Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Croce 2 stars

Via dei Bentaccordi 3, Uffizi, 50122 Florence, Italy

#103 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room. We struggled to walk around the room with just two cabin luggage. It was really small. Including the shower, the room should be around 60 square feet. Secondly important point is that there is no lift and our room was on the 4th floor with narrow stairs.

    The location and the staff. You can hardly find a better location in Florence. It is just in the middle of everything. And I need to talk about the staff. They were really nice and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel and would surely tell my friends and families to stay in this hotel when in Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We’re traveling by bicycle and had to pay an extra ten euros per day per bike to keep them in a nearby garage, so if you’re cycle-touring, add that expense into your budget. But it was great to have a nearby garage keep our bikes safely for a few days.

    Great hosts, great location! This centuries-old place has been refurbished, and now it oozes with charm. The hosts are very accommodating, speak good English, and make guests feel personally welcome. We had to climb a lot of steep stairs to get to our room, which was small, but the ideal location of this hotel more than made up for that. We’re traveling by bikes and had to pay an extra ten euros per day per bike to keep them in a nearby garage, so if you’re cycle-touring, add that expense into your budget.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrimonial bed instead ( one piece) of two small beds

    Very good attention from the staff , room clean and also very good hotel location. Very nice attention from the staff is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at Santa Croce with two young children and everything was so perfect! The staff helped fit a crib in our room and made space for our stroller. One morning we hadn't noticed it was raining until they offered us an umbrella as we were leaving. We had such a wonderful time here and felt so well taken care of by everyone. Thank you to all the staff and we hope to return soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful and friendly staff made staying the the hotel an excellent experience. While the rooms were small they were clean and functional. Keep in mind this is a 400+ year old building. The location in Florence made it easy to get around the entire city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a 3€ per person, per day city tax which was surprising for us, since we were not informed on it, and we did not get any receipt for that city tax. It was a historical building as we were informed, but, still, the room was too small to feel comfort.

    The staff was very helpful and kind. It was close to every important part of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of rooms very little, unlike photos. Poor variety for breakfast. Nothing to eat if you don't eat sweets.

    Very good location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mario & Gabrielle are excellent hosts. I traveled alone to visit my daughter who was studying in Florence. I was looking for an affordable place to stay with a private bath. Hotel Santa Croce was perfect! If you are looking for a quaint place with clean rooms, private bath & primary location, this is the place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one negative about the property is there was no elevator as the hotel is set in an historic building. That being said, the stairway was very well lit and the stairs were easy to navigate.

    The hotel is in an historic building and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was on the small side but the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The location was extremely central; there was no need for public transportation other than to/from the airport as everything is in walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin - you hear other guests. No elevator - ok for me, but not for everyone, even for the first floor there are 2 flights of stairs.

    Great value for money- excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, adequate breakfast. Staying in a historical building is a nice added bonus. Great help from the hotel with everything starting from luggage and to taxi booking, not to mention recos on restaurants and sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself is small, although the bathroom is good enough (of course is small in such a way that you would expect when staying in city center of any smaller European city). Obviously no elevator, so the top rooms (as mine) will require 4 stair levels.

    The location is prime. The staff is incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn't like was that you could hear voices and sounds from other rooms due to the thin walls of the hotel (but this is something probably difficult to change because the property is listed and protected by unesco)

    Everything was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful!! As for the location probably the best in the centre near Michaelangelo's residence !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The property is 1400 years old and therefore has drawbacks: narrow stairs and small rooms. If you accept this, the hotel is a great place to stay.

    Location is excellent. All staff were most helpful and friendly; we could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact we had to leave. Wished we were able to stay here a few more days!

    The staff are absolutely GREAT. Gabrielle and Mario are incredibly friendly and helpful. Wonderful recommendations for Dining, Activities, and local conveniences. Great Hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like all of the old hotels where we have stayed, the internet was spotty up on the fourth floor. We sometimes came lower or Marco worked on what needed to be done.

    This hotel is in the Historic District and is a short walk from all of the sightseeing places on the list. The staff was most helpful in every regard. The building has been in existence hundreds of years so this guests really get a sense of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not the fault of the hotel, but the cab we ordered did not show up at 445 am. The staff started calling cab companies and eventually got one for us at 530. It made the ride to the airport quite exhilarating.

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great and they were very accommodating! For the location and room size, it's hard to beat the price. My wife and I enjoyed our stay :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect welcome, 2 brothers that seem to have the hotel with their families. So cute with our little baby. Very clean and cosy, the rooms. We had a baby bed. Breakfast was rich and the coffee was really good. We got a map and a quick description how to go to see the top highlights of the town. We did the main spots in the evening, as the location was so central, everything in walking distance. Parking in a garage was organized. Thank you so much also for your help to get everything out and in our car at our arrival/before leaving. I would definetely come back here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was very small. There was no lift and stair case was very narrow.

    Location was excellent. The hotel staff was very friendly and ready to assist specially in carrying the luggages. Breakfast served was reasonable and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to all major attractions at the centre. Simona and Romana were helpful and provided clear guidance on what was posible to see during the one night stay.

    Like the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked neat although we found "hair" in the bed and at the shower area. The air condition was also really bad, working very noisy and the regulation was very difficult.

    The staff were really very nice and helpful. The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. Air conditioning very noisy. Minimal breakfast.

    Excellent location. In the historic center of Florence. Everything can be reach by walking. Hotel have a partnership with a private garage. They come to park the car directly to hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very fríendly staff and helpful, we felt very comfortable, the trateria that they gave us a10 percent discount was excellent. No noise while we sleep, will return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the facility is classic Florence. An old building, that is clean, comfortable, well located, staff that are EXCELLENT. The owners, young entrepreneurs, are there to make your personal and professional time in Florence an outstanding experience. They went out of their way to help me find my professional meetings and then helped with advice and information on the fun side of Florence. It should be noted, upon checking in, they added a personal home touch. Refreshing glasses of pineapple juice. This is not a big hotel. I noticed they treated everyone like a very important family member. If you need an elevator, this facility is not for you. Then again, that will cut out about 90% of all hotels in Florence. The breakfast experience is basic but wonderful; fresh fruit and juices, expresso fresh pressed, croissants, toast, yoghurt, etc. . When in Florence again, I will definitely stay here. By the way, I was there on business along with my wife and 24 year old daughter. It was a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location - so easy to access everything you need. Staff were so helpful and friendly - brilliant service. So cool to know that Michelangelo grew up right next door! If you're after something quite central - this is a great choice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, staff was very helpful. Me and my spouse have travelled a lot but we have not seen such amicable and helpful guys. They are awesome. The hotel is also very nice, easy to reach and really close to city center. Wifi is good, AC was working very well. However, the room was really small, and bathroom also, but we expected something like this and it was not surprise, the pictures and photos really reflect real situation at the hotel. Breakfast could be much better. hotel staff also assisted us to plan tour in Sangiminiano and that was great. We are happy that we chose this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect, you can easily walk everywhere. It was very clean and cozy. Breakfast was good and it’s the same every morning. Fast WiFi The best thing was the staff, so helpful and friendly! We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Florence!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff are amazing - the nicest and most efficient I ever met (and I travel intensively). The hotel is in a historic building, so the rooms are very small and the comfort basic, but it is situated in one of the best locations possible in Florence.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small. Not what was portrayed on website. No elevator and no assistance when we arrived with our luggage. Breakfast was not anything to rave about.

    Location convenient walks to all sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel did not have elevator, guests should be aware rooms on the 4th floor require quite a few flights of steps. Front desk will help you with the bags!!

    Excellent location with a great attentive staff. It made our trip to Florence that much more special

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could benefit from some design coordination (more functional space for clothes, etc.). Carpet seemed really old and must be hard to keep clean.

    The staff was extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. If you need anything, they responded immediately. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Windows closed at night kept the room completely quiet. Loved the street and couldn't be better located.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I really had trouble with. Bathroom small but I was fine.

    The historic building was interesting and cozy. The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mold issue in the bathroom. It made the entire room smell. It was fine for one night, but I would not have stayed there another night because of the mold. Also, the toilet and shower drains were very slow. Seems like some water issues in the old building.

    The stuff was exceptionally kind and friendly serving juice when we arrived. We had to leave early the next morning, and they were kind enough to have breakfast ready for us before we had to depart.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the hotel. No negative comments.

    The hotel is located at a very good location. It is close to all the major attractions in Florence - Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, Basilica of Santa Croce, Uffizi Gallery, Galleria dell'Academia, etc. One can walk to all these attractions. The train station Florence S.M.N. is approximately 2 km from the hotel. We walked from the station to the hotel when we had reached Florence. Moreover, it is located two houses from where Michelangelo was born. Although there is no elevator, the heritage architecture is a plus. The bedroom was small but very cozy. Breakfast was included in our room rent, and it was extremely good. There were croissants, cakes, toast, fresh fruit, three flavors of yogurt, coffee, etc. Last but not the least, the staff was extremely friendly. The owner of the hotel welcomed us, and personally helped us mark the attractions on the map. This saved a lot of time. He made us feel at home. I definitely recommend staying here, and I am returning to this hotel when I come to Florence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came to Hotel Santa Croce in February as a school group of 13. Right from the time of booking, the staff were exceptionally helpful, responding quickly to my many queries via email and providing lots of useful recommendations. This wonderful willingness to help continued on arrival, when Mario, Gabriele, Simona and the rest of the cheerful team gave us lots of information on the hotel (a historic building) and the surrounding area (directions, restaurants, ice cream, history, markets, etc.). The location is excellent – five minutes from the Piazza della Signoria, but down a quiet side street, ensuring a good night’s sleep. The rooms themselves were comfortable, well furnished and equipped, and meticulously cleaned every morning. The breakfast spread was great, with delicious cornetti and the students appreciating especially the smiley faces on their coffees! The staff also kindly organised a taxi to take us back to the airport. Thank you so much for putting up with a large group of teenagers! We felt fantastically looked after, and so enjoyed our stay – see you next time!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We asked for a room for 4 people, but the space accommodated 3 people at most. The single beds were the lowest point of our stay. The mattresses need changing for more comfortable ones. One last thing was the noise from the wooden stairs, which was a problem - especially when guests arrived late at night.

    The location was excellent - walking distance from most points of interest in the city. It's a decent hotel, in an 18th century building next to Michelangelo's birth place. Great, huh?! Since it's an old building, there isn't an elevator, but the staff carry the luggage to the room - a good first impression. By the way, the best part of the hotel is the staff. They're really nice and helpful, giving hints as to what to do around town, arranging day trips etc. The heating is really good and I the breakfast was simple but good. The room was very clean. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have had a bit more variety.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, guided us for places to eat as well. The location was very convenient, everything was at a walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff are fantastic and took a real interest in making sure we're fine, looking after our wishes on booking trips, recommending cheap restaurants, what the best bits of our day were etc. We had maps and they talked about the tours they could personally recommend so all our trips out were great. Breakfast was continental with lots of variety and very tasty. The bed was ultra comfortable in a room that was tiny but adequate. Again the shower was tiny but adequate. Staying in a heritage building was worth the tiny shower and room and the staff made the place seem like a palace. The building may only be 2 star but the staff, location and the overall enjoyment of the stay are 5 star.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bathroom Humidity in bathroom No lift and small stair but its true in all old city Maybe a little expensive

    Personal nice and available Very good position Nice room Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is definitely in the center of Florence so you can get all important tourists destinations in a few minutes. You would be impressed by Italian hospitality, staff is excellent, special thanks to Gabriele and Simon! Merry Christmas guys!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is perfect, you can easily walk everywhere. It was very clean and cozy. The best thing was the staff, so helpful and friendly, thank you so much!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was perfect and the staff was very polite. They advised on things we could see and places to go in Florence :) Perfect! Defiantly going back there next time I am in Florence. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit bigger bathroom, but considering the origin of the building it is a miracle that the rooms have bathrooms. :) Our first night was a bit cold, but the heating was OK for the rest of the days.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, both in the morning and in the evening/night period. The location of this hotel is perfect (calm at night, close to the center). We received vouchers for Restaurant Anita.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rates were on the higher side. It should have been lesser. Bathroom was small especially the shower area. They did not have a big spread for breakfast.

    Location was nice. All the attractions were walking distance. Rooms were nice and clean. Hotel owners were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not an issue for us but the shower box in our room was quite tight. This could be an issue for very tall or bit oversized people.

    A stone thrown away from Santa Croce church, one of the main tourist attractions of the city, this hotel is really in the heart of the old town and few minutes walk from all main tourist sites. Staff was very friendly and ready to support us with our needs. Thought in the centre, the room was really silent during the nights what was excellent. We were travelling with a 9 months old baby and we had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very nice and helpful staff. They upgraded us when we got there. Nice breakfast and good suggestions from the hotel staff. Definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tough to get to the hotel by car because it's in the traffic restricted area of center city. Once you find it (believe me it is not easy) you turn your keys over to a fellow who takes your car somewhere and you don't see it until you are ready to leave. The cost is 25 EU per day. But it all works and the car came back without a scratch.

    Absolutely the best location for seeing all the major sights in the center of the old town. Rooms are small, but the continental breakfast is very good and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restroom is a little small but nothing to worry about

    the staff is great, the breakfast is good and the bed was awesome. The best of the hotel is the location great value. Will definitely comeback in the future

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I don't Iike

    We stayed in hotel Santa Croce for two nights, it is unexpectedly great! The hotel itself is very historical but lovely, we stayed at 4/F (top floor), Mario and Gabriel helped us to moved the suitcase up, hotel room itself is cozy and very clean, room size is small but it's good enough for open the suitcase. Bathroom is nice and water pressure is good. Breakfast Is simple but it's good and tasty. Mario and Gabriel is very helpful and friendly in during our stay. We would definitely stay there when next time come to Florence.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could get a bit noisy at night if you're staying in the 1st floor but tolerable

    hotel is close to everything, staff were very accommodating esp Gabriel. Room was basic which I like and the toilet was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I could suggest something, that would be to add at least one meat product to the breakfast selection.

    The staff were super-friendly and helpful - responding to queries prior to arrival and during our stay. They were also generous :) The location was amazing - right by the top tourist attractions. Considering how expensive accommodation can be in this outstanding gem of a city, it was a fairly good deal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit cosy, but you're there to see the city, not sit in a hotel room. Could put off some people but was completely fine for us.

    The staff are super friendly, the hotel is really central, rooms are air conditioned

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved staying here for a night. The 2 brothers that own it are incredibly friendly and helpful. The room are comfortable and clean though small as is the staircase. No elevators so prepare to climb some stairs. Worth it though. Breakfast was delicious. Woderfull stay. Plus it's walking distance to Palazzo Vecchio and all other attractions in Florence.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Economy Double Room was a bit small for us since we were packing stuff for a long trip. Maybe if we were traveling lighter it wouldn't have mattered as much.

    Extremely helpful staff and central location. We could roam around the city center all day without having to move 10-15 away from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It is located near to almost every sightseeings, within walk distance. So the location is super good! 2. People are really nice and The service is amazing! We were welcomed very well. The guys helped us with our luggages and put them inside our room, which was really considerate. :) 3. They introduced local places to us when we arrived and gave us a map marked with the locations of visit places. 4. The young guy is very Italian lol and very patient as well. We were answered almost every question and we are looking forward to re-visiting Firenze again at some point. 5. Nice experience! Aloderviliader....(sorry forgot lol😅)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The location was fantastic. Florence is a very walk-able and the hotel lets you take advantage of that at a great price. I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly the staff is. They are available 24/7. We were on the 1st floor so we didn't have too many stairs to climb and there is no lift since this is an old historic building. Be prepared, the rooms are tiny but adequate. (again, that old historic building) We were glad for the AC during the hot weather. Very good coffee at breakfast with fresh croissants, fruit, yogurts, toast & cereal. Basic but it was fine. Good WiFi. We took advantage of their parking arrangement with a local garage. Yes, 25 Euro a day seems expensive but remember this is city center Florence and you will pay more if you use a garage that you pay for on your own. We drove right to the hotel, which was actually very easy if you take your time, use the GPS & hotel's detailed directions and just watch those pedestrians, then the garage personal picked our car up and returned it to us when we left. Also, the 25 Euro was per 24 hours. I'll close again with location, location, location. You will not find a better located hotel at this price. Step out of the front door onto the street Michelangelo may have played on as a child.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff. Lots of stairs to our room but the staff carried out bags for us. Room is pretty decent, old and dated but good value for money. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. Location was great to get to places and staff recommended awesome places to see and eat!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. I could see others possibly having a problem with no access to an elevator. We looked at it an opportunity to get some exercise to work off all of the delicious food we ate.

    This was an amazing experience for our first time in Florence. From the minute we walked in, Mario was professional and kind. He gave us a warm welcome, gave us our room key, and immediately gave us detailed instructions regarding what attractions to see and when to see them. He was very helpful. Simone also worked at the front desk after Mario and was also helpful. Hotel Santa Croce is a quaint, family owned hotel (Mario and his brother). It has a very old fashioned feel. It is an older building without an elevator. Even though we were on the top floor, we did not find this to be an inconvenience as we are a younger couple. Be warned, if you do not prefer the extra work, request a room on one of the lower floors. If you are on one of the lower floors, Mario will happily assist with carrying your bags up to your room. The actual room was pretty basic. I don't think there was a refrigerator in the room. There were cold beverages on sale in the lobby, however. Again, our room (Double or Twin Room) was on the top floor. There was no bidet in the bathroom which was different from the other hotels in Italy we had just stayed in. It wasn't a problem for us, but just wanted to inform others who may be used to seeing one in the bathroom. The location of Hotel Santa Croce was more in the southern part of the city which was ideal for seeing site in that area such as Piazzale Michelangelo and the Uffizi Gallery. The Piazzale Michelangelo was close to the hotel and we got there just in time to catch an amazing sunset over Florence. A must see as you get a great view of the entire city. All in all, Hotel Santa Croce was a very refreshing experience. I very much value customer service above all and appreciate Mario and his staff and the extra effort they made to make our stay so pleasant. It was a great hotel for the amount of money we spent. If you are looking for something more spacious and modern, Hotel Santa Croce may not work for you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for our Florence visit. Staff was extremely helpful throughout the stat. Breakfast was good. Great location, minutes from everything we wanted. The air conditioning was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not new and luxury but: it is cheap so you know what you get for this money in Florence. And again: it is grat spot for walking around!

    Really nice stuff! With knowledge of English, and great tips for tourist. And place in great in the middle of historical city. And they take care for your car...they drive it to garage

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower is quite small - if you're a bigger person you may not fit in.

    Location perfect. Right next to Santa Croce plaza, short walking distance to Duomo and Ufizzi gallery, and across the river to Piazza Michaelangelo. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was tiny and could use an update, but it was clean. And for the money and location, we were very pleased overall.

    The staff was lovely, the espresso delicious! Their recommendation for dinner the evening we arrived was spot on.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nondescript, but they fit the feeling of the building and neighborhood.

    Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff, walking distance to many locations, historical building!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a 4th floor room and no lift so was difficult to clumb all those stairs after a full day sightseeing. Breakfast buffet was basic but adequate.

    The location is perfect. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little 'cosy' but we knew that prior to arrival and were more than happy to accept this considering location.

    The staff were very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 2 star hotel it was super clean, great air conditioning, strong shower and 24 hour reception which had a fridge full of cold drinks if you needed them. Plus the breakfast cappuccino was better than than the 4 star we stayed in the next night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were two couples travelling together. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location was great, next to Santa Croce, 5 mins walk from the River Arno and approx 15 mins from Ponte Vecchio. The hotel breakfast was excellent. The rooms were large and comfortable. If I return to Florence we will come back to hotel Santa Croce. Thank you Gabriel and staff for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have been better furnished. Lack of alternative fire exits is a potential safety concern.

    Staff very welcoming. Excellent location - very central, but also very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to find without cell coverage for our GPS....

    The location of the hotel and the staff was the best. The hotel is located in a fantastic center point of Florence, convenient to a lot of "must sees" of the city. Restaurants and shops are conveniently close by. It is also a very historical location, adjacent to the place where Michael Angelo grew up. Gabriele and Mario were super hosts and we had a lovely little Italian breakfast in the morning. Gabriele could not have been more accommodating with us. He reassured us that parking was not a problem and later that night directed us to a great restaurant. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Florence!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    being over sixty it wasn't comfortable to have a room located on the top floor with no lift. Our host was very obliging but the drag up to the top of the house with or without suitcases was gruelling

    the staff were extremely helpful. They enhanced our trip to Florence

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. They assisted us in making our trip to Florence so much more enjoyable with tips and suggestions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are too small.

    Sfaff is absolutely kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent and helpful personnel. Right in the old center of Florens. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Excellent location, very good and receptive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Croce traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: