Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sant'Andrea 3 stars

Via Carlo Cattaneo 33, 48100 Ravenna, Italy

#1 of 21 hotels in Ravenna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to stay an extra night and the staff made it really easy! We packed up our bags and they moved them to a different room for our second night for us while we were out exploring. They also held our bags for us after we checked out. Location is near several UNESCO sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options were generous. Location was ideal; just steps away from the historic sights or pedestrian square with lots of shopping and restaurant options. Easy walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard.

    The hotel was small and tastefully decorated. The room was very nice and clean. The beds comfy. The garden was pleasant and peaceful to rest after sightseeing. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly. The hotel is very near all the sights in the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very noisy; people getting in late at night, climbing the stairs, chatting in the hallway, slamming doors (because it is impossible to open/close them otherwise) I could even hear my neighbours use the toilet. Also, personally I don’t like that the reception is unattended after 21h. Ok for one night, especially considering the price, but I wouldn't want to spend my holiday there.

    Good location, although getting there by car is a bit tricky (a better route description would be useful). Room was clean an tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff, gave us good restaurant recommendations. Large room and large double bed. Breakfast quite adequate Attractive public space and garden Great location in the old city near all the attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not suitable if you need to drive to drop off luggage. Almost impossible to find way through limited traffic zone to get to hotel. No directions were provided by hotel on website or at booking. Rooms were very cold despite heaters working. Very basic furnishings. No attendant at night after 9 pm.

    Near historic sites. Reasonable cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge, beautifully decorated room, with a vast bathroom. When I opened the shutters in the morning, and looked out at the enclosed garden and the neighbours' tile roofs, I really knew I was in Italy. And that was before I went downstairs to an individually made cappuccino. Very quiet, even though it's close to a major shopping street and to San Vitale.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well placed for all Ravenna's attractions. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. My room was a little disappointing because the sloping ceiling meant that only half the room could accommodate my height, which is just under 6 ft.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not get a wifi signal and when I reported this, I was just told "oh we have to have that checked". There were two separate signals but neither of the signals were strong enough in my room to connect.

    The location is great. There is a beautiful garden/outdoor area and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. They were flexible with check-in and check out times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room could have been better, very tiny shower cabin. no chairs in the room

    Very friendly and helpful staff, Nice terrace, parking Ok and close to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a superior room, but didn't feel like we got one. We saw a standard room and it was bigger and had a nicer view than ours. Parking is a couple of blocks away and charges a fee.

    Nice garden in back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room with an extremely comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast in the garden was lovely. Location was perfect in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sant'Andrea,in Ravenna, is a perfect place to stay: the location is close to the bascillicas, shops and also to small grocery stores where you can buy fresh fruit and vegetables.The hotel has a garden area -- the green grass is truly a perfect place to rest your eyes after a day of sightseeing in 36 degree temperatures.The shower stalls are an accommodating size with good water pressure; beds are comfortable and the hotel offers a good breakfast. The staff are EXCEPTIONALLY helpful, making one's stay at this charming hotel, truly enjoyable. Denise Canada

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast is ok, but could be a little more imaginative. That said, the croissants were good, my family enjoyed the ham and cheese on offer, there was a choice of yoghurts, ... Personally, I am a little bored when there is no fresh fruit and only heavily refined, white flour baked foods.

    excellent location close to major tourist attraction (Unesco world heritage sites), and yet very quiet, staff very friendly and helpful. A minor problem with the bathroom was resolved immediately. Good quality mattress. Nice garden for breakfast or even a nap in a lounge chair in the afternoon... the only thing you'll hear are birds singing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place, tastefully decorated with a well tended garden with fig trees and pink oleander a nice terrace for breakfast. The staff is friendly and extremely attentive and helpful. location, very close to San Vitale is perfect. Spot on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to get good directions from the hotel about dropping off passengers and luggage as it is in the historic district where tourist cars cannot park. It is very confusing otherwise.

    The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. There is a lovely continental breakfast with fresh breads, croissants and the usual cereals. In nice weather it is possible to enjoy the garden at the back of the building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very underwhelming.

    Excellent location, just a few minute's walk to the Basilica San Vitale and the main square of Ravenna. Easy to find and get to, plus comfortable and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better, don't know why but in the every morning, somebody knoked my room.

    very friendly staffs, lovely hotel, great location to sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Unbeatable for this price point. The room itself was decorated with lovely old world charm, while the bathroom was completely modern. The wooden floors and staircase in the main lobby are also lovely. The staff was friendly, helped us with restaurant recommendations, and with a call to the taxi for us on our departure. Great location quite near to the Basilica San Vitale.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were particularly helpful and "simpatico/a". The location couldn't have been better. Every one let me speak Italian even if they spoke good English!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses on the beds were very hard and somewhat uncomfortable.

    We loved the location as the hotel is close to all historic sites and shopping. Reasonable cafes in the area. The hotel is very clean and friendly - a nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast selection was sufficient but still somewhat limited. There were no kleenex in the bathroom. Pets are welcome and may be found using the garden and barking late at night.

    This family run hotel doesn't necessarily tick all the boxes, but the overall staying experience was fantastic. The room size was luxurious, great airco as well as shutters to keep the sun out. The lobby is dominated by a marvelous wooden central staircase, and views a spacious garden with a terrace for enjoying your breakfast and a lawn with reclining chairs. You could hear the birds singing in the morning. Other than that it was perfectly quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Close to everything. The Mausoleum of Galla Placidia and the San Vitale Basilica are two minutes away!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were hard.

    The Garden was beautiful, the rooms were spacious, the location was fantastic, the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent choice for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Room a little cramped.

    Location location location...and the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good value for money

    Hotel well appointed & great location Garden good asset Breakfast good & staff v helpful Lift good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful breakfast, great staff, very good location and beautiful small hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception / staff available between 10:00PM and 8:00AM

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room in great location minutes from top rated sites. Excellent buffet breakfast, comfortable bed and immaculate bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot with no shades over balcony door

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On a quiet side street. Beautiful garden. Very clean. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to city center, staff friendly, bed very comfortable and good breakfast. Free of charge parking inside hotel property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin. Breakfast basic- could have had fresh fruit.

    Room was good. Ideal size and reception helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in room was unreliable.

    Overall a very attractive small hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm, welcoming, very family orientated. Superb location, ample room to relax both indoors and outside. Helpful advice on variety of topics.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location. Shady quiet garden. Superb staff. Friendly and very helpful. Big room. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access through restricted roads not easy for arrivals by car.

    Excellent location for visiting the wonderful monuments, mosaics etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine

    In the Center of town, nice Garden, nice and helpful host

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and comfy beds. Lovely balcony and it was brilliant to have breakfast sitting outside in the garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit unimaginative.

    Great staff, comfortable room, pleasant garden and fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect

    Warm, friendly boutique hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When driving in, went several times around the same maze of streets before realizing we actually could drive into the protected areas filled with people! The hotel staff guided us using our mobile phone. GPS was useless.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel on a quiet street, really helpful staff, and the location can't be beat for the main sights of Ravenna. Our room had its own private roof terrace!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom sink (wash bowl) is too close to the loo so it is not convenient. There is space in the bathroom (room 104) to slide the wash bowl to the right!

    The catering staff kindly prepared us an early breakfast at 7.30 am on the day we left as we had a train to catch. The wooden staircase gave it a lot of character. Good location for walking to the sites and museums. Good view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be richer but this is not a big issue.

    The position is very good for visiting the town. The place is very quiet even if in center. The atmosphere is great; you have the sensation of being invited to friends's house.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint I have is being we spent new years eve in Ravenna, the hotel could have extended their breakfast a bit later than 10am being we went to bed much later than usual.

    It was warm, cozy and very family atmosphere. The owner was great in helping us finding a restaurant for new years eve, she even called the restaurant for us.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was exceptionally hard - and one of us has a bad back and normally wants a hard bed but this was too much. Wifi temperamental in room.

    Very close to everything. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Extraordinarily helpful and congenial staff. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable. Just down the street from San Vitale-couldn't be a better location. Breakfast adequate but not exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillows were a little hard. Wi-fi didnt always reach my room on the 2nd floor.

    A garden and very peaceful location were major benefits together with the position within walking distance to beautiful sights, excellent shops and cafes. An elegant vibe.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was modest. no fresh fruit and no brown bread. But..........a plus - a perfect capuccino!!!

    The atmosphere and the very friendly staff. When I am in Ravenna again I should come back

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    These are very small details, but the shower cubicle was extremely small and there wasn't any fresh fruit available at breakfast. We really loved our stay here though!

    Lovely hotel with a beautiful, tranquil garden where we ate breakfast each morning. Clean, fresh and airy rooms. Excellent location in Ravenna.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location convenient for the centre of Ravenna, close to museums, historical sites, restaurants, cafes, and shopping. Very helpful staff, assisted with luggage, and provided a map showing location of parking. Attractive property with a lovely wooden staircase and breakfast terrace.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was not bad, but not excellent.. no eggs :)

    Beautiful room and excellent location. There is a big parking near the hotel (only 3 euro per day)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is an absolute jewel. If it were only the staff and their incredible helpfulness and flexibility, that would be enough; if it were only the facilities themselves and the lovely garden, or the location just a few paces from the pedestrian streets and San Vitale, that would be enough. But the Hotel Sant'Andrea has it all.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect location. Nice garden.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic hotel. Excellent and polite staff who looked after everything! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    brekfast could be better

    room, location,

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exellent!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Delightful staff and generous accommodation. Centrally located and a particularly quiet room overlooking the garden.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was very close to all the historic sites we wanted to see and easy to find from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice people, room very clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully decorated. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and ver comfortable. Ideally located for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: