Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Gallo 3 stars

San Marco 1093/A, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#160 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1557 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi is very slow and very limited choices for the breakfast. They should provide boiled eggs at least.

    The staffs were extremely helpful. This property is located on the first floor of the building and you have to climb a very tall staircase. They do not have a lift. Although we had two big suitcases, the staff at the reception carried them upstairs. They also helped us to bring the luggage down on the day we checked out. Location of the hotel is fantastic. right next to the San Marco's piazza.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very poor, and couldn’t get 4 or 3G connection, The shower sprayed water all over the floor, so we had to mop it up with towels every time, tea and coffee was not replaced at all,

    Staff were very helpful, great location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the hotel to the square was close by and easy to find. Hotel access was up a flight of stairs to the reception. Room was furnished well in old style fashion, very comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy - the locals sat outside our room and shouted early morning

    We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the location was great. We were able to use the terrace for a snack in the evening. The hotel gave us a great breakfast bag as we had to leave early

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no lift,so difficult to down the laggage

    very close to san marco piazza, the room in venecian style, very unusual. clean, all facilities that you need, include coffee and tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no real natural light as window faced a wall less than a metre away. It was also a little cramped. Room 7 not the best. Breakfast was pretty basic. The quality of meats, juices, coffee, cereals not the best

    Hotel is in a great location. Two minutes from St Marks Square and close to lots of restaurants shops and amenities . Very close to everything Staff very friendly and helpful. Location made up for any shortcomings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey, which is normal for touristic Venice, I guess.

    Excellent location near piazza San Marco, good start pointing for wandering round the city and its vicinity. Room was authentically decorated and air-conditioned. Staff was nice. Rooftop terrace offering the opportunity to enjoy a cup of coffee in quiet. Breakfast was simple but still delicious. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bought two rooms - one for friends. Same price for both rooms. Our room was spacious with a king size (two twins) bed and two separate twins while theirs was small with a queen size bed. Very unequal and unfair. Their room should have cost less.

    Friendly staff, nice ambience. Terrace was ok. Location was really good and the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of up and down stairs to access rooms and reception.

    Hotel quirky as are a lot of properties in Venice. Clean and tidy, refurbed shower room small but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit dated for the price but definitely clean and quiet with very helpful staff.

    The hotel was 2 mins away from piazza San Macro so obviously it was a perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not work wifi or mobile data, but it is not hotel's fault, room alittle small but I think it is normal in Venice.

    Very good location near St.Marco and Rialto bridge, helpful, welcoming and kind staff, clean and lovely Venecian room, good breakfast, easy to find hotel. Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room extremely small for a triple room. We didn't have room to lay our suitcases on the floor. We were taking turns to put each of our suitcases on the floor to grab out stuff. The distance between beds 8 to 10 inches top. Internet didn't work at all. Extremely pricey for "not high season yet" (April 9, 2018). But in Venezia, I guess it is high season year round. LOVE VENEZIA, btw!

    Location fantastic, 5 to 7 min walk to the Rialto water taxi. Breakfast was good but not great. Bathroom was a nice size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and facilities lacking. No tea or coffee in rooms and only CNN or sky business news on the tv. Not that we watched the tv very much.

    Great location and all the staff were very helpful. We would stay again on that basis.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, dusty, and gloomy. The breakfast was the same each day. A lot of sweets. It would be nice to have some hard boiled eggs.

    The location was ideal and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs- problem if you have a lot of luggage (we had 4 heavy suitcases). No elevator. Not clean enough.

    The location is great and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was very stiff and with an already sore back I woke up in agony every morning, also the room was smaller than I expected.

    the staff were very welcoming and friendly, when we checked int eh man on the desk went through all the best parts of venice and advised us what he would recommend us to see which came in very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average but stuff friendly. Small rooms indeed. We read about small rooms, but did not experience that until arrival. Dark room. No sun light whatsoever. Overpriced over holidays or weekends. We paid 180€.

    Very close to San Marco. Don’t hesitate to go out at night and play with the high tide water in the square. Unique experience. Staff very friendly. Check out flexible. Good shower room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working, the room was incredibly hot and airless we had to open windows at night to be able to sleep.There was no fly screen so we ended up trying to sleep with several flies. We stayed at room number 22 and there was a rattling sound like a boiler or a fan that didn’t let us sleep very well. Paying €200 per night we expected a better experience so not really value for money.

    Location, just next to San Marco. They let us to leave our luggage in the hotel after checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a bit cramped but the beds and bathrooms are a great size!

    The staff was very helpful! They helped us with the Ferry schedule and questions we had to make the best of our short visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was under the impression the hotel had an elevator. "Fortunately" my spouse was unable to make the trip to Venice as she would not have been able to get to our room due to the many stairs!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need to be updated as to the needs of technology like USB chargers. The mattresses need to be more comfortable along with the pillows (try to offer 2). Try to focus on what the customer will experience once they come back after a long day sightseeing. COMFORT in their room.

    The staff was fabulous. Very friendly. The Venetian theme in the rooms was appropriate. The location of the hotel was great for our first time in Venezia. Breakfast provided a good variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers in the hotel, could smell it in our room from next door. No tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with their knowledge and tips. The location was perfect for Piazza San Marco about 100m away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was teeny weeny (much smaller than I was expecting) and walls were quite thin (we could hear every word of the room next doors TV in the bathroom).

    Great location and very friendly staff. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good too (loved the Madeira type cake)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were no tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms which would have been good.

    location was fantastic and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent Staff were very informative and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ambience of the room a little bit scary with all the red/orange wallpapers.

    The location seriously near Piazza San Marco so we can stroll around easily..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint was the speed of WiFi. It took about 10 minutes to upload one picture to Facebook! We were told that a new cable was being laid in the entire surrounding area to make it faster. But we discovered on our last evening in Venice that WiFi worked just fine in the hotel on the same street when we went for a farewell drink in its bar. In fact the signal was so strong that we used this internet when we returned to our room. To Hotel San Gallo's credit, we were offered a discount to make up for the inconvenience (for which I am grateful).

    This was our fourth time in Venice - and the fourth hotel. Hotel San Gallo boasts the best location of these, as it is literally seconds away from the bustling St Mark's Square. Yet it lies in a quiet piazzetta, with a few passers throughout the day. The rooms, although with shabby furniture, are decorated in the Venetian style and have pretty much everything one needs for a comfortable stay. Plus the staff were quite accommodating. Breakfasts were somewhat meagre, without fresh fruit, eggs or sausage, but were still decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really fault it.

    This hotel is perfect and every bit Venetian you would expect. Lovely decor with a modern, clean feel to it and tucked away in a little square, just behind St Mark's Square. Very friendly and helpful staff and you can leave your bags free of charge on checkout day until you need to leave. Perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible WiFi and very small room size. Don’t ask for the room with the view, the drawback is a very tiny room.

    Location, location, locafion! Breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room on the first night was extremely small and it felt claustrophic in there.

    The location was perfect. We received an extremely small room on the first night, but were provided a bigger room for the next 2 nights. The hotel has basic amenities and I believe is good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor quibble, but the pillows were very thin and there was only one each on the beds.

    Perfect location, just round the corner from St Mark's square, but still managed to feel very quiet and calm. The staff were very friendly, and the room was just what we needed for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't want to leave!

    Excellent budget accommodation, next to San Gallo theatre very close to St Marks Sq., atmospheric and charming period-style décor, clean, friendly staff, excellent buffet eat-all-you-want breakfast, roof terrace (vape/smoke here), can hear the bells chime - magic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms for us were a little small. We did see bigger rooms maybe upon request. We had large suitcases and it was difficult in the room but then again, you’re not in the room long :-)

    The old world charm and Vito (how ever you spell his name) he was delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find the area straight awAy

    The hotel was initially hard to find but when stafd called the hotel to give us intructions, the staff pick us up from our location! Great staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and didn’t realise quite how many stairs it is, first to the reception and then the actual rooms appear to be in a different building, which has yet more stairs. Be warned that they have old plug sockets and not the standard european two plug; they do have an adapter but just one. The electricity supply is very low so you are unable to boil a kettle in the room (but you can charge your phone fine). Breakfast you might as well skip unless you just want tea and coffee, food is non existent or it’s a small pastry. No BBC on the television though it’s stated that it has.

    Excellent location, right next to St Marks square. It’s located in a square which makes a nice change from most venician hotels that are down tiny alleys. It’s a very clean hotel which is important to me, and they come in every day to your room to tidy which is nice. Room is small yet not oppressive and perfect if you’re staying for a few days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly & helpful, rooms & eating area very clean, comfortable & with ambience. Breakfast was fresh & delicious, beautifully presented

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One negative - the tea and coffee prices were not clearly displayed. These fees were under the caption of “mini-bar” on the price list which is deceiving. This should be changed as it is not clear straight away, giving the impression the hotel does this on purpose to make more money through deception and not giving the customers a choice to decide for themselves (As 3 Euros for a cup of tea is extortionate). Other than this we enjoyed our stay!

    Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was slow and the rooms were very warm until we opened the windows which made it much better.

    We were able to house a family of five in one room. The breakfast was excellent, the staff prepared a boxed breakfast for an early departure which was fantastic. The location brilliant. We were able to walk to both San Marco and Rialto vaporetto stops. The included trip to Murano was a welcome bonus. The hotel San Gallo was good value for money and we would definitely come back and stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    This was my second time staying at San Gallo. I chose this hotel a second time because the staff is wonderful! The location, perfect! overall my number one pick when returning again someday.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little pity that flowers on tables are plastic fake (but it's only a detail).

    Great place, one minute from St. Mark's Square. The staff was helpful. Good quality at a good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Very quiet and calm, and reaaaally close to piazza San Marcos. Staff very friendly. My dad and I had a really early check in and they prepared breakfast for us before the time. That was very gentle!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked facilities in the room to make tea and coffee but will bring our own next time as I am sure it would be no problem.

    The staff were so helpful provided us with a map and marked all the locations we wanted to go to. There is a comfortable seating area in reception which we used a lot to sit and chat. Breakfast was fine plenty to eat, lovely hot showers at any time and the hotel was well heated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THERE ARE TOO MANY STEPS (32) TO REACH THE ENTRANCE OF THE HOTEL.THERE IS NO LIFT. OUR ROOM WAS ANOTHER 20 STEPS HIGHER. ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN BUT EXTREMELY TINY

    BREAKFAST WAS BOUNTIFUL AND THE STAFF WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs, my fault for packing too much!

    The room had a double bed as well as a large chaise. Safe, minibar, ensuite, tv. Very nice a charming. Staff very welcoming spoke english very well, gave dinner recomendations. Very vlose to Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in need of refurbishing, to get to reception and for breakfast you had to go to another building and up/ down several staircases.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Almost nothing. Pictures deceptive. Communication poor. Power outage which was advertised on wall notices outside building in Italian. None from front desk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room in a different building with separate access, you have to go back to the main building for breakfast. Very small room and small bathroom, no view at all. Old dated decoration. The room was for 3 people, we were only two, I can't imagine how it would be with one extra person. No fresh fruit at breakfast and no large choice of food; very small space by the reception so it is easily crowded.

    Close to San Marco Square and quiet at night. Breakfast was included in the price. Minibar and Tea/coffe facilities in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to carry our luggages for two floors, poor internet connection. Shower area too small and water overflows when you shower.

    Accomodated us earlier than scheduled. Breakfast was ok but no eggs or fresh fruits served. Friendly staff and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, no iron or ironboard. Not enough pillows. The Air conditioner is not working well

    Very well situated and friendly staff. Close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a few steps to get up to the hotel from street level, but that isn't really anything to complain about

    Tucked away down a narrow alley, and located on the first floor, but easy to find as it is very close to St. Marks Square. Staff are helpful, and will provide a map, free of charge, for anyone that wants a little more information, with areas circled to clarify what to find where in this fantastic island city. The room was great, with fabric lined walls, and facilities were not bad. Breakfast was good, and check in/ out was easy, and we were able to leave our bags all day before our next journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not that they can change it, but there were a lot of stairs to get our suitcases up!

    The breakfast was good ( I especially liked the cake and coffee), the room was cleaned every day and towels changed. The man on reception was friendly and helpful. The building the hotel was in was interesting, and the location was quiet, and very near St Mark's Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    We were particularly impressed by the staff who were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. They went out of the way to assist us with our problems. They carried our bags up the steps to the hotel entrance and to the water taxi when we left.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond. Helped carry luggage up and down stairs. Answered any questions we had. Hotel is very close to Saint Marks Square without feeling like it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel have many dust. If anybody is allergic to dust, it's not good to stay here

    Good location, the hotel is in the center of city. Easy to go anywhere in Venice. By the way hotel's staff is kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    30 steps from front door to reception. Should be made clear at time of booking. Public areas a bit scruffy. My bedroom window was within arm's reach of the building opposite. This is typically Venetian, but it made the room dark and depressing and I could not judge what the weather was like.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was just off St Mark's and in a quiet location. Bedroom decor was typically Venetian. I was given a double room - would have found it cramped with another person though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor looked old - the place would benefit greatly from a refurbishment especially the entrance. The wifi was a bit slow.

    All the staff were extremely helpful, offering extra tips for getting around the city. The room was very sound proof and comfortable. Breakfast on the covered roof was a lovely bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic and it was tinned fruit salad😕. Fresh fruit would have been much nicer. Poor gluten free options but good coffee.

    The location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooftop breakfast was nice but it suffered with the typical Venice problem: pigeons (one of them pigeon landed on our table and spilled my coffee)

    small but nice room, breakfast on rooftop (pigeon landed on my table)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 2 star hotel. Not a 3 star as advertised. I arrived late at night and was horrified at the state of the room. everything was dingy, filthy and worn out. Nothing as was represented in the pictures. We suspected that it had bed bugs (still not sure if it did) and wanted to check out the next day. However the hotel advised that they would charge us the remaining 2 nights as well. The hotel offered to change our room but the one they showed us was in even worse condition. Contacted booking.com which were useless as they just acted as a go between us and the hotel and essentially told us the same thing. So we were left hostage and forced to stay in that sorry state of a hotel for another 2 nights (for a total of 3). It completely spoilt our honeymoon trip to Venice (something my wife was looking forward to for a long long time. The breakfast is a joke. Only has different types of bread and cheeses. No warm items or protein such as eggs or Meat. The hotel itself is spread out over 3 buildings and are shared by other tenants. In our case you had to leave the main building, and go in to the neighbouring building to access our room. Also the lobby is on the 3rd floor equivalent, with no elevators. So it is fun carrying all your luggage up essentially to the 3rd floor. I would advise anyone to choose a different hotel. I am considering legal action against booking.com as I have proof of the fact that it is a 2 star hotel, and that it wasn't as shown on the site. (I have pictures of all the filthy/dirty/dingy things attached)

    The only thing good about this hotel is the location. Everything, and I do mean everything else is bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sure it's not fancy, rooms are small but adequate and good value for Venice

    Close to vaporetto stop and San Marco, old world feel, lovely terrace for breakfast. Pleasant staff. 35 steps up the stairs to reception, but that is part of the charm of visiting an old city like Venice. Great air conditioning. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged more than agreed upon when we booked this and had to pay an additional city tax - in cash - that was not disclosed prior to our checking out. We were also re-charged once we left. We were credited the initial, higher rate, and then charged an even higher rate. This was without our approval or signature. Very disappointing.

    The shower was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The location was excellent, close to everything. In addition to the "tourist" convenience, there was an excellent little cafe next door, good for a quick snack or coffee and there was an ATM a few steps away. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, especially the "hot" latte milk. The phone GPS took us right to it. The staff was friendly and helpful. Yes there are stairs and the rooms are small but you should expect this in these old buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didnt like.

    We received a very warm welcome on arrival and all the staff throughout our stay were lovely. The room was very comfortable and clean indeed as was the whole hotel. Location was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a haul with suitcases from the train station, but definitely doable, and worth it for the location. Large flight of stairs and no elevator (on par with the rest of Europe!)

    Great location, just off of St. Marks square. We thought it a good value for the location. Great helpful staff. Our triple was an ok size (a little small for 3 with suitcases), but was very nicely decorated, and the same room as the photos online showed. Breakfast on a little outdoor terrace was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't say there was anything we didn't like. Staff was extremely helpful.

    The location was the best. Could walk out and be where all the action and restaurants are. The hotel was extremely old, which is what we expected when we booked and knowing the location would be so close to the square. Small boutique hotel. Would recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very tiny. We expected small, but this was very small.

    Friendly staff, great location (if you want to be by all of the tourists). Don't stay here if you have more than 2 days in Venice. Get away from the crowds and stay on other parts of the island. Bed was comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is served on a terrace. There were pigeons up on the roof.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location. Five minute walk from ferry to hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is quite old and you cannot open the window as there were many pigeons out there.? Less variety for breakfast

    The location is excellent, close to all main attractions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast aadequate would have liked a little more choice and room quite small

    Air con worked well, the staff were very helpful and the bathroom shower was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location too crowded with tourists...room very small and bed not comfortable. I would stay closer to train station and walk back to st Marco square since walking is not far at all.

    Nothing about the property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up to hotel from outside.... if you have a problem, would be a challenge!

    The hotel is close proximity to Square of St. Marco. Easy access using porter to get to the airport water taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms none too large and rather a rabbit-warren of corridors. Plenty of steps for those less good 0n their feet.

    About as close to St Mark's square without paying silly prices. A good 3 star hotel. Not grand but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was about 25min walk to the city centre. The surrounding area was verh old and dirty and a lot of traffic but once you approach the city centre you focus on tge beautiful piazzas, restaurants and beautiful people all dressed up for their passegiata (afternoon walk).

    Breakfast was very nice - variety

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not have a lift...but we knew this already! And Vito and Pepito helped us with our heavy luggages all the way to our rooms.

    Vito and Pepito were great hosts. They were very helpful with our luggage as well as booking our excursion and our water taxi to the airport. They went out of their way to show us where the water taxi stop is. The location of the hotel is very near Piazza San Marco!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs, but we had help with the luggage

    We liked everything about this property, with the exception of the stairs. The building was old, but well kept. Our room was large and clean. The bathroom was simple but again it was clean with a nice sized shower. The staff were excellent, and they assisted us with our luggage up the stairs. The included breakfast was very good. The croissants were still warm, and the cheese was very nice. There was also cereals, breads and spreads, yogurt, and fruit. The location was excellent, with only a few minutes walk to either San Marco or Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some the access to the property may be difficult as there is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs. Most people visiting Venice probably wouldn't have a problem but we had big bags with us and once up the initial 2 flights of communal stairs there were another 2 flights to get to our room. The receptionist hauled one of our bags to our room which while saved me doing it, I was then fearful of them pulling their back! For my husband the coffee wasn't to his liking.

    Location. Very convenient for main sights. Ideal location to catch a gondola to Rialto Bridge. 2 lovely traditional trattorias a short walk away offering traditional food. The receptionist was very helpful and they allowed us to store our luggage for free after checkout so we could explore the city. The quietist hotel so far with no disturbance from other guests.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Gallo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: