Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Gerolamo 3 stars

Via San Gerolamo 56, 23808 Vercurago, Italy

#2 of 4 hotels in Vercurago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with very comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not working properly. The road is very narrow leading up to the hotel.

    The hotel has a great outlook if you are in a room looking over the lake. The breakfast was good and well prepared. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom soaps and shampoos were very good quality. The welcome by the staff was very warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was fantastic - we did not expect such a joice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic - we did not expect such a joice. The location is lively just below an old castel ruin and bit off the track - so really quiet - exacrly what we Werke looking for. We coukd not follow some of the complaints in the comments. Check the Pizzeria/tratoria a few Meter towards the church - cheaper, more traditional and really good value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Lago di Como getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming place in beautiful location above southern tip of Lago di Como, Lago di Garlate actually. Nice neighborhood with walks down narrow alleys to lake and up to Castello Dell'Innominato. Family-run, super-friendly! Nice rooms with A/C! Excellent restaurant across the street, also run by the host family of Hotel San Gerolamo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Family stay - one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not as expected and the breakfast was not great. Staff was helpful but not very friendly. Not a very child friendly place

    The location is beautiful and the view to mountains and Lake Como was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.9
    Terrible hotel, unsafe and unclean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. After we had checked in we drove to a nearby town to visit friends for a late dinner and returned at midnight. When we got back to the hotel the front door was locked and all the lights out. We were very worried because all our belongings were inside so we rang the doorbell and knocked and after five minutes the owner appeared - as she doesn't live at the hotel and there is no staff on duty after hours - and told us the doors are locked at 12pm. What was more frightening was that she had to unlock a large chain and padlock that had been tied around the door leading to the bedrooms to let us through. We mentioned we were concerned this was a fire risk but she said there is a fire exit at the back of the building yet she never mentioned this when we checked in. We then went to bed but the aircon in our room turned off in the middle of the night and it was so hot in the middle of summer but couldn't call anyone because there is no one on duty. When we questioned the owner in the morning she said it goes off automatically when the room reaches 17 degrees, however it was definitely much hotter than 17 degrees because we couldn't sleep it was so hot. Then one of the other staff members admitted the owner turns off all the aircon manually at 7am anyway. We were very unhappy that we couldn't control the temperature of our own room. We booked this hotel because it had wifi, a view of the lake and car parking however this is not the case. The wifi was not working and each day we were told a technician was coming to fix it. The lake was barely visable from our room over the trees and power lines and because we had a van, we couldn't park on site because it was too narrow so we had to park in a public car park down the street. The parking and lack of view didn't worry us but we felt ripped off that we had paid extra for a room with a view when we couldn't see anything.

    The room was spacious and the nearby town is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, beautiful surroundings, nice and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the family suite as the room that I booked wasn't available for the first of night of our reservation. Family suite was amazing. It is really authentic and has very good decoration. I highly recommend this room. There is also a really nice restaurant in the hotel. You can try some nice local food and wine. The stuff was amazing. Thank you so much again. We enjoyed our trip and stay with you. I would definitely visit and stay here again. In terms of location; the hotel is in an amazing location in the town but you might to come here with your car. I'm not sure about the public transport option. I would suggest this place if you want to stay away from main touristic areas and have proper local experience. It's also not too far from the main locations like Bellagio, 30 -40 min drive. The view from the room that we stayed on the second night (room with lake view) was good. It's as exactly as in the pictures. Overall we had a great stay at Hotel San Gerolamo. I really recommend. And thank you so much for this experience. Looking forward to visit again...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved the place away from the traffic and just below l’innominato castle. Breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the place away from the traffic and just below l’innominato castle. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of food and good quality, we enjoy it. The food at the restaurant was superb The owners are very kind and friendly, definitely we will come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and pleasant stay with beautiful scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the air conditioning was not working andas the weather was very warm we asked at reception and were told that it was not switched on as the weather was not so warm the previous day and it would be turned on for us. It was fired up but only put out very hot air so back to reception to be told that it had to be turned on from a remote location .As we did not want to waste any more time we had a very uncomfortable night.

    I liked the location and fantastic view over lake como from our room which was on the first floor. The breakfast was typical of the region with plenty to choose from all nice and fresh. The property was situated in a very quiet area with a peaceful if steep walk up to a church which is worth seeing. We had dinner at the hotel's own restaurant and the food was excellent with great service As this hotel was situated at the end of a very narrow lane it is worth mentioning that it is a tricky maneuver if you have a bigger car but still doable if you are careful and it will be worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful and peaceful haven, tucked away from main routes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better organised. However, there were some nice homemade pastries and cakes, local bread with cheeses and cured meats, and nice fruit juices.

    A wonderful and peaceful haven, tucked away from main routes and trafficked areas. There's a great pizzeria/small restaurant on your doorstep so once you've arrived you can park your car and forget about it. There's wonderful views of the lake, both a sort and a longer path to an old castle on the top of a cliff, and nature does surround you beautifully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'll would recommend to put another sign in the very narrow alley for the people who come at night that they are on the right path.

    We got there very late at night when everybody was supposed to sleep, but were welcomed with espresso and tea despite the late hour. The room was very clean and comfortable. The view in the morning was spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The location is romantic above on a hill .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is romantic above on a hill . Eating is possible outside at the terrace , also the breakfast . The view from the terrace onto the mountains and onto the sea is fabulous . The restaurant in the evening was of good quality and very good price-quality value , with very friendly staff . I would love to go there again for some days .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    A unique place, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A unique place, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant belonging to the hotel serves dinnner in the beautiful garden, You can see lake Como laying down hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky to get car to outside hotel and locate

    Lovely location with views of the lake and an old Castello nearby. Lovely meals across the road. WiFi very good but only in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    front door not always open. door key did not work. we were then told "back door always open"

    staff excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff good breakfast clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a dodgy approach but a tranquil location in beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms, helpful staff, free parking, A/C
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, helpful staff, free parking, A/C

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Lovely breakfasts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Lovely breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    very nice, clean, comfortable hotel, nice personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A perfect stop off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Large room , helpful staff, great view . Very peaceful location with a Great Lake and castle view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Planned to stay one night, ended up staying two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and welcoming staff. Super cosy room with a view to the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view good food

    Friendly people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    It was such a beautiful place to stay and the staff were really kind and helpful. I will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager/chef( Lucas) was really helpful, driving us to and from the bus stop at the bottom of the hillside. The views were stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, beautiful surroundings, nice and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Delicious breakfast, very friendly staff, comfortable bed, beautiful view, quiet and peaceful area and great restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De staff was overall friendly but not all of them unfurtunately

    Location is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful family owned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small.

    Beautiful family owned hotel. A hidden jewel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to have a car

    Very good everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good restaurant vis a vis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good restaurant vis a vis

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27