Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Savoia 3 stars

Via Fuorimura 48, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#62 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to use a coin for the lift, even though these were provided I kept having to check if I had enough for the times I needed to go up to my room- just a nuisance nothing major..

    A well located, friendly family run hotel that met all our needs. Breakfast was well presented and offered good variety. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far friom train station and town. No information on how to get there Staff were too busy. Room size a bit tight.

    The breakfast was good. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything. The beds and pillows were hard. it was very noisy all the time, in fact one night at 12.30 at night outside the window they were cutting down a tree, I couldn't believe it. You could hear everything in the rooms above and below us. Every time a phone rang you could hear it ring.There was decorating going on above us on a couple of days we could hear sawing and hammering, most of the days. Our room wasn't even in the hotel, it was in an apartment block next door, there was a lift as such but it was really dirty and you needed to pay to go in it. We were told there were no stairs but there were 11 steps to the lift. The shower didn't drain and flooded every time you used it, and the hot water took so long to come through the shower was flooded before you even had a chance to get in. The TV was tiny. There was no heating either. It was a horrible experience didn't want to go back to the room at the end of the day, and didn't get one good night's sleep. Hated it!!

    nothing it was a horrible place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are fairly uncomfortable throughout our stay in Italy, but these weren't the worst.

    The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator needed a 5 cent coin, supplied by the hotel, however. Lady at reception tried to charge me for the room at checkout, even though the bill had already been paid when I booked. Inadvertent or not, if I didn't make a point of knowing that the bill had been paid, I would have ended up paying twice. Let that be a lesson, fellow travelers.

    Nice room. Good location. Only a 5 minute walk to the town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you arrive by train or bus you have to negotiate a number of steep steps to get to the road leading to the hotel, which would be difficult with a large suitcase. My room appeared to be in a corridor in an annex owned by the hotel on the 4th floor. There was a ropey lift so I used the stairs and drills of builders started going from 0800.

    Excellent Breakfast, friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location of Hotel for visiting Sorrento, short 5 minute walk to Sorrento central area,Family run hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, nice rooms cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very disappointing 4 night stay at this hotel. The lift was not available on check in so we had to carry our bags up the stairs. The beds are rock hard and very uncomfortable. The biggest issue was the wifi which either did not work or kept dropping out to the point that it was unusable. The management could not have cared less and just told us it was fine which in the lobby it was but not ok in the room. On one night when we were in the lobby area to use the wifi and the night staff person asked how much longer we would be as she had to leave to go to the restaurant that they also run. This was at 10pm when the front desk is supposed to be open until 11pm. Again she was quite rude. We had an early train to catch on our last day and would not be there for breakfast, the same manager refused to discount our last night accordingly and offered no options. The room was dated and some minor mould in the bath room, overall not good value for money at all. I am surprised at the positive reviews it has, I wish I paid closer attention to the negative ones as they echo what we found. It makes me wonder about the authenticity of some of them. Its close to the main town area but that is really all it has going for it. It was the most expensive and the worst accommodation we had in 3 weeks in Italy. The attitude of the woman who seemed to be in charge was the most upsetting thing, just rude and no idea of customer service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room #23 smelled like the sewer. The smell was from the shower drain. The very nice owner tried to get rid of the smell,but I don't work for long. They blamed it on the warm weather, but it wasn't that warm. The shower wouldn't drain. They fixed that. The next day the sink wouldn't drain. The AC wouldn't get cool. We were hot at night. The place has a very old feeling and creepy pictures above the bed. It was expensive for what we got.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety. The fruit was very good. There were lots of different kinds of bread from their delicious restaurant. They offer you one egg or pancakes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible breakfast buffet and hot food prepared on request. Lovely room, helpful staff and centrally located within walking distance of the old town shopping area, restaurants, train station and marina. Owned and operated by a very nice family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower box was a bit blocked during showering.

    Very friendly staff, superb breakfast with warm, crispy croissant,fresh fruits and other breakfast fare.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom toilet smelled, got stuck in elevator, shower didn't drain, management ignored 3 separate attempts to contact them for additional info, ran out of food at breakfast buffet, we were next to permanent residents - who kept us up at night w parties and barking dogs. In spite of our early booking we had a balcony facing a stone wall. No assistance with tour plans as previous reviews indicated. Unfortunately we have traveled extensively and have never experienced such a poor location. The smell in the bathroom was the worst.

    Doggie,breakfast and cleaning staff, 3-5 minute walk to main square.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not secure. The room is not accessible from reception but another door. The wifi is so weak. Service is terrible. We reported to the hotel owner (a lady) that the wifi was not working. Instead of understanding the problem, she immediately queried why we did not inform her earlier. When we checked out, we told her again that the wifi was not stable. She turned to be defensive and asked us again why we did not tell her earlier. She even said it's due to the problem of our phones. She insisted that the wifi has been in good condition. We explained that we just want to inform her the problem and hope it could be improved. She accused us that we complained because we wanted to get free stay at her hotel. I felt very insulted. I did not expect this kind of service from a hotel owner. It seems that she does not have the intention to improve the services and facilities of her hotel. I regret so much that I booked this hotel to ruin my holiday in Sorrento!

    Location is okay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Location 10 mins walk from Main Street and also train station. Area was like a "village". Brilliant pizza next door and two supermarkets just up from hotel. Staff wonderful and breakfast very good other guests talk to each other. Family who run hotel have a wonderful restaurant in city centre called Refood. All in all a great experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bill I was presented with was at a higher rate than the one I booked. They did change it when I queried, but not ideal.

    Access to sauna and Turkish bath was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were not friendly. We asked one time for a takeaway breakfast as we were leaving for a tour early morning, they didn't accept, they told us that we can take a croissant and when my friend took 2 croissants from the table, they reacted as if this was not allowed, they followed her to the door speaking loudly as if she were stealing food, knowing that the breakfast was included in the price. However, we spent our first 3 days in Italy in a 3 stars hotel in Rome, and the staff were all very friendly, and extremely helpful, and they were preparing our breakfast in small bags when we had early tours. In addition, the hotel definitely needs some renovation.

    Good location that's what we liked Only

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Lovely comfortable and clean hotel - the staff were excellent welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them - excellent breakfast as well. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a kettle in the room to make tea/coffee

    Great little balcony. Wonderful breakfasts, including made to order pancakes. Associated family resturant is wonderful

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin so that I could hear the next room. The lift was so old and I had to put 5 cents each time I used the lift!!! The room needs to get rennovated. The bed was not comfortable.

    The staff was friendly. The location was good. The size of the room was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great location, nice breakfast. Room was neatly presented, lots of info from the reception. Spacious room as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was bad, the girls in the reception were angry and had no patience for us... And we didn't want much.. :/ just good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind staff, we enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The position and the friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and nice. Easy to get to town and to the train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was intermittent.

    Location was perfect for getting around. Close to the center of Sorrento.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift at separate building

    Inhouse Lift

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi a bit fluky, and lift to floors very small.

    Room comfortable,breakfast and service good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet didn't always work.

    Very quiet room (in back of hotel); very friendly staff. Easy walk to bus/train station and downtown.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to main square; great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to station and easy to walk into town. Nice snack food next door. Very clean. Absolutely loved the staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Same food for breakfast every day

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paintings in the rooms had spooky looking characters.

    Soft towels, room cleaned daily and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not find anything

    Great place to stay. Extremely nice owners and staff. Breakfast rooms everything is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is so friendly and very kind.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi connection was not consistent.

    The beds were comfortable. The staff was great. Breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator

    Nice room with a balcony, excellent breakfast, central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift and no eggs for breakfast

    yes the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was rock solid. My daughter described it "like a muscle". The mattress had to be changed.

    The breakfast was basic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast - much fruit

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location, only a 3 minute walk from Piazza Tasso. Good breakfast offered and a lovely clean hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff willing to allow early checkin and reasonable rate. Close to town with recommendation to a good restaurant ( refood )

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room backed up to a permanent residence. They were fighting and always loud.

    Location was about .5 miles north of the main square. It is a great base for day trips. The proximity to the trail station is a plus. The owners were awesome and the breakfast was well above average.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walkable distance from center. Friendly staff. We had infant with us. They provided hot water, sterlised bottles , provided stroller chair in room. Helpful and very friendly. Super breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet

    Breakfast - Frühstück; Nice Staff - sehr freundliches Personal; Centrally located = perfect for day trips Zentral gelegen = perfekt für Tagesausflüge

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the friendly staff. We loved the breakfast. Pancakes and eggs. Coffee and tea. So much lovely fresh fruit. Cakes galore. What more could we ask for. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Overall a very nice experience. Ten out of ten from us.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints!

    Quiet, comfortable, clean room, plenty of hot water for the shower and excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Few minutes easy walk from the station where you can connect with all the regional buses (e.g. Amalfi) and the train to Napoli. About 10 min walk to Capri ferry.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately they do not have an on-site car park, but they can offer parking nearby for €20 a day, and they will take your car there for you.

    The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They do not have an evening restaurant at the hotel but they do own a very good restaurant called Refood in the town and residents can get a 10% discount to eat there. The hotel is only a short walk to the centre of the town and close to the station to visit places like Pompeii.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apparently, eggs are available at breakfast if you ask for them, but they won't be volunteered.

    An easy walk from the train station and to town center. Clean and comfortable for a very reasonable price. Rooms available for three people. The owners' dog was a treat to watch and play with.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only problem we had was the wifi. It kept dropping out.

    Excellent continental breakfasts. Each day there was something different on offer. We even had eggs cooked for us one morning. The staff were lovely and we wanted to take the owners' little white dog home with us.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi signal was terrible and kept closing out every few minutes.

    The hotel was a last minute book for us and it provided all of our basic needs. Breakfast was pretty basic and the staff was pretty friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast reasonable, but for Italy coffee was dreadful.

    Great welcome from reception staff, good sized room with balcony, in side annex to hotel. Useful to note that the side of the property overlooks a walled garden and is insulated from road noise. Great location for central Sorrento, just a few minutes walk. Good value for its position in Sorrento

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taxi man sought €20 but not Hotel's fault.

    The location was close to the centre within 5 - 10 minute easy walk. Breakfast was good, staff were v helpful opening early at 7.15am to facilitate our early morning departure. Staff hailed taxi in heavy rain estimating €15 fare to nearby bus station.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of noise coming from the floor above kept us awake most of the 2nd night. Tile in the hallway meant very loud door slamming from other rooms.

    Great location and friendly staff! The Refood restaurant they also run in town was great!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We faced an unexpected problem but the manager/owner managed it well and he's the most friendly; it's also recommended to visit their restaurant near Tasso Square, they serve big servings of delicious food!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice family feel about hotel , very helpful staff particularly the breakfast kitchen staff who couldnt do enough for us which makes the start of the day so pleasant

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The outside of the hotel looks a bit sorry for itself, but the inside is in good condition.

    The rooms were tastefully decorated & comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, and included unusual extras like cooked-to-order pancakes.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could have done with a slightly larger room with a balcony which I would have liked but it was very clean and towels changed every day.

    It is a family run hotel and they were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Also it is a hotel which is not used by tour operators, hence you do not get large groups. It is very much for the individual traveller which is great and so nice as well. I would go there again.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Elevator against charge of 5 cents for a ride

    Acceptable price, location and distance from Tasso square. Good breakfast offer, variation of fruits and pastries. Delicious backed egg. Automatic air conditioning in the corridor and room. Very good wi-fi connection. Nice personal.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i went to a restaurant they recommended was not so good, i ordered Tune, was not good. maybe its only for that tuna.

    Location (not so far, not so close) Breakfast (went there at 9, but i got pan cakes, cappuccino, and buffet (hams, lettuce, jams, fruits, several kinds breads, desserts) Wifi is ok. a little slow.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very friendly & helpful..Room really nice...They also have a restuarant Refood in town that was really good ...try it out...Close to everything & the Town Square.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was not cleaned well. Wifi very spotty as it kept asking for a login and password.

    The best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel! Good location. Friendly staff in a family hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lift ... Very old and they were busy with maintenance inside hotel... Very old

    The family friendliness of the owners... Very kind and relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of street noise, so it's impossible to sleep with the window open. And, there's a guy who cleans the street with a very noisy machine from 6am each day. Having to put coins in the lift to operate it is a pain - even if the hotel provides them!

    This is a small, traditional, family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfasts and a comfortable room. It's close to the centre and the sea and within walking distance of the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was really nice and helpful, is a family business so they take care of most of the stuff, giving a b&b vibe, which we loved. Her husband and son have a restaurant in the city centre called refood and it was excelent (excelent quality, atmosphere and service and the prices are more than amazig), we went twice for dinner, cause it was the best food we had in the entire trip (including rome, positano and amalfi).

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevator function dependent on coins (though freely provided by the reception staff).

    Staff extremely kind and careful!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite nosiy at night

    Spacious & tidy room

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent value for money!!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very homelike and owners very helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and very great location.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet was alittle dodgy

    Really good security, lovely staff, great location close to the center of town.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location staff breakfast easy to reach from train station

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Noise from other rooms

    Good friendly family hotel. Good location.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: