Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza d'Epoca San Cassiano 4 stars

Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto / Santa Croce 2232, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#92 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 565 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    TRAVELLING WITH FAMILY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE OLDER GENTLEMAN AT RECEPTION WAS BRUSQUE AND RUDE AND MADE US ALL FEEL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WHICH WAS UNFORTUNATE BECAUSE ALL OTHER STAFF WERE GREAT BUT HIS ATTITUDE IS A REAL DETRIMENT TO THIS LOVELY HOTEL.

    EXCELLENT LOCATION LOVELY QUANIT HOTEL BUT MAKE SURE YOU LIKE STAIRS BECAUSE LAST COUNT I DID THERE WAS 54 OF THEM TO CLIMB FROM LOBBY TO OUR HOTEL ROOM, NO ELEVATOR.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location on the grand canal - easy to get to everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small even though it was a quadruple room & no tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was very small.

    Good location on the grand canal - easy to get to everywhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced and overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived there were two small towels in the room for four people. The staff fixed that, but there were no apologies, they just seemed irritated for being bothered. Bathroom was extremely small. I am a small person and I had to sit with my legs angled to the left side on the toilet. We had to leave before breakfast opened and the hotel did not manage to refund us for the breakfast or give us a package to to. We have traveled around the world with the children and the hotels have always been able to assist with something for breakfast when we have had to go early.

    Historical building, carefully redecorated. Room was big with view over the canal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Romantic place, great view and grand breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite difficult to reach hotel with big luggage. No elevator. (fell like the woman in ancient wall painting look at me all night so creepy :P )

    Stay in castle where next to the canal!! Princess room!! decorated with Louise style and real wooden furniture. Fantastic window view. I saw many tourists in boat tried to took the picture of this hotel. Bathroom with bathtub. High quality buffet breakfast indoor or at terrace with canal view. The dinning room staff were great. I can asked for some more food that finished. Free deposit luggage after check out. Lobby with great view. small lovely garden in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The hotel was a very pleasant surprise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps an earlier breakfast as this would help those catching morning flights

    This hotel was perfect; staff were attentive and friendly. Lovely terrace and bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful unique and special boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are definitely an issue for anyone with mobility issues.

    The art is beautiful. The glass work echoes the beauty of the city and the paintings and photos are like a love letter to the hotel and it's history. The breakfast room is go elegent and the rooms are so Venetian and elegent also in a very old world feel. Such a special place . Staff are like a family there and treat patrons so well. They really go above and beyond to make sure people are cared for and feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Classy and cosy hotel in a calm street next to the grand canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, I booked late and got good price, but at normal price a single room is a bit small, the canal is a bit noisy (3 floor) below and the bathroom i quite small. No elevator and pretty steep stairs to walk, so if you are old and have painful knees this isn't the best.

    When going to stay in Venice I had one wish to have a room where I could open the window and look straight down into the canal which was very nice. The breakfast was superb. If free you can actually sit outside overlooking the grand canal having your morning coffee. Breakfast was included and there was a lot to choose from even close to closing time. Reception was professional both in the evening and the day after with great english. I needed to iron my clothes and the let me do this in the cleaning room. What more can I say, well it is quite easy to find the way walking there and with the boat too just a few minutes away to a stop. Some good restaurants nearby that the hotel recommended, the closes one was superb. I booked my room the same day before arriving so I got a really good price which made me happy and of course is helping this text to be a bit more positive. The curtains covering the window were thick, wifi was superb, room temperature was adjustable and worked fine and the bathroom was very clean, and I had a small bathtub too. The hotel hotel looked very nice, it had a special touch of luxury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was clean and tidy and keeping up with tradition,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, disappointed with no lifts but you can’t have everything in a old fashioned place.

    The hotel was clean and tidy and keeping up with tradition, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The arrival welcome could have been better. The hotel is a bit out of the way ie windy dark alleys at night therefore the hotel needs to make more effort with what they provide in terms of value. Some of the staff were excellent. The porter and house keeping lady on the 2nd and 3rd floor were very polite. The gentleman that often works in the bar area and reception was a good ambassador for for your hotel. i had to change rooms because i requested a bath in my booking and this was overlooked but corrected when i queried same so that was good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Charming hotel and lovely people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice and friendly staff, beautiful location on the Grand Canal. I have been there several times and can recommend this hotel, exept for handicaped people since there is no elevator and the stairs are difficult to manage with luggage for elderly people who are not so sporty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Gem in venice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 3 flights of stairs and no elevator if you have bad knees like me it was a small challenge but there is a nice sitting area at the top of the second flight for a rest. There is also no restuarant other than breakfast and no room service even though booking.com says that there is.

    The property is right on the canal with a breakfast terrace. Excellent breakfast and the staff was very helpful to our every need. There is also a terrace by the bar downstairs. Our welcome drink was a bottle of wine of our choice, very delicious. Request room 326 for a 400 year old handpainted ceiling thats incredible and the only one in the hotel. The art is gorgeous all over the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Never again this hotel! The single room was extremely small and the wall was dirty. On the third floor without elevator for a very high price!!! I was very disappointed. I did not accept it, I asked for another room so I still had to pay more money the top of the very high price. None of the (very dark) rooms have a view!!! The hotel is far away from everything, it is very difficult to find, GPS does not work well in Venice. The breakfast was boring, the breakfast room was very very small. You should take real pictures of the hotel! The all was very disappointing, I will never go there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    My REAL overall score is 6.0, so the ratings system is skewed to give a high overall score.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast - there is nothing special, apart from the fruit salad. Even he coffee made in the ktichen is not made with an Italian coffee-making machine. We had a room (220) near the breakfast room and there was noise from before 7.00. There is a room (221) even nearer! And of course the price. OK, we booked a few days before and it was Venice at Easter, but you would expect more for over 100 euros a night per person.

    The friendliness of the staff. We were allowed to leave our luggage until 16.30 on check-out day. The rooms were very clean. The location is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    The stuff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is neither a window nor a ventilation system in the bathroom... The breakfast was OK but not at the level of a 4-star hotel

    The stuff was nice and helpful. The room is clean and nicely decorated. Very nice view of the grand canal from the public terrance at the ground and the second floor (accessible from the breakfast room).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    The Hotel's interior was very attractive with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like about the Hotel

    The Hotel's interior was very attractive with lots of fittings and furnishings which reflected its historic origins. The location on the Grand Canal was a great base for exploring the city's main attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    3* hotel, bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4* hotel, a fair 3*. The room was quite small and outdated. Breakfast was boring, same things every day and no vegetables.No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Hotel is on the main canal, breakfast room has a small balcony with very nice views. Staff was very nice and helpful.Easy to walk to San Marco square

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Unexpected surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for the carnivals but being last minute it was practically on us.

    The location is beyond anything in the city, close from the busy carnival but far enough to have a good night sleep. The room and facilities where impecable, and breakfast in the top floor overlooking the grand canal, I was not expecting it. This was a fortunate accident for we weren’t expecting to stay a day before our original plans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excelent location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    situated on the Grand Canal and views were magnificent, very comfortable rooms, staff were very helpful and friendly and go that extra mile, made our stay very pleasurable, the only criticism is that they do not have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Sensational family room stay right on grand canal - proper old-world Venetian experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was just perfect. One of the best value places we stayed on a six-week trip to Europe. Perfect for family of four.

    Very friendly staff. Arrived early morning, way before check-in, after an overnight train and room not available (as expected) but they went out of their way to make us comfortable, setting us up in their lounge area with free coffees and hot chocolates, access to a nice bathroom and a good description of local area so we could set off for a day of site seeing a bit more comfortable. Rooms so old world and charming and right on grand canal - views from very large family room were amazing! Such a treat. Felt like we were in a Venetian palace. Close to station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Directly on the grand canal, very nice deck in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are not soundproof.

    Directly on the grand canal, very nice deck in front of the hotel for relaxing or reading a book, nicely decorated, great breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Value for money in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, only had one power socket in room and it was right beside the door and not near the bed. Only one type of coffee available for breakfast

    Golden room, nice breakfast choices and variety. Located in the middle of Venice with a short walk / water bus to everywhere you need to go. Accessible from train station with light luggage

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Magical stay right on the Grand Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perhaps a little hard to find. We noticed everyone was walking around using their google maps.

    Very tastefully decorate inside. The location was perfect right on the Grand Canal with that incredible view right out our window. Well located for exploring all the little streets. The room was very large, beds comfortable and the decor classic and romantic in keeping with the building. Breakfast was very good for continental fresh fruit not tinned. Staff warm and friendly. Would definitely recommend. We had stayed in an awful hotel for two nights before moving here for our last night. It certainly made up for our disappointment with the other one and we couldn't have picked a better. Our only regret was we didn't move sooner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    We got a great room with view to grand canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    We got a great room with view to grand canal.This is my second stay at this hotel and everything from their service to quality of room and breakfast is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.2
    Venice beautiful, hotels and restaurants poor value, very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I booked a 4* Hotel and it was more like a 1* no tea or coffee in the room, booked a large double bed and got 2 divans pushed together, decor horrible threadbare carpets not clean very noisy breakfast adequate for a B&B not a 4* Hotel. Looked at other 4* Hotels all very similar !!! Very very expensive anything from 3 euros to 10 euros for a small cup of coffee so be aware, evening meals also very expensive 60 euros to 100 euros without drinks, you could be ripped off easily without asking for the price first.

    Venice was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    A room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was incredible.

    A hark back to a time gone by. The views incredible. The room with a renaissance essence. Absolutely stunning. Breakfast delicious. Staff courteous and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    3.8
    Nice location an bugs in the bedsheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could use some renovation and could be cleaner. The choice of food for breakfast was very poor (especially for vegetarian or vegan). On the last night of our stay we noticed some kind of bugs crawling in the bedsheet. No kettle in the room.

    Hotel is well located - 3 minutes by foot to the nearest water tram stop, 10 minutes by foot to Ponte di Rialto. Hotel is almost in front of Ca'd'Oro and "Support" sculpture, next to Ca'Pesaro. Towels were changed everyday. Slippers were provided in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    It was ok
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakafast experience was bad Day 1 everything getting over was delayed to replinish Doesnt accomodate internationall crowd ..not a single thing of chicken al was pork The only option was eggs n bread

    Like the rooms and the comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Great staff and a terrific location made this a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In no way is this a complaint - knew there were no lifts in this old building and the single rooms on the 3rd floor.

    1. Location on the canal and close to ACTV stop. 2. Super helpful staff 3. Breakfast 4. Clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and knowledgeable staff and superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It rained one day of the stay!

    A former residence of a wealthy Venetian family several hundred years old and now a very comfortable historic building on the Grand Canal and within 10 minutes walk of the Rialto Bridge and 30 minutes walk of St Mark's Square. The hotel is served direct by water taxi from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    TnLwanders Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Very quiet, great hot & cold breakfast with an awesome view of the Grand Canal from the breakfast room. Recommend arriving/leaving by water taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    For Venice, an excellent value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To arrive or return by foot does require walking the last three minutes down dark narrow streets. Of course, this is what much of Venice is like but worth being aware of nonetheless. We didn't so much feel unsafe. Rather, and certainly at night, it is easy to get lost. Definitely use your phone's GPS.

    Excellent location, friendly helpful staff, good simple breakfast, large family room, quiet! It wasn't cheap but then it is all relative and in Venice terms we considered it very good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    This was the third time we have stayed in this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the third time we have stayed in this property. On this occasion we were delighted to get the top room with a view of the Grand Canal. We spent much of our 2 night stay enjoying looking out of the window enjoying the comings and goings on the canal - magnificent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is nicely situated in the city center (just 15 minutes walk from Rialto). The hotel is "old" and stylish, so if you want to feel in an old Venice - that's your option. The breakfast was quite good for Italy, though in three days we couldn't get a place on the balcony, but that doesn't really spoil the impression. The staff is very friendly and helping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Rejuventing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the breakfast, Only I missed some greens at breakfast table selection; tomatoes and cucumbers and boiled eggs. All other choices were tip top. :-)

    Bed was good, lovely roomy bathroom with window reasonable minibar. Friendly staff at reception, cleaning and particular in the breakfast lounge. Smiling and calm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Great location with nicely decorated room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no stairs. The staff helped the luggage though.

    Well presented hotel in a good location right at the heart of the city. The staff was very friendly. Inclusive breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    We got married in Lake Garda so wanted to see a bit of Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room is a little cramped.

    We got married in Lake Garda so wanted to see a bit of Italy so our next stop was Venice . We got a train to Venice so we were greeted by the taxi boat , it cost us €60 for about a 5-7 minute ride up the canal . We got dropped off right at the hotel , so that was great because we would never have found it on foot . The hotel was an old quaint hotel . The staff were very helpful and friendly. We booked a room with a canal view but that was a mistake on our part as it was quite noisy from the traffic on the canal . On the side of the canal we stayed on wasn't that busy so it was a nice side to stay on . Thank god for google maps or we'd probably still be lost in the maze of the high building and narrow lane ways . We found it very safe and clean .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Streets of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area/ view could have been bigger. Breakfast is decent/ ok but somewhat limited due to lack of space.

    The location was superb! It was right on the canal! We also liked the room as it was big enough for 4 adults and we got A lovely canal view. It was a 20 minute fast paced walk to the Venice stain station, Ferravio. Wish I had known that earlier so I wouldn't have had to dish out $60 euros for a less than 10 minute water taxi ride from the station. The hotel is also 7-8 minute walk to the Rialto steps and shops and about 16 minute walk to SAN Marcos. Restaurants and cafes and bridges are everywhere on that route. Lots of shops selling murano jewelry and leather goods line the area. The hotel is also near the Fish market.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall, was an awesome eperience, loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the idea of playing pop music on TV during the breakfast time was not a very good one. Imagine, people are in Venice obviously on holidays and they want to enjoy Italian atmosphere and something old and beutiful like Venice itself, so the classic (better Italian!) music would be perfect choice and will add more atmosphere to the stay. This is just my personal opinion, though.

    Great view from the breakfast restaurant Close to vaporetto stop

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location but no basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Lift / half of stairs had no carpets and small stairs / very old building / no inhouse restaurant. Dont know why they it is rated 4 star.

    Location of the hotel is good. Wifi is good. Hotel has many furnitures which look like antique pieces..thats makes the hotel look little royal. Near by water bus stand and water taxi csn come and pixk you direct from hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not like the shower.

    Location was great. The ambiance was great. Loved the feel of being in a 'Venice' building as opposed to something modern. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Near boat stops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful house, lovely decoration, great location, pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was average for a 4 star hotel. A bit noisy. I expected a bigger room for 4 people, and the room was a bit dark.

    Beautiful house, lovely decoration, great location, pleasant terrasse with view on the Canal Grande for the aperitif.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.1
    decent hotel right at the grand canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was cold and one cannot control the temperature from inside the room. we were leaving at 7:15 or but the breakfast still had time... but the guy at the reception and the lady did help us with some croissant and coffee. no lift we had a small bag so wasn't difficult to manage. taxi from hotel to santa lucia hotel says 60 euros which is hardly 2-3mins distance by taxi( that's with Venice and not a hotel problem).. we chose to use vapereto ( the water bus)

    nice hotel just at the grand canal. 7-10 mins walk to vapereto. staff was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located right on the Grand Canal and a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in room 334. There is no elevator so ask for a room on a lower floor if it's going to be a problem. The breakfast area has limited seating so make sure that you have your sitting before the place gets busy.

    The hotel is located right on the Grand Canal and a few minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. The water taxi is nearby and the train station and bus terminus are about 15 and 20 minutes walk away respectively. Most visitors to Venice get lost in the zig-zag roads and multitude of little bridges so don't worry about it too much. It's all part of Venice's charm and beauty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and friendly staff / good location - 5 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Very nice and friendly staff / good location - 5 min walk to Rialto bridge / rich breakfast / close by a Vaporetto station / good WIFI everywhere in hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    - Amazing staff, extremely helpful and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Amazing staff, extremely helpful and supportive. - Location is great, 10 minutes walk to Rialto bridge and 3 mnutes away from boat station - Beautiful building, great experience to live in an historic place like this

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would have been even better with English Channel on tv & Coffee machine But not really that important

    Very helpful, friendly & accommodating staff Good range of breakfast including a gluten free choice when requested Very comfy bed in a very spacious room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.3
    Be prepared to walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk from the water taxi stop. A private taxi (€€€€€) is necessary if you have heavy or awkward luggage. You'll be doing a little extra walking to see the sights. Room decor was unattractive to my taste. Breakfast was good, but there was not enough seating, even though the tables and chairs were placed closely together.

    The room was clean. The staff were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in city of beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, just few minutes walking to the Train Station. Very nice view (see). Close to city center. Very nice staffs. Good breakfast. Clean Restaurant with a very nice view when you sit outside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.9
    I recommend the place but book in advance. Do not book this in rush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean but there were women's hairs. Maybe they missed it in rush! Was little noisy as the room was next to buffet.

    Staff was nice to me. They allowed me pre check in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel overlooking the Grand Canal with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but the room seemed too small for the amount of people eating in there

    The position of the hotel was great. Lovely big room with comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    First class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very small comment, The finding your way to the hotel is not too easy till you know the way.

    Very clean comfortable room, good bed, very helpful staff. Shower and toilet first class. Lovely old décor. The breakfast is always excellent there, we have stayed there three times before and will use it again. Recommended to friends. Tremendous location on grand canal, very short walk to the Rialto. You feel very safe and quiet in this hotel. I can not recommend it more highly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Beauty and Romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change a thing.

    The hotel staff were extremely accommodating. The experience was by far the best of my 15 day trip. On the Grand Canal in a building dating to the 14th century, this hotel is pure romance and beauty that only Venice could produce.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location overlooking Grand Canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle provided in room, new since visit 18 months ago, but hotel wanted to charge for tea bags and milk. They said after the initial supply on the first day they only provided the water, no more tea bags or coffee. As the room rate did not change for a second or third night I could not work out the logic of this and was really disappointed with the attitude. Why provide a kettle if you are only going to supply the water.

    Amazing location overlooking Grand Canal. Had a room for four with plenty of space and sitting area and views of canal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Feel Like a King
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints here.

    The Hotel has a very intelligent and friendly staff. Breakfast is very good with lots of choices. The breakfast room is facing the Grand Canal. The hotel itself is decorated like a mini Palace. This is my second time staying at this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    3.8
    The view towards the Grand Canal from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor facilities, no shampoo or hair conditioner, the worse bed we ever slept in a 4 star hotel, no early check in for genius, for welcome drink we had to ask, so the receptionist were very dissapoiting. Far away from the centre, not recomnended if you want to stay close to the main square. Not worth more than 60€ per night

    The view towards the Grand Canal from the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Excellent stay for 3 nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was very good. We were able to eat what we'd like. Our bedrooms were also very good as they both faced the grand canal. The hotel is not far from Stan Stae and walkable to most main attractions! Perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel on the bank of the Grand Canal of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Even though it's located on the bank of the Grand Canal, it is a bit farther than St. Croce where I l'd normally prefer to stay.

    The breakfast and staff. Got 20% of parking garage fee.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Third visit and it didnt disappoint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location ideal. Good variety of things for breakfast. Comfortable room, lovely radiator over the bath which was brilliant for drying our wet clothes - we had 4 days of rain!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, fantastic location, amazing room view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic, less than 10 minutes to the famous Rialto Bridge. So many options of food & cafes/restaurants. Service at the hotel was prompt and very helpful, especially the Philipino staff who was extra helpful and friendly. The room was also very nice, facing the grand canal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.3
    Good price, good hotel. No regrets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice for some breakfast variety, more clothing storage. We were there for 11 nights.

    The staff were very friendly. The view of the canal was great. Generally speaking a pleasant stay, we would go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel on the banks of the Grand Canal
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close enough to the San Stae riverbus (from the train station) and airport boat stop to be convenient, just a few pedestrian bridges to drag your luggage across. Quieter part of Venice, but you're in the hustle & bustle within minutes; either head towards Academia or Rialto bridges, both will bring you to Marks square eventually.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Great choice on the Gran Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are nicely appointed and clean. My pillow wasn't to my liking and the bed a touch hard, but overall a nice place.

    Very nice smaller hotel that is still on the Grand Canal and affordable. If you're traveling from the airport with any kind of substantial luggage, do yourself a favor and splurge on the water taxi – it will drop you off at the door to the hotel and save you trudging through the labyrinth of Venice with your clickity-clack suitcases. Hotel has a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the Grand Canal with a very good breakfast. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean. My pillow wasn't to my liking and the bed a touch hard, but the location, history, and staff more than make up for it. Plus, there's nothing better than sipping a spritz on your own dock on the Gran Canal watching the tapestry that is Venice flow by.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    Hotel with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell in the bar area

    We loved having a fantastic breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal and standing on the balcony watching the boats go by. The hotel is 3 minutes walk from Rialto bridge through a maze of tiny alleyways, unique to beautiful Venice, in the quieter, unspoilt part of the city

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Venetian Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer a variety of coffee options. Didn't inquire. No lift might be a problem for some.

    Definitely a four star hotel in every respect. On the Grand Canal but quiet. Breakfast is substantial with variety. Traditional eloquence in decor and furnishings with modern bathrooms. International cable channels. Welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice Venice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our group had 4 rooms; 3 of them were quite small.

    Clean room, plenty of hot water, good water pressure, helpful staff, nice selection at breakfast, good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a single room the first two nights and my single bed was very hard. But on the last night I stayed in a double room and the bed was comfortable. Would be nice if there was a lift in the hotel but one of the staff helped me with my luggage onto the third floor which was nice.

    The breakfast choice was great. The rooms look beautiful. Great location!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic location in a beautiful Venetian Building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is way too small when everyone turns up at the same time.

    Spacious bedroom beautifully presented. Fantastic hotel location near to the Stan Stae stop.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy access from public water taxi and own stop for private water taxi, full American breakfast with a balcony you can pop out to view the grand canal, also another balcony to do the same with a drink if you wish, staff were lovely. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    The staff was incredible helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was incredible helpful and kind. Treated us very nicely, did not charge extra for water and also made special price for evening drinks. Little things made experience very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Being on the Grande Canal was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking very tired and dated. Lucky to get soap and body wash, when traveling these days and for the price of the room, we have grown to expect a bit more toiletry wise. The pillows and beds were barely ok for the price and it felt as if they were almost shut down as their little lounge was non inviting.

    Being on the Grande Canal was lovely. We had a beautiful view from our bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely long weekend in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a little noisy on 2nd floor as opposite breakfast room....but didn't spoil

    Liked location... easy to get to all sites Lovely historic building... lots of Italian polished plaster, Venetian glass chandeliers

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Average but not special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for some help to make this evening special (flowers in the room champagne etc willing to obviously pay for) from the hotel as it was the last night of our honeymoon and wanted to surprise my wife. Unfortunately the hotel didn't even respond to my request let alone do anything to help.

    It was average hotel with a nice location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    The setting on the canal grande and old palace feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very bad. Just drizzle of hot water. I liked the old furniture, but tv/fridge/electricity sockets etc. could use an upgrade

    The setting on the canal grande and old palace feel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    We were offered a free upgrade to a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered a free upgrade to a.suite on 1st floor overlooking the Grand canal if we accepted a small twin room for the 1st night. A brilliant offer for us! Fantastic room, beautiful hotel, wonderful position just above Rialto Bridge

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    Good Location but Poor attention to detail!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Bar never really open. Breakfast area very cramped & not to the anticipated standard for the hotel rating. No lift so very arduous climb up very steep stairs.

    Location decoration & general ambience were all very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: