Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Michele 4 stars

Via Guelfa 15, 52044 Cortona, Italy

#15 of 30 hotels in Cortona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub/shower combo in our beautiful room was a bit difficult for the traditional American who is looking for a shower with a door. BUT it is doable and very traditionally Italian

    The location was amazing. Parking provided by the hotel was great you need to pay for this but your car is brought to the door within minutes when needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good little bolt hold, especially if you have a car and are travelling around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was lacking, no fruit that wasn't hard as a rock and very little selection unless you like cakes and pasteries

    the staff were really helpful and booked a great fish restaurant for us and took care of our every request quickly. the location is perfect and there is a lovely courtyard where you can have a drink away from the hustle and bustle but easily rejoin it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location for my daughters wedding. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Saiid was an absolute star. Our room with terrace was great and breakfast was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Well-located, old-fashioned hotel but ask about bath facilities if you are at all from the older set
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not suitable for us, an older couple. There was a large bathtub-Jacuzzi with high sides which was impossible to get into. There were no security or hold bars. There was no shower curtain. There was no non-skid surface in the tub. In sum, an accident waiting to happen. Decor pseudo baroque and a bit dowdy.

    Upgraded to a suite with a gorgeous view from a private terrace. Staff welcoming, cheerful and helpful. Parking available for a somewhat exorbitant fee of E20/day. Good location. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Loved Cortona and this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heat in Italy in late fall is a problem. There is a "rule" that heat isn't turned on until November. Some hotels obey, others don't. San Michele gave us an electric heater and more blankets.

    The location of the San Michele is perfect, just a few steps to all the sights in Cortona. Excellent restaurants close by. This is the third time we've stayed there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful city centre, lots of good dining areas and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at 20euros somewhat surprising....free parking outside the gat d city wall good but one heck of a walk back to the hotel

    Great city center hotel. Somewhat difficult to get to but worth the experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The five nights we spent at Hotel San Michele was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We loved our stay for 5 nights!

    Location of this hotel is excellent. The staff is perfecto! They go over and beyond to make your stay a pleasure. They park your car in a garage and bring it to you when needed. The breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous place to spend a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel room although upgraded had no views which was a shame. Other than that it was a perfect stay in Cortona

    Excellent location for walking around Cortona. Hotel staff delightful and could not assist any better. Clean hotel and good breakfast Great restaurants all within a stones throw of the hotel Beautiful shops and the landscape is stunning !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel and very welcoming staff and fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No views all windows looked out on to walls ! Bathroom in need of a little TLC and did not have a shower as such - just hand held with we could not use as water would go everywhere.

    The hotel and staff were lovely and we upgraded to a different room which was very comfortable. However, the room we were given had no views and it did feel rather enclosed as looking out of all our windows we were faced with walls and it was quite dark. Fortunately the room itself was larger than average. Bed was very comfortable and we had a jacuzzi bath which was a little small but did help with the aching feet at the end of the day. We could have probably ask to be moved but in all it was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    A perfect location in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free bottled water in the room would have been a nice gesture as we paid for a junior suite. Many hotels give you tea/coffee/ bottled water.

    The location was perfect. Right in the centre with car securely parked next door. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel, old world charm and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view. Had to pay €80 for the use of the rooftop to view night lights and countryside. Great breakfast.

    Great location just off the main piazza. Obliging staff, clean and well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Marvellous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely need to put a full length mirror into the room. If one is attending an occasion you need to see what you look like and the small mirror in bathroom and in room doesnt help. So the one demerit was lack of a full length mirror.

    Having air conditioning and a bath in my suite. Magnificent view from the window. Being able to walk out the door and everything one minute away. No car required !! Absolutely lovely, sweet and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed tired. Stairs to our room difficult to climb, but this is a very old building.

    Balcony view was awesome. Plenty of space. Location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    No terrace views unless you can afford a suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT expect a view. ALL the views shown in pictures on booking.com website are MISLEADING They are all views from suites. There are no terraces with views that general guests can enjoy. So we felt misled Breakfast was also worst we had in Italy compared to five other four star hotels. Also the only hotel where you had to pay for bottled water in your room

    Central location. Staff helpful on information

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Lovely city, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking possibilities are very limited (ancient city) and although the parking service is available by the staff, there is a risk of damage. We had got back our car with a small damage, nevertheless the managing director was aidful and the insurance process (the hotel has insurance) was initiated by him. We are waiting for the solution.

    Excellent location in the heart of the ancient city. Nice atmosphere, spacious, comfortable room. Good breakfast with warm food (scrambled eggs, roasted bacon) and cold food as well. Excellent coffe. (Tutto italiano :-)) Although the building of the hotel is very old, you can feel only the ancient atmosphere, without any unconfortable things, everything serves the guests' needs. The city and the hotel simply is a love!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location can't be beat, no more than 15 meters from Piazza Della Repubblica. Parking by the hotel made entry and exit very easy. Breakfast was good, the best being thenscrambled eggs, real eggs, not powdered. Bacon not crispy, but still fine. Good selection of items ar buffet. Plenty of space both inside and on an outside patio area within the walls of the hotel. Good breakfast service. Everyone at the hotel is clearly anxious to serve. Friendly, attentive, and able to answer any question. We would unquestionably stay here next time we don't rent and apartment instead.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Great staff and wonderful location (San Michele)make a superb vacation.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little problem figuring out our bathtub/shower. The staff is the best. The young gentleman from the desk came right to the room to help.

    Excellent location for everything like shopping, dining, and most fun, people watching in the main Piazza a few steps up the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Valuable to visit Cortona, just by the beautiful lake of the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very best in this hotel was the kindness and helpful attitude of the young lady (Fluent in Portuguese!) working in the front desk (unfortunatelly I forgot her name!). She was extremelly helpfull. This makes a great difference: you are properly welcome when you just enter in the Hotel! Good to see young people like her, mastering a style of serving well!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Perfect place in Cortona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The perfect Place to stay in Cortona! A few meters from the Square, restaurants and Church. Very nice and welcoming people working at the hotel. They helped us park the car, which is somewhat of a challange in Cortona.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Francesco at the reception who checked us in was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Francesco at the reception who checked us in was extremely enthusiastic and proud of the hotel's heritage. He even pushed wheelchair for my mother up the hill to the main square and suggested the easy path to go. The porter was also very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the rooms. No bar. Breakfast was very limited. Any refreshments required during stay had to be ordered as room service so incurred extra charges. Water not complimentary charged at €2 a bottle. Rooms were unimpressive and the price was higher than other hotels when it didn't seem justified.

    Location was fantastic. Cortona itself was wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Delightful overnight stay in Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need blackout curtain in bathroom that looks out to court yard. No privacy

    Architecture and decor, staff so helpful, lovely public seating areas, Englishnewspapers, nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Great hill town hotel near centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short

    Well located within the town. GPS had a little trouble, but local gent put us right. Staff, facilities, wifi all tops, with views over Tuscan hills.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the bed was hard.

    Location was great. Happy that a person could drive to the hotel and that it offered parking. Close to all the squares and shops. The staff were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect Location in Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you left the room, the power was automatically turned off until you returned with your key card. As a result, you could only charge phones, etc. when you were in the room. We would still go back again, however. It was a lovely place.

    Location was fabulous. Staff was attentive and very personable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Very nice place in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was extremely dark and needed much more lighting. Bathroom needed a place to put cosmetic bags etc - no shelf or counter space for that. Some of the front desk staff were poorly informed about answers to typical tourist questions, like whether or not the post office took credit cards.

    The room was very large which was nice. Great being right in the heart of the town so you could walk everywhere. Having the garage was very convenient! Staff very helpful and eating breakfast outside in the courtyard was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Only downside is that there isn't really a bar to speak of. They'll bring drinks to you and there's a lovely courtyard area but it's not a bar per se.

    The staff are amazing. So helpful nothing is too much trouble. I needed a doctor and they advised me to go to the hospital instead as wouldn't have to pay (with insurance card) plus would get seen quicker. They even followed up next time they saw me to make sure all was ok. They were so great with our small children too, always saying hello and playfully teasing my little boy. It was our second visit to the hotel and I'd happily go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Recommended hotel in the heart of Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room rates are a bit expensive (at least the rate I received). Also, I traveled with 2 other couples and rented 3 'superior double' rooms all at the same rate, but there were significant differences in the sizes of the 3 rooms and views (or lack of view) between the three rooms. Given such differences, I would have expected a price distinction between the rooms, but there was not.

    Superb location and a fantastic historic building. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.6
    historic hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly helpful staff. beautiful quiet room with airconditioning. beautiful residents lounge with a small balcony. central location within walking distance to everywhere. breakfast has a variety of very good choices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    parking in cortona can be impossible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we would seriously not have booked to stay in cortona had we been given any notion that parking there is nigh on impossible. we would advise anyone thinking of staying to check that the hotel can provide one of its 4 spaces. we could not find anywhere to park until midnight and when we arrived at 8 pm we had to drive back down into the valley for supper, as there just was not anywhere to put the car. to be fair Jethro tull were performing on the night of our visit!

    we had a wonderful view onto the valdichiana and lago di trasimeno from our 4th floor room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.9
    Handy historic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furnishings, bathroom and decor. All looks a bit tired. Therefore a bit overpriced I think

    Friendly helpful staff and lovely building. Super handy location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    Can't wait to return to Hotel st Michele !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good, no suggestions.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely , spacious and clean . The location was excellent. We enjoyed spending the afternoon swimming at the sister property. Wonderful stay. Nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant location and facilities, staff gave excellent restaurant recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better directions to find hotel.

    Great location, with a fantastic view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Was a beautiful location in the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a beautiful location in the center of town. Loved everything about it 5⭐️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location...history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Center city location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were terrible. We have never complained, but had to. They brought mattress pads.

    Center city location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Flawless, bespoke service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower style

    Flawless, bespoke service. Eager, helpful, timely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Cortona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have had some nice outdoor space to relax in.

    Excellent position in the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Delightful staff and the hotel is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They would not let me fill my water bottle from their lobby water.

    Breakfast, outdoor sitting area,onsight lounge/ bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great choice in central Cortona. Lovely warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent. Really helpful and welcoming. The room was nice and property in an excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We loved it...the view from our room was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy bed, great bathroom, breakfast!!! Staff was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Best sleep in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best sleep in Italy! Dark room, great bed, very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Smiling staff and slap-bang in the middle of Cortona - an absolute gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything!!

    From the warmest of welcomes to the daily smiling greeting the staff do a wonderful job. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    We stayed here before and we'll stay here again!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Received the room we had requested. Excellent, friendly service. Quiet, roomy, clean room with a good bed. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    It was our first night in Cortona and the staff was very helpful. Great location near the heart of t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small.

    Nice selection of breakfast foods.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is lovely and the most convenient location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff was amazing. They were so polite when we asked questions and gave ideas for dinner. We loved each of them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful San Michele Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry service was pricey.

    Very charming. Old world with modern conveniences. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location just off the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just off the main square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities were old and not very comfortable.

    Location!! and Staff!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.0
    A LOT OF NOISE WITH AIR CONDITIONED IN THE ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A LOT OF NOISE WITH AIR CONDITIONED IN THE ROOM THE NIGHT IS NOT GREAT IN THIS HOTEL

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location . Friendly staff. Loved our stay. Breakfast was plentiful. If you go to Cortona this is the place to stay .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Great experience - will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    stunning views and wonderful terrace for our suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fading grandeur of room, shower poor, needs a screen

    views stunning, bar good, location wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    nice hotel in great location and double glazing so nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cracked toilet seat and broken air conditioning remote control

    nice location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent choice in the walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had family room at an attick, it was hot in the night, aircon must be working all the time.

    Location, location, location. Beatifull palazzo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the coffee at breakfast!

    Central position, comfort and very helpful staff especially reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and cozy. Clean and staff was fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Great choice to stay in an amazingly beautiful Tuscan hilltop town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took a little while to come out, but it was good.

    Perfect position, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Charming old historic hotel in the center of Cortona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 euros per night to park car onsite.

    Wonderful location and the historic charm of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    A wonderful stay in the heart of Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of my favourite hotel rooms anywhere! Great location and very helpful staff. Hotel parking facility very useful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful spot in Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and design

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Right in the heart of Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower over our bath in the suite we stayed in.

    The feeling of living in a time long past. The close proximity to the town. We walked everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place to insure a great vacation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Great place to stay! Parking option a great addition.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    We've returned every two years... It feels like coming home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little repetitive. More fresh fruit to have with cereals required. Bacon and scrambled eggs not so good

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't stay longer

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    bed comfy staff very helpful breakfast very good very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed comfy staff very helpful breakfast very good very good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Great experience ,nice atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very oldish. Need updating in the bath and better mattress and pillows.

    Great location! Restaurant next door Preludio excelent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    Have stayed in hotel before on many occasions and never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All excellent.

    Have stayed in hotel before on many occasions and never fails to impress. Staff are truly lovely and very helpful. Have always had a warm welcome. Love this place!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being a very old historic building, the rooms had quite a few obstacles such as low hanging beams and strange floor corners and door heights that were 6 inches shorter than I am . We hit our head and toes many times

    Location and views

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor bathroom: No shower screen and the water went every where, the shower holder was screwed into a beam!. The whole place was tired and was in need of some tlc and a bit of money spending on it. Breakfast buffet was so poor that we went out for breakfast on 2 days of the 3 in spite of it being included in our rate. The lift needed a cranking handle, and we needed a torch to find things in the room, it was so dingy and pooly lit. And this was the junior suite! We appreciate that this is a historic building, it has just been neglected, what a shame.

    Location Staff were extremely polite, curteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Location, staff and size of suite room were great
    • Group

    We were getting ready for my wedding and the electricity kept cutting out whilst the hairdressers were working which wasn't great. It made us all pretty nervous and wasted time as the hotel tried to sort it

    Location, staff and size of suite room were great

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: