITIES IN THE ROOM ,BUT ONE CAN,T HAVE EVERYTHING.

    THE HOTEL WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC ,THE STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY EVEN EARLY AT BREAKFAST THEY WERE BEAMING.OUR ROOM OVERLOOKED THE SQUARE ,WHICH I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH AND THE CLEANING AND COMFORT OF THE ROOM WAS 10 OUT OF 10. IT WAS A PLEASURE TO STAY THERE. THANK YOU FOR HAVING US ,BEST WISHES X.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have rated Hotel Roma 10 out of 10 if there had been tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Really helpful staff. Eleanor and Bernadette on reception were extremely helpful. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault, but the noise from the Piazza kept us awake all Saturday night. Everything about the hotel itself was great.

    Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Very well appointed room and spotlessly clean. A very short walk from SMN station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe that bathroom Fresh Air needs to be revised, sometimes there was un prober smell. One more thing maybe is not related to Hotel management however, hope they help to stop African street walking sellers who are annoying tourists

    Room size was larger than we expect, It's modern, neat, clean and prober. Views from room was great it was Florence's Santa Maria Novella Church. Hotel located by 2 minutes' walk from the main train station. It's easy to go anywhere by feet. Staff was helpful, they offered great help during our check-in since we reached Florence at 10:30am. Thanks for Check-out staff who gave us nice Chocolate... Overall it's worth place to pay and stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only disappointment was the breakfast in specific the coffee(Nescafe)-horrible The other coffee provided in thermos was not drinkable (too weak). We do expect a good quality coffee especially being in Italy !

    comfy beds,clean,nice interior ,view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more storage room in the bathroom would be appreciated.

    The location is just great to explore Florence. Our room was freshly renovated with good taste.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't available in all roooms. I had to change my room when I discovered I didn't have wifi in my room. But the staff was very accommodating about this.

    The staff was excellent--very nice and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot when we arrived and we struggled to regulate the temperature at night in the absence of air conditioning. Also, it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Hotel Roma is very well located and is within very easy walking distance to all the top attractions, restaurants and the train station. The location is very safe and lively with lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. It is simply a perfect base to explore Florence. The hotel is very clean with friendly and helpful staff and the room spacious and modern with a big modern bathroom. The minibar was well stocked however, it would have been a nice touch to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. These are available in the lobby but having them in the room would be more convenient. We didn't have the breakfast option with our rate but a continental buffet is on offer with an option for cooked options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went in April and it was warm. The site advertised that the hotel had A/C. Nowhere did it say that the local city council did not allow them to operate the A/C till May.

    Good value for money. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Walking distance from Florence Santa Maria Novella train station which is ideal if you're arriving by train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double or Twin Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the street

    The only answer is wow for every thing,great location ,stuff,food,the hotel it self 😍😍😍😍❤️🌹big thanks to the stuff that reflect smile on my face 😁

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was only available in the lobby which was cold or at breakfast. It would be nice if you could have the facilities in your own room to make one.

    the position of the hotel to everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The windows of the room(201) goes to near wall of other building - No shelves in wardrobe - Old-fashion hotel - Small TV

    - Good central location close to all tourist attraction - Fast check In - Check out in 13:00 - Good breakfast - Staff were friendly and helpful - Free water & tea in the lobby

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every thing is perfect and the city much cleaner than Rome .

    This hotel is excellent and perfectly located for walking to all the major attractions in Florence. Our room was over looking Santa novella square and church and good Irish pub 2 mins away. Alfonso in the reception is very informative and friendly and free coffee and fruit drinks in the reception is much appreciated after a long day walking. No coffee facilities in bed room but a good mini bar. I have decided already to come back with my daughter - one of the most beautiful cities and countries I have been too. Tuscany is a must see while you are here. 5 Stars for Florence.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was so noisy throughout the night (into the wee hours of morning) that it was impossible not to be awakened by the drunks on the streets. Not sure if this problem will go away if we stay higher than 2nd floor.

    Location of the hotel is good and convenient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff's attitude was very ordinary. They went though the motions but acted as thought they did not want to be there. Didn't care if we were there either. The breakfast was very sub-par. Typical three star European buffet except that it was not kept fresh. The scrambled eggs had been in the warmer for so long that they had turned green and the bread was stale. On the other hand the croissants were excellent (clearly they were bought in). The Wi-Fi is a joke. Unstable and weak. There are plenty of other hotels in Florence that offer a similar location but with better care and attention. I recommend that you give one of them a try.

    The location is clearly the main reason to stay in this property.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double or Twin Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a big issue, but the onsite bar didn't open until 6pm. Would have been nice to be able to have a beer in the lounge on getting back to the hotel late afternoon after a day of site seeing.

    Had 2 adjoining rooms for my family of 4. Very comfortable beds and good size bathrooms. Nice continental breakfast. Great location in Santa Maria Novella Piazza, easy walk from train station and to all Florence attractions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was the biggest disappointment during all our trip in Italy. The room is quite outdated and need to be repared. The view from the windows was on the neighbor's wall :( Tomato juice was soured ( I think I am the only one who drinks it and it is why it is expired). No welcome drinks for genius

    The location is OK and this is all what I liked. I don't know why the hotel has such big rating on booking.com

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking system (independent from the hotel, but they recommend and use it): "the car will be back in a while...", when you ask for your car. It took 45 minutes, almost one hour... We didn't have to catch a train or a plane! Fortunately. The hotel manager should say that the "while" is a long one, warning the client that they have to claim their car at least almost one hour before the need.

    Breakfast; location; cleanliness, parking system for the car (you come by the street the hotel recommends, drop by the hotel, give the key of your car and it's done; no worry about the "controlled zone"). To have your car back after claiming it, see "what didn't you like?"

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Roma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: